All ExakTime Reviews

1-25 of 175 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jorge

Verified reviewer

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Excellent time keeping tool.

Payroll is simplified.

PROS

Very easy set up, features are very convenient and precise. Employees enjoy the convenience and payroll becomes a breeze.

CONS

Not many bad things about this product, perhaps GPS accuracy can be tweak a bit but I thin k that may have deal with devices being used on as well.

Vendor Response

Hey Jorge! Thanks for the review. We love to hear that our services make payroll a much easier process for people. Glad to hear its become a breeze!

Replied June 2018

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Good Software that needs improvements

We use this software for my husbands small business. Overall, it's good value for the price, but definitely needs improvements. It has all needed for us functions: creating locations, clocking in and out, GPS.

PROS

It has all functions needed for our business: creating locations, clocking in and out, GPS. recent conversion to a cloud was a good change since it can be accessed from anywhere.

CONS

It's not very intuitive in use, doesn't always identifies locations correctly. It took us a while to figure out how to download timesheets in Excel format, and when I tried emailing the customer support, I got no response.

Vendor Response

Hello, We'd like to thank you for your honest feedback. It is always nice to see that the switch to a cloud based system makes things easier for companies to use. In the future if you have any questions or need assistance with anything, give us a call at 888-788-8463 so that one of our reps can assist you. Thank you again!

Replied May 2019

Jessica

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2018

75% of the time I really enjoy exaktime. The other 25% of the time I have problems with it.

PROS

I really like being able to track hours and records, and run customized reports. I also like that we don't have to bring the clocks in to collect the hours.

CONS

The thing I like least about the software is the updates. Every time it updates, another problem is created. I am not a person who gets frustrated easily, but after years of bad experiences with customer support I tend to get frustrated easily when I have to talk to them. We usually run into problems while doing payroll, and then we have to wait for them to call us back. After they call back I have to spend a couple hours on the phone trying to troubleshoot the problem, at the most inconvenient time. We purchased the software in 2011, and so we know how it works and what reports are available because we have been using the same functions and reports for years. If something breaks and I call in to support I am frequently told that has never been an option and if it was than it was a flaw in the program, or that we have been doing things wrong and we shouldn't be doing our payroll the way we are doing it.

Vendor Response

Hello Jessica, Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback. I am going to be passing it along to our product support teams so that they can work on making improvements based off of your feedback.

Replied June 2018

Vaibhav

Construction, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Review for ExakTime

Its a great application and it has all good features and hence prevents delays and errors.

PROS

1. Its an excellent tool to track time 2. Its quick as it saves lots of time 3.As it provides real time data hence there is no possibility of errors and hence its accurate and reliable 4.Its secured, accurate and easy to use features results in no issues with payments.

CONS

1.The use of app draws around 14% of the battery per day 2.To use it one needs to wait until job numbers are set up from office.

Vendor Response

Hello Vaibhav, Thank you for your honest feedback on our system and mobile application. It is good to hear that it has saved you time and work hours when it comes to your payroll.

Replied January 2019

Graham

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

It's very easy to log in and see who is where, and what they are doing

Quickly knowing who is where, and sycning records to QB

PROS

The interface is easy to use. I like the simplicity of adjusting time and making changes. For the most part the user interface is intuitive. The crew seems to like the independence and simplicity. For instance, if someone is picking up at a lumber yard to start the day they can clock in there, rather than waiting til they get the job site and using a hornet. Before they had to beg me to adjust their time...which was hard to remember. Everyone often forgot, but just a quick photo plus the geotracker component and I can see that they were, indeed, at the lumber yard.

CONS

There is a very big con, which is the lag time that occurs when using Linx software to move the Time Summit data into QB. When everything was l hard-drive based this was a seemless interface. Now, with the Linx being hard drive based and the Time being web based I have interminable delays. It's very very frustrating. There are other related problems too, such as before if I checked a box for time, but synced or uploaded to a different company, then the time would not go through. Now, the time goes through and gets put into QB for the wrong company. It's a problem.

Kenneth

Verified reviewer

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2020

Clocking out

PROS

It super handy having it on my phone for clocking in and out from job site to job site.

CONS

As of late it seems to be clocking me out automatically. Always at noon. Why?? [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]

Vendor Response

Hello Kenneth, Thank you for your honest feedback, it is appreciated. We are happy to hear that the mobile app is making the clocking in and out process much easier for you. In regards to the clocking out automatically you mentioned. We will have a tech look into this for you and reach out to assist.

Replied February 2020

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2018

Not built for large companies with distinct groups in different areas

PROS

Offers web, iOS, and Android options for time entry, can work in online or offline mode when you don't have good coverage

CONS

Expensive to integrate with, unstable, breaks frequently (particularly custom integrations), no REST API.

Vendor Response

Hello, We would like to thank you for your honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve on our side of things and will definitely be taking a closer look at our integration process thanks to your review. Thank you again.

Replied July 2019

Anonymous

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2018

We use ExakTime for our time sheets

Once payroll has a handle on the software and has faith in the software. It does make payroll faster to process.

PROS

It integrates with QuickBooks. The reports that we use are vital to billing our clients since they are billed on a time and material basis. The ability to go back and look at individuals time sheets makes it easy to research any ones time worked.

CONS

There is a learning curve. It is not an easy process for individuals that are not computer literate. They do have good support staff.

Anonymous

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Overall, very happy

Each employee is in full control of their own hours- no more blaming managements, or their foreman.

PROS

All of the features in the program itself are great. We like the geo-fence a lot for tracking where guys punch, and the selfie is great for accountability.

CONS

The software patches are glitch-y at times- as is the case with most patches. We have had issues almost every other month with some portion of the patch

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

ExakTime Review

PROS

The GPS pin function was the best part of this software; you knew when an employee was at a specific location and for how long.

CONS

The reports in ExakTime are not excel friendly at all, and they cannot be customized in any way. Reports are cookie cutter and not flexible.

Vendor Response

Hello! Thank you for your review on our Geotrakker feature. We set out to make tracking the location of the time punches of the employees as accurate as possible so that you in the office would have all the information you could need. We are glad to hear that it is working as designed and it has made tracking your employees easier

Replied October 2018

Shana

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

The updates have been better, and faster. This makes payroll a lot easier and keeps employees honest

PROS

I like that you are able to leave comments on the actual timecards, it saves a lot of time from the field notes. I also like that you can see where the employees are clocking in and out from. I wish it would automatically ask them .. "Why are you clocking in here outside of the geotracker" so that they have to answer or say it was a mistake and they meant to clock out earlier. I also like all the different security settings.

CONS

The part that I least like about it is that when I am adjusting the time records, it can be very slow. Also, there are way too many report options and it is hard to figure out the right one you want and it takes too long.

Vendor Response

Hello Shana, Thank you for your review. We are constantly working to make updates to our services so that we can better serve our customers so we are glad to hear that you have been enjoying some of our latest updates.

Replied June 2018

paul

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2018

horrendous

none

PROS

worst customer service would not recommend them for anything -product cannot be used after set date until over inflated fee for non existent maintenance is paid -

CONS

We had purchased product for 5 years apon Exact time upgrading system and the day before our payroll we were locked out of our time clock employees time data therefore blackmailing us to pay annually fee of 4000 dollars to retrieve It Worst customer service ever

Vendor Response

We are very sorry that you are having a bad experience working with us. Our customers┬┐ satisfaction and success is always our number one goal. Looking into your problem, we can see that your computer crashed, affecting your ExakTime system and other programs and preventing you from processing payroll. At the time your system crashed you were not covered under a support agreement; however, we recovered your data and upgraded your system (at a discounted rate) to our new cloud-based solution, which includes many new helpful features and unlimited support. We have reached out to you several times to provide training, but all of our calls have gone unanswered. We ask that you please contact us at your earliest convenience so we can work through this problem. Your company┬┐s success with using our system is a top priority.

Replied April 2018

Mark

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2021

Inefficient and glacial

PROS

Mobile phone app is useful and works well event hough the tools available are limited

CONS

Editing and adding punches to a timesheet is terrible. Updates don't appear on screen until a long time has passed. The software often screws up punches so they overlap. It defaults to the wrong items all the time forcing more edits. Often displays confusing warnings saying it will discard changes even after updating and recalculating. Recalculated and saved changes do not display for 10-15 minutes making it extremely inefficient to verify edits and add punches.

Reasons for switching to ExakTime

Different firm

Cindy

Building Materials, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed July 2022

Company uses the Hornet job clocks to send data and now clocks do not work because of the 4G-5G

PROS

Product and software worked fine for 2 plus years.

CONS

Clocks are outdated and company did not prevent clock from going down. As others have said they hurried and got our money for service contract for year before we had clocks going down. We ordered new and received a few and had bad ones that have RMAs and have to wait for replacements. At this time we are manually entering about 150 hand written time cards in to website and it is very costly.

Jesse

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2017

ExakTime is a fair value for the money.

PROS

The ability to quickly add employees to the system is nice since they chanced to a subscription model.

CONS

Limited features and VERY limited customization options. The program is what it is, and you need to make your business work around it. The worst part of this is that employees can't see how many hours they've worked from the phone app. It would be nice for employees to see their hours at the very least, and possibly even get alerts at set increments.

Scott

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

Easy to use and very intuitive. Highly recommend to anyone.

PROS

Easy to use...user friendly. Anyone can navigate through the software to all the different available options without having to go through a tutorial or manual. Also, the customer service is top notch (not that we've needed much).

CONS

So far I haven't notice anything that's super terrible but one thing I think that can improved upon is the reporting features and options...or should I say not many options. I feel they could offer more reporting options based on all the different types of data that is collected. I'm sure there are many different needs for different companies, so that may be part of the reason why there aren't a ton of reporting options.

Vendor Response

Hello Scott, Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm glad you are enjoying our product. We will submit your feedback to our product teams.

Replied May 2018

Barbara

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

It provides and easy system to use for our carpenters in the field and the office staff.

Accurate input of information/time from the carpenters in the field and also the ability to see in real time where and what the carpenters are working on. Plus, the report to enter into payroll computes accurately.

PROS

That all of the reports tally correctly. Not all software does which was an awful surprise to us! sorry

CONS

I cannot print a report using Safari but have to switch to Firefox. But, now that we know it is easier.

Vince

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5