All SmartBid Reviews

1-25 of 66 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Clarissa

Verified reviewer

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Very effective bidding tool!!

Saved time (which equals $$$) and now we have a great place to store our bid documents, and easily distribute them to all of our subcontractors and suppliers!!

PROS

As a general contractor/construction manager firm, we use SmartBid on almost all of our projects. It's a great tool to let our subcontractors and suppliers know what projects we're bidding on, and ensure we have proper coverage for the scope of work involved. I was part of the initial setup when our company first began using SmartBid. We used to make a "call list" and someone would actually call up to a few hundred subs and suppliers for every project we bid. WOW. I can't believe we wasted so much time! Now, just a few clicks of a button and all of our bidding documents are in one, easily accessible place, and all the appropriate subs and suppliers are notified! Amazing!

CONS

The initial setup was a bit time-consuming. This was partly due to our own company's massively outdated subcontractor and supplier list. Most of our time was spent "trimming the fat" and updating old contact information. There are also limited user profiles, when it would be nice to have more people in our company be able to interact with SmartBid.

User Profile

Rachel

Verified reviewer

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Smartbid- Great for general contractors!

The benefits included are ease of access, multi user capability, subcontractor functions, and the blast emailing projects out to get the project to as many subcontractors as possible. We like the fact that it is cost efficient and allows our subcontractor pool to benefit from the program as well. You can also import public data agency information that includes new subcontractors.

PROS

I enjoy that smartbid streamlines the bidding process in construction. It allows you to upload drawings & specifications, as well as selecting trades to solicit to easily. Most bidding softwares are too complex for small subcontractors to understand and easily access documents. Smartbid offers ease of use for these subcontractors as well as allowing subcontractors to benefit the way the general contractor is. Having the availability to create takeoffs in Smartbid for the subcontractors you invite is so important.

CONS

The only thing I struggle with for Smartbid is the options to having subcontractors change their information within the program. We would like to see that subcontractors can update their license information as well as contacts for their company. Hopefully changes will be made in the future to allow these features to be utilized.

Todd

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2017

There are more affordable options

It did get us out in touch with the trades, but the coverage was week.

PROS

I do like the way a project is created and the publishing features. I do feel that it was advantageous in the way we were able to take a project that we were going to bid and get the information out to the trades

CONS

I hated the fact that their database is so out of date. Many times our bid invite was going out to the wrong person or that person was no longer with the company. The software needs some form of check and balance to ensure that the information is accurate and that companies are keeping thier information correct.

Vendor Response

Hi Todd, Thank you for your review! In SmartBid, clients primarily rely on results from their own private database, which they alone maintain. Use of our SmartInsight database of contractors is included with SmartBid as an additional resource for those situations where you will need additional subcontractor coverage, and is especially helpful when you find that you're bidding in a market that you're new to. It's a very large database, and as with any database, the maintenance of those records to keep them updated is a full-time job. People come and go, businesses shut down, etc. and naturally they don't notify us. :) Because of this we work hard to make those records as reliable as possible. Last week for example, 2,000 records deemed as invalid were purged from the system. Overall, this free resource offers a lot of value and we will continue to work hard to make it as reliable as possible!

Replied August 2017

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Smartbid

My experience with Smartbid could not be better. We use the program everyday, and update as much as necessary. It is highly recommended in my opinion.

PROS

Great software to organize all of your Subcontractors and Vendors. Very easy to edit, add, or delete company names and contacts. Many categories for each company, including work types, DBE choices, unique categories to your company. Many fields get pre-filled, and make it quick to input data. Great reporting, exporting, and sending single or mass emails. Updates for bids or just company reports.

CONS

There are so many features, sometimes users can double up information. It's better to keep track of what users can modify specific items within each company. It's easy to have multiple entries of the same company. So user monitoring is key.

Marty

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Smartbid review

Very positive. I have been extremely pleased with this product.

PROS

Smartbid is easy to implement and is very user friendly.

CONS

Requiring bidders to submit thru Smartbid is cumbersome to setup.

Reason for choosing SmartBid

Price and contract terms

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Smartbid for soliciting proposals

We use this software during the bidding process. It gives me the ability to add contacts, change addresses, email, ect. with ease. Quick communication options such as email solicitations or faxes if needed. The reports help, as well as creating Non Disclosure agreements. Adding files and having security control of who views those files is a big benefit.

PROS

User friendly, and easy to navigate the site. Not too many clicks of the mouse, and has the ability to add and delete unwanted fields. Very fast and friendly customer support for easy or hard questions.

CONS

Not too many cons. I am a big fan of this software for the use of getting quotes for bids.

Amin

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Powerful bid management software

PROS

It gives you all you need to manage a bidding process. - multiple divisions - pick the trades based on so many items, like area code, location, division and etc. - track who has been reviewing the document, who is interested who is not and etc - customised tender packages And lots of other features

CONS

Weak in searching- you should know how exactly the trade has been saved, otherwise you should try multiple entries. It’s tricky to add new contacts to the trades and send the invitation for a recent tender It is not that much user friendly and needs time to be expert

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2019

Works Great

Overall this is a tool that works if you work it. Usability is key when using any bidding software. Detail used in this program is very helpful.

PROS

The break downs and overall features of this product make it very useful for bidding large projects.

CONS

I think if the communication section could be more personalized so it seems as if the user is sending a email directly and not through smart bid. Most people are overrun in emails and a personalized touch may invite more participants to open there email. Does not update the date without refreshing the page. gets confusing when making calls.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

This is a bid database that my company uses for the bid process for construction projects.

An up to date database that can be filtered to different areas depending on where the project is located.

PROS

We are able to store potentiometer trade partners and send out communications regarding projects with ease. Trade partners are able to respond to the bid invitation and they are able to upload their proposal.

CONS

This software still has a couple of kinks. If at anytime you click the back button, you will be required to log back into the program.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

SmartBid has been very easy to learn and navigate as I learn the ins and outs of it.

The main benefit from this software is just the saving of time. What could take up to half my day, I can accomplish in the matter of an hour. The ease of use and time saving have been truly helpful.

PROS

I love the ease of use and the ability to distribute the information we need to get to our subs with such ease. The program is easy to use, but does not lack in its capabilities. For bidding purposes it makes my life so much easier knowing all the available information is getting distributed to everyone that needs to see it.

CONS

I have not come across any cons while working with the software. The only issue I have when using this is selecting the contractors to send bids to, but that is just because it is a strain on the eyes.

Hank

Used free trial

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2011

JE Dunn Construction is an ENR top 20 General Contractor with offices from Charlotte, NC to Seattle, WA. We have been using SmartBidNet nationally since March of 2010 and regionally in the Southeast for another year prior to that. Before using SmartBidNet, we used iSqFt for several years and several other systems including Pipeline and BidFax. SmartBidNet is the right bid management software package for our organization for a multitude of reasons, several of which are: - Flexibility and customization of the system set-up - SmartBidNet's commitment to adopting current technologies - Ease of use for subcontractors The SmartBidNet system can be configured to accommodate firms ranging in size from only a couple of users to the largest multi-divisional, multi-office organizations. We currently have a total of 431 users across 20 different offices. SmartBidNet allows us to configure our system so that we can group our internal users, projects, and subcontractors by office and our offices by regions so that we can tailor the access of our users to fit what those users should be working on. We can limit or allow access to projects and subcontractor records by user, by proficiency, by office, by region, or by function (preconstruction, operations, accounting, HR, etc.). As an administrator, this flexibility is invaluable and crucial in maintaining security and accuracy of our information. The directors at SmartBidNet have adopted a shrewd practice of releasing new versions of their software about once a month. All subscribers to the system automatically get these new releases by virtue of the system being web-based. In these releases, SmartBidNet will implement (usually) small changes. Users benefit from this methodology by not having to go through extensive training following the typical 'Major Product Release' pattern of most software vendors. This method also allows SmartBidNet to run a continually changing list of product development activities and can more quickly adapt to incorporate newer technologies into their system. This has been particularly important to us as an organization as we have begun to integrate our custom in-house software applications with SmartBidNet in various ways. SmartBidNet offers a refreshingly open policy of allowing our internal systems to push or pull information directly to / from the SmartBidNet system, commenting to us at one point, "It's your data, you can do whatever you want with it". The last item I want to highlight speaks for itself. SmartBidNet leads the industry in ease of access and ease of use for subcontractors. One button access of project information was pioneered by SmartBidNet. Their commitment to a simple subcontractor interface is second to none. SmartBidNet has allowed us to pull together all of the offices for our entire company into a cohesive, well-organized, properly restricted system for the first time ever. This has allowed us to capitalize on many of the synergies that a multi-office general contractor should have in regards to shared resources and shared contacts. It has been a major improvement over previous systems.

Gabriela

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2018

Overall is a good Bid Software

Easy to set up and fast distribution

PROS

The software is definetly helpfull for distributing the Invitation to Bid to as many subs as possible. It's also easy to set up.

CONS

One of the main issues I've had is that you have to be very careful on the spec codes that you assign to the subs. If you input the wrong codes, you will be excluding those subs from the ITB. Also, after so many years of using it, some subs go out of business and you can waste time checking (calling) which subs will be bidding or not.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to review SmartBid Gabriela! We agree that it's very important to have the correct spec codes so that you know what scopes your subcontractors perform. Our Customer Service team can review with you some options for managing those codes and getting update requests out to your subs so that they can tell YOU what scopes they perform. Also, because we maintain our own large database of subs (SmartInsight), we know all too well how maintenance of those records is an on-going process due to the human factor: each day businesses close, employees are hired, dismissed, etc. and keeping up with these changes can be very time-consuming, if we learn of them at all. While it's our policy to refrain from editing the records in your private database, we do offer a whole range of data management tools designed to help you find the problem records so you can get them updated. Customer Service would be happy to review these with you! Reach out at any time!

Replied March 2018

Chris

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2017

PreConstruction and PreQualification Solution

PROS

This software is easy to use, customizable, and their customer service is excellent. yet to find a software that compares.

CONS

I would like if it was dummed down a bid for subcontractors. I dont like they have to create a login.

Vendor Response

Chris - Thank you for the review and feedback! I wanted to make sure you knew that subcontractors are not required to create a login - they are giving an access code to your project in the email you send and can view documents and bid project details quickly and easily. If you have any doubt, please reach out to support@smartbidnet.com so they can walk you through the process your subs encounter!

Replied July 2017

Kalpana

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2017

Love the endless features

We have been using iSqFt for so long until we stumbled on this amazing product. Absolutely love it. Its very simple to use and got tons of more features. I actually never thought I would use the "Activity" feature . We used this to show the sub when the email we sent was opened and read and held him accountable for the changes he said he never was aware of. Also, there are constant updates and enhancements made to the program based on user review and comments, which is wonderful.

PROS

Features and ease of use

CONS

For users of old fashioned software's, It has a learning curve

Vendor Response

Kalpana - Thank you for the honest feedback and review! We're working on some updates to the system that will surely solve any existing learning curves. Please let us know if we can help you further at support@smartbidnet.com. - Liz Welsh, Marketing Director

Replied July 2017

Daniel

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2017

The right tool for the job in regard to construction management bidding services.

Great product, open API, and pretty good customer support. Its between this and building connected, but Smart Bid trumps Building connected because it does not require sub contractors to login.

PROS

The ease of use and the right amount of customization. The learning curve is present, but should not hinder a person that is at least somewhat comfortable with computer use. A great product that streamlines the bid process and allows the user the ability to tune the it to their needs.

CONS

The incorporation of the pre-qual process and other administrative tools into the software can be a bit clunky, but they still work, however, they require a bit more fiddling with.

Nathan

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2022

A SubContractor's Pain

Customer service / tech support is extremely poor. As a subcontractor forced to use this by some partner GCs, we regularly encourage them to switch to a different product. From our perspective as a user they are a nightmare. The stock answer is; "Go back and talk to our customer, they're doing something wrong, not our software". This is a TERRIBLE product for subcontractor integration.

PROS

It allows for easy submission of a proposal.

CONS

I have to log into multiple GCs separately. It doesn't allow several GCs under one email. It does an extremely poor job of providing a bid calendar.

Kohl

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2017

SmartBidNet

SmartBid is a fantastic resource that enables us to send out bid invitations to our choice of subs at the click of a few buttons.

PROS

Being able to quickly let our subs know new information at a moments notice.

CONS

The user interface needs to be updated. It is very difficult to understand how to send out even basic invitations to bid without the assistance of someone that has used the program for several months.

Vendor Response

Kohl - Thank you for the honest feedback and review! We're working on some updates to the system that will get users up and running quicker. In the meantime, please note you can schedule live, one-on-one training at any time with our Customer Service team. Please let us know if we can help you further at support@smartbidnet.com. - Liz Welsh, Marketing Director

Replied July 2017

Robin

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY