User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(19)

19

4 stars

(17)

17

3 stars

(8)

8

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(3)

3

  • Pros

  • "The end users love this software. If you have a good programmer on your team, this product will do just about whatever you want."

  • "This software has a nice and clear interface. Quickly you can run into the product if there is time. Developers eliminate the problems that arise during implementation."

  • "Great functionality and ease of use. Simple to learn, simple to master Perfect for our environment Reminders for outstanding tickets"

  • Cons

  • "The email handling module is highly flawed. There are many operational bug in the coding. The system is not very adaptable to be used for non-ITSM rolls."

  • "CMDB functionality is lacking somewhat. You can manage who sees certain assets, but you cannot manage who sees specific fields in an asset."

  • "Since we are still learning how to use the software in a production environment, we seem to be having issues with learning which screen is the best to use for seeing all work."

Browse ChangeGear by SunView Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -1 of 49 results

December 2017

David from St. Mary's Medical Center

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Excellent Customer Service Throughout The Entire Process Of Implementing ChangeGear!

Our Change Management process was over-hauled and we now have the tools in place to track/manage our changes. End Users now have a knowledge base they can access to assist in resolving their own issues. The email notification and rules within the Email Connector allow tickets to be worked/processed/closed all through email responses. The use of the Service Catalog allows the End User to enter tickets and decide from a list of our services what they actually need to be able to efficiently do their jobs.

Pros

Everything. ChangeGear has made an immediate impact in our facility by allowing us to create relationships between different ticket types, engage with the End User via Self Service/Surveys and has allowed us to enhance our Change Management process. We now have a Service Catalog that details our services and is published to our Customers. The ability to customize the ChangeGear application to meet our environment made the implementation process very smooth. The Sales team did a great job in meeting our financial needs as well as facilitating a smooth transition to the implementation team. The implementation team was quick to answer questions and ensure our initial setup/installment was flawless. The Professional Services Team has been informative and patient while configuring the application and teaching our technical lead. The Support Team has been courteous and diligent in making sure any issue is resolved quickly. Access to their Self Service Portal provides a multitude of knowledge base articles that allows me as a customer to resolve many of our issues by myself.

Cons

There are no error messages when two technicians are in the same ticket trying to update the ticket. Sometimes you cannot find exactly what you are looking for in their Knowledge Base but a submitting a ticket to their support team will get you the answers you need to any issue you might encounter. The user manual and administrator manual can lack information; however, what you don't find there you can find in MySunviewSoftware Support KB articles. The manuals need the screenshots updated as well.

March 2019

Charles from Lake County Board of County Commissioners

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Daily User Review

Overall, we are extremely pleased with the software. The support staff and professional services are always on top of their game. When there is a problem, follow-up is quick and resolution comes shortly afterwards. Highly professional across the board. If you meet them at a conference, they are pleasant to work with on your issues and always open to suggestions. It's nice to know that there is a good team behind the product.

Pros

There is plenty out-of-the-box forms that follow ITIL standards which made it helpful for our organization to jump start into it. The simple end-user front-end, the Self Service Portal, makes users feel comfortable with entering requests without the need to look over complicated. We have had no complaints from our end users about the product. It is very "easy on the eyes" with a clear and precise web interface for our service desk technicians. The knowledge base along with the smart technology makes it easy for technicians to find resolutions much quicker than in the past.

Cons

Customization can be a challenge. Creating forms is rather clumsy and if you make a mistake, it takes some time to correct it. Updating from one version to another is also challenging since it is an update in place and not a migration. There is a roadmap where this will be updated in a future release of ChangeGear.

April 2019

Jonathan from NorthWestern Energy

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

ChangeGear Product Review

We use ChangeGear for the primarily application within our Business Technology group (IR, RFC, CMDB). Since having a stable and very utilized product within BT, we have started to development the application for various other business units around the organization. Overall, ChangeGear has been a great tool for NWE and we plan on growing the use of the application in the future.

Pros

Great, easy to use tool that provides customization capabilities to fit almost any business need.

Cons

Transport structure and method between environments (DEV, TST, PRD). OID's and other configuration seem to get misaligned which causes the testing team to always have to perform thorough testing, even with the most simple changes.

December 2019

Laetitia from MultiCare

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Functionality

Considering our budget constraints, ChangeGear is currently a great tool for our organization. We are exited about the new and improved service catalog module.

Pros

Compared to other ITSM tool, ChangeGear very cost-effective. The licensing model is flexible and can scale easily. We selected the combine both the single user and site license option and this work great for our It team of 300+ users. The platform aligns with the ITIL framework so integrating the tool with our ITIL processes (Change, Incident, Problem Management, Service Request fulfillment, etc ) did not require any customization.

Cons

The Task functionality can be improved. We are experiencing some barriers with reporting of tasks. The other challenge is that we can only apply 1 SLA to tickets ( for example, we can only apply the Response Time SLA OR Resolution Time to incident tickets. Not both)

Reasons for Choosing ChangeGear by SunView

Cost and simplicity of licensing and support models.

April 2019

Jean from Gainesville Regional Utilities

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

ChangeGear

Our overall experience with the software is great. The vendor is a valued business partner and is always making improvements and asking how they can be better.

Pros

The self service portal for our customers is very well received.

Cons

The version that we are currently on makes it difficult for Service Desk staff to know what is in their workload, but the next version of the software is changing this.

September 2019

Tim from Mitel Networks

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Mitel Networks ChangeGear Deployment

Overall a very positive experience

Pros

Ease of use, both from an administrative and general usage perspective.

Cons

Documentation: Admin Guide and a few operational shortcomings

Reasons for Choosing ChangeGear by SunView

ChangeGear was the solution selected by way of association with another company, a SAAS Solution was desired, reasonable cost, as well as overall functionality.

February 2019

Safi from RCG

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2019

Change Gear

I think software can be used effectively if configured in its full capacity. The customization is nice but requires a dedicated person which e do not have the resources for. I like the features but did not have time to learn how to make the best use of it.

Pros

ITIL format... that has came handy for us. Service Request to problem Solving to RFC part is nice. Customization is nice as well.

Cons

Learning curve.. It requires dedication and set up. Probably better to have the vendor set it up for you. Also software is latent so difficult to use in a high speed work environment.

April 2019

Laetitia from MultiCare

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2019

Training Material and Cost

The task functionality needs improvements. For example, notes in task tickets get overwritten as the information get updated. Why? Tickets should keep all historical information.

Pros

Cost is very reasonable. It's is the most important determining factor to why we recommend ChangeGrear to our organization.

Cons

Training material for ChangeGear is not available on the internet. Compared to ServiceNow for example, their "how to" step by step instruction to all their modules is easily accessible on line.

June 2019

Tylene from Pflugerville ISD

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

ChangeGear in K12 Environment

Pros

It is very versatile and IF you know what you are doing, could handle just about any scenario.

Cons

Unless we have a lot of money for services, for a typical technology user, the software is very complex. K12 environments don't have the money or resources to get the most out of this software.

April 2019

Paula from Klein ISD

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

ChangeGear Review

Currently we are strictly using this as our IT Help Desk Ticket Management System.

Pros

The end users love this software. If you have a good programmer on your team, this product will do just about whatever you want.

Cons

Need someone that understands the "back-end" to program all your customizations. There is a lot of lag time when trying to enter a ticket; sluggish.

October 2016

Ben from Henny Penny

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

ChangeGear - Great Product Delivered by a Great Company

My company has been using ChangeGear for approximately two years. We love the product's ease of use, administration and feature sets. The initial price tag was VERY competitive. We found that the product can deliver Enterprise level capabilities at the price point of a typical SMB product. The support of the product has been great when we have to use it (which is almost never). They deliver the product in many forms including Public cloud, Hybrid or on-premise. SunView is highly committed to product development as evidenced by the latest features inherent to ChangeGear v7. Many would consider them a visionary or leading-edge company in the ITSM industry. SunView is also easy to do business with and you will be treated like a family member. Go just buy it. You won't look back.

Pros

Ease of use (for end-users and agents/admins alike) Ease of administration Feature sets Flexibilty of installation (Cloud, Hybrid, On-Premise) Pricing Ease of configuration

Cons

Remote manageability of certain features on full Public Cloud instance (requiring SunView support to interact)

March 2019

Brandon from Utilities

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Easy to manage a manipulate

We came from a paper change process before but change gear allowed us to move to digital approvals with an audit trail and a centralized place to store evidence for every change that takes place. Overall, from approval to completion the time it takes is nothing like it was before. We get results instantly.

Pros

I can configure everything in the change management system from the GUI to the backend workflows. Change gear is by far one of the most stable out of the box experiences i have come across.

Cons

The reporting could be a little more detailed out of the box to make compliance easier to manage. although Sunview provided us with a SSRS plugin to give us the details we need to meet our compliance requirements.

January 2018

Pam from Kennesaw State University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

We would have insisted on initial vendor set-up, with one-on-one training for application management

Customer email notification and trending to forecast needs and change business processes. It also tracks what customers need more help with which has resulted in projecting future expectations.

Pros

We enjoy the application flexibility to make changes that suit our business needs and processes and not being held to limitations due to functionality.

Cons

What we like least about the software is the need for customization's that would require Professional Services. If resources are out there, they should probably be made available to the customers to follow and implement on their own. It would be nice to include better reporting capabilities and functionality.

December 2017

Terese from Lake County

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

ChangeGear is a very user friendly tool that makes ITSM simple!

Pros

It has modules to accomplish just about everything you could ask for that are simple to use and understand! It fully integrates into your environment and provides tools for you to use to better manage everything from issues and service requests to knowledge and assets!

Cons

I would like to be able to import MS Word documents or PDF's for the knowledge base. It would also be great if it could integrate with the phone system so that when a user calls, a new ticket auto-populates with their information.

December 2017

Aaron from Elevate

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Flexible software that will meet your needs quickly

Tracking of all Incidents, Requests, Problems, and Changes in our environments is easy to track and report upon. I'm able to take requests from our business and turn out solutions quickly and efficiently.

Pros

The software is very flexible in what it can do, allowing us to meet business demands quickly and efficiently in an ever changing environment.

Cons

The automation for forms could be streamlined some more, but this appears to be an issue that will disappear, as with each release they're improving the automation.

June 2018

Nicole from Alberta-Pacific Forest Industires

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Paper & Forest Products

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Great Product and Great Customer Service

We are better able to manage our incidents, service requests and changes.

Pros

ChangeGear is easy to use and customize for our needs and anytime I have had to contact Customer Support I have gotten quick knowledgeable responses and resolutions to my issues. SunView listens to their customers suggestions and is continually working to improve the product.

Cons

There is not really anything that we dislike about the ChangeGear product or services provided by Sunview.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Our go to ITSM tool

We have been using it as our main ticketing system for Incidents and Service Requests and also using it for our Change Management tool. This has helped us streamline our business processes around ticketing system

Pros

Ease of configuration and flexibility of the product. New features that are added recently such as Task Spawning, Multiple Workflows, Intelli Search etc.

Cons

IIS needs resetting after changes made to forms and fields. May be they can do something that it would not require user to reset it.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

ChangeGear for Change Management

My experience with ChangeGear is probably considered as advanced. I have worked with the solution for years and have trained internal staff on how to properly use the solution for our change management needs. I would not consider myself as an expert with ChangeGear as I have been limited on the changes I would make to this solution. Such changes would require paid support for customizations and we were not in a position to travel down that path.

Pros

This software solution hits all of the marks in regard to product offering and meeting the needs of the business process. The solution has a wealth of functionality and can be easily tailored to fit any organizational business process as it relates to change management. It is very easy for the business to use while ensuring that it provided enough content to support an established change management process.

Cons

The least favorable aspect to this solution is its complexity. The complexity is enough to customize the solution to a wide range of needs for change management. However, the customization can be a tedious task that may desire for one to obtain more from the solution. And the solution can provide more is that is what you choose.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Change Gear - Please Don't Change

Change gear, although wasn't the prettiest, was essential to what our company required. Easy to use, appealing interface, fast. ChangeGear was loved by all because of it's functionality. I would say it was my favourite service management application.

Pros

Great functionality and ease of use. Simple to learn, simple to master Perfect for our environment Reminders for outstanding tickets

Cons

Could be confusing for new users. Not the best support

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Don't judge a book by its cover

Pros

Very impressive looking user interface. From the ITSM standpoint, all expected functionality is present.

Cons

The biggest struggle was the implementation and the post sales support. It seemed that the folks doing the implementation weren't as experienced as i would have expected. The technical support is sub-par. Software is buggy.

January 2019

Robert from CIII Capital Partners

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Full Featured Product

We purchased this software to better understand customer demand and to better document our internal change process. The software meet this goal, easily. Now we're using it so that customers can perform self-help and agents can document and learn solutions to standard problems.

Pros

The ChangeGear software is feature-rich with all the modules necessary to create an ITIL based service management process. Easy to configure ticket workflow with notifications. Customizable data entry screens. Customizable (everything in this system can be customized from the interface to the database) reports and dashboards.

Cons

The software interface is somewhat dated and hierarchical.

March 2019

Tammy from Houston Methodist Hospital

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Houston Methodist Product Review - ChangeGear

Pros

There are many prebuilt workflows which follows ITIL standards which gives the customer a base to design according to their business needs.

Cons

The overall appearance of ChangeGear forms are dated. Would be nice if

July 2015

Brad from MaximumASP

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.5

July 2015

Very customizable and useful product.

Pros

I liked best that the vendor worked with us on suggestions on how to increase certain capabilities of the product. They also made migrating to this product very simple. I also liked how the vendor thought logically about the functionality of the product and how it would be used in real world scenarios.

Cons

I have not ran into what I consider what I like least about the product or vendor.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

ChangeGear - it's good enough

Pros

Ease of use. Creating incident tickets is quick and intuitive.

Cons

Customer support. the only time I hear from my support contact is at renewal time.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Great Potential

Our experience has not been positive, so far, but that is largely due to the combination of challenges presented by our non-typical environment and a lack of time/effort to make ChangeGear work. We haven't completely given up yet, because we see the potential.

Pros

ChangeGear provides Flexibility and Configurability in a package with a clear ITIL orientation. It seems to be a good value, considering the balance of sophistication and cost.

Cons

It is very challenging to implement in a non-Active Directory environment; although it can, in theory, work in a non-AD infrastructure, it is far from easy to make it work. The agent-less computer scanning is a nice feature in theory, but it can also be hard to use.

April 2019

Jeff from Fidelity & Guaranty Life Ins

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Decent ITSM offering - LOTS of hidden *bugs* and kinks that need worked through

We needed a new ITSM solution (Incident, change, release, etc).

Pros

It's very customizable which is nice. It's also easy to use once it's configured.

Cons

There are a lot of bugs and odd nuances with the product that is not mentioned up front. While we have had much of this acknowledged it still feels like a half baked product, or a software company that doesn't have enough people on staff to address things like they should be addressed.

January 2018

Teresa from Shentel

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Customizable, Competitive and Customer Friendly

Increased customer communication.

Pros

The Customization and flexibility of options available at a competitive price point. Ability for users to submit their own tickets, monitor the progress and interact with technicians. Support teams that are engaging, quick to respond and knowledgeable enough to identify, solve, or guide you to a resolution.

Cons

User and Admin. manuals can lack information but since the system is so configurable I am not sure they would be able to account of every possibility. More than 1 technician can be in the same ticket at the same time. Modules do not always contain the same basic field options. Each module does have various module specific fields but it would be nice to have a standard set across all modules.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Good service but requires careful adjustment

Pros

This software has a nice and clear interface. Quickly you can run into the product if there is time. Developers eliminate the problems that arise during implementation.

Cons

The program has no localization. Designed for English-speaking countries. Self-localization is complicated. Old version of the program is available for the user on the site. Updates are sent through support.

July 2015

Donnie from Complete Integration Solutions

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2015

Sunview Software is a great company to work with. ChangeGear is Great.

Pros

The ChangeGear product has all the tools needed to run a successful incident, change and help desk system. I have been a user for many years and the team at Sunview has always been top notch. Any questions, concerns or issues the support folks were right on it.

Cons

There isn't anything that I have personally come across that couldn't be handled in a timely manner. Not one piece that I would do away with.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Easy To Use Ticketing System

Overall, I have had good experience with ChangeGear as a technical support specialist.

Pros

ChangeGear software is very robust and intuitive.

Cons

Sometimes the machine learning feature causes the software to be a little slow.

December 2018

Jason from Shentel

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Solid software solution for ticketing and project management

Pros

Ease of use by end users through an easy UI and email notification system.

Cons

Difficulty in applying updates and upgrade to the system without running into issues that require Sunview support.

March 2018

Mike from Water filtering company

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Solid Product and Solid company. Great customer support sales and tech

Automation of a lot of routine task right out off the box. a better data tracking and reporting.

Pros

Everything: It's complete solution that can expand and grow with your organization. It starts with the basic solution and can evolve to enterprise level all in one system ( which way to much for our organization) We got the base held desk solution and I found the feature list is way beyond what we need.

Cons

Certain customizations you need to know what you're doing or you can do some damage. To hide some of the default forms I wasn't able to do it myself and needed assistance. as well as few other little mods required direct manipulation in XML files so you need someone who know where it is.

January 2018

Artim from Con Edison

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Very good

Pros

Change Management System works very well and complies with all our needs. Reporting and filtering design is unique and very customizable.

Cons

CMDB functionality is lacking somewhat. You can manage who sees certain assets, but you cannot manage who sees specific fields in an asset.

May 2015

Brion from Management Science Associates

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2015

Mostly a positive experience

Pros

The product allows a lot of flexibility to be adapted to the needs of our company. Able to automate a lot of functions and services that were manual to us before.

Cons

With flexibility comes risk and some of my pain areas are the support services (pay for support) has degraded since I first signed on and are difficult to arrange. When I do get someone I don't feel I get the value as many times it has to have several follow up calls to get it right and I get charged for the extra hours. Also, my account support has degraded since signing on with my initial account rep taking a new role.

July 2015

Freddie from Dallas County Community College District

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2015

Change Gear DCCCD

Pros

The software offers a lot of features.The CMDB is a nice feature. Asset tracking is also great along with Problem and incident ticketing.

Cons

Took a while to program. Some programming took longer than expected.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2019

Empty Promises

Software itself was ok, we need tweeks and the company promise to make and never delivered, but they kept taking our money and consume hours, but never delivered.

Pros

It was simple and basic, handle basic functions well

Cons

Reporting was horrible, any customization was impossible, the support from the company was horrific, slow to respond, promised everything, never delivered even when we offered to pay for things.

January 2018

Mike from Flexco

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

The account mgr, tech lead, and general support have all been good to work with and very responive

Stream lined access to various features. Good metrics that are easily obtained.

Pros

The flexibility of having the system do what we need while still adhering to ITIL. The Service Catalog, while some end users do not like it, the general opinion is positive and well received.

Cons

We have implemented some newer technology (specifically, VMWare SAML) and they have had some technical limitations in implementing. We are making progress and support/dev is working to solve the problem.

January 2018

Jean from Gainesville Regional Utilities

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

We have just gone live with the product and things are going well. Report functionality is great.

All of IT work is in the same area from Project Management to daily incidents and service requests.

Pros

The Self Service Portal for the customers is great. Our customers are enjoying the ease of use. The creation of a ticket by email helps our customers that are out in the field daily.

Cons

Since we are still learning how to use the software in a production environment, we seem to be having issues with learning which screen is the best to use for seeing all work.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Good change management seoltuon

Pros

It's easy to install and easy to upgrade. The software is also easy to maintain. It's pretty much set it and forget it other than licensing changes each year.

Cons

Sometimes, not often, tickets will disappear. This has only happened twice in two years.

February 2017

Jerry from INDS

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2017

Poor communication and not very good for customer facing applications.

Change Gear is great if you are only using it internally. Despite what their sales team would tell you, it requires extensive modification to even handle anything more than a few email addresses. Attachment handling and things as simple as email CC'ing are not available available out of the gate. The included modules are not very adaptable, inevitably requiring the customer to bend to suit its forms instead of bending its forms to suit the customer. The technical/implementation team is very knowledgeable, when you can get in touch with them. Trying to get them on the phone is more like "leave a message and maybe we'll get back to you." Bottom line, users will be very pleased with this product as long as they a) don't need it for any other department than IT, and b) don't need it to be externally facing.

March 2019

Jim from Service Credit Union

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

1.0

March 2019

Not very happy

Pros

Your support staff is wonderful, always going the extra mile

Cons

Your software needs help. The canned reports, SLA's, Dashboards - all have issues. I have had to open 25 support tickets since the first of the year just to get things working

September 2019

Brian from Nelnet

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

1.0

September 2019

Find a different product than ChangeGear

I would rather slam my hand in a door than use this software.

Pros

Nothing. It is the worst I've ever used in my 20+ years in IT. I'm also familiar w/ Remedy and ServiceNow.

Cons

It is overly confusing and a huge time waster. You can't look at it and figure out what you need to do like any other software platform. Every single time I try to do anything my tickets end up getting incorrectly assigned or routed. No one seems to understand the logic of their workflow. Everyone I've ever talked to at my company hates this product.

April 2018

Jerry from INDS

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Network Administrator

We ran into so many operational flaws and deficiencies that we finally had to drop ChangeGear after only one year of use.

Pros

Very customizable user interface. Work flows are easy to setup. Reports are easily generated and can be output in multiple forms.

Cons

The email handling module is highly flawed. There are many operational bug in the coding. The system is not very adaptable to be used for non-ITSM rolls.

October 2017

Duane from C-III

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

1.0

October 2017

Countless problems

Pros

It has a comprehendible gui and its easy to navigate. The automatic ticket creator through email is great when it works.

Cons

Email connector service has broke at least 3 times and its currently been down for a week. Now we cannot close or edit tickets so its nearly impossible to track our work. I understand things go wrong but a down service should be resolved asap. It is frustrating and I do not recommend this software. The following error occurs when we open any ticket or click any ticket: ChangeGear has detected the following error. ChangeGear could not process your request. Please re-login and try again.

July 2018

Is from Centennial

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

does the job

Pros

I like the functionality. We used it for helpdesk and change management, worked great in both scenarios.

Cons

Not so sure about the ability to customize, if you have a need for it should look into it, nothing else that was a con in my opinion.

October 2016

Ginetta from County of Marin

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Public Policy

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

ChangeGear is Customizable

SunView's Professional Services team helped us configure ChangeGear Service Desk to meet our needs. We have implemented several modules including Incident, Knowledge Base, Service Request, and Self-Service Portal. ChangeGear has been well received by our end users and IT Techs.

January 2016

Dan from FSB

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

January 2016

Change Gear - SunView Review

We are currently implementing this product. So far, as seen by various demonstrations and test drives of this product, it appears to be fully functional, scalable and user friendly. Changing workflows, form layout or what you are seeing on the screen is very easy. Customizing the workflows is not difficult, which, in conjunction with form modifications allows the users to make customizations specific to their needs.

December 2016

Muhammad from Aegion Corporation

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Our go to ITSM tool

We have been using it as our main ticketing system for Incidents and Service Requests and also using it for our Change Management tool.

December 2018

Sunil from Zaggle Prepaid Ocean services Pvt ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Good for using internally

Pros

We can easily raise tickets and keep a track on the status

Cons

For beginners it will be difficult to understand