ProEst Software Reviews

ProEst Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

3.63

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer Support

3.5

Value for money

3.5

Functionality

3.5

  • icon"Proest has a inbuilt database and also you can create your own database so that you can use this again and again for your estimation in one click. This software is very friendly and easy to use."
  • icon"Ability to create a custom database and can be used to consistently produce quick estimates. I love the onscreen take off."
  • icon"Its easy to use estimating software and saves our time in creating a price proposal to several customers of our company and easily keep track those at one place."
  • icon"Terrible schedule program; visually unable to have clients and vendors understand it."
  • icon"If the scale is metric you are forced to use metric takeoff numbers - it's the little things that make you fiddle around & waste a lot of time. This product feels unfinished - not 40 yrs old."
  • icon"Although the layout is similar, manipulating columns,rows and data is different."

Browse all ProEst Reviews

  • Have you used ProEst and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 50 reviews

User Profile

Jon

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2021

ProEst is a Pro Software

Pros

The most impactful features in ProEst are the formula variables and algorithmic equations you can used to rate your own assemblies. This allows the user to essentially create their own take off software within ProEst. Customization is amazing!

Cons

ProEst is cloud based. This means you can not use the program while offline; this may not be a problem to most people, however if you do not have internet or would like to work without an internet - you cant.

Brian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

iICON Const Procore Revirew

Overall experience - I would rate the product 8 of of 10 for user capabilities. The scheduling program lacks tremendously; the estimating and couple other modules are completely unused, otherwise very capable program for managing vendors and clients. One of the better systems I have used (JE Edwards, Sage, Premivera, ect)

Pros

Vendor management, budgets, change events, change management, cost integration, document management, submittal processes, RFI processes

Cons

1, excessive separate modules rather than single page options as was 2017 version 2, lacks home page full client contact, lists only project info not people or their contact info 3, excessive message 404 errors and too much downtime on system 4, terrible schedule program; visually unable to have clients and vendors understand it

Reasons for choosing ProEst

Modules were more capable then other programs plus came with virtual training

Response from ProEst

Thank you, Brian, for taking the time to review ProEst! We appreciate your feedback.

Replied October 2020

Sandeep

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2020

ProEst Review

ok

Pros

I can keep all my quotes at one place and easy to use.

Cons

There are so many things to improve. They can do lot with it. I have already suggested them a lot to change. I want them to make it like excel format.

Reasons for choosing ProEst

We liked it beacause we can integrate ProEST with our accounting software Foundation.

Response from ProEst

Thank you, Sandeep, for taking the time to review ProEst! We're happy to hear that you've found our platform easy to use. We understand that switching from Excel to estimating software can be an adjustment, but we hope that you've found ProEst to be a more streamlined and accurate solution for your company.

Replied January 2021

Israel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2016

ProEst Review

My company has recently purchased the Enterprise Version of ProEst. We have only started learning the system but have so far been very impressed with the functionality, ease of use and product value. The ability to do digital takeoff straight from the program, as well as the flexibility to edit / modify just about every piece of information on the system gives it an advantage to other programs i have used.

Pros

This is by far the easiest estimating program i have used thus far. Other pros include - Flexibility to edit almost everything; the large cache of report templates; the large database and pre-built assemblies; the built in digital takeoff; the bid day summary to use for sub-contractor bid tabulation

Cons

The preset costs are very generic (i.e. labor costs) - for large projects with heavy labor, this could throw off the labor estimate. In addition, the digital takeoff module, albeit very handy, is somewhat limited. It would be nice to have more flexibility to manually manipulate takeoffs, even after associating it with a digital takeoff. It would also be nice to be able to switch between different forms of measurement, right now you are only limited to the unit of measure determined by the line item for which you are taking off.

LEANDREW

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2021

Daily User

Pros

Proposal Writting is made easy and summary reports.

Cons

Learning curve when first using this software. some features from ProEst did not transfer to the cloud version.

Response from ProEst

Thanks, LeAndrew, for taking the time to share your thoughts with us! We're happy to hear that ProEst has made proposal writing and reporting easy.

Replied January 2021

Steve

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2022

Do not purchase this system unless they fix it, it is horribly slow

The software started off ok, I liked using it but they have done something and it is the slowest estimating system I have ever used now. If you need your days to be productive and don't want to watch wheels spin while it thinks then go elsewhere for your software needs. If you want to see a video of me opening a big job and what you can expect from ProEst. E-mail me at slowsystem1@gmail.com. I would guess my video will be different then the demo they will show you. but my video is reality

Pros

I like the system when it works correctly.

Cons

It has become the slowest system that I have ever used. and the developers can't seem to figure out what's wrong I only hear we are working on it. Which doesn't help an everyday user trying to do his job

Brandon

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

June 2020

Difficult software to use and generated ZERO takeoffs for our office. We wasted nearly $6000!

If they offered a Free Trial, there is zero chance I would have purchased the software. Mid way through my ownership they rolled out the cloud based application of the software and it was garbage, lost of glitches, very slow response, etc. If they dont offer a free trial, there is no money back guarantee (not even 24 hours), etc., you should probably ask why this is their policy. Anybody can get a customer, only the best can keep them.

Pros

There was honestly nothing I liked. It was a very bad experience, not to mention lightened the company bank account by almost $6,000.

Cons

Building an assembly from scratch is so difficult that they now have someone in house that does this for their customers because its so difficult, think about that. Setting the software up on my desktops was very time consuming and took their IT guys a few attempts. Its not as simply as downloading an executable, running it, entering the serial key and off to the races. The time investment was in the hours to set up PER machine. During demo is wasnt mentioned that building assemblies required programming of formulas to build the assembly.

Reasons for switching to ProEst

The user interface is exponentially better, there is no building of formulas yourself to build an assembly, you are able to install the software yourself and doesn't require their IT guys hours of installing and loading up your database (a lot of wasted time here), their support hours are MUCH better/longer, there is substantial amount of training videos and support available, its MUCH more user friendly and thinks like an estimator, etc. There is no comparison....at all. OST + Quick Bid is the industry standard for a reason.

Jon

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2017

Excellent Software

I was looking for a powerful software that we could use to build a system for our estimating process. ProEst was exactly what I was looking for. We are able to build a custom database that we can use to quickly and easily estimate projects with accuracy and consistency. I am very happy with my choice.

Pros

Ability to create a custom database and can be used to consistently produce quick estimates. I love the onscreen take off.

Cons

It takes a long time to set up the database, but this is to be expected with any software. It is a lot of work up front, but then makes things more efficient on the back end. I would like to see a year off free tech support included to answer question about how to use the product. Most of it is intuitive, but there are somethings I would like to do, but it takes me a while to figure out how to do them. It would have been nice to be able to pick up the phone and quickly get answers for the first year while I learned how to use all of the features.

Marty

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2022

Proest review

Pros

Implementation and training can quickly be done.

Cons

Building assemblies is very limited due to variable setup.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2018

Good if not better than other estimating software. Much competition- But very reliable

Pros

Customer service gets big marks. Once I figured out how to easily put in bids and add-ons I figured out the rest. Separating onsites and offsites is very easy

Cons

A bit much to figure out. Wish it were simpler. How to add field extras and designating the responsible department was not originally clear.

Manuel

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2015

Estimating Software build from the point of view of the contractor

Pros

The software is easy to understand and it truly meets and exceeds all of our expectation when it came time to turn in a bid . We are a building and design firm, the range of the work we bid goes from electrical, plumbing, HVAC to complete turn key. We appreciate the fact ProEst is constantly improving its functionalities and overall performance.

Cons

The issues we had over the years are the same issues we get with other software in our systems, updates sometimes fix one program but conflicts with others. Happy to said the issues were not critical nor catastrophic in our daily use of the program nor cause major delays in our bidding process.

Kirk

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

October 2020

Ok but not great.

So so.

Pros

Nothing stands out. The desktop version seemed more complete while the cloud based seems like it was rushed out, missing key features that the desktop version had. Disappointed.

Cons

Clunky, poor flow of program through estimates, reports etc. No material cost table like the desktop which is a major con. Submitted requests, never hear back from support. No updating option when exporting to accounting, a feature that was part of the desktop version.

Reasons for switching to ProEst

Not sure anymore.

Response from ProEst

Hi Kirk, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about ProEst. We're sorry to hear that you've missed some of the old features from before ProEst switched to the Cloud. We hope that our many product updates over the last several months have resolved some of your issues. We're constantly rolling out new features, but if you're still experiencing problems, please reach out to your account manager and they'll be happy to assist you.

Replied January 2021

Nate

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

May 2019

Great potential, poor execution

Our experience with ProEst started good, and went downhill quickly. The salesman attached to our account was helpful and able to demonstrate the product well, but did not fully address any limitataions of the product he was selling, even after we described our intended use case. The big red flag was, when asked to be able to trial the software for a week (or less!), they were not able to honor that request. After purchase, the support was extremely lacking from the account management positions. Our trainer was showing us basic features that were explained many times in the purchasing process, and we were able to fully configure and understand the software without their help. The reason we will not be customers of this company is due to the absolutely disconnected support and development efforts. The company prides itself on it's future roadmap (including "AI"), but when confronted with low level usability issues (lack of keyboard shortcuts, copying data) they stated "it is not a priority... could be resolved in two weeks to six months". I have never had such a poor customer experience.

Pros

Our company is transitioning from self hosted, installed software to cloud SaaS products. This is one of the few estimation softwares that is completely cloud based. The ability to route estimations through workflows, maintain a shared cost database, and produce good looking reports from the system were all high points. Even the user interface was clean and uncluttered.

Cons

The software lacks KEY features that limit it's usability. Our core issue was the inability to copy takeoff or assembly information from one page of a drawing to another. 100% of multifamily developments have shared elements between levels of the building, and to recreate these from scratch every time instead of copying them from another page wiped out all the time savings of assemblies and workflows. There is NO other estimation/ takeoff tool that lacks this functionality. Additionally, there are no keyboard shortcuts (... in 2019). This is a significant slowdown when estimating large projects.

Paul

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2020

View on PROEST

Its easy to use but, the team has to improve lot of things to this software like it should work like Microsoft Excel

Pros

Its easy to use estimating software and saves our time in creating a price proposal to several customers of our company and easily keep track those at one place.

Cons

Its not compatible with accounting software and everyday you will find some problem with print, page setup and adding line items to the proposal.

Response from ProEst

Thank you, Paul, for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear our platform has saved you time on your estimates! If you're still experiencing issues integrating with your accounting software, please reach out to our support team (https://proest.com/submit-a-support-case/) or your account manager for assistance! ProEst integrates with various accounting software, including Foundation, Acumatica, and Quickbooks, and our team should be able to help you find a solution to your problem.

Replied January 2021

Angela

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2020

ProEst Rating

This is a friendly software for estimation purpose but, they have to improve a lot and make it use like excel.

Pros

Proest has a inbuilt database and also you can create your own database so that you can use this again and again for your estimation in one click. This software is very friendly and easy to use.

Cons

Adding of line items is not possible between two line items. You have to start over if you want to add between lines . It not very much compatible with integrating accounting software like Foundation.

Response from ProEst

Hi Angela, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! We're glad to hear that you've found ProEst to be user-friendly. If you're still experiencing trouble integrating with Foundation, don't hesitate to reach out to our support team (https://proest.com/submit-a-support-case/) or your account manager.

Replied January 2021

marco

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2021

ProEst Simple experience with Options for customization

Overall ProEst has been great, easy to learn and use, and can still have many more options for customization

Pros

The fact that it is easy to customize the take-off settings and get a clear measuring tool when needed

Cons

Integration with other CRMs is a little bit more tricky.

Response from ProEst

Thank you, Marco, for taking the time to write a review! We're glad to hear you've found ProEst customizable and easy to use. If you're still experiencing issues integrating with your CRM, please reach out to our support team (https://proest.com/submit-a-support-case/) or your account manager, and they will be happy to help you find a solution.

Replied January 2021

Jason

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2020

ProEst Analysis

Its easy to use but, they have to update lot of things make it use friendly.

Pros

We can create all our proposal or quotes at one place. Easy to use.

Cons

Difficult to edit or insert line items with the created proposal. Lot of work to add Client inforamation. Print page setup is not easy.

Response from ProEst

Jason, we appreciate your feedback! We're happy to hear that ProEst has been a user-friendly solution for your estimating. We hope that recent product updates, such as the introduction of our CRM feature, have helped to make it even easier to use. If you're still experiencing difficulties, please don't hesitate to reach out to our support team at https://proest.com/submit-a-support-case/

Replied January 2021

Helen

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT