What are ETAP users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using ETAP software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.55

61 Reviews

5
36
4
24
3
1
2
0
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Great customer service, quick answers. Also quick to upgrade when there is change in IEEE, NFPA and other reference documentation."
  • icon"Very powerful, fast results for the many plant studies that need to be performed. ETAP is one of the best power systems analysis tools for engineers."
  • icon"The software has a very good user-friendly ability. Also, the simulation is well done and the report well compiled."
  • icon"The lower version ETAP can't open a higher version ETAP file. ETAP is updating new version while we may use various version."
  • icon"The results are not what we expect just to find out we are missing one feature that is in another module that we didnt buy."
  • icon"It's very hard to get our logo on the drawing let alone creating a general borer that could always be pulled up and the SLD would be inserted."

Jump to:

Browse all ETAP Reviews

  • Have you used ETAP and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 61 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 61 reviews

Anonymous

August 2021

Etap user

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

User-friendly Electrical Modelling

Etap is very useful for an electrical engineer, and is fantastic to model electrical systems. It allows you to complete many different types of studies, from load flow to arc flash, grounding, and many more. Certain modules are sold separately, such as the harmonic study and motor starting modules, which is fine, but can get expensive if you need all of them, but only sporadicly. Customer support has been pretty good, they will assist you when you have technical questions on how to model certain things, or if the library does not have a specific model of breaker, for example.

Pros

- Etap has a wide variety of equipment that can be connected - The help function is very well put together, for every single user interface window - Highly customizable for reporting

Cons

- Sometimes difficult to print a Single Line Diagram as intended - VFDs typical show overloaded, even if the rating of the drive matches the motor, and that issue has not been resolved, as far as I know, even if it was pointed out several years ago - Training from etap is a must to use the software properly, especially the case scenario options

Reasons for switching to ETAP

Hiring company decision, and popularity of etap among the industry.

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your review. Our latest release ETAP 20 has an abundance of new features and enhancements. Please feel free to contact our 20/7 HelpDesk to assist you with any of the questions you may have. https://etap.com/support

Replied July 2020

Radha Krishna

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

ETAP Software for Electrical Engineers

I am working with Arc Flash Hazard Study to generate Arc Flash labels. Hence need to use Short-circuit, Protection co-ordination study software's as well. I am very much impressed with the software builder keeping in mind the user flexibility and moreover libraries its tested and provides users on Electrical components like relays, breakers etc.,

Pros

User friendly, flexibility to open. Abundant library files for each electrical components like relays, circuit breakers, etc., Running the program and easy understanding of the analysis at the finger tip of the user

Cons

Hardlock dongle makes it difficult to enter the power plant in Middle east, instead it should have be software controlled dongle. In Middle east Power plants controlled by Military team it is not allowed to enter USB or pendrive or any external harddrive devices. Hence request to look into the solution of Software opening with softlock key. Even though some of Library files are available with ETAP team, it is not send as a whole package with the latest Software version, need to request the same through the ticket. When Arc Flash is running it takes couple of mins to come back to normal screen. Instead an progress bar display will help user to understand the estimated time to complete calculation.

Reasons for choosing ETAP

ETAP provides comprehensive solutions for any analysis requirement in the electrical world. Its one stop shop for electrical engineers. Other competitors does not provide this. Mumbai ETAP support team is very good in resolving the tickets, especially Asavari & Uttam. Many thanks to these to personnel.

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your great review and feedback. contact our local ETAP office to inquire about our soft key which is now available for installation without USB key. Also, the latest ETAP release has improved performance, but you may want to check our system requirements to make sure you get the best performance from ETAP. https://etap.com/software/sales/system-requirements

Replied September 2019

Jim

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Depends on what you are looking for in Power Systesm Software

Power Systems issues. Wow this "survey" is really a "one size fits none" bit of work isn't it.

Pros

Flexibility, but it comes with some sever downsides

Cons

The user interface, both in getting data in to the software, and getting useable results back out.

Reasons for choosing ETAP

We didn't. It isn't an either/or situation. We use all 3 major software suites. I personally use ETAP and PTW. Both have their advantages, both have drawbacks. PTW wins in ease of use, ETAP in handling multiple configurations / scenarios. PTW wins in the area of data presentation. Both seem to think that "Crystal Reports" is just dandy for reports, something I strongly disagree with. ETAP wins in several areas that are not core to my use case.

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your review and feedback. Please contact our 24/7 HelpDesk if you need assistance with any interface matters. We do have a very comprehensive data exchange module (DataX) that provides a wide range of import and export options and interfaces with third party software (https://etap.com/packages/data-exchange). We also offer our Data Exchange Service (https://etap.com/services/data-exchange-services) if you need assistance with one-off import/export or interface projects.

Replied September 2019

Christopher

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

ETAP Review

It is an excellent package and its my right hand. I could not do my jobs without it. Also thanks for the outstanding tech help!!!

Pros

I can make a model very quickly and run cases as fast as can design them. Allows for quick answers to customer/management questions.

Cons

Having dongle identification trouble. I have to reset License Manager EVERY time. The regular start cannot see it. Run LM and then I run ETAP. Printing setup could be easier to use. Having trouble with printing output not changing. I have a ticket open now on it. Would to turn off data from certain buses and lines. I do not need to see all when it turn it on in the display options. Just certain buses. It muddies the screen. TCC could be easier to use.

Reasons for choosing ETAP

Ease of use. Features. CUSTOMER TECH HELP!!!

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your great feedback. I am sure our Tech Support will come up with an answer to the issues you ran into.

Replied September 2021

Bruce

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Fabulous

I have not seen or been exposed to any power systems software that can even come close to comparing to ETAP and the Enterprise Family of Solutions oriented Software. I use Arc Flash, Transient Stability, Ground Grid, LDFL, Short Circ, STAR religiously

Pros

I have been using this software for 30 years. I have been a ETAP Agent for 20 years. I have not seen or been exposed to any power systems software that can even come close to comparing to ETAP and the Enterprise Family of Solutions oriented Software.

Cons

That is has taken so long to get key modules developed such as Panel and the Distance Relay. It has cost me many oppertunities in sales.

Reasons for choosing ETAP

IT is the best and most adaptable to every day problems and easiest to use. The truly best aspect is that the results are accurate.

Reasons for switching to ETAP

I wanted a software that could perform and was developed by a team that understood POWER SYSTEMS analysis.

Response from ETAP

Thanks you for your feedback. As the saying goes, "good things take time, greater things even longer" Panel has been around since the earlier versions of our software. Distance Relay took a while to develop, verify, and validate since it does integrate with a lot of other analysis tools in our software suite. We also added a number of distance relays to our library which contain 1000s of settings and match the manufacturer 1:1. The module is now available and we have enhancements coming out in our next release ETAP 19.5.

Replied September 2019

Percy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

General Design software features

ETAP is generally the best software i have used. I would love to see features like infinite busbar being able to be implemented

Pros

The software is good for asset management, real time simulation and for everyday problem solving on all designs

Cons

They software is only forward compactible. Exchange of models between clients and designers wont be easy if we are using different versions. I would to see the features such as lightning protection modelling using rolling sphere, EGM and shield angels. The software can only perform grid design for substation earthing only

Reasons for switching to ETAP

User friendly and more design features on ETAP than Digsilent

Response from ETAP

Hello Percy, thank you for your positive feedback. We always add new and innovative features to our annual releases and take suggestions from our customers into consideration for future releases. In regards to your question about lightning protection, you can utilize the ETAP emtCoSim module; and your feature request for "infinite busbar" you can utilize the bus editor and select "swing" to model an infinite bus. See the latest ETAP innovations and feature updates at https://etap.com/whats-new.

Replied November 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

ETAP Arc Flash Analysis, Coordination Study and Short Circuit Analysis Review

Overall the experience is good. The user interface is straightforward and doesn't require a big learning curve to get started.

Pros

The product is easy to use. The diagram can be easily created with multiple networks as well. Once the network is created, we can carry out a short circuit analysis with a single click. The report feature allows the export of results in multiple formats (pdfs/excel/word etc). Can create a copy of the base case, with proposed or amended case results can be easily compared. Faults can be easily simulated, and thus coordination curves can be easily generated.

Cons

Limitation of the number of buses. If bus sizes go around 300 buses, the network takes a bit longer to run the analysis. The installation process is not simple with matching the key and license. Required help from IT department to get it on my computer. Faults can be inserted however, not of a specific value (overvoltage conditions not possible), only high currents (Short circuit 3PH, 1PH) can be simulated.

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your review and positive feedback. ETAP is improving it's performance with every release. The ETAP 20 Series is showing considerable performance improvements over previous releases. Please go to our Help Center and download the latest ETAP release.

Replied July 2021

Mark

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

ETAP Used for Nuclear Power Stations

ETAP is used for all our nuclear plant power system analysis and assists us with all necessary design changes. Their customer support is known throughout our industry to be world class.

Pros

ETAP has supported the nuclear power industry by designing and supplying software for our specialized analytical needs for over 20 years. They have become the defacto standard for nuclear plant power system analysis throughout the U.S. with over 90% of plants and utilities standardizing on ETAP.

Cons

Although it may sound like I’m making this up, after using this software through all of its many evolutions over the years, I honestly can’t think of anything.

Reasons for choosing ETAP

ETAP design, architecture, user interface, and customer support.

Reasons for switching to ETAP

ETAP is designed to use a central database and plant model to feed all the various calculation modules.

Response from ETAP

Thank you for being a valued ETAP user and for your positive review Mark. We have and always will appreciate your continuous feedback about ETAP software.

Replied October 2020

User Profile

Anny

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

I have been using the etap for short circuit, load flows and especially coordination of protection

Pros

It has a large number of electrical equipment libraries that facilitate simulations. It is extremely practical when using the Star module, since when running the shortcuts it shows in a real way how they cut the protection curves, in the same way it shows in a very dynamic way the performance of the protection equipment (relays, fuses, contactors) in order and time in order to efficiently diagnose a coordination, existing or proposed.

Cons

Given the existence of several libraries, many users could be carried away by the data that has predefined the software and would not be motivated to look for the real field information, I have made simulations with both information to compare and give very similar, but can arrive tend to trust the user in case there may be data that does not match reality. I have had several complications when updating the versions, since once I have updated the document to a latest available version, it does not allow me to open it in a previous version.

Response from ETAP

Our modules come with an alert view which will flag the results if they are outside of a certain percentage. This value is set by you and would be a way to check if the results are off. Unfortunately you can only open older projects in newer versions. This is because the library and sql database changes per release.

Replied September 2019

Jennifer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Incredibly powerful with many improvements needed.

We are solving the requirements set up by NFPA 70E and IEEE requirements to keep workers same.

Pros

TCC, Arc Flash and short circuit studies help keep facility personnel safe and help identify where changes are needed.

Cons

Running large study wizards needs to be able to produce the reports at the end. It is extramely troublesome to have to generate EACH report from a 200+ node compressor station where you have 20+ configurations for studies that are scheduled to run. Also printing TCC with the elements shown in the curves needs to be easier.

Response from ETAP

Hello Jennifer, thank you for your positive feedback. Please contact our 24/7 online technical support to assist with your challenges. We want to make sure you can work most efficiently even with large project studies and reports. Our technical support is available at https://helpcenter.etap.com

Replied September 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

It's user friendly.

Various tutorials, examples and helps are existed online.

Pros

It can be used in power system stability analysis.

Cons

defining standard between ANSI/IEC and measurement SI/English metric

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your review and your feedback

Replied July 2021

Noor

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

12 Years of Experience with ETAP Software

Overall, I'm a happy customer with ETAP software. Good work team ETAP! :)

Pros

There are a few things in ETAP that are actually very attractive. 1. The very attractive thing about ETAP is its user-friendly graphical interface which is very attractive with state of the art graphical symbols having both IEC and ANSI options selectable on simple clicks along with color coding according to voltage levels. This helps visually a lot in classifying one's systems based on voltage levels. 2. Help Desk support is an excellent feature with FTP support area for large file handling. 3. One click report generation with study/scenario wizards saves a lot of time for complex projects.

Cons

There are a few things in ETAP that are actually annoying sometimes. 1. First is the dumpster. Once you delete an element, you can't simply undo to restore it from dumpster. You need to be super smart to get it back. The undo / redo should be smartly management as in many other software. It will save a lot of hassle and time. 2. Backward compatibility is also a major concern. Projects created in newer versions can't be opened in older versions at all which is required sometimes to review the work of contractors. It should have some backward compatibility, say, to 4 previous releases. 3. Static studies such as load flow, short circuit etc do not consider turbine rating to generate alerts as the same is needed in some plants where turbines are under-rated than associated generators. No documentation is also available in this regard. 4. Library updates are also not available until next version is released. Limited models are available for ASD/VFD drives for harmonic studies even for very common drives. One has to create every common model manually which takes a lot of time.

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your feedback. As you know, as a seasoned user, ETAP is thriving to deliver the best product on the market. As a user with a valid maintenance contract you may contact our 24/7 online HelpDesk or call ETAP support to assist you with these issues. In regards to backwards compatibility please contact one of our local ETAP offices or representatives for support with older releases.

Replied September 2019

Prawit

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Comments for ETAP

Good but something should be improved otherwise customer would seek for other brand.

Pros

User friendly and thus easy to use than any other power system analysis softwares.

Cons

Grounding system study is inferior than other competitor such as XGSLab, CDEGS. Main Ground Grid analysis of ETAP is suitable only for a simple soil condition. I experienced very difficult soil condition with resistivity in the range of 800-1500 Ohm-m which ETAP cannot help and Electricity Authority disapproved analysis using ETAP. Thus we have to seek for other software to solve the problem by modeling a customized grid conductor such as using clay covering bare copper conductor and analyze touch and step voltage. Cables sizing calculation still has no capability to calculate according to IEC60287 standard which calculate from heat transfer theory. I have to purchase other software, CYMCAP, to calculate correctly. So ETAP is used for power system analysis only except cables sizing calculation and grounding system study. Another cons is ETAP support. I experienced that sometime I found problem using ETAP in analyzing GCB, I asked ETAP for technical help but unfortunately EATP ignored my request and after several follow up I got a very simple words which is not any useful. I felt very bad with ETAP support team. I hope that ETAP support would be improved.

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your feedback. We take our customer feedback very serious and will work on making improvements wherever we can. Please look for our next release which will have considerable enhancements for cables, including IEC 60287, ground grid analysis, and many more.

Replied September 2019

Mathew

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Powerful Software

Overall it has been positive. It would be nice to have more higher level courses in my area. It is powerful software and takes some getting use to.

Pros

Very powerful software. I like the reports that can be generated. The star graphs are really nice and look good in reports. I like being able to set up macros, it makes running multiple test cases a lot easier.

Cons

I do not like that I have to buy a ton of modules just to get one feature. The experience thus far has been that we buy some modules and start performing a study. The results are not what we expect just to find out we are missing one feature that is in another module that we didnt buy. There seems to be little features that are important to other studies that are hidden within other, more expensive, modules and generally we do not need the entire other module, but have to buy it because we need the one feature to complete the study. There are also some minor bugs such as not being able to have an NGR monitoring relay on a zig zag transformer. We also ran into an issue modelling a Y-Y transformer. The ETAP software does not allow for the consideration of the tank effect. These issues have work arounds but its hard to explain to a client that ETAP doesn't have this built in so we have to use a work around. I also do not like that there is no save as ability. The save a copy of the file is weird.

Reasons for choosing ETAP

ETAP seemed to be more recognised in the industry. We also have plans to expand our offerings as far as electrical studies and we can build upon our current software offering when needed.

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your great review. Since many modules work hand-in-hand it is sometimes necessary to get modules that will not apply to the cor or your project. We will make sure our developers receive the information from your review, so your suggestions can be taken into consideration in future releases. Contact your local ETAP representative about alternative or temporary use of module you may only need occasionally. in regards to "Save As" try Shift S. Here is a link to all of our Short Cuts https://etap.com/support/etap-shortcut Enjoy!

Replied September 2019

Charles

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Electrical Engineering Design and Analysis Tool

I have 18 years experience with ETAP Software and compared to comparable software, I believe that ETAP has the most features they keep developing more features and tools to use.

Pros

Provides many of the engineering calculations for design and analysis of electrical power, protection and control systems in one software package. It is a necessity in providing our customers the best designs and arc flash analysis.

Cons

I have to set up my defaults and tools the way that I like to use them and display them when I get a new version. I would like ETAP to add L-G faults for 1-Phase center-tapped sources.

Reasons for choosing ETAP

I am most familiar with ETAP and the other software did not compare to ETAP in providing more tools that I use such as cable pulling, harmonic analysis, transient analysis and relay protection setting abilities.

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your feedback and being a loyal customer. In regards to your feedback, you are right, we don't store defaults and setting separately, all settings are saved automatically in you project files. When you read your project your new release it will update your settings as well. You can always set up a project template, which you can use when starting a new project or upgrade to a new release. Please feel free to ask our 24/7 HelpDesk support team for assistance. You can also request new features or update to libraries by entering a ticket in our HelpDesk.

Replied October 2019

Jen

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Review

The overall experience has been good, there are some features which could use some improvement (as mentioned above).

Pros

The software is easy to use and fairly intuitive.

Cons

There are often products that are not available in the library. Formatting can be very tedious and time consuming despite some of the "auto" formatting options. Default settings need to be set up on a per project basis, this is both frustrating and time consuming. Exporting information to excel could be so helpful but there is some info that can only be found in "reports" and when these are exported to excel they are formatted to reflect a report style not just raw data which makes it very difficult to use this data efficently if you are creating your own report.

Response from ETAP

Hello Jen, thanks for your feedback. Please contact our HelpDesk or our local office in Canada to assist with the issues you are describing in your review. We are happy to help and make using ETAP software a positive experience.

Replied September 2019

James (Jim)

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

ETAP Evaluation

ETAP is great software. However, I feel some features are released before they’re ready and the user ends up doing R&D

Pros

Very technical; very inclusive with options

Cons

Written help features need greatly improved. Need more technical explanation of features available. Need more technical webinars to define modules

Reasons for choosing ETAP

ETAP features and technical expertise

Reasons for switching to ETAP

ETAP has more technical features

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your feedback. We are working constantly to update our product documentation and training materials. Feel free to contact our Golf Coast office in Houston for assistance and training opportunities. You can also contact our HelpDesk 24/7 with any product questions or help with a project. Sign up for our next webinar in October.

Replied September 2019

George

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Review of Etap Software from GW Engineering Inc.

I have used Etap for over 12 years and have used it for design, installation, and troubleshooting of many power generation systems over this period. These systems primarily include relay coordination, and protection schemes, arc flash, and motor starting. It is a great product.

Pros

Etap utilizes all of the components the model and integrates them all together so it is easy to go from one module to the next and still work with all data and information from other modules. "Star" systems is an example.

Cons

Alignment and viewing results on the one-line can get crowded but it can be edited to view only the critical information.

Response from ETAP

This can be resolved by using Auto-Build which is modeling based on a spacing rulebook. You can modify the rulebook to evenly space out all the elements in your one-line, allowing for a less cluttered view.

Replied September 2019

Frida

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

A Happy ETAP User

Overall experience has been good. We've experienced some troubles but we've always gotten the problem fixed by the customer support. We try to use ETAP whenever possible.

Pros

I like it the most how user friendly it is and that it gives me the comfort that the results are correct.

Cons

There are a certain things that are different in this software compared to others. E.g. there is no "save as", only "copy project to" and you have to open it afterwards (if you want to work on the new project). And copy - paste is different than in any other software. It doesn't bother me anymore, but it's weird.

Response from ETAP

We use "copy project to" instead of save as since SQL is installed locally on the machine which allows for faster performance. Copying the files directly disconnect the local database which is why we have this option instead.

Replied September 2019

Mariano

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Renewables & Environment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Good tool

Good

Pros

Friendly environment and the help is also good

Cons

Better and more accurate grounding calculation

Reasons for choosing ETAP

Better price

Response from ETAP

Thanks you for your feedback and great review. Check out our latest Ground Grid enhancements in ETAP 19.5, which will be release soon. https://etap.com/19.5

Replied September 2019

Danny

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

The best overall

Pros

The 3-D Database is a base feature compared to CYME and SKM Powertools to manage scenarios.

Cons

Harmonic parameters for the utility have some limitations. I didn't find a way to set "lieux d'impédance" given by the utilty or his harmonic contribution for each harmonice frequence.

Reasons for choosing ETAP

I was using it before joining my actual employer. We did the same change, from CYME to ETAP, with my former employer.

Reasons for switching to ETAP

On CYME the Scenario manager is a paid add-on on CYME. Saving process, library management and the GUI were dificult and I would not present the output reports by themselves to my client before doing time consuming formating. Also, I had to tweak XML files to customize Arc-Flash Labels while ETAP use the mailing functionnality of word.

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your great feedback & review. Please contact our 24/7 HelpDesk to request assistance with this matter. We take customer feedback into account whenever possible to improve ETAP software. Opening a ticket in HelpDesk will escalate this issue to our R&D team if our support engineers can't find a solution to your problem.

Replied September 2019

Ali

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

A lot better than SKM but still not perfect

Pros

I always enjoyed working with etap because of the quality of the software and accurate results.Plus the fact that the reports don't look like from a type writer the way SKM looks.

Cons

Recently they sent Costumer service for the Library for USA to India. This has caused a response time of 2-3 hours to get extended to 3-4 days and the professionalism of the staff in India is not to the US standards.

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your feedback and review. Since we offer 24/7 support, we utilize our support engineers around the globe. We take our customer's feedback very serious and always try to remedy any issues that surface. We hope that your next interaction with ETAP support will be positive and swift.

Replied September 2019

Sidney

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Very good for heavy industrial power

How power large motors on weaker power systems. Simulation of motor starting on large mobile machines. Determination of power quality impacts in the proposal stage. Performed alternate studies to verify alternate power system designs.

Pros

The ability to dynamically model wound rotor motor starting with a time variable liquid rheostat. A good library of multifunction electronic relays. A good library of electronic motor protection relays.

Cons

The library of basic TOC relays is not as complete as other packages. A lot of additional modules to buy and pay maintenance on. The wound rotor induction motor rheostat starting requires a chunk of calculations to get it in the form needed for ETAP. A lot of the ETAP trainers did not understand about wound rotor motor modeling and it took a while to get to the courses needed.

Reasons for choosing ETAP

The ability to model wound rotor motors dynamically. It provided professional grade documentation. The library was the most complete for our needs.

Response from ETAP

Thanks you for your feedback. Our support team is always available to assist with any issues you may run into. Should you find any libraries that are not available, just create a ticket in our 24/7 online HelpDesk and we will create them. In regards to any issues that go past the regular support questions, you can always escalate your case or contact your local ETAP sales engineer to assist. One of our research engineers for induction motors will get in touch with to assist with you questions.

Replied October 2019

Douglas

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Solid software and support

We have used ETAP successfully for Arc Flash studies, cable thermal analysis, and grounding studies. The software overall performs well in all our scenarios.

Pros

The variability of the modules and options for running simulations are pretty extensive.

Cons

Some of the initial modules are expensive, and in general the functionality and setup are not as intuitive as I would like.

Response from ETAP

Thank you for your feedback. We are trying to improve and simplify the setup process with every release. Any suggestions are always welcome and you can provide feedback directly to our sales engineers or our online HelpDesk.

Replied September 2019

Showing 1 - 25 of 61 reviews
ETAP

ETAP

4.55/5 out of 61 reviews
PriceDemo