User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(132)

132

4 stars

(45)

45

3 stars

(8)

8

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I absolutely love the app. It is very easy to use and allows you to get to your client quickly with very few clicks."

  • "Easy to use for most, organized well. Updates have been helpful."

  • "Very easy to use. Keeps my team on top of what's sold and what needs to be sold. I love that we can look backwards and forwards to see what's on the books and how much more we need."

  • Cons

  • "The interface is clunky and not very intuitive, but once you've learned where to go to get what you want, it works just fine."

  • "There are a few areas that would be nice if they were more ability to customize. Otherwise I feel the management of everything is pretty simple and gives a piece of mind."

  • "Technically it's still in beta, and the updates are a bit slow, but the customer support is fantastic, and any problems we've had have been resolved very quickly."

Browse The Magazine Manager Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 188 results

November 2020

Margi from Michels Communications Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Magman

We have had a great experience with The Magazine Manager..and its always improving and offering us newer and better options to conduct our business.

Pros

Wonderful system that seamlessly pulls all aspects of a growing business in one complete package. From sales to creative to customer to billing-this system is pulls it all together. I especially appreciate the emphasis on inter-department communications options. I am amazed the ease of adding new product lines to the system. The phone app has been wonderful for the account reps as well.

Cons

I believe the integration of this system was fairly smooth. There was a bit of a learning curve on both sides but the exceptional customer service portion of Magman is second to none.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied November 2020

Thank you for the great review, Margi! We appreciate you.

October 2020

Lisa from State Bar of Arizona

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

This software changed our lives at work!

Pros

Magazine Manager is specifically designed for those of us in the print and digital publishing industry and it is crucial to our sales success. It is extremely easy to learn and apply immediately. With this software, we are able to quickly and easily pull targeted email lists to generate sales, electronically invoice clients in literally minutes, take payments, and with a click of a button know what our clients' ad schedules are, what they have paid and what they owe. It is totally transparent - the reporting for a sales manager - and accounting - is outstanding. I receive as often as I wish emails listing calls by rep, meetings, sales booked, and more. The digital tearsheets are invaluable. Client portals allow customers to upload their own ads and pay electronically any time. It is so easy to create new reports. As a past Salesforce user, this is SO much easier to use and because it is made for ad sales, the company deeply understands the details of exactly what we need from this software. The support team and trainers are outstanding. There is abundant free training with your subscription and online videos available any time. And it is surprisingly affordable! Magazine Manager is a vital tool to managing our operation and achieving our advertising sales success. We switched two years ago. Many times a day, every day, as we work in the software to serve our clients and achieve our goals, we marvel at how easy it is to do what we need and how much we love this software.

Cons

There is coordination with accounting required to set this up, but the accounting team also loves the software. It is important to visualize your publishing organization and the hierarchy of products and business units in order to structure the software best for you, but once you determine that, it is easy to set it up the way you need.

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

The competitor did not seem as sophisticated and robust as Magazine Manager. The competitor did not seem to have the stability and history of working in the publishing industry with hundreds of publishers - we wanted the benefit of that depth and breadth of experience that Magazine Manager brought to the table.

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

We were not able to do many things in P2P - it seemed antiquated and clunky as far as client management. Accounting did not like the software. We needed something more robust and flexible.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied October 2020

Thank you for the incredible review, Lisa! We greatly appreciate you.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Versatile and Well Rounded Software

Pros

Magazine Manager is a solid well rounded product that does absolutely everything we need to publish all our products. The reporting as well as the accounting is simple and easy. Customer service is top notch. It was easy to deploy and the team at Magazine Manager is incredibly knowledgeable. Magazine Manager easily integrates to further facilitate its value. It is also easy to customize for any needs.

Cons

We found no cons only plusses from initial sale through implementation to user experience.

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

We have used Magazine Manager for ten years. We left briefly when presented with another software that appeared to be shiny but we were mislead greatly and the other software never did what was promised and it was a nightmare. It never implemented in the manner in which we were sold and the features that we were promised didn't exist.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied March 2021

Thanks for the great review! We appreciate you.

August 2020

Linda from Orange Coast magazine

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2020

The Good, Bad & the Ugly

I find it much more difficult that my previous database to work with when it comes to cancelling converted proposals.

Pros

The positive using this software is it is easy to see Accounts payable send invoices if needed.

Cons

It is not user friendly. I find this software very difficult and cumbersome to manipulate.

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

It was a companywide decision

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for your review, Linda. We appreciate your feedback about the user experience on our software. We will forward your comments to our development team to better The Magazine Manager.

December 2020

Gretchen from The Skagway News

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Perfect for a small newspaper preparing to expand

We are picking up a paper whose subscription rate had fallen, but has the potential to increase both locally and, with current media projects, nationally. So we wanted to be ready when this occurred. The training and problem solving with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and others was great. If [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] needed an expert, she immediately sent a message to that person and they were able to jump into our training or fix any oddities. Our advertising customers seem to be responding to our news system fairly well. We currently use another program to publish our interactive paper, but the idea of having the ability to create a similar product and have automatic tear sheets is encouraging as we expand. Right now the paper is run by two owners, so having this software will really help us keep workflow controlled. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], our customer service advisor and trainer was beyond awesome. She was patient, familiar with the product, knew when to call in the experts for each section and made all the difference in affirming our decision to choose Newspaper Manager

Pros

We needed software that could track and invoice advertising in two different publications, yet with the same contact list. Once the agents helped us set up our letters and rate cards, it was great. When we became new owners, there were no contracts being used. Now we can create a proposal and with a touch of a button, it can become a contract and then an invoice when it is time to bill. The portal for paying with credit cards is great. It also helps us keep track of agency billing, legal ads, and the dreaded classified ad. We like that it sends transactions to Quickbooks when we are ready in order to help us keep everything moving smoothly.

Cons

We are also using the circulation feature. It is currently being upgraded. I hope the future upgrade allows us to automatically send renewal notices via email with a portal for customers to pay, however, with accurate emails, we can send a csv file of the subscription notices to Mail Chimp. We set up the Newspaper Manager software using Authorize.net, but when were setting up the circulation manager, it was discovered that Authorize.net doesn't work with adding a source code to our website for online subscriptions. That was frustrating as it took about six weeks to get Authorize.net on board. I hope that is fixed and incorporated.

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

The cost was the biggest decision. The other software was impressive, but far beyond our ability to pay as a small publication.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied December 2020

Thanks for the nice review, Gretchen! In regards to the circulation feature, we confirmed with our developers that the new subscription module will be able to accept payments from all of our gateways. We're planning to beta test this feature next year. You can also reach out to your software consultant for more information. They'll be happy to help!

October 2020

Dean from WoodwardBizMedia

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Magazine Manager is a must!

During the pandemic, Magazine Manager offered six months at no charge to kick the tires on some of the new updates and modules. The tech staff are awesome to work with and have been a huge help to get the most from the Magazine Manager software. I wish this would become permanent part of the money service.

Pros

The Magazine Manager is tailored to our industry and they are always looking for ways to get more from the data so I can make informed decisions on the progress of our publications. With the CRM, billing, and production modules everyone uses the same software making it much easier for everyone to do their job.

Cons

With any software updates, the changes sometimes get confusing, and takes time to change the way you do things. Since they love making their products more valuable, the updates sometimes can be overwhelming at first.

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

The software applies to our industry. They know our business.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied October 2020

Thanks for the incredible review, Dean! We appreciate you. Please let your software consultant know if we can provide more assistance with our updates. We're always happy to help!

March 2021

Bruce W. from JES Media

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Magazine Manager -- The Gold Standard In Magazine Publishing Management Software

I've been involved in magazine ad sales for over 25 years. We've used several different software systems during that time, but none of them handled all the functions required by our business. MM is clearly the best magazine publishing software we've used and the first to fully integrate all the necessary components into one seamless package.

Pros

There's a relatively short learning curve, but just having all the relevant info on a client or prospect at your fingertips is what I like the most, followed by the search and filtering capabilities that make it easy to drill down into the data and analyze it in so many different ways.

Cons

A minor quibble -- sometimes we are unable to delete an advertiser or agency record.

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

As with previous programs we used, Active Campaign simply didn't offer all the functions we needed in one package.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied March 2021

Thanks for the great review, Bruce! We'll forward your feedback to the development team. We appreciate it!

March 2021

Kim from Great American Media Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Great CRM system for magazine and digital website publishers

Pros

Very useful in sales for CRM and for inventory management of digital ad inventory.

Cons

Email marketing for sales could be improved so that sales can manage their own monthly email sends to clients based on a product category. Training is nice but could be more consistent. I wish we could have links to each ad creative within the line item of each placement to refer to. My previous software has this.

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

We were acquired and switched ownership so we all had to learn the new Magazine Manager platform. It was very easy to transition though.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied March 2021

Thanks for the kind review, Kim! In regards to the email marketing, reps can add their own Mailchimp API key to track individual opens, bounces, and clicks. Even if your site is set up without the Mailchimp integration, you can send email campaigns as an individual rep. Depending on your support plan, users get between 4 to 12 hours of free training annually. Our help site also has hundreds of videos and courses specific to job functions. Lastly, in regards to the links to individual ad creatives, there's a link to the job jacket on the order screen. The green arrow next to each ad line item will take you into the job jacket. If you need more information, your software consultant is always happy to assist you. We hope this helps!

March 2021

Bruce from TheHomeMag

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Sales reps' money maker

Excellent and comprehensive for contract management and maintenance of history with each client.

Pros

Our reps manager far more clients, allowing us to bill more and them to earn more in commissions.

Cons

None that applied to Mag Mgr, everything we required was present.

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

Better fit, had all the fields and data we needed, no customization required, low cost.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied March 2021

Thanks for the awesome review, Bruce! We appreciate you.

November 2020

Kimberly from Old Mill Road Media, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

You won't regret it!

I have been very satisfied w/ Magazine Manager; the program, reaching and tracking support has improved immensely; training availability and said category for training can be suited for individual needs.

Pros

They are making it so you can have one program that does the job of many. It's my CRM, it's my task manager, it handles my email marketing, keeps me informed of my team's progress; helps w/ me a/r; which has saved our company time and money in getting rid of programs no longer needed, reaching a larger client base and in staying on top of our collections. They offer regular training not just on their crm but sales trainings by their team as well as outsiders, like [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. They are constantly improving their system;

Cons

That I can't make groups on the fly; that invoices can't reference an ad name; that we can't track when a client open's an email. however, when I come up with these instances these can either provide me with a work around or they are in the midst of solving that issue.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied November 2020

Thanks for the nice review, Kimberly! We appreciate your feedback and will forward to our development team.

November 2018

Amanda from Smoky Mountain News

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Learn it and you'll love it

As a multi-product publishing company we've experienced a great deal of improvement and efficiency in our day-to-day operations thanks to The Magazine Manager. Although the up-front time and effort to learn and set up the software can feel overwhelming, it's ultimately worth it--which is why we've been such loyal customers for 5+ years. Once everything on the back end of the software is up and running, you'll be glad you chose The Magazine Manager. Gone are the days of handwritten paper tickets and missing customer information. Our sales staff, accounting staff, HR and production all utilize the software on a daily basis and it's become a staple of our company.

Pros

Convenient cloud-based program which allows access to all ad sales, contacts and production notes from any computer device with internet access. It's a central hub for sales, accounts receivable, production and even Human Resources, making it a very convenient tool in your publisher's toolbox. They also have an app for smartphones--though the app is somewhat limited in only allowing data to be viewed, not changed. They've stepped up their customer service in the last year and it's been great! They also have a fantastic database of instructional videos on how to use the software - topics are wide ranging and thorough.

Cons

The software requires a great deal of training and education to use in order to reap the full benefit. This is not a software for the easily distracted or completely tech illiterate. Nor should you expect to simply "hit the ground running" once you have an account. Plan for lots of training, which they'll do for you. In fact, they generally wont allow you to begin using the software without a minimum # of hours of training -- so be prepared. They do require quite a bit of behind the scenes setup from your admin(s) as well. For example, setting up rate cards, templates and publication schedules is something you or your admin(s) will need to learn how to do and it can be a little overwhelming at first. Lastly, the circulation side of Magazine Manager falls a bit short. It's there if you need it, but it's very clunky and quite limited in scope, at least for now. Perhaps that will be changing in the future.

November 2018

Barry from Harris Publishing

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Great tool for those who are willing to learn to use it.

As a publishing company, it is assumed that you have 2 basic kinds of products: Print & Digital. We have a 3rd - Shows. We just put it under print, but its short sighted that there are only those 2 basic types of products. Also - We have Co-op dealer ads that we had to come up with our own solution to figure out how to do the insertions & how to bill. This is not a new thing. There should be a simple solution for it built in. Cest la vie. Also, the process of importing our old data was clunky & not explained clearly. It was eventually done right, but sometimes it felt like the data import team & the team that sold us MM weren't on the same page. And finally - it seemed backwards to me that Accounting was the last group to be trained & it was after the sales & production teams had gone live. Nothing should have gone live until everyone was trained. Just my personal observation.

Pros

I love that you can easily keep track of all the ways you contact a client & don't have to copy & paste emails into comments. I also love the simplification of the process of getting ads in & processed. I also love that I can access it anywhere.

Cons

Because of the way we track some things, we have had to create a lot of custom reports. The reports are a little clunky in the printing process, both our custom reports & the built in reports. Its absurd to me that there's not a button (that I've found) you can click that totals the report at the bottom. The "print with totals" button that is in the built in reports includes totals from EVERYTHING. Including all other publications, instead of just the report I'm interested in. What I've ended up doing is exporting it to excell & summing it up, then printing it myself. That being said, if folks in our organization could get away from their need for printed reports, or took the time to figure out how to run reports themselves, the reporting system is fine. The other "con" of ths software is just that it is so expansive. If you take the time to learn to use it, its amazing. Some of the folks at our organization have embraced it & it is a wonderful tool for them. Others just don't want to do something different & will never be happy with change. The continual "well in the old system we could do this" gets really old after 6 months.

September 2020

Sheila from PMT Publishing, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Magazine Manager is the Industry's Gold Standard

There's no better software out there for the money. We all love Magazine Manager.

Pros

For our industry, Magazine Manager understands our needs and its functionality encompasses every circumstance. It's one piece of software that is as robust as we need it to be, yet user friendly enough that onboarding new employees takes a brief introduction. It is intuitive for the user. We can format all the products we sell whether they be various magazine titles/issues; event sponsorships, or special sections, they're easily set up and implemented through our sales team. Reporting for management is a click or two away to keep up with Year over Year pacing. Magazine Manager listens to the clients when there's a need to enhance their product and they update on a regular basis. Our accountant uses QuickBooks integration to handle billing through the software. That makes collections and A/R reports easy for the sales team to monitor as they are paid on collections. It's everything we need to be successful.

Cons

I believe there is a component that we do not have currently that helps with marketing to your client base to make that easier for the sales team (as in mass emails, etc.). We use work-arounds, but it could be easier.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the great review, Sheila! Mirabel's Marketing Manager is a full-suite marketing automation software and CRM. Using Mirabel's Marketing Manager, you can perform email marketing, workflows, and much more. Let us know if you're interested in learning more!

December 2020

Barbara from New Jersey Family

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Reliabilty

I used the word reliable because that is what Magazine Manager is! I don't even think about the software I am using, it is part of my workday...I don't give it a second thought. I know what it is to work with a company that has systems problems and that is a nightmare. All around good experience

Pros

The software is very reliable. Keeps me organized. The format is easy to read. If there is ever a problem, they are very attentive to our needs. They are continuously updating their software to stay on top of the needs of their clients. They send you notices that the update has occurred and a tutorial on how it works. They invest in their clients by offering tutorials to their users and offer seminars from an outside consultant to help improve sales goals. Overall, it is a very good system. We have work with other companies and I think this one works.

Cons

I wish there was a reminder that I put together a Proposal and didn't click it over to a Contract. I forget sometimes and would like to be notified in some way or I am not familiar with how to identify that I haven't switched it over.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied December 2020

Thanks for the nice review, Barbara! In regards to proposals and contracts, you can use the My Proposals list on your dashboard to access proposals that haven't been converted to a contract yet. Select your name in the dropdown as the rep and choose "no" in the "proposals converted to contracts" field or search by date range. Feel free to reach out to your software consultant for help on this as well! They'd be happy to help.

September 2020

Jane from Inside Publications

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Magazine Manager makes my life easier

Magazine Manager has made my life so much easier for A/R.

Pros

The integration with Quickbooks. I handle all of the Invoicing and A/R. I love that invoices are created from Contracts. I used to have to enter every invoice in Quickbooks for our customers. I also love how it keeps all of the client information in one place. We used to use Excel spreadsheets that were constantly being updated and printed to many pages for review. It was not accurate.

Cons

The subscriptions. We just had someone enter three subscriptions through our website linked to Magazine Manager and I couldn't delete the two duplicates. It's also a little time consuming to have to void an invoice and change the contract for any pricing. I do understand the logic because it's a layering system.

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

Pricing and contract terms. Better sales support.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied October 2020

Thanks for the nice review, Jane! We'll send your feedback to our development team.

November 2018

Mary from California Incline, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

No Solution on the Market Better than MagMan

***BE WARY*** MagHub and other competitors say they do things like or better than MagMan. But THEY DO NOT. Lots of promises made with NOTHING delivered. MagMan is the REAL DEAL. Save yourself time and money and get this software. You'll never regret it! We've been with MagMan for over 8 years and this product just get better and better and better every time I log in. It's absolutely UNDER-priced for the value of features and efficiencies!

Pros

I love the comprehensive solution that this software offers my operational needs in all my core departments, Sales, Accounting and Production. With all the integrations, my teams do their parts of their jobs in the software and MagMan. This creates transparency which improves my efficiencies all around. This software provides tools that allow me to do what I'd be doing anyway, ANOTHER way, more expensively. Their latest feature released, the ability to email digital tear sheets, just SAVED ME over $9,000 a year by not having to buy stamps, envelopes, paper, toner for my printer and pay a staff member to sit there stuffing envelopes with invoices and tear sheets. Thank you MIRABEL!!! :-)

Cons

In the spirit of full transparency, I must say that I'm surprised they haven't built in the ability to automatically apply later fees to open invoices. I still have to apply late fees account by account. But I understand this is a top priority for development in 2019! Yes, I am excited!

June 2019

Felicia from Bliss Network

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Being a Small Business Owner Using The Magazine Manager

Overall, I've found the support team at The Magazine Manager to be helpful. I think the search functions within the program are easy to use. And the variety of tasks The Magazine Manager can be helpful with have been proven to be beneficial as a small business owner to running our publication business.

Pros

One of the things that is helpful about The Magazine Manager is the comprehensive ability to keep customer and client records and to invoice people directly through the program. On a daily basis, I utilize the search functions and functionality. Through Magazine Manager, I find it helpful to use functions such as sales reports, the A/R Aging Summary, and other features. I also find it helpful to be able to have multiple members of our team adding information to client records and to keep up to date with communicating with our clients through the database.

Cons

It took me some time to get up to speed with how to use the various functions and to become more familiar with the program. So I was definitely on the learning curve. The more I've used the software, the more comfortable I've become. On another note, if we have staff changeovers, the only time we can take someone off the program is before or on the first of the month. The per user fee is not prorated if someone leaves the team mid-month.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the incredible review, Felicia! We appreciate you so much.

February 2021

Ivy from Cincinnati Magazine

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Magazine publisher's review of Mag Man

Pros

Transitioning our legacy CRM to MagMan was incredibly easier and more streamlined than I expected it to be. Capturing key data and ensuring accuracy was critical and MagMan excelled. In addition, elements of the software have improved on the speed of many of our processes, such as e-signature for contracts, artwork reminders and e-invoicing with digital tearsheets. We have saved a ton of time and money with MagMan.

Cons

Some of the reports are still a bit clunky, for example pulling an expiring report over a specific date range versus by product/issue. But MagMan is very receptive to software improvements.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied February 2021

Thanks for the kind review, Ivy! In regards to reports, you can run the contract expirations report and search by month or by product and issue. This report is found under Reports then Sales then Contract Expirations. You can also use Advanced Search.

November 2020

Chris from The Bend Magazine - Hilltop Media

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

We came back to the best

Excellent. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has done an exemplary job keeping us informed and helping us out with one-on-one training.

Pros

We used MM for a few years, switched to another provider (price and supposed options) and then came back. What we thought we were getting from the other provider was no where close to MM. In the short time we were away, MM added many of the features that we really found important. I will never switch again. They are the dominant player in this market.

Cons

Nothing really. They are very responsive to our needs and if we aren't using something it's because we haven't taken the time to learn it.

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

We were not getting the product and support we were expecting and promised.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied November 2020

Thanks for the incredible review, Chris! We appreciate you.

May 2019

Sunny from Mountain Media Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Very good product

I can set my own sales goals based on previous year's figures. I can compare issue-to-issue sales for any product we sell to determine who's missing and who to contact. It's super easy to total any run of product and easy to use Mirabel reports to help generate and check commission reports. Notes and call reminders for all accounts allow me to be more diligent with my customers. We've been on this product since 2014 and I'd never go back to our former method.

Pros

Ease of scheduling - I can schedule an account by the week or for a whole year at once; variety of reports that track and compare sales revenue, issue-to-issue sales. I use the export feature to show an account exactly what/when their ran ads, and what their yearly expenditure is. It's easy to check yourself and easy to fix mistakes. Less things drop through the cracks.

Cons

There's no way to select multiple orders to reschedule them in one action. Once an order has run it cannot be deleted or moved. Only some of the form fields in various parts of the software are intuitive and self-completing - scrolling slows me down! With multiple users at our location, it's easy to create duplicate accounts that are hard to delete or merge to existing accounts.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the nice review, Sunny! We appreciate your feedback on change orders and will forward it to our development team.

November 2020

Mark from Save On

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

The best contact management CRM i have experienced!

Pros

Its easy to use and they are constantly updating and making it even better. Once you learn all the different features it saves a lot of time.

Cons

It would be great to be able to capture all email communication with clients and have them copied into notes or calls.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied November 2020

Thanks for the nice review, Mark! In regards to the email communication, you're in luck! With email capture ID, each of your users has a unique email address that can be used to capture all communication with your clients. The email capture ID is located in the user account and must be copied into the BCC field of emails to the client. For more information, please reach out to your software consultant. You can also utilize this video tutorial on our help site: https://help.mirabeltechnologies.com/video-tutorial/email-capture-blind-copy-function. Hope this helps!

January 2021

Sonya from Construction Business Owner

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

MM Review from Cahaba Media Sales Department

Over all it is very good. I would like a faster turn-a-round when I do a ticket, but doesn't everyone want things NOW.

Pros

I do like that we have hours of free training or assistance. The ease of using the system is very logical. Logical is GREAT - in a system like this - having too many options of ways to do the same things gets confusing and MM does a good job of "less is best"! Not less quality but less options on how to do a task.

Cons

There seems to be some things we have asked for that we are told cannot be done - removing contact names if the contact name has ever been associated with a contract. I get why - but we have asked for a button to make it show inactive so we don't have it on a drop down. Also the dates stay in the publication lists and they start with the oldest so if I am adding new or adjusting a date in 2021 - I have to scroll all the way from the oldest to the newest - and do this every time - it should start over where I left off.

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

Training opportunities, customer care, price and ease of use.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied January 2021

Thanks for the kind review, Sonya! We appreciate you and will forward your feedback. If you'd like to discuss specifics of the software, feel free to contact your software consultant. They'll be happy to help!

October 2020

Ashley from What's Up? Media

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Positive Training

Pros

We liked that we could have everything in one system including billing thru quickbooks and our subscriptions. Its very easy to use after taking the training and using daily.

Cons

I haven't found a report yet that shows the total page count for the issue. I could just be missing it.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied October 2020

Thanks for the awesome review, Ashley! If you're looking for a breakdown of pages in Digital Studio, click Analyze. From there, click Ad and Edit Index Report and select the issue you'd like to see. Click Edit Index Report and sort the columns by Page #. In the flat plan, you can click on Issue Statistics to see a full breakdown of issues. If you'd like more information, please reach out to your software consultant. They're happy to help!

July 2019

Karen from The Livingston Parish News

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Newspaper Management For the Future

Ease of order input Scheduling of orders well in advance Payment posting and providing real time receipts to customers Proposals of requested orders

Pros

The ease of use. You are able to upload client information from your smart phone or computer. You have all your pertinent client information available when you are on the go. You are able to view all notes and activity that has taken place. There is very little down time with this product, if any. There is a trouble ticket reporting system for when you do encounter problems with the system.

Cons

It would be great to be able to readily identify client specific order information when you need to. I generally have to pull up each order on the account if I am looking for a specific one. I would like to be able to quickly identify a specific order without having to call up each individual order to identify it.

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

The administration made this switch after researching other products that would be more user friendly and offer the flexibility needed for order input.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the awesome review, Karen! We appreciate your feedback and will forward it to our development team.

October 2020

Susan from TheHomeMag Tampa

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Excellent CRM w Mobile Friendly App

Pros

I love the mobile app when I'm calling or driving to customers on the road it makes it easy and handsfree voice notes I use all the time which saves me time at the end of the day so I don't have to type it all out. I love the advanced search features because it gives me multiple ways to pull lists of customers to contact each day.

Cons

The proposals are not very easy to make, however the opportunities are easy if there was a way to incorporate those to print or export as proposals that would be a nice feature to add.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied October 2020

Thanks for the great review, Susan! We appreciate your feedback and will forward it to our development team.

November 2020

Keith Yarber from TOP Marketing Group, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Magazine Manager is the "HUB" for TOPS Magazine

Overall, has been very positive. I find my rep and others at Magazine Manager to be very responsive and helpful. The Magazine Manager keeps updating its software to make it more user-friendly. TOPS is very satisfied with the Magazine Manager, and I credit them for helping our company grow. We look very professional to our clients.

Pros

The Magazine Manager is truly the centralized go-to source for our company. Our salespeople depend on it several times a day to check contacts, orders, e-signatures, accounts receivables, leads, production reports, and reminders. The features are pretty robust but not overwhelming like some software. Like any software, adoption is the key. If you need a report, chances are you can find it. I wish we had started using Magazine Manager years before we did. Support and service have been top-notch.

Cons

Would like to see a better way to make proposals and presentations roll up into monthly budgets for print and digital. Also, would like to see goal tracking on a 12 month basis.

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

Reviewed all 3 companies and just felt like MM had better features and products.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied November 2020

Hi, Keith! Thanks for the great review! For goal tracking, please ask your software consultant about turning on the Kibana Dashboards. This feature offers many ways to track goals. In regards to the proposals, when you contact your software consultant, ask about ways to group proposals. They'll help you find the solution that fits best to your needs.

October 2020

Janelle from RedPoint Media and Marketing Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Great CRM system

My overall experience with The Magazine Manager has been great. Our company has taken advantage of the free training that they provide which has been extremely helpful. They are very easy to get in contact with when I need help.

Pros

I love how easy it is to pull up an account. I can be on a call and need to look something up and I can do that so quickly while on the phone. I also really like the advanced search function. I use this everyday do perform different searches on which clients to call.

Cons

I have trouble using the daily call functions. I am sure it is just me and maybe I haven't taken the time to figure it out, but I do find that a bit difficult. I want to be able to pull up a list of the calls that I want to make for each day.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied October 2020

Thanks for the great review, Janelle! With The Magazine Manager, you can efficiently compile a list of call backs each day by scheduling them in the software. Here's a tutorial to help explain: https://help.mirabeltechnologies.com/video-tutorial/schedule-callbacks-best-practices. Please note that interface updates have now put Saved Searches in the upper right-hand corner of the Advanced Search. Another helpful tutorial can be found here: https://help.mirabeltechnologies.com/video-tutorial/new-sales-rep-overview. Fast-forward to the 33-minute mark for the best advice, and feel free to reach out to your software consultant with additional questions!

November 2020

Ron from L.A. Parent

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

The Magazine Manager is an excellent platform

Its reporting is excellent. The aging report allows me to stay on top of slow-paying clients and resent invoices if need be. The notes we capture on clients are easy to read, and the data on engagement is very good.

Pros

The logic in how it's built and the ease of use is what sold me on The Magazine Manager 7 years ago, and it's upgrades are what keep me a happy customer. It's easy to navigate and does everything we need.

Cons

Integration wasn't difficult. Our client files imported just fine. We've had hiccups on links breaking when we convert to our digital edition, but nothing unsurmountable.

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

During the demo, everything about it made sense. It was easy to learn and our sign-on package came with training, which was key. The videos we could access were helpful, but what sealed the deal is that everyone who was involved at The Magazine Manager was helpful. That was in 2013 and still holds true today.

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

Telemagic sucked and didn't solve our problems, nor did it allow us to grow. Magazine Manager was the right tool for us.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied November 2020

Thank you for the fantastic review, Ron! We appreciate you.

February 2021

Vernita from Smart Work Media

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

User-Friendly

My overall experience with MM has been a good one so far. My prior company was brought by Smart Work Media and we used to work with several different software packages with my prior company to complete the same tasks now with Smart Works. The good thing we are only required to work with just one that gets the job done. This truly makes my workflow much more efficient. So far so good and looking forward to even better as we move forward!

Pros

I can honestly say that using MM has been easy. This is a rather user-friendly software, it's easy to navigate and you are able to under each process with ease. I can appreciate the fact that if you do not understand an area of the software you have easy access to gaining that understanding by watching a tutorial. I have been using this software for the past 6 months and I can say that I am pleased and it allows me to accomplish my daily tasks.

Cons

The only thing I would say in reference to the con of this software would be to have the input area of placing proposals easier without having to go back each time to complete the same steps. When setting up an initial proposal in MM, you have to constantly return to the home screen to add a line item. If that could be done in one step once you open the information to start a new proposal that would be great. I hope this makes sense.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied February 2021

Thanks for the great review, Vernita! We appreciate your feedback about the proposal templates and will forward it to development.

November 2020

Ashleigh from The Pointe Coupee Banner

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

This software has been an asset

The email options right out of the software is wonderful. The accounting is great and the ordering of ads is great too. There isn't anything that is missing from this software.

Pros

This software works perfect fo rthe newspaper business. I can't think of anything that it is missing. I love the order screen and how I can change it up if I would like. It is user friendly and I rarely need help figuring anything out. If I do need a little guidance my email is replied to almost immediately.

Cons

The order page does not have an area for notes.

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

I chose this software over the other because it was 100% online

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

The software we were using had not updated anything in 10 years so I started looking for something more user friendly. This software is much better and less expensive.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied November 2020

Thanks for the awesome review, Ashleigh! Currently, we do not offer the ability to add notes on the order list screen; however you can do a sales runsheet and adjust your columns to show the ad notes entered during the order entry process. Hope this helps! Please reach out to your software consultant if you have any questions.

September 2020

Greg from VIP Destin LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Eager to please

Magazine Manager has always been eager to create changes and improvements in the software based on almost any request we have made. They are continuously evolving into a smoother and more sophisticated product in areas where we didn't even know it could be better. Additionally, if there is something we think Magazine Manager cannot do, the technicians can most often show us a path.

Pros

The all in one capability of this software has changed our workload. Having billing, production, and sales all in one space allows easy snapshots of where we are on any part of the business on any given day. Also, the team at Magazine Manager continues to impress me with their eagerness to make sure the software is performing to fully meet our needs.

Cons

The largest complaint I can come up with is that inside of invoicing, I can only email to the contact that is selected. Sometimes there is a special need to email that invoice to a different person for one time, and we have to download the invoice and send through outside email.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the awesome review, Greg! We appreciate the feedback. We'll pass it along to our development team.

November 2020

James from Vintage Guitar magazine

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Music

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Can't work without it!

I've tried all the major CRMs but for the publishing industry, no one does it better than Magazine Manager.

Pros

It streamlines the sales process with integrated tools. Everything works together!

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve but once integrated, it's easy to use and intuitive.

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

Went directly to MM - had used it in the past and knew it would be right for us.

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

ACT was glitchy and not very intuitive. You needed to update two different screens with information and there was too much room for error.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied November 2020

Thanks for the incredible review, James! We appreciate you.

June 2019

Genia from Ulster Publishing

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Magazine Manager has Been very helpful to our company!

Overall I don't think you can get a better system for the money. It does have a few things that could be improved upon but the price break compared to other systems quickly made it the best option for us and we have had no reason to look elsewhere. We are very satisfied with it.

Pros

I like that when there are upgrades that every user gets them. With our past software we would only get updates at a huge cost. When we couldn't afford the upgrade we were using an obsolete system. I like that many suggests you make become a reality. The customer service in the majority of the time fixes any major problems quickly. It is a web-based program so you can do your work remotely if needed.

Cons

Sometimes it feels a little clunky. I don't like how the payments are broken down. We have found that to be a problem since the beginning but it has never been improved upon. The classifieds also have a few glitches that have been a problem since the beginning and nothing has really changed in that capacity.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the great review, Genia! We appreciate your feedback and will forward to our development team.

December 2020

Beth from SaveOn

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Works for me!

I like the ease of use and how you can use it a a high level or delve into more functions if I need it.

Pros

The Daily Call Backs List. That I can access info on others accounts too. This helps immensely when preparing for meetings.

Cons

Can we sort by green, red and black with Accounts. So we can easily look up businesses that are active (green). Also would be nice to have a section close to the name/email area where we can put personal info about the Client (ie she has 3 small kids or she used to work with my friend at such and such company) instead of having to put in the 'Notes' and then it gets buried.

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

Company made the switch. Can't remember the name of that software, but I like MM better.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied December 2020

Thanks for the nice review, Beth! In regards to sorting accounts, you can use the advanced search to find clients who expired (red), are for the future (green), or have no contracts (black). You can also create custom fields on your site to track any type of information you need. Reach out to your software consultant for information on how to use these features. They're happy to help!

December 2020

Dan from Mills Publishing, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Magazine Manager Review

Overall our experience with Magazine Manager has been good. Yes, we've had a few problems here and there, and they have always found a way to solve them for us.

Pros

Most of all, I like the ability to build our own reports to fit our needs. The program has saved us time and frustration by coordinating what used to be separate functions into one program.

Cons

Like most things, you will need to invest some time to set up Magazine Manager to work optimally for your Company. Since we first subscribed to Magazine Manager several years ago, there have been many improvements to the program. At any time, you can make suggestions by adding them to your wish list. When users provide similar input, they take them seriously.

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

They invited us to a seminar in San Diego, which allowed us to discuss our needs with them, and was satisfied with what the program could do.

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

Magazine Manager consolidates multiple functions into one program.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied December 2020

Thanks for the nice review, Dan! We appreciate you, and we're always here to help.

December 2020

Jill from PDX Parent

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Great Product. Great Service. Winning Combo!

I honestly can't imagine doing my job both as a sales representative and as owner of our publication/website without having Magazine Manager as a tool. And we've only invested in a portion of their features. I could easily see us expanding our commitment with them as we grow in the future.

Pros

The features I like most about Magazine Manager are the customer contact features and the reports I can generate. Helps me keep track of my sales and overall revenue company is bringing in. I also love that it's integrated with Mailchimp for bulk emails.

Cons

Sometimes it takes me a little while to figure out a new feature, for example the email templates, but one training session with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is all it takes to get on track.

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

I'm frequently solicited by other contact management systems, but I have no desire to move away from Magazine Manager. Not only is the product excellent, we've also had great customer service from everyone we've worked with there. We have no reason to look anywhere else.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied December 2020

Thanks for the incredible review, Jill! We appreciate you.

May 2019

Alicia from Tucson Lifestyle Magazine

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Good program

This is the only CRM I have used in the last 10 yrs so I am sure things have come along more in the field of database management so I have nothing to really compare this to.

Pros

user friendly, easy to navigate within the program. We only use it for the circulation side of our publication atleast for now

Cons

technical support does not answer in a timely fashion and only does the minimal to help. The edit feature could be improved in the letter template series when creating invoices on the Circulation side. Each month I do a download of my active subscribers and expiring subscribers and do a merge into WORD as this is easier then trying to use their letter templates in the program and after months of trying to work with tech support I got frustrated and don't use their way of printing out letters from the database I use my own.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the review, Alicia! We appreciate your feedback and have since implemented a brand-new chat on all our websites and in the software. This allows our clients to reach technical support in a more timely fashion. Let us know if we can help further!

March 2021

LeAnn from SAVEOn

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Best Contact Management Software

Pros

Its super easy to use and very easy to train our new employees to use. I used to have to put a whole day aside to train on our old system now it only takes about an hour to teach the basics.

Cons

the calendar only syncs with google calendars. Our company utilizes the outlook calendar system so we have to double enter appointments to get our meetings on the outlook calendar.

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

functionality that MagMan offers

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied March 2021

Thanks for the good review, LeAnn! We appreciate the feedback and will forward it to our development team.

July 2020

Lauren from Connecticut Parent Magazine

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Newspapers

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Great Product

Pros

We have been using Magazine Manager for our monthly publication for at least 6 years. It's hard to imagine how efficient we were prior to having Magazine Manager. We are able to compare issue-to-issue/year-to-year with a click of a button. We can generate prospect lists and reports. One of the useful features is the Notes and Calls reminders on each account. This user-friendly product definitely allows you to stay organized and be consistent in your business.

Cons

I wish there was an option to archive a business that has closed, but has advertised. Once a proposal has been converted to a contract, and an order has run it cannot be deleted. The same goes for removing agencies that are no longer associated with a client.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the awesome review, Lauren! We appreciate your feedback and will forward it to our development team. In the meantime, you can use the priority function to indicate if it is a inactive account. However, this will not exclude it from searches.

April 2019

Sue from Coyle Media Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Magazine Manager makes work fun!

My sales have gone up and I have found it to be a great assistant in keeping track of my clients, sales and financials. The company we deal with is really helpful should we ever require assistance and offers seminars that enrich our profession.

Pros

As a magazine sales representative, this software has made my job a whole lot easier! I love being able to see if one of my accounts paid their bill and not to step on anyone else's toes regarding a prospect. The ease of use is great and I'm able to know where I stand sales-wise without having to calculate sales myself. It has been the best tool I've ever used in the publishing business.

Cons

One thing, sometimes a field in the contact form will fill itself in with an arbitrary web address. I just check each time I enter a new prospect and ensure this doesn't occur in any of the contact fields.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the awesome review, Sue! The autofill on contact records is a browser setting. If you're using Chrome, you can manage your autofill settings by clicking on the trio of vertical dots and dropping down to Settings. From there, click on Autofill. Here, you can manage what information is autofilled. If you need more assistance, your software consultant would be happy to help!

May 2019

Linda from BizTimes Media

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Magazine Manager

Overall, we're very satisfied with magazine Manager both for billing, CRM and production. We've used it just under 3 years now and I would never go back to our old CRM!

Pros

Magazine Manager is easy to use and intuitive--which means that my reps use it more often--which is good for all of us! I also love the app for on-the-go information.

Cons

I wish Magazine Manager synced with an outlook calendar, not only Gmail--we are constantly toggling between our office suite calendar and Magazine Manager. And---I've said this 100 times before--I wish we could use our custom fields in the email communication templates! Heres a new one that I intend to ask this year--how do we clean up old records when a contact has left--that we've billed to in the past?

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the nice review, Linda! We will forward your feedback on integrations with other software to our development team. As for the billing and CRM functionalities, your software consultant will be able to help with any questions. Let us know if we can help further!

February 2021

Kris from Eculeus Group Publishing

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Great CRM for sales

Overall I'm very happy with the produce

Pros

The features allow me to manage my entire day of cold calls, follow ups, meetings, and scheduled time away. It's easy to use and simple to navigate. I've used several crm platforms and this is by far my favorite. Great job!

Cons

I wish I could see whether or not the prospects/ clients opened my emails or clicked on links and how often they have done so

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

around Jan 2020

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied February 2021

Thanks for the great review, Kris! In regards to emails, you can find Total and Unique Emails Opened, as well as Total and Unique Links Clicked under Marketing then Email Builder. Click the square with the arrow under Stats.

June 2019

William from Philips Publishing Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

I Use Magazine Manager Daily In My Job As Advertising Sales Manager

Overall, the system works for me and I would recommend to anyone in the publishing business.

Pros

What I like most about the software is the ability to schedule my ads in one fell swoop, getting the magazine ready to go with just a few keystrokes. Also, the ability to store my ads in the software enables me to go back and find the ad for reference later on, in case I want to sell the advertiser space in a future issue.

Cons

What I like least is how I need to check the tiny little boxes for each month when scheduling an advertiser. This changed quite a few years back with an update that was heralded as a means to help the Magazine Manager customer... Let me tell you, it did NOT HELP THIS CUSTOMER... made the scheduling process much, much more tedious and time consuming.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the review, William. As we consistently update our software, we offer training sessions and help videos to help our clients acclimate to the upgrades faster. Let us know if we can help!

November 2020

Burton from Harbor Centers Inc. / The Senior Reporter

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Magazine Manager

For a small organization, we did a lot of evaluation to make sure the cost would be worth it for us, and it has definitely earned me countless saved hours as well as allowing me to provide better customer service to our advertisers.

Pros

This software has saved me hundreds of hours of time since I started using it. We used to do our sales management and tracking on spreadsheets. It took endless hours cross checking spreadsheets to make sure we had everything accounted for. Magazine Manager does it on the fly, so when information is entered in on one form, it automatically is duplicated where needed on all other reports.

Cons

I'm not a real technically savvy person, so there are times I can't figure out some functions on my own. That being said, the technical assistance people are very responsive and willing to help in a reasonable timetable.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied November 2020

Thank you for the incredible review, Burton! We appreciate you.

May 2019

Carolyn from Price Media, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Ease of transfer between account executives

Very good. Representative is a good listener and gets to the point fast. He usually has more information to share than we have time for; but not a bad problem to have.

Pros

When one of our sales employees recently left the company, it was very easy to globally transfer all his accounts to the next person.

Cons

I would like to be able to check more than one box on the "Category" section so that we could pull these filters up more easily. For example: A retailer that is both a bike and ski shop.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the stellar review, Carolyn! With our current software, companies can belong to only one category. However, you can use contact groups to further segment your contacts. Here's a help video on how to do so: https://help.mirabeltechnologies.com/video-tutorial/creating-and-using-contact-groups It should be noted that contact groups are created by your site admins. If you are not a site admin, reach out to yours and provide them a list of contact groups you'd like to use. Let us know if we can help further!

February 2021

Leah from Make It Better Media Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Great solution for small businesses - not complicated

Pros

User friendly back end, simple software appeal, not complicated, no confusing names of reports, etc - very straightforward.

Cons

A little clunky at times, could provide more connected solutions for sales

Reasons for Choosing The Magazine Manager

Pricing and customer service

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied February 2021

Thanks for the kind review, Leah! In regards to streamlined sales processes, feel free to contact your software consultant for more information. They'll be happy to help!

June 2019

Kevin from Lessiter Media

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Mag Mgr Review

Pros

Easy to use and understand. The callback feature helps me stay on top of calls with prospects and clients. Also integrates meeting with google calendar/outlook.

Cons

I'd prefer all notes, calls, meetings and emails were attributed to a company page as a whole, rather than a specific contact. It would make it faster and easier to view all recent activity. It was also make for a more accurate Inactivity Report.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied June 2019

We are glad to know that we are providing a an easy to use program that helps your daily work flow. We are grateful to have you as a client and appreciate your opinion on our services. Please note that any contact page has the option to view "all notes and activity" which contains a radio button for the option to "display all contacts activities" Hopefully this meets your needs, if not feel free to submit a ticket, let your SC know or visit our contact us page to help guide our improvements in the future,

November 2018

Kathie from Stratis Publishing

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

MM is the best database/contact management

As a contact management software as a salesperson it is excellent (I use another for another job and wish it was this easy!!!). But as the production person also, it is easy to pull runsheet reports. The staff are also excellent! Very responsive to any issues.

Pros

If you have used any kind of database before, this is easy to understand. There is so much available for whatever your specific needs are. You can customize. There is no limit to how you can use it.

Cons

The ease for copying line items: If I need to copy line items multiple times for a specific issue because a client has bought multiple items, I have to do them one at a time, as far as I know. I can't choose how many times. Not a problem, just makes it slow.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied June 2019

Thanks for the glowing review! Your comments are very positive and you rank us as very likely to recommend, but the scores are all the lowest possible across the board. Was that a mistake?

December 2020

Mike from Seniorific News

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Why Magazine Manager?

Magazine Manager has given me accesses to monitoring my sales team workflow with out making them feel like they are being micro managed. If I would have had Magazine Manager at my previous employer, it would have increased sales by 30%. The contact customer features are worth the price of the program.

Pros

The Magazine Manger CRM is very easy to use once you learn how to use it. The contact information and callback dates are the best features from the sales stand point. It makes it where things don't slip through the cracks. Another feature is that the ability to write contracts and control the prices that are sold helps keep sales consistent.

Cons

There are so many features that you can use, it can get overwhelming. I just use the most basic parts of the system. This has helped our number of contacts we reach each day.

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied December 2020

Thanks for the great review, Mike! We appreciate you.

June 2019

Donna from Adrenaline Media Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

The Magazine Manager review

Daily functionality for our publishing operations

Pros

Perfect for publishing sorry this all I prefer to write here

Cons

Reporting ability not conforming to our 6 month billing cycles. Not compatibile with constant contact

Reasons for Switching to The Magazine Manager

Custom to my industry

Response from Mirabel Technologies

Replied September 2020

Thanks for the awesome review, Donna! We appreciate your feedback on integrations with other software. We will forward it to our development team.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 188 reviews