What are Sage Estimating users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Sage Estimating software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.11

78 Reviews

5
29
4
29
3
17
2
0
1
3
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Ease of Use is the best thing and full customization."
  • icon"Sage has been a very good vendor. The support they've provided over many years has been great and they've done a great job with software upgrades."
  • icon"Their training sessions help onboard our designers and estimators to using Sage, and this has really helped reduce our training time."
  • icon"Quick takeoffs and estimates can be difficult."
  • icon"Database organization and lack of save/undo features. If I update a material price, will that effect everyone else."
  • icon"There is also no quick or easy undo button in case the wrong command or key is pressed."

Jump to:

Browse all Sage Estimating Reviews

  • Have you used Sage Estimating and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 78 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 78 reviews

John

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Estimate Management

Overall Sage SQL Estimating is a very stable and robustly powerful estimating tool.

Pros

One of the best things about Sage SQL Estimating is the ability to breakdown an estimate into an unbelievable number of different ways allowing both company standard breakdowns and complex bid form breakdowns at the same time. This also allows standard estimate formatting across all different divisions of our company while working together to complete very large estimates.

Cons

The two most limiting drawbacks of this software is the inability to create a specification driven takeoff system. The second drawback is the ability to error check the takeoff against a specification to make sure the entry is conforming to the specification and/or is correctly entered. Some of this can be done through assemblies, but not all of this can be done and is why this is very limited for the use of Process Piping System.

Reasons for choosing Sage Estimating

Sage SQL Estimating was the most flexible, customizable and reliable of all other products that we had reviewed. The support team at Sage has been the most responsive of all other software's that we have used over the years.

Reasons for switching to Sage Estimating

Standardization of estimate formats, breakdowns and costing.

Ray

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

My Timberline Accessment

It saves overall time in lieu of using an excel estimate.

Pros

I've used it in the past when it was simply Timberline (both DOS and Windows versions) with other companies. It is easy to use

Cons

Don't care much for the yearly cost as it seems excessive. Would like to see in lieu of monthly free webinars that cater more for new or potential buyers, webinars for how to utilize the software to its maximum potential.

Reasons for choosing Sage Estimating

Used it in the past and was comfortable with it. Less of a learning curve.

Reasons for switching to Sage Estimating

Needed something to minimize our overall production of estimates.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Tien

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Simple & Effective

Overall satisfied with SAGE products, reliable and affordable

Pros

Easy to use, friendly interface with custom view Flexible reports in multiple forms (datasheet, pdf, document, etc.) Compatible with SAGE Contractor

Cons

Too many columns, convoluted and unnecessary Material waste check box should be set as default value of CHECKED, or remove completely to avoid missed calculation on waste Need add more columns for add-on breakdown (OH&P, tax)

Susan

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Customer support

out of 5
3.5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2015

Estimating with Sage/Timberline

Pros

I know that the spreadsheet adds up correctly. This is key when it comes to bidding work. We have built our own databases, and use them quite a bit for concrete, masonry, and drywall.

Cons

Upgrades with pervasive can be cumbersome. It would be useful if the download was something that could be pushed down to users. Granted right now I am behind on my upgrades because our IT department does not like to deal with the upgrades.

Ivan

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

End User

Estimating spreadsheet is flexible, easy, and visually understandable. WBS is the best tool to organize an estimate based on project specific design, owner's needs, and estimator's methods.

Pros

Take off items and assemblies Detail Window Totals Window Easy to manipulate the estimate WBS organization Alternate option pricing

Cons

Subcontractor Grid is a mess Job Cost interphase is a mess Alternate calculation on Indirect costs need to be fixed

Reasons for choosing Sage Estimating

Elimination of human errors on formulas Interphase with Job Cost CSI master database organization

Reasons for switching to Sage Estimating

Formula human errors Lack of structure

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied June 2021

Zane

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

The Truth behind estimating

Sage allows all the estimators in the department to work similarly without everyone needing to do them exactly the same. One estimator or company may want 1 line item for windows that includes labor material and equipment. Another might want a line item for furnish while and a separate for install.

Pros

This software is easy to use. Its also been around the longest so its easy to find other estimators with familiarity with the software. Its longevity in the market has created several other software integrations. The product is secure no worry about formulas not working when its sorted a different way.

Cons

The ability and flexibility of the software is so infinite you can spend hours creating templates and short cuts that aren't even needed or actually become to in depth.

Reasons for choosing Sage Estimating

Security. Safety & Double checks. The data entered is secure. No worry about the entire estimate being corrupts because one person deleted a formula.

Tom

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

SAGE ESTIMATING IS EXCELLENT BUT eDIMENSION IS WAY LESS EFFICIENT THAN "STACK" (Other 2D Software)

Sage Estimating is great, eDimension (2d Estimating) is a dog to use compared to Stack (competitor)

Pros

Sage Estimating's Smart Assemblies; with a few keystrokes you can have a spreadsheet of takeoffs.

Cons

ETAKEOFF AND ETAKEOFF BRIDGE, there's way too much overhead if you want the quantities to transfer to Sage Estimating. Once you've used Stack (2d Estimating) you won't want to use ETAKEOFF AND BRIDGE. It's easier to generate quantities out of Stack and just type them into Sage Estimating directly. Why go though all the set up headaches and hoops every time you want to transfer quantities. *Menus are not intuitive *Can't Pan the entire Drawing, very annoying if you used software that lets you pan the entire drawing. *The variables show up as the Variable Name in Dimension, not the actual Variable name in Sage. (that can be hard to read. If you've used Stack you will know what I'm talking about.

Reasons for choosing Sage Estimating

The main reason for choosing Sage was the ability to Transfer quantities with EDimensions.

Reasons for switching to Sage Estimating

We actually were going to switch, but we haven't because Stack fixed problems that made it more worthwhile to use over eDimension. We actually paid for a second user for Stack a few months ago.

JEFF

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Best general estimating system EVER

We had 4 estimators all giving the boss spreadsheets that looked completely different, and sometimes contained major math mistakes due to users messing up formulas. Now all the estimators spreadsheets are in the same format which makes it much easier for our chief estimator to review, and they have NO math errors. You cannot mess up the Calculations in the spreadsheet, because they are done by the database engine, not in formulas that the users can mess up.

Pros

Sage Estimating brings together the best of both worlds, a database of knowledge (pricing, formulas, Assemblies) combined into a powerful spreadsheet. Databases are good for storing data, but estimators need spreadsheets to modify and review their information in. The ability to adjust groups of prices by percentages on-screen is a priceless feature, by rolling the adjustments down into the line-items.

Cons

The Digitizer was replaced with eTakeoff that required a bridge program to interface the quantities with the spreadsheet. For our needs, the method of bringing back the measured quantity directly into the quantity field on the spreadsheet was better.

Reasons for choosing Sage Estimating

Since I was a consultant for this product since 1992, no other systems were considered for the company that I am currently working for. There is no comparison to the powers of this system.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Chris

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Sage is great, Business Reseller's not so much

Read the cons carefully on who you choose to be your sales person. The product itself seems decent.

Pros

Software seems intuitive like RS Means, Bluebeam Revu, and Excel. Have not fully used the software so will adjust accordingly after use. Integration with eTakeoff is nice since hopefully it combines Bluebeam Revu and RS Means/Excel in one.

Cons

Have not fully used the product due to Sage's Business reseller Sky-Line's level of service that is subpar. Their trainer did not show up to 3 schedule training events that I was waiting for nor did Sky-Line do the install. The trainer did state that Sky-Line did not put the order in for the databases that I ordered and supposedly they put in an order for the Any Time Learning which I also never received. Initially ordered the product on 9/28/2020 and now it is 10/29/2020 with nothing to show for. Resolution was made to cancel the Sky-Line/SkyDONTCare and I will find a trainer on my own. BLUF: Try Cassell Consulting instead as he seems like a decent guy and think one can purchase the product from him instead.

Reasons for choosing Sage Estimating

Sage has the RS Means database which Procontractor told me they did but when time for implementation Gordian told me they dropped Viewpoint. Lately, from what I have heard Procontractor did just pick up RS Means data into their system.

Reasons for switching to Sage Estimating

Efficiencies in the takeoff and estimating platform hopefully.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied January 2021

John

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Bid Grid no good

Good.

Pros

The ability to make numerous alternates and locations.

Cons

The way Bid Grid works. There needs to be a way to add/remove items from the Bid Grid without having to start over every time. Very frustrating on bid day when you have multiple subs you have to re-enter. eTakeoff does not bridge to Estimating, concept of ding takeoff first before putting scope into estimate is backwards.

Reasons for choosing Sage Estimating

Value for the money.

Reasons for switching to Sage Estimating

Fewer calculation errors.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied December 2020

Tiffany

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Sage Estimating has made our Estimating department more effecient

It has been great. We have simply had to tell them what we needed and they make it happen. Support is always there. It is a great program.

Pros

I like the ease of use of all the programs. It is easy to learn. Easy to use.

Cons

The built in reports didn't really fit our company. We had to customized all of the reports.

Reasons for switching to Sage Estimating

Other program was on it's last leg.

Michael

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Fantastic Software

Excellent, I have been using this for over 25 years way back when it started as DOS as Timberline and it is the best out there

Pros

Product is very easy to use & easily manageable & changeable for your own details

Cons

It can get a bit complex at times and auto-save is both a blessing and a curse

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied June 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

It has been a heavily used piece of software, but we are probably not using it to capacity.

Pros

Assemblies. This has been the most efficient part of the software for us. Keeping track of markups and material costs are helpful.

Cons

Database organization and lack of save/undo features. If I update a material price, will that effect everyone else? It is still very confusing. The integration with CRE300 is pretty sad (Address Book and Export/Import). An undo button would really be helpful.

Robin

Time used: Free Trial

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2011

Why choose Timberline estimating over Excel or the Big Chief notepad? 1. Integration, Integration, Integration a. Dynamic link to Onscreen takeoff tools (I can be in the estimate quantity field and jump to the plans, measure the quantity while color coding it using the mouse, and it inserts the quantity in the estimate). b. Quotation/Procurement - one of the most important add-ons. Allows the user to create quote sheets from takeoff items, email them to vendors, negotiate prices, then choose to use that quote in the estimate budget or push it through to a purchase order or subcontract. Remarkably powerful integration tool, plus you develop a bid history library. c. CAD - beyond onscreen takeoff (which is only an image of the drawing where you still measure quantities). CAD integration uses CAD item libraries to electronically feed CAD driven quantities from the drawings (but you still have to "estimate" the work to be performed). CAD primarily provides the material components and quantities. d. Scheduling Integration - the ability to generate a text file recap of the estimate sorted by a schedule activity, or export the recap to a Microsoft Project Schedule native file format, or to create a Primavera native file format. NOTE - it is not a scheduling program; it is a utility to convert the estimate to specific data file format used by specific scheduling software products. 2. Reduction in errors. a. Database formulas work every time and warn you when something is missing. Excel can break formula links, fields, worksheet links, and references and become too complex to manage and generate a wrong calculation with no warning. b. Database estimates can be sorted in almost unlimited ways using "WBS codes" (work breakdown structures). This is a fancy name for tagging an item with a sortable field such as material class, building number, floor number, alternate, and then sorting the estimate by those tags in a multiple level sequence - on the fly. Very important with so many cuts and adds taking place in today's estimating processes. It also quickly generates field-oriented docs (bill of materials; by floor, by area, etc.), Budgets - sort by job cost summary instantly, etc. c. Cuts and Adds are a given in today's fast paced estimate environment, recalling a scope section and revising it repeatedly is a reality. This is the most common cause of estimating errors when bidding. Having an audit trail of changes and to quickly make a revision to all components by answering simple questions is very powerful (see smart assemblies and Modeling as well). d. Parametric estimates - increase the production of an estimator without increased rework or errors. Answer a set of parametric scope questions and the assembly generates all detail components for the estimator. Eliminates errors, reduces rework, ends the "takeoff for a bid - then takeoff again to build it" issue. 3. Database standards a. A standard item library for everyone in the company to use creating ease of assimilating new estimators, improving cross training of roles, having common logic that can be reviewed easily to see how the result was generated. How many times has an excel estimate template morphed into multiple complicated versions within a company? Not with a database central price book and takeoff system. b. Flexibility - allows the estimating "artist" to be flexible with their style of results. The assemblies will allow scope questions to be used differently by each estimator (one wants unit price, another wants man-hours, another wants total Square Footage). They can get all of that with a single common system setup. c. Pricing - many cost pricing service products integrate and can be combined with a company's own in-house price components. Run into that goofy system you have no idea what it costs - look it up in the pricing service system (and by regional pricing in the market). Have your own factors - apply them to the pricing. There are many other reasons to consider a database driven integrated estimating system. The above are just a few that show why excel or paper are outdated for today's fast paced estimating demands. It is not just the takeoff - it is all the other integration of "clerical / admin" grunt work stuff that an integrated solution improves within an organization. Four stars - there is no PERFECT system... but no others come close to this overall solution.

Will

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Essential Estimating Software

This program is a must have for any construction company. Sage estimating has standardized company estimating practices and estimate formats that has allowed us to more accurately track historical data. Sage estimating has also streamlined our estimating process and allowed us to get away from the human error factor when creating formulas in spreadsheets.

Pros

Sage Estimating is well worth the investment. Not only does it take the error potential out of spreadsheet mistakes, it also allows for a fully customizable database as well as the ability to create & tailor automatic formulas and assemblies to your particular company structure and process. The software is easily customizable in all assets (estimate format, database, sort level, CSI vs. Uniformat, WBS, formulas & assemblies). Another great feature is the ability to easily update production rates, labor rates & material prices in the database with the click of a button, so all team members always have the most current data. Sage offers great support for their products and has a comprehensive online forum for all things related to the program.

Cons

Although it is very intuitive and much more user friendly than previous versions, there is still a small amount of training required/highly recommended to smoothly & confidently navigate and operate the program.

Ryan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Sage Estimating

Overall, i love the product and would purchase again. Recommend to anyone.

Pros

The software is very very customizable as far as formulas and detailing to your way of estimating. Links with other sage softwares and streamlines a lot of the process

Cons

Some of the reports could be improved. And also a way to better customize reports and it would be nice to have customizable proposal report from within sage estimating. Also, some kind of bid manangement or request for bid within sage estimating would be useful.

Reasons for choosing Sage Estimating

The way that it is customizable and formatted somewhat similarly to excel

Reasons for switching to Sage Estimating

Needed a better way to manage and create estimates.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Richard

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2017

Pursuit of Excellence

I invested into my estimating toolbox and acquired my Estimating License in 1996. I have been a Sage Estimating Customer ever since. Being a single user puts into perspective the support service experience as I always felt that my business was the only business that mattered.

Pros

Having worked with much of the competitions to Sage Estimating software while working for General Contractors it has been easy to compare features and functionality. With a solid Audit Trail it is easy to review a projects work flow. Estimate reports are virtually unlimited in terms of formatting capabilities. Attaching takeoff graphics as well enhances the deliverable documents combining the Work Breakdown Structure it is very easy to communicate the scope of work to the client especially when they are not construction conversant. Support services are top of class as the platform the software is operated on has improved support services are required less and less.

Cons

There really is nothing negative that I can consider.

Hogan

Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete

Time used: Free Trial

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2015

Sage Estimating - A Powerful Construction Estimating Package!

Pros

There are many construction estimating software packages on the market, but none is better at breaking down an estimate in all the ways that are needed. Sage Estimating can handle multi-building estimates, multiple work breakdown structures, and any other bid breakdowns that are needed. For us, most bids require some sort of cost breakdown, but rarely is it completely the same from estimate to estimate. Sage Estimating handles all these variables with ease. Also, the ability to handle variable cost add-ons at the estimate "totals page" is a huge plus. Cost add-ons such as overtime hours or material cost escalations can be added via the database or on a estimate-by-estimate basis. When it comes to providing breakdowns to our GC clients, any cost add-ons can be spread throughout all or a few of the estimate items. This is a great feature. Sage has been a very good vendor. The support they've provided over many years has been great and they've done a great job with software upgrades. The upgrades, adding new features and feature enhancements have kept Sage Estimating at the head of the construction estimating pack.

Cons

I've used Sage (and previously Timberline) for nearly 20 years, and the only consistent gripe I have is that installation of the program is tedious and has always required the help of an IT expert.

Frank

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Sage Estimating

Pros

Spreadsheet format. Ease at which database could be imported.

Cons

Productivity factors are the opposite of how we use them.

Reasons for choosing Sage Estimating

Ease of use. Compatibility with accounting system. Cost

Reasons for switching to Sage Estimating

Looking for a more comprehensive system

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Replied May 2021

Clay

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Hottest Estimating Software on the Market!

This is probably the most flexible estimating software available today. Always a leader in the industry, Sage Estimating can fit the bill for entry level, single user needs and expand to an unlimited number of users. The estimating system can tie into one of the best accounting packages, as well.

Pros

Totally flexible - can be used by virtually any trade as well as GC. From basic estimating needs to a complex reporting system, this software can do it.

Cons

Takes time to set-up properly. The software is ready to go out of the box, but to fine tune to make it "hum" takes more than just starting it up.

Mark

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

I have worked with Sage Estimating all the way back when it was Timberline Estimating, excellent .

Accurate estimates and diverse reports

Pros

The power of Sages' Smart Assemblies is the best feature along with the results being displayed in a full spreadsheet format that can be changed in real time. The ability to slice and dice your estimate data is extremely powerful along with their use of WBS codes.

Cons

The tech support has been a bit of a struggle but thank goodness for qualified consultants and Business Partners that can act as your first line of support.

Janet

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Estimating multi million dollar underground utility construction

Another pro is that this software can integrate with SAGE 300 Accounting, which will not only import the estimate, but also create purchase orders and email those purchase orders based on your estimate. Once you've learned how to use this and set it up it significantly saves time.

Pros

While this product provides you with sample databases, it is best used by creating your own database with phase codes and pricing as you do your construction. You are able to separate each phase into categories, i.e., Labor, Material, etc. There are some standard ones, but you can also add your own categories which adds to the flexibility of this software.

Cons

It's not really a dislike, but it is quite complex. You need one main person who controls all changes to the database, keeps pricing updated, controls anyone changing/adding phase codes, etc. You would need that with any sophisticated database.

Dominick

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2015

Intuitive & Time Saving Necessity for Estimating

Pros

The more data the user puts in, the more streamlined of a machine this tool can become for your company. I have to say the formulaic calculations are also very helpful especially when it comes to breaking out specific trade items in a proposal.

Cons

The updates process. I wish the install and update deployment was easier for the end user - especially for users migrating to a different machine. The UI could be also be "modernized", but when you look at the functional aspects of this products, as there many, it just performs well compared to other estimating tools on the market.

James

Industry: Construction

Time used: Free Trial

4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2015

I have used Sage Estimating for 20 years

Pros

They are always developing the product and always on the cutting edge of technology. Around 2000, they had a product called the CAD Integrator; it was BIM before anyone understood what BIM was. They do not try to do everything (anymore). Instead of being decent at everything, they set the focus on the estimating product to make it great. Then they create partnerships with other dedicated software products that are also determined to make their piece of the pie the best. It allows for an integrated product that is the best of all worlds. The product is very easy to use and customizable to the user.

Cons

I would like it to have a better proposal output. However, most people I talk to say that it's not a big deal for them because every owner wants a proposal on their form.

Rodolfo

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Great software!!

Pros

The product is very user friendly. The RS Means cost database integration is excellent.

Cons

No cons about this product. Everything is positive.

Showing 1 - 25 of 78 reviews
Sage Estimating

Sage Estimating

4.11/5 out of 78 reviews
PriceWatch Demo