User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(486)

486

4 stars

(655)

655

3 stars

(182)

182

2 stars

(27)

27

1 stars

(9)

9

  • Pros

  • " Pretty intuitive and easy to learn. It is good for teaching owners, architects, etc, on board to use on the project."

  • "It is very easy to use and makes life easier with regards to the reporting that i do for work "

  • "its a good software. always updates on time and on schedule. we use it for punch list. great program. "

  • Cons

  • "Issues is a very good starting point moving forward but it's difficult to find value in assigning issues with smaller tasks. We need an issue template."

  • "Its a constant work in progress which can be great but makes it difficuily as a BIM Manager as I have to now retrain employees on the revised interfaces."

  • "The platform is great but not well interlinked with other softwares also from BIM 360. Not easy to start at beginning."

Browse BIM 360 Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 1359 results

August 2018

Ricardo from Estructuras Nabla4 S.A.S

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

A specialized cloud for BIM projects

BIM 360 is a much needed centralized information platform where you can share all the information regarding a Civil Engineering and Architecture project with all the team, or teams, that are participating in such project. I find this tool entirely useful for my projects, because I can share all the information about a project with my team, involving different disciplines such as Structural Engineering, Architecture, Plumbing Engineering, Interior Designers, and, most importantly, the Client Team. The main difference about BIM 360 and other cloud services is that it allow us to review Autodesk files. Personally, in the projects I've participated, I've used it for reviewing, markups, and comment files from AutoCAD, Revit, and 3DS max. This is very useful because you don't have to install an app for using this service, all you have to do is access to the BIM 360 page from any smartphone, tablet, or pc, and you can view the model from that page.

Pros

1) Access to the Autodesk files for Reviewing. 2) Saving all the information regarding a Civil Engineering Project. 3) Access to the Autodesk files from any smartphone, tablet, or pc. 4) Interaction with the models without the need of an app, just by accessing from any browser. 5) Markups and comment sharing.

Cons

The only con that I can think about is that you cannot edit files in this software. But, since its purpose is just to share information, I don't think that is necessarily a con.

December 2019

Leonardo from Self Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

The new way to model

For a designer or a builder is like a never getting old toy.

Pros

When I had to tenderized before BIM, it was a whole journey, design on Cad, transfer and convert to sketchup, rhino and Revit, with BIM just attach your planes, and you're good to go and take to virtual reality, what you are imagine as it is.

Cons

It will keep improving, don't change the platform with each software update.

Reasons for Choosing BIM 360

Had to give it a try, if you don't risk you don't win

May 2020

Marc from Christopher Commissioning Co

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

BIM 360 Project Issues Log

BIM 360 has been a helpful tool for its application with daily issues logs. It is easy to use and it provides different ways of filtering the data which is helpful. I would recommend it to other construction professionals.

Pros

I use BIM 360 as a team member on a construction project. As a Commissioning agent we add site observations to the project issues log. The project team then responds to their assigned issues. BIM 360 has been easy to use for this application and to specifically assign the type of issue, the responsibility and resolution of each issue. It has been helpful for filtering the issues log down to the person who created the issue, the type of issue or the responsible party. The issues log can be uploaded as an Excel spreadsheet to print out or manipulate data. Overall, it was easy to use as a daily tool.

Cons

I did not find any major problems with this software. Once I was able to upload the Excel version of the log it was easy to manipulate the data for printing out a hard copy.

April 2017

Jeff from Turner Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2017

Coordination Like Navisworks

Looking for better controls within the clash tools, better alignment with how Navisworks Manage handles clash tests. Tolerances, are not as good, as well the general navigation of clash results is slower than Navisworks. I do like the product, in general try and implement on all my larger projects - it is a great tool for a VDC manager! However construction teams are using Navisworks instead of the Glue tools for clash detection coordination. It would be more collaborative if the clash tests were hosted\tracked on the 360 Glue site - at this time its much too time consuming to track and manege the clashing on Glue site. The cloud hosted models however do make it better even in Navisworks to ensure your using the latest modeling. Another feature that I would really like to see is a managed folder structure (As administrator) I would like to have the capacity to create folders that only certain users could access (Like a client area only) this would allow me to publish modeling (Clash free) to my clients folder - they could then review the finished product.

Pros

Saves time in downloading and uploading - creates better collaboration by having a format all team members can review - without specialized software.

Cons

For construction trades to fully embrace the clash tools need to be more powerful, and "Navisworks Like". More control for owner, or client access of finished product - it generally does not translate well in review of an ongoing clash coordination model (problems may be evident and misunderstood by some clients).

February 2020

Abdel from APMA LLC.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Great for putting everything all together

As a company that provides engineering services to construction contractor, we were able to run our clients' projects, monitor them closely, and provide top notch engineering services from one place.

Pros

+ Combines all design aspects. + Great for managing the engineering tasks from one place. + Provides a dashboard platform to run and supervise construction.

Cons

+ Requires a while to get used to (approximately 200 working hours). + Must have knowledge with other software (AutoCAD, Civil 3d, Steel).

Reasons for Choosing BIM 360

Compatibility with Autodesk products.

September 2019

Georgia from Harvard

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Go to software for coordination

Pros

It is the universal software for coordinating across MEP/Structural/landscape/lighting reps, etc. The fact that you can export such a variety of file types makes it so much easier to communicate with consultants.

Cons

Tries to bight off more than it can chew, which can overcomplicate the coordination process. The price is steep but since they have a monopoly, the price also makes sense.

May 2020

Scott from WJHW

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

BIM 360 is the ONLY software for professional architecture

It is powerful and essential in architecture design.

Pros

It is incredibly powerful, and offers a feature set that is constantly expanding. We utilize this every day within our office. Our workflow was greatly altered wit the introduction of BIM 360.

Cons

I feel that there is a lot that could be improved, it is fairly code heavy product, that bogs it down a bit. The subscription model, while we understand the move, makes it a long term cost to absorb.

April 2020

Geoff from Zon Engineering Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

BIM 360 is a great add-on service from Autodesk

My experience with BIM 360 has been great, though the cost could be lower for our small company.

Pros

BIM 360 allows us to receive and edit models from other design firms without having to download and upload every time we make minor revisions to the model.

Cons

BIM 360 should be included with all Autodesk BIM subscriptions as it can be a critical element to project teams with several disciplines working out of different firms.

March 2020

Tornike from LTD SKALE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

bim360

Pros

The program has been instrumental in the implementation of the construction project, especially in the coordination and communication areas.

Cons

The worst for us was the high cost of the program, which demanded more financial resources from us.  

December 2019

Joshua from Reliance Interiors

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

BIM 360 is the premier program for punch lists in commercial construction!

Overall, BIM 360 has been integral in keeping up with GC/Owner issues, and has made my job easier.

Pros

BIM 360 gives me instant access to any and all problems on a job, and the ability to view/review those issues to ensure we correct them efficiently.

Cons

The way the items are listed isn't the most conducive for quick lookups. When there are hundreds of items listed, even the filters seem to offer less than is needed to clean up the lists completely.

August 2017

Lance from DPR Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2017

I like the general structure of BIM 360 Field, but I have problems with specific functions.

It is great to track your punchlist and rolling completion issues. We did not use it for commissioning, but I would have liked to try it so we could link it to our 360 Glue Revit models. This looks like a very helpful option.

Pros

1). In the field, the iPad app is very easy to use, with the exceptions of a few small things. 2). It is especially easy for contractors to walk their Issues, take pictures, make comments, etc. 3). The print reports and schedule reports module is really helpful. There are many different report types and layout options, which is repeatedly useful. 4). It is easy to see any pertinent info in Issue list view, and print quickly from that page. 5). Customizing the different types of drop down Issue Filters for different users is very handy, and necessary. And it is very easy to sort and search for Issues using the filter module in Issue List view. 6). After I figured out how to contact tech support, it was certain that I would get a diligent response. I would say response time was always within 24 hours, unless I said it was urgent, and very through.

Cons

Here are common Problems our large team and I run into often: 1). The website commonly has a huge latency when loading new pages. And I mean typically 3-10 seconds, and occasionally 10-20 seconds to load a page. 2). More often than I would like, the Issue List column sorting feature at the top of each column on the website version just will not work. 3). Pinning an issue from the website version is not very intuitive, and takes you a completely different pathway to find the maps. This should be something that is easy to get to from the window of an open issue, just like the iPad app version. 4). Sometimes the syncing function has an error and you need to re-sync. 5). Not frequently, but few times more than I would have liked, the site would just not let people do things like change statuses, or on a couple of occasions even just open the site. 6). After walking in the field adding issues for a while, the iPad app will stop letting you load photos. You have to close and restart the app and you're good to go again.

April 2017

Gert-Jan from Dura Vermeer Group NV

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

Integration of software

Experience is good with BIM360 if you use the total cycle of BIM360. Great workflow for design partners (A/C/MEP). I'm a General Contractor and also have to deal with subcontractors, suppliers and partners. they deliver other formats such as IFC files. that's lacking in BIM360 and Navisworks right now. there is no good workflow to engage the partners to the platform. Even so is Issue Management missing. in Design stage it is difficult to track an Issue. then we miss the integration with planning/scheduling software there is no development on: BIM360 Plan BIM360 Schedule the same with: Quantity Take Off BIM Model check on standards / BIM execution plan Rule based checking in the model for example: clash on: swing of the door hits anything in his way. integration with planning /scheduling to make 4D still images and animations. there is one in Navisworks I know but it would be great to have that integration with: Revit model + Partner Models -> Glue -> planning connection with geometrie -> make animations or images/bookwork for realisation stage. Then data -> cross project data pull out for Quality / Safety advisors and board. visualisation of that data And the biggest miss is one single platform login. now its scatered all around single point solutions. Still waiting for BIM360 Docs to be more mature. Our current document management system is still better than Docs so I can't start implementation of BIM360 Docs if there are some key functionality missing right now. I'm sorry for the critical notes I made above but I think it's good to be critical and hopefully you can get the benefits of it. And as you might know we love BIM360 and are heavily using it on our projects! keep up the good work and great vision for the future of BIM360! Greetings, Gert-Jan Ditsel - Dura Vermeer

Pros

Design stage integration and workflow Revit -> Glue -> Navisworks (clash +Model Coordination) -> Field

Cons

no single sign on, no mature Document management

January 2017

Bruce from HB Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2017

HB Construction - "Built Different!" with Autodesk BIM 360

Recently HB Construction in Albuquerque, New Mexico, is offering our design teams and owners new tools to help facilitate our commitment to providing quality buildings. Autodesk BIM 360 products, Glue and Field with Autodesk Building Ops are cloud based mobile platforms used for coordination, collaboration, QA/QC management, asset and finally preventative maintenance. Autodesk's BIM tools are transforming HB's handover experience to our owners and building operators giving them access on day one of operations to the information they need. Gathering of building data starts in the early stages of pre-construction. HB creates construction models either from the design models or from 2D construction sets. Using Autodesk BIM 360 Glue, models are used to coordinate location of trade's elements virtually before placement in the field. We work with all our sub-contractors to sign-off on a fully coordinated model before field work begins. While working on coordinating element locations in BIM 360 Glue, HB and its subs also use Autodesk BIM 360 Field to provide asset data important to the building elements warranty, preventative maintenance and operation management. BIM 360 Field also supports our field management allowing HB to track issues for quality assurance, safety, and commissioning. As the project nears completion, Building Ops connects to BIM 360 Field allowing all the relevant documents, models, photographs and videos associated with the building components and asset data to be migrated and conveniently available in Building Ops. Using the available data and information in Building Ops the HB warranty team continually updates and manages asset information such as location, operation, maintenance, repairs and service requests for two years after substantial completion. Those in charge of operating and maintaining the building are invited and can use the mobile or web interface of the application also. In fact, we encourage this. HB is proud to offer Autodesk BIM 360 Glue and Field and Autodesk Building Ops as added value services to our clients as they enable HB to save time, money and resources with a fully coordinated data-centric model used to manage field quality and safety during construction passing on to owners and operators, true real-time asset information reflective of the building design and construction that they may trust and access on day one of the handover experience.

Pros

The ability to access real data from the cloud. The ease at learning and getting started quickly with really world results. Ability to show subs the ease and capabilities so that they feel part of the team.

Cons

I do wish the BIM 360 products were more integrated. Each of the Autodesk BIM 360 tools offer such needed benefits that if they were able to interact with each other our teams would use them even more. When a team member on the site has to go to 3 or 4 different tools to access the same data it can get tiring.

January 2017

Alan from Jacobs Engineering

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Invaluable for BIM Coordination during the Construction and Design Processes

Typically BIM Coordination occurs at the design level and involves long periods of methodical planning and QAQC activities. My experience is that, while important, it doesn't matter what A/E designs when subcontractors are given means & methods in their contract and have their own layouts to design, submit, fabricate, and install. Using BIM 360 Glue for construction activities has been amazing. The ability my subs have to constantly update their models within BIM 360 has allowed us to run continuous clash reports on the merged coordination model. In the fast-paced construction phase, it has been crucial to ensure that all trades are coordinated before they send their parts to shop in order to facilitate a smooth installation with minimal field changes. Limiting field changes helps us save money and time; that being said, BIM 360 Glue has already paid for itself. Overall Quality: 5 stars due to its reputation and integration with Autodesk's line of products (Revit/CAD on the design-side, and Navis/BIM 360 Field on the construction side). Ease of Use: 4 stars due to Friendy GUI, and familiar functionality from desktop to iPad. However, it's annoying to have to manually run clashes every time the merged model is updated (which can be daily). This is VERY time-consuming if you have multiple clash sets between disciplines. Features and Functionality: 4 stars due to clunky clash detection (it's easier and more helpful to run clash detection with Navisworks). Everybody in the field is in LOVE with the iPad app, though. The 3D walkthroughs of the model with accelerometer and gyroscope sensor input are amazing. It's great walking through a site-in-progress with the client, and pull up BIM360 Glue on the iPad, drop a pin on your location in the floor plan, and give them a live 3D view of what space will look like. Customer support: 5 stars Autodesk forums are the best. Value: 5 stars, we pay our license fee and can add as many subcontractor users as needed. The saving in reduced field changes/mistakes has paid for the license ten-fold.

Pros

-iPad functionality -Ease of model updating -Ability to share with the client in an easy-to-grasp way

Cons

-Clunky clash detection -Slow performance on legacy hardware -Inability to auto-run clash detection

February 2017

Bente from Mensching GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

It's allready good, but it has to get better

Great tools. Some are very usefull (BIM360Team) and in the perfekt pricing. Some should get more funktions to be helpfull (BIM360Docs) or only should learn from the other BIM Tools. So it's not possible to view Office-Files on BIM Docs and it allready works in BIM360Team. Allso I miss the upload and update funktion of complet folders. This was possible in the old version of Team. In BIMDocs there is only the oppotunity to upload files (no folder!). So it's hard to keep the lokal and cloud area on the same database. To share files between different Cloud Tools isn't working. Therefore the BIM Docs area is made for. I know it, but at this time it's hard to handle it. In the end I will thank you for all the help I get from support team. You do a great job. Also, you should know, that I like the cloud-products. It's the only way to work in future and your products, with all of their mistakes, bugs and missing funktions, are the the top 5 in the world. Thanks for your innovations!

Pros

Many, but the most importants are: View all Data online without download them, communication, easy to use

Cons

Still too much missing features!!! Data lokal are not automaticly compare to the cloud and the pricing is not attraktiv for start working with the cloud. The first step should be cheap. When you place your data in the cloud, found out, that it's working fine, you mostly will not exit the system. But meanwhile you start use the system and try to invite some more, a high pricing will avoide to get the first step in the cloud. It will be helpfull that a small admin-team should be allowed to use it for free. Comercial users like worker, industrie, snd so on have to pay for it, after the admins arranged everything.

August 2017

Michael from GRAHAM Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

BIM360 FIELD has been highly useful and has impressed our client with ease of record production.

Collation of data at project completion was the major benefit of the FIELD software which was backed up by the ability to attach evidence at checklist creation.

Pros

The ease of collating records on completion of a project has been huge as has day to day monitoring of checks and issues. Supporting evidence attached immediately to a checklist has also been of great benefit reducing the risk of losing information. The availability of analyzing issues has improved the approach to recording of such information and encouraged the Health & Safety triangle approach to recording minor issues and the hope of decreasing the occurrence of more major Non-Conformances.

Cons

An ability to sign off particular queries within a checklist would be a great improvement allowing the monitoring of HOLD points within works which can only be done by splitting Checklists up under the current system. Digital signatures through iPads are not accurate and become less so when pads are holding a lot of data. We cannot issue iPads to everyone within a project and thus cannot sign off through individual log-ins but a system to sign in as a signatory and have that recognized within the checklist history would be of great benefit. Functionality on browsers for the desktop access varies and does not allow certain actions on certain browsers. Our client does not have the freedom to download browsers and are locked out by the network administration so a more uniform performance on these platforms would be beneficial.

January 2017

Craig from Southland Industries

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

BIM 360 Works well and continues to improve.

I have been using the BIM 360 software on my large construction site (1+ B) for the last 9 months. We use it for our own punchlist tracking as well as tracking completion lists and punch lists created for us by others. We chose it over other options due to the ability to import out of other software programs directly into BIM 360 to add their reports into 1 location and then distribute to subcontractors and internally from there to fix deficiencies. It does the tracking, importing, markups of pictures and document viewing well and it suites our needs. My biggest concern with the software is the interface needs improvement to be closer to a cell phone / icon based when using iPads in the field. The interface is not bad, but when working with skilled tradesmen who don't often utilize technology I find some of the software is confusing to some of them. A more icon-driven interface I believe would help that problem and allow some of these users to get more out of the software, and not be quite so intimidated. One of our biggest hurdles was simply getting them to use it as they were afraid they would "mess up the job". Once they understood where to go and how to use it they quickly became comfortable but I can understand that maybe not every company would spend the time. We ended up getting a class going for these users and writing a visual guide for the users to follow along with. After a few days, the guides were no longer needed.

Pros

Able to easily punch list and review all areas of our job site. Tracking and time stamping is fantastic for documenting the job site conditions and tracking days to close.

Cons

Software interface could use some work so that less tech savvy people can pick up the software faster and cut down on training time.

January 2020

Paul from Kahler Slater

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Architecture's Gold Standard for Collaboration

The most important aspect of the program, collaborating models between far-flung users, works solidly. You'd expect a higher quality user interface from a company as established as Autodesk, but that's a minor complaint. Autodesk's customer service is responsive and they support their programs well.

Pros

This program is the default collaboration software for the architectural industry. As such, it is almost impossible to work on a large project and not need it. Sharing models between architects and consultants is a breeze, and even allows live linking (but still allows incremental updates as well). However, Autodesk doesn't just sit on their monopoly; they push updates consistently and listen to users' requests.

Cons

While it is improving with each update from Autodesk, the web interface still has much to be desired. It doesn't have the most intuitive layout (for example: I'm still unsure why the global "Account Admin" settings are found in a project-specific tab) and can be laggy when switching between tabs. I would like a desktop client as well since my browser typically has many tabs open at once and the BIM 360 tab can get lost.

December 2018

Errol from AECOM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

BIM 360 DOCS - Is it worth it

Overall, i love it. It can take your whole office filing and model drawing to the cloud allowing you to work remotely. To me cloud based modelling is perfect, and I don't even pick up hassles working on a 350mb model from home with only a 5mb line. It handles it effortlessly.

Pros

There is a definite ease of use in comparison to BIM 360 Team that we may be familiar with for those who started working in a cloud based environment with the interface having more of a "Windows Explorer"feel that is fully customisable and with it running off Autodesks Skyscraper Server I find it faster than when running off BIM 360 Team, prbably explains why from Revit v 2019 Team is no longer avaialble. The added benefit of Autodesk constantly improving and adapting the software based on end users feedback and criticisms will keep you constantly impressed with what they are doing.

Cons

This can also bring it to a Con....because Autodesk is always finely tuning the software i wouldn't recommend activating a new addon that they provide immediately after it comes out of "Preview"phase. I have found it to still be buggy and has caused me embarrassment when the end-user takes it as my fault it is not doing what it was supposed to do. 6 months later and now it appears to be working well.

April 2017

Jared from Kruse Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Good Stuff

Pros: Easy to use for those that don't use BIM Software everyday. Cross Platform Use Easy for upload/download across many machines/users (Vs regular cloud) Can use many filetypes. Same data is there across all platforms. Cons: UI for those of us that use Navis on the regular. Won't let you glue out of AutoCAD always. Causes crashes. Must have the AutoCAD file closed if you are trying to glue off the desktop app. Navigation on iPads is a bit hard to learn at first for field staff. iPad model updates are spotty. I field many phone calls from field staff in regards to models not being available. Overall Great Product though! Has greatly improved our workflow over the past 2/3 years.

Pros

Cross Platform Use, Easy to use for non computer users. Same data across platforms. We use as a cloud storage for files across offices and detailers.

Cons

UI for those of us that use Navis on the regular. Won't let you glue out of AutoCAD always. Causes crashes. Must have the AutoCAD file closed if you are trying to glue off the desktop app. Navigation on iPads is a bit hard to learn at first for field staff. iPad model updates are spotty. I field many phone calls from field staff in regards to models not being available.

May 2018

Aaron from Balfour Beatty Engineering Services

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Great for keeping track of project quality and snags

good in aiding the recalling closed or in progress issues for resolution is very easy, especially compaired to trawling through paper docments

Pros

easy to recall checklists, issues (snags clean up notices etc.) and using barcodes for relating those issues and checklists to a specific area keeps everything a lot more relevant. We have over 7000 rooms on our project and using the QR codes has let us relate issues very accurately so that anyone can follow up on issues. Being able to compartmentalise the information by using the user profiles is also very useful as it means our subcontractors can focus on their own issues and it eally helps decltter the information that is presented to them while we can still keep track of the bigger picture.

Cons

the larger the project the setup seems to exponentially increase (allocating locations, equipment, checklists and qr codes) the use of the excel spreadsheets to import information definitely reduces this somewhat but adding locations for a larger construction project will take a lot of time (on the project I am working on there are over 7700 individual rooms) and then associating those locations with a piece of equipment in order to create a scannable QR code doubles the time with something that is largely replicated work but you have to do so in order to assign a relevant checksheet template to a location.

January 2019

Hélvio Henrique de C from Associacao Brasileira D A Igreja De Jesus Cristo Dos Santos Dos Ultimos Dias

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Collaboration on the cloud BIM360 Design

We minimize the issues caused by different versions of the project. Now each of us is responsible to find solutions to solve the interferences in the project at the same time that we are developing the project. we can't use the excuse that I was working in a different version and I didn't see the interference. It was great!

Pros

It has been great to work simultaneously with our consultants for complement projects. It is amazing to see project development and to check the interferences between the disciplines and to have a better vision of the project to make decisions.

Cons

1 - We decided to work simultaneously just a single file on cloud and we had problems with objects been removed accidentally by other consultants. It would be awesome to have an option to don't allow that another discipline to erase objects in another workset. 2 - We had problems with software support from our provider, but we found another vendor who gave us wonderful support even though we had purchased the software with another provider. But because of this great treatment, when my consultants were looking for to buy the BIM360, I indicated to them this other provider and in our renewal of licenses, we will migrate to that provider who also gave us support and attention.

January 2017

Benno from CAD & Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Great tool for the whole design phase

Easy to use and to start a project. Great tool for the whole design phase in building construction or R&D projects. Also a very fast and on point support. Idea station listens great to their users. Would only like to see more integration with FormIt and other BIM 360 tools. Then it would be perfect.

Pros

That its a very cheap solution for building design collaboration. Which makes it a great option before winning a project. Also because of the easy to use viewer with sectioning and walk-through everyone can use w/o design skills.

Cons

Frequently buggy with C4R w/o fail save for the design team who are currently working. Account management isn't easy because you can't filter contributors and team members. Also you can't see who is in which project from the admin page. And you can edit MS Office files directly from BIM 360 Team, but can't save them back instantly.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

BIM 360 is the Cooridination you are looking for.

We often worked with other firms on large products and were not able to coordinate in real time with there models, this caused us to sometimes reference old designs to try and eliminate tons of hours exchanging the design files. With this web interface even if they don't work on the cloud we can have them drag and drop files to the web and then when we open our model we will see the new version of the file as our reference even if they don't have BIM 360.

Pros

The ability to publish the Sheets in a model to the web interface with no computer resources needed from the users/designers. Also allowing the permissioning of folders and files so certain users cant accidently effect your design. Ability to compare versions of models. There are so many ways this allows nonrevit users to understand where in the Design your project is.

Cons

There is a slight upcharge for the product and there are pieces you can buy on top of that, instead of making it one package and price point I have to convince management to purchase extra parts to get all the benefits.

April 2017

David from Lemay architectes

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Glue and Field 360 are very useful tools for architects!

I have performed the construction administration phase using Glue and Field360 for multifunctional sports complex in Laval, Quebec. I was introduced to Glue and Filed360 applications by our Firm and applied it on a construction site with the general contractor. Training was short and effective. Glue has allowed me to review the specific aspects of the project in a timely fashion. The interface is user friendly and intuitive. It has been very useful for shop drawing reviews. The visual and easy to handle features allowed me and my team to express concepts, ideas and resolve problems during construction. I was in charge of the site supervision for the architect of record firm. I have used the Field360 application for the quality control aspects during site supervision. We were able to review and monitor the progress of the work in a real time manner, in a mostly paper-free environment. I have used the Field on site with an IPad during site visits. I was in the loop of all the communications between the contractor and the sub-trades from the creation of a pin to the acceptance of the corrective measures. I enjoyed using the Glue and Field tools. Both applications are easy to learn, easy to use, adapted to our work and suitable for the speed of a construction site.

Pros

User friendly interfaces.

Cons

Some of the users in the team did not have access to the Field and needed old-fashion paper reports to review and witness construction progress. They needed assistance to handle their comments to suit the Field on line format.

January 2019

Andy from PARIC Corp.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Single Source of Truth

With BIM360 we are connecting our teams in real-time, leveraging data and converting it into actionable information. We are taking BIM to a whole new level and truly levaraging the power of a model-based workflow. Furthermore, we are focused on the data, and with BIM360 we have far better tools to enable data governance so that we can glean actioble information.

Pros

What we like most about BIM360 is that it provides a foundation for supporting the entire design/build/manage lifecycle of a building or campus project. Leveraging this single source of truth, we connect the entire project team so that everyone is kept up-to-date on the latest information available to manage the project and their role in daily activities. Furthermore, BIM360 is the only truly BIM-based system that enables model content to be leveraged throughout the project and throughout the iterative design and build processes.

Cons

The only con to BIM360 is that it wasn't available 20 years ago.

May 2018

Denes from AECOM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

BIM 360 works great as a cross-discipline, cross-company collaboration tool.

Time and money.

Pros

The ability to post multiple models, document sets. It makes it streamlined how we communicate within our own and with other disciplines, as well as to clients by views, markups, diagrams, etc. It offers a very efficient and precise way to collaborate. Being direct and concise leads to less miscommunication and maximization of profits.

Cons

The missing feature of being able to sort file by file type. "Sorting by file type" is a built-in functionality in even the least sophisticated document management software packages. It is just a basic standard functionality which is provided across the board, something that design and construction professionals are used to. BIM 360 is advertised as "easily share plans, punchlists, submittals, take-offs, etc..." Those all come in different file format. The formats can be anything from .rvt's, .rfa's, .rte's, .dwg's, .dxf's, .xlsx's, .xlsm's, .docx's, .docm's, and the list goes on including different Adobe and Microsoft file formats. For large scale projects it is inevitable that all these file types get mixed up in a folder or folders. I think "sorting by file type" would be a valuable addition to this otherwise extremely helpful tool.

January 2017

Bryan from Gilbane Building Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Using BIM 360 app for iPad in the field

I used BIM 360 field quite extensively on my last project using the iPad. While working closely with Gilbane's in-house BIM team we were able to find many trade clashes before construction even began. I believe the BIM team used Revit to generate the original model but would then upload the most recent model into BIM 360 field. We chose BIM 360 Field simply for the user friendliness with the iPad. The tool that I used most often in the field was the dimensioning tool. This feature was used to confirm layout for various elements of the project since the trades shop drawings were generated from the original model. There were scenarios when, for example, a light was either touching or in extremely close proximity to a duct/ diffuser. In order to direct the correct trade to fix their layout mistake I would dimension from known measurements (Column or Gridline) to the element in question. If there was still uncertainty with the measurement we would use a tape measure to confirm measurements gathered from the model and shop drawings. I could then determine whether the location of the light or diffuser needed to be modified. After confirming layout using BIM 360 and the shop drawings an RCL (Rolling Completion List) item would be uploaded to Plangrid and the correct subcontractor assigned to repair the installation mistake. Really cool stuff! I also used BIM 360 to visualize certain elements or entire rooms of my project before trade contractors were even on site. This helped me be able to "build the project in my head" after studying the Construction 2-d drawings for many hours.

Pros

Ease of use and intuitive nature of the software.

Cons

Navigation through the model was tricky to learn but with some practice anyone can do it.

April 2017

Jean from DPR Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

BIM to the Cloud, the easy way

I am a great proponent of the BIM 360 platform for it's easy to use and accessible range of products. I use BIM 360 Glue on a daily basis to manage the coordination needs of the project, as well as 360 Field and 360 Plan in concert with the rest of our team. It's a great way to centralize all the data that we have floating around. The best feature, in my opinion, is simply the fact that it convinced our veteran superintendents to look at the model and use it to plan their work. Combine that with a fast development roll-out from the Autodesk team and good support through our entreprise agreement and you have a wining product that supports some of the most major processes on a construction project. Next in line for my current job: rolling out BIM 360 Docs to improve our document management process!

Pros

ease of use, accessibility, roll-out of new features, technical support

Cons

some features that I am used to having on the desktop products are preventing me from holistically switching to the 360 platform. Fortunately, I am assured those are coming soon

January 2017

Dan from Clark Construction.com

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Progressive Design/Build

We have been using BIM360 Glue to review and collaborate as we work through design iterations. There have been multiple times where a design model is posted on BIM360 with content that is obsolete and needs to be removed. Since someone added the model(s) in question to a merged model, they cannot be deleted. It would be really nice to have an option to select the model and see a list of the merged model that that model is connected to.

Pros

The ability to use both Navisworks Manage tools as well as the BIM360 tools to review, share and collaborate on resolution options.

Cons

When we zoom out to see the entire project and the gridlines are turned on, it is hard to see the model.

August 2017

Mark from AECOM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Rich feature set & collaborative functionality makes this an excellent construction management tool.

I use it on all my job sites. It is a required tool for all construction projects in our division. I it allows me to quickly document field activities and issues as they come up and then have them automatically sent, along with photos and drawings, to the subcontractor who is responsible. This saves a tremendous amount of time each day and assures that the issue will not fall through the cracks. Having current documents in the field is a great time saver and often resolves questions without having to go back to the office to research a solution.

Pros

Gets owner, designer, construction team and subcontractors to share information and solve problems together quickly. Drawings are available and can be marked up and hyperlinked for quick access in the field. Daily site photos and issues can be tracked to closure with everyone "in the loop". All team members can see what is happening quickly using automatically generated daily and weekly reports.

Cons

Initial Location and equipment setup can take some time and requires some careful planning to make the program work its best. Ongoing drawing version maintenance requires a dedicated on-site administrator. Training of personnel must be done before day to day activities become overwealming or it will not be used effectively.

January 2019

William from CESE Consulting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

No Time to Access Files.

The product itself was desirable. But your communication and treatment of expiration was unacceptable.

Pros

It was an Autodesk based product. I could open deg files online with just a browser.

Cons

I signed up and assumed my subscription was good for a year. But because I had signed up in the middle of my Auto Cad subscription cycle, the BIM subscription ended earlier than one year. I had no way of knowing what was going on. When signing in, there was no warning that it was about to expire. Signing in afterwards didn't tell me it had expired. It just wouldn't let me access anything. If the expiration date happened to coincide with a vital client meeting, your hard line policy would have cost me a lot of money. No notice. No grace period. No explanation. No 30 to 90 day period of "read only" access (which is fairly common for cloud accounts--everyone but you). Nothing. A brief period of read only would have allowed me to sort out my unusual billing cycle and pay my bill. But you gave me nothing. Email is not enough. You send so much SPAM that I just sent all your emails to my spam folder. Then you're surprised that I didn't read it.

February 2017

Brian from Symmes Maini and McKee Associates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

BIM360 Field Product Review by Brian Kendall

I use BIM360 for my commissioning projects and have found it to be very useful. For me, the best part of BIM360 is that its a project that contractors are already familiar with so it cuts down on the time typically spent explaining how to use our in house FTP site. Typically we take advantage of using the internal library where we are able to set up the folder structure to resemble our final report structure. This helps during the project closeout phase as all of the documentation we are required to assemble is located in the same place. We also use it for logging and tracking deficiencies discovered in the field during field observations and functional performance testing. We've been able to work with customer support to set up the proper structure setting up our corrective actuion report's. From the issue's page, contractors are able to log in and provide photo's & reponses to there noted item's making it quick and easy to verify the completion of each item.

Pros

I enjoy the file management section of the software as we structure our folder's to make the project closeout process more simple. Also the issues log has been more than helpful for tracking project deficiencies.

Cons

Unable to change the size of the company logo we added to input into the header of our corrective action logs, and sometimes when generating a report it cuts out some of the description text.

August 2017

Jason from Smith Brothers Plumbing

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Have been using 360 Team and Collaborate and found it to be a great tool.

Pros

Flexibility to use wherever you are and the ability to share with others is a great benefit as it provides accessibility to others without the need to purchase software which they may not need or use every day.

Cons

1. BIM360 team does not have measure tool in 3D view. 2. Sheet views have text issues and also the pipework shown also in sheet view is blurry. 3. We have been useing glue but since autodesk have changed structure as to now being costed per used in lieu of previous project structure makes it inefficient as we have had priced at 10K for 2-20 users. Would like to use glue moving forward but see price increase is due to clash detection now being added to the cloud based glue features. We do our clash detection using navis manage and therefore do not need the clash detect within glue.

January 2017

devin from Paric

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2017

Powerful program, has room for improvement.

I'm using BIM 360 field and glue for the first time with a new employer after using a competitor for years. I have no complaints about 360 glue, it has been extremely beneficial to my project. I have the following comments for BIM 360 field for document control. With the competitors software I could do the following that I have not been able to do with BIM 360 - drag and drop one large file and the software automatically split up the pages. I have to spend an enormous amount of time manually separating each file, cross checking the file names, and uploading with each revision. - the previous software automatically hyperlinked each cut section, this was EXTREMELY beneficial - the previous software would "overlay" new versions of drawings so that we could flip back and forth from previous versions of drawings from an ipad in the field. - the previous software had a "drag and drop" option of inserting and hyperlinking RFIs and supplemental information in each drawing sheet, it would also auto transfer these links to revised versions of the drawing.

Pros

Convenient access to drawings in the field.

Cons

much more time consuming, does not auto-separate drawings, does not auto-hyperlink

January 2017

Michael from Linbeck

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

From a Chevy to a Cadillac

I am currently on my second project as an Assistant Superintendent for a large general contractor. MY first project was very QAQC and inspection driven. On this first project, I used a rival program for the implementation of QAQC and owner punch lists. It quickly fell short to my needs in regard to ease of use, detail, and functionality. Now that project was finished and I have moved across the street to another large project on the same campus where BIM 360 was implemented for the beginning. It is like night and day. Even while having never used a program of this fashion before, I was able to immediately acclimate to its functions and navigation. The in depth detail and customization on the fly has made our pre inspections a breeze. The inclusion of pictures and the ability to provide notes from the sub contractors has eliminated both the need to track someone down and physically show them the issue and any confusion as to what the issue actually entails. Our team and subcontractors alike have bought in to the efficiency and value this program has brought to our project.

Pros

the versatility and customization

Cons

the need for the constant syncing back and forth between us and the subs.

January 2019

Clifford from AECOM Hunt

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Best Product for One Stop Shop Environment

As I tend to be more involved with alternative project delivery methods, BIM 360 is providing an excellent environment to manage and deliver our product.

Pros

I love the fact that I can manage a project form start to finish. There are BIM 360 modules for everything from conceptual design to tools that can help with final punch out and commissioning.

Cons

I have used BIM 360 Field and Glue for many years and there are still some things that I have to rely on the legacy products to accomplish. I would like to see Autodesk bring the functionality of the legacy products up to speed with the next gen modules. Top on my priority list would be to bring equipment and auto issue creation into field management and also bring the ability to open model coordination models in Navisworks similar to 360 Glue.

March 2019

William from Arden Engineering Constructors, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Autodesk 360 Platform

My overall experience is a positive one. This platform is the ultimate tool in a highly collaborative environment.

Pros

I separate the 360 Platform into two functions, BIM 360 Design (Formerly Collaboration for Revit) and BIM 360 Glue. 360 Design we typically use for our IPD Projects. This tool allows multiple users located anywhere in the country to work on the same Central Revit Model. This is a must when you work on IPD Projects. BIM 360 Glue is the Navisworks Cloud model which we use on just about every project. Using Glue eliminates the need to build and rebuild your Navisworks model as it is always current.

Cons

Autodesk Support is not the greatest when it comes to their cloud services. Luckily the cloud services are more stable than they were 4 years ago.

January 2017

Ben from WSP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Design Engineer User: Positive Experience

As an engineer on the Design Team (for two large projects using BIM360), I was invited by the General Contractor to be a part of their Issue Tracking process. So I've only really used this portion of the interface, but overall, it's a very versatile and comprehensive way for multiple parties to track and collaborate on construction issues. It is very useful to be able to search/filter by many different fields to find specific or similar sub-sets of issues. Ability to add photos and comments is a huge plus in order to properly convey the issue and all parties can dialogue about it.

Pros

Issue tracker: ability to add photos and comments promotes collaborative environment for all parties (contractors, subcontractors, designers, architects, etc.)

Cons

sometimes filtering is slow for large projects with many logged Issues. But the ability to search by nearly any column/tag/field outweighs this minor inconvenience if it has to be one or the other

April 2017

Douglas from Wayne Brothers, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2017

Overall solid product with few minor changes that could make a major difference

I enjoy the ease of use and the dashboard that provides a customized and overall snapshot of the project. I believe it can really help us with our quality initiative that we are trying to establish. The accountability will be important and powerful as will the documenting of issues, pictures, checklists. I am not involved in purchasing so I do not know anything about cost or monetary figures. I would like to be able to have the option of seeing more than 5 titles at a time on the dashboard. For example: I can only see 5 different root causes at a time for comparison but I have over 15 root causes that have been determined. I would like a bigger picture. Also, I wish the reporting was more detailed. With a little extra work I can make a better display in MS Excel communicating more information. I like the daily reporting and checklist functions the best. There needs to be a way to delete an issue while filling out the checklist if an issue is created by accident rather than it flagging as an issue but really it was a mistake.

Pros

Ease of use and navigation. Support is quick to respond with help. Customizable dashboard options that provide a quick visual of past events.

Cons

Reporting seems weak. Task manager is clumsy. not being able to rid of issues while checklist is being actively populated.

January 2017

Adam from Layton Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2017

Great on file management, not quite navisworks.

Love the file sharing and connectivity of BIM 360. Gone are the days of subs claiming "i don't have there latest file" It also makes it nice because subs always have access to eachothers files and are more prone to work with eachother since they have a nice platform to communicate with. The model review side of things isn't so great. I often find myself asking why doesn't this act like Navis! Lag and lack of certain tools such as saving a section leave me frustrated. I'm sure I don't know all the tips and tricks but its not a intuitive as Navisworks in the model review process. Otherwise its the best tool for model management out there!

Pros

Model share aspects, easy to upload and download and group models together.

Cons

Reviewing models within the BIM 360 platform. Often has lag, longer to open, harder to review, sectioning doesn't save, coloring is lacking.

April 2017

Josh from Clark Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2017

BIM 360 Product Review

Overall, BIM 360 product is a good communication and QC tool to visualize and analyze in preconstruction and construction phases. The biggest benefit of using BIM 360 is nobody needs standalone desktop software anymore from the designers to owners. It's huge in terms of everybody is at a single platform to review, update, and finalize fast paced construction schedule. However, it needs to be improved in terms of 2D and 3D direct collaboration: side by side review which other 3rd party companies offer.

Pros

- Cloud based analysis tool: Everything is live - No desktop software requires - No manual collaboration require after the initial setup - More dynamic interactive tool

Cons

- No static appearance profiler like Navisworks - No intuitive clash analysis tool like Navisworks - No dynamic 2D / 3D collaboration - No Quantity take off - No schedule integration

April 2017

Jamal from The Walsh Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

BIM 360 Usage performance feedback

My overall experience is good. Most of the Contractors no longer need to carry large drawings to the field. With the use of BIM 360 in the tablets. We can review all drawings, detail sections. You can zoom any details for use. You can upload all drawings, track field issues and write daily reports. To track issues, you can write the field issues, assign responsible contractor to the issue with a photo. You can filter the issues for each subcontractor. When they complete an issue and you verify that the work has been completed. You will close the issue. Under reporting, you have options to filter issues by subcontractor and either email it or print hard copies.

Pros

Using the issues log, daily reporting, review contract drawings, reporting documentations.

Cons

No able to filter issues per room numbers in ascending or descending order.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Punchlist Made Easy

Overall I could not be happier with BIM 360. In addition to the punch list feature, I also enjoy being able to upload all of my plan sheeting into one centralized location that can be view by anyone I choose to share the project with. It makes soliciting bids much easier.

Pros

The best feature within the BIM 360 platform, is the ability to create punch list. The system not only allows you to create individual issues on your project, but it also always you to link plan pages to those issue for other to reference.

Cons

The exporting feature could use a little work. When exporting a punch list to a different platform, be aware that the cells may not come out exactly as they are shown on BIM 360. The issue is easily fixed with a few modifications to the exported spreadsheet.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

The best way to work in Revit

All in all, Bim 360 is headed in the right direction when it comes to the projects of the future. The ability to collaborate with consultants in one model is astounding. Having had issues with the desktop versions of Revit in the past, BIM 360 offers a better way to 3D model.

Pros

-All consultants can update and post models in one place now instead of having to share, download, and re-upload models manually -BIM 360 has great admin features to control who has access to what projects and how much access they have -Rendering with Revit is much easier with Bim 360 -Using Bim 360 frees up space on our servers and reduces lag time for syncing Revit models. -Can access projects through the desktop shortcut or the web -You do not have to be on a specific server to access projects

Cons

-The homepage/interface is a little bit confusing to navigate at first -It is a relatively new product for our office so finding support for glitches/bugs can be a challenge (though the folks we work with are always willing to help)

January 2017

Collin from DPR Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2017

Better Than Post-It Notes

We use BIM 360 on a daily basis to track progress on the job site. It is sometimes tough getting all of the superintendents to "buy into" the program, but once they get used to it they start inputting the information themselves. We used this program to coordinated available space during flooring installs and it worked flawlessly. Trades could use the program to coordinate the movement of tools and material to clear the way for the flooring contractor. The program does need a way to edit the days that are worked (for example 4 days a week 10hr days). It would also be nice to have a way of tracking progress that wasn't 100% incomplete or complete.

Pros

The ease of use and the clear representation of the data are the biggest Pros. Everyone can easily interpret the blocks and the colors to represent time and individual responsibilities.

Cons

The days of the work week need to be able to be edited.

May 2018

Kenan from AECOM

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

This has filled the gap in having a basic CDE across project professionals

Ease of use. Limited time spent waiting for documents to "send" or "upload". Adding external parties who are first time users isn't really a problem as they can start with a trial version and test it for themselves.

Pros

The interface is relatively well laid out. The operation is light weight and easy to use allowing me to move quickly through to the documents uploaded. Uploads are fast

Cons

Occasionally certain uploaded documents aren't readable. When downloading multiple selected files I would prefer that BIM 360 don't waste time zipping before downloading. It should be an option for limited bandwitdh users, but it tends to waste time. Setting restrictions to some custom made folders would be ideal, sort of a lightweight control version of document manager.

June 2019

Stephen Olawale from Sunilar Nig.Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

GREAT TOOL FOR DESIGN IMPLEMENTATION AND UPDATE,REPORT WRITING AND PROJECT MANAGEMENT

our overall experience is amazing, we enjoined a well organised,coordinated,well informed construction process through out the project, no one was left behind, all report are made available through BIM.

Pros

Coordination of design models, update of models,writing report through the various report typology and layout choices available, the free version made learning easy for beginners with the amazing quick response from customer care line, the app works well on ipad making it handy and mobile on site, work progress report and pictures can be taken and shared among sub-contractors and client, files can be uploaded to cloud and retrieved, BIM is preferred due to it integration with revit and other file format

Cons

The application requires a beginner to be trained to be able to maximize the potential of the application, it slows down performance when layout or several files or pictures are being loaded, every body on the team needs to learn BIM so we can collaborate and get update, BIM is great for coordination and organisation

February 2017

Austin from Batson-Cook Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Great Product!

I am working with a general contractor on a 500,000 SF hospital and without BIM 360 our job would be extremely more difficult! I use the product daily and the BIM 360 Field app is a game changer. Everyone on site has an iPad with the app which makes communication simple. I would recommend this product to anyone!

Pros

The ability to have every drawing right at your fingertips is crucial. This saves tremendous amounts of time and makes communication easier because it allows everyone involved in the project to have their own working set.

Cons

The only thing that I can think of that would make this product better is if BIM 360 Field would sync automatically in real time. This would eliminate the delay of changes or updates made in the field. This is also a very small inconvenience.

January 2019

Arun from Uzun + Case, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

The future of BIM, with some minor kinks to iron out

Thanks to the real-time sharing feature, the issues, if any, between coordination are caught and rectified early in the process. If the server sync delays are addressed for the typical internet connection speeds, this would definitely be the future of BIM.

Pros

1. The ability to seamlessly communicate and coordinate with multiple teams working on the same project. 2. Conflict resolution on modeled elements in real-time. 3. Storage limits are no more a issue when working with large projects as all the files are autosaved/synced to the cloud.

Cons

1. Sync times are dramatically high because it is no longer just limited by drive speeds but by the internet speeds. 2. Although BIM360 allows different teams to upload different versions of the files with distinct user privileges, the ability to access the files of other teams can cause accidental changes be made to other's files if not careful.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 1,359 reviews