User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(126)

126

4 stars

(62)

62

3 stars

(10)

10

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Its easy to use. Shortcut keys makes it very handy. Even if there are changes in the drawing, it is easy to change them quickly"

  • "very easy to use and understand just like the res of the autocad programs."

  • "Easy program to use for drafting as an architecture student and at work. Great for scaling drawings and drawing orthos. "

  • Cons

  • " I think the only defects that this has is that the type of language that the program has, from there on out I did not see anything wrong and that is the opposite is an excellent tool!"

  • "Fine tuning the graphical output takes time and skill because the preview within the program is limited."

  • "The software is undeniably a perfect match for drafting, although not the best choice if your main purpose is to render the objects."

Browse AutoCAD Architecture Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 202 results

August 2020

User Profile Picture

Mamochaki from Self Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

AutoCAD Architecture Review

I am a self taught CAD operator who designs small houses and AutoCAD helped me a lot and is still helping me to this day even though I am still learning more, it is a good software that really helped me.

Pros

AutoCad is a very good CAD software because it is user friendly and it delivers quality graphics that encourage creativity, and it has a lot of features that can be added on and manipulated, which makes it a perfect Draughting tool for Architects old and new.

Cons

It took me too long to get a hang of everything, but truth be told, whatever I learned stayed with me because it was easy to apply, I feel it has a lot of features that need to be learnt first before everything is clearer.

Reasons for Choosing AutoCAD Architecture

A lot of people trust it because it has been here for a long time which breeds confidents to buyers or those who are comparing.

Reasons for Switching to AutoCAD Architecture

It contained little tools that help with the draughting, like brick types and sizes and roof variations.

December 2019

Peter from V3Power

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

AutoCAD Architecture Review

Overall experience is positive and allows us to be competitive in the marketplace

Pros

The software is highly compatible with many other products. There are unending resources available and supported by most if not all industries in one form or another which makes our job easier.

Cons

Can be cumbersome at times and has glitches that require work arounds. There are times where the program freezes up and requires reboot.

Reasons for Choosing AutoCAD Architecture

Most compatible with legacy programs and software at the time

March 2021

Benonius from Cv.Famosika

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

The Best Application for architect

this application is very powerfull to use on worksheet of architecture project, beacuse there are such good feature to make the plan much better than the other one.

Pros

i mostly like this software because this software help me to plan project model percision and detail and it provided the best graphic results.

Cons

there is no bar command which guide the user to modeling the project, the new user also need more guidden button to guide them.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2018

Way too overpriced also not compatable with older versions

Too many clients need to have you save it down to a previous version. It is harder to customize than the older versions of CAD or Autocad alternatives.

Pros

The only pros about it is that everyone uses it so it can be used to open drawings from other firms.

Cons

It is not fully compatible with free-cad or Draftsight applications, it will give an error message saying the file was not created by an Autocad application even though there is nothing wrong with it and the file opens fine after closing the warning box. The biggest problem is sending files to people with earlier versions of CAD, they make it where you have to either buy a new copy of Autocad each year or the people sending the file have to save it down to your Autocad version. They have also eliminated or made it difficult to have auto-cad classic view instead of the ribbon. The new Xref manager is horrible unless you remember to type xrefclassic. The newest versions are also slow even on the newest PCs with core i7 processors and higher amounts of RAM.

January 2021

John from Triple Play Studio

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Still Relevant!!

I've been a fan of the software for close to 2 decades. I still prefer it over Revit, etc, because it is so customizable. I care a great deal about the quality of my drawings - Revit gets me kind of there, but I still greatly prefer AutoCAD for it's options for lineweights, text, etc. It's not for everyone, but it's definitely for me. :)

Pros

The architecture world is making a migration from 2D to 3D BIM software - Revit, Rhino, Sketchup, and the like. For large projects, Revit may be appropriate. For modelers, Rhino. And for hobbyists, Sketchup. But there is a large market for residential/light commercial where AutoCAD is still the #1 software for working drawings. It has flexibility, and is still the preferred software for structural engineers, mechanical engineers, landscape architects, and more. I love the control I have over lineweight and clarity, as opposed to the competition.

Cons

The discrepancy between scales, and modelspace vs paperspace has been an issue in the entirety of the 18+ years I've been using the software. I have my workarounds for this, but I really wish it were easier/more intuitive to flip between MS and PS.

Reasons for Choosing AutoCAD Architecture

See my testimonials above.

October 2019

ana marcela from ITESM

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

3D AUTOCAD FOR ARCHITECTURE

I LIKED THE VARIETY OF ELEMENTS YOU COULD INSERT , SINCE IT SAVED ME A LOT OF TIME WHILE DESIGNIN A NEW SPACE

Pros

THE LIBRARY GAVE ME DOORS AND WINDOWS, THAT I COULD CHANGE THE MEASURE AS I NEEDED IT.

Cons

SOMETIMES THE ELEMNTES THAT I INSERTED WENT CRAZY ON THE MEASURMENT , SO FOR EXAMPLE, THE DOORS WOULDN´T SHOW .

Reasons for Switching to AutoCAD Architecture

FOR THE ELEMENTS YOU COULD INSERT ( DOORS, WINDOWS,ETC.) AND ALSO WHILE YOU WERE DESGNING , THE PLAN VIEW WOULD BE MODELING INTO 3D

December 2020

Nyadja Ntanfa from Nyadja

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

AutoCAD architecture

Pros

AutoCAD architecture très bénéfique dans l'étude architecturale des projets de constructions notamment dans la conception des plans 2D et 3D

Cons

Ce que je déplore c'est la qualité de ses rendu de dessin 3D pas très attrayant

December 2020

User Profile Picture

Nina from Central Colleges Of The Philippines

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

"The Best Tool For Designing And Drafting!"

AutoCad is the best Architecture tool I've used. It saves a lot of time really. It is very convenient. It helps me a lot. This software is the future of Architects.

Pros

What I like about AutoCad is that I can design, model and put the exact dimensions of every little details. AutoCad is very convenient to Architect student like me because all the tools that I needed for design is in this software. Not to mention that they have a free trial for student which I'm very thankful about. It save a lot time and effort. Once you know your way on how to use AutoCad and what the tools are for, you can easily use the software faster than expected. Credits to the accuracy of its measurements and details it is a big help to quickly finish the project. I like how I don't need to worry about revisions because it can change easily without having to draw again. I also like how I can convert my work to other file formats such PDF and etc. Lastly, I'm very impressed in Cad 3D view because it is very realistic as it can simulate the layout of your design.

Cons

Not much just even though it is user friendly it really takes time to fully grasp its functions and details. Also, AutoCad requires to have a strong computer processing power in order to have a good experience.

December 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Amazing Software

it was one of the best experience with this company. All members and team are supportive to solve all our queries.

Pros

I have been with this company more than 2 years and it is amazing experience to use it and reach my goal. I will highly recommended this software to all architectural firm, individual who are invoice or working in same field.

Cons

It takes a very high space in computer and lag a computer.

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Michael from MKM Thunderbird Trading CC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

AutoCad Architecture

My overall experience, though, has been that of fair, to be honest. I learned much of my cad drawing using AutoCAD Architecture and I was not dissapointed with the vast array of functionality that the software comes with.

Pros

I have used AutoCAD Architecture for most of my career life, to design architectural drawings and it has not disappointed me. The software has the most functionalities that one would need.

Cons

The price os the software is one thing that needs to be looked at. For a small firm, it would be difficult to get a licence for this product. The other issue if the volume of the software installation, it takes up so many resources, one needs a powerful computer to run this software without any glitches.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

AutoCAD-An amazing asset for drawing and demonstrating

AutoCAD Architecture takes the previous AutoCAD to an entirely different measurement. The program essentially helps profitability, which enables a customer to work all the more productively and adequately. Truth be told, I think this item is something fundamental in each office and home that as often as possible arrangements with structural plans. I additionally feel that organizations that embrace this specific program will no doubt appreciate the additional advantage of automation of complex drafting endeavors than previously.

Pros

Autocad makes the calling of originators, planner and architects all the more simple, sorted out and intriguing, the autocad interface give each attracting apparatuses genuine in a computerized structure, with the assistance of the instruments like frameworks, object snaps , polar trackers and the symmetrical mode which carries on like a genuine set-squares and Tee-squares, an expert can sit agreeable on is sofa at home and make drawing audits, with this broad devices. autocad interface can without much of a stretch be altered to fit the sort of drafting you would need to do either 3D or 2d, a few times the various toolbars and directions can be overpowering for fledglings, however they are helpful given the client knows how and what to utilize them for. Autocad is client friendly,easy to utilize particularly the 2D drafting the numerous instruments have different capacities, that would be required for various kind of drawings, before you use autocad, you should comprehend the nature of work you need to accomplish, at that point autocad will offer them to you quicker, precisely and progressively satisfactory. Autocad gives the benefit to secret key drawing records, to avert access to your drawings by different clients of your PC,you can go to choices by right snap on the drawing window,from there you can set secret phrase to your presently opened documents, its has truly help keep up some degree of duplicate right, and help to verify organizations idea and structures .

Cons

The sticker price related with AutoCAD is steep, thinking about fashioners, designers, and specialists, all utilization it unendingly. To work without significant glitches, for example, screen solidify, slow preparing velocity the product needs framework wealthy in memory and RAM. A couple of directions like Trim and Hatch work gradually if your PC is (for my situation) old or short on accessible RAM. For new clients, the whole interface can be very overpowering thinking about the quantity of directions accessible for differed capacities. I don't generally have serious issues with the 2D drafting highlight, as it is exhaustive, exact and easy to use, however by one way or another the 3D highlight isn't the best. As I would like to think, there is other programming accessible which can create excellent, introduction commendable and practical 3D renderings as most have their very own beam following, something that AutoCAD needs. Also, for complex undertakings, it very well may challenge update areas, heights, and detail drawings regardless of whether there is a minor change in the arrangement/s. For this reason particularly, I lean toward BIM programming when taking a shot at enormous and testing ventures.

June 2019

User Profile Picture

Stephen Olawale from Sunilar Nig.Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

THE ARCHITECT DIGITAL DRAWING BOARD

my overall experience using autocad, is that autocad has made life easy for me, i don't have to carry drawing boards,Tee-squares and set-squares all over the place because i want to present a design concept,thanks to the auto-desk team.

Pros

Autocad makes the profession of designers, architect and engineers more easy, organised and interesting, the autocad interface provide every drawing tools in real life in a digital form, with the help of the tools like grids, object snaps , polar trackers and the orthogonal mode which behaves like a real life set-squares and Tee-squares, a professional can sit comfortable on is couch at home and make drawing reviews, with this extensive tools. autocad interface can easily be customized to fit the type of drafting you would want to carry out either 3D or 2d, some times the numerous toolbars and commands can be overwhelming for beginners, but they are very useful provided the user knows how and what to use them for. Autocad is user friendly,easy to use especially the 2D drafting the many tools have various functions, that would be be needed for different type of drawings, before you use autocad, you must understand the quality of work you want to achieve, then autocad will give them to you faster, accurately and more presentable. Autocad gives the privilege to password drawing files, to prevent access to your drawings by other users of your PC,you can go to options by right click on the drawing window,from there you can set password to your currently opened files, its has really help maintain some level of copy-right, and help to secure companies concept and and designs, I use password on drawings a lot.

Cons

The autocad 3D models is not has realistic like the BIM applications with a powerful rendering settings, so i prefer to export CAD format to Revit Architecture for my 3D realistic models. Autocad requires a PC with large memory speed, especially with the latest versions ,while carrying out 2D drafting, modifications like Hatching or triming, if you do not upgrade your RAM you will be very slow working on the application. The numerous tabs, tool bars can be very intimidating to beginners, has a trainer, I have to switch off some tabs and focus on those one that are needed for a particular deliverable, I would like my trainee to accomplish through the present exercise, before going to the next. It is very true that not all of these tools on the autocad interface are being used by architect for their 2D drafting. Making drawing reviews for large project on autocad is not has easy has using BIM applications like Revit Architecture, even if the changes on the plan is small, you will have to edit your elevations, sections, independently on autocad., but despite all these, autocad is the best for architect from the conceptual stage ,working drawing stage and presentation stage.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Help people to create architectural designs

AutoCAD Architecture takes the former AutoCAD to a whole new dimension. The program significantly boosts productivity, which allows a client to work more efficiently and effectively. In fact, I think this product is something essential in every office and home that frequently deals with architectural designs. I also think that companies that choose to adopt this particular program will most likely enjoy the added benefit of mechanization of complex drafting undertakings than before.

Pros

CAD software is tailor-made to help people create aesthetically appealing architectural designs and documents quickly and easily. On the other hand, AutoCAD Architecture adds more salient features for architectural drawing, schedules, and documentation. It's also easy to automate drafting tasks with just a few clicks, which makes life easier and fun at the same time. This software program is fairly easy to use, especially when you undertake a few beginner lessons. It's an excellent option for basic floor plans, landscape studies, and elevations to mention a few. You can easily turn off multiple layers that you don't need, and choose the ones that suit your specific project. I love to use this as my schematic starting point before uploading them to other designing tools, such as Revit or Photoshop.

Cons

There's a small learning curve a person may experience in the beginning before they can start using the program efficiently and effectively. The keyboard commands are many and overwhelming, and there are so many ways of accomplishing a single task. Also, the functionality to organize large drawings or to organize repetitive elements is very limited. All these technicalities make it very easy for a person to get lost and confused, especially if you're sharing your work with someone who has a different layout preference from yours. Another thing I really dislike about this program is the 3D software part. Sure, you're able to create awesome designs with 3D, but the whole experience is time-consuming and a largely manual task altogether.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Jay from www.ipigeon.institute

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

AutoCAD is the drafting and prototyping engineer's most extended product line of CAD stuff.

I've assisted others in establishing a gig basis context, and perhaps an appreciable self-serving basis and context of establishing themselves in a profession of architecture and product design, for example, in which they've had some appreciable experience in, and willingness to devote time on their own, as it were, to establishing a professionalism occupation on the merits of their pre-established education that would suit them in acquiring AutoCAD professional user experience for their future jobs and creations in life.

Pros

AutoCAD has one of the most long standing reputations and extensive product line offerings, bearing out from the basic context of AutoCAD itself, into various takes on what merits a CAD professionalism in the context od many different specializations of CAD-related industries, from fashion, to prototyping, to architecture, to building facets of the construction, development, piping and wiring context of getting into the various takes on AutoCAD releases that feature specializations suited to assist the specialist drafting engineering architect in building development contexts outside of a notably commonplace notion of CAD for architecture, [as I'd come to expect, from experience], whereas the standard AutoCAD is feature-worthy and extensible enough to merit its use in any sort of professional details-and-measurements-driven usage of a need to have access to all steps created during the drafting process, in exacting measurement contexts of producing goods for manufacture, for example.

Cons

As an ambitious digital muti-media artist snd various cottage industries aspirant, of several various pursuits in life, CAD has proven to be somewhat high on the prior-education and prerequisites of knowledge spectrum, as far as a considerably ad hoc entrepreneurial common fare other digital multimedia areas of specialization would not particularly merit a sit down and first off considerable user basis of know how and mastery within a CAD software context. It's obviously good software, but the learning context of being able to appreciably produce a professional product for actual manufacturing specifications would take more learning experience than I've devoted to CAD.

November 2020

User Profile Picture

Khan Md Mohaiuminul Islam from Sumitomo Mitsui Construction Co Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

You can not continue without Autocad in Engineering level

Autocad is one of the biggest drawing software in case of the engineering sector, It saves a lot of time and effort. Some people think that it costs much more than other software, but if you think about output, you will find out how much you get from this software, it is far good from same category other software. Its interface is not that user friendly, though if you invest some time you can easily operate it.

Pros

Best Design and drawing software in engineering software, as I am a civil engineer, it saves my effort so much. They continuously develop their software in every edition, Price is not that much much according to its output if you think. Autocad gives various functions, you can argue about that, Their are many format like colour, layer, tool bar for different works.

Cons

Obviously, Autocad is not User friendly enough without a proper tutorial, if you have a tutorial you need to master it, without it you can not run this software smoothly. If we talk about price, it definitely expensive, but it provides something valuable in return. Without a good configuration device, you are unable to run the software smoothly.

Reasons for Switching to AutoCAD Architecture

As a Civil engineer, Coralcad does not enough have enough function, I need to switch to AutoCAD to get maximum output.

August 2019

Ahmed from Technology

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Auto-CAD is a professional software for engineering designs for various buildings

It helped me to accomplish the required engineering drawings quickly and accurately, which impressed my teacher, I always use it in my drawings but sometimes the program automatically stops before I save the work

Pros

Easy to use and easy to modify. Resolution - For example, head-to-head lines cannot be manually linked to the desired resolution. Easy repetition and addition. Producing 2D and 3D graphics with ease, the software allows us to zoom in, making it easier to see the finer details on a larger scale. Models can be modeled, placed and saved in a private library. It has a property that allows modification of several formats by one command, meaning that if one part is released all other related parts are automatically released. The Layers option allows us to hide or show some specific details of a complex and complex object to become clearer and easier to understand. BOM or BOQ can be produced accurately. Bullion features allow for several adjustments in the 3D drawing.

Cons

The program is a computer-aided drawing program, so there is a problem for architects, there are no special tools to help design. Registration is expensive and requires recurring annual fees. Continuous updating of hardware and software is required. Data storage is a very sensitive process and data can be lost in the event of a malfunction. To overcome this potential catastrophe, experts suggest a “data mirroring” process in which data is stored on hard drives in multiple locations and involves significant capital allocation.

March 2019

User Profile Picture

Chamath from AdSpark.IO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

AutoCAD Architecture is very precise hence gives you accurate results

As stated above it’s very easy to use. You just need to know a few basics about AutoCAD Architecture and your good to go. It’s also has a user-friendly interface which allows you to design and analyze your projects by use of simple commands. Compared to manual drawing AutoCAD Architecture is very fast in that you can input multiple commands.

Pros

Pros: I used AutoCAD Architecture to build some architectural designs for a client. Below are some of the functionality and features I liked about AutoCAD Architecture. • It easy to use. AutoCAD Architecture has a user-friendly interface and an analytic tool which helps you to easily design and analyze the strength of your building while you designing your project. This means you can clearly see the icons of the commands you want to execute. Unlike other software’s were you can’t edit your blueprints, AutoCAD Architecture has special tools which allow you to easily edit your designs using simple commands. • Speed. Due to its user-friendly interface which allows you to execute various commands very fast, AutoCAD Architecture saves you a lot of time. This because it allows you to design, analyses and edit your designs by use of simple commands. • It accuracy levels are very high. AutoCAD Architecture allow you to be very precise and accurate. This means there is very little room for errors, hence you drawing will be accurate.

Cons

Cons: Like any other software AutoCAD Architecture has its disadvantages; • The weights of the lines do not work when the diagram is sent to a person with different software. • Sometimes AutoCAD Architecture was closing when I added some features in your drawing. • Sometimes the update comes with a new interface which may take time to cope with.

September 2019

Betre from ALIDAD Consulting Architects and Engineers

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Designing without Autocad is Impossible!

Autocad is ideal for both big and small projects weither in a team or solo. It has all the tools necessary to design both in 2D and create a 3D Model making it crucial in handling projects from start to finish.

Pros

Autocad is the most convenient, easy to use, one stop software for drafting, designing and detailing your Architectural drawings. It is workflow efficient that alows you to easily edit, replicate and import works from previous designs and customize your projects to fit any requirements. Best of all, it allows you to publish with ease to what ever scale you require. And Its not CPU or Ram intensive so you can use it without buying an expensive high performance PC. Overall, its a designer's best toolkit.

Cons

Over the years, they tried to merge the 2D and 3D functionality together resulting in Bulky software that causes a huge lag on systems. It also had compatibility issues with old designs you had from previous software releases. And lastly, there were bugs when it came to importing fonts and measurement scales that were implemented by other designers when working in group works, but now it is great to see these problems resolved.

Reasons for Choosing AutoCAD Architecture

It was based on the recommendation of senior Architects and Civil Engineers at our firm that we tried out the product in the first place. Safe to say, it did not disappoint.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Move away from Vanilla

Architecture is the program to use when looking at functionality of building systems.

Pros

Growing up using linework as the primary means to illustrate projects, Vanilla cad was all I ever needed. As the world of 3D became more common we needed to consider options. I run an engineering firm that focuses on facilities design for industrial facilities, so we didn't need the glitz and glamour of Revit, but we needed to enter the 3D world. Architecture made that happen.

Cons

Unfortunately, there are times when Revit is the stronger 3D program and as the industry moves towards this program, we tend to see the market forcing us away from Architecture and towards Revit. From AutoCAD to Architecture was really an easy shift. From Architecture to Revit will be a jump. Would be nice to have some additional rendering options with Architecture.

May 2018

garima from VASTUSHLIPDESIGN

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Being an architect my experience with autocad is very good. It is very easy to learn.

Any changes in manually drafted paper drawings would require the draftsman to draw the drawing again.But in autocad we do the changes in the same drawing and save the time.

Pros

it complete all the basic requirement to work in 2d. It has auto specification check feature , It has reduced time to design as drafting take alot of time . It offers easy reuse of the designs , The costly mistakes in the design or the production can be avoided , And you can modify the existing ideas that saves the time

Cons

it is not suited for 3D as it has fewer options ., It requires high-quality computer hardware that can be costly .The people need to be trained how to use the software that also adds to the costs , And it requires a PC

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Greatest tool for an engineering company.

Autocad has helped us create precise drawings really easily, it's libraries are so complete that most of the drawings are almost pre drawn. If you can afford it's really high price then it's totally worth it.

Pros

Autocad is extremely powerful, it is a drawing tool that can work for any type of situation, we have created electrical, mechanical, civil and architectural plans with it, also room designs and layouts. It has so many features that make the use of other cad tools unnecessary if you can afford it.

Cons

It can be overwhelming, since there are so many comands you need to know just to perform the most simple actions such as drawing a circle or a line, it could be more streamlined. Also it is really expensive.

May 2019

Nisanthan from Civil & Structural Engineering Consultants (Pvt) Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Influence of Autocad Architecture software in the Civil Engineering field

In my career I have used these software so many times to draw the building plans according to coordinates system. This software has lot of short cut tool bars to draw the drawing of the plan effectively and accurately. That's why this software is considered as a user familiar. Those drawings drawn by autocad use to explain the actual plan to other in easiest way. In my career, I have drawn more than fifty drawings using by these software.

Pros

It's easy to draw our actual plan of Project based on coordinates system. It's a user familiar software to Civil Engineers.

Cons

The drawings drawn by new version software (AutoCad 2019) will be never opened in old version software (AutoCad 2014).

August 2018

Morgan from Naylor Wentworth Lund Architects

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Its a great tool for doing site and initial schematic design, but cumbersome for complex projects

It helps me do the things I need to do for my job. Its a good design tool and allows me to view work done by other professions.

Pros

Its the original computer aided drafting software and has been used by everyone in the construction industry. Its solid and works great. With a little bit of training its pretty simple to use and doesn't require extensive knowledge of 3d software. It does have the feature and is a good start into the 3D world. I love its compatibility with all other autodesk products and can't be linked into Revit easily. Its cheaper than Revit though and is bundled with that as well. Most fabricators and shops still use it so its a must to have if you are in the construction industry.

Cons

Its definitely a bit old school and not really the software you should base your practice around. Its BIM capabilities are very lacking. It does have some 3D capabilities, but the interface is cumbersome and not easy to use for first time users.

April 2020

Ivan from Aluk

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

AutoCAD Autodesk

It is easy an amazing experience, very positive. It is used now by all our engineers.

Pros

AutoCAD is most probably the best software on the market used by engineers. It is reliable, solid, with a lot of different functionalities. The software assures an high precision on drawings, difficult to find in any other software.

Cons

At the beginning it is quite difficult to learn, it is for sure not a software that anyone can learn in a short time. From the other hand this can be considered a benefit, as you will have around only people with experienced and high knowledge on the field.

March 2019

Kanav from Architecture

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

AutoCAD A Great Tool

its a great tool, It will increase or improve your productivity and even quality of work with time. It adds a whole new level to your presentation drawings.

Pros

As an Architect it helps me design more Complex structures which includes lots of detailing in it and it is very easy to use if you have basic understanding of software. Presenting basic floor plans and elevation and other details are very easy on this software. Changes in drawings can be done very easily which is very useful when client ask for sudden changes in the drawing.

Cons

Using 3D is sometimes very confusing, It gets very complicated most of the time which is very exhausting sometimes and needs a very high specs of PC. For starter it can be little difficult to get familiar with all the functions

December 2020

Osborn from Self-Employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

AutoCAD Architecture Review

AutoCAD is so far the best CADD software I have ever used. I taught myself how to use AutoCAD after a watching few video tutorials on youtube. Today I am very experienced at using AutoCAD software.

Pros

AutoCAD is one of the oldest CADD software which is very easy to use. it is compatible with most computer systems due to different types of versions. navigation is very smooth in AutoCAD as compared to other CADD software.

Cons

AutoCAD becomes slower and corrupts most often when dealing with huge projects and the fact that projects done in higher versions cannot be opened in lower version sucks.

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Evgenia from NORR Architects and Engineers LTD.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

An excellent tool for drawing and modelling

AutoCAD Architecture helps us develop construction documents in a much quicker and a more efficient manner, which is particularly useful in the world where customers seem to need everything delivered "yesterday".

Pros

The sheer versatility of this tool is mind-blowing. There's absolutely nothing that cannot be done with once you get the grasp. It's a great tool to start working on your drawings before importing them in other tools such us Revit.

Cons

There's definitely a learning curve that you need to overcome in the beginning before you can fully realize the potential of this tool.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Eduardo from casco services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

new to autoCad?

I am really pleased on this app, make my work as a interior designer so easy and help me resolve the problems of showing my clients my ideas on the design, quickly.

Pros

I would say, the most remarkable thing for professionals looking for floor plan presentations and architectural details for construction mostly, once you get the basics on the menu and keyboard shortcuts, its the friendly and easy workflow you can achieve from having a rough sketch and measures.

Cons

one thing I dislike is the difficult task of plotting on a given scale, its a real pain for most of us non architects.

July 2019

Ahsan from Arkstar design solution

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Autocad Architecture Review

I'm using Autocad for the prepration of on site shop designs for my construction projects. The interface of the Autocad is very user friendly.the drawing Tools and commands are very comprehensive.

Pros

Best tool for preparation of working and shop drawing. It is user friendly.autocad provides many drawing options.We can also import and export projects.drawing commands are very comprehensive.

Cons

It uses alot of computer resources. The 3d quality is not up to the mark. Importing an existing image in to the cad file is difficult to adjust as per desired scale

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Austin from Quartersawn Design & Build

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

I use this product in work everyday, almost all day. I have grown very familiar with the software.

Pros

I like that it was fairly easy to learn the basics of the software. I was able to adequately use the program with very little time learning the software beforehand. I also like how well the software helps you learn more of the functions and features that it offers, the more that you use it.

Cons

I dislike that the software has seemed to reach a plateau in its capabilities. It seems that other software that provide similar services have caught up to AutoCAD. It seems that AutoCAD is progressing slower than other software.

May 2018

Tony from Innovative Planning+Design

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

I've been on AutoCad for almost 30 years... Since the first versions.

Faster, more complete Cad design of construction drawings.

Pros

It makes designing a home or commercial project easier than any other software available. Plenty of tools, and some customization is available.

Cons

Way too expensive for the common designer to afford. And now we have to pay yearly too. It's too much overhead at times. Way too many tools available, AutoCad tries to be everything for everyone. Most designers use 10-20 commands about 95% of the time. Could be boiled down while still maintaining the core engine and capabilities.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

This application is one of the most efficient in the design of spaces that have been made.

He helped me to organize my plans and their designs. The codes that are handled in this product are variable and are very good. Thing that did not help me from other similar applications.

Pros

They are constantly updating icons, menus and everything related to the culture of design in third dimension. It is a product that is worth using for its easy access and availability.

Cons

More frequent improvements or updates are needed with the use of the designs. Have more pre-designs. Expand the capacity of file registration and improve customer service.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Autocad is my most usable program.I started to use 8 years ago.

I learned designing construction plant with autocad. It was helpful metering network systems in company.

Pros

I am IT engineer. I started to use AutoCAD when I was starting to designing our company network and security systems. I tried to use easier software for our solution. But I found best solution in autocad.

Cons

Prices so high. Also Autocad is uses lots of resource. I dont use every day, sometimes I have to create basic plan. I must not install full packed of autocad. Alternatively you can sell basic version of autocad.

August 2018

Luis from Huawei Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

good software

my experience with this great software was wonderful, it helped me a lot in the tasks and jobs that leave me and to this day it continues to help me very well in my work as such, I recommend it a lot, good application and with very good tools, I am very happy with this software!

Pros

It is very accessible when using, it has very good tools and the best of all is that it helps us in many things when it comes to using it, has a very specific and very easy to use interface, excellent software for people who are just going Starting or pra people who already have too much knowledge, I help a lot and I think this software will be better and better, thanks excellent software!

Cons

I think the only defects that this has is that the type of language that the program has, from there on out I did not see anything wrong and that is the opposite is an excellent tool!

November 2019

Charlotte from Fresh Architectures

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

AutoCAD is still the best

There really is no other viable alternative to AutoCAD. It’s easy to learn as a beginner and has so many options and functionalities that I still am learning .

Pros

I have always been a fan of AutoCAD. I love how easy it is to customize and I find that it glitches only rarely. I think it’s quite intuitive.

Cons

I don’t like the way AutoCAD handles hatches. I find that hatches slow down the files, often come to the top and the fact that I can’t apply hatches to a polyline with arches bothers me a lot.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Archirecture Planning Made Easy

In my young career as a professional, I must say that in terms of 2D drafting, this software is the cream of the crop among others. But in the case of 3D modelling, I won't recommend this for it is quite hard to understand and eats a lot of space in your RAM.

Pros

As an architectural designer, using this software makes my job easier and faster with its tools being reminiscent of traditional drafting techniques.

Cons

The only issue I have with regards to AutoCAD Architecture is that it's a little too expensive compared to other CAD softwares out there.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

From general to detail works, this is compatible

Pros

What I like the most for this software is it has features that can cater drawings that require detailed attention and accuracy. Rest assured, AutoCad Architecture also has the smart object to make the 3D viewing easier. In terms of use, this is very easy to learn and it has more function compared to AutoCad alone.

Cons

The software is undeniably a perfect match for drafting, although not the best choice if your main purpose is to render the objects.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Everyday workflow. I use it as an Architectural Designer at the office.

Pros

The software has to be understood as a canvas. It gives you the tools to sketch so you have to think what you would do by hand, but with an incredible accuracy.

Cons

The same Pro is also a Con. Nowadays architecture is leaning towards BIM so you can really tell that the software has been evolving from the 90s, adding more architectural identity but, now that the revolution is at hand, you have to switch to BIM software and consider AutoCAD as just a sketching aid.

September 2018

Charles from PixelBite

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

More than just for beginners

Pros

I first learned about AutoCAD in high school. As a kid, this program was easy to use. Now, as an adult, it still is! It may take a little to be get used to the hotkeys and the functionality of the program itself, but that's the case for all programs. One of the best things about AutoCAD is its versatility in terms of importing and exporting files. I use quite a few programs while designing and being about to switch from software to software without any issues with exporting or importing is a key component.

Cons

My dislikes of AutoCAD is that the array of tools provided can sometimes seem convoluted. Every new versions provides more and more tools, which may be great, but it also adds more confusion. As a warning, people should be aware the some of the tools have a steep learning curve.

July 2019

Bintu Laraba from MC & T

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Design With AutoCAD Architecture

Design processes have been seamless and designs are easily shared with team members for proper cross-checking.

Pros

AutoCAD Architecture makes design processes seamless. It's easy to use with great quality of support. You can make design projects, save them and share them without any hassle. It's easy to visualize the design with AutoCAD Architecture and it supports both 2D/3D objects. For better designs and implementation, AutoCAD Architecture is a nice software to consider.

Cons

All I can say is I'm having a great time using the software, there's nothing to dislike about AutoCAD Architecture.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Best software to get the job done

Great app for college students and i recommend everyone to use it.

Pros

Being an engineer and architect, this app has been a lifesaver. very easy to create diagrams and drawings for buildings and other structures. Takes little practice to learn the app. and everything is just a click away if you know what you are looking for.

Cons

Very hard on the computer resources. Consumes a lot of ram for everyday tasks. Heavy use of graphics

April 2018

Rickell from Port Authority of Jamaica

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

AutoCAD Architecture is very unique and easy to used.

Good software for the engineers and Architect

Pros

Its easy to use and hasn't changed much through out the versions. You can export to Revit/ Sketchup/ wtc. which makes it easier for use the program between trades and consultants. I really liked the use of tools for architectural designs. You can create anything to exact specifications with ease. Thumbs up to this wonderful product.

Cons

It is really expensive and The processing speed needs to be improved. It takes a while to get used to all tools and services at your disposal but once you have fully understand the tool then it become easier day by day

December 2018

Zuber from Turning point designers and contractors

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Basic requirement of civil engineering

Pros

It is a preplanner of project.autocad visually provoid every object which is necessary for any type of civil projects.It save lot of time and increase accuracy in work. I think that autocad designs is communication between engineers ,contractors and workers.

Cons

Some times file can crash and we cant open new version files in old version of cad only cad2000 file cn open in any version.we have to save our work continuously.

January 2021

kelly from triton college

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

most important software

I have been using AutoCAD my past 3 years of college and it is truly one of my favorites.

Pros

I enjoy how this software is the foundation of learning other major architectural softwares. I really like how you can basically create everything and anything from this simple software.

Cons

There is nothing to not like from this software it is so easy to use, the more you get to practice the better you get and I love that!

December 2018

albert from IDA International Planning Services Inc.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

AutoCad is universal

Pros

What I like about this software is you can use for architectural drawings, you can do simple 3d renderings, and it's very helpful on making isometric layouts for plumbing. It's very easy to use and the interface was easy to understand.

Cons

I'm fond of using Mtext since it's easy for me to change fonts style. I'm looking forward that MatchProp command could copy a font style without changing the texts one by one.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

A must-have for any architecture firm

Pros

My architecture firm uses this software every day for our drawings and presentations. We’ve tried other drafting software but none matched AutoCAD in functionality, user-friendliness, or customer support. It’s excellent when used in combination with other BIM software.

Cons

The main drawback is that, unlike many BIM programs in which the drawings are linked, each AutoCAD drawing must be edited individually.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Best Option Available

Best out there for a small firm on small scale projects. Smart walls are a big time saver.

Pros

Smart objects are a big value add in this software - eliminates a lot of linework. Still familiar CAD experience without having to migrate to Revit

Cons

No version written for MAC, when many users would prefer operating on the MAC OS instead of windows machines [and no, virtual machines don't run well]

November 2019

Kathy from Kathy L. Braun, Architect

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Autocad Architecture

Overall, I like autocad architecture. I do not like the new subscription system. It is cost prohibitive for us little guys.

Pros

It does the job. Most advanced features I do not use. This is the go to drafting program for pretty much everyone.

Cons

Customer support is not very good. There are always lots of bugs. Hate that some features are disabled if you open an older version in a newer version.

April 2018

blake from Hart Homes

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Honestly, anyone who tells you autocad is not good, doesn't know autocad!

Pros

Amazing software that allows you the ability to customize every aspect of your project. There are really no limits to this software and it's a springboard toward every other program.

Cons

Honestly I love this program, the only con would possibly be the tooling a macros of this program. I wish there were an easier way to select macros so that I only have to type or click 1 thing for each function.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Carlos from Grupo Deso Negocios Inmobiliarios

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Easy to use, hard to master, but necessary if working in construction.

Is the best software to create drawings for architecture jobs.

Pros

Although all versions are not compatible it is possible to save the drawing is older versions so if needed can be edited in older version. It can handle very big and complex drawings.

Cons

As it keep updating the software, it is more inconvenient for compatibility of the versions. It takes a lot of time to learn to use correctly all the functions.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 202 reviews