User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

3.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

3.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(6)

6

4 stars

(16)

16

3 stars

(7)

7

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Everything from start to finish can be done. A lot of different tools to use. The tech support is wonderful. "

  • "Ability to create a custom database and can be used to consistently produce quick estimates. I love the onscreen take off. "

  • "Prompt customer support - unfortunately, there wasn't much they could do about the poor operation of the software"

  • Cons

  • "Some of the items have very detailed costs items which i don't need"

  • "The user interface is cumbersome and has too many window pop ups. The system will occasionally lock out users which can be a pain."

  • "A bit much to figure out. Wish it were simpler. How to add field extras and designating the responsible department was not originally clear."

Browse ProEst Estimating Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -18 of 32 results

November 2015

Manuel from Terra Group

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2015

Estimating Software build from the point of view of the contractor

Pros

The software is easy to understand and it truly meets and exceeds all of our expectation when it came time to turn in a bid . We are a building and design firm, the range of the work we bid goes from electrical, plumbing, HVAC to complete turn key. We appreciate the fact ProEst is constantly improving its functionalities and overall performance.

Cons

The issues we had over the years are the same issues we get with other software in our systems, updates sometimes fix one program but conflicts with others. Happy to said the issues were not critical nor catastrophic in our daily use of the program nor cause major delays in our bidding process.

November 2016

Israel from Dan Carlone Construction, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2016

ProEst Review

My company has recently purchased the Enterprise Version of ProEst. We have only started learning the system but have so far been very impressed with the functionality, ease of use and product value. The ability to do digital takeoff straight from the program, as well as the flexibility to edit / modify just about every piece of information on the system gives it an advantage to other programs i have used.

Pros

This is by far the easiest estimating program i have used thus far. Other pros include - Flexibility to edit almost everything; the large cache of report templates; the large database and pre-built assemblies; the built in digital takeoff; the bid day summary to use for sub-contractor bid tabulation

Cons

The preset costs are very generic (i.e. labor costs) - for large projects with heavy labor, this could throw off the labor estimate. In addition, the digital takeoff module, albeit very handy, is somewhat limited. It would be nice to have more flexibility to manually manipulate takeoffs, even after associating it with a digital takeoff. It would also be nice to be able to switch between different forms of measurement, right now you are only limited to the unit of measure determined by the line item for which you are taking off.

May 2019

Nate from Kilbourne Construction Management

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2019

Great potential, poor execution

Our experience with ProEst started good, and went downhill quickly. The salesman attached to our account was helpful and able to demonstrate the product well, but did not fully address any limitataions of the product he was selling, even after we described our intended use case. The big red flag was, when asked to be able to trial the software for a week (or less!), they were not able to honor that request. After purchase, the support was extremely lacking from the account management positions. Our trainer was showing us basic features that were explained many times in the purchasing process, and we were able to fully configure and understand the software without their help. The reason we will not be customers of this company is due to the absolutely disconnected support and development efforts. The company prides itself on it's future roadmap (including "AI"), but when confronted with low level usability issues (lack of keyboard shortcuts, copying data) they stated "it is not a priority... could be resolved in two weeks to six months". I have never had such a poor customer experience.

Pros

Our company is transitioning from self hosted, installed software to cloud SaaS products. This is one of the few estimation softwares that is completely cloud based. The ability to route estimations through workflows, maintain a shared cost database, and produce good looking reports from the system were all high points. Even the user interface was clean and uncluttered.

Cons

The software lacks KEY features that limit it's usability. Our core issue was the inability to copy takeoff or assembly information from one page of a drawing to another. 100% of multifamily developments have shared elements between levels of the building, and to recreate these from scratch every time instead of copying them from another page wiped out all the time savings of assemblies and workflows. There is NO other estimation/ takeoff tool that lacks this functionality. Additionally, there are no keyboard shortcuts (... in 2019). This is a significant slowdown when estimating large projects.

February 2017

Jon from Brighter Tomorrow Properties

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Excellent Software

I was looking for a powerful software that we could use to build a system for our estimating process. ProEst was exactly what I was looking for. We are able to build a custom database that we can use to quickly and easily estimate projects with accuracy and consistency. I am very happy with my choice.

Pros

Ability to create a custom database and can be used to consistently produce quick estimates. I love the onscreen take off.

Cons

It takes a long time to set up the database, but this is to be expected with any software. It is a lot of work up front, but then makes things more efficient on the back end. I would like to see a year off free tech support included to answer question about how to use the product. Most of it is intuitive, but there are somethings I would like to do, but it takes me a while to figure out how to do them. It would have been nice to be able to pick up the phone and quickly get answers for the first year while I learned how to use all of the features.

April 2018

Travis from Total Concrete

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Overall good for the money

Pros

Ease of use Reporting Predefined database's to fit specific company needs Onscreen takeoff and estimating software in one Cloud or Desktop

Cons

No live tech support or chat support. Must submit a support ticket and wait for a call back. No way to change database and have it reflect on templates without updating templates individually Training is not free

June 2020

Brandon from B2 Constructors

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2020

Difficult software to use and generated ZERO takeoffs for our office. We wasted nearly $6000!

If they offered a Free Trial, there is zero chance I would have purchased the software. Mid way through my ownership they rolled out the cloud based application of the software and it was garbage, lost of glitches, very slow response, etc. If they dont offer a free trial, there is no money back guarantee (not even 24 hours), etc., you should probably ask why this is their policy. Anybody can get a customer, only the best can keep them.

Pros

There was honestly nothing I liked. It was a very bad experience, not to mention lightened the company bank account by almost $6,000.

Cons

Building an assembly from scratch is so difficult that they now have someone in house that does this for their customers because its so difficult, think about that. Setting the software up on my desktops was very time consuming and took their IT guys a few attempts. Its not as simply as downloading an executable, running it, entering the serial key and off to the races. The time investment was in the hours to set up PER machine. During demo is wasnt mentioned that building assemblies required programming of formulas to build the assembly.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Good if not better than other estimating software. Much competition- But very reliable

Pros

Customer service gets big marks. Once I figured out how to easily put in bids and add-ons I figured out the rest. Separating onsites and offsites is very easy

Cons

A bit much to figure out. Wish it were simpler. How to add field extras and designating the responsible department was not originally clear.

October 2017

Joseph from Paramount Building Construction Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Proest

Pros

Everything from start to finish can be done. A lot of different tools to use. The tech support is wonderful.

Cons

Was a little tough to learn. Pricing is a little expensive. Had to schedule training classes. I had to wait a few times for tech support to call me back.

February 2017

Seth from Ojeda Business Ventures

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Very Helpful But Not Quite Perfect

I have been using ProEst for the last year and have for the most part been very happy. The customer support has been very good. I do have one complaint which may seem petty, but it is an annoyance. The program takes a while to load and is password protected. Occasionally when trying to switch between estimates or screens I inadvertently will hit the close window button which closes the program. On bad days this can really raise your blood pressure. A are you sure you would like to exit box would be very helpful.

August 2016

Mike from Pennum Industries

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

2.5

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.5

August 2016

Support is excelent

Pros

The customer support is outstanding. Training was good.

Cons

It cannot share data bases. i.e. piping, electrical, and civil are separate files that must be added together outside the software. Add features to allow the exporting of database to other software, so it can be manipulated. Or add the tools to the software. I would like to add much of the existing excel files to the data base.

January 2017

Michael from Colmar Contracting

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2017

Decent Software for the Money

Proest is software that has a fairly steep learning curve but when mastered is pretty powerful. It requires the building of all of the assemblies that you, as a builder or subcontractor, actually need. If you buy the database of assemblies you'll at least have those to start with. Building the formulas behind the assemblies can make you want to cry. However, if you like you can use simple unit takeoffs and apply a cost to them later. Proest can be as complex or as simple as you'd like for it to be and for the money, it's a pretty good program. It takes quite a bit of time to get acclimated to it and in my opinion as a GC it makes a bit more sense as an estimating platform for a specialty building subcontractor who is self-performing all of their work...ie concrete, masonry, framing/drywall, etc. than it does for a GC but you can make it work.

Pros

Bid day function.

Cons

Steep, steep, steep learning curve.

July 2017

Dennis from Iron Mountain Demolition

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Overwhelming at first, but worth the effort to push through.

Great product. It is very overwhelming at first. However, if you push through it will be rewarding on the other side. It took me a while. I would go home frustrated and felt like we made a mistake purchasing the product. However, it eventually sunk in and now we are excited to have produced our first bid and looking forward to others.

Pros

The endless possibilities to produce what is needed. As I explore the product I expose new ways to obtain helpful information.

Cons

The product is VERY complex and takes time to understand. However, once an understanding of the product is grasped, the product becomes very helpful and decreases the time needed for an accurate bid.

July 2015

ANIEL from OAK CONSTRUCTION

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

July 2015

The software is very comprehensive

Pros

The best part about the software is the depth at which you can estimate especially with all the factors that you can take into account, whether you are using existing ones or custom ones. That, coupled with the extensive cost database makes for a solid package of available information where you can track costs not only in terms of material, labor, equipment but according to divisions, assemblies, or even at a per room level. The software provides a good deal of flexibility in being able to create and customize the data to fit your work needs.

Cons

It was surprising that it wasn't as similar to excel as I expected. Although the layout is similar, manipulating columns,rows and data is different. Once you're familiarized with the tools and order of operations for the different tasks it becomes a very useful tool.

April 2017

Clint from Fivestar Building Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

Initial walk through was well done. Purchase was easy and the turnaround was same day. Had a few problems getting installed but turned out to be my computer not the product. Six trianing courses were included in purchase so we are still going through thos

Pros

Ease of takeoffs and assemblies are plenty detailed RS Means cost data embedded in the program makes pricing/budget very easy Multiple ways to view information in reports Customer service

Cons

Install was a little tricky Missing a few assemblies I would like to have (minor issue) learning curve at the very beginning, but became very proficient after a few trial and error moments

February 2018

Beth from Lifestyle Homes

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

ProEst is OK

Our suggestions for improvement are taken seriously.

Pros

It's easy to use and the customer support is really great. The Report Center was the draw to the software (and that it's cloud based).

Cons

The report center isn't quite what it's cracked up to be. I thought we could do more with the reports, but the capabilities are rather limited.

August 2016

John from Leroy Newton Construction LLC

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

3.5

August 2016

If I could not figure out an issue they would call and get on remote s

Pros

Great support from the support team. They call you back right away and they seem to care and want to take care of any issues. They are good at explaining the program or any issues that you might have.The program is easy to use and I have never used an estimating program before this one so I know if I picked up easily anyone can. Training was top notch!

Cons

The assembly could use some reworking. There could be more assembly made as well.

June 2017

Tucker from Frontier Waterproofing, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Pro Est

I've really enjoyed getting to know the software and putting it to use for my every day estimating operations.

Pros

They have thought of everything. Every line item you can think of is included, and they can all be altered to align perfectly with your business. Customer service has been excellent as well.

Cons

You must receive training before being able to utilize all of the functions of the software. It can be rather difficult to use unless someone shows you first hand.

December 2015

Chris from BuildZig

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

2.5

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

3.0

December 2015

Efficient but kind of clunky.

Pros

ProEst is a pretty solid, and incredibly deep take off program with very helpful and responsive customer support. It makes drawing takeoffs simpler and allows multilayer markups on a single pdf, estimating and responding to RFPs is far less time consuming.

Cons

The user interface is cumbersome and has too many window pop ups. The system will occasionally lock out users which can be a pain.

August 2015

Stephen from Scraper's Edge Inc.

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

1.5

August 2015

Poor Takeoff Software

Pros

Prompt customer support - unfortunately, there wasn't much they could do about the poor operation of the software

Cons

Constant glitches in the userface. This takeoff software is not at all a polished finished product. I'm sure the Project Management integration is great, but we only needed the takeoff software, and it's been a huge letdown. Takeoff layers & text arbitrarily fall behind each other, text size can be huge or tiny & you can't change it. If the scale is metric you are forced to use metric takeoff numbers - it's the little things that make you fiddle around & waste a lot of time. This product feels unfinished - not 40 yrs old. (using a PC by the way - don't blame it on me)

January 2018

Michael from Conditioned Air, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

January 2018

Liars

They are not truthful in their abilities and they sold us a server based version which when they started training they wouldn’t give us and wanted us on the cloud which has very little functionality. Had to fight with them for a month to get the server base and they said they wouldn’t support in the near future plus they never gave us the databases that they claim to have. They are a rip off artist so avoid at all cost.

Pros

There is absolutely nothing we liked about this product or company except the sales pitch and presentation.

Cons

If you are an mep contractor this is not the software for you. They say they have their on databases but after many request they could never provide them. They wanted us to build all databases from scratch which would require a full time person about 6 to 8 months due to the number of databases you would need. They don’t listen to the customer and we finally just uninstalled the software and broke off communication with them

December 2013

C.K. from Tandem Paving Company, Inc.

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

3.5

December 2013

ProEst gives us an advantage over our competition.

Pros

The ease of use and ability to perform quick takeoffs has sped up the productivity and accuracy of our bids.

Cons

We are a Mac-based company and have been using this product via parallels on a Windows-based platform. Although we've requested they develop a Mac version, it doesn't sound like it's in their future. We will be heading in a new direction this year because running two operating systems simultaneously bogs our systems down too much and ProEst is the only reason we run Windows.

July 2016

Gregory from Rocha & Son Construction

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

ProEst gets the job done!

Pros

What I like about ProEst the most is how user-friendly the software is. I also like that the software is integrated with onscreen digital take off, and that it integrates directly to your estimate take off sheet all in the same software program. They also have good customer support.

Cons

What I don't like is that you have to pay for training. You also have to pay for custom reports. In the long run the training pays off, and if the custom report saves you time and/or money than they pay off as well.

May 2015

Justin from G Hyatt Construction

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2015

Pro Est Estimating Software is a good deal for the money

Pros

Excellent customer service. In the rare events when we have questions or issues, customer service usually returns calls within 1 hour.

Cons

Easy on screen take off. Unit prices are fairly reliable and based on RS Means data.

June 2019

Chad from ERC General Contractors

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

ProEst Estimating Review

Pros

The larger Data Base makes takeoffs easy

Cons

Material Pricing, They can't set average cost due to the every changing market.

August 2013

Milan from Independent Estimator

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2013

I've have implemented this software in the residential home building industry. By estimating the budgets for newly designed product, it has literally saved the company hundreds of thousands of dollars. The estimates proved to be so accurate, we used the numbers from the trade budgets (42 trades) to negotiate contracts in our procurement process. The trade budgets generated provided final sales pricing with gross profit margins to our exact expectations. It all about how you set-up the software.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Great software for quantity takeoffs

Pros

This tool was easy to use for quantity takeoffs. We use this tool to calculate dimensions ad areas from plans quickly and easily,

Cons

There are many other tools that offer a measuring tool plus more, while the additional capabilities of this software are limited.

August 2018

Alejandro from RIFCO LTD

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Great Software for Estimating and Controlling

Pros

The software lets you link up with a payroll/scheduling software to give you an all-around control of your estimates directly on to your projects.

Cons

It is an activity database, you have to build your database first while you're doing your estimates, you'll reach full operational capability once you have a concise database of activities that will let you speed up the estimating process.

November 2015

Hank from Buildzig

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Functionality

3.5

November 2015

Easy to Use and Quick to Learn

Pros

I liked that this software is very simple and easy, and we had free training sessions which was very useful. I also find the take off system and tools very powerful and the database is huge.

Cons

Some of the items have very detailed costs items which i don't need

September 2014

Colby from Colby Enterprises Inc

Industry: Design

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.5

September 2014

ProEst rating

Pros

I like how fast I can take off a job.

Cons

I wish there was a pan feature. I have to zoom in and out of the drawing.

January 2015

Amy from BuilderFish.com

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

1.5

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

1.0

January 2015

Many software errors.

Pros

Support is fast to reply to your requests and very friendly.

Cons

The software does not function as intuitively as it appears to in demos and training videos. There are many, many error messages, some of which cannot be resolved. I had to start over on an estimate twice due to software glitches.

Response from Jeff

Replied June 2015

It's unfortunate that they did not have a good experience but we really do not support Mac machines which were utilized by this client. A PC is really needed to best utilize ProEst and its functionality. If the client buys a PC we will gladly extend their service contract at no cost.

June 2017

Edgar from HACSJ

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Easy to use

Pros

The teacher remotely connects to the PC for one on one instruction. Great Product!

Cons

Actually finding time for the instructors to remotely connect was the hardest part. But is well worth it.

February 2017

Grant from Robbins|Reed

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2017

Did not perform they way it was sold to us

We wanted an estimating software that would be for a general contractor and therefore not so detailed. We also needed it to function with our virtual server. the sales people said it could accomplish all of these goals only to find out once we purchased it and started training that it did not do any of these things. We canceled our order after 2 weeks and they would not refund any of our fees.