User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(7)

7

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Flexibility to customize as needed. Easy interface."

  • "The simplest development platform for 3D I've ever used. I'm not a developper, and after a single training I'm able to manage many functionalities on our platform, add new products."

  • Cons

  • "Learning curve is a bit steep. No documented software or training manuals. "

  • "Take in account subscription and renewal processes"

  • "There are no drawbacks from what I've experienced thus far. "

Browse KBMax Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -37 of 13 results

December 2020

Gioacchino (Gio) from NI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Great product and company

Pros

The KBMax configurator has been great, thus far. We are not only using it to provide configuration experiences within Salesforce but also to provide stand-alone configurators outside of Salesforce. This ability to re-use the configurator for different channels is key to keep our costs low as well as to provide a consistent experience across channels. The ability to generate output documents from KBMax (like BOMs) has proven to be a valuable asset as well. Our company has some pretty complicated product set, which requires complex rules and experiences to be built. So far, we have not run into a problem that we couldn't solve with the KBMax configurator. As a product owner, one of the most critical differentiators of KBMax (versus competitors) is the ability for us to prototype potential configuration experiences quickly. Anyone that works with configurators knows that there are many variables to consider and having the ability to try them and test them users quickly is invaluable. Just as important as the product, is the KBMax company itself. Everyone I've ever interacted with at KBMax has been great. Part of our company's choice to go with KBMax as a vendor partner was that they seemed to "get it". They picked up on our business needs quickly and understood our complicated configuration asks. Not only did they understand, they asked forward looking questions and have been pushing best practices upon us continuously as well.

Cons

We've noticed some deficiencies with multi-user authoring. For example, if you have multiple admins that are authoring or editing the same part of your configuration data model, you can potentially run into issues overwriting eachother's work. I'm not sure that any CPQ configurator solution does this well, though. However, we have provided this feedback to KBMax already to consider enhancing in future product releases.

December 2020

Patrick from The Prestwick Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Furniture

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Simple and adaptable for any of your business needs

Pros

Because the snap code is so simple to use, anyone can pick it up and contribute. Instead of needing a programmer to build the entire system and feed them information, you can have people of the right disciplines create their own configurators. There's no concern about syntax errors, etc. The flexibility of the code allows you to adapt to any of your business practices and get as granular as you'd like with things. You never really run into something that the software isn't capable of. The SolidWorks automation is very strong and can help produce a complicated product and bill of material. Many competitors can not handle the CAD and BOM creation that KBMax is capable of.

Cons

Although the Salesforce integration that we use is robust, it's not as fast as we'd like it to be when making revisions to orders. Because everyone uses the software in a different way, it can sometimes be difficult to get changes implemented by the KBMax team. Although it could be something critical to your specific business, KBMax may not deem it critical based on other customer needs.

Reasons for Choosing KBMax

KBMax stood out because of their simple snap code, broad scope across the company, CAD automation, and live visual scenes to help when configuring a product.

Reasons for Switching to KBMax

KBMax can impact every part of our organization and be used company-wide. Our old tool was mainly just focused on engineering.

November 2020

Binh from Bedco

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Good flexibility but heavy to program depending on the requirement

Great people and support, but sacrifice some robustness of functions due to high degree of flexibility and customization that is possible (lots of troubleshooting).

Pros

Flexibility to customize as needed. Easy interface.

Cons

Need to be a very technical programmer to configure the rules and workflow. Analytics is difficult (e.g. exporting quotes data, need APIs, etc..). Would like to see more native BI possibilities or at minimum export to Excel functions.

Reasons for Choosing KBMax

Flexibility

December 2020

Joshua from The Prestwick Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Furniture

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Flexible

Overall KBMax has made a tremendously positive impact on how our company does business and it's alleviated a lot of the repetitive work that goes on day to day in our sales and production. It's also given us a far better way to define our products and given our sales team a way to visualize, for themselves and our customers, exactly what they're order in real time.

Pros

Snap code makes the software easy to use and pick up with little previous programming experience. The flexibility of the software allows you to utilize it for many different scenarios. There's a lot of room for customization depending on the needs of your company and the other software you may be working with. If KBMax doesn't directly integrate with another software there is often some way you can make them work together.

Cons

Response to some bugs can be slow. If you have a bigger issue it will typically be resolved quicker, but some of the small to medium issues can take months to get fixed or have progress on them. I would like to see a little bit more responsiveness from the devs in this area.

October 2020

Stéphane from ITCelerator

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

CPQ solution with valuable features

With this platform we helped our customer streamline their quote process in a connected solution from sales to back-office.

Pros

Easy to implement Multichannel solution Multi Device solution (Mobile, tablet, desktop) Generation of documents for non IT teams Capability to extend Salesforce 3D & CAD generation for manufacturing Can be used to configure, price and quote insurance, telco, energy offers

Cons

Take in account subscription and renewal processes

Reasons for Choosing KBMax

Pricing Support

Reasons for Switching to KBMax

Performance Easy implementation Capabilities to integrate KBMax with the other components of the system information Powerful rules engine

November 2020

Tina from Outdoor Cap

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Power in the Customer's hands.

In the apparel industry customization is key. More and more people are looking to add their name or logo to a product. It is a great way to market and advertise what the wearer believes in or supports. KBMax provides an experience for our customers to get creative. They can design a product that represents the heart of their company.

Pros

The 3D capability of KBMax is visually appealing. Our Sales Reps and Customers have commented on how life like products look while using the 3D tool. The snap code is also easy and intuitive to use.

Cons

I have found one of the most complicated pieces of the software is creating a scene. Most users will need a certain amount of computer knowledge to use this feature. Also, it seemed time consuming to create 3D models. I don't believe this would be the case if wearable fabric/material wasn't being used.

Reasons for Choosing KBMax

At the time 3D technology was (and still is) new to the apparel industry. KBMax had the most advanced technology for the boundaries that had to be set around decoration abilities while still offering very detailed 3D visuals.

November 2020

Arnaud from Saint-Gobain PAM

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Simply Easy

Pros

The simplest development platform for 3D I've ever used. I'm not a developper, and after a single training I'm able to manage many functionalities on our platform, add new products.

Cons

From my personal point of view, support could be the weak point (but my company i probably art of the issue)

Reasons for Choosing KBMax

existing platform, so a kind of warranty of success

March 2011

Don from Mueller Steam Specialties

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

4.0

March 2011

KBMAX Review

I highly recommend this software, especially if your product line contains part families with multiple sizes or variations that require 3D and 2D documentation.

Pros

Can increase your production 1000%. If you have part families you want to model and document, KBMAX is a must do. We have seen a dramatic increase in the output of 2D drawings and 3D models. The software can also be adapted to many other areas besides engineering. We have only scratched the surface of what KBMAX can do. Customer support is very good.

Cons

Learning curve is a bit steep. No documented software or training manuals.

Response from KBMax

Replied March 2011

Thanks for the review. Version 2 has significant improvements in the ease of use and documentation.

April 2013

Tony from Super Radiator Coils

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2013

Implemeting KBMax

I do recommend KBMax Live, its ability to be customized and tailored exceeds other products we reviewed.

Pros

Overall the product is very customizable. And the staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. Being that KBMax Live is a cloud based web site makes it very convenient and the hands on design really lets you tailor to your needs.

Cons

Depending on your needs editing an assembly built with KBMax can be more challenging.

March 2019

Godfrey

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


March 2019

April 2010

Steve M. from ARC Process, Inc.

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2010

KB MAx

Our highest rating. Service is really the strongpoint. We can get answers to questions quickly and KB Max shines in this area especially.

Pros

This is an excxellent tool for use in configuring different products for our company and for our customers. We have demonstrated it's effectiveness to many customers of ours and found it to be extremely helpful in designing both new products and updating older models. It is a geniune help to produce a complete package for our customers and we have seen an ROI several times over.

Cons

It was originally difficult to install as we had Microsoft "VISTA" on our computers. Through perserverance, KB Max was able to overcome the obstacles and get us a clean install.

April 2010

Timothy from Everbrite LLC

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2010

KB Max Review

I would recommend Citius to any company looking to step into the arena of knowledge based engineering.

Pros

KB Max is a great piece of software. It has allowed Everbrite to leverage vast gains in the reduction of Engineering times within the product categories that have been implemented. Kevin Bennett of Citius offers exceptional customer/consulting service and has a vast amount of knowledge to offer any implementation.

Cons

There are no drawbacks from what I've experienced thus far.

April 2012

Tom from EMD Millipore

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2012

KBMax provided an innovative product configurator that wasn't available anywhere else.

I strongly recommend Citius. Kevin, Doug, and the whole team are expert at what they do and have proven themselves to be dedicated, valued partners.

Pros

Expert Software development skills. Expert Solidworks and PDM knowledge. Excellent understanding of design engineering and related concepts. We are able to speak directly to folks who can solve our problems. Excellent support.

Cons

I can't think of any.