User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(8)

8

4 stars

(15)

15

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I like the flexibility of the product. The number of group codes allows lots of options. The integration of cost and schedule is nice. "

  • "The software support is great and I enjoy working with the Ares team. The software is accurate and ideal for total control over large projects. "

  • "Easily adjustable on the fly. Changes can be easily implemented."

  • Cons

  • "The standard reports could look a little more current. Some of the dashboard options in the standard cost module would be great."

  • "- constraints on some functionality/tools - time consuming input/export - interfaces with Primavera, SAP to be further improved"

  • "I don't know everything the software has to offer and it can be frustrating sometimes, I am working on improving my knowledge "

Browse ARES PRISM Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -26 of 24 results

October 2019

Fred from Laing O'Rourke

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

PRISM - Oct-2019

For the first time in our organization we managed to drop all excel sheets and use one solution that caters for all business needs. Reporting accuracy has increased noticeably, and time to generate reports has dropped drastically which in turn gave our users the time to do what is more important in their jobs.

Pros

- Ease of use, PRISM is user-friendly and allow flexible import/export functionality, plus a lot of utilities that caters for bulk updates. - Comprehensive Project Controls Capability and features, PRISM is a one stop shop, you don't need to look for additional systems to cover gaps, because there isn't any. - Fully Integrated solution, All modules talk to each other very efficiently, no need to worry about external integrations. - Excellent Support team, Experienced and responsive team that resolves issues promptly.

Cons

- Reporting features, PRISM standard reports are good but a bit difficult to customize.

Reasons for Choosing ARES PRISM

Capabilities, Price, and Ease of setup and implementation.

October 2019

Diane from Turner and Townsend Larkspur

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

What I like about Classic and G2

Pros

Very easy to setup. The clients I support want different things, so the setup has to be flexible

Cons

not always easy to get support on a question

Reasons for Choosing ARES PRISM

the cost was less and the familiarity I have with Classic and G2. I don't have the time to reinvent a cost system for new clients.

May 2017

Sam from Project Time and Cost

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2017

80's/90's Graphics

Not happy yet, primarily to cludgy reports.

Pros

Use of Excel to update via imports and exports Wide variety of canned reports and processes (includes change control, trends)

Cons

Canned 80's/90's style reports that cannot be modified. Can't copy an existing report to modify and make another report. Executive Summary reports do not format correctly. S-Curve /Histogram has errors on progress (group that has not started yet shows progress. Technical Support not consistent. Dashboard is not included.

September 2017

Brian from Anadarko Petroleum Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Great cost control software with instant budget and schedule integration

There are many benefits to using the software. I like the enterprise reporting capability where multiple cost engineers can be managing projects in the system and that data can be combined at the program level. As a cost engineer, financial analyst, or project manager, there are few tools that can match G2 out of the box. There are definitely some competitors who offer products that can be tailored more to a specific business, but the amount of time and money that is required for the customization is very expensive. G2 is great for anyone who is converting from spreadsheets to a more structured platform.

Pros

The things I like most about G2 is that it is ready to go out of the box. G2 provides enough structure for you to start using it immediately, but also offers the ability to customize to many different business needs. G2 can be used at a project or program level to manage projects from a few million to several billion dollars. Some other benefits are that you can quickly setup the software to integrate with SAP, load actuals, and see your EAC quickly in both tabular and graphical form. You can select your physical progress method to obtain both calculated and independent EAC's. Integrating the software with Primavera is also very easy by creating a cross-reference utilizing G2's built in utilities. The same can be done to map your estimate to control accounts so that you have a common element at the level which the project is managed. There are a good amount of standard reports are available and the system also has a report writer available. When starting a new project, I immediately go to G2. I like the fact that reporting periods are locked down once closed out and forecasts can be obtained easily. The system also allows you to process accruals in a couple of different ways and allows the tracking of both actuals and incurred. Great software that I will continue to use for many years!

Cons

There are a good amount of standard reports available, but if using the report writer, some time is required to learn.

October 2017

Kyle from Royal Dutch Shell

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2017

PRISM G2's database is comprehensive and meets our needs

Standardized way of implementing projects and standardized reports.

Pros

Bulk importing/updating data via excel is very powerful. I also like the flexible coding structures and user defined fields that allow for tracking additional data. Between these 2 I've been able to satisfy all requirements for project cost reporting for several different business units. It has supported all our data requests to date and aided in our Enterprise reporting. This was helped along by us being able to link our Enterprise Analytics tool Spotfire to PRISM G2 for Enterprise reporting.

Cons

In my opinion PRISM should have a web interface for managing changes. Changes should be distributed and Reviewed/Approved using email and web links and the change documents should be available from the web page. The reports are flexible by utilizing the coding structures however they are getting outdated and static. This is why we replaced most of the PRISM reports with Spotfire dashboards. They are interactive and more flexible.

August 2019

Oscar from AECOM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

A good option to manage project cost data and reporting

ARES PRISM is a great tool for any project controls team who wants to elevate the way Cost and Performance Reports are presented to the client. It is a good tool to really manage large amount of data to focus on key aspect of Project Controls: performance, change management, forecast.

Pros

PRISM offers a good set of functionalities to manage cost, progress and change in almost any type of project. Standard reports are easy to read and data can be summarized and grouped for cleaner presentation. Data analysis for forecast is simpler than using any spreadsheet. Customer Service is very good.

Cons

We still face some software glitches in certain views and when running calculations/reports. User Manuals should be better developed for more complex functionalities, eg. Staffing Plans, Indirect Costs, etc. Despite our Customer Experience is very satisfactory, there are few improvements and fixes that have been around for a while with no effective response from the development team.

October 2019

Ed from Turner & Townsend

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

A very good product

very good

Pros

- user friendly (broadly speaking) - quick learning curve - easy implementation

Cons

- constraints on some functionality/tools - time consuming input/export - interfaces with Primavera, SAP to be further improved

Reasons for Choosing ARES PRISM

see pros above

September 2019

Anja from Turner & Townsend

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Ares PRISM software Event& Review

Since arriving in Australia, I am much more involved with Ares PRISM than ever before. The team's engagement and support is fantastic and they go out of their way to provide the best support possible. The software upgrade and enhancements are amazing and it is nice to know that Ares take note of what their users suggest or struggle with.

Pros

The software support is great and I enjoy working with the Ares team. The software is accurate and ideal for total control over large projects.

Cons

I don't know everything the software has to offer and it can be frustrating sometimes, I am working on improving my knowledge

September 2019

Rik from Santos

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Great cost management tool

Support was awesome during initial roll out. Needed some custom webforms developed and that process has been very professional and fit for purpose.

Pros

CAPEX, OPEX, Project, Program, Portfolio...doesn't matter. I've proven PrismG2 can do it all.

Cons

Limited fields for Finance Import. No Actenum (scheduling tool) integration - should be ahead of the curve and be aware that Actenum will be big in Oil & Gas.

September 2019

Patrick from CNRL

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Old user

Pros

Flexibility, upload\export capabilities,

Cons

Report writer functionality complicated to use.

September 2017

Chris from Stellar Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

I have had experience with the PRISM software products since 1996, my level is expert.

Reduced effort in managing the monthly reporting process, reduced duplicate work, reduced effort spent finding mistakes in the multiple systems we used. ROI was realized quickly. Baseline can be established quickly allowing the monthly reporting and trending processes to begin sooner in the project cycle. Ability to establish a baseline while the other systems (schedule & estimate) are being fine tuned. The change management features save time on the project and allow changes to be incorporated very quickly!

Pros

It's ready to go on Day 1, you can actually load data and start configuration immediately and develop a PMB very quickly. I've used on Mining, O&G, Energy, Land Development, Rail, Airports, Government EVMS required projects, and even IT projects and PRISM has always met my program' / projects' needs. If there is a gap, the ARES team works to understand the requirement and close the gap. The ROI was quick as the implementation and training cost were fare less than other tools on the market. The system has many reports to analyze a programs performance if tracking unit rates, quantities or just contract and subcontract values. It's easy to get data into and out of the system and doesn't require complex work flows.

Cons

The on-screen analytics can be improved. All analytics run through reports or from the Dashboard system. It has taken us a long time to get service packs to fix technical issues in the past. It's seems to be getting better. Most issues were addressed with simple work-a-rounds luckily.

September 2017

Gary from RTD (Jacobs)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

PRISM G2 has been an integral part of our PC tool box helping to deliver 6+B of transit expansion

This product helped my client manage a multi billion, 10+ year Transit Expansion Program in the Denver Metro area. The transit agency's budget, cost and contracts systems were hampered by limitations that would not support long-term projects. PRISM (PPM thru G2) was implemented to remedy these issues.

Pros

ARES has listened to the industry and has adopted necessary functionality to help project teams deliver on time and to budget. The system adapts will to varying project delivery scenarios and will work for contractors as well as big program level conditions. From scoping/budget development, through implementation, change management, funds tracking/control, schedule interface, all the bases are covered. Really solid product.

Cons

Long time user of PRISM PPM, so there was some "look" and "feel" adjustments to make. All good in the end. Data cut-over from old system wasn't an issue. Minor bugs have been worked out during early G2 version release(s), but this is typical of any software roll out.

August 2017

Dean from LoadSpring

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

The Prism G2 is an off-the shelf solution that provided quick time to value for organizations

Pros

Deployment time, total cost of ownership and support. The depth of the functionality and it's ability to integrate with other 3rd party applications like estimating via an excel plug-in were easy to use

Cons

At the time (3 years ago) there could have been more reports available. I hear they have solved this through their BI solution.

September 2019

Michael from AECOM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Great

It’s been a challenge to convert from MPM but not nice you get some experience it gets better.

Pros

Easily adjustable on the fly. Changes can be easily implemented.

Cons

We have to use a lot of workarounds for ODC.

Reasons for Choosing ARES PRISM

Our company already had the product on other products.

September 2017

Romeo from Ausenco

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Great Cost Management and Earned Value Management, software

Pros

Good interface between Cost Module, engineering module, Schedule, change management. Easy to follow. Useful report, for management and project leads.

Cons

As you go along, there are minor bugs, though there are work around, it is inconvenient. The report writer capability is not what I expect. I expect that it can do report the way a Crystal report writer. The report writer is very limited or basic,

October 2019

Luc from Luc Vandamme Expert Consulting Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Excellent project controls software

The implementation went very well and the user base is growing in the company. The development team at Ares was very helpful, enabling us to complete the initial implementation on time (about a year) and on budget. Integration with our existing systems was a must, and it is working as designed.

Pros

Relatively ease to configure to one’s needs

Cons

Not yet a true cloud solution on its own.

Reasons for Choosing ARES PRISM

Configurability (truly out-of-the-box solution), features, reputation

September 2019

Jacqui from Aecom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Great Flexibility

Pros

I like the flexibility of the product. The number of group codes allows lots of options. The integration of cost and schedule is nice.

Cons

The standard reports could look a little more current. Some of the dashboard options in the standard cost module would be great.

October 2019

Per from Newmont Mining Corp

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Ares PRISM

I have been using or involved administratively with PRISM for almost 18 years. I believe it is still the application to beat.

Pros

Adaptability to various WBS strings, ease of use, quick to learn/teach

Cons

The Reporting functionality and presentation. It is much better now.

September 2019

Jaclyn from AECOM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Decent

Pros

Pretty simple to use and work thru for the most part

Cons

Just my own personal lack of knowledge .

October 2019

Kshitij from Vale

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Good Product

Amazing , love it

Pros

Ease of use and web based, cost management module and integrator

Cons

Inability to incur AI & Automation as a trend in new market

October 2018

Daniel from PSY

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Best statistics lab for sciencists

Great to use

Pros

Once you know how to use the software. Data analysis becomes easy

Cons

Needs videos tutorials. The booklet is not enough to use

September 2017

Duncan from Duncan Finnigan Consulting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Six years of managing the sales and deployment of all PRISM G2 versions since its inception.

Using PRISM G2 provided significant improvements in project execution.

Pros

PRISM G2 is a fast, very thorough and easy to implement integrated software solution for multiple project management project controls applications.

Cons

There are no negative comments about the PRISM G2 project controls software suite to report. However, the solution suite would be enhanced if it included a Health and Safety Management module.

September 2016

Kobus from WorleyParsons RSA

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

PRISMG2 Used for Successful Management of Billion $ Project

Reduce project cost and schedule overruns with KPIs Simplify month-end progress and status reporting Eliminate spreadsheets and have confidence in your data Decrease project management overhead costs Optimize cash flow to increase profitability Eliminate project risks by aligning budgeted cost and schedule Integrate with Oracle® Primavera P6, Microsoft® Project Develop time-phased budgets and eliminate the need for cost loaded schedules Forecast cost, schedule, resources to completion

September 2019

Femi from Praetorian

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Prism for Construction Management

Pros

Customized reports, robustness, flexibility

Cons

Nothing in particular. Prism fulfills our project needs.