What are WinEx users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using WinEx software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.62

65 Reviews

5
39
4
22
3
4
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"There are a couple of things that we love about this product. The ease of operation and great tech support."
  • icon"I like that the software will work seamlessly with different types of electronic media, pdf or AutoCAD for example."
  • icon"I like that you have many ways of achieving your goal of establishing the necessary Quantities."
  • icon"Sometimes, it's difficult to figure out how to do specific tasks."
  • icon"Input of data lines and contours is confusing. Importing drawings is cumbersome."
  • icon"There's no instruction manual with the program."

Jump to:

Browse all WinEx Reviews

  • Have you used WinEx and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 65 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 65 reviews

Justin

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Awesome!

Amazing just amazing, from everything they do from top to bottom they will work with you and help you and bend over backwards to satisfy you!

Pros

The program is really easy to get started and use. It also will do thing you never thought about doing for example (demo parts of the job)

Cons

The only thing I can think of is that its another to take in at first and to try and do this all alone but that is where the customer support is extraordinary, I mean they are Johnny on the spot I wouldn't use anything else for my take offs.

Alternatives Considered

iSqFt for General Contractors

Reasons for switching to WinEx

Poor customer support and just a very hard system to figure out and also didn't have all the bells and whistles these guys do!

Michael

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

WinEx Master

While the learning curve is somewhat steep, the benefits of WinEx Master have made the effort worth it. Quick, accurate take-offs with ready-made mark-ups in one step are always beneficial.

Pros

Support. The #1 feature of this software, above all others that I have used, is the efficiency and accessibility of the support staff. There is a plethora of take-off modeling software, while some are easier to use than others, they are all ultimately making volumetric measurements...Roctek's support team elevates the product's usefulness in ways that AgTek and others do not.

Cons

Reports. Getting the information from the take-off software into the workstream can be greatly improved. The overall trend in construction ERP software is to take a project from the design/pre-construction phase into completion with as little redundant work and admin load as possible. The ability to bridge Roctek's data into ERP software is crucial. Additionally, increasing the functionality of 2D applications would be an excellent addition to Roctek's difference in the market. Being able to use one software for quick area take-offs or more complex 3D applications would be a tremendous benefit to specialty subs and mid-market-sized GC's.

Reasons for choosing WinEx

I wasn't part of that decision process.

Reasons for switching to WinEx

Moved from an AgTek to Roctek company.

Melissa

Industry: Construction

Time used: Free Trial

3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

May 2014

Too many processing errors.

Pros

Line tracking is is a good feature. Data input screens are well-thought-out, and graphics seem to be pretty good.

Cons

Too many processing errors. They just can't seem to get topsoil re-spread to calculate correctly. Software design seems to be a long way off from end user in terms of knowing what kind of info an excavator wants. We are excavators. Keep it simple and stop adding functions that don't work. Many other software packages cost much less with little or no yearly subscription fee.

Chris

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

WinEx Review

The program is efficient in calculating volume of dirt required on the road construction projects that we are constantly estimating for projects, and it's ease of use makes it user-friendly.

Pros

The ease at which it allows you to integrate your construction plans with the program and adjust the resolution of the imported plans.

Cons

I wish there was a "snap to" feature that would allow the user to pick major elevation stations with their intersection with the 10-foot stations...

Andrew

Industry: Construction

Time used: Free Trial

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer support

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2013

3+ years experience with this program

Pros

Software is easy to use making civil and utility takeoffs quick and accurate. The vendor is always there to help through any issues or confusion that you may encounter. Once grade lines are inputed, it is easy to make adjustments to get the most accurate takeoff. The shadings and maps are great for understanding the overall scope of the project that is being taken off as well as a great check and balance for the quantity computed. The program has great resources to aid in evaluating the overall scope of whatever project is being taken off.

Cons

I would say the part that I like the least is the lack of ability to import 3D CAD surfaces. Also, I wish there was an easy way to determine structure excavations and backfill. There is a way to manipulate it to get the answer needed, but it takes time, and if the region of interest boundaries are not right around the structure of interest it does not accurately calculate the quantity. I wish you could trace the structure, enter the bottom elevation and excavation slope, and get an answer without having the region of interest boundary where you may think the excavation will stop.

Maicey

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

GREAT SOFTWARE AMAZING CUSTOMER SUPPORT!

Pros

WinEx master goes above and beyond with all of the features it offers. They are constantly coming out with updates that get better and better each time. They have the best customer support I have ever experienced. They are always available to go over any questions you have no matter how big or small. They go out of their way to help me with all of my questions and they spend as much time as I need going over difficult jobs. If I need something they don't offer (which is rare) they come out with an update with that feature! They far surpass any company I have ever worked with!

Cons

The only thing that I don't love about WinEx is the Summary reports. I find the layout difficult to read and the summary not very efficient.

kirby

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Good product with no regrets

Pros

As a field guy coming into the estimating world and having minimal computer knowledge this was the easiest program to learn and become efficient with as we tried a few of the other top systems. Technical support is outstanding.

Cons

I really have no negative comments to offer. I guess the only thing I could say is the fact of needing a 'key' to run the program can be a pain as far as using it at the office and home and a second key is a little pricey for the added convenience.

Roy E.

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2016

Introduction to Roctek

Pros

I primarily have always been involved with clearing and mass earthwork; started out developing cross-sections and doing all calcs' by hand; early 90's introduced and started using Paydirt and thought it was great until I was introduced to Roctek. Been using Roctek for almost year; time of establishing quantities for clearing, earthwork, stormwater, utilites, paving(s) in cut in half. Using Roctek; due to the ease and speed on on screen; provides a tremendous savings on overhead to establish quantities; one is able to have more time to analyze the project prior to bid with the tools of the program.

Cons

Do not have any issues with anything about the program

Steve

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Review of WinEx Master software

WinEx Master has made my job 10 times easier and faster for doing dirt estimating/excavating overall takeoff. I enjoy using WinEx Master software and its actually fun creating.

Pros

user friendly, navigational tools, inputting other data into software, use of colors and shades

Cons

I would like to see more youtube "How to..." tutorials.

Matt

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Worth it once you get past the learning curve

I experienced a heavy learning curve with this software, however, the customer support has been excellent and they really know their product and want to help others understand it as well

Pros

Once all the data is input successfully, the reporting that the program will give you is very thorough and detailed.

Cons

Not enough online resources if you have a question about how to do something, you will likely always have to call their customer support line

Mel

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

WinEx Master won the bid!

I recently used the program for a proposal on a project with several sites and a wide range of scopes of work. The client had provided quantity take-offs for cut and fill and import materials. We were able to double check their quantities and determine that the client's quantities were high by about 20%. We submitted our proposal with an alternate and take-off backup, reducing the overall cut and fill, and import costs considerably. Having confidence in our take-off's allowed us to go to the client with this project savings and ultimately helped us win the bid. The technical support has been an incredible help. They take the time to understand my take-off requirements and offer solutions. I do a lot of my take-off's after hours, so most of the time, its just support getting back to me very promptly with a few pointers to help me work more effectively. I have become more confident with my take-off results when I use the program. The more I use WinEx Master, the more indispensable it is becoming to the estimation process.

Pros

I like that the software will work seamlessly with different types of electronic media, pdf or AutoCAD for example. The visualizations are high quality and very detailed, making it a very effective tool to explain a take-off to others. The program is easy to manipulate to allow "what if" scenarios. There are built in features that make previously difficult tasks easier (Alt Plan). The on-screen prompts are very helpful. The program support has been incredible and very knowledgeable about their product and my industry. The program is not a drag on my laptop resources.

Cons

I have not found an aspect yet that I can say needs to be improved. I would like to see more help videos and a little more detail in the manual, but neither of these items have been a problem because the support has been incredible.

Reasons for switching to WinEx

The process of using Adobe to do takeoffs is too cumbersome, its not designed for what I need it do. gathering information in Adobe and using it in Excel leads to errors. I am not proficient in AutoCAD so using that for earth moving take-offs didn't work for me. AutoCAD is very expensive; we don't have it on everybody's computer. Having to rely on someone in another office to do a take-off for me gave me no confidence in the results. Also, not having the flexibility to manipulate/work the take-off approach was very limiting. With WinEx Master, I have a program that is less expensive, easier to use and at my fingertips.

Travis

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

WinEx Grade

My overall experience has been great. The software has allowed us to land more jobs, eliminate mistakes, and grow our profit margins.

Pros

The Support provided by the software engineers

Cons

The time zone difference of main office.

Aaron

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Easy ,productive program with top knotch support!

I have worked excavating for 20 years as an equipment operator, foreman ,and site super . When i started my company I soon realized estimating was one of the hardest for me. I tried most takeoff programs and found this to be most user friendly and i could do double the takeoffs utilizing Roctek winex grade.

Pros

Being new to estimating this program is easy to use and customer service is top notch ! Great features fpr the price point.

Cons

Havent found anything negative yet I feel its a good all around program that i feel cpuld grow with my company .

Mark

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

RocTek customer service

Pros

The software is easy to use and the customer service is really good!

Cons

Having to down-save files due to Civil 3D issues!

Shauna

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

One Of The Best Takeoff Software Programs

Using WinEx has been outstanding for my company.

Pros

It's easy to use but if you do run into problems you can reach a rep almost immediately for help and their explanations are easily understood (especially [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]).

Cons

Not applicable, I like everything. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is an asset to WinEx.

Reasons for choosing WinEx

Their customer service goes beyond what anyone else could ever offer ([SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]).

Ben

Time used: Free Trial

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2011

Pavecon, Ltd. is a site work contractor. We do all things site work including earthwork, asphalt and concrete paving. I needed a software that would do it all. I have been using WinEx Master for almost 2 years. WinEx Master gives me all the options I need to put together a complete site work package. It is by far the best earthwork takeoff software solution I have found. It give users the ability to break up different work areas for earthwork so you can define undercut and back-fill, over-excavation, and topsoil replacement. I have won large earthwork projects that I can confidently say I would not have gotten without the detailed takeoff I was able to do with WinEx Master from ROCTEK. Customer support is also flawless. I am able to contact my support guy immediately at any time. The ROCTEK support staff has helped resolve any issues I have had within minutes. They know their software! They are also very aggressive about updates and improvements. They listen to their customers' ideas and suggestions and have actually implemented some of my ideas into the software, making it more efficient. It took me one afternoon to learn this software; it's very easy to use. Once you purchase the software, you will be set up in an hour and off and running. I highly recommend this software, especially for earthwork takeoff. It truly is awesome. ROCTEK paid for itself within 2 months!

Brad

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2016

Great product, easy to learn, accurate and time saving.

Pros

Software was easy to learn and the technical assistance is awesome. I really like that I can call anytime and get help with the program. The tech support is outstanding. They are continually updating the software with new features that are even more helpful and time saving.

Cons

I have no complaints about Roctek or the software. I have been using it for a couple of years and it works great.

Sue

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Win Ex Grade

I took over after estimator retired - he used a digitizer board and I prefer the electronic version to do take-offs. It was relatively easy to learn for even a non-engineer.

Pros

My favorite part is being able to use the digitizer on PDF plans instead of paper.

Cons

No remote access. Must have license fob to use at different computers. I work at home and in office and I have to remember to take it and then I can't access file unless I am at that location.

Dalton

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

I've had a very smooth experience learning the software.

Customer support has easily been the best feature of the product. I have called in so many times for help and have always received clear, concise instruction. Particularly, I have liked that, for the most part, I have spoken with the same person each time I call in. This makes it so much easier to move forward because you're able to build a report with someone who can watch your progress and give more specific advice rather than speaking with a different person each time and having to explain yourself all over again.

Pros

It is very intuitive. A lot of the processes can be figured out or learned quickly simply by trying to logically approach how you think various aspects of the job site would be entered.

Cons

At this point, I do not have any dislikes about the product. I am new to this type of software so I don't currently have any criticisms.

Jerry

Industry: Construction

Time used: Free Trial

3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2014

WinEX: A fine product that could use a bit more customizable features

Pros

The help desk is quite good. The online tutorials are not as well-thought-out, yet when viewing these and asking additional questions from the support center, an answer can be obtained to any questions you have.

Cons

Customization could easily be a future add-in. Dimensioning areas of the plan would be beneficial. Part of the feature is already available. Overall, there are no areas that I like least of all, but improvements can certainly be made. Ready access to the database, to review the information this program is basing its calculations on, would be most welcome.

Brian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Roctek support is awesome!!!!

Excellent

Pros

Support- Roctek employees get 5 stars in my book.

Cons

Takes awhile to master the available options

Grat

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Rotolo Consultants Review

The technical support is great. I have been using the software for about 8 years now, Granted that I only use it about 6 times a year, it is difficult to use, but the technical support is great at helping me to re-learn the software.

Pros

The accuracy of the takeoff and reports.

Cons

It is not user friendly at all. It is not intuitive and difficult to understand.

Patrick

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

Tech support, use it.

This product is great, I've used it to takeoff a hand full of projects already (one massive project) and haven't been using it too long. Without any formal training, I feel confident doing earthwork takeoff and that I will learn the other features of this program. When I ran into problems their tech support resolved my issue and talked me through everything, making sure I understood what was going on and not just fixing it for me and sending me on my way.

Pros

User friendly interface Program functions make sense and are easy to learn, very straight forward Line tracker is great for when importing certain line work isn't possible Tech support is great, they even called to check up on me a few days after I called for support while doing takeoff on a large project to make sure everything was going smoothly No pressure sales pitch, they let the product do the selling. They even gave me an extension to use the trial software to finish a takeoff

Cons

Have not found any yet.

Dr. Gary P.

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

I purchased Roctek WinEx MASTER for the more difficult Takeoffs

It helped solving some problems that we needed when we are working with Private Developers instead of Public Unit Price Contracts.

Pros

I like that you have many ways of achieving your goal of establishing the necessary Quantities. Visually it helps with the 3-D Viewer and I like that I can print Graphics Forms of the Estimate that I can include with my Bid Proposal. The Technical support is great and they adapt to your style of Bidding. There are a lot of Simple Takeoff Software Programs, but it may not get you the answers that you are looking for in a Quantity Estimating Program. Quantity Estimating Software is evolving and they (Roctek) are evolving with them.

Cons

The Reports aren't fancy looking and you have to manipulate the Data into Spreadsheets to get the information that you need, but at least you have the required information.

Reasons for choosing WinEx

I felt I was going to get a more personalized Technical Support with Roctek.

Nick

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2016

Roctek Arizona Users Review

Pros

The Tech support is very good from the call in to actually working a takeoff question with a technician

Cons

It is very thorough and I have to catch myself and draw the line between being too anal and getting just what I need for the bid.....

Showing 1 - 25 of 65 reviews
WinEx

WinEx

4.62/5 out of 65 reviews
icon9 recommendations
The number of recommendations our advisors have made over the past 30 days. Our advisors assess buyers’ needs for free and only recommend products that meet buyers’ needs. Vendors pay Software Advice for these referrals.
PriceDemo