User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(41)

41

4 stars

(19)

19

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy use and quick to comprehend for newer users."

  • "This program is super user friendly and the customer service is prompt and effective."

  • "This program is one of the easiest programs to use that I have had experience with. It has helped our school district tremendously in maintaining better inventory records."

  • Cons

  • "The interface could use updating, but other than that, it's great!"

  • "It was a little cumbersome to set up, but that was purely because of how our previous system was organized. Once that was handled, it worked seemlessly. "

  • "Minor aspects of the program could be refined to suit our application a little better. This being said, I am confident that working together with GigaTrak will surely lead to future enhancements. "

Browse Asset Tracking System Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 64 results

May 2019

Kyle from DePaul University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Changed the way we take inventory

Again, the savings in time and money as well as increased accuracy were substantial.

Pros

The GigaTrak system dramatically changed how we handle inventory, the accuracy of our inventory numbers, and the amount of time/labor hours spent taking inventory. Once the system is set up and bar codes are established, we had an up to the minute count on all of our materials and information about who checked them out.

Cons

It was a little cumbersome to set up, but that was purely because of how our previous system was organized. Once that was handled, it worked seemlessly.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thank you for your feedback and being a long-time customer! We are so happy the system accomplishes your needs while saving money! We are here to help if you need anything!

May 2019

Lauren from Fourth Dimension Engineering

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Great Product for Basic Inventory Management

I have a database for all my inventory with a history. Previously we were using Excel to track and manage over 4000 pieces of equipment and it was not a realistic tool for that. Gigatrak has streamlined our property management process and provided us with much more reliable data.

Pros

This software is very user friendly. There is the ability to easily customize a few fields which is nice. I can export reports into a CSV easily and modify them in Excel.

Cons

We have the Asset Tracker tool and the "inventory" feature on the tool needs lot of work. I need to inventory all of my items once a year and the way it is currently set up makes that task very difficult. You also cannot change much of the item's information from the handheld during an inventory which is a problem. You also can not enter a new item using the handheld, which other software products allow you to do.

Reasons for Choosing Asset Tracking System

We felt that Gigatrak was the most user friendly platform that would give us the most of what we needed.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for your input Lauren! We truly appreciate hearing from our customers on ways to better our product! Right now, our Tool Tracking system does allow you to add in brand new assets on the mobile app. If you are interested in learning more about it, please feel free to reach out to sales@gigatrak.com.

October 2018

Ken from EHE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2018

Gigatrak review

Pros

It provides a robust platform for inventory and equipment management.

Cons

The limit of scalability and customization.

May 2019

Michael from D&H Flagging Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Does just what we wanted

The search for a program to use as a lending library was exhaustive and felt like it would never end, until I found Giga Track. The install was easy, adding and tracking items was a piece of cake, and getting a custom form was as simple as asking for it. We like the program very much.

Pros

I like the ease of use. It made our transition from paper to electronic track of our hand held radios flawless.

Cons

Licensing. We will have to buy a very expensive upgrade just to be able to remove items from our database.

Reasons for Choosing Asset Tracking System

Easy of use, and the ability to test the product before the purchase.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Hi Michael! Feel free to contact support@gigatrak.com regarding removing items from your database. This feature is available with all editions of our software and does not require any additional licensing, upgrade or support!

May 2019

Gary from City of Linton

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Quality product easy to learn and implement

Pros

product was easy to implement and easy to learn, it was adaptable to our needs

Cons

do not really have any cons yet the product has done everything I needed.

Reasons for Choosing Asset Tracking System

customer support was and is great resolved any question I have had, and comfortable sales staff knowledgeable about the product was able to help me relate it to our needs and suggest better ways of use.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for the feedback Gary! We are here to help if you need anything!

May 2019

Greg from Lakeland College

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Gigatrak

The sales team and support services are amazing to deal with. I am new to software like this so it was a lot to get used to and to set up.

Pros

The Gigatrak software allows me to keep inventory of all the tools/consumables in our tool room. It has placed not only the students but also the instructors accountable for all tools checked out that day. Before Gigatrak we used a "pen to paper" method of checking tools out. While this method worked, it was quite tedious was often forgot about by staff. Gigatrak has made staff more aware that an inventory control system is in place, and not only that it must be used, but that it is easy to use!

Cons

It is quite hard within the Gigatrak software to give an exact location to an item with a room. We also purchased the Dolphin 60s scanner. I feel that this scanner is very hard to use and is not worth the money spent. A cordless scanner and using the software directly on the computer is much easier.

Reasons for Choosing Asset Tracking System

Price-Point, Advertised as a better product

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thank you for your input Greg! Keeping people accountable for their assets is essential in any business. You can also track down an asset to a specific location within a room by getting more specific in your location structuring throughout the system. With unlimited locations, you can add in as many as you would like. We also now offer a downloadable mobile app for your Asset Tracking System. This way, you can use your own device such as a phone or tablet to do transactions eliminating the need to buy a handheld scanner. Feel free to reach out to sales@gigatrak.com for a free trial!

May 2019

Tammy from Ferndale School District No. 502

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Great Value with Intuitive Framework

We are a one to one district with thousands of devices in the hands of students and staff. GigaTrak has allowed us to document the movement of devices between individuals and any required maintenance that may necessary. It has created accountability with the end user as well. GigaTrak is used at the beginning and end of the year for device roll-out and intake. With the use of GigaTrak, we have refined this process so that it is accurate and expedient. Love the software!!

Pros

This software has been so easy to use and intuitive. There are so many options for customizing to fit your organizations needs and when we did need custom programming, it was affordable and finished in a timely fashion. We researched several options and this one definitely stood out and was the most affordable. We also love the ability to run customized reports, upload large groups of data, and the many ways you can search for information. Because there are Categories, we not only track technology, but some of our other departments items such as uniforms and tools. Also love the "bin item" feature for the consumables that won't be assigned individual asset tags.

Cons

We are tracking inventory based on Asset Tag numbers. It would be nice if all search result screens included the asset tag. Often we see the system assigned barcode and then have to enter that in the asset search field to identify the asset tag. Since these items are already linked, it would be nice to have the search result screen populate the asset tag number.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for the review Tammy! We love that you love the software and we love having you as a customer!

May 2019

Jeanie from Ferndale School Dist. #502

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

GigaTrak Review

I am greatly pleased with GigaTrak. Not only the program itself but with the support and customer service. They are continually updating and growing which keeps the program matching our needs as we grow.

Pros

This program is one of the easiest programs to use that I have had experience with. It has helped our school district tremendously in maintaining better inventory records.

Cons

My only dislike is that the program seems to be more " GigaTrak barcode" driven and we inventory using our own asset tags/numbers. So when trying to search for a device in some reports our asset number will not flow through, only the GigaTrak barcode number will show. So it requires more work on our end.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Appreciate the feedback Jeanie! We do rely heavlily on barcode as the unique identifier for an asset. We do allow customers to check out/in an asset with either barcode or asset number! We can also create custom reports for you that can include the information you are looking for. Feel free to reach out to sales@gigatrak.com for a quote!

May 2019

Maria from Town of Woodworth

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

My Experience with GigaTrak

Pros

What I like the most about this software is that it is very easy to understand, and to follow thru. The assets are easy to find with all the many search criteria that it has. I like the reports, and the ability to add more than one picture or document to each asset.

Cons

What I like the least about this software, is that every time that I search a bar code list for a location the order of the assets is different every time. It would be better if the order would always pull up by the smallest number to biggest number. Another thing would be good to have is the picture of the asset printed on the "print bar code list."

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for the feedback Maria! We provide many different fields that allow you to track very detailed information about an asset and search by that criteria. When searching for an asset using filters on the F1 tab, you can easily sort by barcode by clicking on the Barcode column header. This setting will save for your next search. Also, we are always adding feature requests to the system so I will be sure to put down adding a picture to the barcode list! Thanks for being a GigaTrak user!

May 2019

Drew from Ncontracts LLC.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Very Useful Product

For the most part it has been a really good experience. The more I use it the more I realize as to what it does. I really like all the different reports you can generate also.

Pros

I like how you can assign an asset to an individual and then keep track of the history of that asset as to who used it last. I also like how you can look each individual asses up by the asset number assigned to it.

Cons

I wish there was a mobile app I could use to scan the asset bar code so I didn't have to run back and forth to the computer to enter an asset's number. We bought a scanner but hardly ever use it. I typically open the note app on my iphone and keep track of what asset numbers need to be assigned to different users. It would save so much time if there was an app I could use to scan the bar codes of the assets.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Hey Drew! We now have a mobile app available for our Asset Tracking System that can accomplish just what you are looking for! Feel free to reach out to sales@gigatrak.com to learn more about it!

May 2019

Gabriel from Colege of Marin

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Order from Chaos

Gigatrak allows us to keep accurate update records on the go in a very fast paced and unpredictable environment.

Pros

extremely versatile, we use Gigatrak for both our package and asset tracking needs. The programs allow great flexibility in how and when we we input information. With the dolphin mobile scanners we can effectively keep accurate track of everything coming in and going out across two campuses. All that information is easily retrievable by anyone, anywhere which makes our daily workload much more organized and efficient.

Cons

so far i haven't found a way to record notes upon delivery with the dolphin mobile scanner. We can take notes while receiving an item but not on delivery. re-scanning as a second receipt with notes and then delivery is a somewhat bulky process I still have some configuring to do. Sometimes while scanning in packages the notes feature will activate and you end up scanning the following tracking number into the notes instead of scanning as package.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We are always updating our tracking systems to be more versatile with customer needs! I will add your "delivery notes" as a request feature for our Package Tracking System.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Not quite good enough

Pros

This is average inventory tracking software, it print barcodes, and comes with a portable scanner for auditing inventory.

Cons

It doesn't work right often enough that it's frustrating. Reports don't work and cause crashes, there are better products on the market now that use apps on smart devices.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Sorry that you are running into issues! Reports should never be crashing and you may be missing an important file in your registry. We also offer a downloadable mobile app for both our self-hosted solutions and cloud-hosted solutions so that you can use your own devices! Please contact support@gigatrak.com so we can figure out the next steps in getting your system running correctly!

May 2019

Lola from Team Success A School of Excellence

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Gigatrak for Charter Schools

Gigatrak has been a super helpful tool in tracking and inventory of all the valuable assets we as a charter school purchase as resources for our daily success.

Pros

This program is super user friendly and the customer service is prompt and effective.

Cons

The only thing I do not like is the fact that once an asset is marked as consumable it can not be change back to non-consumable.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks Lola! The ease of use for our customers is our number one priority. Unfortunately, because of how consumables are tracked in the system and "consumed" once checked out, we cannot easily switch them to an individually barcoded asset. However, the copy function can be used to quickly create a new asset when needed!

May 2019

Lisa from Bailey Charter Elementary School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Easy to use system, great value!

GigaTrak is an exceptional company to work with. Their employees are very knowledgeable and they have a resolution to any kind of problem you may experience within 24 hours.

Pros

The software is easy to use, easy to customize, and does everything we wanted it to do. The reports are easy to read and with 8,000+ items, it has not slowed down.

Cons

The setup process was tedious, but this was not the software's fault. It's typical to spend a lot of time setting up a brand new inventory system.

Reasons for Choosing Asset Tracking System

GigaTrak does not come with annual fees or subscription fees. There is an optional annual support fee for access to their customer service line but even that is minimal compared to some of the other software we were looking at.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks so much Lisa! Implementing a new system can be a daunting task and we strive to make this process as easy as possible for our customers by providing exceptional customer service when needed. Please let us know if we can assist with anything moving forward!

May 2019

Joe from PMI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

GigaTrak Overview

Our media library houses thousands and thousands of broadcast tapes and drives. The older library system was archaic and GigaTrak helped resolve the challenges we encountered and is still working fine after 9-years of usage.

Pros

Easy use and quick to comprehend for newer users.

Cons

The earlier versions of the software were not as user friendly but changes were made that catered more to our type of business (see below)

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for being a valued customer! We are always working to better our product and add feature updates as our customers needs change. We appreciate your feedback!

September 2016

Jennifer from The Morse Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Super organized software!!

We started out with ATS software and then as our need progressed into the need of tracking tools, we comfortably transitioned into the use of this software. It worked great company wide. We were able to keep Electrical and Construction tools separated with in the organization.

Pros

It was very user friendly, I liked the ability to make different categories. locations and have it designed for our needs. The support that comes with the software is amazing and were always handy to help with our needs.

Cons

Nothing

May 2019

Peter from KVCAP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Excellent Inventory System

We keep tack of all IT hardware. Can easily find who has certain equipment and when some equipment come out of warranty.

Pros

Can easily keep track of our inventory and who is assigned to the equipment. Able to keep notes on what was done to equipment over time.

Cons

The only issue is that conversion from our WASP inventory system to Gigatrak was not an exact conversion. Had to manually make some changes to database.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

We appreciate the feedback Peter! Unfortunately, data conversion isn't an exact science when switching systems but we do our best by providing import templates to our customers. If you need any help, feel free to reach out to support@gigatrak.com.

May 2017

Miranda from RES America Construction LP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

We love our tool tracking system!!!

We now have the ability to look and see in a couple moments, what tools are out for repair, what's checked out and the value to each employee, and can recover funds for lost or non-returned items. Plus keep order upon items reaching a certain bin point.

Pros

We have the ability to print any records at any point in time. The system is very user friendly and training to use this system has been a simple process. As a company we have decided to use this system for all fields of work. Not just the test areas (3 toolrooms).

Cons

Process time to receive ink for the Data Card printer that we ordered. Besides that the system seems to be running great.

October 2018

Kevin from TaxSlayer

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Great Inventory Software at a Reasonable Price

Pros

The software provides us the ability to use barcode labels to keep track of our inventory which is almost exclusively IT equipment (I'm an IT Operations Manager). We were starting from scratch since the previous Director of IT and Ops Manager didn't do any kind of inventory management. GigaTrak made it a simple process to import spreadsheets into the program and then print labels for each item.

Cons

The interface could use updating, but other than that, it's great!

May 2019

chris from conrad indust.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Easy to use software

I like the fact that with little training i was able to get around to the information that i use on a daily basis. ease of operation.

Pros

Being able to navigate thru the user interface.

Cons

i have no issues or complaints with this software. Once the program is loaded the process for navigating is straight forward

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for the feedback Chris! We truly appreciate it!

October 2018

John from PECO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2018

A Whole Different Experience

We are --finally-- getting a grip on the inner workings of our Tool Repair Shop. Business metrics were previously difficult to acquire and to work with. Prioritizing work was a difficult manual process, and communicating with our customers was problematic at best. Now, with the new system, and the GigaTrak Team behind it, our Tool Repair Shop, and company as a whole, is sure to benefit.

Pros

Simply put, the software is everything that we need it to be, and will likely perform beyond expectations. The company's personnel and customer focus is by far, the best I've experienced, bar none. Working with the folks at GigaTrak made me feel that we were colleagues working for the same company and on the same project. Their positive, friendly attitudes made it a pleasure to work with their personnel and their product. Well done, GigaTrak!

Cons

Minor aspects of the program could be refined to suit our application a little better. This being said, I am confident that working together with GigaTrak will surely lead to future enhancements.

October 2018

George from Helen Hayes Hospital

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Great

Asset tracker is making it easier to keep control of equipment and control of what is here or goes out for repairs or service. Easy to look and see where stuff is.

Pros

I purchased the Asset Tracking barcode system and it has been awesome, it makes tracking my over 500 fire extinguishers and over 500 exit signs easier to keep track of and put in and out of service as needed. Great programs, would highly recommend gigatrak. The customer support was outstanding, weather by email or by phone they always helped out.

Cons

Would love to have a delete function. I want to be able to delete old records. instead of just making things inactive.

May 2019

Louis from Express electric Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

GigaTrak

Customer service is great. Excellent product.

Pros

This tracking tool is the best tool tracking system I ever use. Is very easy to deal with it.

Cons

No bad comments I love it. I like everything overall.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks Louis! Our programmers have worked extremely hard to make sure the system is very easy to setup and use on a daily basis! We are happy to hear the system is working out well for your company!

May 2019

Greg from Bourgon Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Tool Trackinig

Overall the experience with GigaTrak is very positive.

Pros

I find GigaTrak easy to use and it meets most of our needs.

Cons

In honesty, the only issue I have is when I am looking for some reporting but it's a very small concern.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for the feedback Greg! If there is a specific report that we don't offer, we can create a custom one for you! Feel free to email sales@gigatrak.com for a quote!

September 2016

Matthew from Synectics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Everything you need, and more!

Gigatrak's asset management system is by far the best asset tracking system we have used, or even seen, in a very long time. Although there are some "competitors" that can offer similar functions and features, NO ONE was able to beat their pricing and support team(On average, we are saving $9,000 - yearly). I would recommend ANY type of business looking for an asset management/tracking system to look into Gigatrak FIRST, and see how the competition DOESN'T match up.

Pros

- Huge range of functions and features - Wide range of different reporting options - VERY, VERY good pricing compared to other tools.

Cons

- Mainly, this is our fault as a company, and being very "out dated" in our previous Asset Tracking System (paper based system.. in binders/books -_- ) - but having to manually enter each item does take up a good bit of time.

November 2016

Valerie from MESA Products

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

GigaTrack purchase feed back

When looking into software for handling tracking of our equipment, this one seemed to be the best for our needs. Everyone at GigaTrak has been awesome to us when we got "stuck" or couldn't figure something out. They always walked through everything. I would highly recommend this software for anyone that keeps track of equipment and/or supplies.

Pros

User Friendly

Cons

The only con that I have come across it the search feature(s). I wish there were different ways to search. I have found that it has to be exact or it will not find something, like barcode or description, etc....

September 2016

John from Halverson Mechanical

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Exactly what we were looking for

Customer service was outstanding. Responses within an hour of sending & never made me feel dumb for not being the best with computers.

Pros

Simple to use. Looked at 5 different asset tracking companies. Only 1 with simple functions and not a lot of extras that I don't need and don't want to pay for.

May 2019

Vicki from Bayaud Enterprises

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Asset Tracking Software

My experience has been good! I think this is an excellent Asset Tracking software system and I highly recommend it!

Pros

The software is easy to learn, and easy to use. The reports are an awesome feature. The cost is well within our budget I love adding photos to each asset, and printing a copy of the Asset values by employee. I look forward to using the software each time we add a new piece of computer or phone equipment. The ability to backup to our own server helped sell this product!

Cons

I can't think of any cons, as this is the software we have needed for a long time.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for your response Vicki! We love that we can provide our customers with a number of hosting options so that they have a choice whether they want to go Cloud or stay self-hosted. Please let us know if there is anything we can help with in the future!

November 2018

Susan from Aecon Industrial

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Awesome!

Pros

Gigatrak has proved to be very helpful in tracking and locating our tools. It’s so nice to finally have a system that shows everything we have in our inventory. It’s so easy to use and learn. The support team is wonderful, they have been there to help me with every question I had.

Cons

My only concern about the system is that you cannot duplicate barcodes.

September 2016

Clara from Primary Systems, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

The best customer service and tool tracking software!

I just started at a new company, and they hired me to organize and set-up a tool tracking program to keep track of tool and assets. I did my research and kept coming back to Gigatrak. I finally pick up the phone and called to inquire. My contact person was Christie Bemis, a customer service rep. I can not tell you how please I was to speak to her about what I was looking for in a tool tracking program. Christie was amazing, she answered every question and followed up with me to make sure I happy with ordering the right tool tracking software for the company.

Pros

This software is user-friendly. Easy to navigate and no CD's to install.

Cons

Not sure? Have not come across anything I dislike about the software.

May 2019

Joshua from Roche Tissue Diagnostics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Giga Trak is a very useful tool

we have a rotatable pool for instruments utilized in research

Pros

The ability to process check outs and check ins quickly and reliably.

Cons

Portability onto modern electronic devices is very limited

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for the input Joshua! We have recently released a downloadable app for your self-hosted system that turns your smart device into a scanner. Feel free to contact sales@gigatrak.com to learn more about it!

October 2018

Greg from Lakeland College

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

School Edition

No more lost or misplaced tools! I have it set-up so the tools are signed out to a certain instructor, this puts the responsibility on to them to make sure that their students return the borrowed tools at the end of each day.

Pros

I have a much easier time keeping track of the tools that leave my tool room. The system gives you different options to check the tools out too. you can check out with the scanner or manually enter the number you have created for that tool, I find this especially handy to keep the students working quickly.

Cons

There is no where in the software to input a location within your tool room location.(shelf location). However I was still able to put it under "notes" and this seems to work well.

October 2018

Brad from Heating & Plumbing Engineers

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

More user friendly than other programs

More accuracy in tracking our inventory.

Pros

Program layout and ease of use. Quick response for data entry.

Cons

No ability to have tool rental pricing and to cap cost tools.

June 2017

Janea from Charter School District

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Tool tracking made easy, even for a School District

Pros

Very easy to use with a friendly interface. All other companies we looked in to are pushing Cloud and we didn't want a subscription service. I like that they offer both options and dont push to Cloud. I also like their customer service since the purchase. They didnt just write me off once they had our money. I get same day answers to my questions and they are all very professional and nice. The software does everything we need it to without having a crazy amount of extra featured we dont need.

Cons

Wish it had a rentals module. We need to track daily and monthly rental rates. Right now we are using a custom report built for us that gets the job done.

November 2018

ROBYN from COOL AIR MECHANICAL, INC.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Cool Air Mechanical, Inc.

The Gigatrak system has been an excellent functional and easy-to-use tool to inventory our tools at Cool Air. The training from Gigatrak and Customer Service have also been stellar!

Pros

The strength of the Gigatrak software is the user-friendliness of the system combined with the ability to edit information as you work with its many functions. The various reporting functions come in as a close second place!

Cons

As we rely more and more on the Gigatrak system to track tool costs, maintenance and repairs, it would be extremely helpful to integrate this information with our accounting system. We anticipate a future interface that would streamline tool charges applied to jobs or departments.

May 2019

Mickey from Meydenbauer

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Ease of use

Pros

The maintenance is easy like adding and removing gear or retiring a piece of equipment.

Cons

It can be confusing when first getting started knowing how to catalog items.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for your review Mickey! I know learning and understanding a new piece of software can be a daunting task. Feel free to check out our online Client Center (found on our website) for a number of great resources including videos and documentation on cataloging items.

October 2018

Calvin from All Star Electric

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Great program

Pros

We are very happy with our Gigatools program, it has been a great asset to this business

Cons

Really there is not much to say, everything is great

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

User Friendly, Accurate and Cost Effective

This software has enabled real time tracking of Firearms and Law enforcement equipment with a quick checking in and out of assets and allows sworn personnel to be deployed rapidly and efficiently.

Pros

User Friendly goes a long way for Police Officers checking equipment In and Out .

Cons

Reports. I feel there should be a better adhoc reporting.

November 2018

Mario from North Atlantic Refinery Ltd LP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Great software

It help reduce the cost of tools that are tracked now compare to log sheets and gives a better instant report that is required sometimes.

Pros

Pricing, Support, Ease of use, The ability to import data and also to export makes a transition very easy. The option to run the software locally or use it with cloud service.

Cons

Use a window base scanner if use locally but change to Android base and needs a new scanner after upgrade to cloud service.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for being such a great customer Mario! With Microsoft removing themselves from the "barcode industry" the shift has gone to Android industrial units. Unfortunately, Windows Mobile operating systems are not compatible with our cloud-based system. Please let us know if there is anything we can assist with!

May 2019

David from School City of East Chicago

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Great tool for first time asset managment!

I have had a very positive experience using Gigatrak, and have recommended it to our other departments.

Pros

I went from manually entering serial numbers and asset tag numbers into multi-sheet excel documents to easily scanning and tagging with Gigatrak, it was game changing.

Cons

I admit the interface took some getting used to as with any software, but once I became familiar with it, I felt more confident and the software grew on me.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

We appreciate your recommendations David! We have hundreds of users using the system in a school-type setting as it's great for keeping track of everything from furniture, to computer equipment checked out to students, to consumable material such as ink toner. With unlimited assets, we grow as you grow.

May 2019

Mark from Office of Juvenile Affairs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Relations

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Tool Control and Inventory

We are in the process of expanding the Giga Trak system into other areas of this agency

Pros

A great way to track my tools and inventory, when it was checked in or out and who to

Cons

importing all our files into the system

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Appreciate the review Mark! Feel free to reach out to support@gigatrak.com if you need any help with your import!

May 2019

Sarah from Eva-Lution

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

GigaTrak Asset Tracking

Pros

I like how down-to-earth this software is. A lot of other database systems are flashy and have lots of bells and whistles. That is not the case with GigaTrak - easy to navigate and simple to learn. I also really liked how someone with little to no computer knowledge could log in easily and find the information they needed quickly.

Cons

The one thing that I did not like is how specific the data import sheet has to be. If you don't have your columns and fields established JUST right, you will have to re-import. Overall, though, the process was clear and straight-forward.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks Sarah! We strive to make our system as friendly and easy to use as possible. We appreciate your feedback!

October 2018

Mark from Office of Juvenile Affirs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Excellent Product

we currently use this system with tool control it has save us time from using pencil and pen to dependable technology, we are considering using it for chemical control

Pros

Ease of use and excellent customer service

Cons

downloading the first time, just to confusing

May 2019

Shawn from Food and Beverages

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

GigaTrak Works

Pros

Gigatrak does what it's meant to do. We've never had an issue.

Cons

The built-in reports are good but it would be nice to have more customizable reports.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks Shawn! We are working to provide more customizable reports in the near future! Stay tuned!

May 2019

Jonathan from PC Consultants

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Great support

Pros

Excellent hands-on support from the reps in setting us up and migrating our software between platforms.

Cons

Historically when we use to have the version which used Windows CE it was harder. Not because of Gigatrak per se but having to use Windows CE and the joys of non persistent memory.

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for the feedback Jonathan! Unfortunately with Windows Mobile being discontinued by Microsoft and everything switching to Android the legacy units are becoming harder to support. Please let us know if you would like information on switching over to Android by contacting sales@gigatrak.com.

September 2016

Tim from 180 Medical

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2016

Gigatrak worked for us....

Product has all the functionality that most will need. Customer services and sales are very easy to work with and knowledgeable about the product and options. Between costs and functionality it hit our sweet spot for auditing our electronic hardware as will soon include all furniture and facility assets as well.

Pros

Compared to other tools relatively inexpensive and 1 time expense vs. recurring annual cost with most others.

Cons

Its a little visual clunky and old school as compared to others but it works well for what its designed to do.

May 2019

Daria from Challenger Center

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

GigaTrak helps small nonprofits

Pros

It is easy to use and easy to customize. The price was right for our small organization. And though we are only using some of GigaTrak's capabilities now, the system can grow with our needs.

Cons

Honestly it's been able to meet our needs very well. I don't have a complaint!

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

We are happy to work closely with non-profits to provide an asset tracking system that doesn't break the bank! Thanks for your review!

October 2018

Gary from City of Linton

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

one of the best tools for tracking assets

Pros

The software is easy to learn, the reports to track maintenance are awesome this software is easy to use great value for the price.

Cons

I really have no complaints with the software

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Easy to use

I like the way how you import /export feature, you can use it straight hand scanner, makes life easier

Pros

check in/out, gives you multiple options to install either SQL and Access DB

Cons

Handscanner software, That would be great if we can use web-based system

Response from GigaTrak

Replied August 2019

Thanks for the review! We do offer a cloud-based tracking system that is completely hosted by GigaTrak! Feel free to reach out to sales@gigatrak.com for more info!

January 2017

Terry from Schneider National

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Simple and Easy to Use

Our company was just using an Excel spreadsheet before we started our search for a barcode system. After researching several companies and demos of different products, we like GigaTrak the best not only for ease of use but also the price. They do not charge per asset like many others do. We really like their staff. They are completely US based, super friendly, and have the kind of customer service that all companies should strive for.

Pros

The support from the staff.

Cons

N/A

Displaying 1 - 50 of 64 reviews