All Heimdal Threat Prevention Reviews

1-25 of 25 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Brian Andreas

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Avoid attacks by 2-way DNS filtering

Very useful. Big help as users will click on links or try to enter suspicious websites

PROS

Easy to use and highly effective. Short time from implementing to full use as all settings are predefined - you can of course change those.

CONS

It cost money :-) Heimdal separate functions in new modules. Everybody needs to make money but some functions could be under existing modules.

Reason for choosing Heimdal Threat Prevention

Heimdal has great support and an easy to use dashboard. Symantec do not have 2-way DNS filtering

Mark

Computer & Network Security, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

They just get it right!

Great Co, Great Product and excellent customer service - Heimdal Security stand proud for showing the industry how it should be done!

PROS

It's not just the feature rich software its that fact that this company stand right behind their product with nothing short of excellent support. They know it's important to get to clients promptly and they know they need to have actionable knowledge. They excel at both.

CONS

the web ui is a little cluttered and not easy to navigate. I'm learning to live with it's foibles and the Pros outway the cons.

Reason for choosing Heimdal Threat Prevention

too expensive and not available to smaller clients.

Reasons for switching to Heimdal Threat Prevention

BitDefender are rubbish when it comes to support and the product is tired.

Warren

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Heimdal - Does the job

The install was incredibly straight forward, and we've barely had to touch it since. We use it for ourselves and recommend it to all of our customers.

PROS

The best feature is its complete ease of use. To the untrained, it may look like it doesn't have many features. But that's because it is all managed from behind, and you don't need to touch it on the endpoint.

CONS

We do have the occasional oddity where a program stops working or a port is blocked, and this can be Heimdal being too over protective.

Reason for choosing Heimdal Threat Prevention

If you combine all of the features offered, and the price it would take to purchase all the features differently, it made complete sense. So it was a financial decision.

Reasons for switching to Heimdal Threat Prevention

The features which Heimdal offer, far outweighed ESETs offerings.

Isabelle

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

AntiVirus and More

PROS

The software does not take many resources, updates automatically, endpoints can be put in Groups for certain policies, the inventory tool is useful, and installation is quick.

CONS

It is based in another country, and customer support is on different hours.

Reason for choosing Heimdal Threat Prevention

Heimdal had many more options available.

Reasons for switching to Heimdal Threat Prevention

Webroot has no customer service. When we had an issue, I had to read through pages of technical papers online. And the solution was not acceptable.

Brian

Computer & Network Security, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Peace of mind

Support is second to none - very responsive and helpful. Peace of mind is absolute and the admin overview and ability to remediate remotely is fantastic. It is also built for the work-at-home culture when have settled into after covid.

PROS

It is founded on a deep understanding of the threat landscape and uses all the tools to mitigate that threat.

CONS

Can throw up some Java errors on Mac and the interface is a little clunky although a new one is on the way.

Reason for choosing Heimdal Threat Prevention

Same reasons as for ESET - head and shoulders above the alternatives

Reasons for switching to Heimdal Threat Prevention

Admin is simple - support is way better and features are more robust.

Brian

Newspapers, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Easy way to be secure

Windows and 3. party updates. End user and server protection.

PROS

Easy to use, high protection, fast and good support.

CONS

No missing features. Two times i had missing feature and in a very short time Heimdal has integrated it in the product.

Reasons for switching to Heimdal Threat Prevention

The price and heimdal are much easier to use

Jesper

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Very satisfied

PROS

We bought the product to get a "setup and forget" product to easily patch known 3rd party software on our company pc's. Today we have ended up using it for elevating rights when needed to manually install software and also DNS filtering to prevent users from reaching bad sites and services when not connected our sites. We are happy with the product.

CONS

We often do see false positives in Darklayer guard which we use time reporting to Heimdal. However Heimdal has promised to look into how we can easier report such a site to Heimdal for global white listing.

Steve

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Excellent supplemental protection

Since installing Heimdal I've never had to clean up from a single infection. I rarely think about it. It just works.

PROS

Since this software is not saturating the market as McAfee, Symantec, or AVG have, it is never specifically targeted by malware developers. Therefore it maintains a high rate of detection for zero-day threats with an acceptable rate of false positives.

CONS

After installing the software I frequently received spammy systray notifications begging me to upgrade, interfering with my full-screen HTPC GUI. However, emailing support I was able to resolve this issue.

Nathan

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

A very intuitive and thorough security product

The customer experience and support from Heimdal have been outstanding. Their representatives were on hand every step of the way and couldn't do enough to help.

PROS

It was clear from the start that Heimdal's security offering was very comprehensive and offered some of the best functionality on the market.

CONS

I least like the cost as once you have added the various elements this can prove pretty costly for an SMB. The pricing would be much more palatable for a larger firm.

Reason for choosing Heimdal Threat Prevention

Their offering seemed much more comprehensive and their pricing was favourable at the time.

Jesper

Furniture, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

DNS protection

Vary positive

PROS

The protecion against known malicious domains aswell as pattern recognition for unknown

CONS

internal DNS can get confused at times, trying to look up internal servers on the internet instead

Gustavo

Computer & Network Security, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

staying away from malicious websites and their consequences

monitoring all accesses that leave and enter my machines, I mainly prevent access to malicious situations, including data loss, fishing, capture of sensitive information, malware in general, etc. it's being done.

PROS

ease and tranquility. he does his job clearly, automatically and safely

CONS

So far, there's nothing in it that I can put as bad. I am 100% satisfied with it and its features.

Morten

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Secure and easy protection software

Really good program that easily and effectively protects the company from several types of attacks.

PROS

Easy to buy and install, easy to set up and requires minimal service.

CONS

Lacks function to handle licenses, so you do not have to get customer support to add / remove users.

Mark

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Provides extra peace of mind

Excellent

PROS

It requires little knowledge and very little intervention while performing an important and complex function.

CONS

Occasionally there is something I can't work out how to do - but support is always there to help.

Yannick

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Securing endpoints

PROS

Nothing has slipped past quarantine. What's more to like?

CONS

It's a bit difficult to manage and perform manual scans. Removing/deleting quarantined files requres direct access to the device.

Simon

Photography, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Superb

PROS

Smooth running, easy to install and use. High value for the money. Integrates perfectly with Bitdefender Total Security

CONS

I can not find anything to complain about.

George

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

light-weight

PROS

Light for the machine. I have been using it with windows 10

CONS

Not very easy interface, I am using it with windows 10

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Excellent security for PC

PROS

1. Easy to setup and use. 2. Interface has been modern and clean from start. 3. Provides the best protection against Malicious websites, phishing etc. 4. Has added more features like Firewall, antivirus etc. to compete with other security apps.

CONS

I did not find anything to dislike in the improved versions unlike in previous version in which the app used to change a DNS setting.

User Profile

Ștefan

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Best experience overall

PROS

Support is very responsive, even though this is a free trial.

CONS

I have nothing to complain about so far

Reasons for switching to Heimdal Threat Prevention

They got too expensive comparing with Heimdal

Mark

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: