TopBuilder

TopBuilder Reviews

RATING:

5.00

(15)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

5.00

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

5

  • icon"This product is user friendly, easy to use, and extremely easy to train people on."
  • icon"I like how easy the software is to navigate and the new design, which is great. It's not a overload of items that we do not need like other programs."
  • icon"System is pretty user freindly once you are tained on the software. Setting up communities and users is very easy."
  • icon"I feel that the email marketing could be implemented differently allowing for more block editing and customization."
  • icon"There are many fields within a project, that it can be hard to track what has already been input."

All TopBuilder Reviews

1-15 of 15 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Keith

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

TopBuilder has made it incredibly easy to manage our customer relationships!

Our overall experience with TopBuilder has been very valuable. We went from spreadsheets and not managing customer relationships as effectively as we could have been. Since implementation, we've closed more business and conducted more follow up than we ever could have without TopBuilder.

Pros

I love the ability to add my own key performance indicators and additional user defined fields that allow me to track specific information about our customers. Additionally, I can live in TopBuilder all day in my role and not have to stray too far with different applications.

Cons

I feel that the email marketing could be implemented differently allowing for more block editing and customization. Right now, I feel like it is just a basic program, but doesn't integrate as much between outside APIs.

Reasons for choosing TopBuilder

We chose TopBuilder over alternative products because we felt that it would give us more of an industry focused CRM System while also implementing some of the similar capabilities with email marketing to HubSpot and Salesforce.

Response from TopBuilder Solutions

Keith, thank you for your feedback. TopBuilder 2.0 was released earlier this year to improve core features and functionality of our CRM platform. One of the remaining tasks is improving our email editor tools. A "What's New" notice will be posted as soon as it is released. Also, your Account Manager will contact you to discuss your outside API needs.

Replied October 2020

Edsel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2020

Top Builder Review for SR Homes

Tracking leads, capturing leads, and managing system is very easy. Launcing and intergration with our site was very easy.

Pros

System is pretty user freindly once you are tained on the software. Setting up communities and users is very easy.

Cons

I woudl like more flexibility in pulling custome reports. Integration with things like NterNow is not offered which is something other systems provide.

Reasons for choosing TopBuilder

At the time Top Builder was what was recommended to us because we were using MarkSysytems.

Response from TopBuilder Solutions

Edsel, thank you for your feedback. Your Account Manager will be contacting you to better understand your custom reporting needs and determine how to best deliver what you are trying to achieve. Also, thank you for the integration recommendation, which has been forwarded to our development team.

Replied October 2020

Allison

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

TopBuilder is awesome!

Pros

The features that are most impactful for my job are the "Monthyly Revenue Projections" and "Manage Leads and Accounts"

Cons

There are many fields within a project, that it can be hard to track what has already been input.

Response from TopBuilder Solutions

Allison, thank you for your feedback. TopBuilder's CRM is designed to be super user-friendly while offering robust tracking. For new users, it can require a bit of time to become familiar with which fields are important to complete. If you still find challenges, don't hesitate to participate in one of our Intermediate Training sessions offered weekly online.

Replied October 2020

Jeff

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2021

Most Bang for the Buck and Easy to Use

Been great to use and to work with.

Pros

Super easy to use as soon as it's set up. Just have an idea on what you want it to look like and TopBuilder can make it happen.

Cons

Nothing so far! Customer service has been excellent.

Reasons for choosing TopBuilder

Price is much more affordable for what we needed.

Reasons for switching to TopBuilder

Needed something that was more intuitive and can show our progress much easier than excel tracking.

Jake

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2020

TopBuilder for Subcontractors

We primarily use TopBuilder to track our bids. We are a subcontractor with a short duration on projects therefore we bid a large number of projects. Tracking these is a key component to our success and TopBuilder helps us do that.

Pros

The integration with Spectrum accounting software and the construction oriented bid tracking. Construction is such a unique industry when it comes to bid tracking that it is great having a tool custom built for this industry. Many of the other options on the market take a lot of tweaking to get the same functionality and even then do not have all that TopBuilder offers.

Cons

Some of the reporting functionality I find unhelpful for our particular business. Some of the integration with Spectrum seems to be one direction only and some of the information that I feel TopBuilder should be retrieving is not being done. For this reason, the integration with Spectrum is primarily pre-contract only.

Reasons for choosing TopBuilder

Integration with Spectrum and pricing.

Reasons for switching to TopBuilder

Act did not work well with Mac. Act was getting older and I wasn't happy with the direction they were taking. The integration with our new accounting software (Spectrum) was a key upgrade feature.

Lorraine

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Bid Tracking with TopBuilder

Pros

The intuitive nature of the product made it easy to switch from our legacy software to TopBuilder. Our users were up and running with a minimum of configuration needed from our team.

Cons

Not being able to add a non-user to the software to assign bids. Most of our data entry is handled by Project Coordinators but we need to assign the bid to an Estimator or Project Manager for reporting. The Estimator or Project Manager , in most cases, will never sign into TopBuilder. With the current user structure we still need to create a paid logon for the user.

Reasons for choosing TopBuilder

From the beginning [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and his team have been enthusiastic partners, working with us to meet the challenges of bid tracking for the electrical subcontractor and willing to incorporate new features into the TopBuilder software to meet our bid tracking requirements. The TopBuilder team worked closely with us on the transition from our legacy software to TopBuilder, ensuring the product was working as we expected and training our team to use the software to the best advantage.[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] continues to be engaged in improving TopBuilder to meet evolving industry standards and to provide an intuitive, quality product that performs a function vital to electrical contractors/subcontractors.

Reasons for switching to TopBuilder

Hatzel &Buehler, Inc. initially considered purchasing TopBuilder to replace a legacy bid tracking software solution because of its connection with the new ERP the company was purchasing - Spectrum - which at the time was a product of Dexter & Chaney, Inc. and is now owned by Viewpoint Software, Inc. a Trimble Company.

Response from TopBuilder Solutions

Lorraine, thank you for your review.. Working closely with our clients is both rewarding and enlightening. These relationships are how we are able to stay connected and continue to innovate our technology. TopBuilder did recently add a new level of user to address employees who need limited access to information in the CRM. Your Account Manager will contact you immediately with more information.

Replied October 2020

Nicholas

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

TopBuilder Makes Lead Generation/Management Easy

We are now benefiting from the organic leads our website had generated over the years, tapping into the large database we had stored to continuously email market to prospects which we had relied on marketing firms and paid mailing lists to do previously. The individuals over at Topbuilder are incredibly helpful and quick responding which makes any issue or question be resolved quickly. From the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] to the support staff, its been a pleasure and ease to work with every member of their team.

Pros

Navigating the Topbuilder site is seamless and intuitive once the initial learning curve wears off. They've made it supportive for a sales staff to easily contact and manage leads generated by our company website, as well as be able to research or learn how to use any aspect of the software. It makes the administration of the site/software a breeze for management.

Cons

I dont know the exact reason, but originally the site/software moved and reacted slowly to navigating at times. It seems as if they have moved over to Amazon Web Services for hosting more recently and that issue appears to have gone away with the change.

Response from TopBuilder Solutions

Nic, thank you for your feedback. Due to rapid growth this past year, TopBuilder saw a reduction in reaction times and for this reason we made the decision to move to Amazon Web Services sooner than originally planned. We are so glad to hear you are no longer experiencing lag times.

Replied October 2020

Ricci

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

TopBuilder Review

Great! [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] have been really helpful through our switch to TopBuilder. They are always there to answer any questions and guide us through any challenges we have.

Pros

This software is extremely easy to learn and use. When we first switched to TopBuilder, the live training that is offered 5 days a week was a HUGE help! As an admin, the automated emails and the email marketing has been my favorite tools to keep our past and current customers updated.

Cons

I don't have any complaints... but if I had to say something, it would be nice to be able to have the address of the Lead added to the Grid Settings on the Manage Leads screen!

Response from TopBuilder Solutions

Thank you for your review of TopBuilder. And thanks also for the suggestion regarding the address display; we will forward this to our development team to review. For now, you could copy and paste the address into the description field for visibility in the Manage Leads screen.

Replied September 2020

Bruce

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Top Builder Review

Pros

This product is user friendly, easy to use, and extremely easy to train people on.

Cons

You do not have the ability to remove old employees from the system. There is no app for your phone. You have to sign in vial the internet at all times.

Reasons for choosing TopBuilder

Ease of use and price

Response from TopBuilder Solutions

Bruce, thank you for your feedback. In the CRM, employees (users) are linked to many activities and opportunities and if they are deleted, their history records would also be deleted. For this reason, there is an inactive status. Also, look for an email with instructions on how to set a link on your phone for one touch access to mobile. It's super easy.

Replied October 2020

Katie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Sandcastle Homes

Pros

I like how easy the software is to navigate and the new design, which is great. It's not a overload of items that we do not need like other programs. Customer support is amazing.

Cons

Lead Management: I wish creating follow up plans was a little less time consuming. There are other features that other programs have like surveys, sending email to certain people who opened up a e-flyer, etc.

Reasons for choosing TopBuilder

N/A

Response from TopBuilder Solutions

Hi Katie, Thank you for your review. Creating follow-up plans is the toughest part in any CRM because it usually requires some trial and error before finding the optimum set up. If you are still working on your plans, we recommend signing up for one of our Level 2 training classes offered twice per week so our trainer can walk you through setting them up. Also, thank you for your suggestions to enhance our internal Email Marketing system; we will forward these to our development team for review.

Replied September 2020

Mike

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

One Stop Relationship Management

Topbuilder is very useful in helping us keep in touch with prospects who are not buyer's today. It helps keep our name in top of mind awareness, so that when a prospect is ready to become a client, they have a level of familiarity with us. It also gives them a conduit for communicating with us. It is an essential part of our overall marketing strategy.

Pros

Action notifications Links with outlook to save emails in client records Ease of navigation Easy to implement marketing campaigns

Cons

Many features not relevant to our business

Response from TopBuilder Solutions

Mike, thank you for your feedback. Like many software solutions, our CRM is designed to offer features that are comprehensive enough to meet a variety of business objectives. This also provides scalability for future growth or in the event your business objectives change.

Replied October 2020

Chad

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Everything in One

I enjoy using TopBuilder over past services. Being about to input so much information on customers and have it at your finger tips in a few clicks makes my job easier.

Pros

TopBuilder provides everything we need for sales in one place. We immediately input customer information and are able to track all the way through a job and beyond.

Cons

There are so many options and so much to learn, it was daunting at first. Once you start getting customer information in the system it starts to flow easier over time. Now many of our accounts are set up and in just a few clicks a project is set up.

Response from TopBuilder Solutions

Thank you for your review of TopBuilder. There is no doubt that setting up and learning any new software can be daunting. It is exciting news that after only three weeks everything is getting easier and projects only take a few clicks.

Replied September 2020

Jeanne

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Top Builder Review

I LOVE Top Builder!!!

Pros

How you can keep your notes in chronological order in the History and see when they open emails and their responses.

Cons

It is hard to enter a spouse and their information isn't on the same page so you have to click a lot of buttons to get to it.

Response from TopBuilder Solutions

Jeanne, thank you for your feedback. Our development team has reviewed your issue and believe you have a valid point. Monday we will release an update that provides the ability to add the spouse's contact information when setting up a new lead, all on one screen.

Replied September 2020

Kirsten

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2020

Great product for the money

We love Top Builder. From the first time I met them at IBS to answering all my questions to implementation and customer support. They have been and continue to be top rate!

Pros

Easy to add new prospects and keep track of communication with them.

Cons

Pulling custom reports can be cumbersome

Alternatives Considered

TOP PRODUCER

Reasons for choosing TopBuilder

Price and ease of use

Reasons for switching to TopBuilder

Too difficult to pull reports and the sales team wouldn’t use it.

Response from TopBuilder Solutions

Kirsten, thank you so much for your review. TopBuilder continues to grow our service offering based on client feedback and we appreciate yours. Your concerns are important to us. One of our team members will contact you to better understand your issues when pulling custom reports.

Replied August 2020

John

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

October 2015

TopBuilder Solutions is exactly what I need

TopBuilder Solutions is exactly what I need to ensure my marketing investments are not wasted and ensure no sales opportunities are lost. Additionally, we do a more effective job selling while spending a lot less time

Showing 1 - 15 of 15 reviews