What are Xactimate users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Xactimate software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

3.9

51 Reviews

5
17
4
24
3
3
2
2
1
5
3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
3.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"I like that it is widely accepted by insurance carriers. It is fairly simple to navigate."
  • icon"User friendly program that allows companies to estimate for repair work."
  • icon"Ease of use, learning curve. Sketches are extremely helpful in calculating linear footages and areas (des take a little more to get good at)."
  • icon"Tricky to sketch multiple roof slopes, specially when there are different highs too. There is no waste factor when replacing flooring."
  • icon"Everything is compartmentalized to make everything very difficult."
  • icon"A little clunky at times. Hard to find needed line items unless you know exactly what you're looking for."

Jump to:

Browse all Xactimate Reviews

  • Have you used Xactimate and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 51 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 51 reviews

Johnathan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Xactimate Review

The time it takes us to generate an estimate for a project has been cut in half. And moving to the web based version allows our team to work directly from the jobsite in real time instead of having to take pictures and measure rooms with a tape measure and take all the data back to the office to sketch out. Overall we really appreciate having access to this software and how well it works within our industry.

Pros

We are now using Xactimate online and have recently learned that the newer iPhones with the Lidar would allow the estimator to draft an entire room in a fraction of the time that it used to take drawing it out by hand. This has become a real time savor for our business.

Cons

We have had some major issues when attempting system upgrades over the years. In theory everything seemed pretty straightforward, but then we would have features that no longer worked, or jobs that we could not access using the updated version. And then we would have to call customer support and then entire process has taken 2-4 days in the past.

Erik

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

Good program, Simple yet sophisticated.

Xactimate is great for producing cost estimates contractors. I used it as a project manager under two GC's. As this was my first job doing this sort of work it was the first time using the program, but I found it was fairly easy to pick up. The search tool and descriptions helped me to find line items I otherwise might have forgotten to charge for. The sketching tool is great to help with dimensions and calculations (I did always have trouble w. stair cases for some reason though). Prices updated regularly and the print out is easy to read and understand for customers as well. Very straight forward and not confusing. Overall I'd recommend this product to any mitigation and restoration team and to contractors.

Pros

Ease of use, learning curve. Sketches are extremely helpful in calculating linear footages and areas (des take a little more to get good at) Prices update every month Simple, easy to understand print out summary of line items. A number of insurance companies use Xactimate so it was easy to discuss/ negotiate items in the estimates.

Cons

Did have some trouble getting sketches "just right", maybe some ease of use tools would be helpful for those of us not familiar w. CAD

Christopher

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

It's Necessary

Xactimate is necessary software for property adjusters. We have little choice but to pay the price they charge. It could be better. Finding proper line items is more difficult than need be. A tree menu would be helpful. Also, a little more flexibility in the amount of overhead and profit to be applied to specific line items (if the amount varies depending on the trade) would be nice.

Pros

Widely accepted by contractors and insurance companies for creating accurate repair estimates.

Cons

A little clunky at times. Hard to find needed line items unless you know exactly what you're looking for.

Dale

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Amazing product just takes some time

Xactware offers training at a cost which I’m sure would help tremendously...I’m just too cheap so I took the longer slower route. The program was truly a Godsend for me.

Pros

The program is very detailed down to the number of screws a particular job will require. It gives the amount of time you will need and gives you the flexibility to change prices inside the program to customize you particular market if those prices differ from the program but I’ve found it to be spot on with my market.

Cons

The program is so detailed and full of options that it can be overwhelming...it’s definitely learnable it just takes time and commitment.

Antonio

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Xactimate

I love Xactimate because it is the tool most used to make my living.

Pros

I like that it is widely accepted by insurance carriers. It is fairly simple to navigate.

Cons

There are a few categories that are not in line with market value. If you aren't aware of the deficiencies you could find yourself short on an estimate. Drywall is severely lacking compared to market value.

H Kent

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

State of the Art Estimating Software

A must for anyone doing insurance restoration or remodeling

Pros

Recognized by most insurance companies, it is kept current and pricing can be modified by zip code. Excellent sketching tools

Cons

Steep learning curve, some glitches in import of pictures into the new version of Xactimate. Does not have some higher quality items and is probably a little low for commercial use.

Sigfrid

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Very accurate

I will continue using the software and getting the new updates.

Pros

Easy to learn, use and to export information. The program allows you to embed photos and attach information, another good feature is the 3D sketch.

Cons

Tricky to sketch multiple roof slopes, specially when there are different highs too. There is no waste factor when replacing flooring.

Seth

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

Online version is very glitchy.

I would recommend updating price lists per area with actual data.

Pros

This software has basic CAD features. The overall product is simple to learn. The communication with other programs is easy.

Cons

The web version is glitchy and doesn't have full actions that the desktop version has. The pricing guides are not accurate.

Richard

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Best available for restoration

Very satisfied and user friendly

Pros

The update to current pricing on a regular basis

Cons

The amount of typing that is involved for the added categories

Hector

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Too many crashes

A waste of my time.

Pros

I am level 3 certified. Very easy program to use. But it crashes every 5 to 10 minutes. I hope they scrap X1 and start all over.

Cons

I am 62 years old. I know several software. As far as reliability, it is the wort software ever. Xactimate 28 was one of the best software. All my friends complain about the crashes.

Reasons for choosing Xactimate

Only because all the Insurance company I do business with are using it.

Jay

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Problem softwARE

probably shouldn't

Pros

Unfortunately, it is the standard in the storm damage remediation business.

Cons

It crashes daily, loosing valuable work and valuable time. very frustrating from a user standpoint. Many of the functions are not consistent with computer standard user functions...

Paul

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2017

Xactimate 2.8 must. A must-have for the insurance restoration contractor

Pros

It is a must-have software if you're in the insurance restoration business. It has all the features to prepare quality estimates for insurance presentations

Cons

It would be nice to be able to create custom column headings and Custom layout for special reports currently it is quite limited to templates

H Kent

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

Insurance Recognized

Generally good value overall

Pros

Sketch is accurate and estimates almost universally recognized in insurance industry. The pricing per area is a plus

Cons

Does not tie into third party management programs or quickbooks. Does not have a tie in with google maps or other easily importable measurement software

Emerson

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Excellent Tool for any Contractor

Pros

Having the current fair market rates for almost any work that needs to be done on a home is priceless. We work with insurance companies so it has allowed us to generate over in supplements last year.

Cons

You need to attend training to be able to use the program properly and to its fullest potential. The training is time consuming and expensive but it is well worth it.

Jim

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

20 + years, product has gotten better, still some glitches and shuts down

Pros

Sketch, generally friendly and very customizable (still needs work on some of its flexibility however)

Cons

You give me notices that calculations are not correct - but YOU as the program give me the calculations

Jeff

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Xactimate allows me to achieve profitable insurance and non-insurance revenue

Pros

I appreciate that it is recognized by so many in the construction world and updates its pricing & labor efficiency.

Cons

The mobile platform still needs work. It is functional, however, difficult to accurately utilize daily.

Brittany

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Difficult to Learn but once you do, the possibilities are near endless.

Pros

You can customize reports to show only the line items or summary and anything in between. Once you learn the basics, you can still do a lot without having to go to the advanced class.

Cons

Finding the correct line item can sometimes be difficult if you aren't sure what the program calls it. When you adjust the quantity (or qualifier) of a line item and select "ok," the program will kick you to the bottom of your item list and you will have to scroll back up to the item you were working on to view the amount it has populated.

Matt

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

Good estimating software

Use it for work. Does what it should, overall has become industry standard.

Pros

Easy to use once you learn it.

Cons

Some finicky issues with sketch function and sketch variables in estimating.

Sara

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

Xactimate for Roofing Business

Good product!

Pros

Exact estimates based on material, sq. Footage, etc. The software allows for each house to be converted to a project and saved.

Cons

I am tech savvy and it took me awhile to learn to efficiently use this product. However, once I mastered it, it is an essential part of my daily business.

Jaime

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

It's being a relieve to use this software in my work

Pros

It's easy to use. and very complex I really like how you can work with this program, and be available for my employees to have access.

Cons

I don't like that xactimate online because it can only have access through internet explorer . I would recommend trying to use it in chrome.

Mary

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

Property Restoration

Great up to date software that most insurance companies also work with. Easy to learn and allows you to use onsite and email within minutes.

Jafet

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2017

Very helpfull

Good software for estimating.

Pros

Yo can find almost all activities you need to estimate, accurate pricing, wide selection of activities by category. Is easy to use.

Cons

Have found some activities the material pricing is not according to industries pricing, some are cheaper than they really are.

Alina

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

A must have if you deal with insurance companies

Its very useful. Worth its price.

Pros

Very easy to use, easy to access from anywhere: tablet, desktop, phone or online. Customer service is great and can help you out any time

Cons

not all line items easy to find. The software costs a lot. Can't say it doesn't worth it. The rest is okay

Steve

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Why me?

Why did you send this to me? I haven't uses xactimate for years.

Pros

The fact that Task pricing is in the program, and yet they can be adjusted. So the prices are a good place to start.

Cons

The cost is too much for the amount of times that I would use it. When I was doing insurance repair it was ok. But now I don't use it enough.

Christina

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

Xactimate Review

I have worked with Xactimate for 11 Years now doing water & fire restoration estimates and now roofing.

Pros

For the most part, pricing is Fare in the state of NM. It's easy to work with. When there is an issue, the online support team is very helpful. It has many different trades to write an estimate on. Can be used for simple ad complex projects. It's compatible with QuickBooks.

Cons

It doesn't allow you to snap lines for Metal roofing take off. The areal sketch is more expensive than Eagle view.

Showing 1 - 25 of 51 reviews
Xactimate

Xactimate

3.9/5 out of 51 reviews
PriceDemo