User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

3.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(7)

7

4 stars

(21)

21

3 stars

(7)

7

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I like that this has taken us from paper to digital copies of our inspections reports. It also helps me stay incredibly organized."

  • "Very helpful for documentation of daily photos and keeping records."

  • "I do like the template feature, the automatic weather feature, the contract item drop down list, and the “get location” feature. They did a great job on integrating this app for our projects."

  • Cons

  • "There is some issues with the formatting, but the support we received to fix the issue is really quick and it was fixed right away. "

  • "So far my experience with Builterra is good. The only thing I don’t like is, it’s missing ‘back’ button. But everything else is perfect."

  • "Can be confusing, during the configuration and setup. "

Browse Builterra Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -13 of 37 results

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Efficiency

Its nice but interface can provide more information, such as we have a very big contract. The contract has several roads in it, I work on one road and need an immediate update about the total quantity of work done entered or left...

Pros

Its a very efficient product I ever used. I like smart reporting software. Its efficient, easy to access from anywhere onsite or office or from home. No need more paperwork..

Cons

The online software should have offline software which can synchronize when connected to internet. The offline version can be fast as the online version speed is depending on internet...

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback on Builterra! We're thrilled to hear you find the platform efficient, smart and easy-to-use. And we love hearing that you're eliminating paperwork! You'll be happy to hear that we're updating the Business Analytics part of Builterra for 2019 and would appreciate your feedback as we further develop our dashboard interface. If you're interested in becoming part of our Platform Advisory Council, please email support@builterra.com and reference your review. The offline experience is being reviewed, however based on our framework, Builterra is 100% web based. The majority of our mobile app functionality can be accessed offline with the exception of access to contract items. Stay tuned for a series of videos discussing offline usage and limitations. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to hear from you about joining our Platform Advisory Council.

August 2018

Brian from WSP Canada Group Limited

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Good but not great

Its a great tool for a database. I have had my permissions extended so the functionality for me is better.

Pros

The software, once I played around with functionality, was fairly easy to use. Changes were made during the beta testing that definitely made it easy to use. Customer service is pretty spot on as there were a few bugs at the beginning that were resolved fairly quickly, within a day or 2.

Cons

The level of authority. If a mistake is made, I used to have to call the moderator to un-review a report in order to edit. A little too muddled in the Menu, could be streamlined to the reports that only I deal with. Could stand to use an autocorrect function or predictive text.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Brian, Thanks so very much for taking the time to provide this useful feedback. We're happy to hear you're finding Builterra easy to use and that you've had 'spot on' experiences with our customer service team. Your feature requests have been noted and you'll be pleased to hear that we're reviewing our Web portal interface in the Fall. Thank you again for the help. And stay tuned for an invitation to be part of our Platform Advisory Council.

January 2020

Eric from City of Kitchener

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Inspectors need this!

I've enjoy using the software overall. Hopefully they improve the UI at some point.

Pros

I like that this has taken us from paper to digital copies of our inspections reports. It also helps me stay incredibly organized.

Cons

It can be complicated to use at first. However once you learn the steps, it's not that bad. The software could also use some sprucing up. The UI isn't visually appealing and lacks gesture support for iOS.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

Construction Inspector iPad App User

Overall this is definitely an improvement over a clunky excel file, but there is still bugs and a lot of untapped potential left in the app.

Pros

I do like the template feature, the automatic weather feature, the contract item drop down list, and the get location feature. They did a great job on integrating this app for our projects.

Cons

1. Should be able to complete the daily and EWO report without using the web app. Should be able to complete a report within the mobile app alone. 2. Once the inspection is reviewed it should automatically append a digital signature and then get sent to the contractor for their digital signature. 3. In the mobile app review mode, text overlaps making it difficult to find the item your are trying to review 4. You should be able to adjust the order that the items appear in the pdf or excel report. The web app allows the item # to be changed but this is not reflected once the report is produced. 5. Rows should automatically adjust in the final report if a remark is expanded upon. 6. If an item is deleted or modified in the mobile app for both dailies and EWO it is not always reflected in the final report. 7. Contract pay items appear to give you the impression that you can change the pay item that was initially selected, but this does not get reflected on the final report. 8. Ideally the create inspection and modify inspection are not on separate interfaces.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

We appreciate your review. We're thrilled to hear you're pleased with some of our key features and the integration process was great! The Mobile App can be used to Create a new Daily and Extra Work Order, review and edit any previously submitted data using the Review Mode. Completed daily and EWO can be approved and emailed to any external reviewers, all without use of web portal. The review process does add a digital time/date stamp for inspector, external reviewers and supervisor. Unfortunately, we only have 1000 chars to respond so we can't address everything here. Please reach out to support@builterra.com as we'd love to have you on our Platform Advisory Council! We're planning major updates to our user interface this Fall so stay tuned. Thank you for this valuable feedback! Users like you ensure the platform keeps getting better.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2018

Builterra Review for sub-Division Construction

Makes completing reports from the field much easier and saves a lot of time once you get back to the office as reports can be downloaded and sent out or stored immediately.

Pros

Very helpful for documentation of daily photos and keeping records.

Cons

Errors in software can cause in progress reports to be lost.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied October 2018

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Builterra software for use in subdivision construction. We're happy to hear you're finding the documentation of daily photos helpful and that you're saving time...one of the main motivations behind the software! We'd really like to hear more about the errors you're experiencing. Please reach out to support@builterra.com and our team will be happy to help troubleshoot. Thanks again, Team Builterra

August 2018

Adam from D.M. Wills Associates Limited

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

Great concept, needs some work.

Pros

The connectivity of data is a great idea. Having every aspect of tendering and inspection linked together in one software, from the actual issuing of tenders through to payment certificates is a great idea. The inspection portion of the software (app) is great, and the geolocation and captioning of photos works well. Having everything cloud-based is helpful to mitigate loss of data and keep all data in a central location.

Cons

The user interface requires improvement to be easily usable and easier to comprehend for users that are not very acquainted with the software. Navigating through the various aspects of creating a tender, and how the connectivity works between tendering, historical costing, inspection, and payment certificates is not intuitive enough for new users to easily comprehend. The many layers of data entry leaves room for data to be entered incorrectly into the wrong location which renders the data meaningless. Users need to spend significant time acquainting themselves with the software and data input and usage methods before it can become useful. Usage of the app (on android) resulted in many errors and bugs which, though were resolved, resulted in time and data loss.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Adam, We're truly grateful you took the time to detail your experience with Builterra to date. Firstly, we're happy to hear you believe in the concept and have had great success with your field inspection workflows, particularly the geolocation and captioning of photos. We agree that the tender configuration & navigation can be confusing for new users and in the short term, are aiming to provide video tutorials to ensure users are aware of the relationships and links in the tendering system, inspection and progress payment system. We are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the Android app. We are pleased to report that the app is going through a significant re-work this Fall which will result in a better user experience. Your feedback was well received and much appreciated. We'll be in touch with an invitation to join our Platform Advisory Council. Our sincere thanks, Team Builterra

August 2018

Vaibhav from WSP

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Easy for maneuvers for contract items and daily reports

Report generation as in inspectors role have become easier. Pay items go through easily and easy operation saves time

Pros

Saves tons of time writing up the inspection reports and once a formula is set pay items are breeze. Loved the comaptibilty and synchronized formatting of reports between different platforms

Cons

Its very frustrating when you expect a report to be generated the way you want and software just stops responding and freezes.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Hello Vaibhav and thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your experience with Builterra. We're happy to hear you're saving significant time compiling inspection reports and enjoy our cross-platform capabilities. That's what Builterra is all about--making your job that much easier! We're sorry to hear you're experiencing performance issues with report generation. We are reviewing our cloud server specifications and are in the process of upgrading accordingly to resolve response times during peak hours. We will reach out when this is complete so you can test. Thank you again Vaibhav. We appreciate your feedback as it helps to ensure Builterra serves its users! We may also be in touch shortly with an invitation to join our Platform Advisory Council. Stay tuned!

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

First user for Builterra

so far it is very good tool to use.

Pros

I liked this software because it is very user friendly software. I did not need to send any email regarding how to use this software since, but also it is very powerful tool to store all the project information.

Cons

some information I have to fill duplicate, which consumes some time. I kind of thought it is a bit wasting of time of mine because there is no auto save information system.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied October 2018

Hi there! We appreciate you taking the time to review the Builterra platform. We're happy to hear you find the software so user-friendly that you didn't feel the need to reach out for further support! We'd appreciate hearing more about where you're having to duplicate information. Please email support@builterra.com for assistance. Thanks again!

August 2018

Ilham from GHD Ltd.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Best product in the Market

overall, i am really satisfied with this software and will continue to use it.

Pros

I really liked how user friendly the software is. Any age or computer skills person can use this software with any problems.

Cons

the software is a bit slow to reload and response.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Hello Ilham, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on Builterra. We appreciate your positive comments on the usability and have taken note of the performance issues you mentioned. We will review our cloud servers and upgrade accordingly to resolve response times during peak hours. Once again, thank you. Feel free to reach out to our support team should the need arise: http://builterra.com/contact. In the meantime, we'll be in touch once your feedback has been addressed.

August 2018

Chad from Houston Engineering, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Full featured engineering projects solution.

The inspection and reporting capabilities are second to none. Top notch support.

Pros

Cloud based database storage. Multi user capability.

Cons

Cost is a bit high. Dependence for report creation is tough but necessary.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Chad, Thanks for your review! We're so pleased to hear you find our inspection and reporting capabilities "second to none" and that you've received "top notch support"! In terms of cost, the subscription for large numbers of users can be negotiated once an organization commits to Builterra. Feel free to reach out! At present, reports are custom coded. As the product evolves, we look forward to including user defined report configuration to reduce the need to customize and bring better reporting flexibility. Thanks again Chad. We truly appreciate your time.

August 2018

Laurence from D.M.Wills Associates Ltd.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2018

A great concept but not a finished product.

The best word would be 'frustrating'. Downloading a report in PDF form sums up the experience: having to wait several minutes for a 1pg pdf form is inconvenient - being told that it's because you are number 1 in line is just a bizarre user experience - finding out that using a different method to download that same 1pg pdf report gives a significantly different looking document is very frustrating. Customer service was timely and patient, but not always helpful. Many of the things we needed help with would turn out to be large problems and it did not seem that there was any interest in undertaking the necessary work.

Pros

I honestly believe the idea behind this software has the potential to change the way the industry operates and any company not using something similar will be seen as being behind the times. Builterra is on to a really good idea by putting CA tasks online and increasing automation and smart interactions between tasks.

Cons

The most frustrating part of using Builterra is experiencing it fall short of it's clear potential. From uploading/inputting data to downloading reports, every step was slow, buggy, and difficult to navigate. This translated into additional costs that had not been budgeted for and additional time that I did not have to spare. At no point did the time and effort savings of the software materialize. I suspect that each company signing up with Builterra will require a fair amount of work to customize the reports and functionality to that company. This is worth either putting under user control or taking the time to set up the software to turn out a product that matches the company's existing output. Much of the value of the product results from mobile use, sadly the mobile experience falls far short of even the desktop experience.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Laurence, Our sincere thanks for providing this insightful feedback. We only have 1000 chars to respond but will follow-up directly. Performance:We are committed to resolving report generation times during peak hours. Report differences:Some custom reports using checkboxes do not render properly from Excel to PDF. We recommend the Excel report be used for reports with checkboxes and PDF for image reports. Overall Support:We are very sorry to hear that the support provided was sub-par and are addressing this with our team. Customization requirements:Builterra is an out-of-box reporting system and a platform for report customization. For the latter, our team works closely with clients to ensure success. Report Customization:For now, reports are custom coded. However, our roadmap includes user defined reports for greater flexibility. Thank you for seeing our potential to 'change the way the industry operates'. We'd love for you to help us do just that. We'll be in touch.

March 2019

Ryan from Civil Engineering

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Alternative Dispute Resolution

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

A review of Builterra.

Overall, our experience with Builterra has been positive as far as administering contracts to our subs and contractors. We have enjoyed the fact that the workflows have been streamlined with connection to estimation of cost, preparing bids, Inspectors Daily Reports, and non-conformance issues. Highly recommended for firms dealing in roads/bridges, infrastructure, and civil planning.

Pros

Builterra is a software program of high usability. My highest praise would go toward the ease is geolocating photos and also the captioning process. I like that it is a cloud-based system, so there is little to no chance of losing our information if there is a crash. As far as the application, the inspection aspect is ideal. No bugs and not too much clutter on the platform.

Cons

It would be nice to be able to add digital signatures between us and our subs. The mobile app is good overall, but once in a while the text gets janky and may be hard to decipher. If a comment becomes amended in a readout, it would be perfect if the text would adjust on its own.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

The best way to get current project information at your digital fingertips!

Pros

We haven't fully implemented the full suite of tools within Builterra yet, so I am most pleased with the ability to control the catalog of items to prevent users from creating too many one-off items. As we move forward, the ability to query past tender pricing for estimating purposes is invaluable to me as a Project Manager. Ultimately, once we are using the inspection component full time, I can't wait for the daily inspection reports with photos and GPS located notes, etc.

Cons

None. The only drawback to this software is the same and any other business software : implementation. It is always difficult to get 100% "buy-in" but in time, I am confident all Project Managers here will appreciate the power and usefulness of Builterra.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied October 2018

So this review made our day! We were thrilled to hear that you appreciate Builterra as 'invaluable' when it comes to querying past tender pricing for estimating and look forward to your organization's full adoption! We agree that implementation is always a challenge when it comes to adopting a new software that replaces the 'old way' of doing things. We look forward to seeing increasing numbers of your organization's Project Managers experience the power of Builterra. Thank you again for your review!

August 2018

David from WSP Canada Group Limited

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Builterra for Contract Admininstractors

Builterra helps to solve the mundane and time-consuming tasks of having to type up and format a perfect looking report. Using the simple forms in the field by inspector to just input the data cuts down on time taken generate reports.

Pros

Ease of the software made inputting data quite simple. Software is very customizable for the type of application we need, and produces reports in any format you need. Pull-down menus are easily expandable and works well when you need to add cells.

Cons

Would like to have seen a pre-determined list of standard inputs, e.g. types of machines or labourers, etc. so that I would not have to program them in for each project.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

David, We really appreciate your praise for the platform and constructive feedback. We're pleased to hear you appreciate Builterra's ease of use and that you're cutting down on the time-consuming task of report generation. That's what we love to hear! The use of Inspection Form Templates provides for auto-population of labour & equipment types. The Project based lookup lists could provide specific lists for project specific equipment & labour types. Stay tuned for video tutorials on this aspect of the inspection form configuration. Based on your feedback, we will look into expanding the system to manage project specific templates to auto-populate equipment & labour per the specific project. Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review David! Users like you help make Builterra great!

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

quantity made easy

Quantity Tracking Daily Reporting Weekly Summaries

Pros

our field staff can readily and easily enter daily quantities on a daily basis with weekly summaries

Cons

week summaries don to sort by project number or item

August 2018

Matthew from WSP Canada Group

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Builterra beginner

This software is creating a more standardized and consistent working platform across the board. Once everything is input, the whole office will be able to complete documents quicker and more efficiently. There will no longer be any discrepancy between documents.

Pros

I really liked how the software incorporated everything into one. The portion that allows Contract Administrators to post picutres, documents, etc., while on site was very impressive. I also really liked how easy it was to create tender documents.

Cons

When inputting historical documents it was difficult to remember what boxes to check, and how to input the proper data. This was not so much the software not working properly, rather it was an overload of information, and the drop down boxes not always containing the exact items.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Matthew, Thanks for taking the time to provide a review on Builterra! We're happy to hear you like the connectivity, ability to post photos/docs while on-site and appreciate the ease of creating tender documents. You'll be pleased to hear we're reviewing and updating the mobile app to streamline the experience so stay tuned! The fact that you're experiencing a more standardized and consistent approach to workflows is why we created Builterra! Thank you again for your time! We look forward to your continued feedback on the next generation of the platform.

August 2018

Vince from MTE Consultants Ltd.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

Acceptable Product

It has been acceptable. We haven't been impressed, but not disappointed. It needs to be more fully adopted by our clients before it will become truly useful.

Pros

It has all the functionality needed to effectively perform contract administration and inspection services.

Cons

The setup process has been difficult. Our projects don't have all the correct details, and inspectors do not have a trust level with the software.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Vince, Thank you for taking the time to review the Builterra platform. We're happy to hear you're pleased with the functionality for contract admin and field inspection. We would like to learn more about the difficulties you've experienced during setup. Inspection details are configurable so if you could review which details are required by your client, we'll be in touch to help. Thanks again Vince. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to connecting.

October 2018

SOHEIL from WSP

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Builterra rating

Awesome, as a construction inspector I love using this fantastic interface.

Pros

Being user friendly and Web based, easy to learn and use

Cons

Nothing dislikeable really. Every thing is easy and clear.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied October 2018

Soheil, Thanks so much for taking the time to review Builterra. We're so pleased to see you're happy with its ease of use and interface and appreciate the awesome rating! Feel free to reach out to support@builterra.com with any questions!

September 2018

Peter from AECOM

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Review of Builterra

Pros

Desktop interface is user friendly. Easy generation of quantity summaries.

Cons

App use-ability could be improved. Field inspectors tend to use desktop application instead of app.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied October 2018

Peter, Thanks so much for taking the time to review Builterra. We're thrilled to hear you're finding the desktop interface user friendly and that you're easily generating quantity summaries! You'll be happy to hear we're working on improving the app user experience. On that note, we'd love for you to be a part of our Platform Advisory Council and will be in touch with a formal invitation. Thanks again Peter. Users like you help us to improve the platform for everyone.

August 2018

Jonathan from C.C Tatham and Associates

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Inpsection Reporting

We are try to simplify the inspection reporting for the Inspectors. This was supposed to make project communication faster and more reliable.

Pros

The complete project team was capable of reviewing ongoing site planning , construction and administration tools

Cons

Very time consuming to upload photo and inspection reports (to many screens)

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your Builterra experience. We're happy to hear your team is able to collaborate more effectively on projects, from planning to admin tools. We recognize that the upload speed is an issue for users during peak times and are currently looking into background processing for photo submission. Stay tuned for platform updates scheduled for the Fall. We'll be in touch with you Jonathan. Thank you again for your time, it's much appreciated.

August 2019

Danny from SNC Lavalin.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Builtera user for a year

I think it's good overall. The interface is so simple that it's easy to handle

Pros

It's convenient. It's also accessible on your phone. You can upload photos taken from the scene using your cell phone.

Cons

The loading speed is a little slow. And if you repeat what you've written because you don't have auto-save function, it's a bit sad to write the same contents every day.

August 2018

Scott from DM Wills

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2018

Potentially a good platform

Overall the experience was not as advertised and the cost is too high to maintain with the current product. Technical support is less helpful and more demeaning referencing solutions such as on-line instructional videos instead of addressing specific comments, note that videos are our of date for the constantly evolving product. Responses such as we clearly don't know how to use the product - You are correct that is why we are asking tech support. As mentioned earlier the interface is too cumbersome and should be customizable by the end user easily without having to get the programmer to setup a custom form. Generally the experience was poor and both the interface and support will need a lot of polish in the future in order to succeed in the opinion of this reviewer.

Pros

The idea is a good one and the appearance from an outside perspective is good. The ability to geolocate and work collaboratively is great.

Cons

VERY cumbersome with a steep learning curve. In this industry if you can't pick it up and use it without a training course it won't be used. Too much potential for error or loss of information. Form modification was not possible on a job by job basis without major rework. Batch photo upload not possible. Simple photo modifications such as rotation take way too long to update. Downloaded form formatting may not be the same in PDF as excel. App it to hard to see on a phone in the sun. Major battery use on new phone, old phones would be impossible to keep charged.

August 2018

Arpit from WSP Canada

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Better than others

Pros

It offers so many features. Reports look professional and organized. Its easy to use and learn. It saves everything itself even if you forget to save your work.Builterra is a must try.

Cons

So far my experience with Builterra is good. The only thing I dont like is, its missing back button. But everything else is perfect.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Arpit, Our sincerest thanks for taking the time to review Builterra! We're thrilled to hear you find the reports professional and the platform easy-to-use. We're glad you believe it's a 'must try'! You'll be happy to hear the mobile app is going through a review. We'd like to invite you to join our Platform Advisory Council and will be in touch with an official invite. Thanks again Arpit!

August 2018

Mikhail from R. V. Anderson Associates Ltd.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Review

I conduct field inspections with the software

Pros

Customer support is great. they always fix issues really fast.

Cons

lots of bugs, not a very user friendly interface

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Mikhail, Thanks for providing feedback on your Builterra experience. We're pleased to hear you appreciate the responsiveness and performance of our customer support team. We'd appreciate learning more about the bugs you've encountered and will be in touch. Stay tuned for updates to our user interface and an invitation to our Platform Advisory Council. Thanks again for your time Mikhail.

April 2019

Arqam from Civil Engineering

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Good Product

Pros

Easy to use, user-friendly and convenient

Cons

Navigating through the available options

August 2018

Malcolm from Region of Waterloo

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Technical Services Manager, Design and Construction Division

Pros

Easy of use, reliability and close tie in with the on-line tendering software used by the Region's Purchasing Division.

Cons

Can be confusing, during the configuration and setup.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Malcolm, Thank you so much for your review! We're pleased to see you find Builterra easy-to-use and that you appreciate the tie-in with bids&tenders for Region of Waterloo. You'll be happy to hear we're working on streamlining the Tender Configuration process this Fall. Stay tuned! And thanks again Malcolm!

August 2018

Mike from WSP

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Review

Pros

The ablitlity to complete reports onsite is amazing and to add photos right in the app with captions is great.

Cons

There is some issues with the formatting, but the support we received to fix the issue is really quick and it was fixed right away.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Mike, We very much appreciate you taking the time to provide your thoughts on Builterra. We're happy to hear you're seeing such great benefit to your onsite reporting and that you appreciate the ability to add photos with captions. Our support team works hard to address any client issues so we're glad to hear you had a good experience. Thanks again for your kind words Mike.

December 2018

mohammad from City of Vaughan

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Efficiency Realized

Pros

not only the number of steps is reduced by using this technology, but also the time line for these steps are shorten

Cons

shall be customized to produce proper formats

January 2019

Amchan from WSP Canada

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Builterra Software Review

Pros

Builterra provides a more efficient way to produce reports and information. The memory the program holds for further use is very useful instead of re-entering information on a daily basis.

Cons

There could be a better feature in order to provide sketches and drawings of where some items are (such as a curb stop for a water service to each home).

August 2018

Peter from D.M. Wills Associates

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

SVR

Did not really save a lot of time for completed SVR's other than being able to link photos directly in the field.

Pros

Being able to link photos to the report.

Cons

Having to input the same information repeatedly on a daily basis. Should be able to carry repetitive information over from day to day.

August 2018

Ehsan from Wood

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

Inspector

Better than carrying papers with you on site

Pros

Multi platform capibilities. I like when I can use any available device to fill in my info

Cons

Access was not proper. I think admin didn't provide me proper access to evaluate

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Ehsan, Thank you for your feedback Ehsan, it is very much appreciated. We're happy to hear you appreciate the multi-platform capabilities of the Builterra software. We're sorry to hear you haven't been given the access needed to perform your assigned tasks. We will connect with a systems admin on your team to verify you have the access you need. Thank you again for your time. For future reference, you can reach out to our support team anytime for assistance: http://builterra.com/contact

August 2018

Igor from WSP Canada

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Builterra Software Review

I am learning Builterra right now and it's a bit hard and confusing. However, it's a great tool once you get the hang of it.

Pros

Almost everything can be customized to fit your needs.

Cons

The amount of different tabs you need to have open in order to work efficiently.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Igor, Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback on Builterra! We're glad to hear you're happy with the level of customization and that you're finding it easy to use after your initial learning curve. You'll be pleased to hear that we're working on our Web interface this Fall to streamline usability. Stay tuned for an invitation to our Platform Advisory Council and thank you again for your feedback!

August 2018

Ted from Houston Engineering, Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Great Potentail to save time and money

Builterra has some great potential but will need some heavy legwork on the front end of things to set it up for Business use. Multiple clients with multiple standards may cause some issues.

Pros

Adjusts Quantities on the fly. Full package for project estimating.

Cons

Can't utilize easily with ongoing projects. All or nothing. Takes awhile to build database. Need many separate databases for many different clients.

September 2018

Labib from RV Anderson

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Labibs Builterra Review

Pros

The organization and user friendly capabilities, particularly for reporting purposes. Map features are good

Cons

Small functionalities are too complicated like creating another report.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied October 2018

Hi there Labib, We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review on Builterra. We're happy to hear you're finding the platform user-friendly for reporting and that you like our Photo Map feature. With regards to you're finding small functionalities like creating another report too complicated, we'd love to help and will be in touch directly. Thanks again for your feedback!

August 2018

Allan from R.V. Anderson Associates Limited

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Builterra for Contract Administration on municipal construction projects

Pros

The software supports multiple projects, and geo-tagging of photos.

Cons

Some improvements could be made to the interface to make it easier to download reports.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Hi Alan, Thank you for your feedback on Builterra. We're happy to hear you're finding the platform useful for inspections, particularly the photo geo-tagging feature. You'll be happy to hear we're working on inferface improvements. We'd appreciate hearing your thoughts so stay tuned for an invitation to join our Platform Advisory Council. Once again, thanks for your review.

August 2018

Jason from Mte Consultants inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

Builterra

Builterra is the future of inspection reporting and makes inspection requirements very easy to log, track and access.

Pros

The software is easy to navigate and very useful for inspection. Being able to attach pictures to a gps location and easily fill out daily inspection reports with drop down menus is ideal.

Cons

The software support between different client's jobs needs to be looked at and undated a bit.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied October 2018

Hi Jason, Thanks so much for taking the time to review Builterra. We're thrilled to hear you find Builterra to be "the future of inspection reporting" and that you're finding the software easy to navigate and useful for your inspections. You'll be pleased to hear that we're working to modernize the interface. In the meantime, we'd love for you to join our Platform Advisory Council and will be in touch with a formal invitation. Thanks again!

August 2018

Jamie from WSP

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Efficiency

Pros

I truly enjoy how easy it is for my project team to seamlessly coordinate data and be most efficient with our time because of this.

Cons

There were no aspects about this software that I truly did not enjoy.

Response from AEC Solutions

Replied September 2018

Jamie, We're grateful you shared your positive experience with Builterra. The fact that your project team is seeing increased efficiency certainly makes our team smile! We'll be in touch to chat with you further Jamie. As a student, your ongoing feedback will help shape the future of the platform. Thanks again!