All ARCHICAD Reviews

1-25 of 276 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Laurel

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

one of the best in the BIM world

PROS

The sober and uncluttered interface makes it easy to use. Management of several data in the same program. Perfectly adapted for medium-sized companies. File sharing, 3D visualization of prototypes. It is possible to make more elaborate presentations and convince partners and collaborators more easily.

CONS

Limited functionality for non-paying versions. Requires enough time to master the GDL programming language to create parametric objects. Basically, it is difficult to master all the features and sometimes the services of an expert will be required.

Carlos

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Review from a BIM manager

My experience with archicad it is been great. I will go now for 21 years using the program and help me to show my projects better every time.

PROS

The easy way to use the modeling tools to create a good project.

CONS

The limitation of some tools (curtain wall). I can not create a curve panel with mullions that follow the reference line. In the stair tool I can not separate the finish from the structure in the Core only representation

Reason for choosing ARCHICAD

The easy way to use compare with the other one

Reasons for switching to ARCHICAD

For the Elevation/Section tool and the door schedules

Martin

Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2023

Worst optimization ever experienced

Absolutely horrible.

PROS

Its a bim program and thats about it i think.

CONS

The only reason we use archicad is simply that it is slightly better than revit. The problem with the program is that instead of cleaning up the extreme amount of mess they simply add useless new features constantly... which piles ontop of a thousand other useless things, making it less and less intuitive with every release. The absolute biggest problem though is simply how insanely badly optimized the program is. It simply doesnt matter how strong a computer you have... you will sit and wait for that blue circle spinning round and round for ages....

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Archicad. Your feedback is valuable, and we appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. Regarding ArchiCAD: Feature Development: Archicad provides architects with powerful yet user-friendly tools. Recent updates and new releases have streamlined the interface and improved features. Please see what's coming next here: https://graphisoft.com/product-roadmap Performance Optimization: We prioritize software performance with regular updates to ensure Archicad runs on new hardware and operating systems. Your comments make it hard to determine whether you have a hardware or software issue. We'd like you to contact our support team at support.na@graphisoft.com to see if you have any software performance issues. Thank you for choosing Archicad.

Replied September 2023

Megan

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Love Archicad!

I've been using Archicad for over 6 years and plan to always use it because I like it so much. Never want to use Revit haha

PROS

Can model both schematically and detailed. Like the aesthetics of the 3d window. Love graphic overrides. I'm a mac user so its nice to not have to spilt my operating system to accommodate a pc based software.

CONS

Wish its object library were more residential focused.

Vendor Response

We truly appreciate receiving feedback like this and hope that Archicad, along with our other tools, will nurture your talent, leading to the creation of incredible designs by you! There are a couple of exciting ways to boost your library: you can either craft them right within Archicad or bring them in through importing. With Archicad 27, we've upped our game by integrating Param-O and Library Part Maker as built-in tools, offering you more creative freedom than ever before. And if you're leaning towards importing, all the info you need is just a click away on our partner's website: https://www.bim6x.com/post/how-to-import-3d-models-to-archicad. We're here to help make your design journey smoother and hope you find these resources helpful! Thanks a bunch for sticking with us ❤️

Replied February 2024

Nicola

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Developing designs is a breeze

Our developed design workflow has sped up. The ability to switch between 2d and 3d visualisations of the space allows us to pick up on issues we wouldn’t normally come across until much later in the design and mitigate them as necessary.

PROS

The software sped up our workflow significantly from 2d software and is particularly useful for conceptual and developed design stages where we are continually tweaking the design. The 3d views are particularly useful for understanding design changes as a space. Setting up quick window and door layouts is particularly easy to do and change.

CONS

The software works really well at the developed design stage but when it comes to technical design it is very difficult to apply specific products such as windows when the design is not covered by the basic archicad parameters and the company does not yet support the software in its downloads.

Reason for choosing ARCHICAD

Revit is not supported on The Macs we use in the office.

Reasons for switching to ARCHICAD

We wanted to move into a 3d drawing software.

Brendon

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

ArchiCAD

I have been with ArchiCAD since V4 and watched it grow into a great piece of software for our industry. It is used nearly every day and is a great asset in our office.

PROS

With the release of ArchiCAD V23 there are a lot of new features that have increased my more flow. The integration of add-ons like TwinMotion and the new an improved coloumns and beams tools.

CONS

Not a fan of the buy the software and then pay the monthly subscription on top. Adobe and other software don't do this. They should also include more in the subscription, localised add-ons like cadimage add-ons.

Reasons for switching to ARCHICAD

In 1995 it was the first 3D building software that I had seen that actually drew in 3D with ease.

Brian

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Fantastic drafting and BIM software

I really enjoy using Archicad and exploring the options available. I am constantly finding new ways to use the program

PROS

Archicad is very easy to use, has every feature I can think of, and is just as easy to design in 3D as it is in 2D (usually at the same time)

CONS

The biggest con is that most engineering firms use Revit, so the collaborative element with outside firms is limited.

Reason for choosing ARCHICAD

Our firm has used Archicad exclusively in the past, but recently considered Revit, but we found it was not the best choice for us.

Juan

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

The real BIM

Superb software, it is a real advantage with all the potential for improvement you can imagine. Great support and permanent development. It is also supported in MAC

PROS

Its a tool created for architecture and it is amazingly agile and powerful. Archicad is definitely a competitive advantage.

CONS

Since Archicad is not the industry standard, it sometimes creates conflict with consultants and clients.

Reason for choosing ARCHICAD

After a deep research we found that it was a more robust and agile tool. We decided 6 years ago and we have never regretted our decision.

David

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

ARCHICAD is the most mature and stable BIM solution available

Overall, it has been a great experience. There are always stumbling blocks with complex software, but we've done a good job of producing what we need with very tight deadlines.

PROS

Very flexible for designers. We can produce the same deliverables in multiple ways depending on how we need to work.

CONS

Sometimes too flexible, especially for newer users learning the software.

Reasons for switching to ARCHICAD

We switched over 24 years ago and never looked back.

User Profile

Sadaf

Verified reviewer

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

One of the best tools for BIM implementation

As an Architect, I have been able to use ArchiCAD for conceptual designs, detailed drafting, interior layouts as well as generating high-quality elevations, sections and 3D views for all my projects, including presentation drawings. In fact, 3D modelling and rendering have been made simple thanks to ArchiCAD. Visualization, (placing cameras) and gathering documentation are also uncomplicated. Rendering tools are useful and there is no need to get extra plug-ins for performing the same tasks that can be done within the software itself. I consider ArchiCAD to be better than its counterparts, e.g. Revit mainly because it is uncomplicated to use, with the same functionality at an economical investment.

PROS

ArchiCAD is one of the most innovative platforms for BIM available in the market today. It is a powerful software that can cater to the design needs of architects, interior designers as well as landscape and urban planners. One can either import 2D drafts into ArchiCAD and work on the same to prepare a 3D model; or work on ArchiCAD on Plan mode and the software will automatically generate elevations, sections and 3D views. If the building is multi-storey, it is much easier to correct any minor deficiencies in drafting (that can be missed in the plan view) through the 3D viewer, which makes it perfect to use when trying to pinpoint any errors. There is a wonderful feature in AutoCAD called Solibri Model Checker that can accurately analyse the BIM model to accurately locate errors along with any possible faults in design, and identify areas, where the components used, are clashing. As an Architect, I feel that it is a great tool that can be used to estimate the energy requirements of a building. Moreover, there is a plug-in called EcoDesigner STAR that offers features including energy model visualization, thermal zoning and simulations for energy performance. It is one of the better software I have used for 3D modelling and I never think of switching to any other.

CONS

As is with other similar software, ArchiCAD requires a robust system to operate with a high level of RAM especially when rendering. It does tend to slow down the system a bit especially when you are opening a data-rich file. Secondly, there is a steep learning curve with the software, which is easy to overcome with practice. Apart from these two shortcomings, I have no other major concern that would affect my opinion of this otherwise excellent software.

Babar

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Critical Analysis on Archi Cad compare to Other Cad software's

PROS

The most Likeable part while I am using Archicad is "Its Most user-friendly software I ever come across, its easier, to use Compare to other Cad Software's in the market, Powerfully Presented 3D modeling along with its BIM features, on the same time its much easier to use with other Features like MEP,BIM,Structure, Project management Tools. Over all I am much happier while using this Software then Other Cad software.

CONS

The only Missing part or I would like to say, a Most difficult part is when you Export Archicad Pln file to Convert into Dwg, It always Gives problem who are using on Auto cad, no matter how well you set it up, I think Arch cad should make more easier way and make user friendly while Importing File to Dwg.

Reason for choosing ARCHICAD

The most Likeable part while I am using Archicad is "Its Most user-friendly software I ever come across, its easier, to use Compare to other Cad Software's in the market, Powerfully Presented 3D modeling along with its BIM features, on the same time its much easier to use with other Features like MEP,BIM,Structure, Project management Tools. Over all I am much happier while using this Software then Other Cad software.

Tara

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

"Revolutionizing the Design and Construction Process with ARCHICAD"

ARCHICAD makes it easier for teams to collaborate and share data, allowing more efficient design and construction processes. ARCHICAD provides a single source of truth for building information, reducing errors, and saving time by eliminating the need to re-enter data in multiple places. ARCHICAD's advanced 3D modeling tools allow for more detailed and accurate designs, improving overall design quality and reducing the risk of errors. In terms of benefits, users of ARCHICAD have reported improved collaboration and communication, reduced errors, increased productivity, and improved design quality.

PROS

ARCHICAD is a Building Information Modeling (BIM) software used by architects, designers, and engineers. ARCHICAD is known for its user-friendly interface, intuitive navigation, and efficient workflows. It allows users to create 3D models and architectural designs and generate 2D drawings, documentation, and visualizations from the same source. Additionally, it provides robust tools for collaboration, design visualization, and project delivery, making it a popular choice among architects and building professionals.

CONS

ARCHICAD is widely considered a powerful and versatile BIM software with a strong track record of success. However, like all software, it has some limitations and may not be the best choice for every situation. Some users may find its learning curve steep or prefer other software programs with different features or workflows. However, these are subjective opinions and vary from user to user, so it would be best to try the software out to determine if it meets your needs.

Krzysztof

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

This is the best software for architects.

I met Archicad during my studies, I was and still am impressed by the possibilities of this program, which is still being developed. In my work, I use it to visualize interiors as they would look after renovation or home staging, it is possible because there is a large database of libraries of objects such as windows, doors, furniture, etc. This allows clients to make better decisions. I also use it to create dimensioned floor plans in 2 and 3D options. Before the meeting, customers review the plans and more specifically interested people come to the meetings, which saves everyone time.

PROS

This program has many advantages. It can be used to create simple projections, sections, 3D models and fully advanced concepts. It is intuitive, has a large database of libraries that can be expanded and interesting elements for visualization can be downloaded from the Internet, such as silhouettes of people, vehicles, plants, etc.I also like that you can import plans from other programs and use them in Archicad. The program works on Mac and Windows, supports many file export formats. Students can download the free 30-day or annual version.

CONS

You need to start with the service course. While the use of the program is not difficult, the use of the program's capabilities requires training. It is good to have a good computer, a large monitor or a touchscreen monitor in addition.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2019

An excellent attempt in the field of design

All in all a perfect software for a beginner in the field of design as it will provide the basis of how a structure works through visuals. It can be described as a perfect software suitable for an architect!

PROS

The software provides an interface that gives an ease of use to practicing architects as well as architecture students. The features are to the point and can be altered and used as various other elements apart from their original use, for the purposes of design communication. The best feature of Archicad is the ability to edit the structure in 3D at a very acceptable and adequate speed making visualization very simple.

CONS

The downside is the layout processing part as well as documentation. It requires a high end RAM space and quite a lot of time to update the drawings as on the working tab. The changes will appear late and it is hectic at times.

Jacob

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

ArchiCAD Review

PROS

ease of use in our office with staff that have strong preferences for visual impact of drawings

CONS

This program is not the industry standard in the United States. Very frustrating.

Reason for choosing ARCHICAD

Our office loves mac interface

User Profile

Joseph

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

High end Designer Software

Overall, my experience with ArchiCAD was awesome. I would recommend it to designers

PROS

I have used this software for my design needs for the last one year and the value I have gotten from it it insurmountable! The software offers a nice practical 2D and 3D experience when doing the models. It also offers numerous tools which when combined, one is able to bring out an excellent image just like a pro. With proficiency with the software, one is able to maneuver so fast and with so much ease that the software actually reduces the time required for a drawing by more than 70%. It was easy for me to learn the operations as they all are practical and well organized on the screen.

CONS

Some starters may find it challenging to work with the numerous tools the software offers. It also requires some advanced skills and knowledge about designs.

Katrine

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

review employee

very good for cooperating. and can handle big projects. Not the best for sketching.

PROS

good for cooperation between betwwen all groups in a projects.Easy to crash-check possible collisions. good for comunication with both entreprenours and costumers.

CONS

not always easy to get help when file shuts down. We used to work and save directly to a server. this did not work well with big models.

Michelle

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT