All Cherwell Service Management Reviews

1-25 of 161 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Cherwell Ticketing Software

Cherwell has been great overall. Have used it for around 3 years and have had almost no functional issues with it during that time.

PROS

Cherwell does a great job of keeping track of tickets across multiple teams with seamless integration. Makes ticketing for a large IT Dept. with over 12 teams easy. The software is customizable and allows for automation in just about every facet of the program. Tasks that take up to 10 minutes can be done instantly through the One-Step feature.

CONS

The software is lacking in visual design. It's functional but getting information to be readable and look good is very hard and takes quite a bit of work in the dashboard manager.

Robin

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Best ITSSM Platform - Indespensible in Delivering Our Services

Cherwell implements 11 ITIL process out-of-the-box which helped an immature organization like ours start practicing ITIL. It's automation capabilities are vast and robust. The single best part of this product is its philosophy. It is completely customizable to fit your organization's needs and if Cherwell doesn't do something another tool does or you want to continue to use that tool, Cherwell integrates with many tools natively, through merge application functionality, and lastly through general customization. Simply put, if you can dream it, Cherwell does it...and if it doesn't, it will integrate with something that does.

PROS

Everything! It is customizable to fit my organization's needs. I happen to be a programmer, but I don't need to be to develop and configure Cherwell. It implements robust and customizable frameworks that allow you to use it as you need to. Cherwell doesn't dictate ITSSM, it's your partner in it.

CONS

The customizability allows unwary or naive implementors, developers, or Cherwell Admins to make changes that ultimately reduce the awesomeness of the product. The biggest area of this is in implementing business processes. Before making changes, consider whether you business process is as effective as it should be, rather than making the product implement a poor-performing process.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2019

Requires alot of cutomization

Software needs a lot of backend work and creates more issues then it resolves.

PROS

User limitation and liscensing. Lots of flexibility in reporting and searching.

CONS

Required lots of cutomization. Slow to run searches. Lack of ability to customize alot of setting that are important but ability to customize some that are kind of pointless.

Reasons for switching to Cherwell Service Management

Software was no longer supported

Maizy

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Enterprise-Level Ticketing System

I really like Cherwell, and find it does meet our needs well for ticketing. I'm able to enter my information quickly to submit and process tickets. Great tool.

PROS

Cherwell is a well established IT ticketing tool, that my company has used for over two years now. We use it for incident reporting and journaling, as well as for our operation changes. I really like the robustness of it. It's user friendly, and has options and controls for almost anything I'd want to enter for the tickets. The software is customizable, and our admin team has tweaked things to be more in line with our company and uses. It has a clean smooth interface and does handle everything we want to do with our tickets.

CONS

When we first switched to Cherwell from HPSM, we did find the learning curve to be large, as the two tools have many differences. In general, like with any software, it does take time to get used to, but once we did get used to it, it seems rather smooth.

Jamie

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Cherwell is a great ITSM that is easily expanded to the Enterprise

We implemented Cherwell in 2013. Currently we have incident, service request and change management implemented within IT. IT Projects underway are problem management, knowledge management and employee on-boarding/off-boarding. We also expanded the tool to Customer Service, Operations, Facilities Service and Supply Chain. Our next non-IT project will be implementing the tool within HR. The tool does not require programming background to configure. We have two non-technical resources who are responsible for the administration of the tool and development of new applications. Dashboards are an easy way to report real time data from the system. They are powerful and we use them everyday to monitor our service. As a company Cherwell is 100% customer focused. They listen to us and help us be successful with the tool. The culture of the company is amazing and not something you typically see at a software company.

PROS

Configurability, flexibility and ability to expand beyond IT.

CONS

The report writer is difficult to learn and understand.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

An all-in one service management package that works but has issues

Overall, Cherwell Service Management has fulfilled its requirements. However, upgrades are finicky and deep customization really can take a lot of work. Some of them are straight forward and some really require a lot of time to get going, more so than you would expect for similar products. (Similar product are, less customizable, however, take less of a lift on what you can do with them which is a trade-off you need to understand going into it.)

PROS

While not always easy or straightforward, this service management product is highly customizable and can be used for a variety of areas such as a knowledge database, help desk, incident tracking, change management, etc.

CONS

Customization can take a lot of work and upgrades can often break functionality with no eta or workarounds aside from downgrading or waiting for a future upgrade (which could be a year+ away.)

Chris

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Cherwell is a powerful, flexible software that is great out of the box

We did not have an ITSM software in place prior to implementing Cherwell, so we did not come in with any preconceived notions. The implementation was smooth and the PSO helped us customize the software during the process. I have found it to be very easy to maintain, upgrade, modify, and enhance. The Cherwell customer community is vibrant and the company listens and incorporates ideas and requests from its user base. Support is very friendly and helpful, and always willing to help me with implementing any ideas I come up with. I also very much appreciate their emphasis on participating in their community and supporting organizations who have a positive impact on our world.

PROS

The product allows for a high level of customization and is very easy to use, both from user and administrator standpoints.

CONS

The built in report writing leaves something to be desired. However, reporting through dashboards and searches within the system is a great alternative.

Jennifer

Information Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Cherwell has changed my career life.

Using Cherwell has been great because I have gotten to learn a new software product and how to develop in it, whereas before I was sort of stuck not doing any development work for years. CSM has challenged me to learn more and stretch boundaries in planning future projects for more innovative development, as well.

PROS

I really like how the company makes its customers feel special and makes us a priority, and how it is a software company that is proud of providing a code-less software product, that always seeks to be innovative and the best.

CONS

There are some quirks in the product that cannot be explained that exist in different places in the software that make troubleshooting a challenge at times. I have a One-Step, for example, that changes perspective after the 4th or 5th step, for some reason, and I had to build a work-around for it.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Consistent Reliability and Functionality

Exceptional Experience of which has made management of my position easy.

PROS

This ticket system is efficient and as customizable as the person might choose if they have the know-how and drive to do so, ease of function and redirect allows for a streamlined system for resolution of issues.

CONS

It could be more intuitive in some areas and the report pulling leaves a lot to be desired on this area of opportunity

User Profile

Mark

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2020

Clunky and poor user interface

Have not enjoyed my experience with this product. The software feels antiquated and out of date.

PROS

Users can create a case via emails and can be updated on the progress of the case via emails. Ability to re-assign ownership to tasks when necessary. A dashboard, while not terribly elegant looking, does provide insights into open cases within a users area. Ability to send the ticket to Salesforce, which is a far superior case management system. "Incident actions" allow users to nominate a case for a knowledge base article though we've not used this feature yet.

CONS

The interface is clunky at best and unusable at worst. It feels and looks like a piece of software built in the 80's. Once a user clicks into the case they've been assigned, it becomes very difficult to get a complete view of the thread and what has been worked on. There is simply too much going on within the cases screen itself. New users will surely be overwhelmed as they use the system for the first several months. They will likely find themselves gravitating towards the email and subsequent threads that started the case.

Robert

Information Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2016

Widget disparity between client application and web browser

All widgets are available in both the client and web parts of Cherwell, however, the widgets viewed in a web browser lack the same visual quality that you see in the client. Mainly graphs and grids differ between the client and web so much so that either widgets are doubled to accommodate the differences or separate dashboards entirely.

PROS

The application is incredibly customizable. You don't have to figure out how to cram a custom process into a fixed application, you just create your custom process with all and only the things and functions it needs, but still have the capability to link it to existing objects and processes

CONS

The lack of web browser compatibility development. However Cherwell is a company that actually listens to it's customers and they are constantly improving.

Steve

Environmental Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Cherwell just works and I love to tell others about it

From the moment that we met the Cherwell folks in 2014 we knew that they were the right fit for us. They listen to their customers and they truly care about our needs and they encourage user input and interaction. There hasn't been a need that we've thought of that we either haven't been able to do or haven't been able to find an answer from the user community.

PROS

It's extensibility. There hasn't been anything that we haven't been able to find an answer for so far.

CONS

When building a new business object there are so many options and check boxes (that's good). The problem customers face is that we don't know exactly what all those check boxes do so would like to see additional documentation on those.

David

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Excellent ITSSM and climbing rapidly.

Excellent product with very good support. Very flexible and supports many business processes beyond ITSM. Has been effective for our organization for Supply Chain management. Very good user group community that free contributes mApps that significantly enhance functionality. Also has excellent business partners supporting a wide array of services.

PROS

Powerful and flexible. Great dashboards and reportts.

CONS

Allows you to implement poorly if you don't follow best practices. The look and feel of Windows client is a bit dated and needs refreshed.

John

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Excellent Service Management Software

Cherwell is an excellent service management platform and can be used for just about anything you want to track and record. My organization started using it for ITSM and has expanded to volunteer management, project management and time tracking. The tool takes time to learn but after you understand the principles almost anything is possible.

PROS

The flexibility it provides, excellent customer service, ability to share mApps with others.

CONS

Takes some time using the software to become proficient at making modifications.

Swetha

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2018

This is our ticketing system

We track trouble tickets and have cases that are attached to the tickets that way we can keep track of work

PROS

Keeps track of incidents and cases that have been created and we use this to help people with any kind of trouble tickets

CONS

It's very hard to integrate with. The options don't always work and once the incident has stayed you can find that it doesn't exist even if it has numbers. The customer reps aren't always helpful

Chris

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Excellent Product, Excellent Company

Cherwell is a great company to work with, they are responsive and never leave you hanging. The product is very flexible, we went from a NO organization to a YES organization. When we have requests for functionality we can meet our customers needs using Cherwell. The code-less platform is a great way to customize the program and not hamper our ability to upgrade to the latest version.

PROS

flexible, easy to upgrade, complete vendor support

CONS

After version 7, the theme colors were removed.

Abby

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2022

Cherwell is ok

PROS

I liked that I knew where everything was in Cherwell. The ability to customize as you wanted was good too.

CONS

It was hard to make changes with out someone that was very knowledgeable of the software. It's not very intuitive on the admin side.

Mike

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2016

Great software, great company.

We've been using Cherwell for two years, and I still feel we've made the right choice. Its OOTB is excellent, and the ability to customize and expand the capabilities is great.

PROS

Works as expected. Easy to configure and is very intuitive.

CONS

Not really a "con", but our users are always coming up with new ways to use Cherwell.

Bernie

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Flexible and plays well with others

CSM offers a truly flexible platform that allows mapping your business processes regardless of complexity or size. This enables your work flow, not what just the tool does. CSM also integrates with any REST api as well as offering its own. So what ever you want to do is possible.

PROS

Flexibility and integrations

CONS

Mobile client

Nejen

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: