User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(11)

11

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "JDisc gets really good, accurate and reliable data; generally beyond what I have seen in other tools."

  • "I like JDisc Discovery because it gets very detailed information from tons of devices in a very short timeframe."

  • "Discovery of all devices on network. Picked up unknown devices on network very well."

  • Cons

  • "It crawls EVERYthing. You get a lot of item-info, but you´ll have to manage that, best before you start discovery - and in line with a CMDB-CMP!"

  • "nothing, all problems are solved within days at most, very helpfull support"

  • "Never seen a so good and fast support! Bug or nessesarry changes will be applied into application within 2 Weeks."

Browse JDisc Discovery Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -33 of 17 results

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great tools to improve your infrastructure or purchasing needs!

It's a great tool with a lot of features. You can use ist with a lot of other tools.

Pros

The network dependency addon which maps automatically the network with his structure. It increases our amount of documentary work over 60 %. Same on asset side.

Cons

The Software ist very smart, with a Little Training easy to use. Has a lot of possible usecases combined with a cmdb tool. Our main tool to get a nearly automated overview over our infrastructure.

November 2018

Stefan from Avitech GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Best discovery tool have have used so far

We use JDisc for internal IT as well as on-premise customer systems. Our customers are always delighted when they receive such detailed and up-to-date information about their systems from us!

Pros

For us, JDisc is the best tool for capturing HW and SW data across a sheer endless number of IT devices. It works extremely fast and reliable. In particular, the customer support is outstanding, you get help at any time, new devices are taken over in no time by the JDisc team into the tool.

Cons

The user interface could be a bit fancier ...

December 2018

Bastian from BRZ Software + Service GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Basis for a consistent cmdb

Pros

JDisc works agentless and scans entire network areas including snmp devices. Thus almost all devices can be found. Filters are a good way to inventory only those devices that are needed. Support adds unknown SNMP devices within weeks when providing snmp-walks. With the available API and reports, JDisc fills a Configuration Management Database very well.

Cons

One downside is the (legitimate) need to save passwords in order to use JDisc to its full extent and therefore the need to harden the operating system. Agentless can be a disadvantage if there are many "unwanted" devices in the network.

November 2018

Thomas from Golding Capital Partners GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

great tool for scanning everything in your network

Importing the scan results into i-doit software Great tool that is improved more or less on a weekly basis. The team is open to suggestions what is needed. Perfect software

Pros

- great flexibility, if you come across unknown devices you can send a snmpwalk of the device to jdisc and they will include that device within days. Detects everying on a maschine, attached devices, logged on user

Cons

nothing, all problems are solved within days at most, very helpfull support

August 2019

Dominik from Kienbaum Consultants International GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Top product for filling CMDB

We has to fill a cmdb with our IT infratructure items. And we want to get automatically new devices into it. This tool saves nearly 1,5 personal ressource for mantaining the cmdb.

Pros

The software fill automated the cmdb. That saves a lot of time and ressources in the IT department to document the Infrastructure.

Cons

Never seen a so good and fast support! Bug or nessesarry changes will be applied into application within 2 Weeks.

Reasons for Choosing JDisc Discovery

Price Performance Ratio & recommendation of our consuting partner. Read about it in some IT Magazines.

October 2019

Pratik from SHI International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great discovery tool

Pros

Discovery of all devices on network. Picked up unknown devices on network very well.

Cons

No web UI. The discovery tool helps with customer whom have no tools in place in their environment.

October 2019

Neil from SHI International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great Product

Pros

JDisc gets really good, accurate and reliable data; generally beyond what I have seen in other tools.

Cons

I'd like to see a metering/usage functionality in the longer term

March 2017

Kevin from Visionary IT Service, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Excellent Software!

We have over 200 devices and have several LANs and VPN connections that made our situation far from a small basic network. Jdisc Discovery was able to discover all the the connections. Because we had so many types of connections, discovery required some special settings to allow it to see all LANs connected from our VPN. Customer support was there and understood our needs. Once we had reporting setup for our needs, we were able to find out absolutely everything we needed to know about our WAN, VPN and local computers. I am looking forward to trying the other modules. Thanks Jdisc!

Pros

VERY easy to install and get basic network information. Looking forward to using the network mapping. Reporting portion is very granular and was able to find everything we were looking for. We don't have a simple network but Customer Support was very personal and best of all very helpful.

Cons

We don't have any time constraints and would not consider the small problems we had with setup an emergency by any means. Customer Supports diagnosis and fix of our issue was correct and fixed the first try. That being said customer support I believe was out of Germany so there was a time lag getting replies to the USA. Because they answered as quickly as they could, I am sure if they had 24 hour support, I would not have anything negative to say about this software.

July 2016

Reinhold from IT Systemberatung Schwerpunkt Sicherheit

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2016

Our choice for a network inventory tool

We evaluate JDisc as a network inventory tool for one of our customers. Our experience shows that JDisc provides a lot of information for a wide range of professional devices and operating systems. It is easy to install and use. Fast scanns and a very high rate of discovered devices speed up the process of data collection. JDisc provides the data collection for other tools for us and is stable and reliable. We use it now in our own environment without any problems and it is our first choice for customer request. I would call the support for this tool as "best practice".

October 2019

Pierre from Südsee-Camp G. & P. Thiele OHG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Simply inventory

Pros

JDisc is very simple and limited to what it should do. Many manufacturers also try to cover many other areas and then you easily lose the track. The support of JDisc is very good and fast.

Cons

Devices that have been recorded should perhaps be slightly more customizable

October 2016

Christoph from it-novum GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Excellent integration, full functionality, requires customization

We use JDisc to collect data on all the devices attached to our customers network. This information is stored in the JDisc database and easily made available to other applications, such as i-doit (part of our ITSM-Stack). Which we use to manage our clients IT infratsructure. JDisc collects information on nearly everthing, including software, installed components and their connections, provided you set it up right. One feature i´d like to mention is "Agentenlos". Which let you do everything from JDisc without installing anything on the systems themselves. The only drawback is the time you need to configure it and the mistakes you can make. The support is great though and will help you get it right. Enhancements and bugfixes are coming very quickly.

Pros

I like JDisc Discovery because it gets very detailed information from tons of devices in a very short timeframe.

Cons

You need to configure it right.

July 2016

Horst from br-sys

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2016

JDisc was the right decision

Using JDisc as the central network inventory tool was the best decision we made. Why? JDisc is very scaleable, fast and stable. Use it for small or very big sites between 50 or 1000 and more devices. JDisc is organized in modules. We are able to get excatly what we want. There is no need to customize JDisc for retrieving information, we do not need at a certail stage. But we have the posibility to. The features provided by JDisc allows us to fullfill a lot of requests, which are beyond the functionality of a network inventory tool. JDisc results can easily be be used by all providors of our customers. So it is an independent data collection. JDisc provides an interface to integrate function and resultis in other software products. At least .. fair pricing and a flexible, well skilled and fast support team made it easy to run JDisc.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Discovery? JDisc!

Nice Software, nice People, nice co-customers. High volumes of items get a little expensive, so think before discover!

Pros

It crawls EVERYthing. You get a lot of item-info, but you´ll have to manage that, best before you start discovery - and in line with a CMDB-CMP!

Cons

It crawls EVERYthing. You get a lot of item-info, but you´ll have to manage that, best before you start discovery - and in line with a CMDB-CMP!

April 2016

Alin from Confidential

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2016

Best discovery tool that I've worked with

Ever since JDisc was the main discovery solution that we use for the engagements, our life got much easier. Their development team worked close to us in order to enhance the tool to cover the market needs and the new technology with its requirements. The updates were published in a very short timeframe and for that I truly appreciate their customer service and customer focus. JDisc It's easy to install and it has a powerful engine. The amount of data gathered by the tool is truly vast and the speed of doing that is amazing. There's no such thing as a perfect discovery tool, but JDisc surely is getting closer to that level if they keep up the good work done so far.

November 2018

Denny from Inatec Solution GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Best tool to fill the CMDB i-DOIT

We use it to fill our CMDB i-DOIT with SNMP / SSH, so it is a must have :-)

Pros

The support is very good and they never refused my ideas or feedback.

Cons

That it runs only on Windows and the language / gui feels sometimes a bit old and too "nested".

April 2016

Gerhard from Stadtverwaltung Neuwied

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2016

We just love it

We use jdisc to discover all of our network assets. Installation and configuration was pretty easy and fast. The support of the guys from jdisc is excellent, but generally you don´t need them, because the product is running smoothly. Five stars = perfect!

April 2016

Francois from de Lavergne

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2016

Multiple customer SAM reviews / Inventory process

Very efficient inventory tool which scans lots of different flavours of OSEs. Requires some experience in configuration and use. Like a real sportscar, you achieve performance but you need to be a good driver. You have a real support from the JDisc team.