What are SendBird users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using SendBird software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.27

30 Reviews

5
14
4
12
3
3
2
0
1
1
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"SendBird makes it really us to build out complex chat features with minimal overhead. This helps us quickly differentiate vs. other competitors."
  • icon"The platform offers a large set of tools and features to help you build a chat solution quickly."
  • icon"Team answsered very fast and was really helpfull. Moreover, we had some latency issues due to EMEA deployment and the tech team has done a good job to improve the quality."
  • icon"Lack of flexibility with moderation, lack of multi user per account."
  • icon"Not open prices as they provides different price to different customers. Some core features are missing with different platform."
  • icon"Some features were missing when we initially tied up and had to custom implement on our side."

Jump to:

Browse all SendBird Reviews

  • Have you used SendBird and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 30 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 30 reviews

User Profile

Chad

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

November 2017

Implementation was super easy and functional very quickly. We got up to speed super quick.

Pros

It is super stable. After trying to build our own using firebase... This was an awesome experience that got us deployed super quick. It is fully featured and ready out of the gates requiring very little adaptation.

Cons

There are still some things that are not included in our portal management. However, engaging support has been able to resolve them.

Sean

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2017

Good chat foundation that you can build upon

Sendbird allows you to get up and running with a chat solution pretty quickly. We have since customized it a lot (integrating it with Slack, building notifications etc). It is pretty good for plug and play if you are looking for a basic chat service. We don't use their UI, but their UI is good straight out of the box. Their response time is a bit slow, and they have made some changes to their product without warning and detailed descriptions of those changes. All in all it was a good solution for us because we needed to focus on other things and don't have the bandwidth to worry about make sure our chat foundation is reliable. Sendbird has been pretty reliable with only a couple of times going down. Their pricing is good for what you get. If you are just looking for a plug and play chat service then you should definitely consider Sendbird. If you are looking to customize it a lot like we have, then I would suggest thinking about what you are trying to achieve, as it may be better to just start from a little lower level like socket.io. We ultimately decided on Sendbird, and have been pretty happy thus far.

Pros

Plug and Play

Cons

Needed to customize quite a bit and the customer support is not the fastest.

Steven

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

I would never recommend this product

Absolutely terrible. We ended up cancelling our subscription, and asked for a partial refund for the unused portion of the costs. They refused. We contacted the credit card company and asked to rebate the charges, and Sendbird fought it. We were unable to get anything at all. What kind of a company takes your money and refuses to rebate unused service. We are are a B2C startup and every dollar counts. At the same time, I believe in customer service, and would never screw a customer out of their money. What a bunch of dirtbags! I would never do business with this company again! We ended up having our devs make a chat in house. Stay away. Far away.

Pros

Very little - the basic interface was ok

Cons

They wanted to charge us way more for moderation tools, which we believed should be an essential part of any chat software. And we were in development mode with virtually no users - so we needed time to ramp up to scale.

Scott

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

A Growing Product

I think the product is useful and needed. Chat is quite difficult to implement into an app on both the front-end and back-end. SendBird makes it much easier to do so, but still needs work in terms of documentation and support. It was not that easy to implement a front-end solution, albeit a custom one. I would like to be able to speak with a tech support staff via chat. It was very difficult to get support over email with long wait times in between correspondence - at least when I was a non-paying member. One might say that is a crucial time to convert someone to paying. A direct line via Slack or even their own messaging service would be incredibly useful. I still have issues to this day with implementation related to connecting, temporary messages, caching, error handling, etc. There are a LOT of odds and ends that need to be taken care of, and I'm willing to bet most apps implementing this solution are not bug free or on par with more mainstream chat services and I think it should be. Overall, I like the product. I think there's a lot more that can be done with it, and I look forward to future releases.

Pros

Definitely makes it easy to add chat. Saves a ton of time and headaches. It's a better back-end solution than I could have done personally.

Cons

- Needs better technical support. - Needs a better front-end solution. - Not very easy to implement.

Toshiki

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Responsive and helpful partner to build a chat feature with

Very pleasant and would recommend using Sendbird to other engineers looking for chat integration.

Pros

The customer service team has been very responsive with any inquiries. Although they are a third party partner, it feels like they are in my own team. Integration was very easy and straightforward as well.

Cons

Sometimes when there are errors, we have to reach out to them, instead of them reaching out to us.

William

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

Solid product, but much more room for growth

I launched my app Pro Photo Shoot using SendBird as the engine for in-app messaging. I was very pleased with the way the API handled conversations, as it really took a lot of work out of the process, which can be very complicated if building from scratch. A few things in the suggestion box: - Faster, faster, faster! Make the API as fast as possible. - Improve your console to make it easier to drill down into a conversation when needed

Pros

Ease of use. Decent SDK and REST interface.

Cons

Documentation is a little thin. It could be more robust with details, examples, and use cases.

Response from SendBird

Responsiveness to our client needs is always the top priority for us. Thank you for your feedback and I will make sure to serve customers betters in production and inquiry responses - Mark (Head of Growth at SendBird)

Replied December 2016

Nicolas

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2017

Found it was the most customisable chat API available for iOS (and Android).

Not having to implement it by ourselves :)

Pros

On top of the customisable API, one thing I appreciated the most was how easy you can communicate with the team behind SendBird. Had a request regarding some push notifications with WatchOS that were actually missing and within a few days, after some email exchange, here it was.

Cons

The fact it is not open source I would say. Open sourcing it would make it better for the community.

Response from SendBird

Thank you for being a valued customer Nicolas! Deeply appreciate your kind words. We look forward to further contributing to C&Z Tech's success.

Replied June 2017

Min Suk

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2017

I, as a prodecre at Pikicast; mobile media, am currently using Sendbird for live streaming service.

No need to develop chatting tool, Low cost for using such tool

Pros

Easy to use, quick response for issues or inquiries. Also it's easy to implement at the beginning of the service.

Response from SendBird

Thank you for your kind review, we feel extremely lucky to have been a part of Pikicast's mega growth journey in the past two years!

Replied June 2017

Patrick

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

A great team, helping to integrate a great product

Pros

Team is willing to help you - starting from your first contact. all relevant platforms we need to integrate the chat on, are supported. if you have some custom requests, the team is willing to find a good solution to enable your business implement their plan.

Cons

the ui kit could offer more functionality.

Deepak

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

SendBird is an awesome product and team!

Pros

SendBird makes it really us to build out complex chat features with minimal overhead! This helps us quickly differentiate vs. other competitors.

Cons

Documentation could use some improvement, but their team is amazingly helpful in filling in any gaps.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Great team to work with

Pros

Great tech support. Always proactive when we face issues

Cons

Some features were missing when we initially tied up and had to custom implement on our side

Omar

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

Very flexible, Very customizable, Very good!

Our product relies heavily on the messaging aspect, so we chose our chat SDK really carefully. Before settling on SendBird, we tried about 10 different chat SDKs. SendBird was the clear choice for us due to how customizable and flexible it is. This flexibility gave us the freedom to easily build many features using their SDK. Sendbird is still evolving. We sometimes experience service issues and interruptions from time to time. However, their customer support is really amazing and they have been extremely helpful. They even built specific features we suggested. TL;DR: Go for it!

Pros

Flexible & Customizable, great customer support

Cons

Infrequent service interruptions and bugs

Response from SendBird

Dear Omar, Thank you for your support. Sibly has been very unique use case for us that integrate SendBird inside (mental) health care industry. Please don't hesitate to give us a feedback and send us inquiries that we are more than happy to follow up. Mark (head of growth, SendBird)

Replied December 2016

Frank

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Overall SendBird is a killer product, and a critical part of our product offering.

An (almost) out of the box production-ready and performant chat as a service solution with incredible group communications features that is easy to integrate and build on.

Pros

For our use case the large scale public and private group chats were absolutely essential. The performance is impressive, the API straightforward, and the iOS client code provided was good enough for us to build on and ship production worthy code quickly.

Cons

The API has a few design flaws and, while superior to the competitors offerings that we have direct experience with, the iOS client code is pretty mediocre. Building truly high quality client UI/UX will still involve a significant amount of effort.

Response from SendBird

Frank, we will put much effort to offer better UI and Design experience going forward. Thank you so much for the feedback

Replied July 2017

Mike

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2017

Great product/service

We've been working with SendBird for nearly 2 years. The customer service has been excellent and the learning curve to get up and running, minimal. Already a great service/product when we began, it's been nice seeing the team refine and expand the product. Each iteration has been well thought out and implemented. Highly recommended.

Pros

Ease of use, minimal learning curve

Cons

A couple times in the early days I found the documentation lacking a little but it appears this is no longer an issue.

Response from SendBird

Hi Mike, I am grateful for the all the supports you send us from the very beginning of Bombd app integrating with SendBird!

Replied June 2017

SE-WON

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2017

It's very easy to use and the transmission speed is also good.

Pros

What makes chat services available to users without direct management. Considering the labor cost, the use of the solution seems to be efficient. The part where sustained service is maintained at a reasonable speed for use.

Cons

Constraints on custom. It feels like extra cost for administrative features but not cheap. I am currently using the moderation tool but it is not easy to check the chat history because the filter function is not advanced. It would be nice if you could experience paid services before contracting.

Response from SendBird

Mr. Lim, I really appreciate your feedback. Out team will assure to improve our product to become more user friendly.

Replied June 2017

Erick

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Photography

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2017

Overall experience is quite good, not have problem until now.

Chatting service

Pros

Customer service and feature.. the SDK is quite easy to implement. The performance is good.

Cons

The price, quite expensive. And the feature is quite limited for paying user. I hope I can get more MOU.

Mohammed

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

Highly Customizable

What we love about SendBird is the ability to integrate it smoothly with our brand while maintaining our own identity and user experience.

Pros

- Customizable - Constant improvements

Cons

- Had too many critical bugs - Changes to software without prior notice

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Better alternatives, just don't do it.

We wanted a simple, fast, chat solution to drop into our app. Sendbird promised this, but did not deliver.

Pros

Seemed like it had the features we wanted, small hungry team that promised a lot.

Cons

Poor quality product, terrible documentation, engineering support that didn't know how their own product worked. We paid a lot of money for this software, got locked in, have regretted it every day since. Will leave as soon as we can.

Numa

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

Great platform to save time

With SendBird, we were able to cut costs and development time by using their API. It is robust and the documentation makes it easy to get started in no time.

Tom

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2017

Implementation on android & iOS app

Pros

Support was awesome ! Team answsered very fast and was really helpfull. Moreover, we had some latency issues due to EMEA deployment and the tech team has done a good job to improve the quality.

Cons

Maybe the SDK is a little young and some stuff must be redone (like the ability to create a user instead just login it and see...)

Response from SendBird

Thanks Tom! We will keep up with our SDK to become more complete and user friendly.

Replied June 2017

Darren

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

The only 3rd party chat integration software for Unity done right.

Pros

Product is technically flexible and supports Unity. Technically skilled product team. Sales and account team was fast, responsive, and had solid knowledge of the product. Technical team was readily accessible over a Slack bridge -- we loved that.

Cons

Wish it had a cleaner 1:1 and 1 to many admin/host chat interface. Was expecting something closer to Slack. Ended up having to customize a sample javascript web page that they had in order to get get closer to what we wanted.

Response from SendBird

Darren, thank you for your feedback and we will leave note to our product team to make customer-friendlier chat interface going forward!

Replied July 2017

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

SendBird saved my time for integrating a chat platform.

SendBird is a best solution for a basic chat service.It is very easy to use.I recommend SendBird for all those who want to integrate a chat platform. It is fast and easy to learn and use.

Pros

It is a tough job to integrate chat in both front-end and back-end.But SendBird makes it possible with out much time.It is very fast and easy. It didn't take much time to first implement. And the the back-end solution is really good. It saves a lot of time.

Cons

It would have been better if you provide good documentation and support. It's difficult to get support from the team.

Ludovic

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

Good experience

Easy to install, to use and to scale. We were happy to use Sendbird, which is a very practical tool to interact with our customers.

Response from SendBird

Dear Ludovic, This is Mark, Head of Growth at SendBird. I am sincerely grateful to your candid feedbacks. We will keep doing our best to bring more scalable, advanced interaction tools for Afrostream and your customers. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me if you have any questions or concerns. I am always happy to support you and your product. Kind regards, Mark

Replied December 2016

User Profile

Rahul

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Easy to set-up and use chat platform and SDKs

Pros

The platform offers a large set of tools and features to help you build a chat solution quickly. Documentation is nice. SDKs are easy to use. Supports translation of messages to over 50 languages.

Cons

Missing out on a couple of essential features like offline syncing & caching. Doesn't support presence (online/offline/away) statuses out of the box.

Anna

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

Great personalized support

They've been flexible and responsive to any questions we have

Pros

SendBird is great messagining software! The pros range from ease of use, customized features, and quick response time

Showing 1 - 25 of 30 reviews
SendBird

SendBird

4.27/5 out of 30 reviews
PriceWatch Demo