Builterra Software Reviews

Builterra Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

3.99

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"Multi platform capibilities. I like when I can use any available device to fill in my info."
  • icon"It does the trick and great value for the money."
  • icon"Ease of use and intergrates well with contract payment documents."
  • icon"This was not so much the software not working properly, rather it was an overload of information, and the drop down boxes not always containing the exact items."
  • icon"Difficult to create additional and / or customized reports."
  • icon"Errors in software can cause in progress reports to be lost."

All Builterra Reviews

1-25 of 104 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2018

Efficiency

Its nice but interface can provide more information, such as we have a very big contract. The contract has several roads in it, I work on one road and need an immediate update about the total quantity of work done entered or left...

Pros

Its a very efficient product I ever used. I like smart reporting software. Its efficient, easy to access from anywhere onsite or office or from home. No need more paperwork..

Cons

The online software should have offline software which can synchronize when connected to internet. The offline version can be fast as the online version speed is depending on internet...

Response from AEC Solutions

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback on Builterra! We're thrilled to hear you find the platform efficient, smart and easy-to-use. And we love hearing that you're eliminating paperwork! You'll be happy to hear that we're updating the Business Analytics part of Builterra for 2019 and would appreciate your feedback as we further develop our dashboard interface. If you're interested in becoming part of our Platform Advisory Council, please email support@builterra.com and reference your review. The offline experience is being reviewed, however based on our framework, Builterra is 100% web based. The majority of our mobile app functionality can be accessed offline with the exception of access to contract items. Stay tuned for a series of videos discussing offline usage and limitations. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to hear from you about joining our Platform Advisory Council.

Replied September 2018

Eesan

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

Need more work

Good

Pros

Pretty good and helpful but need to be improved in layout and features such as simplify copying repetitive items , getting summary , search features , field test page is need to improved a lot , add more pull down menu for similar items then it will help to shorten time consuming with report

Cons

Mobile application must be improved a lot , Layout is not attractive , crashing many times , Not versatile

Response from AEC Solutions

Hi Eesan, thanks for the review. We have many options to handle copy and repeat of data within the app. Data entry templates, cascading lookup, copy from past inspections to name a few. Please review the Builterra Training portal using the web link https://portal.builterra.com/Training to assit with more advanced data entry using the app. Also, if training is required reach out to support@builterra.com to walk you through the copy past data options. The App interface will be going through changes in Fall 2021 with include room for more data collection options ...so patience is appreciated!

Replied May 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2018

Construction Inspector iPad App User

Overall this is definitely an improvement over a clunky excel file, but there is still bugs and a lot of untapped potential left in the app.

Pros

I do like the template feature, the automatic weather feature, the contract item drop down list, and the “get location” feature. They did a great job on integrating this app for our projects.

Cons

1. Should be able to complete the daily and EWO report without using the web app. Should be able to complete a report within the mobile app alone. 2. Once the inspection is reviewed it should automatically append a digital signature and then get sent to the contractor for their digital signature. 3. In the mobile app review mode, text overlaps making it difficult to find the item your are trying to review 4. You should be able to adjust the order that the items appear in the pdf or excel report. The web app allows the item # to be changed but this is not reflected once the report is produced. 5. Rows should automatically adjust in the final report if a remark is expanded upon. 6. If an item is deleted or modified in the mobile app for both dailies and EWO it is not always reflected in the final report. 7. Contract pay items appear to give you the impression that you can change the pay item that was initially selected, but this does not get reflected on the final report. 8. Ideally the create inspection and modify inspection are not on separate interfaces.

Response from AEC Solutions

We appreciate your review. We're thrilled to hear you're pleased with some of our key features and the integration process was great! The Mobile App can be used to ¿Create¿ a new Daily and Extra Work Order, review and edit any previously submitted data using the ¿Review Mode¿. Completed daily and EWO can be approved and emailed to any external reviewers, all without use of web portal. The review process does add a digital time/date stamp for inspector, external reviewers and supervisor. Unfortunately, we only have 1000 chars to respond so we can't address everything here. Please reach out to support@builterra.com as we'd love to have you on our Platform Advisory Council! We're planning major updates to our user interface this Fall so stay tuned. Thank you for this valuable feedback! Users like you ensure the platform keeps getting better.

Replied September 2018

Peter

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

Makes my inspections look easy

Pros

The cell phone app. Can use my phone in the field and then come and finish it off on the PC.

Cons

Cant take pictures on a tablet. The system crashes every time I take a picture with a tablet. So I am forced to use my cell phone.

Reasons for choosing Builterra

Cloud services.

User Profile

Jonathan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2021

Builterra, a smart solution for construction projects.

In general, this software is highly recommended for the accompaniment of a construction project. In my experience it has helped me a lot for real time cost estimation and construction progress monitoring. The multiplatform option makes it versatile for the management of a construction project. Although this software has several aspects to improve, I think it delivers what it promises and has great potential in the construction world.

Pros

In my opinion what Builterra does best are the cost estimates it performs in real time, in addition to the automation for the analysis of the different bids. A plus point of this software is that it is based on BIM methodology. Integration with a web platform and a mobile app makes the software more versatile. Although it standardizes, streamlines and connects the contract management of a construction project, it is not difficult to use. This software helps a lot in site inspections, as it allows taking photos to monitor construction progress. Finally, as for the price, I believe it is cost effective for a company, and the software has a trial or demo version.

Cons

What I liked the least about this software is the mobile version, I think they should constantly update it to show a nice interface and correct some glitches. Even the organization of works report can be improved. Finally the customer support should be more efficient and technical.

Reasons for choosing Builterra

I chose this software over its peers because it offers the possibility of multiplatform, the affordable price, the tool to monitor the progress of work and analyze costs in real time.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2018

Builterra Review for sub-Division Construction

Makes completing reports from the field much easier and saves a lot of time once you get back to the office as reports can be downloaded and sent out or stored immediately.

Pros

Very helpful for documentation of daily photos and keeping records.

Cons

Errors in software can cause in progress reports to be lost.

Response from AEC Solutions

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Builterra software for use in subdivision construction. We're happy to hear you're finding the documentation of daily photos helpful and that you're saving time...one of the main motivations behind the software! We'd really like to hear more about the errors you're experiencing. Please reach out to support@builterra.com and our team will be happy to help troubleshoot. Thanks again, Team Builterra

Replied October 2018

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2018

First user for Builterra

so far it is very good tool to use.

Pros

I liked this software because it is very user friendly software. I did not need to send any email regarding how to use this software since, but also it is very powerful tool to store all the project information.

Cons

some information I have to fill duplicate, which consumes some time. I kind of thought it is a bit wasting of time of mine because there is no auto save information system.

Response from AEC Solutions

Hi there! We appreciate you taking the time to review the Builterra platform. We're happy to hear you find the software so user-friendly that you didn't feel the need to reach out for further support! We'd appreciate hearing more about where you're having to duplicate information. Please email support@builterra.com for assistance. Thanks again!

Replied October 2018

User Profile

Chad

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2018

Full featured engineering projects solution.

The inspection and reporting capabilities are second to none. Top notch support.

Pros

Cloud based database storage. Multi user capability.

Cons

Cost is a bit high. Dependence for report creation is tough but necessary.

Response from AEC Solutions

Chad, Thanks for your review! We're so pleased to hear you find our inspection and reporting capabilities "second to none" and that you've received "top notch support"! In terms of cost, the subscription for large numbers of users can be negotiated once an organization commits to Builterra. Feel free to reach out! At present, reports are custom coded. As the product evolves, we look forward to including user defined report configuration to reduce the need to customize and bring better reporting flexibility. Thanks again Chad. We truly appreciate your time.

Replied September 2018

Eric

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2020

Inspectors need this!

I've enjoy using the software overall. Hopefully they improve the UI at some point.

Pros

I like that this has taken us from paper to digital copies of our inspections reports. It also helps me stay incredibly organized.

Cons

It can be complicated to use at first. However once you learn the steps, it's not that bad. The software could also use some sprucing up. The UI isn't visually appealing and lacks gesture support for iOS.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2018

quantity made easy

Quantity Tracking Daily Reporting Weekly Summaries

Pros

our field staff can readily and easily enter daily quantities on a daily basis with weekly summaries

Cons

week summaries don to sort by project number or item

Adam

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2018

Great concept, needs some work.

Pros

The connectivity of data is a great idea. Having every aspect of tendering and inspection linked together in one software, from the actual issuing of tenders through to payment certificates is a great idea. The inspection portion of the software (app) is great, and the geolocation and captioning of photos works well. Having everything cloud-based is helpful to mitigate loss of data and keep all data in a central location.

Cons

The user interface requires improvement to be easily usable and easier to comprehend for users that are not very acquainted with the software. Navigating through the various aspects of creating a tender, and how the connectivity works between tendering, historical costing, inspection, and payment certificates is not intuitive enough for new users to easily comprehend. The many layers of data entry leaves room for data to be entered incorrectly into the wrong location which renders the data meaningless. Users need to spend significant time acquainting themselves with the software and data input and usage methods before it can become useful. Usage of the app (on android) resulted in many errors and bugs which, though were resolved, resulted in time and data loss.

Response from AEC Solutions

Adam, We're truly grateful you took the time to detail your experience with Builterra to date. Firstly, we're happy to hear you believe in the concept and have had great success with your field inspection workflows, particularly the geolocation and captioning of photos. We agree that the tender configuration & navigation can be confusing for new users and in the short term, are aiming to provide video tutorials to ensure users are aware of the relationships and links in the tendering system, inspection and progress payment system. We are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the Android app. We are pleased to report that the app is going through a significant re-work this Fall which will result in a better user experience. Your feedback was well received and much appreciated. We'll be in touch with an invitation to join our Platform Advisory Council. Our sincere thanks, Team Builterra

Replied September 2018

Laurence

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

August 2018

A great concept but not a finished product.

The best word would be 'frustrating'. Downloading a report in PDF form sums up the experience: having to wait several minutes for a 1pg pdf form is inconvenient - being told that it's because you are number 1 in line is just a bizarre user experience - finding out that using a different method to download that same 1pg pdf report gives a significantly different looking document is very frustrating. Customer service was timely and patient, but not always helpful. Many of the things we needed help with would turn out to be large problems and it did not seem that there was any interest in undertaking the necessary work.

Pros

I honestly believe the idea behind this software has the potential to change the way the industry operates and any company not using something similar will be seen as being behind the times. Builterra is on to a really good idea by putting CA tasks online and increasing automation and smart interactions between tasks.

Cons

The most frustrating part of using Builterra is experiencing it fall short of it's clear potential. From uploading/inputting data to downloading reports, every step was slow, buggy, and difficult to navigate. This translated into additional costs that had not been budgeted for and additional time that I did not have to spare. At no point did the time and effort savings of the software materialize. I suspect that each company signing up with Builterra will require a fair amount of work to customize the reports and functionality to that company. This is worth either putting under user control or taking the time to set up the software to turn out a product that matches the company's existing output. Much of the value of the product results from mobile use, sadly the mobile experience falls far short of even the desktop experience.

Response from AEC Solutions

Laurence, Our sincere thanks for providing this insightful feedback. We only have 1000 chars to respond but will follow-up directly. Performance:We are committed to resolving report generation times during peak hours. Report differences:Some custom reports using checkboxes do not render properly from Excel to PDF. We recommend the Excel report be used for reports with checkboxes and PDF for image reports. Overall Support:We are very sorry to hear that the support provided was sub-par and are addressing this with our team. Customization requirements:Builterra is an out-of-box reporting system and a platform for report customization. For the latter, our team works closely with clients to ensure success. Report Customization:For now, reports are custom coded. However, our roadmap includes user defined reports for greater flexibility. Thank you for seeing our potential to 'change the way the industry operates'. We'd love for you to help us do just that. We'll be in touch.

Replied September 2018

James

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

A great way to get away from the field book

Our experience has been very positive, but we feel we will find the greatest benefits during the project closure phase where we will be able to go back and look at specific issues rather than having the wade through site reports and untagged photos.

Pros

Builterra allows us to track construction project and document design information in the field in a manner that minimizes our office time necessary to compile the data into a useful form.

Cons

There are some minor glitches with not being able to easily assign a new project from the field which we need for design uses, but it is easily resolved in the office.

Reasons for choosing Builterra

Cost, ease of launching and modular approach that allowed us to slowly ramp up as the economics and projects supported more users.

Tim

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

Good Contract Administration Software

We utilize Builterra for the majority of Road, Water and Sewer projects. It takes a while to learn and gain the ability to navigate the software but the benefits of having all projects files managed on one functional platform make it very worthwhile.

Pros

The ability to manage all of our projects throughout their lifecycle on one software platform is very efficient. Incorporating bid creation, tendering, contract administration and inspection together in a readable format is unique in the industry. Custom reporting options are extremely beneficial for our management systems and project tracking systems.

Cons

The software works fairly well but sometimes it forces you to always start at the main project page instead. Some additional navigation buttons within the project management files would be beneficial. Some custom features that are unique to our organization should probably be "out of the box" features in future upgrades to Builterra.

Reasons for switching to Builterra

Limited capability of the existing platform and no inspection platform.

Amchan

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2020

Builterra

As a user of Builterra, it has saved me time and effort compared to doing work manually.

Pros

Builterra is a very useful software that can be used via laptop, phone, or tablet. Daily inspections and weekly quantities of site work can be conducted through this platform which makes it easier than older methods such as Microsoft Word or Excel.

Cons

The software runs slow on laptops sometimes as the server is huge. Some data takes time to enter but they are still being developed to better aid the contract administrators.

Vaibhav

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Best platform for contract management

Pros

The easy way to write and submit the inspection report, payment certificates, estimate and most of the contract administration work are breeze to do

Cons

Absolutely nothing that I don't like about the product. Though there can be some improvement in testing side before the product rolls out to avoid any miscalculation in projects

Response from AEC Solutions

Thanks Mali, Looking forward to serving the team at WSP Canada in 2021! As we rollout new portals, we will spend more time on the sandbox testing. Point taken.

Replied May 2021

Jonathan

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE