All HeavyBid Reviews

1-25 of 504 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Lou

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Have experience with other software estimating systems.

I have had 15 plus years experience setting up Heavy bid with two different companies. I changed jobs to another company that had Sharpesoft. Support was awful. When ODOT and PENNDOT changed the electronic formatting a few years ago, it was very frustrating because Sharpesoft didn't keep up. It was a nightmare. I did change companies once again & I am a very happy user of HCSS Heavy bid.

PROS

Easy to incorporate to the type of work you do. It is only limited to your imagination.

CONS

I think the review can be updated to be easier to see what has been reviewed. I talked about it at our users meeting in Houston earlier this year. I was told it has been brought up and the software engineers are looking into it. That is a great thing with HCSS..... taking users comments and making the software better.

Joy

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Timecard, material and equipment tracking

With heavy job, we were able to transition our export files to a new payroll system when we made a change. Customer service was excellent at guiding us through the process.

PROS

This software is so easy to set-up, from adding employees, job classifications, to merging employees into the job, to exporting timecards. The setup flow just make sense. Works great for those who have crews out in the field, foremen can use their tablets to record time, material and equipment used on the job and submit. No more paper time cards to do manual entry with.

CONS

This software has "user licenses" you have to buy, so at times they may all be used by other users in the company. It does allow you to "boot" them off, but you better make sure they are not in the middle of something if you do or they will lose the information. A quick phone call to ask if they can log out is best.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2018

A functional software for mid size GCs or sub-contractors.

PROS

Very functional for companies who bid similar project and can get advantage of the recording system of the software. Plus the ability of identifying the calendar per item is very useful.

CONS

When the size of the project is big, it doesn't work properly. You have to be careful about your initial coding system. if you decide to change in the middle of the bid, that would create a nightmare. There are a lot of reporting systems, but it depends on all child and parent item. for a simple report if you have many child (level 4,5,6) items, you are not able to see them in the report and you need to transfer everything into excel and using functions and prepare it for the closing.

Dustin

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

HCSS Heavy Bid is the Heavy Lifter for Highway Construction

HCSS Heavy Bid is one of the most widely used estimating software for heavy-civil construction.

PROS

The advance calculation routines and checks allow me to have confidence in my costing and pricing. The escalation features is time saver, especially at bid time when final scheduling is provided. HCSS customer service is the best. Never been on hold or transferred. Immediate connection to a friendly person who can help.

CONS

There is a steep learning curve, however, they host user group meeting that can bring beginners up to speed quickly.

Kyle

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

HeavyBid

Like any software it isn't what you are used to, but, once you understand HCSS software (HeavyBid & HeavyJob) it is extremely helpful to managing work both prior during bids, during, and after as a resource for labor rates etc.

PROS

Great for CIVIL work. Lots of helpful shortcuts, like the fact it automatically pins most recent jobs to the main screen (you can also pin bids manually to always be on that screen). HCSS doesn't just hire techs to go around and tech the software they hire real construction professionals that have experience in both the software and industry which is very helpful.

CONS

Worst part about the software is the error sounds it makes when you forget to fill out a field and try to move onto a new task (that can be shut off). Great for both new bids and pricing COR work and managing budgets (with the help of HeavyJob in the field)

dan

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

I used Heavy Bid regularly for almost 6 years and it was great.

i makes bids more accurate and consistent

PROS

It was the first bidding software that I ever used and it seemed very intimidating at first but it was very simple to get the hang of after a very short period of time. Their live help line is amazing and they are so good at helping an new and seasoned user.

CONS

You can only have so many administrators and i worked in a very large office so if something needed changed as far as rates or crews it wasn't always convenient to get it changed

Justin

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

The BEST Estimating Software

I have been a HeavyBid Advanced user for over 14 years now and its amazing to see how far this small company from Texas has come. I still remember when we ordered the software and a representative from the company came to our main office in CT and over the course of 2 days went over everything from setting up labor, benefits, burden, equipment, crews, bid items (manual entry and DOT import), etc. to showing us how to enter activities into bid items and actually creating an estimate. Such a great overall experience from the early stages of implementation to the countless support center calls at all hours of the day and night before a bid (which were always answered) up to the present day where all of the above is still true today.

PROS

Unmatched customer support, ease of use and the ecosystem of programs/applications on multiple platforms that integrate perfectly with each other and will only grow with your company.

CONS

Recently I purchased an iPad Pro 12.9" pretty much for the sole purpose of using a handfull of apps such as Projectwise, Bluebeam Revu and HeavyBid Mobile. Well, after emailing HCSS Support I find out that HeavyBid Mobile is no longer supported. I was looking forward to trying something different with HeavyBid on the go, even if it wasn't the full blown version.

ERIK

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

HCSS Heavybid is the best product on the market.

Look no further, write the check.

PROS

The power of the system, the ability to manipulate and quickly adjust pricing. Customer support is un-stumpable. The ability to import data from previous bids makes the estimating process fast and accurate.

CONS

As with anything this powerful, you must dedicate the time to learn the system. The ideal program is to bring in a trainer once a month for 6 months to grow and groom the new user.

David

Construction

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2016

HCSS Review

PROS

I have used this system since the DOS days. Todays system and its various styles of reports provide us with quick turn around times in responding to our clients needs. The 24 hour support service is no joke. We introduce HCSS to clients all over the world and with time zone differences of 6 to 13 hours we have called upon theses services at 1 AM and 3AM when we have proposals due in Qatar, Dubai and Zurich.

CONS

The 24 hour service that is so good is also frustrating. Because of HCSS's commitments to its client base our commitments to our clients sometimes suffers as it appears that the 24 hour hot line only travels with one HCSS representative For some reason it always happens to our firm. You need to be able to answer our calls so we can respond and answer our client's issues.

Anonymous

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2017

We use heavybid since 10 years and are very satisfied

Very useful, save us a lot of time in our estimating process

PROS

Service and formation are great, software is improved every year, it saves us a huge amount of time in our estimating process

CONS

From Texas in english only, although we are working in french in Quebec, some features need to be purchased at an higher price and implementation in a company may be long

Riccardo

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Excellent product for Civil Construction Projects

PROS

It's like a giant spreadsheet and helps you to manage several parts of your project Really great auditing features

CONS

Program is still based on an old and archaic data structure that sometimes requires maintenance Not very good for complex mechanical projects

Joseph

Utilities

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2016

Great Product

PROS

Heavy Job simultaniously allows us to perform our daily payroll requirements while giving us instant feedback on the productivity of our crews. Double entry of employee payroll hours is eliminated with the exporting of Heavy Job information directly into our Accounting software. It saves us time and gives us immediate information on our daily productivity,

CONS

Nothing not to like about the vendor of this product (HCSS). They have the best technical support of any company in the software field. Calls to the support helpline are answered by knowledgible staff members and our problems are typically addressed within a few minutes. Great Technical support!!

Jacob

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

A good tool, but a bit dated

Overall it is a useful product. Hopefully the web version is a bit smoother to use.

PROS

The desktop app of Heavybid is a powerful tool.

CONS

Can be buggy at times and crash. Takes some time to figure out and has a very old feel.

edward

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2017

great software

use it every day. dont know where i would be without it. even when the rare issue arises, support is always avaialbe and very professional. anyone looking to keep their estimating at top notch needs this program.

PROS

ease of use and its overall functionality

CONS

almost too indepth

Danny

Construction

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2016

VP Estimating with a Heavy Highway contractor using Heavy Bid

PROS

The product is very user freindly and a complete packeage for our estimating needs. We have 8 users and bid many different types of projects from small paving projects to large bridge and highway project. Heavybid allows us to bid as many as 400 plus projects per year. HCSS support is top of the class.

CONS

Some specilized reports are that would breakdown the cost and price with showing all the details are difficult to use. Example pricing change order work for an owner that requires the labor, equipment and materials details for submittal but without the cost of each crew item.

dexter

Construction

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2016

project manager/estimator

PROS

They are very good at respondsing to questions and getting answers in a timely manner. This product is very helpul in putting together accurate estimates and tracking the job. This product is very user friendly and could be taught to anyone in a short time fram.

CONS

Sometimes it wont let me do exactly what i want to. Sometimes navigation is very timely unless you know all of the shortcuts. Some of the reports and information isnt very clearly laid out. If you didnt use the software before navigation can be very difficult.

Dylan

Construction

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2016

Great Product for the Industry

PROS

The codebooks are very helpful if setup correctly. Being able to bring in activities with a states standard item code speeds the bidding process up tremendously. Also, Support is second to none. Call anytime and someone will be there immediately to help. They wont get off the phone until the problem is resolved.

CONS

Some very minor tweeks might need to be changed, but if you know what they are they can avoid them. However, if you do make the mistake, you can still find it in the end under the Estimate Review.

Jose A.

Construction

Used less than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2016

Very Robust and trustworthy software group.

PROS

It is a very comprehensive software group that will meet all your needs for a sub-contractor. From bidding, scheduling, COST TRACKING, statistics, equipment maintenance and fuel, and more. It really have all we needed. And the customer service is amazingly good.

CONS

There is no undo button (Which it is understandable for record keeping purposes). But, in HeavyBid and some instances of Heavy Job, it is a hard pill to swallow. Also, in Heavy Job, COs, POs, could be better handled. Also, Field users do not need to be computer experts, but they do need to be comfortable with computers and software (which it is not always the case).

John

Construction

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2016

working with Heavy Bid

PROS

Heavy Bid contains every way necessary to build a complete bid. The multiple methods allow the user to approach the solution from different angles to come up with a complete, accurate, competitive proposal.

CONS

There are very few dislikes. It has a simple interface but which has at times complex means to a solution. It is not the perfect software. There are a few functions which wcould use enhancement such as vendor solicitation and document control.

cesar

Construction

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE