What are AutoCAD LT users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using AutoCAD LT software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.59

157 Reviews

5
102
4
41
3
11
2
0
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"The product offers features for editing 2D geometry and annotating architectural drawings. I also love how you can attach and import PDf files."
  • icon"This was a great lower cost solution for getting into CAD. The cost is more than what we wanted to spend, but pricing is competitive."
  • icon"It has got almost all 2D drawing features. Creating complex multi-layered drawings are very easy."
  • icon"Sometimes the program may crash or shut down unexpectedly. If the autosave feature is not enabled this can lead to a huge loss in work."
  • icon"Some 3d elements and quick short cuts are not available but it really doesn't effect our daily work flow."
  • icon"It has no 3d capacities, so it is for no use in the architecture office anymore."

Jump to:

Browse all AutoCAD LT Reviews

  • Have you used AutoCAD LT and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 154 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 154 reviews

User Profile

Derek

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

I use this program all of the time!!!! Highly recommend.

Pros

As an environmental engineer, I work with and create many engineering drawings/figures for municipal client construction and remedial projects and AutoCAD is the most universally used program. It is very simple to use from creating complex multi-layered drawings to simple figures with the ability to drop in pictures (jpegs, gif, etc.) to enhance the project deliverables. I also like the ability to print to a pdf file, which makes it convenient to email deliverables without having to attach all of the different referenced files.

Cons

I don’t have any. It is a less complex program as it doesn’t have the 3D functionality. I would recommend using the AutoCAD LT version as it can be smoother/quicker to operate than the AutoCAD or AutoCAD Architectural versions.

Orlando

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Renewables & Environment

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

It's the standard because it's better

We have saved a lot of time with AutoCAD LT with the constant use of library functions. The speed of the program is great, it's faster than all the other programs we've used in the past.

Pros

AutoCAD LT offers features that other similar alternatives does not offer. It permits to have an extensive library of already drawn items. Instead of copying and pasting from previous drawings, we can draw it once, save it in the library and call on it whenever we like.

Cons

With all great things there is usually a cons list, but for now the only con we've seen is the unfortunate trend of companies "forcing" to purchase an annual subscription to the product. Don't get me wrong, Autodesk offers a permanent licence but at a pretty steep cost. It may eventually be cost-effective, but with all the new features, bug fixes and incompatibility issues that arise with every new release, we are "forced" or lured to take the path of an annual subscription. But we are living in 2020, and like in The Mandalorian: "This is the way!".

Reasons for choosing AutoCAD LT

While testing AutoCAD LT it proved to us why it was best, it's faster, easier to use and modern-looking.

Reasons for switching to AutoCAD LT

We needed to find a program that helped us work faster.

Dave

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Great Product

Pros

User interface, the multitiude of work that can be done, page set up

Cons

Ideally, It would be easier if templates were less arduios to to set up - architectural contemporay templates ready to go for varying project sizes would be preffered

Reasons for choosing AutoCAD LT

Its an industry leader which gives it a widescale transferability to other people I work with

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Drawing program

It is an application that I can quickly model an easy 2 dimensional object. I can access this model I designed on the web and mobile.

Pros

Provides the opportunity to create 2D drawings with easy-to-use drawing tools; It is software that supports desktop, web and mobile applications. It gives the user the chance to make 2D drawings very quickly.

Cons

It cannot perform 3D modeling and visualization processes. It cannot perform the creation of images (render output) with lighting, materials and visual styles.

Reasons for switching to AutoCAD LT

Because the models we have made are no longer sufficient in 2D.

Swarnabh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

AutoCAD LT Review

Overall, AutoCAD LT is a good software for Drafting, Layout generation and 2D modelling.

Pros

1. 2D Modelling and providing dimensions to a drawing is very easy in AutoCAD LT. 2. Importing and exporting files to/from AutoCAD LT is also very easy. 3. Whether it is a simple design or a more complex design, AutoCAD LT allows its users to scale model and remodel as many times as required by the users. 4. The file recovery feature is also excellent.

Cons

1. There is no option for 3D modelling. Users can only view open and view 3D models created in the full version of AutoCAD. 2. It consumes more processing power, memory and video card memory. 3. The mechanical tool-sets and architectural tool-sets are missing.

Carlos

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

It is worth the price and can be used for low level of detail drawings

We had one new employee and we purchased this software for him to help us with basic detail drawings and corrections.

Pros

That it can be implemented rapidly and it has just the basic features, enough to do the job.

Cons

I consider that 3D models could at least be opened and be viewed.

Reasons for choosing AutoCAD LT

Because of the price and the 1 year version that can be bought.

Reasons for switching to AutoCAD LT

Because the whole package we were already using was from Autodesk.

Ben

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Free to use read only CAD software

This has been a huge cost saving item for our company. For years we were battling with users opening AutoCAD just to view a CAD drawing (read only) for a few minutes, then closing it. that used up a licence token, which costs us money. Following quite a large scale roll out of AutoCAD LT, now only the users who need to edit the drawings have access to the AutoCAD - the rest have AutoCAD LT.

Pros

To be frank, the best feature of AutoCAD LT is that we can use it for free. Unlike AutoCAD itself, AutoCAD LT (for us at least) does not use up tokens on our flex licencing model. This has been a huge cost saving feature for our company, as many users only required read only access to CAD drawings and files.

Cons

The only down side to AutoCAD LT for us is that it still needs to be packaged and rolled out to our users with the licence server details included, even though it does not use any of our licence tokens. This does mean a little extra work for our software packaging team, as if we could just send the users a link to download themselves, that would be easier.

Reasons for switching to AutoCAD LT

This version is free to use for read only viewing of CAD drawings

Devarapalli

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Autocad LT Extraordinary

Pros

I like it when we exclusively draw 2D objects.

Cons

When we open the software, it took me so long to open. If we want to make 3D objects , it is very difficult. Recently i used to draw a layout of an Machinery Industry. It is better than Autocad i used before.

Reasons for switching to AutoCAD LT

For example, in autocad if we are trimming or deleting one line we can't see it. it directly deletes the line. But in Autocad LT we can see what line is trimming or deleting. Thanks to Autocad LT Autodesk for providing us the best.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Great way to improve your drafting process!

Pros

The software is easy to use, works very well with multiple open windows.

Cons

I use it daily and I don't have any problem. Totally worth its price.

Reasons for switching to AutoCAD LT

Autocad files are most compatible with other apps.

Maurizio

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Utilizzo giornaliero

Vengono creati tutti i disegni dei prodotti da costruire e con le varie quotature sono facilmente leggibili dal personale interessato alla produzione.

Pros

Per l'uso giornaliero di disegnazione risulta molto pratico e ti permette di risparmiare tempo per valutare immediatamente le dimensioni di cio' che stai creando. La quotatura e' molto semplice e efficace

Cons

Se non si ha una buona base sulla disegnazione si fa molta fatica ad usarlo. Vengono proposti degli schemi base su cui lavorare me in pratica non servono molto.

Muhammad

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

if you just use Autocad for 2D plans just get this

its been positive, only thing it crashes sometimes with hatches and the file is easier to download and install

Pros

It gives me what i need for the right price point rather than having to spend the money on the full Auto CAD. if you work on landscape or just do 2d plans then this works fine. and when you buy a version of LT you get i belive 4 years of upgrades free. so rather than spending a few thousand on somthing you dont need now, you can get LT and keep upgrading till you stop.

Cons

some 3d elements and quick short cuts are not available but it really doesn't effect our daily work flow

Reasons for choosing AutoCAD LT

its still auto Cad works great i can design color and print as i would im just saving80%

Reasons for switching to AutoCAD LT

Lower cost and needed more license

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

For me ... The best Soft !

Pros

AutoCAD develops an arsenal of features to perform 2D sketches, drawings and annotations. To do this, it proposes a revision cloud that summarizes all the new modifications around a drawing. Functions related to scoring, benchmarks and tables are also provided. Also known for its 3D modeling capabilities, AutoCAD is powerful in 3D modeling and photorealistic rendering of solids, surfaces and many meshes. This solution also offers a wide range of 3D visualization and navigation tools to present designs. One of AutoCAD's strengths is its connection to Autodesk 360. This connectivity allows you to synchronize your work online so as not to lose it, but also to simplify a possible change of machine or to share your work for example.

Cons

The subscription cost is quite expensive, but it is the price to pay to use the best software on the market

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

autocad lt for 2d drawing

Pros

perfect when used as a professional, very comprehensive drawing software. very precise and in depth approach can be achieved. we used it for detailing in 2D, where it is outstanding.

Cons

expensive. there are alternatives that cost far less or are for free. it has no 3d capacities, so it is for no use in the architecture office anymore.

Alternatives Considered

ARCHICAD

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Great Program but some glitches need to be fixed

This is my number one program, I am in the design field, I have used this program for almost everything. Greating banners, files for laser cutting, shop drawings, 3d rendering. etc.

Pros

This program is great for anyone in the design industry. It helps create accurate drawings for architectural purpose, interior design purpose and generally anything that needs measurements. It is easy to use, and the commands are accessed easily by just entering first few letters. EG line command, just type in L and you will see a little box pop up asking you if you are trying to make a line.

Cons

Finding that trying to change the work space to a custom work space causes the CAD to crash. So it would be great to fix that glitch, as every individual works differently on CAD and likes to have certain sets of command tools on there model space.

ramon

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Autocad LT for 2D Cad drawings

Easy to use, intuative program, also very stable software

Pros

It has all the standar autocad functions and, you don`t need more for making 2D drawings

Cons

Licence activation Didn`t word correctely and we had to contact our dealer for support, (was fixed within the hour)

Reasons for choosing AutoCAD LT

Price and easy to use

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

Perfect 2D drawing package when on a tight budget

Machine parts and plant layouts are completed in a jiffy with this easy to use and quick to learn program. Although 3D packages might offer more of a "wow" factor, often times a 2D package is all one needs.

Pros

AutoCAD LT will give most users all the CAD functionality they need when on a tight budget. Importing PDF images such as maps and blueprints into and being able to draw over them is all that most users will ever need - be warned price and ease come with limitations, this is not a 3D package but isometric build-drawings are generally what manufactures need to build that part or even machine you need.

Cons

Having "seen" the power of 3D, one can be easily influenced to buy up - especially by a commission hungry salesman.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

What CAN'T you do?

I've been using AutoCAD for many years and there are still many things to learn. I don't believe a single person will ever be able to learn all there is for AutoCAD to offer in their lifetime. Once you learn the basics, it is easy to use.

Pros

There's so much you can do on this program. This is mainly a 2D drawing program and in that line of work, the possibilities are endless. It's highly recommended if you are drawing electrical. It works great for home floorplans.

Cons

This is not the AutoCAD capable of drawing in 3D. This is specifically a 2D drawing program. That is the difference between AutoCAD and AutoCAD LT. LT is 2D. This is very important when choosing programs.

Nicola

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Backbone of our drafting process

We find it a suitable alternative to the full license of AutoCAD and that it meets all of our 2d drawing needs.

Pros

This software meets all of our needs for the drawing aspects of small scale architectural projects. We have been using AutoCAD for years and find the LT meets almost all of our needs at a lower price point than the full version.

Cons

We don’t use cad for 3d drawings but are sometimes given 3D files onto which we add. Although we work in 2d we find that sometimes lines end up locked to different z coordinates when we export the file to other programs and there is no way within other to simply flatten a drawing to avoid this problem.

Sanjiv Kumar

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

A Feature Rich product to meet all your Designing needs

The overall experience is on the product with ease of use and small foot print which can be deployed on laptop lower end for meeting daily needs when on move

Pros

I like the software because of rich features like Toolset , drafting, editing and dimension of drawing, easy to use menus and commands , can b installed on a low end desktop thus cost efficient for SMB's

Cons

The cost of subscription model is on the higher side can be fine tuned, some old sections has been removed from current versions , these have to be manually added

Reasons for choosing AutoCAD LT

Since the product is proven and expertise in using the same is readily available

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Great for Interior Designers, Architects, Engineers and builders

As an interior designer, drawing space planning layout through autocad saves a lot of time compare to drawing it by hand or even with other similar softwares. Not only space planning drawings but up to elevations and construction drawings.

Pros

I like autocad’s accuracy. There are a lot of copy cat softwares trying to duplicate CAD but nothing can beat Autocad software for Architects, Engineers and designers especially for construction drawings.

Cons

I find it too expensive. Good thing they are coming up with yearly subscriptions which is very helpful for small business owners or even freelance designers like me.

User Profile

Daniele

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Autocad is essential for my work.

Pros

I've been working with Autocad for over six years and never thought about changing. It meets all my needs and, when I can't find a solution for a project, I have the answers by searching the Internet. I have experience in 2D projects, but I have already tried 3D tools and found it easy to learn. I have no problems with slowness and crashes, unlike other software I've tested.

Cons

The license is very expensive, which prevents many small companies from purchasing software that, in my opinion, is the best on the market for the preparation of civil engineering projects.

Stuart

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

The industry standard, but expensive

I'm an architect, and I use this software for all my drawings. It's a fluid design and presentation tool that simply works.

Pros

I've been working with AutoCAD LT for many years, and have tried the other standard options (Microstation and Vectorworks). AutoCAD LT is hands down the most accurate, quickest to draw with, and most likely to be compatible with everything else.

Cons

The cost - the change to a subscription model is understandable, but it screws over those of us who invested in perpetual licences with maintenance. It's also still pretty hopeless at references, which make any file irritatingly slow.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Functional, but hard to use

the product is necessary. i do not particularly like using it, and it is not my first choice for doing my own work. having said that, i do use the product, and i would recommend the product. everyone's mileage varies, and sometimes you just have to use something you don't particularly like because you have no choice.

Pros

it is still the gold standard for the drawing formats that Autodesk invented. sometimes you just have to go back to the original, rather than just using other products that can read the files. as with other products, the clones just aren't 100 percent compatible with the original. i have never found anything that i couldn't read using AutoCAD LT.

Cons

personally, i just find Autodesk products hard to use. i find them counter-intuitive and hard to understand. it's a user interface thing, and they have stuck with the same interface since they came up with their first products. i have a hard enough time getting it to do what i want, that i will use just about anything for day to day work.

User Profile

Evgenia

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Excellent stripped down version of Autocad with attractive pricing

It's an excellent piece of software which essentially strips down the standard Autocad version by removing a few features like 3D modelling. It's enough to accomplish most design tasks and the pricing is a lot more attractive.

Pros

It's a weapon of choice for anyone working in the architectural and design fields. It offers a host of excellent tools that allow you to crate accurate drawings for architectural purposes.

Cons

I haven't found any since this version is a lot lighter than the standard Autocad, hence it runs smoother and I'm able to accomplish my tasks a lot faster.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Great value for simpler projects

Much more cost effective way to use AutoCAD than the full suite. Would not work on larger projects but suits our needs perfectly

Pros

Runs faster due to no 3d elements - great if not using Revit or 3d elements like AutoCAD Architecture

Cons

No complaints, UI is like every other AutoCad version and runs much faster. Only would be a negative if you needed 3d components.

Reasons for switching to AutoCAD LT

Cost

Showing 1 - 25 of 154 reviews
AutoCAD LT

AutoCAD LT

4.59/5 out of 157 reviews
PriceWatch Demo