Vista Reviews

3.81 / 5 (209)

Our advisors have recommended this product 4 times in the last 30 days

User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

3.5 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(51)

51

4 stars

(86)

86

3 stars

(49)

49

2 stars

(11)

11

1 stars

(12)

12

  • Pros

  • "Ease of use, the software is very customizable for your company. I really like the new chat feature. It make it really easy to get quick questions answered."

  • "Company seems to be progressive in approach and interested in improvements. Overall pleasant experience. Customer service (although not as good as it was) is very attentive."

  • "I like that it is easy to use after learning the payroll and accounts payable modules. I have been happy with the help I get and like the software more & more. "

  • Cons

  • "A bit pricey, but in the long term it pays off. A bit of a learning curve for users, so this would definitely be considered a long term investment for your company."

  • "VERY difficult to learn and get used to the dynamics. It takes a lot of stick time to understand how things work and the best way of doing them. "

  • "There are a lot of boxes within the setup phase that you need to be sure to mark in order for the action to be performed correctly. It is easy to miss sometimes marking them all. "

Browse Vista Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 209 results

August 2019

Jeffrey from Genentech

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great project management software

For building construction needs

Pros

If you're looking for something to help manage your construction needs, look no further. This software helps you track budgets quickly and easily. It also digitalizes your field so that you have a better understanding of the layout you are working with.

Cons

Didn't use it long enough to find any cons.

August 2017

Ruth from Integrity Grading & Excavating, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Integration with Ease

We love the change that we made to VISTA. It has allowed our company to streamline, and operate with same personnel - with growing at the same time.

Pros

We were a Maxwell Streetsmarts users for over 10 years, when Viewpoint purchased Maxwell. At that point we began to shop "other" vendors for the best comprehensive solution for our Heavy Excavation company. As it turned out Viewpoint Vista Softwarewon! We preplanned for nearly 15 months before making the transition. We opted to make the transition at the slowest time of year for "our" company. With our initial planning we were able to schedule training that worked in our company's timeframe, we were assigned a Project Manager who kept us on track. Our go live date was Feb 2016 - of which meant - we went live; hiccups and all! To the credit of Viewpoints Vista team the transition was seamless. We had the correct training from the start, correct leadership within our company, and a VISTA TEAM that moved us forward. We started out with the essentials, and have since added a few more modules, document imaging, and Mobile Field Manager. It has taken us awhile to adjust to the reports vrs what we were use to, but have found we can "adjust" reports via the Crystal Report writer ourselves. As software updates are released, they are easily installable from the end users aspect. I highly recommend the software as a whole - many ways to get information out!

Cons

Cons are not negative to us - just ways to improve! After using the software for awhile and you call into support, and you know more than the support person.

October 2016

Claire from MTech Mechanical

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Vista Support

Overall it has been positive. Last year was hard but with the new customer service initiative there has been a big improvement, although there is still a long way to go in that regard.

Pros

There are a ton of options for customization and it's super easy to use once you know how each form works. The grids are amazing and the reporting options are great for customization. The learning base can be a bit confusing when it comes to finding information, but when it comes to actually learning a new feature you can usually figure everything out without needing to place a call to Vista. Also, the knowledge base articles are good when they are sent from support. The main pro of Vista is the possibility. There are a ton of other products with other vendors and within Viewpoint and the options are great.

Cons

With the customization comes a lot of room for errors. Also the release notes for next versions don't feel complete and when you get an issue half the time they tell you it was fixed in the next upgrade and their recommendation is to update as a fix. Also the customer service has come a long way but it still needs work. In the opening speech they mentioned the response times and the resolution times and I don't think I have ever had someone call me back in less than 3 days for my initial contact. Also there are multiple cases created for the same issue anytime it is transferred to a new department. So I have a case that has been open since May 2016, but I'm on my 4th case number so whenever someone gets the new case it looks like its only been open since September.

August 2017

Ann from SC Bodner Company, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

Vista by Viewpoint - Project Management

I think a great deal of the Cons could be eliminated if the training was better, but the way I understand the roll out training was so expensive and fast that it wasn't that helpful. Plus it happened on the onset before they had any experience with the software. There are video trainings that are good, but some are outdated.

Pros

After you learn the nuances of the software its a good product. It tracks compliance well, subcontract and change order entry is easy. Good reports to obtain information.

Cons

Due to inadequate initial training the previous AP lady thought she could bill an amount on items that were designated as EA (having unit cost and Unit Quantity. As a result, we have had major issues. The support staff said if Viewpoint would fix that issue their support cases would drop exponentially. If they cannot fix it, at least they should not allow the user to be able to perform the function. Although good data on the reports, some are clumsy. At times it is difficult to find exactly what you want to display on a report. Support is great, but when the problem overlaps from one category to another, you can get faulty information. For example...if you have an AP problem, it could be causing a problem in SL but the AP support team won't know to tell you that. We had a major issue that was created as a result of this because it crossed years.

January 2017

Kyle from The Systems Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Decent ERP System for the Construction Industry

Viewpoint is our ERP system for better or worse. The functionality is there for just about everything needed in the construction industry; however, it's not always the most user-friendly. When Viewpoint introduces updates and there are bugs, it can take months for Viewpoint to fix them in a new release. If it's something you need to be fixed now, be prepared to pay Viewpoint to fix the problem.

Pros

Covers almost all aspects needed in the construction industry Highly customizable Easy to create custom reports Database isn't locked down

Cons

Viewpoint will find every way possible to charge you for support They have a bad habit of pushing out updates without thoroughly testing them

May 2019

Trey from Vivax

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Wait a few years for the software to be ready

They sold us the software with implementation services, but their "Professional Services" team just follows a script. They didn't have the necessary experience to understand a business and their complicated suite of software for a successful implementation. I've been through 3 different ERP implementations as an accounting consultant, and know the importance of having people that can translate business needs and current processes, into a a long term ERP solution. The Vista team had none of this. It was just terrible, I don't know how else to describe it.

Pros

The flexibility and alleged open access for this price range is the best. If it was true and worked, it would be a stellar option for companies that have unique processes that need unique solutions.

Cons

The cloud option is a complete joke, really. They're trying, but I don't know that Vista will ever work well on a cloud server. They have purchased a lot of complimentary software companies, and if they could get it to all work well, it would be an awesome product. The problem is they are patching together a lot of old products like it's 15 years ago. A true cloud built platform will come along and blow them out of the water on value. They really don't know how to make this thing work right now.

July 2015

David from WestCan Seal Coating Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2015

Viewpoint - Construction Software under development.

Pros

Support staff genuinely seem to care and want to help. Cloud environment. Spreadsheet import functions.

Cons

Lack of multi-currency. Lack of flexibility in application of federal and provincial tax rules/rates and their application to material and hauling sales. Exporting and working with Crystal reports; many canned job cost reports include tax in revenue Material Sales Intercompany invoices do not post tax amounts in the purchasing company if there is no material - ie Hauling only Extra billing for project managers over and above quoted module costs. Form and Report security set-ups. Logins to other sites when logging support calls.

July 2019

Kyle from Steed Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Vista by Viewpoint - Linear Accounting

Vista provides us with a solid foundation for business accounting. Once the learning curve is established, the program can be very powerful.

Pros

This program features some of the strongest features on the accounting side of things. Once you become acquainted, custom forms are the best feature.

Cons

Document Management is Lacking completely.

July 2015

Todd from Sabre Commercial, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

2.5

Functionality

2.5

July 2015

Consider other options until this product matures

Pros

I like the fact that Project Management and Accounting are tied together ins the same product. This allows for real time financials without duplicate entry of data.

Cons

Change Orders in the Project Management module are difficult and frustrate users. This problem alone has lead us to start exploring other options for our PMs. While Viewpoint has a plan to modify this, it is unknown if we can wait until the solution is finally rolled out before needing to implement another option. Also, a simple dumbed down module for Field staff is not available to meet our needs, We bought the product with the intent to implement the Connects product from Viewpoint, but this product has gone away. We tried to implement it initially, but it was far too cumbersome. Viewpoint needs to be more aggressive in its rollout of a web based Project Management module for the PMs and Field staff that aligns with the needs of Project Management of a General Contractor. That would include a more robust option to manage drawings during the course of the job (4 Projects is not it today and not sure if it will be it in the future when it is integrated with Viewpoint.

January 2020

Austin from MSH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Good Powerful Product

Overall Vista is great for accounting and project financials. I use the the project specific financial forms the most and it allows for easy tracking and storing of invoices and expenses,

Pros

Vista allows for customization of forms that provide the drilled down information we are looking for. Allows for excellent tracking of construction costs against the budget. And Vista integrates with Viewpoint One to provide a comprehensive construction software

Cons

The user interface can be a little complicated at first. There are a lot of options when it comes to what information you are looking for which can make it difficult to find the right form.

July 2015

Kathleen from Griffith Company

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2015

Great product, but needs in-house IT support to get full benefit

Pros

Like the flexibility of the product (ability to customize reports / UD fields / tables) and the fact that Viewpoint is continuously looking to improve it's product. Viewpoint also has a great end user base where we can learn and share ideas together.

Cons

Support has become an issue in recent years. Viewpoint has grown quickly with new additions (which is a double edge sword), but it's getting more difficult to find long time Viewpoint team members who understand the product and how it works. Many times, it feels as if the team member trying to help is reading thru the documentation and doesn't really know how it works. We were implemented with Viewpoint earlier than other companies coming on in more recent years. We have seen that the implementation process has had more struggles and challenges with Viewpoint team members being changed out or not as knowledgeable during the process. Again, Viewpoint has grown in its product line, hopefully they will be able to expand their team member support base with more knowledgeable and long time team members.

August 2017

Randy from W. L. Gary Company, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

While difficult to setup, it is an integrated system handling our Service Management, project management, Document management and Accounting and has eliminated duplicate entry we used to have to do with our old system.

If I could go back in time and look at the software purchase again, I would still go with Viewpoint. While the process takes an enormous investment in time, it has been worth the work.

Pros

It is integrated and allows us to share information more easily across the entire team. We can attach documents to transactions allowing us to have info at out fingertips allowing us to answer questions from clients without having to go and pull paper files to research the answer. It is very versatile, allowing us to create custom fields that are not over written when updates come out. this allows us to customize the software to allow us to do business "our" way.

Cons

The Versatility that makes this product so good is also a con in that it makes it more difficult to setup. If you come from a simple solution to Viewpoint, you don't know what you don't know and you may make some short sighted decisions on how to setup or implement the product. Our implementation team from Viewpoint did a great job of trying to point out some of those potential pitfalls.

November 2017

Ben from Capstone Mechanical

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Great product, great future growth perspective

Great product, great company, highly recommend. We have been on the product over a year and continue to be pleased.

Pros

Vista is a very robust system and if you are an organization that wants to have one effective place to track all of your information, this is it. After doing 5 months of research and reviews over other products like Sage, COINS, and others, I am convinced this is the top shelf. There are incredible help resources, the implementation team was phenomenal, and they have been consistently updating the software and making it better on a consistent basis. I could go on about other things that I like about it, but the high-level Pro that I have is that it is a product that is well thought out and is mostly mature (see cons) across the board.

Cons

The service module is the only thing that is not up to snuff with the rest of the product. It still lacks the maturity that the rest of the product has. It is 100% usable and it is effective, but it does not attain the same level of greatness that the rest of the product has. That being said, the last 4 major updates have all included Service Module enhancements, so it is obviously getting taken care of.

December 2016

Jenny from Tresco Paving

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Great for Large Scale Asphalt Construction Companies!

We weren't sure what the best course of action was but ultimately decided to move forward with Vista, instead. After seeing a demo of the product, the decision was a no-brainer. This is a great piece of software, and Vista overall has exceeded our expectations. We have multiple asphalt plants, a concrete plant, trucking company, and asphalt installation crews, so Vista has been a perfect fit. As for the technology, most people are used to the style of windows, which makes for a pretty easy learning curve with Vista. The grid functionality is top-notch as well, being able to switch from an informational view of one item to a list of all items. Viewpoint also offers a cloud environment to host your enterprise system. It's a small fee to pay for peace of mind, and limited IT management on our part. We haven't even taken advantage of everything that it offers yet, and we are STILL thrilled. We can't wait to implement more in 2017, and see what else Vista can do for us.

Pros

The integration across accounts, companies, departments, etc. We've only scratched the surface and been incredibly impressed. Really, I cant say enough good about this product. We love using the cloud environment as well - access Vista from anywhere via browser, if necessary. Makes it easy to work from home on a snowy day!

Cons

Nothing in particular about the product, but we've had responsiveness issues with the billing department - some people are great others, not so much. The tech support department could be more knowledgeable about technology, and IT management in general. Fortunately, we don't need them very often. The cloud environment is clunky with printing in different browsers - always a mixed bag. Checks don't always line up right but using the actual cloud app, no problems what so ever.

July 2015

Todd from CG Schmidt Inc

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.5

July 2015

Great product but could be made better with targeted improvements

Pros

Billing Module gives us the ability to handle many of the unique challenges of our cost + with Guaranteed Maximum projects. Unapproved AP process works very well (would be nice to get a process refresh to streamline process for non accountant approvers) / Just in early stages of converting to Equipment module (from Toolwatch) but inially appears that it will serve most of our needs / Core modules all are very solid (PR, JC, HR, etc)

Cons

Struggle with doing projected costs based upon billing rates to be able to show owners current project cost to them (our total billings) in a cost+ GMP world. Forced to go offline with too many excel/manual processes. Financial Manager needs to be overhauled to produce modern financial reports not something proceed in the 90's. Dashboard process seems neat but unusable until above is setup.

July 2015

Darlene from Pro Electric.com

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

July 2015

Have been using live on Vista by Viewpoint since Sept 2012

Pros

The best part is the amount of customization that can be done. You are not limited to the fields "out of the box". It was the only software that we tested that allowed us to do that. Also, in accounting I like that you can bring a transaction back into a batch to be able to "fix" it if necessary. The amount of information at your fingertips is also great. What we needed was something that brought Accounting and Project Management together - and Viewpoint does an excellent job of that for us. Also, we have always had excellent support when needed. Now that we have worked with Viewpoint for almost 3 years - I can't imagine what I would do without it.

Cons

The initial set-up was time-consuming and somewhat daunting, but that would probably true whenever changing software from 1 vendor to another. I honestly can't think of anything I like least. The amount of customization available means that I can change things if necessary to suit how I would like to use the product.

February 2018

Jackie from Mathiowetz Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

We implemented Vista two years ago. As with any software implementation, setup and training is crucial.

We have found that the majority of things we would like to track are available within Vista (or easily added with a UDF). There are also several third party solutions that are available that tie in to Vista. Vista is a very stable and easy to use software.

Pros

The software is very flexible as Vista allows client customization with the ability to add user defined fields and to change field properties. Consequently, there is very limited outside customization that is necessary. The training during the implementation process was very thorough.

Cons

The reporting structure within Vista is Crystal Reports and without a developer license and/or programming specialist on staff, you will most likely need an outside consultant for developing reports that are not standard. There are numerous available reports but sometimes a tweak here or there is necessary - which is usually easy to do in house.

July 2017

Jennifer from Rockydale Quarries Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

A big upgrade from our previous system.

Overall, we are pleased with our product and the initial training and setup. Most of our problems have been resolved on our own researching compared to having to file support cases. Viewpoint has allowed us to provide better reports to our managers.

Pros

-Intercompany features allow for easy reconciliation and few entries. -Drilldown reports allow easy access to individual transactions -Knowledge Base and Clearview online help are incredible with step by step instructions including screenshots -Shortcut keys allow for easy lookups and use of a wildcard (*) without knowing the exact description -Well organized layout of the modules/programs vs. reports -Able to maintain one vendor master among all companies has helped significantly in our accounts payable department

Cons

-There is a large amount of reports but it's hard to determine which one to use and which parameters to use -Invested time in their financial reporter which is now being phased out and will not be supported in another year -Security setup can be time consuming (separate program for Reports, Forms, Data, etc.)

August 2015

Veronica from Troy Life & Fire Safety Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2015

Experiences based on implementation/configuration

Pros

The interface is very intuitive and reasonably easy to use. I also appreciate the flexibility we have to customize changes but that is because we have our own developers in house which makes this simpler.

Cons

As intuitive as the interface may be the workflows in some modules are inefficient and should be more frequently reviewed for continuous improvement. There are many great ideas on the ideas bank and in Vantagepoint but I'm not confident that Viewpoint organizes/filters the information efficiently enough to assess changes needed to base framework to maximize the efficiency of future improvements. The result is new ideas/improvements appear to be 'bolted' on and are not always fully integrated in all areas of the product (where they should be).

July 2015

Peter from Charter Mechanical Contractors

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2015

THE integrated project management&accounting software for contractors

Pros

I like the product's flexibility and ease of use. It can be customized to fit a contractor's individual needs. It has good security to ensure data is only accessed by the people that need to see it. The available reports that come with the software are great places to start and its relatively easy to customize these to fit an individual company's needs.

Cons

A few years ago, you could expect a support call back within 30 minutes; now, it takes days, unless you really let Viewpoint know you need something done NOW. This has been a very disappointing trend.

July 2015

Robert from Barnum Mechanical Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

4.0

July 2015

Luke warm to warm.

Pros

The software is stable and is relatively easy to customize to our special needs. The job forecasting feature is very strong. Reports are generated quickly. The GL and Cash Management modules are easy to use. Job Cost is good. I really like the User Database program. Custom Fields are easy to add and remove.

Cons

Certain features do not function properly. Changing non-GL related coding can be difficult. Payroll setup is too complex and not logical. The implementation was rigorous and the consultant was inexperienced. The software does not remove/exclude the setup requirements for modules that are not purchased. Project Management is not user friendly, especially Document Management. Support can be very good or not so good. Wait times can be excessive. Payroll daily time entry is not adequate for our needs and does meet the requirements of CA employment law. PR and PM are the reasons I rate the ease of use at 6. The other modules would receive 7 to 9's. BTW, the renaming to Vista was a bad choice. MS Vista was the biggest operating system failure in history. IT people laugh at the name.

June 2017

Jenny from General Excavation, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Great Software!

Pros

Heavily integrated and breaks down facets of construction industry well using the modules that feed information to each other. I work with the AP module and it is easy to use and understand. The reports offered and useful and easy to manipulate. The equipment module is fabulous as well though we don't use it to its full potential just yet.

Cons

It is difficult to make a change to something posted in a closed month. I was able to find a way to remedy this online and fixed it immediately. Sometimes it does take customer service a while to call you back on a service ticket, however, most answers can be answered by doing research individually in clear view.

July 2015

Michele from E J Breneman

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.5

July 2015

I have used Viewpoint software since 1995

Pros

I like the fact that with the exception of our bidding software and blacktop plant tickets software, everything is integrated so information entered hits every required module without duplicate entry. The information from our blacktop plant and bidding software can easily be imported into Vista.

Cons

Viewpoint is sometimes, in my opinion, slow to add processes being used by many of our customers and vendors. For instance, we cannot bill our vendors electronically or add attachments to employee payroll checks sent by email. They sometimes have steps that seem to be unnecessary. For example, when entering cash receipts, if you wish to record a discount taken you must go to a second screen (Payment detail) to enter the discount. You must then check a box that says "remove input restriction". It should not be necessary to go into another screen to make changes and you should not then have to do an additional step of checking a box to record discount.

April 2018

Chris from Prairie Electric, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Vista, Field Time Console Product Review

Pros

The best thing about Vista is the "one-stop-shop" vision they have been striving for. Everything Accounting (AP, AR, Cash Management, GL, Job Billing, Payroll), Document Management (RFIs, Submittals, Purchase Orders, Subcontracts, etc.), Project Management (PM, Job Cost, Service Management, etc.) including a host of other options including Equipment Management, Inventory management, a Business Analytics & reporting feature. It is also highly customizable.

Cons

The only downside I would say is that some of the training for customization is considered billable or is outsourced to a third-party developer / partner

June 2017

John from Ford Construction Co

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

to Vista from a custom app

The heart of Viewpoint is it's people. There are many software packages with lots of features in the market. The big difference it the staff that you work with before and during conversion as well as the support staff afterward. Viewpoint technical support people are knowledgeable and take the time to work with you to resolve any issues.

Pros

We had spent a decade with a custom built application. The Vista (Viewpoint) system was able to provide all the function we had and needed as well as giving so much more in features. The system is very flexible and can a few setting adjustments can be tailored to fit our needs. The information provided ranges from very detailed to summarized as needed. A powerful system.

Cons

The only cons I can think of revolve around the ability to customize the system. If you are moving to Vista from another app, take the time needed to work with your Viewpoint rep before and during the conversion. We had a few changes to make afterward that would have not been needed had we talked them over with our conversion rep. It will be time well spent.

December 2017

Christina from Con-Tech

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Very happy with this software!

Pros

It is an all in one product. We can do everything from our project budgets and cost tracking to HR items, all accounting functions, the list goes on and on. Prior to this software we were using many different and basic programs to run our company but now we are all one the same system. This has created synergies and made us more efficient.

Cons

Since there are so many programs and reports available, sometimes it can be hard to find what you are looking for. And at times you can get many errors if you missed a step or entered something incorrectly but this is a minor annoyance.

July 2018

Steve from Corval Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Good for a broad range of companies

Pros

They have modules for most aspects of any construction business. There are tools to allow adding custom fields, validations, lookups, and even complete custom tables for those who want to go beyond the canned software. We built an extensive safety program on their custom tables. Being a standard SQL database has allowed us to integrate with other software as well.

Cons

They are playing catch-up on the mobile side. They've got several components they are working to get integrated into the back end that should provide the needed mobile access.

November 2017

Steven from CEC Energy Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

All-In-One Solution for Our Company

As the IT Manager at my company, the last thing I need is dozens of applications spread across three offices to maintain. Vista gives me the tools to combine several departments under on application.

Pros

Several modules for different uses with different departments. Customization to fit our needs. Easy to find third-party applications like job and time sheet applications that stream in directly to Vista.

Cons

A bit pricey, but in the long term it pays off. A bit of a learning curve for users, so this would definitely be considered a long term investment for your company.

March 2019

Craig from Great Basin Industrial

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

VISTA Fits How We Do Construction

Like a good marriage - there have been some ups and downs, but mostly ups.

Pros

Field can easily do what they need to do and also manage their jobs from anywhere Fully integrated with accounting functions - PR, AP, AR, GL Easy customization Viewpoint listens to us - their customers Aggressively pursues solutions to keep us competitive On the leading edge of technology

Cons

Customer service can be slow sometimes, but have come up with alternative self-serve solutions through "Clearview" - I love the "Knowledge Base" solution

March 2018

Brenda from SC Bodner Co, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Review of Viewpoint Software

Overall, we love Viewpoint. It is one of the better construction software on the market today. Viewpoint listens to the needs of its users and is always striving to improve the product.

Pros

Viewpoint is very user friendly and easy to use. It allows you to integrate the accounting functions without having to use a different software. It is a great fit for the construction industry.

Cons

I did not like the Financial Management system. But viewpoint listened and they are coming out with a new financial software.

July 2017

Karen from Kenmoore Contracting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Goods and bads

Pros

Great functionality for project management with estimating and accounting integrates between modules and companies extremely well

Cons

Payroll setup needs better documentation/training from Viewpoint. setup can be cumbersome. Project Manager is great for simple jobs but when there a lot of change orders it can be fickle. Support is terrible it takes days for them to get back to you. They get it working yes but always a huge inconvenience if you are a manager with lots of duties

January 2019

zubair khan from comsats university

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Awesome Software

Vista is powerful and has the functionality that the customer can make it customize it to fit our company. I used it from recent two years and have great efficiency. I like it so much.............

Pros

Vista software is user-friendly and easy to use efficiently. This software is a powerful tool which helps in the business to make the smart decision and easily can customizable and can create also a different module. The vista has great security for the customer and I like their security.

Cons

Nothing in this software that I should compliments on them because all the functionality of the vista can work properly.

May 2018

Wendy from Bierlein Companies, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

So easy to learn

Pros

This program was easy to learn and flows seamlessly once it's set up. I have been able to cut my process time by a third since switching to this software. When I have questions I can usually find the answer to a problem in the Viewpoint Knowledge Base under the Help menu.

Cons

Some updates change different modules so occasionally I'll have to adjust to a new way of entering information or retrieving information.

December 2018

Brian from Bruening Rock Products, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great Construction Software

Great Software, it you want to customize it they can do it or have a third party vendor that can do it.

Pros

Extensive Import Module - Saves tons of data entry time Allow tons of 3rd party vendors to create great supplemental products Great customization so it can be set up to what is important to your company

Cons

I wish every form had a grid tab view available In Material Sales, I wish you could enter multiple products on 1 ticket

October 2017

Tammie from Hemphill Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2017

Weak on the HR Side

Overall, it isn't a bad system, especially for payroll, tracking of costs and equipment. It just isn't tops on the HR side.

Pros

Entry of data is easy (Microsoft Access style of entry). Canned reporting features are okay with several exporting options.

Cons

The HR side isn't the most spectacular piece of software. There's no easy way to create your own custom reports. Some access issues exist; such as if you have access to HR but not payroll and there are reports HR needs that are tied to payroll, you're out of luck. One such report is the EEO-1 Report which HR typically handles but it's tied to payroll reporting.

July 2017

Margaret from Republic Contracting Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

As stated- ease of use- if you can operate a personal computer- you can use this software.

If you are in the construction business and looking for a software that will cover all areas of accounting- then this is the software that you need.

Pros

The programs have been designed for construction business operations and making accounting faster and accurate without a lot of input.

Cons

I guess this would fall under pros- but updates- just like your personal computer- the software comes with updates that must be loaded- they are needed- just another function.

July 2018

Pamela from Foundations Hawaii, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Vista has changed the way we do business

Great company to do business with. They have been with us every step of the way from implementation to upgrades.

Pros

From a small construction company getting by with Excel spreadsheets for everything we did to a fully functioning, paperless enterprise. Viewpoint has brought our company into the future,

Cons

There are almost too many options with the program. Go into the reports menu and it's like going down a rabbit hole.

July 2017

Maria from Kinsley Construction, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Tool is exceptional

I use Viewpoint in every aspect of my job, so I've become very familiar with the software in the last 13 years. I absolutely enjoy working on it, it's easy to use and follow.

Pros

Easy to use and follow. You can customize your windows how ever you like. Reports are also easy to follow

Cons

Depending on number of licenses that are purchase sometimes is an issue to sign in. Also when everyone is using Viewpoint it takes longer for batches to post.

March 2018

Clay from Scott & Ritter, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Easy to work with.

We have been very pleased with the ease of use with Vista. It is a huge upgrade from our old software system.

Pros

We really love the reports you are able to pull in this software. The functions are pretty easy to figure out and understand. The Clearview resource that comes with Viewpoint is an amazing source of information regarding functionality and capabilities.

Cons

There is no option to file payroll and other taxes through Viewpoint like there is with some other software. Some functions require an import from spreadsheets which seems to lend itself to extra errors.

August 2015

Megan from Black Diamond Paving Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2015

A well thought-out package but very inflexible

Pros

The support staff is great, and because the package is industry-specific they also have some degree of knowledge about the industry, which is really helpful.

Cons

1) The integration was very poorly done, and we are still experiencing problems related to poor set-up over a year later even though we paid thousands and thousands of dollars for Viewpoint specialists. 2) The inflexibility in reporting has significantly hindered our ability to drive and analyze our business. Vendor-provided customizing is laughably expensive and slow, and outsourced report writing is expensive and has a long turn-around. While Viewpoint has many native reports, it makes no allowance for simple report creation or customizing, even the simplest thing like using a native report but wanting to sort or filter on a different field.

February 2018

Allan from St Francis Electric

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

This software makes my job easier!

The webinars and training in this software is very user friendly and very timely. The updates that are provide continue to impress me with the programming capability and versatility.

Pros

I like the adaptability of this software. The reports are configurable easily an it is very flexible. The software has many items that are making our team very informed and knowledgeable on the cost status on each of our projects.

Cons

Still learning ALL that it can do and provide. The training processes that VIEWPOINT provides helps to overcome the initial issue of understanding the new programs.

July 2015

Stan from Manganaro NA

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2015

Vista Review

Pros

Product is very flexible and it's easy to customize and extend the functionality. Those change fit seamlessly with the base product.

Cons

Database is not normalized in many areas. JC contract values do not interact with GL periods and lock downs - the job contract value should be treated just like the cost for reporting purposes, contract value changes can be back dated. FR is a weak offering and nearly an embarrassment. Call me and I'll discuss it with you or refer to my idea space post on this subject. The concept of a local client is an outdated software delivery method. Deliver an equivalent web based application set and don't charge existing customers for it.

February 2019

Taylor from JB Henderson Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Robust but Very Difficult

Pros

Very robust software that can do just about anything from finances (contracts, purchasing, forecasting, billings, etc), project management (RFIs, submittals, drawing tracker, etc.) to HR (timecards, training, etc.)

Cons

VERY difficult to learn and get used to the dynamics. It takes a lot of stick time to understand how things work and the best way of doing them.

July 2018

Grant from Corval Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Viewpoint is as good or as bad as you make it

Great software for programers

Pros

Viewpoint allows you to customize the user experience as much as you want. Things like custom fields, triggers causing updates to tables and custom look ups allow you to customize it.

Cons

Not a friendly user interface, looks like it was made in Windows 98. The tables between SM and JC on the back end are confusing if working in SQL

July 2017

Karen from Pollock Research & Design, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Vista Review

Pros

I really do like working in Vista. There may be some tasks that take a bit longer than in our previous operating system but then Vista makes up for in in other areas by far. The online help (Chat) is a great help and the Knowledge Base is a wonderful resource.

Cons

I think it takes too long for support to get back to us. By the time they do, I generally can't remember the details about the ticket I put in and sometimes I can't even remember the issue. I have to go out to Clearview, log in and look at my ticket.

September 2015

Caryn from Roeslein & Associates Inc

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

4.0

September 2015

Use this product everyday

Pros

It is Accounting's only financial tool to see the metrics we need to see on jobs without having to get bogged down in the details that our Engineers and PM's can't explain to us in laymen's terms. We created our own customized WIP reports that tie directly to our financial statements, and help us to narrow down what questions we need to ask our PM's on a job's performance related to cost, change orders, status and invoicing to the customer.

Cons

Would like the help to be a little more helpful. sometimes I can't find the help I need on my own.

July 2015

Rachael from Keeler Construction Co., Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

2.5

Functionality

3.5

July 2015

Keeler experience

Pros

how the different modules work together and how quickly the information can be obtained.

Cons

You have to go to different modules to do certain tasks that doesn't make a lot of sense. ie: Cash receipts are in AR rather than CM. Also, it doesn't get updated often enough to meet the demands of our customer base. ie: I can't email an invoice directly to a customer. I have to find the invoice, export it to email, then send it. I am getting more and more customers who wish to get their invoices sent by email rather than snail mail. Also, reports cannot be easily manipulated to get only what you want on them.

July 2017

Jackie from Mathiowetz Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Vista by Viewpoint is a very versatile and user friendly software system.

We are overall pleased with the software!

Pros

We have found the training sessions and the online help topics to be very helpful to new users. We also like the fact that if you want to capture data that does not currently exist within Vista, it is very easy to set up your own user defined fields.

Cons

The reporting in Vista is mainly in Crystal Reports. It is recommended that you have someone on staff that can make simple changes to the multitude of standard reports or the reporting process can become frustrating.

December 2018

Nick from General Contractor

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great Document Control Program

Pros

We use this for all of our accounting needs and services. Our company relies on this program more that Vista knows. It's the underrated program that keeps our train moving forward.

Cons

At times this can be a little buggy and opening certain modules can take a bit. Some features are intuitive where as other they aren't.

October 2017

Alicia from MCC, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Vista by ViewPoint

Pros

Vista has a lot of features that could benefit a company and be able to streamline information. There reporting options are endless IF you have the IT department to develop them.

Cons

The customer service is less than average. They continue developing new modules but do not put much time, if any into the existing modules that need work.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 209 reviews