BRIX Software Reviews

BRIX Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.14

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"I like that this software is web based and can be accessed from anywhere."
  • icon"Additionally, the continued customer service and support has been very helpful."
  • icon"Brix was easy to use and easy to learn. You could track each house and payment in one program."
  • icon"Implementation was smooth but, inevitably, a little stressful. The only piece not well-executed was an incomplete system for integrating with our accounting program."
  • icon"Patches had to be made in a reactive way an took a while. Additionally, having to lose the detail of our existing POs for the transition caused quite a bit of headache."
  • icon"The software kicks me out multiple times a day, the layout feels dated, and the ability to talk to other programs seems limited. There is a lag when you switch from one tab or view to another."

All BRIX Reviews

1-14 of 14 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Stephanie

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

Solid Program and Great Customer Service

We are experiencing a reduction in the amount of the time we spend troubleshooting compared to before, notwithstanding some normal implementation challenges from converting our mid-construction homes. Once we finally get all the way through our learning curve and have a meaningful batch of homes originated from BRIX (and not converted over), I know we will also realize increased efficiency on price control, variance reporting and other quantifiable data.

Pros

Implementation, overall, was a relatively smooth process, thanks to a good working relationship with our BRIX consultant. He provided step-my-step instructions and checked in weekly on our progress. The logic and stability of BRIX and its components is a big comfort to our team. I love the ease of Excel export of any table and the large amount of programming. Additionally, the continued customer service and support has been very helpful.

Cons

Implementation was smooth but, inevitably, a little stressful. The only piece not well-executed was an incomplete system for integrating with our accounting program. Patches had to be made in a reactive way an took a while. Additionally, having to lose the detail of our existing POs for the transition caused quite a bit of headache. As far as the ongoing use, the flipside of the coin of the robust reporting library is the lack of ability to tweak report files to your liking, which something we can get over pretty quickly.

Reasons for switching to BRIX

When HomeFront was acquired by Hyphen, an internal transition began to make sense for our company.

Response from Hyphen Solutions

Thank you for your review, Stephanie. Our Hyphen team is very happy to hear that Jim Chapman Communities experienced a successful implementation of BRIX and that you have experienced great customer service along the way. Our Customer Experience team prides itself on seamless implementations and clear communication. It is great to see that you increased your efficiency on price control and quality of reporting since transitioning to BRIX. We look forward to your continued success with BRIX, and we appreciate you taking the time to complete a review.

Replied June 2020

Art

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

Homebuilder Software Package

Pros

I have been using BRIX since a year after inception. I am very familiar with a lot of its features and inner workings. I like the integration of BRIX Sales and BRIX Field using one data base.

Cons

We are using BRIX Field and like this feature because we are a custom builder and this is more of what we need. BuildPRO does not work for us since it is more for a production builder. I wish you still supported this product for Luxury Builders. Customer support at times is good but most of the time I get a politically correct answer which is not an answer. It is difficult when there is no manual to reference but is very difficult when you don't even know your own product.

Reasons for choosing BRIX

BRIX was chosen by my employer before I hired on but is one of the reason I hired on.

Response from Hyphen Solutions

Art, thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of BRIX. We provided your feedback to our Product Development and Customer Experience teams. It is great to hear you are finding success with the BRIX field feature. Our Customer Experience team will reach out with suggestions on BuildPro and the Luxury Builder niche market. Thanks again for your comments.

Replied June 2020

Joyce

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2018

BRIX Accounting Software for Builders

We have used various versions of the BRIX software going back to the original Lloyd's version. While BRIX has been updated and has online access, which is a vast improvement, there are still issues which limit the user's ability to handle accounting functions seamlessly.

Pros

Love the online accessibility of this product!

Cons

Limited ability to drill down into journal entries, etc. to see prior postings/transactions on a batch basis. Unable to correct invoice information once entered.

Seth

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2019

Chesmar Homes

Pros

Ease of use. Integration with BuildPro.

Cons

Feature set. Missing CRM and dashboard features.

Response from Hyphen Solutions

Seth, thank you for your review of BRIX! We are glad to see that you have found BRIX easy to use. Our Hyphen team is currently working to improve our dashboard features in BRIX. Also, Hyphen just announced our partnership with informXL in June 2020. When the integration of BRIX and informXL's Analyzer is complete, BRIX customers will have the ability to create highly customized reports, charts, graphs and data pivots. We have provided your feedback to our Customer Experience team.

Replied June 2020

Patrick

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2020

Good but not great

We have really enjoyed working with the Brix team. We feel like the sales team over promised on a lot of features that aren't as robust as originally represented. The implementation team has been fantastic. Support team is very slow to respond, if we ever get a response.

Pros

We love that accounting is integrated and the back office system is very solid and stable.

Cons

The interface is outdated and cumbersome to use in some areas. The integration with BuildPro hasn't been as seamless and user friendly as we had anticipated. The sales module isn't as polished as the back office and although pretty stable, it seems to glitch periodically.

Reasons for choosing BRIX

Value. It seemed to tick the boxes we wanted of all the features we needed. After using it though, it needs some modernization for sure.

Reasons for switching to BRIX

We needed an integrated accounting solution and the previous system wasn't stable and didn't work consistently

Response from Hyphen Solutions

Patrick, thank you for your comments. We always appreciate feedback from our valued customers! We provided your comments and concerns to our Customer Experience and Product Development teams. Our Product Development team continues to make updates to BRIX, and we have a few integrations and enhancements on our roadmap for this year. We will have a Hyphen representative follow up with you to provide more information.

Replied June 2020

Mason

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2018

Brix

We are a local mid-sized home builder that uses Brix for our accounting and purchasing systems. Brix has served us well in both areas and is a really good value for the amount of features it has.

Pros

- Has all the major features a home builder needs in a accounting/purchasing system - Cloud based so there is no risk of losing data and everything is saved automatically - Excellent value compared to other systems

Cons

- Takes some time to get familiar with how the system works - Documentation is sparse on some items

Polly

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2018

Brix

Pros

Can import large quantities of data (JE's, budgets, etc.) Can also export large quantities of data. Can customize different views with different criteria. Can create customized job reports with selected data.

Cons

Can be very manual in some respects and can take many clicks and steps to complete certain processes and steps. The Financial Report Writer in the GL seems very outdated and not very user friendly...oldschool.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2018

BRIX

Pros

Payment Schedule for superintendents and project managers.

Cons

Accounting Inefficiencies and extremely unfriendly interface

LAURI

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2018

Breath of fresh software....

Pros

The ease of producing reports and the number of reports it produces.

Cons

The requirement of internet explorer to run it. I have Apple devices that I use for work so it becomes difficult and inconvenient when I have to use other devices just to log into BRIX.

Jennifer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2018

Brix Review

Overall it is a good program.

Pros

I like that this software is web based and can be accessed from anywhere.

Cons

There is a lot of places to click to get to where you want to be. Also, you have to go to multiple places to complete one task.

Courtney

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2019

Love!

I've never had any serious issues. Some here and there, but customer support and the team are always so helpful and quick to fix issues that may arise!

Pros

It is so easy to use. Very simple set up, easy to learn, yet complex in it's functionality.

Cons

I feel like it's hard to know everything the system can do. I work very fluently in BRIX- but I am still learning new ways to do things on a daily basis!

JANE

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Past experience with BRIX

It made my daily job much easier to have this program track all of our houses in a project.

Pros

Brix was easy to use and easy to learn. You could track each house and payment in one program

Cons

I had no issue with BRIX, the only reason we changed is that the builder we work for changed software and then I believe the Software provider bought BRIX.

Response from Hyphen Solutions

Hi, Jane! We are pleased BRIX has helped you successfully track all your projects, and that it is easy to use and easy to learn. We are continuously making improvements to BRIX that will help you with productivity and efficiency. We provided your feedback to our Customer Experience team. Please contact us if you ever need assistance. Thanks again for your review.

Replied June 2020

Peggy

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

BRIX

The allocation feature is very useful, with many ways to allocate out various expenses.

Pros

The feature that allows you to export almost any views straight to Excel by hitting shift-F8

Cons

Lack of formatting options on reporting.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

June 2021

Great Concept, Has Flaws

Overall it's been frustrating because of the sheer time the system takes between views, and while you can customize views, customizing fields is less friendly. It also doesn't seem to communicate very well with Hyphen BuildPro and the superintendent assigned.

Pros

Organizing jobs by project and number is helpful, and it has the ability to customize what information you want to view at any given time.

Cons

The software kicks me out multiple times a day, the layout feels dated, and the ability to talk to other programs seems limited. There is a lag when you switch from one tab or view to another.

Showing 1 - 14 of 14 reviews