User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(72)

72

4 stars

(53)

53

3 stars

(15)

15

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I use this software from 1990 and it was and it is the quickest cad for architectural design. I am very satisfied with this product."

  • "I love the simplicity with which I can design a house in minutes with the minimum of 3D modeling knowledge."

  • "What I like most about this software is the crisp graphics and the organizational aspect of the software. Really easy to use once learning the program. "

  • Cons

  • "There is not a lot to actually dislike about ArchiCAD, maybe if anything its tendency to crash occassionally. (But generally it is easy enough to recover from near where you left off...)"

  • "Issues with interface being clunky at times and setting up workspace layout at least when compared to other packages. "

  • "over the years it has become very detailed and comprehensive, sometimes (stairs e.g.) it has become overbloated a bit. very expensive when used together with the yearly subscription and updates."

Browse ArchiCAD Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 138 results

April 2018

Luis Guillermo from Paraulata Digital C.A

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

I have solved 3D modelling problems that I had with another software, faster and better

The first hand benefits obtained from using ArchiCAD, are way importants. The way of getting familiar with the work ambient is so easy, the palletes and menus are very easy to configure, and once you get familiar with it, the worflow is almost intuitive, being this a highlight because it increases the productivity on many levels. Another thing that is so beneficial is the project management and organization features availables on this software. It allows me to do changes, revisions and modify many things with few clicks. I can extend on this review explaining on so many levels how this software has helped me to increase my productivity, even with my social networks, because it has helped me increase the amount of likes on my instagram profile given the quality of the renders produced on this application, but the reading could get so extense that I prefer to resume it on few words: you all should definitely try this software, and you'll see how amazing it is.

Pros

How to begin this review? This software is so delightful! Actually, this software is my first option on BIM world. The render engine quality is amazing and very likely and customizable. This is an AMAZING OPTION, an AMAZING PRODUCT, the best choose. In its features, this software it's an adventure, the more you enter the menus and options, the more you get enchanted. One of the best things on it, it's the fluency on the model management and the views, the control on every level of the model, the customizability on the menus. Frankly, this is a great option.

Cons

The dislike about this software? Actually i have minimum dislikes, the only thing I'd recommend to the developers of ArchiCAD would be that the document generator could be more friendly, like other drawing CAD applications, that would make more easier the process of finishing the tasks. Oh, and another thing that I don't find very likeable is that the IOS verson of the bimx is more practical than the pc one.

April 2019

Sadaf from Alpin Limited

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

One of the best tools for BIM implementation

As an Architect, I have been able to use ArchiCAD for conceptual designs, detailed drafting, interior layouts as well as generating high-quality elevations, sections and 3D views for all my projects, including presentation drawings. In fact, 3D modelling and rendering have been made simple thanks to ArchiCAD. Visualization, (placing cameras) and gathering documentation are also uncomplicated. Rendering tools are useful and there is no need to get extra plug-ins for performing the same tasks that can be done within the software itself. I consider ArchiCAD to be better than its counterparts, e.g. Revit mainly because it is uncomplicated to use, with the same functionality at an economical investment.

Pros

ArchiCAD is one of the most innovative platforms for BIM available in the market today. It is a powerful software that can cater to the design needs of architects, interior designers as well as landscape and urban planners. One can either import 2D drafts into ArchiCAD and work on the same to prepare a 3D model; or work on ArchiCAD on Plan mode and the software will automatically generate elevations, sections and 3D views. If the building is multi-storey, it is much easier to correct any minor deficiencies in drafting (that can be missed in the plan view) through the 3D viewer, which makes it perfect to use when trying to pinpoint any errors. There is a wonderful feature in AutoCAD called Solibri Model Checker that can accurately analyse the BIM model to accurately locate errors along with any possible faults in design, and identify areas, where the components used, are clashing. As an Architect, I feel that it is a great tool that can be used to estimate the energy requirements of a building. Moreover, there is a plug-in called EcoDesigner STAR that offers features including energy model visualization, thermal zoning and simulations for energy performance. It is one of the better software I have used for 3D modelling and I never think of switching to any other.

Cons

As is with other similar software, ArchiCAD requires a robust system to operate with a high level of RAM especially when rendering. It does tend to slow down the system a bit especially when you are opening a data-rich file. Secondly, there is a steep learning curve with the software, which is easy to overcome with practice. Apart from these two shortcomings, I have no other major concern that would affect my opinion of this otherwise excellent software.

January 2020

Dave from Zon Generation Ltd.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Necessary software for viewing existing 3D models

ArchiCAD is primarily used when viewing previously created files provided from clients.

Pros

ArchiCAD is familiar and easy to learn if you're used to AutoCAD and other drafting programs. The interface is very similar, and the additional capabilities of viewing 3D models speed up our reviews.

Cons

We need to have this software and incur the additional costs of a second program as the 3D model doesn't export well to a standard .dwg format.

December 2019

Nicola from McLean Quinlan

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Developing designs is a breeze

Our developed design workflow has sped up. The ability to switch between 2d and 3d visualisations of the space allows us to pick up on issues we wouldnt normally come across until much later in the design and mitigate them as necessary.

Pros

The software sped up our workflow significantly from 2d software and is particularly useful for conceptual and developed design stages where we are continually tweaking the design. The 3d views are particularly useful for understanding design changes as a space. Setting up quick window and door layouts is particularly easy to do and change.

Cons

The software works really well at the developed design stage but when it comes to technical design it is very difficult to apply specific products such as windows when the design is not covered by the basic archicad parameters and the company does not yet support the software in its downloads.

Reasons for Choosing ArchiCAD

Revit is not supported on The Macs we use in the office.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2019

Powerful piece of software that could rival Revit if Graphisoft could shift their approach

Pros

Sometimes I like that archicad is less rigid than Revit. It's easy to create what you want and to get it to look the way it should. Rendering is a breeze. Some of the tools are beyond intuitive. They function exactly the way they should.

Cons

This is BIM light. You will be piecing together your model using slabs to represent everything under the sun. You will fudge things with solid element operations that will keep you up at night. Archicad will force you to be inaccurate unless you fight it to your last breath. You'll curse Archicad's lack of ortho snaps. The inability to create "blocks" is utterly ridiculous and maddening. There are 20 ways to access every objects setting and it will confuse you to no end for the first year. Instead of fixing problems and consolidating settings, Graphisoft has decided that their mantra is "addition." If something doesn't work right, just add features so that no one notices what they're missing. Instead of giving users what they need, modify the GUI and give them a bunch of useless crap to try to get them to buy the newest version. This is sloppy software development at its finest. It's sad because if they spent a few years cleaning up the beast that they've created, it could be a match for Revit. As is, it's a severely bloated Sketchup pretending to be a BIM package.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

archicad for bim and 3d

used daily in our office, the workflow is set up very well, drawings can be published quickly and with little effort, so it definitely is worth the money.

Pros

from design to detailing we use the software in every design stage with buildings and landscape designs. 3D models and solutions can be achieved quickly and in depth.

Cons

over the years it has become very detailed and comprehensive, sometimes (stairs e.g.) it has become overbloated a bit. very expensive when used together with the yearly subscription and updates.

Reasons for Choosing ArchiCAD

better workflow, better on-premise support.

July 2019

Stephen Olawale from Sunilar Nig.Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

RESIDENTIAL DESIGN MODEL QUICK AND BEAUTIFUL

ARCHICAD is best for my presentation 3D modeling, but not best for my rendering, if i have enough time to create a more realistic picture i employ other rendering engines compatible with archicad.thanks

Pros

I ones had challenges with my PC storage that made me install a version of archicad, i had an urgent presentation and all i have was Archicad,my 2d Autocad drawings were allowed to import into Archicad. I was able to generate 3D models quickly, with a beautiful roof generated after selecting all my roof boundaries with slope definition, Archicad rendering might not be the best but its really beautiful and presentable that day, it saved my presentation thats day.

Cons

I really don't have anything against this application, its really a good software, just that its rendering engine needs to be upgraded to give a more realistic 3D picture, and it slows down the PC, while carrying out modelling operations AND rendering on PC with low RAM installed, i had to upgrade my PC RAM so i can enjoy ARCHICAD.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

ArchiCAD: for BIM demands

If you are doing any construction-related drawing, try ArchiCAD for a once for the perfect 3D outcome. It's priceworthy and highly recommended.

Pros

As a civil engineer, using BIM software is essential for my day to day work. Usually I'm working as a Software Engineer, still, I'm doing simple house projects for my clients as draftsmen & I really satisfied with ArchiCAD to fulfil my clients' requirements. It is simple and more powerful. Can easily handle this software If we are familiar with AutoCAD because it's pretty similar UI like AutoCAD. ArchiCAD helps us to create powerful 3D drawings with more details. We can get detailed rendering even quicker when compared to the other market available BIM software.

Cons

It's hard to find cons over this vendor. Need some stability upgrades over issues for crashing the software for working larger products. Need some RAM management improvement for this software. Other than these, ArchiCAD is perfect software.

November 2019

Muhammad from SQLA inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

an all in one program

it was a fun program to try and use but the way the industry is going it doesnt seem to be the best for me as a landscape designer

Pros

you can design plans and layouts render views and print all in one program and its much cheeper than other programs on the market

Cons

Transferring files from/To ArchiCad with other Autodesk programs like autocad and revit since most firms use it it has a problem with the conversion especially if its different versions or newer. plus it has its own learning curve and takes time especially if you are use to Autodesk programs

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

This BIM is intuitive and easy to use.

We use it for 2D and 3D designing's. This tool is really awesome.

Pros

Biggest advantage for me is, designing 2d and 3d at the same time. Affordable pricing Rendering is a really smooth. Redevelopment is quite easy.

Cons

ArchiCAD can improve a lot on their Support. They can focus on lot of articles, YouTube videos which will help the consumers a lot. Text tools can be improvised.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

An excellent attempt in the field of design

All in all a perfect software for a beginner in the field of design as it will provide the basis of how a structure works through visuals. It can be described as a perfect software suitable for an architect!

Pros

The software provides an interface that gives an ease of use to practicing architects as well as architecture students. The features are to the point and can be altered and used as various other elements apart from their original use, for the purposes of design communication. The best feature of Archicad is the ability to edit the structure in 3D at a very acceptable and adequate speed making visualization very simple.

Cons

The downside is the layout processing part as well as documentation. It requires a high end RAM space and quite a lot of time to update the drawings as on the working tab. The changes will appear late and it is hectic at times.

November 2017

Tony from AW2 Arkkitehdit Oy

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

One of my favourite pieces of software

It allowed me to take my business from one where clients never really understood what it was they were getting to one where they knew exactly what they were going to get.

Pros

ArchiCAD is a highly functional 3D CAD / BIM system which will allow you to realise your architectural visions in the best possible manner. It is relatively intuitive to use and it's use of 3D parametric elements makes modelling a breeze. Once you have mastered the basic 3D CAD capabilities there is also a world of BIM opportunities to discover as well. World class IFC interfaces make it easy to collaborate with other consultants.

Cons

There is not a lot to actually dislike about ArchiCAD, maybe if anything its tendency to crash occassionally. (But generally it is easy enough to recover from near where you left off...)

April 2018

Farral from FDG Architects

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great program for architectural design

Pros

This package is feature rich and is well supported. While there are nowhere as many users, at least in the US, as there are for the industry standard, it seems to me gaining in use - probably because of marketing to students. Cost is much more reasonable if you can manage without having the industry standard software.

Cons

It is harder to collaborate with many engineers and other consultants that typically use the industry standard. It does support files created with other CAD packages, but it will never be as seamless as having everyone on the same platform. That said, with limited or no support between versions of the same package from the industry standard, coordination can still be a pain.

October 2018

Joseph from Essay Pro

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

High end Designer Software

Overall, my experience with ArchiCAD was awesome. I would recommend it to designers

Pros

I have used this software for my design needs for the last one year and the value I have gotten from it it insurmountable! The software offers a nice practical 2D and 3D experience when doing the models. It also offers numerous tools which when combined, one is able to bring out an excellent image just like a pro. With proficiency with the software, one is able to maneuver so fast and with so much ease that the software actually reduces the time required for a drawing by more than 70%. It was easy for me to learn the operations as they all are practical and well organized on the screen.

Cons

Some starters may find it challenging to work with the numerous tools the software offers. It also requires some advanced skills and knowledge about designs.

August 2018

Kanav from Studio Anew Architecture

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Value for Money & Great Software

Day by day i'm started feeling more connected to the software without comprising my design, explaining my design to my clients through this medium (ArhiCAD software) is always makes my confidence level up. It's a good way to start your career. Thank you Graphisoft

Pros

As an Architect it is important to have a good tool with you & i guess ArchiCAD is the first choice. as a young and aspiring architect i always wanted give a meaning to my design, This software help me to get a more practical approach to my work from the beginning of my design, I can work in more details of my project while managing it's 3-D model effortlessly. More control over model while drawing in 2-D is a plus. The more you will use it more will connect with the software.

Cons

not much but the document manager is bit more complicated, it could more user friendly it will make our more easier.

March 2018

darra from bespoke design, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Powerful, easily customizable CAD software for your design + construction projects

Popular in Europe, ArchiCAD is the only BIM software I use in my design practice. The advantage of designing in 2 and 3 dimensions simultaneously allows me to be better at my job and provides an easier way to communicate design drawings to my clients. There is no comparison between ArchiCAD and AutoCAD or Sketch Up.

Pros

Flexibility, ease of use and depth of project customization. Design in 2 and 3 dimensions simultaneously. Import and export projects with AutoCad, etc.

Cons

Not as popular as AutoCAD, fewer free and for fee objects available. Deep knowledge is required to unlock all of ArchiCADs powerful features.

July 2018

James from Dick Clark + Associates

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

We are a small half residential, half commercial architecture firm and use ArchiCAD exclusively.

Pros

ArchiCAD allows the user a great deal of specificity when it comes to the 2D and 3D look of different objects, walls, doors, etc. Used in coordination with BIMx, it is an outstanding tool for combining visualization and documentation.

Cons

Given that there is such a high level of allowable customization, it is not as easy to use "out-of-the-box". Without a more highly specified internal, firm-created template, there is a high learning curve to get CDs to look the way you want them to look.

April 2018

Nidia from Atom Engineering, PLLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great for Virtual Building

Pros

ArchiCAD is very complete, light, intuitive and with excellent quality of representation, even because it is aimed exclusively at Architecture. But I believe that the biggest differential of it for the competitors is the freedom of customization of the project, not limiting it in design depending on the resources or by complexity, being much less bureaucratic. "

Cons

Its does not have a MAC version yet, so you need to run Parallels Windows, that can makes your computer slower

August 2016

mark from university of the visayas

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2016

The Best BIM software

as an architect and professor in the University of the Visayas. I'm happy we purchased 20 licenses(Archicad 18) and i was amazed about the performance and the intuitive of the said software. Right now i'm happy because some of my students are working abroad and they're using archicad in australia and singapore. Keep it up!!!

Response from Graphisoft

Replied August 2016

Dear Mark, Thank you for your positive review. It's always great to hear from our users and it's good to know your students are getting on well with ARCHICAD. Best regards, Team GRAPHISOFT

November 2018

Samantha from Eco Interiors Ltd.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Very easy to install and start drafting

Pros

If you're familiar with CADD programs and drafting environments, you'll feel right at home with ArchiCAD. It is very easy to start using, and their tutorials and help menu can answer pretty much any question you have.

Cons

It doesn't play well with other drafting platforms, so you pretty much need to choose one and work solely in that environment.

May 2019

Georgia from Harvard

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

I wish the world of architecture relied on ArchiCAD

Pros

What I love about ArchiCAD is how much more integrated with the thinking mind design process it is. This software can be used starting with the design process all the way through CDs. Its competitor (though hardly one in the US) functions very poorly from a rough design standpoint. ArchiCAD on the other hand allows you to make quick, beautiful diagrams without creating a super heavy file.

Cons

What I dislike about the file is simply that it doesn't quite have all the perks of BIM - clash detection add ons, etc. It is a more simplified version of BIM, which is why i love it (doesn't feel as clunky, and feels more intuitive) but is more difficult to use to collaborate with structure, mep, civil, etc.

March 2018

Jasfer from Vectordata, Inc. CEBU Philippines

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Easiest way to use when using architectural designs.

experience and skills

Pros

basically everything, from its interface, to its functions. most user friendly BIM software i used. its has its own unique functions and combination of various softwares.

Cons

so far, the least thing i like about this software is its compatibility with other engineering functions; structural, mep and other stuff.

August 2016

Ahmed from self

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2016

Most awasome software

I have been used it for five years now. It was difficult to learn it but atleast now Im good alhamdulillaah

Pros

Free form modeling

Cons

It needs very powerfull machine

Response from Graphisoft

Replied August 2016

Dear Ahmed, Thank you for your feedback about ARCHICAD. It's always great to hear from our users. We value your business and loyalty to our software. Best regards, Team GRAPHISOFT

June 2018

Marlene from MFR Architects

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Not quite for beginners to BIM

As any beginner to any new program, once you take the time to learn and adapt to the program, this will be a very nice program to use for architects and interior designers, or anybody interested in learning and using a BIM program

Pros

-It has a very clear user interface -You do not need a plugin rendering machine, as this one is built into the program -Fantastic rendering tools -You can work on your project from start to finish ( 2D plans to 3D) -Lighting effects achieved are great -Great for both Mac and Windows -Good customer service -Easy to use once you have taken the time to learn it

Cons

-Not for a beginner to BIM - much dedication needed to learn the program -A little on the pricey side -Layer management is not so good -Not much of a selection of blocks -Settings are not that straight forward - you can spend hours trying to figure it out

November 2017

Francesco from L Arkkitehdit

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

2.0

November 2017

I use Archicad on daily basis and it's a great intuitive tool for architects

Pros

It is easy to use from day one, it is flexible to adapt to your office's needs and the 3d model is detailed enough to send it forward to the visualisation team

Cons

There are few plugins compared to similar prodcts, so for example I cannot use Archicad for daylight simulation in LEED and BREEAM projects

October 2017

Antonio from Restaurants

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Archicad forever

I have most benefits to use this software in my work.

Pros

I use this software from 1990 and it was and it is the quickest cad for architectural design. I am very satisfied with this product.

Cons

the compatibility with the older versions of software is the only problem of this software and the price medium-high

October 2018

Betre from ALIDAD Consulting Architects and Engineers

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

ArchiCAD is a life saver design tool for Simple Architecture

ArchiCAD is an impressive tool for use in the design of small scale projects. It is very optimized in that from floor plan layout to final design takes short duration. You can design a complete project with all the details exportable to various formats. It comes with a good built in library with more available for free on their website. Overall, a powerful tool for Architectural Design.

Pros

It comes with drag and drop style tools that are easily programmable. The conversion from a 2D layout design to 3D and Floor plans is automated. It comes with built in Libraries that can easily provide finishing details and realistic proportions of final design. Very good for Quick Design jobs under time constraint.

Cons

The rendering of 3D models is very poor in Quality. Additional Render tools are required which come separately at additional cost.

August 2018

Britney from Eco Interiors Ltd.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

ArchiCAD is our go to office drafting solution

Pros

- 2D and 3D modelling simultaneously in one software program - Exporting to AutoCAD .dwg formats for coordinating with other designers is a big benefit to us - The ability to annotate on any axis helps us produce detailed design drawings with ease

Cons

- Learning curve if you are used to AutoCAD drafting environments - Large files tend to slow down when navigating and manipulating

December 2018

Giulio from AYA UMA

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

For those who hate autocad, here is a great alternative

Pros

ArchiCAD is, for me as an architect, a pleasant experience in the world of the CAD that does not oblige me to think too much as an engineer, but rather as a designer. The software is complete, enjoyable to the eye and to the touch, and noteworthy when it comes to saving time and hair! Yes, as you can see, I don't like so much his most feared competitor!

Cons

Sometimes, as often happens in the universe of the CAD, it gets tricky to use to reach your point. Tutorials are always useful to overcome level and know more about how these software think.

March 2018

Kristina from Architecture by Kristina

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

Great Design Software Easy to use!!!

This software is so delightful! Actually, this software is my first option on BIM world. The render engine quality is amazing and very likely and customizable

Pros

Good user interface; very clear and also enables quick a lot of user adjustment. Flexibility, ease of use and depth of project customization. Design in 2 and 3 dimensions simultaneously. Import and export projects with AutoCad, etc.

Cons

Too many object settings for each object makes learning curve quite steep. Not intuitive enough for quick design experimentation (a la Sketchup). Opening up files take a long time depending on your CPU.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

ArchiCAD has all the features we need and is easy to access from anywhere on mobile, which we love.

Pros

ArchiCAD has many great qualities, like their great customer service and mobile access capabilities. It is important for our workflow and it has done wonderfully.

Cons

At first, we were worried about the length and administration of software training. However, the program scales up incredibly well for all company sizes , making training a breeze.

October 2018

Thuso from ThusoM InvestCon (Pty) Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Has been one of the most easiest programs to use specially coming from Autodesk to ArchiCad

ArchiCad is simple and straight forward.

Pros

3D Animation Ease of use integration into other Programs like lumion & twinmotion Import & export to other program formats

Cons

there is not much to critisize about due to the program is stryt forward, however there is a bug problem that causes the program to shutdown when you are doing big projects.

August 2018

Brandon from Eco Interiors Ltd.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Perfect drafting solution for residential and small-to-medium commercial projects

Pros

I spent part of my time each day providing drafting support to our designers, and ArchiCAD was an easy program for me to learn even with minimal drafting experience. The support documents and online resources helped me overcome any learning obstacle I came across.

Cons

Having installed ArchiCAD on each computer, it was a tad time consuming to installed and license for everyone. But that's really the only negative I can think of, the drafting interface and features are fantastic!

February 2018

Maria Carolina from FEIBO SERVICIOS INDUSTRIALES, CA

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Excellent product, easy to use to integrate construction disciplines.

Excellent for integrating construction disciplines in 3D and avoiding problems when installing

Pros

My experience is mainly in MEP and I like how easy it can be to adjust the default components in the libraries, without the need to add a new one. With other BIM softwares it is more complicated to adjust the dimensions of these components.

Cons

It really is a software that I like a lot and I would recommend it on the competition, what I like the least could be a little the interface that does not look so modern, but as Softaware I do not have negative criticism.

December 2018

Rimi from Self employed

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Well designed cad package, Rendering can be improved

still the overall value would be make it a good option, unless you are already seasoned with a different CAD and BIM package. Also rendering output results and image realism is a consideration to keep in mind.

Pros

Full feature set, and integration but also interface that is not cumbersome to get used to. Switch from previous packages was not an issue.

Cons

Rendering compared to our other solution was not as crisp, at least from our experience. But end result was good enough for our clients.

August 2018

Cateherin from Nueva Prensa

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Ideal for buildings

It is used to add construction data, through the software you can see the development of the work. It allows modifying the data that is added.

Pros

ArchiCAD is a good tool for those companies that are developing architecture projects. The reason is because it allows specific designs and the development of the work, from the beginning to the end.

Cons

You have to add personalized data, so only reliable users should enter. The price is very expensive, which is negative for users.

October 2016

c.govindaraj from india

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

building plan,3d drawing

one year experience in cadd,i am constract 10nos buildig.i have want 2d&3d . am allways instered building drawing.

Pros

3d plan

Cons

new

April 2019

janarth from LINK ENGINEERING

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

ARCHI CAD

As we are mostly dealing with the appartments and customers dealing i feel it helped a lot in explaining.

Pros

The graphical view is amazing and it was very easy to explain the customers the internal facilities of the individual house or the appartments once we sketch it in ARCHI CAD.Intresting thing i wondered is the glass architecture features in it.

Cons

Here, Some times during sketching some of the building joints placements were not drawn carefully so if there is any option to indicate the non joint places it will be most helpfull

January 2019

Valmir from Smart Project

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Archicad review

Pros

The BIM features and the overall ease of use of the software.

Cons

The 3d representations are not very good.

February 2019

Hele-Riin from MT TT Kultuuriklubi

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Let's keep it simple

It sometimes seems illogical, as when you mess up your desktop, you basically can't go back.

Pros

The possibility to start from scratch, build the whole thing and then have the option to make it 3D.

Cons

The design, it looks old, but at the same time it has everything I expected from it.

October 2018

Chris from Eco Interiors Ltd.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

A solid contender in the CADD software field

Pros

We use both ArchiCAD and AutoCAD in house, and the former is definitely a solid piece of drafting software. It provides perspectives and 3D views instantaneously, and the rendering engine produces high quality renders.

Cons

The customer support takes a while to get back to support tickets which can lead to lost productivity and revenue depending on the issue.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Another best autoCAD alternatives, but more powerful!

Overall, this is the most helpful CAD for drafting especially for Architecture student whose often working in a group or numbers of people, then this app is for you! as an Architecture student, we used to work under pressure with so many assignment but with limited of time given, so this software will come handy to help finish several assignment at the same time.

Pros

unlike AutoCAD, you can work in parallels and simultaneously between floor plans and elevation in 3D! saving your time to create the elevation as soon as you done the floor plans, all together! And if you have to working in team either close or across the cities you can working together on the same files at the same time, so as soon as you made a changed in the floor plans the other would recognise the changed at a glance! Best software if you're working in a team.

Cons

Despite its ability to working simultaneously between floor plans and elevation, you have to adjust your own custom specifications of materials details from windows to the walls, one by one if you want to create the elevations and facade

November 2018

Mohammed Aziz from Sonatrach

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

review for architecture use and 3d modelisation

Pros

simple to use, good precision in work with big and good librery

Cons

you need software to make good presentation ( need work on the render)

March 2018

Matthew from Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Decent little architectural application with some nice features

Pros

The main thing that I like the best with this software, is that the GUI is extremely user friendly and very easy to grasp. I was able to know how to get around this software within minutes of using it. I love visualization enhancement is the new 3D Surface Painter that enables users to apply different materials in a timely manner to model surfaces using drag-and-drop.

Cons

Most functions just seem old and out dated. The developers need to work on this. No spelling of the shortcut functions and no simple way of controlling building part types and other automation features you might find elsewhere.

April 2018

Abinet from Hono Group

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

ArchCAD make 3D very easy

If you want to make 3D, look no more.

Pros

- easily can make 3D, from floor plan easily build internal and external walls - very good rendering - can work with 3rd party software

Cons

- not much cons but there should be automatic printable view, easily to prepare the blue print. which extracted from the 3D.

September 2019

Nick from Zon Engineering Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Focused on architects, not so much engineers

Pros

- We tried ArchiCAD as an alternative to AutoCAD, and it is a great product with the ability to create 2D and 3D views simultaneously.

Cons

- The feature set is definitely geared toward architects, there isn't much that is useful to engineers.

September 2018

Audrey from Accenture

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Great for 3D drawings

Great 3D drawing product has many features.

Pros

Easy to use and great product for making 3D plans you can learn this product easily that you don't need to be computer expert to master it, I just need to explore its features and you can make your imagination comes to life .

Cons

There are other products better to be used than archiCAD when in terms of detailed 2D drawing but in 3D drawings archiCAD is the best.

April 2017

Anna from https://mytaskhelper.ru

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

I do not know how the designers worked before ArchiCAD

I have enjoyed using ArchiCAD for about 5 years and I wonder how the designers could work in those days when such software did not exist. ArchiCAD helps to master the basics of design, and in the future it is convenient to use the package to create more complex designs. In the program all modules work perfectly, the functional is sufficient for designing complex designs.

Cons

expensive

November 2018

Mattia from MJS Planning & Design

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Perfect program for Architectural and Engineering combined works

Pros

This program has great features and a it's relatively easy to use compared to other 3d modelling programs

Cons

As other 3d modelling programs, it can be scary to use it. Maybe an updating in terms of style and design could be helpful

November 2016

Nikolaus from nikolauspfusterschmid

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

One of the best CAD softwares on the market

I've been using ArchiCAD since a long time and couldn't work without it anymore. Especially when working in a team on a BIM model. Also cross-platform use is deeply integrated. Export/import to and from all the most common file-systems is supported.

Pros

Feature-richness

Cons

Takes long to learn

Displaying 1 - 50 of 138 reviews