All Salesforce Starter Reviews

1-25 of 195 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Sharilee

Marketing and Advertising, 2 - 10 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2023

Task List

User Profile

Julio Cesar

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Great experience working with salesforce platforms

Basically, all my days at work depens on salesforce, very efficient at the moment, it also helps me out to improve my sales day by day.

PROS

All I need in one place, quick response from the platform and cloud.

CONS

Trouble shooting at weekends and slow verification process

Ernest

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Ridiculously Expensive

I stopped using because I could never understand how to fully set up the system. Salesforce referred a 3rd party developer to set up system, they wanted $28,000 to set up system. Kinda shady.

PROS

Nice interface, lots of features. I never understood the system enough to offer more Pros.

CONS

Only for Mid-Large - Large Business. Salesforce is not for small business, because it is cost prohibitive. Salesforce nickel and dimes for everything, including an unethical override for their CPQ billing. I am stuck in a contract and still paying for Essentials. However, it was much more economical to use another CRM/Subscription Management System and pay Salesforce until my contact is over.

Reasons for switching to Salesforce Starter

Poor customer service. Salesforce is even worse.

Chance

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2016

Do Not Assume Anything

The best advice that I can give to a company considering purchasing Salesforce's Desk.com is to document every single expectation and need regarding a CRM tool. Do not assume any functionality exists, regardless of how simple and standard that functionality may seem. There are definitely features and functionalities that the average person might expect any modern system to offer which it does not. Examples: List Views - Cannot sort by most fields, cannot add custom fields to list views, and cannot modify the number of records per page Reporting - Cannot modify fields displayed in a report, cannot edit criteria for metrics, and cannot include custom fields in reports aside from picklists, and cannot export more than 2500 records at a time Email - Does not include standard modern emailing functions such as underlining, highlighting, modifying font color, or pasting images/tables Also, while some more complex workflows and automation can be built in Salesforce to update fields which are then passed back to Desk via Desk Connect (native sync between Desk and Salesforce), I strongly recommend against relying on Desk Connect for any business processes. Desk Connect can and has been turned off by Desk.com for all customers without first ensuring this is okay with the customer, interrupting daily business on a large scale. It is also extremely easy to break or surpass its capabilities of Desk Connect to the point that any modification, regardless of size, made to your Salesforce org must be communicated to Desk to ensure that Desk Connect will continue to function as expected. If you are a small-scale organization/team with very basic case tracking and reporting requirements capable, Desk may very well be the answer for you. But you still better be prepared with extensive documentation of all requirements and expectations for a tool like Desk, no matter how small or obvious they may be.

PROS

Simple UI Simple workflow building and management

CONS

Extremely limited in its capabilities Desk Support reps are not thorough when reading emails ETA's on fixes/patches pushed back for months

Janet

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Salesforce classic better than the new Lightning

Classic is great and very easy to get to info.

PROS

I really like the salesforce classic before they moved to lightning. It was much more intuitive and easier to locate information.

CONS

That they moved to lightning and it is not as good as classic

Ellenore

Machinery, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Great software to organize employee information

PROS

I like that I'm able to log information about employees and manage their contact info, benefit information, and history easily. It's also very customizable.

CONS

Sometimes I wish that the platform was able to be more on-brand, and that I was able to create documents with our font package.

Lisa

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2023

No quick details or references without running reports

It is a lot of extra work for someone wanting details on a customer.

PROS

I like the contact database and the information stored.

CONS

I don't like the email functionality or the notes / tasks available. I don't like that you cannot view the activities tab and see what notes were taken without having to expand each note.

Reasons for switching to Salesforce Starter

Company decision made to handle more complex reporting.

User Profile

Alex

Verified reviewer

Events Services

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

We love SalesforceIQ! Perfectly integrated and easy for my team to use.

So many. Ease of use, trackable for sales cycle, many more.

PROS

This software is awesome. It takes the stress out of constantly updating your CRM by making it seamless and integrated with our email. It captures a lot automatically, giving my team more time to close deals. We love the customizable pipeline features as well. Great software overall.

CONS

I have hard time thinking of cons for this software. It was so easy for my team to implement. It is expensive I guess, that'd be the only con.

User Profile

Jason

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2018

Great helpdesk and customer communication option

PROS

Way better option for customer support than just a basic email account. Really nice options for setting up a support site

CONS

Really poor live chat option. No customer website traffic integration. This ultimately caused our move to Intercom

Rob

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

A fantastic CRM system!

Salesforce Essentials is a game-changer for businesses seeking a powerful yet easy-to-use CRM solution. Its intuitive design, responsiveness, and simplicity in implementation make it a standout choice in the market. Whether you're a small business owner or a busy professional, Salesforce Essentials empowers you to manage your contacts, leads, and sales with unparalleled ease. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to enhance their customer relationship management processes.

PROS

I recently had the opportunity to use Salesforce Essentials, and I am thoroughly impressed with its user-friendly interface and seamless functionality. As someone who values efficiency and simplicity in a CRM tool, Salesforce Essentials exceeded my expectations in several ways.

CONS

I don't have much to say here really! It did everything we needed it to!

Rebekah

Medical Devices, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Using Salesforce Essentials

PROS

This was not a product I was very confident in when first being introduced to it, but it has made processing devices and tracking the work flow process very efficient.

CONS

There is a small learning curve you have to overcome getting started, but once you are over that hump it becomes very user friendly

Bob

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

Great Functionality But A Bit Pricey

It's been fairly easy to implement and use. We were able to get it fully functional with the entire sales team in a matter of a few months and it handles most if not all of the services we require.

PROS

It has a very intuitive interface that's easy to useThe ability to grab/store email data for our contact management is nice!The mobile apps associated with Essentials are helpful.If you've used any of the Salesforce products, this is built along the same interface so "learning" it is easy!

CONS

The pricing on this product is a bit higher than competitive products with the same functionality.If you're moving over from a different product, some of the workflows can be a bit confusing.The standard reporting features are less than optimal.

Reason for choosing Salesforce Starter

Functionality and implementation timeframe.

Reasons for switching to Salesforce Starter

Reputation and functionality of the Salesforce product line.

Meagan

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2017

Currently left in the Dust

our support center agents were able to respond to emails and log call notes.

PROS

multiple channels can be integrated, including social media posts. there's a live character counter for agents when writing responses.

CONS

SMS had to be integrated with an outside provider. slow, lacking features or any promise of a roadmap, reporting inaccurate. downtime and maintenance (both scheduled and responsive) very frequent - basically daily. since "next gen agent" was released 2+ years ago, this product has never improved. account manager never even bothered to elude to changing anything. as our contract was coming to an end, we asked, "why should we stay with desk?" and the response we got was verbatim, "great question...[30 seconds of silence]". salesforce stopped investing money into this product long ago, and subsequently, even the smallest crm companies these days are lightyears ahead in terms of functionality and reliability.

Sheikh

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Truly Market Leading crm

PROS

I have been using Salesforce for many years. I think the most amazing part of this tool is how customizable it Is as per clients needs. Moreover all these cusomized fields are available in reporting!

CONS

User based security is not available in essential. I wish it was so that we could enroll more users.

Hector Manuel

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Good app for workflows

We integrate several process within the company into Salesforce, and it makes really easy to track info and complete process requirements for customers.

PROS

It's simplified screens and the way it delegates step-by-step specific procedures to the users involved in the worfkflow

CONS

Export data might require some experience using this app. If not used to work with SF you might find a little bit frustrated of so many options for reporting/exporting data

Samantha

Veterinary, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Salesforce

Our hospital is better able to communicate . We are able to provide better care for all of out patients because everyone has access to same data base . So if a volunteer noticed a patient sneezing the doctor can easily see that and be flagged to check on a patient. Before a volunteer may not be able to notify staff and go through correct channels. It could mean that nobody medical ever new that yeh patient sneezed because it was just too difficult to get information across, but now all volunteers know they can put a message in Salesforce and it will be taken care of.

PROS

Salesforce allows my animals hospital to have better communication between staff and volunteers

CONS

Search engine key words is not always able to direct to correct patient

Tyler

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Not always the easiest to use, but there's a reason why it's the leader

When supporting customers, Salesforce was essential to finding out about their account and how to best support them or escalating issues when necessary.

PROS

If you can think of it, Salesforce probably has it. From keeping track of your customers, to integrations with other softwares, Salesforce has it all!

CONS

There is definitely a big learning curve when it comes to using Salesforce. It's obviously a massive piece of software that can be used for a huge array of purposes, so knowing how to navigate and find what you're looking for isn't always the easiest.

Mayank

Real Estate, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Reduce your dependency on spreadsheets

We require a CRM solution to track our customer data and enable sales intelligence. This tool does that perfectly. Pipeline management is a key task in Real Estate and this tool helps to achieve that in a great way.

PROS

There is a reason why this is the number 1 CRM solution in the world. It provides a unified view of your sales details and is mapped with the CRM for quick updates and reports.

CONS

Role Hierarchy & Permission sets are difficult to understand and multiple roles assigning can be difficult.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

Gets the job done, feels 2nd rate.

PROS

Desk has been getting things done for us. We've got teams, we can pass tickets easily, tags help to connect disparate tickets.

CONS

The search/filtering is broken (and has been for as long as I've used the software), it works at about 98% accuracy. You can't really rely on a search of 'all tickets assigned to X' to find every ticket, or "all resolved tickets in X department", and etc. Frustrating when reporting or setting up custom views and such. Similar in frustration created, is the limitations around what fields you can search/sort by. It's always a pet-peeve of mine to see software limit these things.

George

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT