All Codemagic Reviews

1-25 of 121 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Evgenij

2 - 10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed November 2021

A very good CI/CD pipeline for mobile apps

User Profile

Joseph

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Agrxis Review on Codemagic

I've generally been pleased with my interactions with Codemagic. By automating the build, test, and deployment procedures, the platform has assisted me in streamlining my app development process. My processes are straightforward to set up and manage because of the user interface's clarity and usability. I also value the degree of customisation that is offered because it enables me to modify the platform to suit my particular requirements. Every time I have a query or run into a problem, the support staff is likewise incredibly accommodating and helpful. Overall, if another developer is searching for a solid and effective CI/CD solution for mobile apps, I would heartily recommend Codemagic.

PROS

I adore Codemagic so much! The simplicity and use of this platform are what I value most. I don't have to spend a lot of time configuring a CI/CD pipeline using Codemagic for my mobile app development projects. The platform is incredibly adaptable and supports both iOS and Android app development. The program also offers real-time feedback on the building process, which aids in my ability to spot and fix problems or faults as they arise. The customer service is also excellent and quick to respond. Overall, Codemagic has greatly streamlined and simplified my mobile app development process.

CONS

Thus far, my experience with Codemagic has been very positive and I have not encountered any issues or concerns.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Magic bullet for mobile CI/CD

PROS

The UI configuration wizard is one of the coolest thing of the whole system. Also, 1st class Flutter projects support is something I was looking for.

CONS

There is no way to easily do a feature request or contact support, since Codemagic pushes users to their Slack community instead of giving a chance to just contact the right person. Also, after using Bitrise for quite some time it feels like Codemagic misses some additional predefined steps for configuration.

Reasons for switching to Codemagic

Had issues with configuring iOS builds of my Flutter project on Bitrise

Gustav

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Either expensive or slow, always easy to use

PROS

Super easy to get everything setup, getting builds, testing and deployment up quickly is worth it.

CONS

Slow build times, unless you pay more and then it's expensive instead

Peter

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Super easy to use

Our mobile app is the core of our business and I'm very happy I decided to use Codemagic. It simply works, offloads the boring parts of CI/CD and does so while looking great.

PROS

I love how easy it was to set up and use. Codemagic did a great job at automating all the time consuming parts of CI/CD, you don't need to scroll pages of documentation to do what you want, just configure it in their nice and intuitive UI.

CONS

I would like to have the ability to restart a failed build. It is very rare, but once I had a build fail because of some networking issue while publishing to Google Play Store and it would be nice to have a button for restarting it.

Reason for choosing Codemagic

It supports Flutter out of the box, no configuration needed, just point it to a repo, setup keys for signing and it was working in no time.

Vendor Response

Kuddos on your kind words. We cannot add the ability to resume failed builds due to some reasons. The most basic reason is that after a user fixes the error we cannot guarantee that the fix did not break the previously passed steps. Therefore, it is not feasible to start a build from where they failed. In this kind of case, we suggest you downloading binary and running them in yout terminals for that. Happy building!

Replied August 2021

Amey

Education Management, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Definitely recommend for Flutter Developers

I love the app. I have deployed, run tests for all my projects and applications on Codemagic. It's really fun and simple to setup and use. I would highly recommend it to every mobile developer, especially to the Flutter developers.

PROS

It's really simple to use. The UI is super friendly, and anyone can deploy their app without even having a pre-knowledge of CI/CD and DevOps.

CONS

I use the app for both Flutter and native iOS(Swift) programs, and pretty much all of my needs are satisfied. However, I'd like if Testmagic was brought back with a feature that allowed installation of .ipa files on iPhone or the iPad.

Reasons for switching to Codemagic

Travis CI is also the best in CI/CD field, but Codemagic is the perfect groove for Flutter Developers, as it specifically handles all the needs a Flutter developer would need, right from encrypting personal tokens, to deploying the product to Apple App Store or Google Play Store.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Good, but it can be improved

Overall is good, I will use it for my next projects.

PROS

The ability to free up time for deployment, tools that allows to easily check for problems and the debugging session

CONS

Documentation for the set up (not for flutter project) should be made more comprehensible. The inability to receive an email when a build failed.

Reason for choosing Codemagic

Because it was easier to maintain instead of custom docker images, expecially on MacOS

Andreas

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Codemagic review

PROS

Codemagic is relatively easy to set up and their how they've structured their free tier makes it easy to test it out I also like that they support putting the workflow set up as code and store it with my code in the repo

CONS

I haven't seen a great way to create encrypted variables when I want to include them in my codemagic.yml file. I have a work around of setting up a workflow and then exporting it to a codemagic.yml and copy the pieces I need from it

Reasons for switching to Codemagic

Because of how the free tier is structured. With Bitrise they have a 30 minute limit on builds and they would sometimes time out

User Profile

Dinesh

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Perfect CI/CD tool for your Flutter mobile apps

Great and reduced our goto market time. Saving our DevOps team at least 2 to 3 days in a fortnight.

PROS

Integrating with Github, natively build and deploy Flutter based mobile apps. Especially the pipelines are super easy to manage. macOS based VM's are a huge plus to streamline our iOS builds. That's something definitely saved a lot of time for my teams. Also, option to share the build artifacts directly using a link is something we use on a day to day basis.

CONS

Nothing as of now. We are looking for more team-based controls and static analysis tools.

User Profile

Carmine

Verified reviewer

Design, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

generous and serious service

the user interface is simple and intuitive, right to the point

PROS

is possible to accomplish a perfect integration even with the free tier

CONS

I would pay for more powerful machine to decrease build time

Vendor Response

Thank you! We have calculated that Mac Pro instances are up to 40% faster than Mac Mini Machines. Please learn more about the machine specifics here: https://docs.codemagic.io/specs/versions4/ Codemagic also provides Linux instances for faster Android builds: https://docs.codemagic.io/specs/versions-linux/ Happy building!

Replied August 2021

User Profile

Rudrank

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

One of the best visual CI/CD service

PROS

I'm an Apple platforms developer, and Codemagic, focusing on providing CI/CD service for mobile development, turned out to be the ideal choice. Configuring and setting up my projects were a breeze, thanks to the excellent documentation. I love the visual appeal of the service, and it fulfills all my needs, automates testing and deployment to the App Store in the quickest time possible.

CONS

I haven't come across any cons as of yet. Sometimes, it takes time to load the project to test, otherwise no issues.

Andrei

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

An excellent and continuously growing product offered by an excellent team

PROS

As with any other product, perhaps the most important aspect is whether it solves a problem or not. In our case, we were looking for a CI/CD platform to build and deliver our Flutter applications. Codemagic was among the very few available at that time and, as soon as we started using it, we stopped searching. Not only it solved our problem, but it helped us do it effectively and efficiently. Not to mention the generous free tier and the excellent documentation and guides/blog posts such as the ones describing how to handle Firebase configuration files safely. Moreover, we have seen Codemagic grow into a more mature and comprehensive platform including support for more frameworks and monorepos (again, excellent blog post about them).

CONS

I am having a really hard time finding any issues. Of course, there are some things you have to get used to such as workflows and where to find certain settings, but overall Codemagic really does well what it's supposed to do.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your kind words! https://blog.codemagic.io is from developers to developers to help them healthy mobile apps faster. We are really excited to hear you have found it to be a quality source for you.

Replied August 2021

Douglas

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Codemagic - it's really magic

Really very good, magic way to publish apps in stores.

PROS

it's very easy to publish apps in an automated way, both for new apps and for updating apps that already exist.

CONS

the system sometimes charges per user and not just minutes.

Reason for choosing Codemagic

Is the best.

Vendor Response

Thank you! Codemagic does not charge for a seat in the team but for every user that triggers builds. The number of active users is reset at the beginning of every month. Happy building!

Replied August 2021

Daniel

Veterinary, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Codemagic is truly Magic

We had a CI/CD solution setup for a new Flutter app in less than a week which has enabled us to build an entire app within 5 months from start to finish and achieve a tight feedback loop with testers and stakeholders. The customer support quality and responsiveness is unparalleled.

PROS

The ability to get a Flutter app built and deployed is so simple and streamlined that even non-developers can define their own workflows to suit their needs.

CONS

The UI can be a little difficult to navigate at times and find certain features.

Aashish

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Code magic is best for CI/CD for mobile application.

PROS

- It support all major platform for app development. Like Native development in swift, java and kotlin. It also support for flutter developement. - CI and CD option available are best in the merket

CONS

- Price could be little lower for indie developers, but still it is one of the best available option.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

I don't understand the seat charge

I have a good experience with Codemagic, it was easy to put my app on production with it.

PROS

The ease of building and sending my app to the official and test stores.

CONS

I can't understand why are you charging for seats. Is it not only the build minutes that matter? What's the point of charge for another seat? For me it's only an inconvenience.

Reason for choosing Codemagic

The flutter-first support.

Reasons for switching to Codemagic

The flutter-first support.

Mohamed

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Automate your apps deployment on Stores with Best Security Coverage

Finally, its a Great product for individual devs, but needs some extra feature to be used as a team.

PROS

one of the best features is that Codemagic supports Flutter, which make it easier for me to develop my code, also i am using my preferred platform without restrictions to specific one. also its Simple not complicated tool.

CONS

i think they are need the team support for the tool, the support is not the best thing, also there're no branch triggers or Screenshots.

Kornel

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Easy setup

I don’t understand CI and the company doesn’t have DevOps. That’s why I was glad that Codemagic provided me with an easy next-next-finnish setup and it works!

PROS

Easy setup of CI and good price/value rate.

CONS

Sometimes the build starts a little slow.

Reason for choosing Codemagic

Easy setup of CI

Manisha

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Its Easy & reliable for use

Using to release and share the builds with the team & satisfied with the available features.

PROS

It's easy to understand & use. Reliable & secured with access permissions. Easy to share builds with team members.

CONS

Nothing specific is found till now as for us everything goes well.

Catalin

Telecommunications, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: