User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(77)

77

4 stars

(60)

60

3 stars

(11)

11

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(5)

5

  • Pros

  • "Very Easy to Use. It is the first take off tool that I ever used and have had no problem."

  • "We like most that it is pretty user-friendly and easy to train on. The Customer Support has been amazing every time we've called. "

  • "Easy to learn and use. Everything in one software. Worth the money. I would recommend this product to any organization who work on a lot of high end estimates."

  • Cons

  • "Not very many cons at all, possibly just leaning to use it takes a bit of time. "

  • "Creating overlays can be difficult, it would be great to have more color options and an easier way to scale and align two plans."

  • "Sometimes the General Exceptions box pops up and when it closes it resets some of my preferences, however its very simple to readjust and be moving again."

Browse On-Screen Takeoff Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 155 results

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Jeffrey from Self-employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Be Here Now

I've recommended this company many times, advised two companies in the last two years, including the one I currently work with, to buy the software because it's simply the best value I know of. And one REALLY important thing; Their SERVICE in superb. Full stop. I see lots and lots of major changes still ahead for this industry of estimating, and software will lead in that new complexity/simplicity. More to understand, more to buy, more to manage. Having a 'let's get this fixed now' tech team, along with a friendly 'no such thing as a stupid question' mandate, if all OCS keeps doing is being the best at SERVICE, they will always have my business .

Pros

When using both OST and QuickBids together there is a synergy that not only allows you to 'standardize' your pricing, but also build unlimited 'conditions' using those standard conditions, or from scratch. As an independent can manage clients in completely different databases if that level of separation is required. Yesterday a client gave me some feedback-just a little too high. Well, I have 4 other floors ready to submit for the next phase. I just go into 'markups', a little wiggle, a jiggle, and I have my pricing in line to vigorously compete in the next round. Total time, including new reports, 1 hour. Every single condition, adjusted for the new pricing (not just some lump sum discount, that's just lazy) and re-sent in a lunch hour. Nice... Alternates and change orders are even faster.

Cons

Reports stinks. Sorry, I call 'em like I see 'em. It's a bit better, more choices for printing and a 'master list' of available functions, but STILL, the actual graphics are completely terrible! No headings, no subheadings, just all one font, all one size, all run together with random page breaks. It takes me a lot of time, hours for big projects, to go through it all and make it legible. A little bird says it's in the works, I have the champaign chilled to celebrate when it's available in an update because it's probably the only thing that still irks me. Also, fix the output PDF distiller!!!

December 2017

User Profile Picture

Mark from Centerline Wall & Ceilings

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

The best takeoff software I've used, albeit a little pricey.

Fast reliable estimates

Pros

It's fast and easy to use once it's setup. Does most things well. For most estimators, this is the software you want. If you have the funds, it's worth getting On-Screen Takeoff & QuickBid together. When you start to delve into it's various features you really see some great ways to save time. E.g. Typical Areas, Style Sets, Layers, Copying Bids, etc. I'd highly advise setting up one or more Template bids and copying the relevant one every time you have a new bid to do. Saves a ton of time. I'd highly recommend this software.

Cons

There are some features it could have which would make it better. E.g. Auto-Page labeling, automatic page links, etc. Database has issues from time to time. E.g. It disconnects from it's sister software QuickBid - which can cause problems. But that's not too often and possibly related to my computer? On it's own it's just OK, but with QuickBid it's really great. Quickbid is a separate purchase. The price would be the biggest issue I see with this software. It's quite expensive. Kind of precludes smaller businesses from buying it. Which is unfortunate, since it's possibly the best takeoff software out there. I could have bought a small family car for the price of the two licenses I purchased for my business (that was along with sister software QuickBid)

March 2021

Nick from Triplett Wellman, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Essential Construction Takeoff tool

Overall, we are using OST as our primary estimating takeoff solution. Our team has enjoyed its use.

Pros

This software is extremely intuitive, easy to use, and accurate. I have used various takeoff tools and this product has always been the best.

Cons

I wish the software came preloaded with takeoff items rather than having to create them or buy a database of items.

March 2020

Aditya from Davies Design Build

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Good for Lumpsum works!

I have been using this for almost 8 months. I use it when I want to cross-check the subcontractors' bids with respect to my estimated quantities. This gives me an approximate idea of my precision to calculate savings.

Pros

The ease with which this software gives us the takeoffs is just fantastic! You just have to mark the things on your pdf to get the quantity, the software takes care of all. Different tools and commands are easy to use and find. You dont need whole lot of manual to refer to get your quantities.

Cons

2 major drawbacks- 1) If you mess up the scale of original file, all your quantities are wrong. so the output is based on 1 single factor of scaling. this may cause issues if we don't have clear and legible drawings with scales. 2)The drawing recognition by the software is not Smart. It's all on in the same layer. The drawn lines do not have any parametric properties. It only has geometric properties. so this is only useful for calculating quantities and not the performance calculations.

Reasons for Switching to On-Screen Takeoff

1)Ease of operation 2)Quick accessible tools

August 2020

Muhammad from Conscious environments

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Easy to use but has an upfront cost

So far it has been a very useful and easy program to use you can break down items based on categories you want and have sub categories it Also has a built in labor and price calculator if you want to use it. i usually count in OST then take it to excel.

Pros

OST is a very easy to use tool to do take offs with and what we like most about it is : 1- Fast Counts for areas, Linear feet, And counts. 2- you can overlay different versions of the plan on top of each other the old will be red and new blue that way you can see purple if noting changed or moved and blue if something changed. 3- easy to export to excel or other programs. 4- quick click links so you can jump between plan and detail fast.

Cons

1-2 people cant be in the same file at the same time and edit. 2- gets laggy with larger files and count items ( over 700 in one page from what i have seen) 3- Price. 4- cant Layer more than 2 drawings at the same time

Reasons for Choosing On-Screen Takeoff

fast to use for counts

August 2020

Brent from Baldwin Acoustics & Drywall

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

The best estimating software in the industry

I use on-screen takeoff daily as an estimator. Overall, it is feature heavy and a great step forward from classic estimating.

Pros

The scaling feature allows you to easily get a proper scale with just one measurement on the prints.

Cons

Sometimes the databases can crash, losing hours of work. Another feature I wish it had was preconstructed conditions so you wouldn't have to build them.

November 2018

David from Allstate Interiors

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

November 2018

Outdated

Pros

OnScreen Takeoff Typical Groups works well - I don't know any other software that has this function. Very helpful for apartment takeoffs.

Cons

Software has become outdated. OnCenter is very slow to respond to problems with their software. Several problems discussed with their technical department are known, but they state that in their opinion these issues, some of which can actually result in incorrect bids, are not critical enough to warrant repair. I suggest being extremely careful when using OnScreen and QuickBid interactively. Note that Windows 10 has more issues that older versions of Windows - Oncenter is not keeping up. DON'T GET A NEW COMUTER! OnCenter is not keeping up with innovation that other software companies. Adding notes is cumbersome - in OnScreen they get in the way of doing takeoffs. In QuickBid they easily become buried in the bid and get missed. Adding drawing numbers and names function in OnScreen Takeoff does not work well. Revising drawings to TIFF is outdated. Programs do not work well interactively and also bog down on large bids.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

A standard in the Construction industry

Overall good experience. Construction companies typically have to use different pieces of software that do similar things when working with joint ventures and contractors, but OST is one of the most used pieces of estimating software. From an administrative side, the licensing system is a little clunky if you are hosting your own license server. This is not uncommon though.

Pros

Many useful features, Quick and accurate general estimating tools, Good support.

Cons

It takes some "use time" to get a hang of all the features and functions OST comes with.

Reasons for Choosing On-Screen Takeoff

It seemed more comprehensive, for the price.

October 2020

Mike from NUA Construction Corp.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

you need this ..

Good Multiple colors are incredible

Pros

layer and conditions features are very useful

Cons

can take a while to upload large set of drawings and it should automatically name the sheets by a pre determined title or number - but not a major woop

Reasons for Switching to On-Screen Takeoff

ease of use

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2017

Good quality and easy to use.

Pros

Most of my customers use this. Which allows me to export the OSP file and send to them to review. Easy to export and categorize areas.

Cons

Can't have multiple people log in to the software at one time to have a compiled take off. So after a project is complete with multiple people working on it. I need to compile all of the files into one OSP file.

Response from On Center Software

Replied November 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are proud to have customers like you as part of the On Center family. If you are looking for a way to have multiple people login and compile a takeoff, you should look at Oasis Takeoff to see if it might fit you needs. Oasis Takeoff allows for "team estimating" inside the same project.

May 2018

Klaus from Brodson Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Great Takeoff Software

Great software if you need to do professional quantity takeoffs

Pros

This product offers you a lot of options to structure your takeoff: - Conditions: This is the main structure to organize your takeoff. Fully customizable, conditions can be used as a CSI-Code structure. - Layers: Similar to CAD-Software, you can create layers (even as Master layers which will be available for all projects) and assign a layer to each takeoff. Turning layers on/off helps you to work with multiple takeoffs on one drawing. - Zones: Creating zones (and organize them on a separate layer) helps to split your takeoff according to the zones - fully automated! - Takeoffs: Each takeoff can have up to three different quantities - whatever you need. Takeoff description: each takeoff (condition) has a name as well as a field for notes where you can put a full description of your item. - Multi-takeoff: This is an outstanding feature, saving a lot of time: mark several conditions (takeoff-items) and do your takeoff: the takeoff will be done for each of the simultaneously! - Second window: the program allows you to open a second window, to have another drawing (details etc.) open while you work on your first drawing. - Overlay: changes in drawings can made visible by using the new drawing as an overlay on top of the old drawing: you will automatically see, what changed. There are much more pros and features available than any other takeoff software. This is the great thing about a software that is a takeoff software and nothing else: the software does not pretend to be an estimating software and by focusing on takeoff, the software does a great job. Online descriptions are available for almost every issue you might run in.

Cons

The software is missing only one feature: to assign a different condition to a specific takeoff is not available (up to now).

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

On Screen Takeoff

It is a good software for simple takeoffs. Counting widgets, or measuring lines, and areas. Other than that, not much use.

Pros

Easy to do simple measurements and counts. The various levels and labels are nice, also being able to change colors makes it easy to differentiate between items.

Cons

It adds an extra stem to the takeoff process. You have to upload pdf's into the program, and then organize them before you can work on them. In lieu of just opening a pdf, and measuring items instantly.

Reasons for Switching to On-Screen Takeoff

Company policy

August 2018

Tamera from Southern Land

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Preferred over Plan Swift

I work in multi-family construction and need to be able to do quick conceptual estimates and the later detailed estimates that require more takeoff. I've been using OST for the takeoff for the last 11 years. I love it.

Pros

OST is easy to get up and running. It's intuitive and user friendly. I was recently introduced to PlanSwift - a competitor to OST and it was overly complicated. It was hard to figure out how to go in and just take the SF of a room. With OST it's a breeze to take a simple measurement or do more extensive takeoff without needing an owners manual or even a tutorial.

Cons

Is the difficulty in naming sheets that are imported in. It's cumbersome and time consuming. It also makes it hard to relink to a different folder location. The high cost for a single license is prohibitive to the freelance estimator and forces us to use alternative programs that aren't as efficient. I wish there was a way to make it cheaper for sole proprietorship businesses in the construction industry.

December 2016

Kellie from Maiden-Stone Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2016

It may have it's weaknesses, but overall it's great!

I began using On-Screen On-Center Take-off is Feb. 2016. Overall the program is great. Its fairly simple to import and manage drawings, create conditions, and quantify areas. I am sure there are many features which I fail to use to their potential, but learning to make the system work of me and the types of take-offs I perform was quick. There is very little learning curve, and if you have any questions their Customer Support Tools are incredible. I enter a question and typically receive a call from a person within hours. They are very knowledgeable and helpful. The program has its weaknesses. One huge weakness is it's tolerance. When using the measure tool the tolerance is to the nearest inch. There is no way to adjust this, which can mean rejection of material and a lot of jobsite labor in our particular field (Stone). Also, exporting to excel could be clearer, but overall it's pretty helpful.

Pros

Ability to create various types of conditions, in various types of materials, in various areas, and being able to calculate various types of information from one condition (sq. of one side & top & total lf, Average tile count & overall sf, etc.). Ability to import various file types, PDF, AutoCAD, etc. Ability to export to Excel. Ability to label conditions & include conditions legends, creating a helpful Take-off maps for bids.

Cons

Inability to tighten tolerances. Inability to label linear conditions. Inability to increase the size of the font on condition labels. Excel Export could be much cleaner. Inabiliy to create non-grid tile layouts.

August 2018

Ryan from Diament Building Corp.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Custom Home Builder Review

I love OST it can be used in so many different ways it's my favorite program for manipulating just about any type of file.

Pros

OST is flexable software, meaning it can be manipulated to conform to any/every trade. It is an amazing tool that makes any estimators take-off portion of the job quick and easy.

Cons

There is not much I do not like about OST, but... - some times I could more color selections differentiation for take-off conditions - Also it would be nice if i could freeze dimension takeoffs to either only move vertically or latterally respectively. - Also if dimensions could be a default layer separate from annotation that would be awesome. Sometimes i want to have annotations but do not need the dimensions and i have to delete all the dimensions on the page to only show the annotation that i want.

August 2018

Chris from Retail Fixture Solutions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

On Screen Takeoff the Equilizer

The On Screen Takeoff program along with the support provided by On Center is a great combo for anyone looking to standardize and get better control of their takeoff and bids. My experience has been nothing but the best from Training, to implementation, and support throughout the past few years.

Pros

Allows me to constantly and quickly take off plans that used to take all day to provide.

Cons

The software has been awesome for me in many ways but I wish it was more report friendly for people who are working outside of the standard databases and reporting schemes. I had to build my database from the ground up and how we export and report that information isn't typical for OST. Trying to build custom reports and exports has been challenging but On Center support was always there to help or at least let me know that I have hit a dead end.

June 2017

Tim from Accent Landscape Contractor's, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Satisfied Customer

I've used OST for 10 years and overall satisfied. I think for the annual service fee, there should be more upgrades than once every 2 years or so. We have used tech support maybe once a year if that and the owner of the business doesn't think that justifies the annual cost.

Pros

It's easy and quick to use and easy to train others. I like and use the overlay function a lot. I also like the intelligent paste function as well for repetitious items.

Cons

Only 1 overlay possible, needs ability to remove the original plan and add an additional overlay as plans change (i.e.,80% dwgs to 90% dwgs to final dwgs. The 90% supersede the 80% and now we have final. A new bid file has to be created and the takeoff copied to the new file for adjustments) Database bogs down on very large projects Auto count feature doesn't work very well on scanned plans

August 2018

Les from PDP Painting

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

The best takeoff I have ever used.

I have been using On-Screen Takeoff for about 16 years and I have always been impressed with the ease of use, support and the upgrades that have been made through the years. I can do a takeoff of a large commercial building in a fraction of the time it would take me to do it with a ruler or takeoff wheel and it is extremely more accurate. I am able to bid a lot more work with the On-Screen Takeoff program. Another benefit is you end up with a color-coded plan that you or someone else such as a project manger can look at and see what you did.

Pros

Its easy to learn to use and if you get stuck on something the support staff are there to help and they have never laughed at my dumb questions.

Cons

I don’t know if there is anything I don’t like about it, but I wish you could copy text or images from a plan sheet and past them into a word document.

May 2017

Jaime from JMJ Painting, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

As an estimator this program makes my life much easier. Can breakdown my estimate any way I want.

It not possible to mention them all here. Better accuracy in our estimates. Greater flexibility with our estimates too. Can change conditions very easily if necessary. Our field personnel loves it too. Were able to print all of the plans from any project and breakdown the estimate by floor or zone or phase.

Pros

This program is great for our office and field personnel. Both can see the entire scope of work to be performed and know where each condition is to be applied on each floor of our jobs. Allows for better management of our labor hours and cost accounting too!

Cons

That I cannot download it on my iPhone! I have absolutely no complaints, I love, I use it everyday and I enjoy all of the features too! Just wish I could take it with me everywhere I went.

May 2017

Joey from Thomas Drywall, Inc.

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Been using QB since 03 started using OST in 14, CAN NOT imagine going back to ole manual method!

Pros

In OST it is possible to become very creative in how you make conditions, it allows you to build your take-offs in a manner that makes sense to you, and you are able to constantly refine and make adjustments to the way you do things, which allows for faster take-offs. And the progression just continues. Also the tech team that comes with the subscription cannot be beat, those people are the best software fix my stuff in a heartbeat group...period paragraph no more conversation about it!!!

Cons

Sometimes the General Exceptions box pops up and when it closes it resets some of my preferences, however its very simple to readjust and be moving again.

July 2019

Jeff from Baker & Kerr

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Used to be the bomb!

I used it regularly for more than 2 years and the company considered me a 'power user. Unfortunately, when I changed companies, I could not justify the pricing for the result it produced compared to other programs available now.

Pros

I't fairly easy to learn and integrate. It's visual and it's fairly robust. If you also pay for QuickBids, it integrates well with that. The tech help service is outstanding.

Cons

It's limited on what it can do. It must convert a PDF file, with it's rich underset of information, to a TIF file, which is just an overlay. The reports are basic at best and there is no help with modifying those at all.

June 2017

Shelby from Preferred Construction Management

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Using OST we are able to perform take offs much quicker than using a ruler or than digitize(ing).

Can probably do triple the amount of estimating than before.

Pros

Ease of use and how easy it is to review work. Being able to assign different take offs to different area's makes breaking out bids for alternates very easy.

Cons

I would like to be able to "crop" or cut all take offs to assign them into an area. For example, if the portion of a building becomes an alternate after the takeoff was performed. I would like to slice each take off to break out each area. Right now you can select multiple takeoffs and reassign but if you select say a wall that was one take off but you want it to be cut in half you have to delete it and redo the takeoff.

May 2017

Fady from PCL

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Advanced, powerful software provides a plethora of features for construction project management.

This is the fastest way that I know of to complete a takeoff. Once you have a good grasp of the user interface, it becomes second nature and takeoffs can be performed by anyone.

Pros

Ability to accurately quantify count, area, volume, and more on drawings with a high degree of complexity. We use it to count washroom accessories, confirm tile flooring quantities, area of roof, and others when tendering the project. During construction, we use it to track progression and productivity rates.

Cons

Printing can be tedious / counterintuitive. Also, the software auto-saves progress, which is great unless you make a mistake...

October 2018

Lorna from Broadway Construction Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

I love OnScreen

Very positive experience. It's made my life a whole lot easier. I can easily take off concrete, steel, MEP, etc., and it's a very organized program. It's like coloring for adults.

Pros

This software has made estimating so much more efficient, accurate, and easy. I learned to estimate by hand, and those days were so much harder than now. I can handle so many more trades and estimates alone that I would have been able to just a decade ago.

Cons

There needs to be more symbols available for our use such as Mechanical, Fire Suppression Piping, and Electrical symbols. That would be helpful.

February 2018

Matthew from Milwaukee Millwork

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

On Screen Take Off

I would recommend this software to any estimator in the construction industry regardless of division of work. It cuts estimating time and costs by over half and the accuracy of take offs pay for the software in its self.

Pros

the program is user friendly and has a quick learning curve. Start up for the software is great and includes two days of training to meet your company needs. Uses vibrant colors and shapes to make take off easy and quick.

Cons

I don't really have many cons for this program as the company actively updates its software to facilitate the users needs. If I had to pick a con it would be that you are forced to buy support annually if you would like to get any sort of help with the software once your subscription is up.

August 2018

Gabriel from POWER DESIGN ELECTRIC, INC.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

On-Screen Takeoff review Electrical

My daily use of the software has made me appreciate the ease of use and reliability of the product. I can trust the software to provide me with accurate counts and footage for my electrical estimating.

Pros

The easy use of the software, plus any questions are easily linked to a video showing you your answer. If the answer is not available online, a simple phone call to great customer service will provide direction and resolution of any questions or problems.

Cons

Currently I have had no complaints with the software, it works great!

August 2018

Cameron from North Light Construction

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Great takeoff software, cost vs. quality

Pros

I love the simplicity of the features, the range of details and customization you can do with the software. Definitely like the export to Excel feature, where we can customize the look and functionality of the end product.

Cons

Cost is a major challenge for a lot of business software, especially as a startup company. I'm still looking for the functionality of On Screen but with a one-time purchase and something a bit more affordable to a brand new company with unstable revenue.

May 2017

Christopher from Green Wall Tech, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

The On-Center Suite is very easy to use and versatile.

Fast and accurate take-offs and estimates.

Pros

The take-off and estimating software is much simpler to use and faster than other software I have used. This allows me to bid more jobs while maintaining a high level of accuracy.

Cons

The shortfall of this software in my opinion is that it doesn't have a native accounting companion. Other software suites offer an accounting component built-in which is a great way to tie your whole company together. The export functions are not quite good enough to accomplish that.

November 2019

Muhammad from Silverwood landscape

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

When you need a simple and easy to use takeoff program

We use OST to count items on landscape plans we get the plans from the landscape architect and civil engineer, we import them and count the conditions then after that we take the counts from excel and price every line in excel OST has a feature to do that but not as easy to mainupulate

Pros

What I like about OST is it’s easy to use you can get the hang of the Badi oh very quickly and it helps you count items onscreen from a pdf plan or TIFF file. Measures distances, counts and areas.

Cons

Sometimes it freezes on some plans that are heaven such as a lot of counts (over 6000) items on on plan, and crashes even when it can’t convert a file from a civil engineer

August 2016

Brian from Big Fish Estimating

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2016

On-Screen Takeoff for Estimators

I use it almost everyday of the week for all my 2D takeoff. Roadwork's paving, kerbing (curbing), stormwater, sewer and water reticulation takeoffs just to name a few. Very easy to use once you set up some basic library items. It also has the capability of downloading directly into my Estimating Software.

Pros

Ease of use - lengths, areas - or both at the same time.

Cons

Needs a better custom scale box - the one it has is "clunky".

September 2017

Jeff from Service Painting of Florida

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Accurate and easy to use

The ability to quickly and accurately develop complete estimates for our clients.

Pros

The accuracy and ease of use to get started has been great and then once you get into it you realize that there is so much more to the program and that you are only scratching the surface of what the software can do.

Cons

The feeling that if I only had more time to commit to explore the software I would be able to do so much more with it.

January 2017

Brandon from DTE Energy

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Commercial Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

An Easy to Use Takeoff Software

I have been using On-Screen Takeoff for several years now and I really enjoy using it. It is easy to set up conditions and perform the takeoff. I enjoy that you can break your takeoff out by areas and you can even create folders for the different areas of the takeoff. This works well for breaking out by CSI, or whichever WBS you may use. Also, OST can store data in Access databases that can be set to backup on a schedule. I personally like how quickly I can bring my drawings into the software and how quickly they load once in the program. Overall I have been using OST for several years now and I would recommend it to the construction professional.

Pros

Ease of use Ability to create libraries of commonly used conditions Customer support Fast Loading Ability to transfer data to other estimating software Ability to export to excel Ability to share entire takeoff file with other professionals

Cons

Cannot currently import an excel document with conditions to create a library Cannot trace drawing lines automatically

January 2018

Kristen from Patriot Construction

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Great Estimating Program!

Keep up the good work On Screen! I would like to see more added features and additional updates more than just once or twice a year.

Pros

This program is also... easy to learn, easy to use, easy to train on! All that you need to complete accurate takeoffs for bidding is available in one software package! Purchase this product, you will not be disappointed! Intelligent paste function is awesome and great to use for repetitive items.

Cons

I would more colors to differentiate areas when I am doing take offs and more overlays should be possible. There are always so many plans and revisions and only allowing one overlay makes it difficult at times to provide an accurate takeoff without doing the work twice.

April 2017

Luke from Coe Construction

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Best takeoff software on the market today

Before buying I compared this, E-Takeoff, Planswift, and Bluebeam takeoffs. This was hands down the best option.

Pros

Easy and intuitive to use. Some examples are- same copy paste functions as every other windows program, bulk copy (multiple takeoffs), fast plan loading, and a user interface that flows nicely.

Cons

Somewhat complicated to learn, the overall process makes sense, but you need to follow the steps to the letter.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Best Take off software I have ever used

Speed, performance & accuracy

Pros

It takes just as I need it and whenever I want to push it further I find it already does what I want it to. the updates are often and always work.

Cons

If I were looking for a CON really hard I would have to say the only thing that fails this software is look. the user interface is dated and could use some bringing into the modern age

August 2018

eric from Freese Johnson

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Best takeoff option available

Very good, I've been using it at various companies since 2007 and have no interest in any other option so long as it works so well.

Pros

Very easy to learn and use, K.I.S.S. Quick to use Doesn't require too much computer power

Cons

Printing to PDF using conventional bluebeam and/or adobe drivers doesn't work very well and we needed to buy an after market print driver to circumvent this issue.

October 2019

David from B&S

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

OST

Overall, great experience. Saves a lot of time when preparing for estimates/bids.

Pros

Very is to import architectural drawings. Able to easily trace and label various components of each section. Take-off tab totals each section you are labeling. ie: LF, SF, Area.

Cons

Linking to multiple folders that contain drawings. copy and pasting various items could be easier. Organizing bids.

May 2017

Angelo from Solid Builders Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2017

Great program; been using it since 2003 and convinced the current company I work for to implement.

Pros

I like being able to organize areas and zones as well as share takeoff packages with associates who estimate different divisions.

Cons

I HATE having to rename pages one at a time that are combined; your competition has this feature that does it automatically (and its much cheaper)-you guys should have had this a long time ago. If this feature does exist in OST; please contact me to cure my stupidity.

August 2018

Jeff from Christman

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Great software

Able to take off content with easy and speed. Love it.

Pros

Very intuitive. Customer support is top notch. Features are helpful. Love the areas sort.

Cons

Text editing is bulky. Image legend is good but it is sorted under the group setting in what appears to be a random sort. Toggling between files and image takes too long i think (could be internal sever related).

September 2019

carlos from Advanced Roofing

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Best Take-off program ever

My overall experience with OST has been great. Everything from the time of sales, to the implantation of the software, to the daily use and continuing customer support. Very friendly staff and extremely knowledgeable.

Pros

I love the overall ease of use. It is very intuitive and user friendly. Specifically, i love the ability to build and archive conditions or assemblies for repetitive use. The more you use this software the better it becomes for you.

Cons

There is a learning curve. At first, the rich and abundant features can be cumbersome to learn; especially if you don't use all of the features. I do have to say that the training for the software is great and the customer support is second to none.

June 2017

Patricia from Snavely Building Company

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Very powerful estimating tool

Pros

Easy to use, easy to copy conditions from one project to another, very user friendly. The software features a lot of different options mark up and bubble changes, type in comments, and, of course, color code take offs.

Cons

Creating overlays can be difficult, it would be great to have more color options and an easier way to scale and align two plans.

July 2018

Lindsey from U.S. Drywall

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Great for Estimators

Pros

This program is great paired with on screen takeoff. The two programs can be linked together to keep track of your bids. Your materials, labor, etc. all can be tracked within this program.

Cons

There are a lot of functions in this program and it can be extremely confusing if you do not take the time to learn it properly.

May 2017

Mitchell from Universal Wall Systems, Inc.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

my experience is that this helps me do a more accurate takeoff

It takes the place of me having to have an estimator. The support is very helpful.

Pros

the flexability of being able to copy pages and do different things that helps me be able to look at different pricing

Cons

When taking off walls I build my assemblies in notes. I would like to see this to be able to go into quick bid and my assembly be there.

August 2018

Erica from Alliance Partition Systems

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

OST is very helpful!!

Pros

I honestly could not be as productive working as a metal framing & GWB subcontractor without this software! The ease of use and saving capabilities is very helpful in projects we bid & manage.

Cons

Not very many cons at all, possibly just leaning to use it takes a bit of time.

May 2017

Ray from Gralan Enterprises, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Very positive experience with the program and support

Pros

menu driven and easy to follow. Every time I have a problem and call support I get a good response and the problems solved.

Cons

arc feature when doing areas. The program does not support arc creation by pinpointing the arc intersects when doing area, we have to plot points along the circumference.

August 2018

Tony from Hughes General Contractors, Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

On Screen take off

We used it for several years until we upgraded to Oasis. Works pretty well.

Pros

I liked it, but really like the upgraded oasis version. Faster than doing take off by hand, easy to organize.

Cons

Can't have two or more people working on the same takeoff (building the same data file) at the same time.

September 2019

ANGELA from Cavanaugh Building

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Data overload

I use this product because it's the product of choice within my company, however, I prefer to print the blank take off form and fill it in manually because there is just so much data on the program.

Pros

This is the software of choice by our Project Managers & Estimators it is very thorough and holds a lot of data. It gives the bottom line as well as a detailed breakdown of costs.

Cons

I feel like there is data overload with this program. It has the options to input so much data it's almost overkill. It becomes a bit overwhelming when looking through all the info and the "extra" info takes longer to perform the take off on a project.

August 2018

Brandon from Elder Construction

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Review of OST

Excellent tool for accurate compilation of quantities from pdf's. I highly recommend this to high volume estimators such as myself!

Pros

Ease of Use, Speed and Accuracy for Estimating Purposes

Cons

Updates and changes from previous versions of the software I've used took a little bit for me to get used to.

August 2018

Jay from Just Rite Accoustics, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Estimating with OST

Overall, my experience with OST has been great. We are able to get through take-offs quickly.

Pros

What I like most about OST is how easily one can load plans and keep track of all jobs.

Cons

What I like least about OST is that you can't modify a take-off until you remove the attachments.

December 2018

Quinn from GRANITE EXCAVATION, INC.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great for large Jobs

at first i did not stick to a specific process and my take-off got messy and difficult for others to understand. Once i figured out a system, I stuck to it and the results were clear. My take-offs are clean and easy to understand. My production has more than doubled and the results are better.

Pros

The organization of the take-off items is great. Easy to export the results and easy to use...once you have learned the software. As long as i stick to my workflow i created i do not have any problems.

Cons

If you get off you order of operations or workflow...it can get a bit messy. Use the layers and stick to a color scheme that fits the jobs. figure it out and be consistent with it and it will work amazing.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 155 reviews