All CircleCI Reviews

1-25 of 89 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Darrell "Jeremy"

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2017

Great build/deploy tool

It's quick, easy to set up, and I like it. There are some usability fixes that are needed around user maangement, but otherwise, it's great! And works with all of the languages I use out of the box, and with no configuration.

PROS

CircleCI was great and easy to set up. It allows me to see what's going on with all of my builds quickly and in real time.

CONS

The user management is not very good. I have 5 contributors to a repo, and I can only add two of them as users. I can't even add users that aren't a contributor to the repo. My boss, my QA people, and my PMs can't see anything that's happening in the platform.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

The right CI system for our DevOps

We used this CI/CD management software to deliver the products as fast as we can to test the water (product-market fit, validation...), then iterate, and pivoting quickly if needed. It's a good tool to do all of that.

PROS

These features helped us with fixing issues and shipping more: Configuration Management, Build Log and Approval Workflow. All of that made our workplace headache-free and reduce the number of sleepless nights for our developers...

CONS

The software lacks these features: Chat/Messaging, Authentication and Assignment Management.

Reasons for switching to CircleCI

Clients request

User Profile

Carey

Verified reviewer

Internet, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Easy-to-use UI and features for configuring the CI

We deploy in the form of a circle. Since it was already in place when I began working here, I can't speak to how things were before, but I can say that it makes things much simpler for newcomers to the organization.

PROS

Excellent customer service, and now even faster builds Workflows 2.0 makes it simple for me to parallelize tasks. Simple integration with code-quality services like GitHub. If necessary, it can be built on macOS.

CONS

Nothing of significance to point out. It's a little messy with reduced resolutions if we go to a project and filter it by Branch Name. On a mobile device or a browser tab, for example. Except for that, everything else is fine.

User Profile

Yasmany

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

CI/CD with few lines

Integration with IOs allow us to build and test the mobile apps and automatize our whole CI/CD pipeline

PROS

Sine the release of circleci v2.0 using containers as the main advantage using circle has become much simpler and powerfull. Their integration with IOs its a powerup in front of other CI/CD platforms

CONS

The ui really needs to cleanup a bit, make it simpler. Also their need to provide more integrations with third party tools

Noah

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

I love CI about as much as Circle does

PROS

The simplicity of configuration is unparalleled. We use CI on new projects day one. The ease of use, and setup, is definitely what keeps us coming back.

CONS

Lack of tools for multi project repos. We would love to keep our front and back-end code together in one repo while splitting the CI for them. So, it'd be great if we could run two builds separately based on the same repo.

User Profile

Ryan

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

CircleCi has changed how we develop

Overall I've been really happy with the performance from circleci. Even their free plan has been great.

PROS

Has helped up to totally streamline our development and testing workflow. Each service has it's own pipeline. The management interface and docker integration have made the setup and monitoring process super simple.

Travis

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

Easy to use and powerful

PROS

Super easy configuration and initial setup. Powerful features like running steps of build/testing process in parallel. CircleCI is our teams core safety net for catching bugs and deploying safely, often.

CONS

Not a lot to dislike. Sometimes the interface changes and buttons that you used to expect to be there (like the one for rebuild with out cache) disappear. Hopefully there will be fewer of these unexpected changes as 2.0 becomes more mature.

User Profile

Filip

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

Powerful CI / CD platform

PROS

Great UI, easy to setup, easy to manage. All integrations "just work", we use Slack notifications, webhooks for triggering build, and even those sweet browser notifications when we need to make sure that the build is successful. Impressive Docker support.

CONS

Circle 2.0 offers improved customizability, added more features, but for small and simple projects it's not as easy to setup anymore.

vikash

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

My favourite tool for continuous integration :)

PROS

It is easy to setup. It can do very fast parallel testing. I find UI of it clear and easy to use. it provide integration of many app like GitHub. it supports 8 languages and 16 databases and it also supports Headless browser.

CONS

it Does not cache docker images. Docker is way outdated on the VM provided. Other than that i don't find any problem with it. I think it is best

User Profile

Tung

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Great tool but lack tutorials

PROS

As any Continuous Integration tool it does what it should do. Builds and runs. Hard to say what's the most because haven't used other CI tools but CircleCI does what's expected and there was no thoughts about changing to other tools. So I would recommend using it.

CONS

The tutorials are not yet clear. They don't lead from start to workable CI.

Robert

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Best in class continuous integration

My go-to on every SAAS product. Delivers the goods everytime.

PROS

It is incredibly easy to get started, you can be integrated in hours and from then on its a consistent reliable platform for all your CI needs.

CONS

As test suites grow and parallelization becomes important it can get awfully expensive. I still use it on every project but I was at a prior company where we racked up bills in the thousands a month without really trying for not that big a product. This was definitely due to some poor planning but CircleCI makes it easy to land yourself in that kind of situation if you're not careful.

Mehak

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

One of te best on cloud CI/CD for all kinds of application.

Used it with a number of applications, the GIT integration was very smooth. It is used for the deployment of the master on test and production environment by simple pull request creation and branch merge.

PROS

The great configurational freedom to the user makes it suitable for any and all kinds of applications. The step by step view provided is very helpful UI to track the whole process. The YML templates make it very easy to set up and the git configuration part is very well documented and just a few steps can make it work.

CONS

The pricing of the tool is a bit on the higher side compared to its competitors. Docker support is not complete.

Timothy

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

Great tool

We have been able to do some incredible things with Circle CI as our continuous integration and deployment tool. Definitely recommend!

PROS

The flexibility of configuring build environments for various technologies stacks and needs is key. Circle CI provides some getting started assistance through documentation and tooling, and once you’re past that there really is very little in terms of constraints holding you back from near infinite flexibility. It’s a great service!

CONS

The threshold of minimum knowledge required to get started is a bit higher than some of the competitors.

Nikhil Kumar

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Simple and inexpensive tool for CI/CD.

PROS

It's inexpensiveness is the main attraction but also along with that CircleCi provides tons of other helpful features as well you can share the test logs via email as well.

CONS

As for my use case I don't have anything to dislike and it is ideal for me.

Harmandeep

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

CircleCI for build/deployment

PROS

It helps me to analyze all build quickly in real time. It is pretty simple to configure, setup and use. It has a pretty good integration with various remote repositories and it can run tests and give you results.

CONS

The learning curve is steep for some developers. It has two versions of the software, which sometimes makes it difficult to manage.

Remco

Verified reviewer

Renewables & Environment, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2017

try building it manually

PROS

automated testing, building and deploying really helped or project in reaching maximum velocity for the scrum teams

CONS

What I least like about Circle CI is the slow learning curve for some of the programmers so that they are able to make a build and deploy script themselves

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2017

If you haven't tried it, you need to

PROS

generous free plans for open source projects easy to set up plenty of features plenty of customization runs quick

CONS

Additional containers are a bit pricey. There are other services offering similar products at much lower prices.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Very helpful and resonable pricing plans

I'm developing and managing various web services and mobile apps in a small startup. CircleCI is essential for productivity and maintaining code quality with my team.

PROS

It provides many useful features, and I can use most of them with a free plan. Customer service is also excellent.

CONS

'Workflows' is useful, but it can not be tested locally by its nature.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2019

Very easy

PROS

The software works great, is fast, and extremely easy to use.

CONS

None, but I believe paid options could be less expensive

Jonathan

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE