User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(15)

15

4 stars

(13)

13

3 stars

(9)

9

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy to learn and to use. Great for time tracking of all items, and audit feature to determine what happened to missing pieces. Awesome customer assistance. "

  • "Customer support is excellent. I've always gotten a response back. Overall experience is satisfactory"

  • "The ease in which I can flip from one document to another is very convenient and quick, also like the page layout."

  • Cons

  • "Some of the features and interfaces were not intuitive but that appears to have been resolved in version 9. "

  • "Sometimes, it's difficult to understand the steps that need to be made in order to fulfill a task. But with experience, no problem."

  • "The fact that some clients/users have a really hard time getting used to it. Reporting could be better."

Browse Onware Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -12 of 38 results

August 2016

Dale from KENNEDY - Architectural Design

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2016

Well Researched Collaboration Software

I use Onware on a daily basis to perform contract administration on large and small construction projects. It has given me the power to move information quickly, track everything, and keep all the project participants current with all the information in one spot accessible to everyone. This software has helped prevent me from being the bottleneck for information on my projects. There is a large construction project management component to this software as well that was developed with a subsidiary of Turner Construction.

Pros

Excellent Customer Support Excellent tracking and information management Access everything everywhere through the cloud Automatic email notifications that are nearly infinite in their configuration Third party tracking ends arguments over timing of submittals and RFI responses

Cons

There are some features in the bidding and negotiation portion that are not developed. They are working on this and it should be resolved in the then version.

April 2020

Alexis from Kasian

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2020

Onware Review

A bit tricky to get the hang of at first, but is important to keeping a project organized and on track.

Pros

organization of project documents, timelines for tasks clear, outstanding items clear

Cons

difficult to navigate, can’t customize very well, “package” feature for only some types of documents, Progress Claim input process (contractor likes to input by each months progress vs updated project complete amount – this could be an auto updating number/check), multiple progress claims per month (if a client wants to bill main contract and change orders as separate PC numbers), terminology sometimes confusing (next step not always clear, Example for a Change – button could be “next step” and a pdf view of what the document currently looks like, and then asks for the next step such as do you want to do a consultant rec, issue for pricing, issue for change order). Each type of document page looks different (i.e. RFI page looks different than the Change/CO pages), no ability to customize what is visible (such as under Changes main page, to show/hide columns or move them left/right), customize settings by project (add client logos, project logo, colors, etc.) to be visibly different, Show/hide New tab on main page, Clear off action items.

Response from Onware

Replied April 2020

Thank you Alexis for sharing your review. Your feedback will help our team's decision for future development. As an example, we received positive feedback on "package" and "email package" features and decided to implement these across all documents in our most recent version. We will contact you directly to discuss in detail how we can help you better.

September 2018

Rosemary from GEC Architectures

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2018

A software program that many Engineers and Architects dislike

There are many more features within this program that my colleagues, consultants (Engineers of many disciplines) do not like that there is no room to express it's pitfall. This program was created by those I believe working at the University of Alberta, who in my opinion do not have the full depth of the contract administration process. The program they have created is a small window of what they understand in the construction and architectural industry.

Pros

That it is a cloud-based program that you can log in to online.

Cons

The linked documents is an annoying features in that if you pdf a document such as a quote or change order, it shows up on the document as "attachments" which are not attached to the pdf document. The link is very sensitive, if you hover near the link a new window opens up. RFI: If you are a contract administrator, sometimes you are not always notified via email when a consultant has responded. But before that, the notification does not indicate if the RFI has been sent to the consultant for review or not. The worst is if you pdf the entire RFI with the responses for your files, it can be an unneccsarily 2+ pages long because of poor formatting features from the developer. This features applies to shop drawings as well. Change Notices: has field boxes to write out in to generate forms. However this is not always a good idea as contract administrators have our forms with the legal description and fine print. So in turn we have to attach our own forms on top of copy and pasting the verbiage in the field boxes. This creates double the work and when all pdf'd together, creates more paperwork for the contractor and client. Email notifications: serve little information as to what the notification is in regards to. Submittals: The use of the word "Conforms as Noted" is not a widely used term in the construction industry. Typically it is Reviewed as Noted, Reviewed, Revise and Resubmit, Rejected, Not Reviewed, Information only, Records only - most of these terms are not used.

April 2020

Tatjana from Norr

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Great

For big projects this is the go tool definitly. My experience with this product is nothing but great. Streamlined documentation communication records....

Pros

Easy to use, transparancy, connect the team that works on the project

Cons

I would like to be able to mark up document without downloading it to my PC and returning it back. But this is just as possible improvement. No cons really.

Response from Onware

Replied April 2020

Hi Tatjana, We're delighted to hear that your experience using Onware is nothing but great! By the way, did you know that we do have integration with Bluebeam which will allow you to create and join Studio sessions, mark up drawings and retrieve the final document, all without leaving Onware? I will be glad to give you more details about our integration and walk you through the setup. You can also visit our website for additional information about our integrations. https://onware.com/contract-administration-software/integrations/#bluebeam Again, thanks for your review. Cheers!

June 2017

Peter from IBI Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

We have been users of this software for the past 5 years, its ease of use is it's key selling point

The use of this software package eliminates duplication of parallel document tracking that previously occurred with conventional documentation processing. This tracking process is now updated in real time as a function of the database software.

Pros

We utilize and access this software during Construction Progress Meetings from applicable sites. Having the software accessible with real time updates and universal web access through site infrastructure is invaluable.

Cons

I find it inconvienient to not be able to see/print all the linked documents, without having to drill down into the various documents and print hard copies or create a compiled PDF. We have identified this shortcoming to the software in the past, and were advised that this function would be added in future updates. Hopefully, the next update will include this requested function.

June 2017

Christine from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Overall my experience is good.

Pros

Documents stored in one location and tracking of each document is barred none the best reason for Onware. The favorites buttons are useful. Customizing our own forms is amazing! Although this doesn't pertain to software, Onware help support is excellent.

Cons

Main menu in v9, in my opinion, is not helpful anymore, I find it confusing. I preferred the previous straightforward main menu that captured my 'to do list'. I dislike the viewer screen and not having the capability to copy text from a previously issued document. New users have a difficult time setting up their account and I'm not familiar with the steps they require to go through therefore I cannot assist them. Many non-internal Onware users are just waiting for an excuse not to use Onware.

June 2017

Steve from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

I find the system useful and easy to find stuff when the user submits it properly

Pros

Keeps everything under one roof. Can send large files in one issuances compared to through email. Works best if contractors use it as well.

Cons

Contractors are not willing to change from their system to ours. Makes us have to enter the things we receive from them as they won't do it. When returning submittals back when they are revise and resubmit, we keep them open to keep a record of upcoming revisions we should be getting. Although it just says open in Onware and counts against us as not done yet even though we are waiting on a revision from the contractor. A button for return and aviating a revision would be nice as we only have issue or return.

June 2017

George from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Learning the use of the modules was an issue as it was not always as intuitive as expected

As a large design, it provides a secure file/data storage system, that is auditable and accessible from anywhere.

Pros

The ease of sending out communications is less time consuming then the standard paper/ email work route. Having the ability to produce reports out of each module is very helpful. Having all contract administration documentation stored in one location and being accessible online, from anywhere, is very helpful.

Cons

It can be difficult to persuade contractors and other consultants to use the program, as they usually have their own software they are using. An interface with 'other' common management software would be a great asset. Better utube learning videos would be helpful. More intuitive interface/documentation would be helpful. Ability to customize report outputs would be helpful.

June 2017

Matthew from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

The new Onware has a few kinks, but overall is much sleeker and faster than the old one.

A centralized program that is relatively easy to use (as far as proprietary software goes), that seems to be fast, and rarely experiences outages.

Pros

It's faster. Looks nicer. Things are easier to find, and descriptions of functions and buttons are better. One centralized Onware for all products is nice too, instead of each company having their own Onware.

Cons

No option to edit history items in Submittals once they've been sent, or via them individually (except the "View" option, which is a bit clunky). The "Send" button in Submittals confuses a lot of people. Maybe it should be changed to something like "Next" or "Proceed"? Just an idea.

June 2017

Micheal from Stantec

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

Takes some getting use to. Learning all the tricks & tips. But when you do, I find it very useful.

Contract Admin organization

Pros

With a good pdf editer, it's very efficient for marking up and returning shop drawings or RFI, sketches. Also, no remembering who get sent what. Process your document, shop drawing, Site Instruction, etc. and issue. With the distribution set up properly at the beginning, all who need the information, get the information.

Cons

Pull down menus and text boxes. When scrolling down in either of them, when you get to the bottom, if you go 1 click more than the last item, the pull down will close and the entire page scrolls. It needs to be set up so when in a pull down menu or text box, the it and the overall page are locked. Until you pick your choice or click outside either area, the page will not scroll away from you.

December 2018

Katelyn from NORR

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Onware Review - no more searching!

Work flow has increased! And it's wonderful knowing where each documents sits & whose hands it is sitting in. The overall experience has been positive, once we understood how the software worked and what its limitations were.

Pros

The software provides a clear work flow, with excellent document control aspects (date stamps, etc.). Interface is fairly user friendly and the linking of documents is fantastic- no more hunting for all the pieces!

Cons

The software was re-formatted to suit what our team needed, but with that came a lot of unexpected bugs/work-arounds until the next scheduled software version release, which could take a few months. There are situations when technical support is needed, however there is a time difference between where support is located and where we the users are located.

June 2017

Luda from Kasian Architecture Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Useful product for engineering and construction companies.

Time saving, reporting, clarity of documents flow.

Pros

Time-saving, flexibility to work anywhere just need an internet connection, data flow between documents. Searching and documents filing. Reporting. Ability to build companies including all fixtures (electronic signatures, company logo etc.). Predefined emails subscriptions. EXCELLENT HELPDESK SUPPORT!

Cons

Only one thing I would love to have is its contract title indicated in the body of financial documents. We are awaiting Onware 9 to provide the ability to create own documents layout if required. Hope the fixture will be captured.

July 2017

Henry from City of Edmonton.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Accurate and reliable information and processes.

Consistent project digital filing, for project data. Cross project reporting on similar types of projects.

Pros

Easy of use, accessible within WiFi range. As an administrator access to view, other project user groups, to determine status of processes, on site and live. Easy report generation for financial and reason code reports.

Cons

Frequent updates. Password set up for new project and new users within a project can be a little labour intensive, if project have multiple turn over of personnel - longer term project -+30 month projects.

October 2017

Ken from HFKS Architects Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Aids in managing documentation and tasks. Helps speed up the process of Change Management.

Generally saves time when processing a Change once the CCN/PCO/NOC has been issued and reduces errors in copying of information between documents. Central archive and auditing is quite handy.

Pros

Document control with task assignments. Central location for all contact information including auditing and reporting

Cons

Not all contractors, Owners, or consultants embrace the use of Onware which in turn creates more work administratively. Seemingly simple but at times challenging set up of email subscriptions.

June 2017

Phil from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

The software is intuitive and everything is easily to search for things.

Pros

It is a very effective database for project communications and document controller. The web based software allows all project participants to have access and up to the minute love project information.

Cons

The software is setup to restrict access and modifications to items that have already been issued which while great for auditing document trails, it causes grief trying to fix/revise a document that has been issued with a error or missing attachment.

January 2017

Dale from KENNEDY

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Looking Forward to an Even Better Experience

I have been using Onware since version 7 and it has made my life as a contract administrator very manageable. As the team lead for the CA Team at KENNEDY I wouldn't want to try to handle all of our projects any other way. I'm looking forward to all the new features in version 9.

Pros

-Control of documentation for projects -Configurability -Collaborative nature of software

Cons

Some of the features and interfaces were not intuitive but that appears to have been resolved in version 9.

July 2017

Amy from Kennedy Architecture

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

a platform for communication

Correct construction documentation.

Pros

It's makes the construction documentation traceable, and keeps the communication continuous relate to specific subject.

Cons

It's difficult to search information, like a project list for someone. Word editing function need to be improved. It's not functional when making a site visit report, first it's too slow, second, it's not easy to have word and picture together.

June 2017

Miranda from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

Overall, great software for all documentation.

Pros

Easy to learn and to use. Great for time tracking of all items, and audit feature to determine what happened to missing pieces. Awesome customer assistance.

Cons

Contractors have too much access to documents that have not been issued to them. They should not see documents that are only initiated or RFI responses that have not been returned to them, as this causes a lot of confusion.

June 2017

Verness from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

At first it seemed very difficult to use; however, the more I used it, the easier it was to use.

Pros

Having an archive of data, especially shop drawings have been a god-send. Archived information is costly and being able to find archived information is extremely useful for any project. It is also helpful to have the information available without having to recall `backups, restore or search using old `methods.

Cons

Rollouts always present unique problems...better user communication would be helpful at the `grass roots level. I understand that this is more a company issue perhaps than a more high-level issue. The last big roll out, I believe went so much better. I am slowly transitioning out, so I was not as involved with Onware this time around...but when I got my new log on credentials, etc...it was pretty seamless.

December 2018

Celine from HFKS Architects Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Construction documentation management

Once you learn how to use it, it's quicker to process our massive amounts of documentation.

Pros

No need to format forms, just write in the fields and Onware generates the forms

Cons

When writing minutes, the new task button and Select an Action field remain at the top of the page. It would be fantastic if it would slide down the page as the tasks get added.

June 2017

John from Kasian Architecture Interior Design and Planning Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Onware has streamlined the process for the whole construction administration team.

The software enables me to keep track of documents and status. I know who is responsible and how long they have had it.

Pros

I like how Onware links documents together, tracks documents status, and keeps things from falling through the cracks.

Cons

I am not satisfied with the document viewer, and markup window. I find it to small and difficult to work with.

June 2017

Tannis from Dialog

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Good training available if needed. Updates are rolled out with a small training session.

Pros

All project related information is in one place and allows all users access at the same time. Can be accessed with an iphone from site.

Cons

Sometimes errors are generated and there is no explanation, or proposed fix. When doing a review/comment you can't even escape the screen until the program decides it needs to exit.

June 2017

Sharon from IBI Group

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Being new to the industry, I have found Onware to be very easy to use.

Pros

The Alerts informing me my action is required without have to check all the documents. The ability to track the status is of the various documents pretty much at a glance.

Cons

I find it frustrating at times to not be able to see/print all the linked documents, without having to drill down into the various documents.

January 2019

Rod from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

DIALOG ONWARE

Overall satisfied, been using it for the last five years.

Pros

the fact that its a database for all current and previous projects. Its a great tool

Cons

The fact that some clients/users have a really hard time getting used to it. Reporting could be better.

June 2017

Dieter from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

My experience with the product has been very successful and satisfying for the work I do.

Pros

The ease in which I can flip from one document to another is very convenient and quick, also like the page layout.

Cons

Having to refresh the document I'm working in after I save it, before I can continue to work in that document.

June 2017

Stephen from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

Overall experience is satisfactory

Pros

Customer support is excellent. I've always gotten a response back. Overall experience is satisfactory

Cons

1. Sometimes when writing reports, the formatting can be glitchy. For example, let say I wrote a report (report #1) where I pasted photos/pictures into the body of the text rather than attaching it as an image. Reason for this is that if the image is attached, the thumbnail that shows up on the report is too small and contractors can't see it. They usually take hard copies to site, not an electronic copy that enables them to download the photos. Then let say I start up report #2 and I import items form report #1 into it. I won't be able to delete any items on report 2 that had pictures associated with it in report 1. 2. Please allow for strike throughs of text to show up in report. Currently if I do a strike through of text in report, the strike through will not show up after it is PDF'd

June 2017

Brad from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

I wouldn't conduct contract admin any other way. Onware makes the process easier in so many ways.

Pros

All parties have access to the same information. Communication is streamlined. Less saving to hard drive required.

June 2017

Matthew from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

I've been using this software daily for the last couple years.

It's thorough and keeps a good record; however; Contractors and Owners struggle to use it easliy

Pros

I can use it from work, home and site. You improved the ability to link all documents types. WE also like the ability to have the info for years after the project

Cons

It does not have document control (drawings and spec sections) during the CA stage. These should be added ASAP to compete with Newforma. You also need to add a search feature which searches: SI, PCN, RFI, CO for keywords at once. We often struggle to find a communication and are unsure all forms it was sent within.

July 2017

Elizabeth from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2017

At times I get frustrated due to "bugs" but overall I like using Onware.

Pros

I like the efficiency of Onware and how easily you can link documents from beginning to final change order.

Cons

I don't like the many steps signing-in to Onware. I also don't like some of the reports as they don't provide enough information ie. Changes Report not having the Prices. Also I don't like that a Change Order which encompasses several PCNs, the documents are not grouped together with the corresponding PCN and I have to spend time sorting all the documents out.

June 2017

Elena from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Onware is a great web-based application for CA work. Once you trained it is simple and user-friendly

Pros

Makes Contract Administration work easier, faster, good templates, great features to share with the teams.

Cons

Sometimes, it's difficult to understand the steps that need to be made in order to fulfill a task. But with experience, no problem.

June 2017

Alen from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

Still lots of bugs in the new version.

Pros

The ability to customize my home page. There aren't enough pros to fill 100 characters. Not sure why you would create this with a minimum requirement.

Cons

It takes way to many steps to get to the pertinent information. The Action Items not changing when they have been revised after they are already red is a pain. I get a lot of push back from contractors and owners about it being awkward and clumsy.

June 2017

Robert from DIALOG

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

My Construction Administrator uses mostly, I have a support role only as PM.

Pros

1. Better user interface - New version easier to see various menus. Mostly I am in overall PM role and not CA

Cons

1. Better interface/operability with other Contract Management software, such as Procore etc. For example, Contractor inputs into Procore, we then input into Onware. So responsibility for work rests with an agreement between two parties. Sometimes we get the lion's share of the work, simply because the contractor doesn't want to use our system. 2. Log in sequence could be streamlined. DASH to Onware login, to Microsoft online work or school, then input password. Why can't we just go to one page and log-in? 3. Text editing easier to cut and paste from Microsoft WORD. 4. Submittals drop down menu. Words are on top of each other.

June 2017

NIkki from Stantec

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2017

Good, but could be better

Pros

It is fairly easy to use. I like that if you are unsure you are able to look at the manual and figure out quite easily.

Cons

I hate the fact that the members on any project do not have even access to see who is on the project. People on the project should have access to more things, since the Administrator would need to add themselves to all the projects in order to change any settings the members are requesting. Very inconvenient.

March 2017

Adam from Clark Builders

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2017

Onware Review

I don't feel that it is a user friendly system. It is challenging for subcontractors to use and they tend to make multiple submittals that cannot be deleted which makes the logs confusing.

Pros

I like that all actions are date stamped which helps in identifying who may be holding up a submittal.

Cons

I don't like that if you make a mistake on submitting something, like numbering or division, you cannot go back and change it.

June 2017

alana from Kennedy

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Onware has made contract administration in our office so much easier

Pros

The tracking of all issued site documents and the ability to see who has reviewed it, etc. Also the ability to issue review requests to different consultants, contractors, etc.

Cons

My username and password just stopped working for some reason. The only fix I've found was to create a new account.

March 2017

Miriam from GWA

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Nice new look. A couple small hiccups.

I like the new colours and layout. I don't like the timestamp which causes issue for me when I issue CFPs not in sequence. Taxes always calculate wrong.

April 2017

Christian from Manshield Construction Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2017

AGH Onware review

I've used other web based project admin/construction software and find Onware, not very intuitive or simplistic where it should be.

Cons

The repetition in moving around and how difficult it is to go to a module you are trying to use. Seems like there is only one way to go to a module and not by a Tab system.

March 2017

Eric from Clark Builders

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Satisfied Onware User

I have been using Onware on my last two projects and it has been a great tool for the entire project team. The software itself is very user friendly, and I found it very easy to pick up, and also trouble shoot problems any trades/ consultants may have.