All DiscoverText Reviews

1-25 of 116 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Heather R.

Verified reviewer

Research, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Great for students diving into internet methods!

PROS

I was most interested in the twitter features of DiscoverText when I first set up my account. And I have to say I am thrilled with what the tool can do. When downloaded from the online app, twitter data updates in real time, which is not only in accordance with Twitter ToS, but also gives you the most updated information. The data processing tools are quite amazing if you can figure out how to do it.

CONS

There are data restrictions and the export possibilities are limited. So you have to erase old projects to start new ones once you have reached your data capacity.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

A perfect tool to explore, collect, search, store, manage, code and classify the Twitter universe.

The ability to work with Twitter data.

PROS

As a social scientist, I lack the computational skills to work with Twitter data. In fact, Im not interested in doing data science, I want to do social science. DiscoverText allows me to collect and analyze large batches of Twitter data. Many of my colleagues spend hours having students copy and paste tweets into the Excel. DiscoverText is a breeze.

CONS

There are a number of different classification algorithms like linear or logistic regression, decision tree, SVM, and random forest. DiscoverText just uses naive bayes. I wish the software allowed for more different types of these algorithms.

Vendor Response

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We do have a long term road map that calls for exactly what you are asking for. It is my hope that we can launch a new extension of the platform to host other classifiers. We agree that the inclusion of other approaches would represent an exciting next step in the evolution of the platform. We literally aspire to be the iTunes of machine classifiers ;-) So, I promise it will happen some day. For now, the uClassify engine that we license is working great on all languages and in all sorts of projects. ~Stu

Replied January 2018

MArcelo

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Excellent cost-benefit, prompt support and live interface

Did some research and was able to perform a series of tests and applications for my PHD research and for other projects

PROS

The ability to review, code, manage data with the rich online environment of Twitter allows for good mixed methods research: at the same time balancing quantitative aspects and looking in-depth for the unique or groups of messages with certain characteristics is very enriching for a researcher on Social Media -in my case, Twitter. Also, its connection with Twitter's Firehose allows for the direct import from Twitter to DiscoverText platform.

CONS

I couldn't figure out many of the functionalities without the support of the team, and/or a few hours of video classes. A better UX would probably diminish those learning curves

Vendor Response

Hi, I'm glad you are deriving value from our tools to analyze data from the Twitter Firehose. Thanks for your feedback on the interface. It would be a large undertaking to overhaul the front end. We would like to, but a bigger company tried in 2013, spent $1M, and then gave up, so for now we tinker at the edges to make the experience usable. Best regards, Stu

Replied August 2018

Anonymous

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Easy and intuitive research tool, great for qualitative research that involves social media data

Quick way to collect and analyse data, also very mobile phones and tablets friendly.

PROS

Well again, DiscoverText is really intuitive to use, I did read and look at some videos before using it but it wasn't necessary. I have used other qualitative analysis software and although they were a little different, I would say that DiscoverText is the easiest to get familiar with, just set up your themes, categories and start coding. Also something to consider in my opinion is the ease to navigate through the website, not overly complicated, nice blue/gray theme that won't feel heavy after hours spent on the PC.

CONS

Only one maybe, if there are a few coders coding at the same time the same project the software can become a little slower.

Vendor Response

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for this delightful take on the interface. Reading reviews, it is often the case that users underestimate what it might take to overhaul the front end. We would like to, but a bigger company tried in 2013, spent $1M, then gave up, so for now we tinker at the edges to make the experience usable. I think you are absolutely on target about our goal not to overcomplicate coding (labeling, tagging, or annotation to some). Out first open source tool was devoted to recording observations about text with minimal interaction with a mouse (hence the keystroke coding). Since then, many layers of functionality have emerged, but at teh core, it is the interface for displaying text/Tweets, the auto-loading of items to be coded, and the project management/measurement features, that are the kernel of our success. Thanks, Stu

Replied June 2018

Anonymous

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Great Collaborative Text Analytics System

PROS

DiscoverTest (DT) is great at what it was intended to be used for. DT makes it easy to schedule fetches from leading social media and information websites, and allows the user to specifically get the data they are looking for. We have used DT for 2 different projects so far and it seems to work great for our team of analysts.

CONS

DiscoverTest has a relatively steep learning curve, and therefore can be intimidating to new users. It is well worth your time though, as the features far outweigh the learning curve.

Vendor Response

DiscoverTest has a relatively steep learning curve, and therefore can be intimidating to new users. It is well worth your time though, as the features far outweigh the learning curve. Thank you for your review. DiscoverText is indeed a powerful tool, and therefore does take some time to learn all of its features. We try to make this easier with our training resources. We offer web demo meetings, video tutorials, and a knowledge base full of documentation that we hope you find insightful and helpful when learning the features of DiscoverText and Sifter. Stu Shulman, the founder of Texifter, conducts webinars all the time to train people on the features best suited for research. You can schedule a webinar at: https://calendly.com/discovertext Video tutorials: https://discovertext.com/tag/video/ Support Documentation & Knowledge Base: https://texifter.zendesk.com/hc/en-us Best regards, Stu

Replied August 2018

Anonymous

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

I chose Discover text to collect Tweets for internal research.

PROS

It provides customers good quality of Tweets. The customer support is very good. it is possible tu use Paypal to buy data.

CONS

It should be less complicated. The UI of the product should get improved. They don't provide any kind of contract when customers buy data but they just are able to send an invoice with the costs you have to afford.

Vendor Response

Thanks for taking the time to write the review. It is true we do not send out a contract with the purchase of Twitter data access. We do have a simple agreement model: - Three free estimates per day - $25 per day of data retrieval - $7.50 per 10,000 tweets Any Sifter purchase includes 14 days of Enterprise DiscoverText access. This enables up to three users to collaborate on the dataset. If you spend more than $500, we will provide the software free for 30 days for up to five users. All purchases over $1500 come with 60 days of gratis access to the full suite of DiscoverText for up to 10 users. Sifter strictly adheres to the Twitter Terms of Service, the Twitter Rules, the Twitter Developer Agreement and Policy, and the Twitter Privacy Policy. For more information about the Terms of Service, please contact stu@texifter.com.

Replied January 2018

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Great tool for analyzing media content

We have been using it for several years in different research projects (politics and media) and even when we performed tasks the tool is not originally designed to perform, DT performed really well (and DT was very supportive!)

PROS

Very adaptable to our research aims Very user-friendly Coder monitoring/adjudication feature made it possible to coordinate a team of researchers sitting in different countries Excellent customer support

CONS

The visualization of the coding results is a bit dull in terms of design but one can always export results in another programme that creates more impressive visualizations

User Profile

Matt

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

DiscoverText Review

PROS

The software is easy to use and navigate. Access to Twitter and Facebook is useful, but I found the ability to capture RSS feeds to be especially unique to the research I do.

CONS

The main problem I run into, especially with Twitter data, is the number of units I can store. Upgrading to the top tier account is cost prohibitive, so I am left to work within the parameters of the software. That means when capturing Twitter data I can easily reach the cap in an hour or two. I'm always on the lookout for a software that can allow me to capture more data affordably.

Vendor Response

Matt, You can keep your subscription at the Professional level (with the 50% discount for being faculty) and just upgrade the amount of storage. All professional accounts come with storage up to 10,000 units. You can purchase more storage units for $20 a month per 100,000 up to 1,000,000 units. If you need more than 1,000,000 units, contact us. Items imported via the Twitter Premium PowerTrack do not count against your general storage limit. We do need to meter usage of cloud computing resources. If you store and process more data, it costs us more money. Stu

Replied September 2018

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

User-friendly tool w/ excellent customer service

I began using DiscoverText as a doctoral student in 2013 while conducting research on sport fans' social media usage. Six years later, I still find myself turning to DiscoverText whenever I need to collect social media data. As someone who is not very technology savvy, I find the platform to be quite user-friendly, and the ability to code data right within the platform is extremely beneficial. Beyond the benefits of the tool itself, my interactions with the DiscoverText team are always pleasant and informative. It can be so difficult these days to feel "heard" as a customer, but I don't have to worry about that with DiscoverText. Whenever I have questions or issues, they are quickly answered/remedied by the DiscoverText team.

PROS

User-friendly, ability to run multiple feeds, coding capabilities, customer service

CONS

I have few things I dislike about DiscoverText. Ability to pull data from Instagram would be great, given consumers' interest in the platform.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback and long term support for our efforts!

Replied April 2019

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

The more I use the better it gets

I have been using it with students to look at Twitter conversations regarding #immigration, along with several other projects.

PROS

DiscoverText, offers a unique platform for the academic study of social data. It took me awhile to learn to use but am coming to understand its capabilities. Great for collecting data and even better for coding! Fantastic customer service

CONS

Still learning to navigate the interface. Hoping that Twitter does not change its policies to limit access for DiscoverText and other apps.

Egor

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Our goal was to get a historical tweets and do an linguistic analysis.

PROS

- teamwork friendly - support different types of file extraction - directly support of Gnip Feed Management - parallel possibility to work on different project - support of: Facebooks, LinkedLn

CONS

- just 15 exports could be saved parallel in the system at any given time (so sometimes you need more files to extract parallel) - exports have just 1 week time of expiration (it is tooooo small) - don't have command line API

Vendor Response

Egor, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It contains some good ideas, some of which we might be able to act on, but others are beyond our control. The regulation of Twitter exports, for example, is set by the Terms of Service of Twitter. We are specifically barred, as are all vendors, from setting up a command line API to facilitate the process. The save as CSV is a very strict guideline and engineering what you want would result in Texifter losing access to Twitter data. So, it is a "con" of working with Twitter data, not DiscoverText. I'd like to hear more about why you need to store links to more than 15 exports simultaneously. Since you can only create 1/day of 50,000 Tweets, and the purpose is to export it, not store the CSV link in a list inside DiscoverText, why would you need a list of more than 15 links to files? Presumably you have already exported. I have the same question with the duration. Once the data is downloaded, why must the link endure? ~Stu

Replied March 2018

Leah

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Great Tool to Gather and Sort Tweets

PROS

I have found DiscoverText extremely useful for my current project - an analysis of a large group of #MeToo tweets. I looked at other commercial products and I found them all very expensive and challenging and mostly geared to marketing within commerce. DiscoverText is more geared to research, and I very much appreciate that. I also appreciate how available [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is to users who need technical support. Early on in my project, he consulted with me on how to go about searching, gathering, and analyzing my data.

CONS

I don't have anything to put here. Thanks!

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review Leah. That is an important topic to study and we are happy to help if possible. Did you know we have the first 3 days of #metoo in three languages? The DiscoverText collaborative architecture makes it possible for many professors and students to study this data. We are here if you want to schedule a class training. ~Stu

Replied December 2021

Miao

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

DT has been my favorite tool for text coding and data collection for a long time.

I've done many research projects with this software.

PROS

First, DT is incredibly user-friendly, especially for newbies even those who have never done any textual analysis before. I use DT myself and I trained several coders -- it's easy and straightforward and no confusion. Second, I've done coding using DT in foreign languages like Chinese and Spanish. Again, there's no difference in using the services with other languages. Third, it's convenient to compare coding results among coders and easy to export the files. Fourth, data collection via DT was pretty good as well.

CONS

Depending on where you access DT, sometimes it gets a little bit slower. Also, make sure you export your data often, it won't keep it forever.

Heather

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Pretty intuitive, lots of features.

PROS

I really like that it offers access to FB text analysis as well as other SNS all in one platform. In addition, the analysis tool, similar to NVivo is nice to have in-house. At the same time, the exporting features can be quite helpful. The platfom is generally easy to navigate and clear.

CONS

The great thing about CH is that they have awesome user support, their base is so big that you can ping the community for help, without needing to go directly through someone at CH. Obviously, this will grow out over time, but in the interim there could be more quick and easy resources and support.

Vendor Response

Hi Heather, We appreciate the feedback. It is true that we remain a small startup, whereas there are bigger companies out there with huge budgets and massive user groups. One advantage when using our service is that you can meet directly with the founder to talk about the ways our tools support a variety of basic and applied research scenarios: https://calendly.com/discovertext Unlike some of the market research dashboards, we offer a set of text analytics tools for creating unique samples, collaborative annotation schemes, and unique data science measurements related to human and machine-learning. We have worked hard to document the features of the system: https://texifter.zendesk.com/hc/en-us Generally speaking, we respond to emails the same day and I hope if you keep working with the platform that you will reach out to get any support you need. Thanks, ~Stu

Replied March 2018

Shawn

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Excellent tool for group coding, text cleaning, deduplication, and training ML models

I use DiscoverText as a way to introduce my students to qualitative coding at the unit level, data cleaning, and training an ML model. It's a great tool for students without programming experience to work with data. In my own work, I use it to clean, deduplicate, and code social media datasets. The data cleaning and search functions are very powerful. The ML training features are also quite powerful.

PROS

The deduplication tools are amazing. Group coding is a snap. So is creating and testing training datasets.

CONS

The interface can take a little while to get the hang of -- some of the options are a little hidden, but the support is VERY responsive and the tutorials are helpful. This is not software that you can just click your way through without reading a little of the documentation -- but what would you expect with a powerful tool?

Vendor Response

Dear Shawn, I like to say those who know it best use it best. As user #4 out of thousands, we can safely pronounce you as "one who knows it best." Warmest regards, ~Stu

Replied April 2019

alexis

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2018

using for research

PROS

i like that you can go through tweets using only A keyword or two that are necessarily hashtags which make the research part of our project go a bit smoother

CONS

it is difficult to find what you are looking for with all the duplicated tweets, it would be easier if retweets weren't included.

Vendor Response

Alexis, The inclusion of retweets in a dataset is a user choice. It is not a feature of the software. There are features for excluding RTs when collecting the data and also for managing them if you do collect them. Further, another feature of the software is to sort all the duplicates, thereby showing the landscape of Tweet virality. You can also sample a single seed from every duplicate group, which has the effect of removing duplicates. I do not recall seeing any requests for support from you. I did, however, make a special trip to your campus to meet with a group of students whose work on the software we sponsored for an extended period of time. I'm scratching my head about this review. Stu

Replied January 2018

Montserrat

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

I've been using DiscoverText since 2012 for research on Twitter.

PROS

It can handle an enormous amount of data, you can automate the ingestion of feeds within certain dates and the frequency that you decide. You can generate tag clouds and timelines, look for the frequency of a term or any of the meta dat that a tweet has, etc.

CONS

It could be more intuitive, just to say something I think they can easily improve, but it got a lot better in the last months.

Lauren

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT