Sigma Software Reviews

Sigma Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.39

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"This ability is so powerful and blows the doors off of anything else out there. The ability to import price lists and update libraries is critical to keeping your estimates up to date."
  • icon"It's simplicity and quick implementation. Easy to transition from Excel to Sigma."
  • icon"I liked the cost catalog with CSI code coding format. Planswift integration is a plus."
  • icon"Not sure there is a thing I don't like about this software when it comes to estimating/budgeting."

Browse all Sigma Reviews

  • Have you used Sigma and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 18 of 18 reviews

User Profile

Ralph

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Using Sigma Pro

Love that Sigma lets me work multiple quotes at one time and because it's so powerful and well designed, I can get quotes done in half the time it would take otherwise.

Pros

Powerful and adaptable. LOVE the fact that you can attach quote documents, images, etc to the scope lines. I like to use the child fields to insert the various quotes from subcontractors. Then I can just turn them on or off as needed to work my quote. Customer support is AWESOME! I can call them any time and 85% of the time they'll answer right away. If he doesn't answer I know he'll be calling me back shortly. He'll work me through most issues while we are on the phone! If he can't do that, he'll find a fix for the issue and get it right back to me. Like I said, AWESOME!!

Cons

Steep learning Curve... Lol! But.... See above regarding customer support!

User Profile

Alessandro

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2018

Most versatile estimating software out there

Hands down, best money ever spent on estimating software. The potential of Sigma is huge, and integrating it with other digital takeoff software like Planswift creates a match made in heaven.

Pros

Extremely flexible to your needs. Unlike other estimating software, Sigma allows you to build your own system through a very familiar excel interface. The modular structure of Sigma also allows you to quickly and seamlessly modify/add/delete anything in your quotations and even reference part or all of it for future estimates.

Cons

The report system is not very user-friendly, still a lot of improvements can be done in this area in terms of customization of reports.

Mouad

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2021

Quick successful and productive

To the extent Sigma is utilized with hand crafted libraries and physically organized BOQ the product is incredible, when you need to go further and set up an adequate BIM work process - there it starts to get confounded.

Pros

Interopairability with Autodesk Revit for direct BOQ and probability to develop project tree.

Cons

Intricacy in information trade and planning settings between 3D models as local as IFC.

User Profile

Chris

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2018

Great estimating software

I use this daily and cannot estimate my projects without it.

Pros

I love the scripting and the ability to "nest" assemblies within the system. This ability is so powerful and blows the doors off of anything else out there. The ability to import price lists and update libraries is critical to keeping your estimates up to date.

Cons

Documentation is being improved. More details on the scripting is always helpful. The online help is good but examples and templates using all of the commands is helpful for someone who is not a programmer or wants to see what each command does.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

Simple easy to use software.

Pros

What I like most about Sigma is that I was able to pick up on it very quickly. I had no problem turning the software into my own, and making templates so my estimating went smoothly.

Cons

Its hard to say what I like least because I have not run into any problems where it has changed my thoughts about the software.

Melonie

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2021

Sigma is flexible

Generally speaking, I approach more than our past announcing framework, which is a positive. Nonetheless, as self fill in I wish interfacing tables and approving were more clear as a client.

Pros

I love the safe cloud facilitating, the simplicity of associating with information sources, the way that it questions the information straightforwardly, however, most I like the network-based perspective on information that is consistently within reach. Having the option to see, sort, channel, and make computations on the information in a natural accounting page-like interface is virtuoso. The "Section Details" highlight permits me to rapidly comprehend the scope of qualities in the framework.

Cons

I've created a few component demands for regions we'd prefer to see in more detail.

John

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2021

Assistant

Alright

Pros

Design service agents representative ect.

Cons

Sometimes it can be a while for somebody to contact.

Mark

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2018

Natural move from Excel and very easy to learn.

Accurate and complete estimates i could rely on.

Pros

It's simplicity and quick implementation. Easy to transition from Excel to Sigma. Love the outline format and ability to copy from other estimates. Runs very stable and very easy to install.

Cons

Does not have a perimetric takeoff solution. The report writer is very complicated. Wish they offered other databases than RSMeans. No real integration to a 2D takeoff tool.

Response from Sigma Estimates

Thank you for your feedback and thoughts on improvements. We came out with a live integration to PlanSwift for 2D takeoff. The integration is free and can be downloaded from our shop - https://sigmashop.sigmaestimates.com/. We're happy to set up some time to show you how it works as well. Let us know and we will be in touch.

Replied May 2018

User Profile

Zachary

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

October 2018

Poor User Interface, Complicated Features, Poor Userbility

Decent program if you have the time for set up.

Pros

I liked the cost catalog with CSI code coding format. Planswift integration is a plus.

Cons

The reporting and export features are not user friendly.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2018

Sigma & BIM

As far as Sigma is used with custom made libraries and manually structured BOQ the software is great, once you want to go further and establish a sufficient BIM workflow - there it begins to get complicated.

Pros

Interopairability with Autodesk Revit for direct BOQ and possibility to build up project tree.

Cons

Complexity in data exchange and mapping settings between 3D models as native as IFC.

Les

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

Excellent, low cost software that integrates Revit models with Means data for accurate estimates.

Easy to use software for accurate estimates from Revit models. Integrates easily with RS Means data.

Pros

Extremely easy to use and save tremendous time using Revit model data for estimates. We are able to easily export our Revit models to link with data from RS Means and create very accurate estimates. Workflow is very intuitive. Software cost is very reasonable.

Cons

There really are no negatives. We have been using Sigma for years and have had excellent results. It is extremely user friendly and when we run into issues, the company has been extremely supportive in giving assistance. Great product and great company.

Shane

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2017

Fast effective and efficient

Pros

Is really good tool for budgeting, the program has these good and simple function, but at the same time you can get complicated functions and make the budgeting really detailed

Cons

A little cofusing at times but once you get used it its a great tool to help run your business. Could be streamlined a bit better

Shazia

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Sigma software review

My overall experience with sigma is highly positive.

Pros

It provides top quality services to customers in many sectors. Provide premier value IT services

Cons

There is nothing bad or leadt liked about sigma.

Baitao

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2018

Very complete databank with easy to use functionality.

Pros

Sigma Estimates has a very competitive database with accurate estimates. The software is also easily integrated with other software such as Revit and Navisworks, to use for BIM and project management.

Cons

Sigma Estimates is not as developed in stand-alone modelling, as compared to other competitors like RS Means.

Sven

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2017

A really good tool for budgeting

Is really good tool for budgeting, the program has these good and simple function, but at the same time you can get complicated functions and make the budgeting really detaild.

Pros

The program is really good for complicated and detailed budgeting

Cons

can be somtimes a bit complicated,

Bert

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Commercial Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2018

Using the basic package for commercial projects and happy with the product.

Pros

I like the ability to assemble my own library of services and costs. We perform a wide variety of commercial service work which requires a firm grasp of costs and history.

Cons

Would like to be able to access from various devices. Web based application or mobile app to access and edit completed files.

Brian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2018

A little complex and rigid

Pros

Direct linking of RSMeans data is a huge benefit. Ability to customize output is pretty good, but having ability to link specific fields to others is desired, as well as ability to create templates of how data is sorted.

Cons

Software contained some bugs when tested. It is overly complex for our firm's needs and there is a steep learning curve to figuring out how it works.