All Viewpoint Vista Reviews

1-25 of 152 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Mary

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Viewpoint Vista - Tracking Jobs has never been easier

As a new user a 3+ years ago to Vista, I was able to easily jump in to get an understanding of the system overall. Today I am still learning new ways to improve our processes as each module can have so many options for tracking jobs.

PROS

The software has sooooo many options for tracking jobs. All components of a job (AP, payroll, billing, etc) are able to be tracked in Vista. The reporting is easy to track and understand. The options for customization are endless. We are able to create custom reports on the fly to accommodate our needs specific to job type or PM.

CONS

There are so many options and features that it can be confusing or hard to learn all the steps. There are so many features that have to filled out when entering data into the system in order to get accurate data out of the system that a new user can feel overwhelmed. For example setting up rates for job cost can easily be entered incorrectly if you do not enter every possible combination.

Reason for choosing Viewpoint Vista

I was not at my company when they first chose Vista. We are currently reviewing our options for available software but have not found a software that provides everything that Vista does.

Will

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2022

Shifting our users to the Web Based Viewpoint options, less in Vista

The web-based integrations like Keystyles, TEAMs, and Analytics have been instrumental in user's mobility

PROS

TEAMs and Analytics have been great additions

CONS

SQL platform is dated and slow. Very few updates to Vista functionality.

Reason for choosing Viewpoint Vista

I knew Vista

Reasons for switching to Viewpoint Vista

We outgrew the product

Vendor Response

Will - Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We greatly appreciate your feedback!

Replied August 2022

Seth

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2018

Worst implementation experience ever... A lot of turn over in there team that "helps" you too. Company has too many Growing Pains that affect the customer.

PROS

This software is pretty user friendly and it is pretty efficient for the line of work we do. We are a manufacture of Concrete products and its hard to find a software that can handle our line of work like that.

CONS

The implementation was absolutly one of the worst experiances ever. It took us over a year and a half just to get started with the system. We went through project mangers after project managers because the company was restructuring. Which was hard on use because we pay a lot of money for them to come out and try to help us implement this. We would have explain everything over and over when someone would be replaced. It got really old. Not to mention you have to watch when you get customized things done. They do not do these in house and they are never on a deadline for you. We constantly work around their schedules and not ours. I personally would have looked harder into something else before going this route. It just seems as though this company because they are owned by investors is having too many trickle down effects ultimately on the customers. Not good business.

Ann

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2017

Vista by Viewpoint - Project Management

I think a great deal of the Cons could be eliminated if the training was better, but the way I understand the roll out training was so expensive and fast that it wasn't that helpful. Plus it happened on the onset before they had any experience with the software. There are video trainings that are good, but some are outdated.

PROS

After you learn the nuances of the software its a good product. It tracks compliance well, subcontract and change order entry is easy. Good reports to obtain information.

CONS

Due to inadequate initial training the previous AP lady thought she could bill an amount on items that were designated as EA (having unit cost and Unit Quantity. As a result, we have had major issues. The support staff said if Viewpoint would fix that issue their support cases would drop exponentially. If they cannot fix it, at least they should not allow the user to be able to perform the function. Although good data on the reports, some are clumsy. At times it is difficult to find exactly what you want to display on a report. Support is great, but when the problem overlaps from one category to another, you can get faulty information. For example...if you have an AP problem, it could be causing a problem in SL but the AP support team won't know to tell you that. We had a major issue that was created as a result of this because it crossed years.

Chris

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

A view from the daily worker

I have been working with Viewpoint for 15 years now and have seen many great improvements. Overall the software is user friendly and covers most all our needs. It has been a great software to use and the staffing at Viewpoint are always friendly. I have really liked the addition of the Employee portal, that has saved my team so much time, while ensuring that the field is using the correct jobs and phases.

PROS

I like the fact that the software is very easy to use. They have many tools to gain more information on how things are set up and processed in the knowledge based articles. Customer service is very supportive and generally able to fix any issues that may arise. The use of the Employee portal is wonderful as well.

CONS

There are defiantly things that can and should be improved. One of those items would be the labor categories and the fact that you can not use the same craft and class code combination in more that one category. This is really inconvenient given our customers want to see time grouped but others want to see them broken out.

Reasons for switching to Viewpoint Vista

Viewpoint made us move over as they were no longer supporting the old system.

Vendor Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We greatly appreciate your feedback!

Replied August 2022

Randy

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

While difficult to setup, it is an integrated system handling our Service Management, project management, Document management and Accounting and has eliminated duplicate entry we used to have to do with our old system.

If I could go back in time and look at the software purchase again, I would still go with Viewpoint. While the process takes an enormous investment in time, it has been worth the work.

PROS

It is integrated and allows us to share information more easily across the entire team. We can attach documents to transactions allowing us to have info at out fingertips allowing us to answer questions from clients without having to go and pull paper files to research the answer. It is very versatile, allowing us to create custom fields that are not over written when updates come out. this allows us to customize the software to allow us to do business "our" way.

CONS

The Versatility that makes this product so good is also a con in that it makes it more difficult to setup. If you come from a simple solution to Viewpoint, you don't know what you don't know and you may make some short sighted decisions on how to setup or implement the product. Our implementation team from Viewpoint did a great job of trying to point out some of those potential pitfalls.

Lori

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Construction Accounting

Overall, we are happy with the software. We know where the kinks are and what reports are not accurate to use.

PROS

The my tasks ability is great. Everyone is able to set up the menu in a way that makes sense to them. The main menu is well laid out and for the main AP & AR screens are user friendly.

CONS

Finding answers in the help section can be very tricky. You need to use the right words/phrases and even then a lot of times you can't get a straight answer or simple step by step directions on what you want done. When entering invoices in AP, due to a system update, you can now enter an invoice over a subcontract or purchase order amount and have the PM approve it. It won't interface to the system, but you have now wasted time of several people for an invoice that previously would not go forward when first entered. Setting up T&M templates is a beast and the help section is not very user friendly.

Corey

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Overall Solid Product

Overall the experience has been good. After being bought out by Trimble, the company has gotten bigger and a bit more impersonal.

PROS

Robust features allow an organization to tailor the software to its needs. There are plenty of add-ons available if something is lacking out of the box.

CONS

Support has been somewhat lacking and the payroll reporting that was formerly all in-house has been farmed out to Aatrix. That adds additional cost and complexity that didn't exist when we first went live.

Reason for choosing Viewpoint Vista

We liked the look and feel of the product over the other options as well as the ability to customize to our needs.

Reasons for switching to Viewpoint Vista

We didn't have a true ERP at the time, and we knew it was time to implement a solution to help our company grow.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate your feedback, Corey!

Replied August 2022

Eddie

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2024

Viewpoint Vista is a cost effective and powerful ERP for contractors

PROS

Effective tool for project managers and accounting personnel to track job costs.

CONS

Backend modifications require input from consultants and costly customizations.

Troy

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Overall a good product but training needs to be more seemless

I think it's a good program overall. Much better than JD Edwards, although I haven't used that in years.

PROS

Forecasting and the PM tools are useful. It is not an intuitive program however and does take training. I feel like most of our staff would benefit from training, but it has not been prioritized yet.

CONS

There are too many programs/modules that we do not use. Some seem repetitive, it's not obvious to a new user even where to start. There needs to be better training segments like "Training for PM's, for AR, for AP" etc.

Ben

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

Great product, great future growth perspective

Great product, great company, highly recommend. We have been on the product over a year and continue to be pleased.

PROS

Vista is a very robust system and if you are an organization that wants to have one effective place to track all of your information, this is it. After doing 5 months of research and reviews over other products like Sage, COINS, and others, I am convinced this is the top shelf. There are incredible help resources, the implementation team was phenomenal, and they have been consistently updating the software and making it better on a consistent basis. I could go on about other things that I like about it, but the high-level Pro that I have is that it is a product that is well thought out and is mostly mature (see cons) across the board.

CONS

The service module is the only thing that is not up to snuff with the rest of the product. It still lacks the maturity that the rest of the product has. It is 100% usable and it is effective, but it does not attain the same level of greatness that the rest of the product has. That being said, the last 4 major updates have all included Service Module enhancements, so it is obviously getting taken care of.

Tom

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

CA Review

Overall my experience hasn't been great coming from other Construction Project & Accounting Software. There is a lot of positives about Vista, however, I find the very old feeling of the software to be a shame as it leaves users who are required to use this software daily feeling unexcited.

PROS

I enjoy the interfacing process the most about the software and how multiple items can be entered allowing the using to only Interface or lock these in as required. I also like the amount of reports available to peruse allowing the user to gain a detailed understanding into certain areas of the project.

CONS

The software is very old and needs to be updated to provide a modern feel. Often the software feels slow having to sync back up with the server which is disappointing. The Forecasting Module is also particularly tricky to understand and get right without causing an error.

Reasons for switching to Viewpoint Vista

Only because I moved companies and Vista is the software they use.

Bridgette

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Small Business Heavy Contractor

We have used Viewpoint Vista since it became Viewpoint Vista. It has served us well. I have noticed through the years, that our software has been in the forefront in evolving to meet the needs of the changing landscape of construction. This also includes the changing landscape of regulations and paperwork needed to operate a construction business.

PROS

The product is multifaceted with so many options to use for your construction business. As you grow, it grows with you.

CONS

Because of the many varied options, sometimes it is hard to navigate all of those options to optimize the use of this software.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that Viewpoint Vista has been such a great fit for your business.

Replied August 2022

John

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2017

to Vista from a custom app

The heart of Viewpoint is it's people. There are many software packages with lots of features in the market. The big difference it the staff that you work with before and during conversion as well as the support staff afterward. Viewpoint technical support people are knowledgeable and take the time to work with you to resolve any issues.

PROS

We had spent a decade with a custom built application. The Vista (Viewpoint) system was able to provide all the function we had and needed as well as giving so much more in features. The system is very flexible and can a few setting adjustments can be tailored to fit our needs. The information provided ranges from very detailed to summarized as needed. A powerful system.

CONS

The only cons I can think of revolve around the ability to customize the system. If you are moving to Vista from another app, take the time needed to work with your Viewpoint rep before and during the conversion. We had a few changes to make afterward that would have not been needed had we talked them over with our conversion rep. It will be time well spent.

Tim

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Viewpoint Vista - A good product but some work to do

Good integration for a multi-faceted business. Cloud based product with good security and single sign on.

PROS

Viewpoint One web-based project management and financial controls, solid payroll, general ledger and accounts payable package.

CONS

Analytics Reporting on Viewpoint One is very clunky, BI is very limited. Dispatch board from the Service Management module needs more flexibility to prioritize calls and tag/flag calls on the board. Projection tools within Project Management module don't provide real time functionality and are not easy to use.

Jessica

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Great Project Financial Management

Viewpoint Vista has all the tools to make Project Financial Management a breeze.

PROS

Being able to customize this software to fit our company and project needs has been very beneficial. The project financial management capabilities are extremely useful.

CONS

I would like more options for equipment management.

Jeff

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2017

It's a failure

So sorry to many of our hundreds of subcontractors that I had originally recommended to this product...several made the jump. All are very unhappy.

PROS

Possibilities to work with Microsoft platform. SQL based and therefore we have the ability to get to the information we really need (all-be-it backdoor).

CONS

Poor execution and support. No system based financials. Poorly structured work flow. Weak asset management. Weak scheduling. Three years later still not working as well as Computer Ease. Just paid to go back top Computer Ease (although it has its own issues).

Carlin

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY