User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

3.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(116)

116

4 stars

(157)

157

3 stars

(47)

47

2 stars

(15)

15

1 stars

(21)

21

  • Pros

  • "It is relatively easy to use. The support has been good so far."

  • "Compared to my last company, this product is easy to use and I am reaching more people and it is working well for my business."

  • "Application was easy to setup and easy to use. It has a lot of capability that we do not use."

  • Cons

  • "It feels a little bit dated in comparison to some other CRMs but for basic monthly email newsletters, one-off promotions and a database to store contacts, it's perfect and at the right price point."

  • "The one thing that is bothersome is the "touchiness" of being locked out - but I totally get the reasoning"

  • "It's a bit of a complicated process, at first, to figure out how to set up an email. Once you've done it a few times it's great, but it's not overly intuitive. "

Browse Campaigner Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 360 results

July 2020

Ray from Young Nails Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Easy to use

Pros

Very easy to upload csv files. Some CRMS you need a masters degree in Technology just to upload clients into the database. Campaigner is simple to use, and cuts out all the other garbage fields that you don't need.

Cons

Pricing should continue to reduce as the economy is certain to crumble in the next six months.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Salesforce takes 6 months and a masters degree to use all the useless things that it does. Mailchimp was a little more expensive.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Kristi from Wine Cellar Innovations

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Use What You Know

We send a weekly email to 40k users and this program has worked for us for the last 8 years.

Pros

This program was already in use when I joined the company and the learning curve was minimal. It has all the standard templates, contacts, and reports that you would need. Every time I have called customer service, they have been helpful.

Cons

Working with the templates can be really finicky. It can be difficult to get it to do what you want at times. It is also not as user friendly as MailChimp, for instance. Their reporting is there but you have to do click more time to get to it and comparing email sends can be annoying the way it's laid out.

Response from j2 Global

Replied October 2018

Hi Kristi, Thank you for leaving a review of Campaigner. We are happy to hear that the platform works well for you and your team. We also appreciate th feedback you provided and have passed it along to our product team. If you have any additional questions please do not hesitate to contact us. -The Campaigner Team

February 2021

Jason from CPI

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Automation and ease of use

Overall, we are extremely satisfied on what this software allows us to do from a campaign standpoint. Our emails are clean and easy to read on mobile devices and on the desktop.

Pros

The interface is very user friendly allowing for drag and drop editiong or html editor features make Campaigner a breeze to work with. In addition, being able to automate an email to go out weekly, or every two weeks, three weeks or four weeks is a great feature.

Cons

Sometimes Campaigner is caps sensitive with linked documents, which will sever links if you're not careful and unless you pull it into html editor you may not be able to see the severed link in the drag and drop editor to apply changes.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Ease of use and automation features were the critical components that helped us move to Campaigner to achieve our needs.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Constant Contact did not have the ability to automate ina way to send our emails out every four weeks or other custom send scheduling of the same email

Response from j2 Global

Replied March 2021

Hello Jason, thank you very much for leaving this great feedback for us. It most definitely helps us to ensure that we keep Campaigner as optimized to your needs as possible. Best regards - Carlos, Customer Marketing Manager.

September 2018

Scott from Cumberland Hill Neighborhood Association

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2018

Much to be desired

We understand Campainer is not just an email program, but they don't seem very interested in our suggestions along the way. It's disappointing that in all these years, there hasn't been any kind of redesign for ease of use. At what we are being charged monthly; we are likely going to shop around and see if there is something better matched for our needs, and priced more competitively.

Pros

We use it for simple email blasts to our neighborhood association. We don't use it for marketing campaigns, so therefore do not have the need for some of the functionality available with Campaigner. For our needs it works.

Cons

Ease of use. It is not intuitive, and they haven't done any kind of software or GUI redesign since we started using it (6+ years ago). Making a template should be a lot easier than it is: Creating and editing templates has a lot of old graphic (frames?) technology that makes for a frustrating experience when trying to line up text blocks with headers, footers and images. Writing an email with attachments should be easier. Having to upload a file/image to the media library, and then importing it into your email is a lot of steps. Instead, allow a person to add a file/image to an email note in the same simple fashion as any other email client works: add a paper clip button and allow us to select the file to add to the note. That seems like it should have been done a long time ago. Also, if you accidentally remove a person from an email list, you have to call up Campaigner support to get it fixed; you can't manually fix it yourself. Very annoying.

Response from j2 Global

Replied October 2018

Hi Scott, Thank you for taking the time to review the platform. We appreciate the feedback you provided in regard to the platform and have passed the feedback on to our product team. If you have any additional issues or questions please feel free to let us know. -The Campaigner Team

October 2020

Shaun from The Belding Group of Companies Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2020

Brilliant Customer Support. Limited Functionality

Campaigners customer support is in the absolute top-tier. I've been in the customer experience consulting and training business globally for over 20 years, and I can only think of one other company that is their equal. Years ago, we switched away from Campaigner to Survey Monkey. We switched back 8 months later. Survey Monkey's customer service didn't come close. Even though we don't need customer support often, we sure appreciate that Campaigner doesn't make you jump through hoops to get to someone who can help. Campaigner appears to have invested little, however in creating integrations with major platforms like Wordpress. Our subscription list suffers because of it. The support team is sympathetic, but their developers don't appear to care about it. It's too bad, because other than that, this is a world-class company.

Pros

Campaigner is easy to use, and doesn't require a lot of technical knowledge to get started (although it certainly helps). Their technical support team is fantastic, though, unlike most other SAAS. They actually have people you can talk to - and they are consistently awesome. We use it mostly for email marketing. The reporting is great, and everything (except for the 'cons' below) is pretty intuitive.

Cons

Campaigner is missing some critical functionalities that are becoming deal-breakers. Fairly simple things like integrations with Wordpress. One of the biggest gaps is the complete inability to easily create attractive sign-up forms for websites or popups. They have some templates - which are just, well, horrible.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Customer support

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

We switched from Campaigner to Survey Monkey to takke advantage of some specific functionalities. But 6 months later switched back because of Campaigner's vastly superior customer service.

Response from j2 Global

Replied October 2020

Hello Shaun, I wanted to thank you for your excellent and in-depth feedback. It is really great to know that our product and customer support team has been something that you can rely on. Your feedback with regards to integration is also much appreciated and has been sent up to upper management. Looking forward to serving your email marketing needs in the future, all the best. Carlos Petersen, Customer Marketing Manager

July 2020

Sue from P.S. Creative

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Campaigner as Used by Our Agency

We like the ease with which we can update our custom templates, or build new ones, and the ability to schedule sends. There are many command aspects within the program that create beneficial results for your sends as well. Be sure to explore them!

Pros

Campaigner offers the flexibility of working within a setup wizard, or full-HTML. This wonderfully spans the usage range from set-up programmers to end users who may have no programming experience.

Cons

We may not have found the best way to access our multiple-client templates, as it seems extremely cumbersome to have to back out of the template area and re-enter each time you want to change a template. The program should allow one to easily work back and forth between updating one of our custom templates and choosing the next one. There may be an easier way to do this other than completely leaving that area and returning, but we haven't found it as many years as we've been using Campaigner. (It's also not been a priority for us to follow up on as yet!)

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

At my previous company I used an expensive and comprehensive newsletter program for 100,000+ dynamic weekly sends. This was a top-of-the-line program, but serious overkill for my current agency. Our size allows us to be nimble with our responsiveness, but also requires serious cost analysis for any program purchases. Campaigner came out on top with features as we evaluated some of the other top programs at the time, as well as being a cost-effective solution that offers all we need.

January 2021

Samantha from Zyxel

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

from Zyxel administer

The product itself is fine, but the support and communication of your inner team is awful. There is once that we are upgraded without informed. After communicating with the sales he said that he would offer the corrected invoice, but even though I wrote mails to ask for the invoice so many times, I can't get the invoice for three month therefore I can't fulfill the payment, and then I am banned for not paying. There is also once that we are informed by the accountant that we didn't pay for two months and if we didn't pay right away we will be banned, but our payment duration is 90days, and it's been two years we followed it. I am blamed for your mistake twice this year and i'm really disappoint of your service.

Pros

easy to use. Cover most function that we need. Drag and drop save a lot of time.

Cons

RWD. UI of administer. The report after importing contacts is terrible. There is only the row number on the report and then i have to check the original mailing list to find the email myself. Sales is difficult to find and inefficient.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Mailchimp: Better UI. HubSpot: more function.

Response from j2 Global

Replied January 2021

Hello Samantha and thanks for your valuable feedback, this certainly does help us to hone in on future updates so that we can ensure you are having the best experience possible. ^CP

January 2021

Álvaro from Estudio Tangente

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Nice service, good features, but has some outdated interfaces

Pros

Is an easy to use product, with the basic features to run email campaigns and do A/B testing. The media library works flawless and lets you organize your files with ease. The email templates are good and can be edited very easily. You have the option to upload your own email template in HTML.

Cons

There are some admin screens where you feel like there's a lack of development in some areas. For example, the login page needs you to connect from the same IP address. If not, you need to call, chat or email support for your new IP to be whitelisted. There are plenty of options they could use like 2FA for keeping the login secure without the need of calling support every time you want to login.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Technically, I didn't choose Campaigner. Streamsend was absorbed by it, and I just continued with my service with them.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

StreamSend was bought by Campaigner

Response from j2 Global

Replied March 2021

Hello Alvaro and thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I will be sure to forward this information to our dev team. - Carlos, Customer Marketing Manager

January 2021

Corinne from Ryerson University

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Great Mailing List Organizer

We are able to track when students open our email ad on key factor is when they miss a deadline or go against the rules or say they never knew about it, we can pinpoint and address accordingly.

Pros

The ability to upload your mailing list was a great timesaver in creating our multiple structure of specific groups. In addition being able to see the analytics and figure out how to structure future mailouts

Cons

It would be nice to be able to totally customize your template on your own, as sometimes you may want to change the layout and it's a hassle to contact the team to get it done.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

We are considered about privacy and are aware that the laws between Canada and U.S. differ, so preferred to go with a Canadian company and one that our institution already approves.

Response from j2 Global

Replied January 2021

Hello Corrine, Thanks for the feedback! It's wonderful to hear that you are happy with Campaigner. Our drag and drop email editor will make it very easy to design your own templates and edit as needed, I hope this helps. Best, Carlos, CMM

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Chitta Ranjan from Prime Technology Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Campaigner an Average Email Marketing Tool

Used campaigner for one of our e-commerce client, though initially it was good but finally moved to Listrak as it provides better support & features.

Pros

I have used campaigner earlier for Email Marketing campaigns. Though it’s easy to use and set up but limited features. Workflow to send automated emails is one of the best features in this tool. You can create segments easily to send more targeted emails.

Cons

Customer service is not that good, sometimes we also found issues during login. It also never worked well in all browsers. Price is also comparatively high If you compare other tools with similar features.

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hello Chitta Ranjan, I just wanted to thank you for your valuable feedback. The information you have presented here enables us to craft a better SaaS for all of our customers, past, present and future. I am happy to report that much of the cons you have presented have long been addressed. Should you ever wish to use Campaigner again, we would be happy to have you back and show you everything new. Best regards.

December 2020

Roseline from Road Safety At Work

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Government Relations

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

It's buggy - but getting better

I have to use it, so I do.

Pros

With the new block editor, Campaigner is light years ahead of what it was even a year ago. That said working with the block editor is not full proof. Fonts / spacing/bolding etc, may be different upon deployment that what is shown in the proof. TEST TEST TEST . And test on multiple devices because what you see on YOUR device(s) may not be what others see.

Cons

Customer support is unhelpful for bugs, and they do come up, but not as often as they used to with the introduction of the new block editor. I think the Constant Contact is the competition and offers way better flow and experience, however if you MUST use a tool whose data is stored in Canada, then this product is ok, but not the best.

Response from j2 Global

Replied December 2020

Hi Roseline, We really appreciate that you took the time to give us feedback. We're glad that you have found the block editor useful, and we will look into the items you have raised. All the best, Allison, Content Marketing Manager

July 2020

Orly from Kindermusik with Orly

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2020

Campaigner

I'm ok with it. I wouldn't say it's the best, but it does the trick.

Pros

It is fairly easy to navigate through and after many years, am quite used to it.

Cons

Very slow and a little cumbersome which I find frustrating

October 2020

Jonathan from Newfoundland and Labrador Medical Association

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Issues with unsubscribed members

Pros

more convenient than using internal email.

Cons

Biggest issue is trying to re-subscribe members using the subscription forms. Our members tell us they want to receive our newsletters, but sometimes they inadvertently unsubscribe to Campaigner even though they tell us they want to receive our communications. When we send them the re-subscribe form, all users reported being taken to a payment request page. I contact Customer Support and they created a form for me; however, it had the same result. I unsubscribed a staff member to test it and they were redirected to a payment page as well when trying to re-subscribe. In the end Campaigner Support had to re-subscribe people for me. Now I have a mounting list of people who need to be re-subscribed and I cannot do it and the form I given them does not work. We are now looking for an in-house software option to avoid these issues. Also have issues with the mandatory Campaigner branded footer displaying in the newsletter body overlapping our content when viewed on mobile devices (mainly Apple).

Response from j2 Global

Replied November 2020

Hello Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. Our goal is always to ensure that we deliver the best product possible to suit your needs. Please reach out anytime. Best regards, Carlos, Customer Marketing Manager

September 2020

Laura from Affiliated Dermatology

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Love the Drag & Drop Editor!

Overall, I give Campaigner 5-stars for cusotmer service and email marketing. We appreciate that they continue to develop and improve the software overtime too.

Pros

When Campaigner updated the software to utilize the drag and drop editor it was a game-changer! So easy to design templates for simple or more detailed email campaigns. Campaigner has been the best email marketing software that we've used so far and helps us to automate communications to our patients quickly and effectively. We also have to shout-out Campaigner's responsive customer service and support teams. Whenever we have had any issues with our account, the team is quick to respond and resolve any issue that we are experiencing. Speedy support is hard to come by in the software industry.

Cons

We do experience a lot of issues with the SMTP email relay function, which isn't Campaigner's email software directly but within its portfolio that we pay Campaigner for.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Mailchimp's support team is virtually non-existant. We tried reaching out to start an account and they never returned our messages. If problems arise with a software, customer service is a priority for us.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

We've used DemandForce, SolutionReach, and DoctorConnect and they all pale in comparison to Campaigner. The other platforms were clunky to use, not intuitive or user-friendly, outdated, and constrictive when it came to designing email templates.

Response from j2 Global

Replied October 2020

Hello Laura, Thank you very much for your feedback and so happy to hear that you are enjoying the drag and drop email editor! It is also really great to know that our support team has been there to help you when you are in need. We look forward to continuing to serve your email marketing needs for years to come. All the best, Carlos Petersen, Customer Marketing Manager

August 2020

Jerry from Wizard World

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

A little learning curve, but powerful software

We use Campaigner for numerous purposes, including marketing directly to customers, distributing information to vendors and other interested parties, and media outreach. We have found it effective for all of these purposes, especially since it can handle all of these without interfering with the others.

Pros

Ease of managing lists, importing from other sources, handling unsubscribes and reporting. Terrific customer support via chat and telephone.

Cons

Creation WYSIWYG tool can be a little frustrating, as the interface sometimes makes editing difficult (size of the working box inhibits cut-and-paste, moving elements up and down, etc.)

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Mostly legacy; we had accumulated years of contacts and lists in Contactology. When we did a revisit of the service, we decided to stay with Campaigner at that point also. In addition, I have used some of the other services and Campaigner is the best fit for Wizard World's needs.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Contactology was purchased/absorbed/eaten by Campaigner/J2

Response from j2 Global

Replied August 2020

Jerry, Thank you very much for your detailed feedback about our product. I am happy to hear that our list management system is working to your satisfaction and that our customer support has been there to help you. Your feedback about our WYSIWYG editor is also appreciated, I hope that you have had the chance to try our new drag and drop editor. Please let us know if you need anything anytime. Best, Carlos

July 2019

DJ from Covered Bridge Capital

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Design with functionality

We are able to automate a portion of our sales process and reach a lot more possible clients in a short amount of time. We are also able to send visually appealing email campaigns to current clients.

Pros

The reason I chose to use Campaigner over all of the other email marketing software companies is because it allowed me to have the option to fully design the email by writing code, but also gave me the ability to design the email using templates and other built in design tools.

Cons

One thing that I would change is to make sending reoccurring emails to different lists easier. I find that I wind up copying previous emails just so I can assign a new list of recipients.

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hi DJ, Thanks very much for leaving this feedback for Campaigner, it helps us to understand better what your experience has been like and what your needs are. I am happy to hear that our full email editor meets your satisfaction, we wanted to give our users the full freedom of full HTML customization but also have it easy to switch back and forth from the WYSIWYG. In regards to your reoccurring campaigns that require different lists, I believe I have a good solution for this. We would simply need to create copies of all reoccurring campaigns which require different lists, edit accordingly and schedule them out. Also, we have the ability to use dynamic segmentation and dynamic content. Certain recipients see content which is tailored to them based upon which segment they belong to. It's a really great way to design and send one email which meets the needs of a diverse base of subscribers. We would be happy to show you more, reach out anytime. Best, Carlos

September 2020

Kitty from MTD Research

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2020

Good, but not for beginners

We are an agency and use Campaign to send email broadcasts for out clients.

Pros

The price is probably why my company chose Campaigner.

Cons

Campaigner is not really set up for agencies to manage multiple client accounts. It has improved a bit over the past couple years but still clunky in that I, as the manager of multiple clients, cannot use my email address as the contact for multiple "sub-accounts." I also cannot set up new sub-accounts; I must request this from support and wait for them to do it. We need to move faster than that at times.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

I did not make this choice.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

StreamSend was problematic for us.

Response from j2 Global

Replied September 2020

Hello Kitty, Thank you very much for your feedback as it gives us valuable insight into your experience with Campaigner. This feedback will be sent to our support and product managers, as we always strive to keep our software as optimized as possible to our valued customers. All the best, Carlos, Customer Marketing Manager

July 2019

Dave from Winecurrent

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Good value for the money

The experience has been more or less good. The times I have needed to contact customer support, they have been amazingly responsive and helpful.

Pros

I prefer the full editor approach to creating our newsletter emails. It makes it easy to copy information from our website to the newsletter. The sending out of draft message is easy, as is the eventual scheduling of the newsletter.

Cons

The count of our current mailing list is not displayed in a useful manner. I believe it is reporting the entire size of the list, not just the number of active subscribers. It makes our list appear much larger than it really is.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

The better ease of use of the alternatives is not worth the additional price.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

They got acquired.

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hello Dave and thanks for taking the time to leave this review for us. We would love to work with you on your reporting to ensure the data that you are viewing is as optemized as possible for your needs. Please reach out anytime. - Carlos

July 2019

Gurpreet from The Logit Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Easy to use!

Any time I've had questions or issues with Campaigner, Customer Support has been able to help. Whether it was a temporary power outage that prevented invites from being delivered to providing the domain/ip to prevent invites from being sent to junk mail. Campaigner makes good to deliver on their promises. I don't dread having to reach out to Customer Support because I know Campaigner will help me every time.

Pros

Being able to pull up old invites and using them as a foundation for new projects makes working on Campaigner very easy. The customization options are not limited and allow me to create unique invites and format them based on project specific needs. The reporting tool is extremely helpful and creating internal reports has never been easier with the stats breakdown (i.e. clicked, opened, delivered, etc.). Overall, a great product and much easier to use than other similar platforms.

Cons

I don't always receive test invites. I might get it once in a while but end up always having to send out an actual invite to myself or team member so that I can view what my recipients will see.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Don't know. The switch was not my decision.

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hey Gurpreet, Thanks for this amazing review of Campaigner! Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and helps us to become better. Happy to hear that you like the ease of use and our reporting capabilities. In regards to any delivery concerns, we can definitely address this anytime with our dedicated Postmaster team. Please reach out to us anytime. Best, Carlos

November 2020

Lisa from Jaymie Scotto & Associates

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Great if you are sending to unverified lists, but not a great inboxing rate

Overall, we use Campaigner as a "backup" email platform (Hubspot is our primary). Hubspot doesn't allow you to send to emails that haven't opted in to receive communications, so when we have a new list, we use Campaigner. They don't seem to be too concerned about higher bounce or opt-out rates, and won't freeze your account like Hubspot sometimes does.

Pros

Campaigner is easy to use, and allows for storage of a lot of contacts (unlike some other platforms that charge you based on number of contacts, whether you are emailing them or not. They make it easy to segment, design and schedule emails. They also have a great agency feature and let you setup and manage sub-accounts.

Cons

Delivery rate shows as high, but when compared to other platforms we use, open rates are low. This leads me to believe that a lot of emails sent through Campaigner are often delivered to SPAM folders rather than inboxes. Also, they frequently charge us for higher tier packages than we are signed up for, and it takes multiple calls and emails to get it straightened out.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Cost, ability to send large amounts of emails

Response from j2 Global

Replied November 2020

Hi Lisa, Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate that you took the time. We will definitely review the items you have raised here. All the best, Allison, Content Marketing Manager

July 2019

sheren from Encore Real Estate Investment Services

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Commercial Real Estate

Pros

I like the thought that was put into the little details such as, being able to put in a subject to any email link when linking to an image or text. I appreciate that because our Constant Contact account is very complicated when adding a subject to an email link.

Cons

It's a little complicated to use. I've had multiple issues adding and changing minor things to the blast. Sometimes you add a photo and boom its huge and you have to get in there and minimize it; sometimes you have to minimize the width and not the length. It's not as user friendly as Constant contact. The functionality of constant contact is very straightforward and consistent. For example, if you need to add an image somewhere to your blast, just drag the image icon to the area of choice; if you want to add a button, then just drag the button to where you like. We currently use both CC and campaigner and had thought of switching to campaigner which is why we started testing it out but cannot because we are very busy and need to be able to move through setting things up quickly. That's the thing holding us back from switching.

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hi Sheren, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this valuable feedback about your experience with Campaigner. I am very happy to be able to address some of the points that you brought up about ease of design by letting you know about our new Drag and Drop editor with which you will have access to a plethora of templates to select from, but also the ability to customize the size position, etc of everything which is added. The best thing about it, in my opinion, is that each design produced in the Drag and Drop editor is always completely mobile responsive. We would be happy to show you more about it anytime, it is enabled for all accounts. All the best, Carlos

August 2020

Ronald from ETRdotTV

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Using campaigner to support our ISP business and more

Using email for marketing and customer support is here to stay. Campaigner makes it easy.

Pros

We use Campaigner exclusively for all support communications with about 300 subscribers to our Internet service at a large marina. We also use it for small business customers that we support with marketing and social media services. Easy to use and we have never had a complete failure.

Cons

The system has all of the features that we need, but the only (minor) issue is occasional "lagging" of website response and occasional apparently incomplete copying of an email campaign - we copy a lot for the purpose of sending the same email to new subscribers as they sign up to our Internet service. Sometimes the "subject line" of an email doesn't want to copy and be recognized as present in the copy.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Hate the name mail chimp - and Campaigner turned out to be great - plus their tech support is based in Canada!

Response from j2 Global

Replied September 2020

Hi Ronald, Thank you for this amazing review! Happy to hear that you are having a great overall experience with Campaigner. If you ever want to tell me more about your experience, please feel free to follow up with me. Thanks, Carlos

August 2020

Holly from Hotchkiss Brain Institute, University of Calgary

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Hotchkiss Brain Institute review

Overall, I like using Campaigner. I have become more proficient with the software. I am EXTREMELY thankful for the tech support. I always get the help I need and they are professional, quick, and reliable. If the tech support was not as great as it is, I would possibly seek out a different software, due to the spacing/formatting issues that seem to happen in each of my campaigns.

Pros

I like the look of the finished product. It is quite professional looking. And once I got the hang of how to build a newsletter, I really liked it.

Cons

I found it difficult to learn how to best use the product. There tend to be spacing issues (usually too many spaces between articles) that I am unable to adjust and always have to call tech support to fix.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Marketo is used by many at our university. I understand it is very user unfriendly with many glitches and problems. We do not have a large support team at the university to help with Marketo, so I hope to keep using Campaigner.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

It was before my time, but I believe we had no option, we had to evolve to the new version.

Response from j2 Global

Replied September 2020

Hello Holly, Thank you for your feedback, its great to hear that you are making good use of Campaigner and that our support staff has been there for you. The other feedback that you have provided will be brought up with out product and development team. Hope that you have a great day, Carlos, Customer Marketing Manager

August 2020

Helen from Bay3000 Consulting

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Great for Small Businesses

I like the software as a whole. We are small so don't use it a lot but it's great to have. The staff that set us up were great to work with.

Pros

Being able to duplicate a previous SEND so I can update it easily instead of recreating. Report are easily viewed. Being able to set the time for the SEND. The ability to SEND a previous email only to those that didn't open the first time. I like the fact that I can see JUST the opt outs and the bounces - both hard and soft.

Cons

Sometimes I want to have a picture to move to a certain spot in the 'page' but it won't go "dead centre" I would like to be able to edit a SENT product to be able to update a typo or date and then RESEND to those that didn't open. If I create a copy, I loose the means to only send to those that didn't open the original - if there is a way I would be interested to know.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

I know managment was looking for features and price side by side.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Better graphic capabilites. AlsoI would be in the middle of design and the software crash - it was not SAVING a draft in the background so i would have to start over.

Response from j2 Global

Replied September 2020

Hello Helen, Thank you very much for this feedback, it provides valuable insight into your experience using Campaigner and it is much appreciated. Best regards, Carlos, Customer Marketing Manager

August 2019

Jillian from PlatformQ Education

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

review

i've used campaign through fire engine red as an end user, as well as a re-seller at platformq education. both experiences have been "meh". it does what we need it to do, but we run into small bugs and quirks that are annoying, the admin screen and the reporting aren't great, and the email templates are difficult to customize. i've had mixed experiences with various members on the customer service team. our old customer service rep was great. since then its been downhill.

Pros

Simple is better, so that makes it easy for non-experienced users to learn.

Cons

The email builder can be buggy sometimes, and I've found dynamic segments to be unreliable.

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hi Jillian, just wanted to reach out to thank you for your review of Campaigner, this kind of feedback is extremely valuable to us. We are constantly working to improve our product to ensure that it meets the standards of our clients such as yourself, and would love the opportunity to discuss your segmentation further to ensure it is as optimized as possible to suit your BU's needs. We have also released new templates in our new Drag and Drop editor which has the ability to create responsive and well-designed emails in minutes. I will be happy to go over these things further with you anytime.

October 2020

Shelley from Buddy Bike, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Campaigner makes preparing and distributing emails to large lists simple and fast

Campaigner makes preparing and distributing emails to large lists simple and fast.

Pros

Creating emails and copying previous formats is easy. Creating lists and segments gives control over who receives your messages. The sorting and categorizing of contacts is easier than in other products that I have tried. Experiments make it easy to test various email formats and reports give insightful feedback.

Cons

I would like notifications when people unsubscribe so I can update my other lists. I would also like an easier way to re-send an email to additional recipients without it creating another email.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Price and features.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Price and features.

Response from j2 Global

Replied October 2020

Hello Shelley, Thanks very much for taking the time to leave this really nice review for us. Wishing you all the best, Carlos Petersen, Customer Marketing Manager

September 2020

Lee from ATI

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Nice Product

Support has always been great when I've needed them. Thumbs up.

Pros

I like how you can easily add the "openers" to any list. It's easy to export and import. I like that you can use the copy and paste feature to import smaller amount of records, so you don't have to create a csv file. I like the information given in the report.

Cons

I wish there were more templates & plainer templates to choose from when creating a campaign. While creating a campaign, I wish it would show you in the ribbon what font you used and size, etc - just like Word. So this is the area that use some updates for my purposes.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Campaigner bought them out.

Response from j2 Global

Replied September 2020

Hello Lee, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this review. You may be happy to know about our new Drag & Drop email editor which will have a selection of easy to use and edit edit templates. Best regard, Carlos, Customer Marketing Manager

October 2020

Judi from Keller williams

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Review on Campaigner

Very good overall experience. Easy to get in touch with help.

Pros

Easy access to technical support when needed. Easy to send out

Cons

Making sure that ALL people in data base are included in items sent out. Would like to see some short cuts 8. Getting from one part of daily send out to another. Size of photos. Would be good to have an edit that. Hard to resize the number of pixels In photo

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Though price was higher, technical support and easy access was major reason.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Had problems with technical support and access to talking to live support

Response from j2 Global

Replied October 2020

Hello Judi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this detailed feedback for us. It most certainly is valued as it helps us to continue to deliver a quality service to you. Best regards, Carlos Petersen, Customer Marketing Manager

August 2020

Tessa from Simon Fraser University

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2020

Good product that has its frustrations

Overall this software does the job, but the general feeling on our team is that it isn't that easy to use and has frustrating quirks that hinder our ability to work quickly and efficiently.

Pros

I like the ability to have templates that can be shared across our organization. The new drag and drop editor is also very helpful to create templates and edit emails more quickly and easily - especially for staff who aren't as skilled at html etc. I think it also does a good job of list management and segmentation.

Cons

When editing an email, the software doesn't register you as being "active" unless you click next or save, so it tends to log you out while you're in the middle of editing. Sometimes there are also strange formatting things that happen to emails that take a long time to solve. I have also had experiences where the email wouldn't send because of a bad script or link to a dropbox that it flagged as spam. Solving that problem was extremely frustrating.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Unsure, was a organization-wide decision, not from our department.

Response from j2 Global

Replied September 2020

Hello Tessa, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this feedback, it greatly helps us to make consistent improvements to our product to ensure you are having the best experience possible. If you need anything, please reach out anytime. All the best, Carlos, Customer Marketing Manager

August 2020

Catherine from Seniors Association Kingston Region

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Marketing to Seniors

I'm very pleased with the product and changes always seem to be improvements. (That's not always the case with software.)

Pros

For us, plain text emails are the most effective. So personal; they do not appear to be from a mass mailing. I'm so please that hyperlinks embed seamlessly in plain text.

Cons

it's little glitchy when entering text. - line spacing too big or too small; difference between soft return and hard return. Looks ok in layout but changes when a test email is sent. Then the fiddling starts.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Campaigner was easier to use.

Response from j2 Global

Replied September 2020

Hello Catherine, Thank you for your feedback, I'm happy to know that you get such good use out of Campaigner. I hope you get a chance to try our new Drag and Drop email editor. It will allow you to make text only email designs easily and effectively. Best, Carlos, Customer Marketing Manager

September 2020

Cindi from NorQuest College

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Alumni Database

I think Campaigner is a good tool for what we need and would be even better if we are able to auto load registrants from our website.

Pros

It allows us to track current/updated information for our alumni. And, it has been useful in sending Alumni e-newsletters, and invites to other fundraising events.

Cons

Our inability to auto load our alumni who sign up through our website.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Mailchimp - pricing and user friendly

Response from j2 Global

Replied September 2020

Hello Cindi, So happy to hear that you have been using Campaigner to keep in touch with your alumni and that it has been a great help. We would love to be able to assist with your contact import! There should definitely be something we can do to help with that. If you ever want us to look further into this and tell us more about your experience with Campaigner, feel free to reach out anytime. Best, Carlos, Customer Marketing Manager

August 2019

Meghan from Avalon Flooring

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Campaigner review

We use campaigner to send all of our consumer facing emails. We recently starting using the responsive design templates for a small segment of our emails but have found it challenging to recreate the brand look we strive for. But the customer support has been great for troubleshooting and problem solving.

Pros

The one on one customer support is great. It's nice to have support for reporting, strategy and functionality questions.

Cons

The platform itself is not the most user friendly. The toolbar at the top is dated - the icons aren't intuitive - and sometimes there are weird bugs (can't click to unbold text, font colors won't load, text won't align properly, etc.)

Response from j2 Global

Replied June 2020

Hello Meghan! Very happy to hear that your interactions with one on one support have been helpful and positive, this kind of feedback is really nice to have. Also, thank you for your feedback in regards to the platform as this kind of information is very helpful from a product standpoint. There have been many improvements made recently with the new drag and drop email editor, you will see the option to use this when creating your email designs. We sincerely hope that helps address some of the concerns that you voiced.

April 2018

carina from nonchalantmom

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

I have been using campaigner for about 10 years and my experience is always good, tech support great

nothing really

Pros

great tech support! I probably would have gone to another service but your text support is so good - I love the fact that I can talk to a real person, I don't have to wait on hold forever and they are always kind, even when I am not such a tech savvy person, they are still patient and helpful.

Cons

the interface is a bit PC, in that I mean it's not very intuitive, it's not visually pleasing, which I think if you want to show people how to send out well-designed pleasing emails to their customer it should be more graphically interesting. I completely create my own emails and I do not use any of your templates because they are not designed well.

Response from j2 Global

Replied May 2018

Hi Carina, Thank you for taking the time to review our platform. We love all the feedback and have passed it along to our team. If you have any questions feel free to let us! -The Campaigner Team

July 2019

Diana from Digital to Dealer Direct

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Easy to use

Pros

Campaigner is easy to use and relatively inexpensive compared to other database marketing tools out there.

Cons

Seems slightly outdated. Constant Contact's dashboard seems more updated and easier to use but it's more expensive.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Cost

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hello Diana, Thank you very much for your feedback, this helps us to understand our customers better and gives us valuable info that we need in order to continue to make improvements of our product. We have made some major improvements to the UI, I hope they have improved your overall experience. Best, Carlos

May 2019

Andrew from Mennta Energy Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Long time user

Campaigner is a reliable and flexible software that has allowed us to grow our e-marketing campaigns.

Pros

We have been using Campaigner for about a decade and it has been a reliable and user-friendly software. They have worked to keep the upgrading the functionality over the years.

Cons

The reporting on clicks is very painful and manual. I'd really like to the ability to download a report that shows me who clicked on the campaign and the name of the link they clicked on with all the contact details. At the moment, we spend hours manually doing this.

Response from j2 Global

Replied June 2019

Hi Andrew, Thanks so much for the review and thank you for being a loyal customer. Your feedback on reporting has been reported to our product team. If you have any additional questions or comments you would like to share please do let us know. Thanks so much The Campaigner Team

July 2019

Amanda from The Logit Group, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Quick and Easy to Use!

We crossed over from another platform Streamsend, and the integration was very seamless. Was able to pick-up Campaigner pretty quickly with minimal support. Overall, thumbs-up. I enjoy this platform more then the former.

Pros

There is a great feature which I have not found on other platforms whereby you can upload lists separately and still send them as a part of the same campaign. Re-sending campaigns is also very simple. User-friendly for first time users.

Cons

There should be a legend for mail merge fields that shows if they are valid/ working and what they are mapped to. One of my campaigns did not send one time because I had incorrectly labelled the mail merge field and I could not figure it out.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Streamsend migrated to Campaigner.

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hi Amanda, Thank you for your review! We really appreciate this kind of feedback. I hope that our support team was able to help you with your merge fields, we try to ensure they are as user friendly as possible. If you need to reach out to us for further help with this please feel free to do so anytime. Best, Carlos

January 2021

Jesse from Coldwell Banker Commercial

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Campaigner Review

Pros

- I like that it's customizable with HTML. Customizing our own emails in this way is extremely important in our business. - Being able to see the metrics of who has clicked and how many times helps us to prioritize our follow up. This is huge.

Cons

- Navigating the user interface can be cumbersome at times especially in reviewing the metrics for clicks, and opens. It seems to kick you back to the beginning and forces you to click through multiple menus to return to different options. - More insights into what was clicked and by who would be more useful. Or a profile of each contact and their activity within our emails would be nice. Being able to see that John Doe has opened the past 5 email blasts on office properties and clicked the brochure link on 3 of those would be ideal.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Price

Response from j2 Global

Replied January 2021

Hello Jesse and thanks for taking the time to leave this great feedback, I am glad to know that you are liking Campaigner for your email marketing. The details you left here are valuable and help to ensure we give the best experience possible. ^CP

August 2020

Courtney from Jenerations Health

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2020

Frequent marketer for both internal and external

we are a small company and do not have a customer service advocate; I am also self - taught and turn to the faq/help guide often. there are webinars offered but when looking for specific information that i would think is rather basic referred to youtube videos that are long. An FAQ or user forum would be great. additionally, the creative side and reporting I find a bit limited.

Pros

I am a self-taught user; the software is something that can be figured out

Cons

When asking specific questions to support, am directed to YouTube tutorials that are 1hr in length. I need quick direct answers. I also have questions on best practices and basics in segmentation etc... little advice or direction is provided.

Response from j2 Global

Replied September 2020

Hi Courtney, I want to thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for us as it gives us valuable insight to your experience. In regards to our self help options, we are going to be releasing a new YouTube series of videos which are quick and to the point so please keep a look out for those. All the best, Carlos

July 2019

Lisa from Holiday Gift Check Program

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great Way to Stay in Touch with Customers

This was an easy and cost effective way to get promotions and information to our clients. It allows us to get updated information in an easy way.

Pros

This is an easy way to keep in contact with our customers. It's easy to see who did or didn't open an email so that we aren't bothering the ones that already did! Very easy to use and manage contacts and lists. Like that you can schedule when you want an email to go out so that you can load and manage ahead of time.

Cons

Occasionally I will get a bounced email and when I try to find them in a list, it doesn't come up.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

n/a

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

SurveyMonkey did not meet all of our needs.

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hi Lisa, thank you very much for this valuable feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review for us. In regards to your bounced email, I believe we can solve this. Please reach out to us anytime. Best, Carlos

October 2020

Douglas from Telecom Reseller

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Campaigner is a workhorse for us

Very satisfied

Pros

Easy to use, reliable, better email news.

Cons

Wish the images would be easier to scale

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

CC did not understand our needs

Response from j2 Global

Replied October 2020

Hello Douglas, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. Wishing you well, Carlos Petersen, Customer Marketing Manager

July 2019

Sarah from Charolais Banner

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Campaigner Review

We love how we can easily, mass contact all of our contacts with Campaigner. It is quick, easy, and very user friendly. You can preview and edit your email blast before you send it out, saving us from being inefficient. One of our staff just started using it, and is very comfortable using it because it is so user friendly and easy to use.

Pros

I love how easy it is to use. You can easily search to see if the contact email is already in your mailing lists. We are able to have multiple lists to serve our needs. I love how you can use the back button to go back to what you were working on.

Cons

I dislike how sometimes you get an error stating that the attachment is too big, when in fact it is not. Often times, if you restart your email blast with the same attachment it will work, it is just a glitch in the system. But other than that, we are very pleased with the software.

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hi Sarah, Thanks very much for your wonderful feedback of Campaigner, and that you find it to be very user friendly. This is definitely one of our top priorities for our users. In regards to the attachment issue you desctibed, we would love to look into this further and hope that you follow up with us. Thanks very much, Carlos

August 2019

Kevin from Professional Engineers of Ontario

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

simple, easy yet powerful Email Marketing system

It is a great email marketing tool. Our organization have been using campaigner for years.

Pros

- efficient and easy to use Web User Interface - flexible and customizible fields in addition to the standard fields set - Restful API integrations with wide ranges of system coverage - reports of email campaign's results

Cons

- multiple accounts in a organizational level not able to share contacts data set

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

the original solution was outdated and very unstable.

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hi Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this valuable feedback, we greatly appreciate it. I am happy to hear you like our API functionality and reporting features. We should be able to find a way to deliver the information you need to your other accounts, please reach out to our API team and we will be happy to help. All the best, Carlos

November 2020

Levent from University of Victoria, Division of Continuing Studies

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Long-time user review

Pros

Plenty of features such as segmentation, list management, sign up forms, good reporting. Ability to use Campaigner because of Canadian servers complying with privacy legislation in British Columbia

Cons

API integration needs improvement, account management (related to billing) requires even more improvement with prompt attention to inquiries and resolution of issues. Customer service could be more timely and provide better issue resolution experience.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Our needs from email marketing exceeded what the product offered

Response from j2 Global

Replied November 2020

Hi Levent, Thanks for taking the time to send us feedback, we really appreciate it. We're glad that your experience with us has been good and that our features have suited your needs. All the best, Allison, Content Marketing Manager

August 2019

Nabeel from Tulip Inn Muscat - Hotel

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Campaigner Vs Stream Send

It is a bit difficult for me to do forward for an old e-mail. I had to copy the e-mail and do a lot of steps which was not the case before when I was using Stream Send

Pros

The interface looks more attractive than Stream Send one

Cons

E-mail forward not an easy process comparing with Stream Send

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

It was not my choice Stream Send Team did the switch

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hello Nabeel, Thank you for this feedback, it allows us to hear directly from our customer base which is always very important for us. Happy to hear that you like our user interface! We do have a very simple way of forwarding emails to other destinations and can show you anytime, please send us a message about it at your leisure. All the best, Carlos

October 2020

David from VMblog

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Campaigner fits the budget and does what's needed

Great product and a great price to allow me to easily provide email marketing to my list.

Pros

Low entry to get started, very easy to use.

Cons

It does everything I need, but I can see where it may not have ALL of the features of some of the more expensive products. But since I don't require them, I don't miss them, or the higher price tag.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Better pricing for the feature set and number of list members.

Response from j2 Global

Replied October 2020

Hello David, Thank you very much for your feedback, it is most definitely valued as it will help us to continue to ensure that we deliver the best support and product possible. Wishing you well, Carlos Petersen, Customer Marketing Manager

July 2019

Kathryn from Guideline Central

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

I like the idea of this, but not easy to use

It's been neutral. We were a Streamsend customer before they were bought out. I like the price but everything else is really not intuitive.

Pros

Cost is the biggest pro for this software. It's much cheaper than their competitors and I like that you don't have to pay per contact.

Cons

I have a really hard time getting emails to appear properly as coded. The campaigner system seems to manipulate or change things that shouldn't be changed. It also seems to have a good bit of bugs in it.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

We didn't consider any other software.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

I made the switch because the cost of mailchimp was too high.

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hi Kathryn, Thanks for your honest review of Campaigner, this kind of feedback is extremely valuable to us. We have since made major improvements to our email editor, and have made the addition of our new Drag and Drop editor which enables all users to create beautiful and mobile responsive email designs in minutes. We would love the opportunity to show you the changes and improvements we have made, please reach out to us anytime. All the best, Carlos

September 2020

daniel from pro tect associates inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

DB's Review Of Campaigner

Overall, I would offer Campaigner as a solution over any other e-blast marketing tool for do-it-yourself size businesses. The ROI increase along with the ctr increase make campaigner when it's time get in front of my customers.

Pros

Campaigner's feel and ease of use played a big role in moving our business email marketing away from the competition.

Cons

The simple design of Campaigner seems to also translate into how the email themselves look like. Most likely, it is the "users" knowledge or lack of, that leaves our design lacking. That is what I would like to see, "tricks", "tips", short video's teaching the "users" how to step up their game. IE How to make all photo's the same size or quick ways to clean your list and save. They have to be short and sweet and helpful INSTANTLY, uncomplicated.

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Emails weren't being seen by my customers. Spamming is a no no, but when you have to jump through 4-5 different security measures to email the same segment/list each time, I don't have that much time.

Response from j2 Global

Replied September 2020

Hello Daniel, Thank you very much for your wonderful and detailed feedback about Campaigner! I am happy to inform that I will be releasing a series of updated videos just like what you are describing which will soon be available on our YouTube channel. All the best, Carlos, Customer Marketing Manager

September 2020

Peter from 4th Whale Marketing

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2020

Easy Out-of-the-Box Solution

User engagement has improved but not to the degree we would have liked.

Pros

Workflows are easy to create and launch.

Cons

Reporting is quite lacking. I'd like to see more available on contacts, and cross-campaign tracking. Available templates seem out of date and plain.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

Previous experience with the product

Response from j2 Global

Replied September 2020

Hello Peter, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review as your feedback is very important to us. I have taken your feedback in regards to reporting to our product and development team, we always strive to keep our product as optimized to our users needs as possible. Best Regards, Carlos, Customer Marketing Manager

July 2019

Michael from Design 2, Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Review

Pros

It is relatively easy to use. The support has been good so far.

Cons

Was a long time Streamsend user. When we were forced to migrate to Campaigner, we were told that nothing would change which was not true. We pay more than double for the same volume.

Reasons for Choosing Campaigner

N/A

Reasons for Switching to Campaigner

Forced to switch

Response from j2 Global

Replied July 2020

Hi Michael and thank you very much for taking the time to come here and leave an honest review of your experience with Campaigner. I am happy to hear that our support team have been there for you. I would love to see if we can do anything about your package to ensure that you have the absolute best option to suit your needs. Please reach out anytime. Warm regards, Carlos

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

My Preferred System

I use campaigner to prepare newsletters for a State Representative and send them out to a large constituent base. Campaigner gives me the flexibility to develop a template that is easy to use and easy to read. Compared to the other systems I use, I much prefer campaigner and wish that more of my clients would use this system.

Pros

I have used several systems during the past several years, and my favorite is Campaigner - it is very intuitive, user friendly and incredibly flexible as templates go.

Cons

Like many systems, the constraints of templates and other considerations sometimes make it desirable or necessary to use the actual code to best format newsletters. I found that to be the case with Campaigner - but, no more so than most other systems - and Campaigner is very accommodating to downloading code, updating offline, and reloading updated code for the final newsletter.

Response from j2 Global

Replied June 2019

Hi there, Your review made us smile! We are happy to hear that we are your go-to email platform. We appreciate your feedback very much and we have passed it along to our product team. If there is anything else you would like to share please do not hesitate to contact us. Thanks! The Campaigner Team

Displaying 1 - 50 of 360 reviews