User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(248)

248

4 stars

(225)

225

3 stars

(21)

21

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "I like how simple this is to use to bid new projects and update previously bid projects. Additionally, this product is very user-friendly, and the support staff is excellent."

  • "The ease of use when entering bid items, subs, and materials is great. The program is intuitive and has great support"

  • "I like the quote class system. It's handy to input info as it comes in and compare with others. handy. "

  • Cons

  • "I have no complaints. The only complaints I have are diretly related to the internal set up and not to the product itself."

  • "It takes a great deal of time to set up properly for the resources you regularly use, and the vendor charges a lot of money for the product."

  • "I do not have a bad word to say about the product or the vendor. If I did, I would have no problem expressing myself."

Browse HCSS HeavyBid Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 497 results

April 2019

Chris from BBE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Best estimating software I’ve used

Pros

Honestly i cant say there is anything i did not like about this software. Makes your life a whole lot easier and helps you dial in your profit on projects and you get things set up and get some history in the system.

Cons

I can’t really think of anything i didn’t like. Great product.

July 2014

Frank from GMC Contracting, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2014

The Best Estimating Software in the World!

Pros

Product: This is a very fast, user-friendly, automated estimating and bidding system that is particularly effective for Unit-Price contracts. It allows quick creation of accurate estimates, accommodates variations in quantities, allows risk evaluation on an item-by-item basis, and provides the means to price individual bid items so that they reflect the bidder's assessments of quantity, value, and risk for each item. Vendor: HCSS sets the standard for customer support. There is no software company anywhere, of any type, with whom I have had contact that comes even close to the responsiveness and excellence of HCSS' technical support. It is extremely rare that a call is not answered before the third ring by a human who understands the problem (no matter how arcane) and who has the right answer, without sending me to a second- or third-level technician. The professionalism and expertise of the Technical Support team are near-perfect. I tell people whom I am training that if they get stuck on a problem for more than three minutes, they should call Tech Support. The person who answers will have the problem solved, and the estimator will be back in production nearly instantaneously.

Cons

There is little to dislike in a system that works so well and with a technical support team that is so knowledgeable. HCSS takes suggestions from its users and implements them in new releases of the software so that the system is always cutting-edge and fulfills its users' expectations. The system seems expensive to purchase and maintain, at least to the non-using evaluator, but the confidence in the accuracy of the estimate, the outstanding technical support, and the continuous improvement of the software will provide confidence that offsets cost. One caught and corrected mistake that that would have gone unnoticed without HeavyBid's analysis tools, could pay for a dozen licenses for years.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

A functional software for mid size GCs or sub-contractors.

Pros

Very functional for companies who bid similar project and can get advantage of the recording system of the software. Plus the ability of identifying the calendar per item is very useful.

Cons

When the size of the project is big, it doesn't work properly. You have to be careful about your initial coding system. if you decide to change in the middle of the bid, that would create a nightmare. There are a lot of reporting systems, but it depends on all child and parent item. for a simple report if you have many child (level 4,5,6) items, you are not able to see them in the report and you need to transfer everything into excel and using functions and prepare it for the closing.

August 2019

Joy from P&B, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Timecard, material and equipment tracking

With heavy job, we were able to transition our export files to a new payroll system when we made a change. Customer service was excellent at guiding us through the process.

Pros

This software is so easy to set-up, from adding employees, job classifications, to merging employees into the job, to exporting timecards. The setup flow just make sense. Works great for those who have crews out in the field, foremen can use their tablets to record time, material and equipment used on the job and submit. No more paper time cards to do manual entry with.

Cons

This software has "user licenses" you have to buy, so at times they may all be used by other users in the company. It does allow you to "boot" them off, but you better make sure they are not in the middle of something if you do or they will lose the information. A quick phone call to ask if they can log out is best.

October 2016

Justin from Coastline Construction Corp.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

The BEST Estimating Software

I have been a HeavyBid Advanced user for over 14 years now and its amazing to see how far this small company from Texas has come. I still remember when we ordered the software and a representative from the company came to our main office in CT and over the course of 2 days went over everything from setting up labor, benefits, burden, equipment, crews, bid items (manual entry and DOT import), etc. to showing us how to enter activities into bid items and actually creating an estimate. Such a great overall experience from the early stages of implementation to the countless support center calls at all hours of the day and night before a bid (which were always answered) up to the present day where all of the above is still true today.

Pros

Unmatched customer support, ease of use and the ecosystem of programs/applications on multiple platforms that integrate perfectly with each other and will only grow with your company.

Cons

Recently I purchased an iPad Pro 12.9" pretty much for the sole purpose of using a handfull of apps such as Projectwise, Bluebeam Revu and HeavyBid Mobile. Well, after emailing HCSS Support I find out that HeavyBid Mobile is no longer supported. I was looking forward to trying something different with HeavyBid on the go, even if it wasn't the full blown version.

January 2016

David from Merritt Construction Services, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

January 2016

HCSS Review

Pros

I have used this system since the DOS days. Todays system and its various styles of reports provide us with quick turn around times in responding to our clients needs. The 24 hour support service is no joke. We introduce HCSS to clients all over the world and with time zone differences of 6 to 13 hours we have called upon theses services at 1 AM and 3AM when we have proposals due in Qatar, Dubai and Zurich.

Cons

The 24 hour service that is so good is also frustrating. Because of HCSS's commitments to its client base our commitments to our clients sometimes suffers as it appears that the 24 hour hot line only travels with one HCSS representative For some reason it always happens to our firm. You need to be able to answer our calls so we can respond and answer our client's issues.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

The best option.

Love it. Great customer service. It can be customized to integrate with all your other software.

Pros

HCSS's support is the best I have ever delt with. Not only do they offer custom programming to taylor the users tools and reports, but they always answer the phone right away. No machines you the first person that picks up the phone can usually help you with whatever issue or question you have.

Cons

Clunky reporting with the mobile app. The only thing that is kind of frustrating is the reporting capabilities from and administrative side, but whatever reports you are unable to generate as a customer, they will be able to generate for you on their end.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

HCSS Review

Overall, HCSS is the best estimating software on the market. Reason why everyone uses it. But it is expensive, and some smaller companies have trouble justifying cost.

Pros

HCSS is a very powerful and easy to learn estimating program. Many companies use this software which makes integrating with partnering companies very easy. Endless resources and crew construction abilities. Provides drop down or key stroke options to enter data. Gives many different ways to view costs and code costs.

Cons

Cons are the limitations on "child" items underneath the parent. Only 3 are allowed as compared to other competing softwares. Also the reports are limited in what is shown.

August 2017

Dustin from Hubbard Construction Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

HCSS Heavy Bid is the Heavy Lifter for Highway Construction

HCSS Heavy Bid is one of the most widely used estimating software for heavy-civil construction.

Pros

The advance calculation routines and checks allow me to have confidence in my costing and pricing. The escalation features is time saver, especially at bid time when final scheduling is provided. HCSS customer service is the best. Never been on hold or transferred. Immediate connection to a friendly person who can help.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve, however, they host user group meeting that can bring beginners up to speed quickly.

November 2018

J Mickey from Underpinning and Foundation Skanska

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Used daily, Powerful tool

This is an absolute gift of a service provided by HCSS. Overall, I've yet to see a product that equates to HeavyBid.

Pros

The ability to organize your bid into as much detail as your can support. The software allows you to update a cost / historic cost database to be used in future bids.

Cons

Much like my complaints about HeavyJob, the software itself has a pretty poor user interface. If you spend enough time knowing where to look you'll understand the software but I do with it was easier to navigate and customizable.

December 2017

Kyle from Fiore and Sons inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

HeavyBid

Like any software it isn't what you are used to, but, once you understand HCSS software (HeavyBid & HeavyJob) it is extremely helpful to managing work both prior during bids, during, and after as a resource for labor rates etc.

Pros

Great for CIVIL work. Lots of helpful shortcuts, like the fact it automatically pins most recent jobs to the main screen (you can also pin bids manually to always be on that screen). HCSS doesn't just hire techs to go around and tech the software they hire real construction professionals that have experience in both the software and industry which is very helpful.

Cons

Worst part about the software is the error sounds it makes when you forget to fill out a field and try to move onto a new task (that can be shut off). Great for both new bids and pricing COR work and managing budgets (with the help of HeavyJob in the field)

May 2018

dan from ncm

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

I used Heavy Bid regularly for almost 6 years and it was great.

i makes bids more accurate and consistent

Pros

It was the first bidding software that I ever used and it seemed very intimidating at first but it was very simple to get the hang of after a very short period of time. Their live help line is amazing and they are so good at helping an new and seasoned user.

Cons

You can only have so many administrators and i worked in a very large office so if something needed changed as far as rates or crews it wasn't always convenient to get it changed

September 2016

David from Kissick Construction

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

The Best Estimating Software I've Ever Used

Pros

I love how you can preload your labor and equipment cost into the system and only allow certain people to adjust them as union wages go up or inflation hits. This adds to the accuracy of your estimates. I also like how you can pull in quotes from subcontractors and these are stored on the system. The integration to HeavyJob is seamless. This makes bidding the job and managing the budget simple and efficient. The customer support line is extremely useful.

Cons

It's very expensive and it takes a little while to get set up and can be a little frustrating at first. Once you get the hang of it, it becomes a lot easier and much more efficient and accurate than an Excel sheet.

January 2017

Douglas from Mosser Construction Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

HeavyBid: the best estimating software on the market.

Great product with even better support. This is the best software we use. We have been using this product for over 20 years. HCSS consults with its clients to improve the product. They also have an annual user group meeting that is one of the best educational events in construction to attend.

Pros

It is adaptable to use for any-kind of Construction Estimating.

Cons

Does not provide any take-off products.

March 2015

Mike from Double Z Construction

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

March 2015

HeavyJob & HeavyBid Review

Pros

I enjoy the ease of use with this product. Although, there is a bit of a learning curve once you get the hang of the software everything comes naturally. I can hop between each program seamlessly to pull reports, gather information, review time, and finish estimating tasks. We use both HeavyJob and HeavyBid for our work and wouldn't consider anything else. Customer service is also top notch and we never have to wait on hold if we have a phone question.

Cons

No complaints about the software or vendor. There are some minor technical things I would like to see addressed in the future but they are mostly minor.

February 2016

Mark from E&B Paving, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2016

Good Bye Spreadsheets, Hello Heavy Bid

Pros

I like the ease of use with Heavy Bid. An estimator can be as detailed or as generic as he wants to be. You have the ability to breakdown multiple activities and phases within one bid item. The audit checks help identify mistakes. The ease of changing mass amounts of data within the estimate is easy. From tracking DBE dollars to comparing subcontractor and supplier quotes, everything is a the tip of your fingers. You can get a report for just about anything in the estimate. The ability to build in automation is a huge time saver and maintains consistency within your organization

Cons

Hard question to answer. Once you buy the product, HCSS is on your team. Their support group is fantastic. I don't have any dislikes

December 2017

ERIK from TEK Construction, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

HCSS Heavybid is the best product on the market.

Look no further, write the check.

Pros

The power of the system, the ability to manipulate and quickly adjust pricing. Customer support is un-stumpable. The ability to import data from previous bids makes the estimating process fast and accurate.

Cons

As with anything this powerful, you must dedicate the time to learn the system. The ideal program is to bring in a trainer once a month for 6 months to grow and groom the new user.

February 2016

Juan Pablo from Proform Concrete Services Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2016

Bidding with Confidence on Leaner Timees

Pros

I like that you have a great control over all the costs involved with entering all aspects of your bid, and consolidate source quotations plus revise quickly critical mark-up, schedulling and productivity scenarios to bid confidently based on your entries.

Cons

It's a bit of a steep learn curve at the very beginning, it's very dependent on a good network connection in order to process quickly, sometimes can be affected by overall bandwidth available from corporate server during peak times, I can only see a passive filtered generated list of multiple bids to review their current status, closing dates, missing steps or things that would assist to coordinate a prioritiezed sequence to close these bids.

July 2014

Mike from Active Construction, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2014

IT Manager - Review

Pros

As a product, HeavyBid makes estimating quick and accurate. Our estimators' success rate is quite impressive, and I'm sure they're very thankful to have the assistance of a powerful tool. As a vendor, HCSS has the best support and customer relations around, hands down. Their support is one of the best because they are willing to take on any issue and spend as much time as possible to resolve it. Unlike many other vendors I have worked with, they don’t require additional costs for remote support or training during a support session. Their answer rate is very quick, usually only taking 10 minutes to get someone on the phone. Their support staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Their after-hours support is equally impressive. I would highly recommend them based on their support alone.

Cons

They have always resolved any gripes or dislikes I may have had in the past by listening to customer feedback, improving with updates, or through support calls.

July 2014

Mike from Nesbitt Contracting

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

5.0

July 2014

The best tool in the business!

Pros

I like the ease of data entry and the ability to translate that data into other work items and activities. Also, the ability to use normal reports with the options of customizing each report for each bid saves time and is advantageous in the competitive highway construction hard bid sector. The customer service is very quick and willing to assist with my needs and to get me answers.

Cons

You have to take an extra step when adding resources to an activity. You forget sometimes and try to enter equipment and labor, and it kicks you out to another step that I feel is really more of a hassle than help, especially when making last minute adjustments. Sometimes, customer service has no idea what you're talking about, and this is their system!

May 2013

Marshall from Pipeline Utilities, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2013

Pipeline Utilities, Inc. is a General Contractor based in Raleigh, NC that specializes in underground utility installation, maintenance, rehabilitation, and repair. We work on a broad spectrum of types of underground utilities; from water & sewer to underground chilled water & steam lines. Prior to HeavyBid, we were using spreadsheets written in Lotus and converted to Excel. We had used these particular spreadsheets since 1985. We began looking for an estimating software that would help us standardize our process and format while remaining flexible enough to handle the variety of work that we do. We purchased HeavyBid in February of 2010 and have been using it since June 2010. The training and implementation that we received from HCSS has proved invaluable. We initially trained our two estimators, then six months later, we trained the rest of the project management staff. HeavyBid is easy to use, but it takes a little getting accustomed to. HCSS is a great resource. Their support staff is always available. If you forget how a certain function works, the person that answers the phone will be able to help you remember. As far as benefits, we have been able to spend less time performing rote data entry and more time actually thinking critically about our estimates. In 2011, we were able to bid four major projects in two months time. Prior to us using HeavyBid, we would have been limited to only bidding one of them. There are many time-saving functions in HeavyBid, from the COPY routine, to the CODEBOOKS, that help Pipeline Utilities produce better, more detailed, estimates that are more quickly analyzed.

May 2017

Adam from Clyde Companies Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

HCSS works great

Went to the training/convention for the first time this February. thought it was great. thanks!

Pros

I like the quote class system. It's handy to input info as it comes in and compare with others. handy.

Cons

On occasion as I pull items from my codebook in the select bidtiem screen, the description comes across but my activities do not. if I tab through all the cells it seems to work.

September 2016

Josh from The Beaver Excavating

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

Great product for tracking time, materials, subs, costs!

Pros

The ease of use for the tablet users like my foreman or superintendents. This product is a great way to track my crews time, costs of labor and equipment, materials deliveries, subcontractors costs, and progress of the project. With this product I can quickly review my job cost to date on a whole or by an activity level. In addition there is always tech support available for any an all questions.

Cons

This product doesn't have many flaws. They have really worked hard on getting this system down for the construction industry. The only complaint I have is the integration between the office to cloud and cloud to tablet is sometimes sluggish.

February 2016

Dan from James McHugh Construction Co.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Functionality

4.0

February 2016

Building America

Pros

HCSS allows me to keep all my estimates and bid data in one database. It has the power to expedite and simplify the estimate process so that proper if not advanced analysis can occur.

Cons

The subcontractor evaluation is limited. I want the ability to see scope items along with pricing information real time on the screen. The additional lines need to have the ability to take text input or additive cost input. Without this ability I have no way of knowing if the $40,000 bid of one contractor includese the same scope as the contractor that bid the same line at $35,000. Attaching a spreadsheet or printing a report is only a partial solution to this issue. I need to see it on the screen. Also, the kiosk stand I filled this out on is too short and not ergonimic...

February 2016

Joseph from Anchor Construction Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2016

Great Product

Pros

Heavy Job simultaniously allows us to perform our daily payroll requirements while giving us instant feedback on the productivity of our crews. Double entry of employee payroll hours is eliminated with the exporting of Heavy Job information directly into our Accounting software. It saves us time and gives us immediate information on our daily productivity,

Cons

Nothing not to like about the vendor of this product (HCSS). They have the best technical support of any company in the software field. Calls to the support helpline are answered by knowledgible staff members and our problems are typically addressed within a few minutes. Great Technical support!!

February 2016

Danny from Summers-Taylor, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2016

VP Estimating with a Heavy Highway contractor using Heavy Bid

Pros

The product is very user freindly and a complete packeage for our estimating needs. We have 8 users and bid many different types of projects from small paving projects to large bridge and highway project. Heavybid allows us to bid as many as 400 plus projects per year. HCSS support is top of the class.

Cons

Some specilized reports are that would breakdown the cost and price with showing all the details are difficult to use. Example pricing change order work for an owner that requires the labor, equipment and materials details for submittal but without the cost of each crew item.

June 2016

Jose A. from AMEC Construction LLC

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2016

Very Robust and trustworthy software group.

Pros

It is a very comprehensive software group that will meet all your needs for a sub-contractor. From bidding, scheduling, COST TRACKING, statistics, equipment maintenance and fuel, and more. It really have all we needed. And the customer service is amazingly good.

Cons

There is no undo button (Which it is understandable for record keeping purposes). But, in HeavyBid and some instances of Heavy Job, it is a hard pill to swallow. Also, in Heavy Job, COs, POs, could be better handled. Also, Field users do not need to be computer experts, but they do need to be comfortable with computers and software (which it is not always the case).

February 2016

Michael from The Dutra Group

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2016

HeavyBid Rocks

Pros

HCSS prides itself on innovation and customer service. They are constantly updating their products to keep up with modern technology and the changing construction environment. HeavyBid makes the estimating process streamlined and much more effecient. It helps us bid a lot more work.

Cons

There is not much to dislike about HeavyBid. The only negative that I can think of is that the software (although user friendly) can be very complicated. But that is where their helpful customer service comes to the rescue to help you out.

July 2017

Travis from Geneva Rock

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

HCSS heavy bid is the best estimating software I've used in 22 years.

I would and have recommended this software to others.

Pros

Customer support is amazing. There is always someone there to receive my calls at any time and on any day.

Cons

So expansive it's hard to learn all the tricks. It's hard to transfer all the tricks I've learned to coworkers but we have weekly trainings to share information.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Limited Fields are Biggest Negative

It's great for most estimating functions and it is super easy to copy files. However, the limited description is such a drawback it would probably preclude me from actully recommedning it to others in my field who would invariably run into the same issue.

Pros

It offers lots of options for how to enter bid items. The modules talk to each other well so information does not have to be entered numerous times.

Cons

The character limit in the description field is the most aggravating quality. I enter descriptions that are sometimes three lines long and they don't fit. I have to make up absurd abbreviations because my estimators don't like the Alternate Description feature as they have to toggel between them.

February 2016

dexter from Veit

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2016

project manager/estimator

Pros

They are very good at respondsing to questions and getting answers in a timely manner. This product is very helpul in putting together accurate estimates and tracking the job. This product is very user friendly and could be taught to anyone in a short time fram.

Cons

Sometimes it wont let me do exactly what i want to. Sometimes navigation is very timely unless you know all of the shortcuts. Some of the reports and information isnt very clearly laid out. If you didnt use the software before navigation can be very difficult.

September 2016

Wes from CCESI

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

Probably the industry standard for construction estimating software

Pros

HCSS offers very good 24 hour support. The program is very adaptable to all levels of construction estimating/bidding and can speak to most well known accounting software. Several levels of the software provide more or less detailed options, depending on your requirements

Cons

Extremely structured and difficult to set up database initially. Upkeep is fairly easy, if your initial setup was performed with some aforethought.

July 2014

Scott from Velting Contractors, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2014

HCSS HeavyBid is Powerful and Effective

Pros

There is no end to the amount of detail you can get simply into a bid with HeavyBid. Once you figure one part of a project, you never have to do it again on future bids. Once you build an activity, it can be used as a starting point for future work and modified quickly. Once you set up labor, equipment, material, crews, etc. in the system, it is quick, simple, and precise. On the fly changes are easy to make, and I can be sure that my costs are covered. Being on the lower end as far as size contractors who use HeavyBid, i have never felt that i am treated as less important to HCSS than their largest user. HCSS has always been a delight to deal with and I consider them to be an important partner in our business. And they make us feel important to them.

Cons

The only thing that would make me like it better would be if it were free. But the constant improvements and excellent support make ownership costs easy to justify.

November 2018

Jonathan from BD Hall Constructors Corp.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

The Best Estimating Software on the Market

Pros

- Has a plethora of features which create an easy bidding process - Can setup local or global resource libraries to allow a job-specific library with our general materials - Easy to run all reports of all different kinds and easy to read

Cons

- Can be a bit buggy when within an activity, which may force it to crash. This is primarily because of user error though and you learn ways to stop this from happening.

February 2016

John from Nova Group Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2016

working with Heavy Bid

Pros

Heavy Bid contains every way necessary to build a complete bid. The multiple methods allow the user to approach the solution from different angles to come up with a complete, accurate, competitive proposal.

Cons

There are very few dislikes. It has a simple interface but which has at times complex means to a solution. It is not the perfect software. There are a few functions which wcould use enhancement such as vendor solicitation and document control.

November 2018

Dustin from Hubbard Construction Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Gets the job done correctly

Pros

Heavy Bid gives you a lot of flexibility for determining where to put costs and revenue. Overruns/Underruns are handled with ease.

Cons

This is a steep learning curve for heavybid however, their support is world class. No waiting and instant help.

February 2018

Riccardo from SITE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Excellent product for Civil Construction Projects

Pros

It's like a giant spreadsheet and helps you to manage several parts of your project Really great auditing features

Cons

Program is still based on an old and archaic data structure that sometimes requires maintenance Not very good for complex mechanical projects

September 2017

Tara from Bond

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Great product

Pros

Great features. HCSS offers wonderful classes at the UGM each year to make using products easier. Great for use on projects of any size.

Cons

Start up can be slow. It takes some time to use the product to its potential and integrate all the software together.

May 2017

Josh from Geneva Rock Products/CCI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

HCSS is the bomb.com

Pros

Allows you to customize your bids to your liking. Bids can be streamlined for customers and/or you can copy what the owner has set up.

Cons

THE SELECT BID ITEMS FEATURE NEVER WORKS. EVERY TIME I TRY TO ADD BID ITEMS THROUGH THE SELECT BID ITEMS IT DOESN'T WORK!

May 2018

John from Ferma Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

This software gets the job done. With good planning you can have a smooth rollout!!

Pros

Dispatcher is invaluable for us. Heavyjobs also does a great job of tracking hours. Both save us time and money!

Cons

We wish it would work seamlessly with our financial management program. Right now, we are manually entering the information.

February 2016

Dylan from ATS Construction

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2016

Great Product for the Industry

Pros

The codebooks are very helpful if setup correctly. Being able to bring in activities with a states standard item code speeds the bidding process up tremendously. Also, Support is second to none. Call anytime and someone will be there immediately to help. They wont get off the phone until the problem is resolved.

Cons

Some very minor tweeks might need to be changed, but if you know what they are they can avoid them. However, if you do make the mistake, you can still find it in the end under the Estimate Review.

July 2018

doug from Archer Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Heavy Bid is great

Pros

Very functional. Can modify bids very easily and create and remove bid files very quickly. Customer service is great.

Cons

The quote form (I believe Crystal reports) loads and closes very slowly. Calculation routines are complicated

February 2017

edward from leon e wintermyer inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

great software

use it every day. dont know where i would be without it. even when the rare issue arises, support is always avaialbe and very professional. anyone looking to keep their estimating at top notch needs this program.

Pros

ease of use and its overall functionality

Cons

almost too indepth

February 2016

JT from Anchor Construction Corporation, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Functionality

4.0

February 2016

Heavyjob- Worth the Grind

Pros

Before coming to this event in Houston I liked how intuiitive the HeavyJob software is. It allows for easy production tracking and therefore easy field adjustments that can benefit the individual job, the company, and the future jobs within the company based on information gleaned from the results of the tweaks. After attending this event HCSS has proven to be highly nowledgable of their own product and ready to work to make it even better.

Cons

The lack of easy transition from not usong the software to using the software for primarily field employees has proven challenging. Also there is not a great way to quickly take copies of field tickets and incorporate them into a pdf of daily reports.

February 2017

Jonathan from BD Hall Constructors Corp.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

HCSS Heavy Bid - Top of the Line Bidding Software

HCSS Heavy Bid has numerous essential features that other bidding software just do not have. They improve the ease of use and efficiency of almost every part of the process. They also allow for easy integration into their HCSS Heavy Job software, if you win the bid. After having used multiple bidding software, this one stands out as the best.

Pros

- Ease of use for adding custom items and making changes after the fact - Well laid out and easy to navigate menus - Ability to have multiple tabs open

Cons

- None

August 2018

justin from civil solutions associates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Excellent software for estimators and construction managers

Pros

Insanely powerful program. The cost database from previous jobs make estimating far easier when old numbers are at your fingertips. Great customer service.

Cons

Takes a while to understand program and use features effectively. Once the ins and outs are learned, the program becomes intuitive.

August 2018

Erik from Frattalone Companies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

I have not had an opportunity to find this much detail in any estimating platform in over 20 years of estimating.

I would highly recommend this to any business that is into production estimating. Once you are set up, and ready to go you can estimate a lot of work using the stored information quickly.

Pros

The ability for me to create an estimate that can be handed off to a project manager that doesn't have him asking me 100 questions. It is all there for them and helps them get the project started off right.

Cons

There is a fair amount of learning that goes into it, and if you are not careful about the set up you can really have problems that multiply through the estimate.

February 2016

Corey from Charles Blalock & Sons, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2016

Heavybid review by grading contractor

Pros

heavybid is the easiest and most user friendly estimating software that i have ever used. Heavybid can be used by any employee with very little training.

Cons

cant speak of any problems or concerns we have had with the project. we have used it for numerous years and if we have had any problem it has been handled quickly and professionally. no problems to speak of and cant think of any problems in the near future

February 2016

Eric from Herzog Contracting Corp.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2016

My experience with this product is for Heavy Civil estimating

Pros

What I like best about this product is the many ways that you can get the same result. I also like that you can customize almost every report to give you what you are looking for.

Cons

What I do not like about this product is that it can be time consuming and confusing on how certain things are supposed to be entered. sometimes it is not clear what report it is you need to run in order to get the report you want

February 2016

Brian from Ferguson Trenching Company, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2016

Learning experience but can't imagine estimating without it

Pros

Customer support is 2nd to none. Phone calls answered in quickly and responses have always been correct. Techs are knowlegable and personable and will explain what was wrong and what had to be done to correct the problem(s) which are typically a user problem not a software problem.

Cons

That I don't know how to use everything that it offers nor would I need to. What I least like about HCSS is that it's not closer to home (Maryland).

Displaying 1 - 50 of 497 reviews