SmartBid is an online construction bid software designed for general and prime contractors to manage subcontractor data, prequalify subcontractors, share project documents and send invitations to bid. As a web-based system, all communications, files, project and subcontractor data are stored in a secure online portal.

Approved users can access their data at any time, from any location via a web browser or the SmartBid mobile app available for iOS, Android and Windows mobile devices. Users can tap into their private sub-database and filter for qualified subs or access the integrated SmartInsight construction network to select the most qualified subs to invite to bid on every project.

SmartBid features exclusive integrations with STACK estimating and takeoff, Citrix ShareFile (and other cloud storage solutions), the Virtual Planroom Network of builders exchanges across the U.S., the SmartInsight online construction network and others.

SmartBid is designed for any small, medium, or large general contractor, prime contractor or design/build firm. The optional Spanish and French subcontractor portals also make SmartBid a preferred product of builders with large numbers of multi-lingual subcontractors.



59 Reviews of SmartBid Bid Management Software

Overall rating

4.35 / 5 stars

Filters:

Showing 1 - 20 of 59 reviews

January 2019

Sarah from Ace Carpentry, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Smartbid is a very good platform for invitations to bid.

Pros

Allows you to view a project, and also download plans indicate whether you will be bidding. We do not utilize this software as a company but use it through our GC's.

Cons

Sometimes when downloading a large bid package the downloading of the zip file will freeze. You have to start over and sometimes it takes a while to download, I am not sure if that is because of our bandwidth or Smartbid's issue.

December 2018

Blaise from JE Dunn

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

December 2018

Limited accessibility makes this program less useful than it could be

Pros

This product allows for streamlined bid process for construction jobs

Cons

Inability to add users is a major downside. Not intuitive.

November 2018

Zohair from Whiting-Turner

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

November 2018

Great tool shared between contractors and sub contractors for submitting bids.

Pros

Multiple projects can be added to a contractor profiles, Project details and project specifications can also be added. Different sub contractors can be added and can submit there bids. Estimates can be created within or can be imported.

Cons

Smart bid serves a unique purpose which makes it a great tool but is limited to its functionality.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

July 2018

This is a bid database that my company uses for the bid process for construction projects.

An up to date database that can be filtered to different areas depending on where the project is located.

Pros

We are able to store potentiometer trade partners and send out communications regarding projects with ease. Trade partners are able to respond to the bid invitation and they are able to upload their proposal.

Cons

This software still has a couple of kinks. If at anytime you click the back button, you will be required to log back into the program.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2018

SmartBid has been very easy to learn and navigate as I learn the ins and outs of it.

The main benefit from this software is just the saving of time. What could take up to half my day, I can accomplish in the matter of an hour. The ease of use and time saving have been truly helpful.

Pros

I love the ease of use and the ability to distribute the information we need to get to our subs with such ease. The program is easy to use, but does not lack in its capabilities. For bidding purposes it makes my life so much easier knowing all the available information is getting distributed to everyone that needs to see it.

Cons

I have not come across any cons while working with the software. The only issue I have when using this is selecting the contractors to send bids to, but that is just because it is a strain on the eyes.

July 2018

Mo from Turner & Townsend

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

July 2018

User-friendly for bid management

Pros

Smart-bid is easy to learn and relevant to use. You can mange your bidding process properly, Especially when you are dealing with big number of stakeholders such as sub-contractors and need to feed them by the right project information, you can use this software and save a lot of time with a very low risk rate of error.

Cons

You need to be careful of any duplication of packages to the subs. Software is not intelligent to control this and needs the QC of the user.

July 2018

Loreto from CJI

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2018

Great Software!!!

Pros

What I like about Smartbid Bid management Software is that it is very easy to use and we can directly send bids.

Cons

SNo bad comments or feedback with this software. I love the service it provides. Very helpful!

June 2018

Daniel from JE DUNN CONSTRUCTION

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

June 2018

A simple-to-use platform to collect and access contractors and pricing data for bids

Pros

It provides enough functionalities that you don't really need another software to manage your bids. I used it in the context of construction project bids.

Cons

It acts as a good yellow-pages book, but lacks some analytical components that would be beneficial. One of them is the ability to see what percentage of trades have been covered for a project. Meaning, do we have enough bids for every trade that goes into building a building so that we can confidently say that at least one of the bids will be of a price that is fair and covers the required scope? That's a very specific question, and one that SmartBid itself can't answer because it doesn't offer many data analytics options.

June 2018

Amin from Varcon Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

June 2018

Powerful bid management software

Pros

It gives you all you need to manage a bidding process.
- multiple divisions
- pick the trades based on so many items, like area code, location, division and etc.
- track who has been reviewing the document, who is interested who is not and etc
- customised tender packages
And lots of other features

Cons

Weak in searching- you should know how exactly the trade has been saved, otherwise you should try multiple entries.
It’s tricky to add new contacts to the trades and send the invitation for a recent tender
It is not that much user friendly and needs time to be expert

May 2018

Darrell from Grinder Fabricating & Erection

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

May 2018

One of the best bid softwares on the market

I prefer receiving bid invites through smartbid than other similar softwares due to it's overall simplicity

Pros

The software is easy to use from a contract and subcontractor standpoint. Can submit bids directly through the software.

Cons

It can be slow and slightly laggy at times. The folder layout can get confusing if somebody isn't keeping things organized at the top.

May 2018

Clarissa from J. Scull Construction Service

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2018

Very effective bidding tool!!

Saved time (which equals $$$) and now we have a great place to store our bid documents, and easily distribute them to all of our subcontractors and suppliers!!

Pros

As a general contractor/construction manager firm, we use SmartBid on almost all of our projects. It's a great tool to let our subcontractors and suppliers know what projects we're bidding on, and ensure we have proper coverage for the scope of work involved. I was part of the initial setup when our company first began using SmartBid. We used to make a "call list" and someone would actually call up to a few hundred subs and suppliers for every project we bid. WOW. I can't believe we wasted so much time! Now, just a few clicks of a button and all of our bidding documents are in one, easily accessible place, and all the appropriate subs and suppliers are notified! Amazing!

Cons

The initial setup was a bit time-consuming. This was partly due to our own company's massively outdated subcontractor and supplier list. Most of our time was spent "trimming the fat" and updating old contact information. There are also limited user profiles, when it would be nice to have more people in our company be able to interact with SmartBid.

April 2018

Todd from Edge Builders

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

April 2018

Great for Our Estimators

Great program to send out mass emails for estimates large or small

Pros

There is nothing better than having management software do the work for you. This estimating tool manages large and small estimates with ease. I love sending quick emails for addenda, adding new subs and making this way easier than bogging down emails

Cons

I wish it had a few more integration tools but those could honestly be built into the program as we have not even begun to use this program as effectively as we could be.

March 2018

Rachel from Raineri Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

March 2018

Smartbid- Great for general contractors!

The benefits included are ease of access, multi user capability, subcontractor functions, and the blast emailing projects out to get the project to as many subcontractors as possible. We like the fact that it is cost efficient and allows our subcontractor pool to benefit from the program as well. You can also import public data agency information that includes new subcontractors.

Pros

I enjoy that smartbid streamlines the bidding process in construction. It allows you to upload drawings & specifications, as well as selecting trades to solicit to easily. Most bidding softwares are too complex for small subcontractors to understand and easily access documents. Smartbid offers ease of use for these subcontractors as well as allowing subcontractors to benefit the way the general contractor is. Having the availability to create takeoffs in Smartbid for the subcontractors you invite is so important.

Cons

The only thing I struggle with for Smartbid is the options to having subcontractors change their information within the program. We would like to see that subcontractors can update their license information as well as contacts for their company. Hopefully changes will be made in the future to allow these features to be utilized.

February 2018

Gabriela from Bogard Construction

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

February 2018

Overall is a good Bid Software

Easy to set up and fast distribution

Pros

The software is definetly helpfull for distributing the Invitation to Bid to as many subs as possible. It's also easy to set up.

Cons

One of the main issues I've had is that you have to be very careful on the spec codes that you assign to the subs. If you input the wrong codes, you will be excluding those subs from the ITB.
Also, after so many years of using it, some subs go out of business and you can waste time checking (calling) which subs will be bidding or not.

Response from JBKnowledge of JB Knowledge Technologies

Replied March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review SmartBid Gabriela! We agree that it's very important to have the correct spec codes so that you know what scopes your subcontractors perform. Our Customer Service team can review with you some options for managing those codes and getting update requests out to your subs so that they can tell YOU what scopes they perform. Also, because we maintain our own large database of subs (SmartInsight), we know all too well how maintenance of those records is an on-going process due to the human factor: each day businesses close, employees are hired, dismissed, etc. and keeping up with these changes can be very time-consuming, if we learn of them at all. While it's our policy to refrain from editing the records in your private database, we do offer a whole range of data management tools designed to help you find the problem records so you can get them updated. Customer Service would be happy to review these with you! Reach out at any time!

February 2018

Jason from DE-EL Enterprises, Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

February 2018

Good Software

Pros

This is one of the main programs I access when bidding projects for clients. It is reliable and easy to use.

Cons

No real issues with it, adding projects is pretty simple but accepting invitations can only be done from the email address of the person that was invited.

December 2017

Daniel from Talisen

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2017

The right tool for the job in regard to construction management bidding services.

Great product, open API, and pretty good customer support. Its between this and building connected, but Smart Bid trumps Building connected because it does not require sub contractors to login.

Pros

The ease of use and the right amount of customization. The learning curve is present, but should not hinder a person that is at least somewhat comfortable with computer use. A great product that streamlines the bid process and allows the user the ability to tune the it to their needs.

Cons

The incorporation of the pre-qual process and other administrative tools into the software can be a bit clunky, but they still work, however, they require a bit more fiddling with.

August 2017

Todd from ASG

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

2 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

August 2017

There are more affordable options

It did get us out in touch with the trades, but the coverage was week.

Pros

I do like the way a project is created and the publishing features. I do feel that it was advantageous in the way we were able to take a project that we were going to bid and get the information out to the trades

Cons

I hated the fact that their database is so out of date. Many times our bid invite was going out to the wrong person or that person was no longer with the company. The software needs some form of check and balance to ensure that the information is accurate and that companies are keeping thier information correct.

Response from JBKnowledge of JB Knowledge Technologies

Replied August 2017

Hi Todd, Thank you for your review! In SmartBid, clients primarily rely on results from their own private database, which they alone maintain. Use of our SmartInsight database of contractors is included with SmartBid as an additional resource for those situations where you will need additional subcontractor coverage, and is especially helpful when you find that you're bidding in a market that you're new to. It's a very large database, and as with any database, the maintenance of those records to keep them updated is a full-time job. People come and go, businesses shut down, etc. and naturally they don't notify us. :) Because of this we work hard to make those records as reliable as possible. Last week for example, 2,000 records deemed as invalid were purged from the system. Overall, this free resource offers a lot of value and we will continue to work hard to make it as reliable as possible!

August 2017

Amber from Superior Construction Online- Leader in construction industry

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

August 2017

Features and ease of use

Pros

This software is easy to use, customizable, and their customer service is excellent. yet to find a software that compares.

Cons

The user interface needs to be updated. It is very difficult to understand how to send out even basic invitations to bid without the assistance of someone that has used the program for several months.

Response from JBKnowledge of JB Knowledge Technologies

Replied August 2017

Hi Amber, thank you for taking the time to add a review of the system! I think that with all the features we've added at request of clients, there is definitely a lot for a new user to consider. The way we help users overcome this is with free training. In addition to our offering of weekly webinars for both new and advanced users, we set up group sessions with our new clients and personal sessions for new users in the areas they need it. Just reach out to our Customer Service if you find you need this!

June 2017

Chris from Coastal

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

June 2017

PreConstruction and PreQualification Solution

Pros

This software is easy to use, customizable, and their customer service is excellent. yet to find a software that compares.

Cons

I would like if it was dummed down a bid for subcontractors. I dont like they have to create a login.

Response from JBKnowledge of JB Knowledge Technologies

Replied July 2017

Chris - Thank you for the review and feedback! I wanted to make sure you knew that subcontractors are not required to create a login - they are giving an access code to your project in the email you send and can view documents and bid project details quickly and easily. If you have any doubt, please reach out to support@smartbidnet.com so they can walk you through the process your subs encounter!

June 2017

Oupa from Bebebonke Construction & Projects

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

June 2017

Excellent user friendly value for money.

Ability to estimate all the projects overheads timely and to focus more on production of the actual time on the job.

Pros

Being able to cost and accurately execute projects on time with no hustles also reference to me and my team.
Satisfied customers who are always happy to receive invoices of projects well done.

Response from JBKnowledge of JB Knowledge Technologies

Replied July 2017

Oupa - Thank you for the review! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and enthusiasm for SmartBid!