All Builterra Reviews

1-25 of 104 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

The best way to get current project information at your digital fingertips!

PROS

We haven't fully implemented the full suite of tools within Builterra yet, so I am most pleased with the ability to control the catalog of items to prevent users from creating too many one-off items. As we move forward, the ability to query past tender pricing for estimating purposes is invaluable to me as a Project Manager. Ultimately, once we are using the inspection component full time, I can't wait for the daily inspection reports with photos and GPS located notes, etc.

CONS

None. The only drawback to this software is the same and any other business software : implementation. It is always difficult to get 100% "buy-in" but in time, I am confident all Project Managers here will appreciate the power and usefulness of Builterra.

Vendor Response

So this review made our day! We were thrilled to hear that you appreciate Builterra as 'invaluable' when it comes to querying past tender pricing for estimating and look forward to your organization's full adoption! We agree that implementation is always a challenge when it comes to adopting a new software that replaces the 'old way' of doing things. We look forward to seeing increasing numbers of your organization's Project Managers experience the power of Builterra. Thank you again for your review!

Replied October 2018

James

Civil Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

A great way to get away from the field book

Our experience has been very positive, but we feel we will find the greatest benefits during the project closure phase where we will be able to go back and look at specific issues rather than having the wade through site reports and untagged photos.

PROS

Builterra allows us to track construction project and document design information in the field in a manner that minimizes our office time necessary to compile the data into a useful form.

CONS

There are some minor glitches with not being able to easily assign a new project from the field which we need for design uses, but it is easily resolved in the office.

Reason for choosing Builterra

Cost, ease of launching and modular approach that allowed us to slowly ramp up as the economics and projects supported more users.

Laurence

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2018

A great concept but not a finished product.

The best word would be 'frustrating'. Downloading a report in PDF form sums up the experience: having to wait several minutes for a 1pg pdf form is inconvenient - being told that it's because you are number 1 in line is just a bizarre user experience - finding out that using a different method to download that same 1pg pdf report gives a significantly different looking document is very frustrating. Customer service was timely and patient, but not always helpful. Many of the things we needed help with would turn out to be large problems and it did not seem that there was any interest in undertaking the necessary work.

PROS

I honestly believe the idea behind this software has the potential to change the way the industry operates and any company not using something similar will be seen as being behind the times. Builterra is on to a really good idea by putting CA tasks online and increasing automation and smart interactions between tasks.

CONS

The most frustrating part of using Builterra is experiencing it fall short of it's clear potential. From uploading/inputting data to downloading reports, every step was slow, buggy, and difficult to navigate. This translated into additional costs that had not been budgeted for and additional time that I did not have to spare. At no point did the time and effort savings of the software materialize. I suspect that each company signing up with Builterra will require a fair amount of work to customize the reports and functionality to that company. This is worth either putting under user control or taking the time to set up the software to turn out a product that matches the company's existing output. Much of the value of the product results from mobile use, sadly the mobile experience falls far short of even the desktop experience.

Vendor Response

Laurence, Our sincere thanks for providing this insightful feedback. We only have 1000 chars to respond but will follow-up directly. Performance:We are committed to resolving report generation times during peak hours. Report differences:Some custom reports using checkboxes do not render properly from Excel to PDF. We recommend the Excel report be used for reports with checkboxes and PDF for image reports. Overall Support:We are very sorry to hear that the support provided was sub-par and are addressing this with our team. Customization requirements:Builterra is an out-of-box reporting system and a platform for report customization. For the latter, our team works closely with clients to ensure success. Report Customization:For now, reports are custom coded. However, our roadmap includes user defined reports for greater flexibility. Thank you for seeing our potential to 'change the way the industry operates'. We'd love for you to help us do just that. We'll be in touch.

Replied September 2018

Amchan

Construction, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Builterra

As a user of Builterra, it has saved me time and effort compared to doing work manually.

PROS

Builterra is a very useful software that can be used via laptop, phone, or tablet. Daily inspections and weekly quantities of site work can be conducted through this platform which makes it easier than older methods such as Microsoft Word or Excel.

CONS

The software runs slow on laptops sometimes as the server is huge. Some data takes time to enter but they are still being developed to better aid the contract administrators.

Jonathan

Civil Engineering, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

It's... OK

Seems fairly easy to navigate once you get used to where everything is at.

PROS

I like the fact that it encompasses all our documents into one platform that can be accessed by our smart phones. Also, everything within the app has drop downs that allow you to find documents fairly easy.

CONS

The only thing I don't like is the how the documents are setup in Builterra, but that's not the fault of the platform, but those who created the document.

Adam

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2018

Great concept, needs some work.

PROS

The connectivity of data is a great idea. Having every aspect of tendering and inspection linked together in one software, from the actual issuing of tenders through to payment certificates is a great idea. The inspection portion of the software (app) is great, and the geolocation and captioning of photos works well. Having everything cloud-based is helpful to mitigate loss of data and keep all data in a central location.

CONS

The user interface requires improvement to be easily usable and easier to comprehend for users that are not very acquainted with the software. Navigating through the various aspects of creating a tender, and how the connectivity works between tendering, historical costing, inspection, and payment certificates is not intuitive enough for new users to easily comprehend. The many layers of data entry leaves room for data to be entered incorrectly into the wrong location which renders the data meaningless. Users need to spend significant time acquainting themselves with the software and data input and usage methods before it can become useful. Usage of the app (on android) resulted in many errors and bugs which, though were resolved, resulted in time and data loss.

Vendor Response

Adam, We're truly grateful you took the time to detail your experience with Builterra to date. Firstly, we're happy to hear you believe in the concept and have had great success with your field inspection workflows, particularly the geolocation and captioning of photos. We agree that the tender configuration & navigation can be confusing for new users and in the short term, are aiming to provide video tutorials to ensure users are aware of the relationships and links in the tendering system, inspection and progress payment system. We are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the Android app. We are pleased to report that the app is going through a significant re-work this Fall which will result in a better user experience. Your feedback was well received and much appreciated. We'll be in touch with an invitation to join our Platform Advisory Council. Our sincere thanks, Team Builterra

Replied September 2018

Sebouh

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Great Platform

Overall Builterra is a great platform to create and document daily reports and make it easier to track quantities and generate payment certificates;

PROS

Uploading photos with location tags into daily reports and keeping the track of the quantities executed onsite

CONS

That I need high speed internet to upload photos of high resolution, and when uploading these photos at the internet availability point, the pictures are tagged where the internet location is and not where it was taken on the job site. e.g. tags the location of the office and not the job site.

Mark

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Builterra Review

Overall the Builterra platform is beneficial to my day to day tasks, it streamlines a lot of services that we provide to our clients.

PROS

The automated email to send reports to our clients is very beneficial to streamline the report process. The auto population of reports from our comments makes the report process faster.

CONS

Minor glitches such as extra bullet points in reports requires you to go back into report and adjust which can be time consuming. We have run into scenarios were the report is not attached in the email or it double sends. This is an unprofessional look from our company as these reports are sent directly to our clients.

Ryan

Alternative Dispute Resolution, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

A review of Builterra.

Overall, our experience with Builterra has been positive as far as administering contracts to our subs and contractors. We have enjoyed the fact that the workflows have been streamlined with connection to estimation of cost, preparing bids, Inspectors Daily Reports, and non-conformance issues. Highly recommended for firms dealing in roads/bridges, infrastructure, and civil planning.

PROS

Builterra is a software program of high usability. My highest praise would go toward the ease is geolocating photos and also the captioning process. I like that it is a cloud-based system, so there is little to no chance of losing our information if there is a crash. As far as the application, the inspection aspect is ideal. No bugs and not too much clutter on the platform.

CONS

It would be nice to be able to add digital signatures between us and our subs. The mobile app is good overall, but once in a while the text gets janky and may be hard to decipher. If a comment becomes amended in a readout, it would be perfect if the text would adjust on its own.

Ivan

Civil Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Builterra on a road

Speeding process for payments, provide "live" info for all who has access to the project 24/7.

PROS

Helping to speed a process with payment certificates.

CONS

I don't have any comments to this so far.

Reason for choosing Builterra

Requested by clients a most.

Scott

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed August 2018

Potentially a good platform

Overall the experience was not as advertised and the cost is too high to maintain with the current product. Technical support is less helpful and more demeaning referencing solutions such as on-line instructional videos instead of addressing specific comments, note that videos are our of date for the constantly evolving product. Responses such as we clearly don't know how to use the product - You are correct that is why we are asking tech support. As mentioned earlier the interface is too cumbersome and should be customizable by the end user easily without having to get the programmer to setup a custom form. Generally the experience was poor and both the interface and support will need a lot of polish in the future in order to succeed in the opinion of this reviewer.

PROS

The idea is a good one and the appearance from an outside perspective is good. The ability to geolocate and work collaboratively is great.

CONS

VERY cumbersome with a steep learning curve. In this industry if you can't pick it up and use it without a training course it won't be used. Too much potential for error or loss of information. Form modification was not possible on a job by job basis without major rework. Batch photo upload not possible. Simple photo modifications such as rotation take way too long to update. Downloaded form formatting may not be the same in PDF as excel. App it to hard to see on a phone in the sun. Major battery use on new phone, old phones would be impossible to keep charged.

rocco

Civil Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

construction inspector

I currently have a found anything that really challenging.An excellent message for recording and retrieve information

PROS

He's a documentation and the retrieval of information

CONS

I currently have a found anything that really challenging.

David

Civil Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Builterra for Contract Admininstractors

Builterra helps to solve the mundane and time-consuming tasks of having to type up and format a perfect looking report. Using the simple forms in the field by inspector to just input the data cuts down on time taken generate reports.

PROS

Ease of the software made inputting data quite simple. Software is very customizable for the type of application we need, and produces reports in any format you need. Pull-down menus are easily expandable and works well when you need to add cells.

CONS

Would like to have seen a pre-determined list of standard inputs, e.g. types of machines or labourers, etc. so that I would not have to program them in for each project.

Vendor Response

David, We really appreciate your praise for the platform and constructive feedback. We're pleased to hear you appreciate Builterra's ease of use and that you're cutting down on the time-consuming task of report generation. That's what we love to hear! The use of Inspection Form ┬┐Templates┬┐ provides for auto-population of labour & equipment types. The Project based lookup lists could provide specific lists for project specific equipment & labour types. Stay tuned for video tutorials on this aspect of the inspection form configuration. Based on your feedback, we will look into expanding the system to manage project specific templates to auto-populate equipment & labour per the specific project. Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review David! Users like you help make Builterra great!

Replied September 2018

Haroon Adil

Construction, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Good experience

PROS

User friendly and well organized software

CONS

Adding photos more than one at a a time would be a good feature for desktop version

Andrew

Civil Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Andrew's Review

Solid program. Helps facilitate construction projects from the inspector aspect, in a big way.

PROS

All reports are made for you, with the exception of the specific data input for the application.

CONS

Daily input of every piece of equipment and labour on each daily report. Templates are not easy to make and use.

Peter

Civil Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Makes my inspections look easy

PROS

The cell phone app. Can use my phone in the field and then come and finish it off on the PC.

CONS

Cant take pictures on a tablet. The system crashes every time I take a picture with a tablet. So I am forced to use my cell phone.

Reason for choosing Builterra

Cloud services.

Kristen

Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2021

Good but not Great

PROS

I like the mobile access and the ability for the field to provide live updates

CONS

Its inefficient to edit data on the webpage and there's not enough options to customize user settings.

Vendor Response

Thanks Kristen, We can meet with you and the T2 Builterra Manager to review best practices for website editing. Possibly look at simplifying the data entry requirements, paging options and lookup lists which are configured by your system admin.

Replied May 2021

Winnie

Civil Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Reports for Inspector

Helps keep projects organized, and easy to access.

PROS

The product was easy to use, helps make projects organized and easy to access reports from other projects. It was convenient to be able to complete reports on site with the mobile app.

CONS

Most team members, myself included prefer using the browser version of Builterra, instead of the mobile version.

Peter

Civil Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Review of Builterra

PROS

Desktop interface is user friendly. Easy generation of quantity summaries.

CONS

App use-ability could be improved. Field inspectors tend to use desktop application instead of app.

Vendor Response

Peter, Thanks so much for taking the time to review Builterra. We're thrilled to hear you're finding the desktop interface user friendly and that you're easily generating quantity summaries! You'll be happy to hear we're working on improving the app user experience. On that note, we'd love for you to be a part of our Platform Advisory Council and will be in touch with a formal invitation. Thanks again Peter. Users like you help us to improve the platform for everyone.

Replied October 2018

Mohammad

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: