Onware Software Reviews

Onware Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.13

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4


Pros and Cons

  • icon"You improved the ability to link all documents types. WE also like the ability to have the info for years after the project."
  • icon"Great for time tracking of all items, and audit feature to determine what happened to missing pieces. Awesome customer assistance."
  • icon"Makes Contract Administration work easier, faster, good templates, great features to share with the teams."
  • icon"Currently if I do a strike through of text in report, the strike through will not show up after it is PDF'd."
  • icon"The fact that some clients/users have a really hard time getting used to it."
  • icon"I hate the fact that the members on any project do not have even access to see who is on the project."

Have you used Onware and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Onware Reviews

1-25 of 41 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Margaret

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Onware Review

Excellent experience with Onware and support from Onware. There is significant time dedicated to teaching how the software works, how to organize documents and provide support when needed.

Pros

Onware is easy to use and helpful in document management.

Cons

I would want option of assigning RFI's and Submittal to disciplines and/or to people. When creating revisions to Changes or SI's I would want to be able to create a copy of original Change or SI including text and attachments. This would reduce the copy and paste required to duplicate text.

Reasons for choosing Onware

I did not choose Onware but I have used other document management software in the past and from my experience Onware is the most intuitive, easy to use and to navigate. It is user friendly.

Response from Onware

Thank you for the glowing review, Margaret, and appreciate your feedback on areas of improvement! With respect to your copy comment, this is possible! Feel free to review this functionality in our Users Guide, or call our Help Desk to inquire further.

Replied June 2021

Alexis

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2020

Onware Review

A bit tricky to get the hang of at first, but is important to keeping a project organized and on track.

Pros

organization of project documents, timelines for tasks clear, outstanding items clear

Cons

difficult to navigate, can’t customize very well, “package” feature for only some types of documents, Progress Claim input process (contractor likes to input by each months progress vs updated project complete amount – this could be an auto updating number/check), multiple progress claims per month (if a client wants to bill main contract and change orders as separate PC numbers), terminology sometimes confusing (next step not always clear, Example for a Change – button could be “next step” and a pdf view of what the document currently looks like, and then asks for the next step such as do you want to do a consultant rec, issue for pricing, issue for change order). Each type of document page looks different (i.e. RFI page looks different than the Change/CO pages), no ability to customize what is visible (such as under Changes main page, to show/hide columns or move them left/right), customize settings by project (add client logos, project logo, colors, etc.) to be visibly different, Show/hide New tab on main page, Clear off action items.

Response from Onware

Thank you Alexis for sharing your review. Your feedback will help our team's decision for future development. As an example, we received positive feedback on "package" and "email package" features and decided to implement these across all documents in our most recent version. We will contact you directly to discuss in detail how we can help you better.

Replied April 2020

Rosemary

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

September 2018

A software program that many Engineers and Architects dislike

There are many more features within this program that my colleagues, consultants (Engineers of many disciplines) do not like that there is no room to express it's pitfall. This program was created by those I believe working at the University of Alberta, who in my opinion do not have the full depth of the contract administration process. The program they have created is a small window of what they understand in the construction and architectural industry.

Pros

That it is a cloud-based program that you can log in to online.

Cons

The linked documents is an annoying features in that if you pdf a document such as a quote or change order, it shows up on the document as "attachments" which are not attached to the pdf document. The link is very sensitive, if you hover near the link a new window opens up. RFI: If you are a contract administrator, sometimes you are not always notified via email when a consultant has responded. But before that, the notification does not indicate if the RFI has been sent to the consultant for review or not. The worst is if you pdf the entire RFI with the responses for your files, it can be an unneccsarily 2+ pages long because of poor formatting features from the developer. This features applies to shop drawings as well. Change Notices: has field boxes to write out in to generate forms. However this is not always a good idea as contract administrators have our forms with the legal description and fine print. So in turn we have to attach our own forms on top of copy and pasting the verbiage in the field boxes. This creates double the work and when all pdf'd together, creates more paperwork for the contractor and client. Email notifications: serve little information as to what the notification is in regards to. Submittals: The use of the word "Conforms as Noted" is not a widely used term in the construction industry. Typically it is Reviewed as Noted, Reviewed, Revise and Resubmit, Rejected, Not Reviewed, Information only, Records only - most of these terms are not used.

Peter

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2017

We have been users of this software for the past 5 years, its ease of use is it's key selling point

The use of this software package eliminates duplication of parallel document tracking that previously occurred with conventional documentation processing. This tracking process is now updated in real time as a function of the database software.

Pros

We utilize and access this software during Construction Progress Meetings from applicable sites. Having the software accessible with real time updates and universal web access through site infrastructure is invaluable.

Cons

I find it inconvienient to not be able to see/print all the linked documents, without having to drill down into the various documents and print hard copies or create a compiled PDF. We have identified this shortcoming to the software in the past, and were advised that this function would be added in future updates. Hopefully, the next update will include this requested function.

Christine

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2017

Overall my experience is good.

Pros

Documents stored in one location and tracking of each document is barred none the best reason for Onware. The favorites buttons are useful. Customizing our own forms is amazing! Although this doesn't pertain to software, Onware help support is excellent.

Cons

Main menu in v9, in my opinion, is not helpful anymore, I find it confusing. I preferred the previous straightforward main menu that captured my 'to do list'. I dislike the viewer screen and not having the capability to copy text from a previously issued document. New users have a difficult time setting up their account and I'm not familiar with the steps they require to go through therefore I cannot assist them. Many non-internal Onware users are just waiting for an excuse not to use Onware.

Tatjana

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2020

Great

For big projects this is the go tool definitly. My experience with this product is nothing but great. Streamlined documentation communication records....

Pros

Easy to use, transparancy, connect the team that works on the project

Cons

I would like to be able to mark up document without downloading it to my PC and returning it back. But this is just as possible improvement. No cons really.

Response from Onware

Hi Tatjana, We're delighted to hear that your experience using Onware is nothing but great! By the way, did you know that we do have integration with Bluebeam which will allow you to create and join Studio sessions, mark up drawings and retrieve the final document, all without leaving Onware? I will be glad to give you more details about our integration and walk you through the setup. You can also visit our website for additional information about our integrations. https://onware.com/contract-administration-software/integrations/#bluebeam Again, thanks for your review. Cheers!

Replied April 2020

Steve

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2017

I find the system useful and easy to find stuff when the user submits it properly

Pros

Keeps everything under one roof. Can send large files in one issuances compared to through email. Works best if contractors use it as well.

Cons

Contractors are not willing to change from their system to ours. Makes us have to enter the things we receive from them as they won't do it. When returning submittals back when they are revise and resubmit, we keep them open to keep a record of upcoming revisions we should be getting. Although it just says open in Onware and counts against us as not done yet even though we are waiting on a revision from the contractor. A button for return and aviating a revision would be nice as we only have issue or return.

George

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2017

Learning the use of the modules was an issue as it was not always as intuitive as expected

As a large design, it provides a secure file/data storage system, that is auditable and accessible from anywhere.

Pros

The ease of sending out communications is less time consuming then the standard paper/ email work route. Having the ability to produce reports out of each module is very helpful. Having all contract administration documentation stored in one location and being accessible online, from anywhere, is very helpful.

Cons

It can be difficult to persuade contractors and other consultants to use the program, as they usually have their own software they are using. An interface with 'other' common management software would be a great asset. Better utube learning videos would be helpful. More intuitive interface/documentation would be helpful. Ability to customize report outputs would be helpful.

Matthew

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2017

The new Onware has a few kinks, but overall is much sleeker and faster than the old one.

A centralized program that is relatively easy to use (as far as proprietary software goes), that seems to be fast, and rarely experiences outages.

Pros

It's faster. Looks nicer. Things are easier to find, and descriptions of functions and buttons are better. One centralized Onware for all products is nice too, instead of each company having their own Onware.

Cons

No option to edit history items in Submittals once they've been sent, or via them individually (except the "View" option, which is a bit clunky). The "Send" button in Submittals confuses a lot of people. Maybe it should be changed to something like "Next" or "Proceed"? Just an idea.

Micheal

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2017

Takes some getting use to. Learning all the tricks & tips. But when you do, I find it very useful.

Contract Admin organization

Pros

With a good pdf editer, it's very efficient for marking up and returning shop drawings or RFI, sketches. Also, no remembering who get sent what. Process your document, shop drawing, Site Instruction, etc. and issue. With the distribution set up properly at the beginning, all who need the information, get the information.

Cons

Pull down menus and text boxes. When scrolling down in either of them, when you get to the bottom, if you go 1 click more than the last item, the pull down will close and the entire page scrolls. It needs to be set up so when in a pull down menu or text box, the it and the overall page are locked. Until you pick your choice or click outside either area, the page will not scroll away from you.

Katelyn

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

Onware Review - no more searching!

Work flow has increased! And it's wonderful knowing where each documents sits & whose hands it is sitting in. The overall experience has been positive, once we understood how the software worked and what its limitations were.

Pros

The software provides a clear work flow, with excellent document control aspects (date stamps, etc.). Interface is fairly user friendly and the linking of documents is fantastic- no more hunting for all the pieces!

Cons

The software was re-formatted to suit what our team needed, but with that came a lot of unexpected bugs/work-arounds until the next scheduled software version release, which could take a few months. There are situations when technical support is needed, however there is a time difference between where support is located and where we the users are located.

Luda

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2017

Useful product for engineering and construction companies.

Time saving, reporting, clarity of documents flow.

Pros

Time-saving, flexibility to work anywhere just need an internet connection, data flow between documents. Searching and documents filing. Reporting. Ability to build companies including all fixtures (electronic signatures, company logo etc.). Predefined emails subscriptions. EXCELLENT HELPDESK SUPPORT!

Cons

Only one thing I would love to have is its contract title indicated in the body of financial documents. We are awaiting Onware 9 to provide the ability to create own documents layout if required. Hope the fixture will be captured.

Henry

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2017

Accurate and reliable information and processes.

Consistent project digital filing, for project data. Cross project reporting on similar types of projects.

Pros

Easy of use, accessible within WiFi range. As an administrator access to view, other project user groups, to determine status of processes, on site and live. Easy report generation for financial and reason code reports.

Cons

Frequent updates. Password set up for new project and new users within a project can be a little labour intensive, if project have multiple turn over of personnel - longer term project -+30 month projects.

Peter

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

First time user review

Pros

Onware was used by our team on a $500M + multi-building, multi-phase project to manage the change management, RFI, and submittal process only. The software was easy to learn and customizable to project specifics

Cons

The submittals module did not seem to be as fluid and intuitive as other modules being used.

Response from Onware

We are delighted to hear you found our software easy to use and the flexibility of customizations met your needs. We look forward to working with you on your next project!

Replied June 2021

Ken

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

Aids in managing documentation and tasks. Helps speed up the process of Change Management.

Generally saves time when processing a Change once the CCN/PCO/NOC has been issued and reduces errors in copying of information between documents. Central archive and auditing is quite handy.

Pros

Document control with task assignments. Central location for all contact information including auditing and reporting

Cons

Not all contractors, Owners, or consultants embrace the use of Onware which in turn creates more work administratively. Seemingly simple but at times challenging set up of email subscriptions.

Phil

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2017

The software is intuitive and everything is easily to search for things.

Pros

It is a very effective database for project communications and document controller. The web based software allows all project participants to have access and up to the minute love project information.

Cons

The software is setup to restrict access and modifications to items that have already been issued which while great for auditing document trails, it causes grief trying to fix/revise a document that has been issued with a error or missing attachment.

Dale

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE