All OTRS Reviews

1-25 of 89 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Andre

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Keep track of all your support calls

The user experience with OTRS is amazing. Being able to show all your work to the client is great.

PROS

If properly used, with the control of calls and "learning" of errors, in addition to a quick response, it is possible to show the user everything that is happening and how it is being done.

CONS

Its look is not pretty, however, being extremely functional, this goes unnoticed. They could have a more practical way of creating reports.

Vendor Response

Glad you're enjoying it. Thanks for taking time to write in.

Replied March 2022

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Very customizeable, professional service management software

Makes work easier by having a good overview of ongoing tickets, but also past tickets, with details of what was built / done to offer a solution. That's dependant of what you enter into the system of course, but the options are there and they are clear.

PROS

I've been using OTRS for quite a few years now, and it's an excellent piece of software that makes my life as a sysadmin/support desk guy easier. OTRS understands ITIL, end users and IT pros, and the software supports that. You can link tickets, make internal notes, make FAQs, paste images into text fields, send e-mails, etc. You can also do templates, customize columns, set alerts when things take too long, etc. It's really nice. It even works with our ADFS server, which is excpected of a tool like this, but still. In short, OTRS is versatlize and customizeable.

CONS

There have been minor (cosmetic) bugs here and there, every now and then, which are slightly annoying. Often you can fix these things yourself, but OTRS's configuration is very complex and requires some insight and experience. So in the end, you're gonna have to contact support or read the extensive manual. But buth those options work.

Vendor Response

Thank you for reviewing OTRS. We appreciate your thoughts and comments.

Replied June 2018

Samuel

Government Administration, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2019

Good, but the community version was discontinued

My experience was good, but since there is no community version anymore I'm moving to another one.

PROS

No pros anymore as OTRS AG has discontinued the community (free) version. Version 6 will be the last free version.

CONS

Since there is no community version anymore, business version (commercial) is expensive and lack a lot of features when compared to some newer players.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking time to share your review. I do want to mention that, while we have made some changes to when ((OTRS)) Community Edition updates are released, it hasn't been discontinued. It's available at https://community.otrs.com/. Much appreciate the feedback.

Replied July 2019

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Overall , i found OTRS to be the easiest Ticketing system to use thus far

OTRS offered one of the most , if not the most , bang for the buck in my opinion. The support was always on point and promptly responded to all of or requests and questions , they provided on site support when needed and had one of the most pleasant training experience thus far.

PROS

As both a user and an administrator of the software i found the following in my last year of using the software : Ease of use Flexibility Easy customization Open Source Powerful Tools

CONS

Although i found this to be the most user friendly of the ticketing there are a few things i think might be improved in the future : Convoluted Process management SLA administration cumbersome to use and config Lacking a few features out of the box

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking time to review OTRS. We appreciate your feedback.

Replied June 2018

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

We use OTRS to register all the activities/pendencies. It is ease to use and intuitive as well.

The way we can centralize everything on it is real a benefit.

PROS

The provided scalability really help us. As a new demand appears, we can set the software to fit to this new need. This is really a power way to work with software.

CONS

When I send some e-mail to, which is related to some active ticket, the emails go agrupated, so for any new e-mail sent, all the previous text are rewritten. In some tickets, there are a lot of du- or tri or quadri-plicated emails. I know this is just something I can solve by deleting the text before sendind it to OTRS, but, it would be amazing if OTRS could append only the new text to the ticket.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about OTRS. We're glad for the feedback. I will pass along your comments about the e-mails. It may also help to know that you can submit new improvement ideas to the development team via https://otrsteam.ideascale.com/ Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Replied March 2018

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Flexible and powerful helpdesk and service desk solution

My experience in using OTPs is more than 10 years. OTP successfully solves the problems of automating IT services, integrated customer support services. We also successfully use OTPS for the implementation of HR processes.

PROS

1. Open-source 2. ITIL based solution 3. Flexible configuration 4. Built-in processes 5. Powerful email handling 6. Event-based hander

CONS

1. Outdated design 2. No mobile app 3. Relatively complex integration through web services

Vendor Response

Very much appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll keep an eye out in Q4 for design changes.

Replied May 2019

User Profile

Lindson

Verified reviewer

Machinery

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Its a great and efficient tool for someone in the service desk

We use it as our primary ticketing tool

PROS

I love the way it can be customized to view all sort of information. We track Change requests and Incidents using OTRS. The best part is that it is OpenSource and the modification can be done easily and without shelling out a lot of money.

CONS

none actually. I've used other applications like Remedy, however I am more inclined to OTRS for now.

Vendor Response

Glad to hear that it's working for you, Lindson. We appreciate you taking time to share a review.

Replied July 2018

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

OTRS - Recommended Open source Ticketing System available in market

- Internal operational efficiencies - Improved business process agility - Improved business process outcomes - Improved customer relations/service

PROS

- Deeply Integrate & implements ITIL process - Reports on SLA / Open vs closed and any other business requirement can be easily configured - Tickets : Easy to create & Track, Group similar issue tickets - Workflow, Notification, Process flow automation can easily be configured with no to minimal effort.

CONS

- Need to create more UI themes , even though current are sufficient considering its free.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking time to review. We appreciate the feedback.

Replied December 2018

Isha

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Review - OTRS

PROS

We have deployed it for our IT technical support team, due to its effortless service request through the use of mailbox. update to service request can be made easier via mail.

CONS

Still there are not enough functions to run a professional customer care operation, hope they will release new update in upcoming future.

Vendor Response

Thanks for taking time to review. OTRS will be moving to rolling releases in order to more seamlessly meet the needs of our customers. I'm curious to know what functions you're seeking. Thanks.

Replied October 2023

Rene

Chemicals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2024

There are better Systems

We changed to Aagon ACMP and are pretty happy with it.

PROS

It is pretty cheap and does what is intended for.

CONS

not very flexible. many aspects are missing.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the candid response. It sounds as though OTRS did not match well with your use case. Glad to hear you've found a solution that works for you.

Replied January 2024

Miguel

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

OTRS a very good tool

OTRS is a very complete tool to keep records of tasks, problems or incidents in an orderly or concise manner. in the same way to keep a record of time and hours invested that is very useful in resolving incidents or customer cases.

PROS

It is a very easy and simple tool, very useful to keep track of activities that are carried out internally or by a client.

CONS

There are small sections that can be improved, such as the creation of combo boxes for items or sections to be broken down, but in general there are few changes

Vendor Response

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts.

Replied July 2022

joshua

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

customizable, flexible and inexpensive, ITIL

PROS

It follows ITIL standards, It is free to use and support maintenance is inexpensive. It does support multiply languages.

CONS

It has a lot of customizable options that can cause some confusion when trying to fix a problems or modify the software. Finding those different options and what heading they are under in the management. The current version we are on does not support an easy SSO/SAML setup out of the box.

Vendor Response

Hi Joshua, Thanks for taking time to review OTRS. We appreciate the feedback. To clarify, for others reading, OTRS is a fully-managed solution. We do offer ((OTRS)) Community Edition that is free to use and open-source, but it requires self-configuration and that can be challenging. Thanks again for taking time to write in!

Replied June 2018

Remco

Consumer Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Great Service Desk ticketing Solution

PROS

We have implemented OTRS in our Corporate environment and it is our primary ticketing tool. The ability to track incidents, change requests and Problem tickets is the best feature of OTRS. The reports that can be generated via OTRS is also a great benefit.

CONS

Since this is an Open Source software, for any major modification the vendor needs to be contacted and extra payment needs to be done.

Vendor Response

Thanks for taking time to review OTRS. We appreciate your thoughts.

Replied August 2018

Francis

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Great to tailor to a good ITSM tool, after a first learning curve one can be efficient

Solid Incident management process rolled out

PROS

email inbound capabilities are great (maybe unique!) Easy to rollout, once you have a couple of basic admins, customising is quite powerful

CONS

Reporting is difficult to make work out of the box, SLA functionality complete only if you pay extra functionality

Vendor Response

Thanks for taking time to send in a review, Francis. We appreciate your thoughts.

Replied July 2018

Roberto

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

In our organization OTRS is used by one hundred operators of IT, Business, Reception, Helpdesk

PROS

Is very flexible, adaptive to almost every kind of organization. Easy for users. Many features available where to pick the more suitable for your needs

CONS

Quite complex the administration, especially when is necessary to change the standard settings. Some features are not easy to implement.

Vendor Response

Thanks for taking time to review OTRS. Your thoughts are helpful to us.

Replied July 2018

syed

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

otrs review

PROS

the most i liked about this software is it is a fastest communicating have best response with in sec which makes our daily usage more and give the best expirence in front and has the fastest resolution from the otrs tech team if any issues are given

CONS

there only one dilike it doesnt have the productive analysis tool is it has the option it will make a best software in the filed

Vendor Response

We appreciate your input.

Replied July 2022

Rajesh

Information Technology and Services

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

A Very Economical Ticketing Tool

This product is using from 3 years.We started from a trial version and later customized to meet our requirements.Its meeting almost all requirements,compared with highly paid other tolls.The major advantages are the unlimited number of agents and customers can create in this. We could develop all the required features in this and happy with the product.

Vendor Response

Thank you very much for your review.

Replied October 2016

User Profile

mukhtiyar

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: