All WP Cerber Security Reviews

1-25 of 44 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Francisco Manuel

Verified reviewer

Computer Hardware, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

La mejor proteccion gratuita que puedes obtener

Best free security plugin for Wordpress.

PROS

Easy of installation and use. The default parameters work well almost all the time.

CONS

Price. If you need to use premium features on non-profit websites, the price, added to other payments (hosting, plugins, support, etc) becomes unnafordable.

Reason for choosing WP Cerber Security

I use both.

Sidnei

Graphic Design, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

An excellent security plugin

Extremely important to use a security plugin since Wordpress is very popular and consequently is the target of attacks and invasion attempts. The most complete version has many useful and interesting functions that greatly increase the level of protection. Super recommended.

PROS

Cerber Security in its Free version brings numerous features. Login attempts are logged and blocked; The Control Panel has very separate and clear tabs. Legacy mode is useful for loading before other components used on the site. Blocking uploads of PHP files is particularly useful on sites that share files in PDF or .jPG format submitted by users via forms.

CONS

I would like a less monochrome and more youthful graphical interface.

Reason for choosing WP Cerber Security

The question of Firewall (which is not available in the Free version of Sucuri Security) and the question of financial investment in a subscription.

Elaine

Printing, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

WP Cerber for the uninitiated

I outsourced the build of my Amazon Affiliates website in Wordpress and took delivery of a live site which had basic security. Enhancing the security was my first priority. Although I have an IT background I am a raw beginner with managing my own website. I noted that I had free WP Cerber and looking at this I decided to try the free trial of Professional right away. I worked through the guidance provided in the Getting Started pages with great care. Disaster. I was locked out of my WP admin site and my website broke completely. I then spent the next two days working through multiple blogs to resolve the issues. The WP Cerber Reset file didn’t work and ultimately I had to uninstall all plugins completely via my host site files and rebuild bit by bit. I still don’t really know what the problem was although I suspect a conflict between plugins. I reinstalled WP Cerber because notwithstanding my experience I am nervous about security and wanted to resolve everything and understand the impacts of the changes that were being recommended. I still considering implementing the pro version so that I can sleep at night knowing that someone is out there defending my website from attack.

PROS

I gain great satisfaction from seeing lists of suspicious activity being blocked and denied including locking out of subnets of suspicious actors. I appreciated all of the options available to tighten security and the guidance provided by the website on how to implement it.

CONS

Despite the guidance I experienced issues with implementation of the Free Pro version. For the neophyte it is a minefield to work out what to implement and what to avoid since the impacts are not fully understood.

Kalman

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

It's a very handy and useful plugin

PROS

It's a very handy and useful plugin and has a very good report dashboard. Easy to install but for advanced user there are a lot of plus settings.

CONS

The license key dropped out few times and then I had to add back in again.

Reasons for switching to WP Cerber Security

The plugin interfered with lot of other functions.

Ananda

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

One of the best security plugins for Wordpress

Even the free version gives you enough insights to understand how important it is to secure the own Wordpress installation. I have a lot of actions blocked and this makes me feel much better every day working on my site. I use the Genesis framework along with Imagely Themes and all my plugins work seamlessly together, WP Cerber perfectly fits in without giving me any annoying moments of instabilities etc.

PROS

The installation was quick and without any issues, as it should be. Afterwards you familiarize yourself with a well structured "Getting started Guide" and more information right at hand. The information provided makes all the available security measures accessible even for non-techie people. After I spent ~20 minutes everything was setup properly and is protecting my site flawlessly. Changed login URL and few other "standards" hardened my Wordpress site effectively.

CONS

The advertising on the right always attracts my eyes and the German translation is sometimes bit strange. Other than that it does what it should, keeps my site up and secure. I would expect bit more explaining information about the Anti-Spam Protection options as this doesn't become really clear what if and how. Up until now I didn't get any spam comments with the free version but maybe this changes with more traffic.

Reason for choosing WP Cerber Security

After using the free version for a while I found out, that I don't need any reCaptcha stuff or any other additional security plugins. This keeps my site fast and clean and as an EU-citizen I also get rid of additional cookies forcing me to have a lot of switches for my cookie consent. Summarized I can say, free version covers 95% of all needs, if you need more or just want to have the pro features due to more traffic (=exposure) it is still worth the money for not having any legal or uptime headache.

Ismail

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

My 3 years use experience

I have been using the WP Server Security plugin since 2019 February as the primary security and security related control tool for my blog site. It has extraordinary features to monitor, configure and the tools to prevent almost all nasty attacks on the site. It is unbelievable how many attacks are coming to a site on the public internet. Attacks are mostly coming to take control of your site in a way to upload vulnerable codes into the site and run them. Apparently there are some common codes hidden in some old version plugins which attackers are probing them continuously. It is also the usual attack type to get your login screen and try to log into your site as the administrator. Creating spam comments looks the most simple malicious action among others. Keep in mind that all these attacks are coming from automated tools and repeating thousands times. WP Cerber Security has all the required precautions to prevent them. It has facilities to hide your login screen, identify attacks and stops them repeating, gives you control which require in various levels of expertise to configure your site to minimize attack attempts among all other useful and effective abilities.

PROS

It is an easy one stop tool to have a secure site

CONS

This is a comprehensive software gives you control of your site which require in various levels of expertise to configure your site.

Reason for choosing WP Cerber Security

I tried free version for a while than I purchased it based upon my positive experience

Reasons for switching to WP Cerber Security

Lack of functionality

David

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

We are non-technical

Perfectly satisfied and looking forward to months of peace of mind especially as I am non-technical.

PROS

About three months ago, I had the unfortunate experience of having our site attacked by hackers who left the main files inundated with a virus and the site taken down by our hosting company. I turned to them for help, but they could only refer me to a third party who would charge a great deal. We are a small association of non-technical professionals who pay an annual fee for the site's upkeep and other administration. Not enough in the bank to pay out for exorbitant prices. I looked at various solutions that would clean the area. Amongst the solutions looked at was WP Cerber Security. Attracted by their website information and offer of a free version that appeared to provide more than most of their competitors was an easy alternative for me. I ran the scan and followed the outcome to clean the files that had become compromised. I have continued to leave the free plugin active and checked almost daily to see how it prevented further malicious activity. I am so impressed with the software that today; I have recommended our members convert the free version to the pro version for peace of mind and security. It is a no-brainer, and I can safely recommend its use to anyone searching for a solution.

CONS

The scan takes a long time to complete this is not a negative but can be a bit frustrating when one is busy. Also if you try to add a site to the safe listing it can be a bit confusing to carry it out correctly.

Reason for choosing WP Cerber Security

Easy to understand and better protection.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

WP Cerber, Just What I Needed

I have done a lot of research and tested several different plugins over the past few months. Of those, the plugins are either too simple and didn't offer the options I wanted or were too difficult to understand. I can't afford to spend a couple of days trying to learn and implement a plugin. WP Cerber falls right in the middle for me. It is simple enough to set up quickly but advanced enough to offer all the options I like to have at my disposal. I have now transferred all of my client's sites and my own over to WP Cerber.

PROS

WP Cerber is loaded with options making it easy to secure your/client sites from the majority of attacks. The UI and instructions are simple to understand, making implementation quick and painless. The advanced menus and options allow you to increase your site's security as you better understand what you need.

CONS

There have been a couple of instances where it has blocked me from accessing or doing something that I should have been. However, this was my fault, and I was still learning the plugin's ins and outs.

Vanessa

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Easy to use

PROS

I like that WP Cerber security offers a free plugin. The free option allows you to scan your site weekly. The plugin also notifies you of possible attacks. It offers a number of helpful features such as whitelist and blacklisting IP's. You can also see details of the IP's as well.

CONS

The quick scan can be a bit confusing or offer limited features. Some settings may be a bit confusing to new users if you aren't very tech savy.

Reasons for switching to WP Cerber Security

Less complex interface.

Brandi

Cosmetics, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

WP Cerber Security

PROS

What I liked most were the login limits and notifications and the vulnerability scanning.

CONS

The cost is what I liked least about WP Cerber Security.

scott

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Simple yet effective.

Simple and elegant at what it does the ability to ignore a vital part of any websites security knowing that your safe and simply a click away from real time updates on a number of issues makes Cerber a valuable asset in any defence.

PROS

From locking out annoying automated bots from trying to get access to your backend to simply one click hardening and the never ending list of secure options to select from Cerber for us is a simple yet intuitive addon that we never knew we needed, it's seamless integration with a number of our websites and simply being able to launch and forget knowing that everything is continuously running as you left it, its now in the top 5 of all programs that we will add to any future and current ongoing WordPress structured websites we launch.

CONS

The simplicity of the software made is simply over look the need to turn off the constant reminders on however many lockouts were happening, even our dedicated security mailbox couldn't handle the sheer influx of emails that were being sent out - thankfully a couple of check boxes later and this was resolved took us a while to get there however.

Robert

Human Resources, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

My line of defense for Worpress

I researched many security solutions for wordpress, some big and fancy, some look fantastic but unknown and I chose one that was simple to use and has proven, day after day to be my line of defence. WP Cerber Security does its job well, produces reports and defends your site (lots of hard work) from malicious software's and the general sniffer on the web. (full of them). I was so glad to come back from a weekend off and see that my site had been protected by WP Cerber from illegal hackers and stopped a possible intrusion by blocking the intruders IP sub-domain from accessing the site, its a smart software. By detecting suspicious behaviour it analyses the level of threat and takes action. I am a happy customer and do recommend WP Cerber to all worpress administrators, the paid version and the free version are great, but the paid version maintains all the updates, servers and programming to keep them at the top of their game so if you are pro go paid.

PROS

Security on the web is a must and there is absolutely no way around that. Working with wordpress is great, all the plug-ins, builders and a fantastic community of great people, but there is always the other side, with popularity comes illegal hacking. We work with a php based system and it has its vulnerabilities, some known and easy to solve some still not known and there you can get into in deep trouble, CW Cerber is simple to use and to get familiar with, it helps you with many options and possibilities.

CONS

Up to now, all working well. Maybe a tutorial on their site is a good idea, many people don´t have a tech background so having small, to the point, videos is important.

Nick

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

WP Cerber Security is my favorite Wordpress security plugin

In my opinion, WP Cerber Security is a very useful and easy to use plugin compared with others. And even the free version do a lot more than other Wordpress security plugin. If spending some money buying this great plugin can make you feel safe and comfortable on your website, why not doing it?

PROS

WP Cerber Security gives you the ability to check users login status and most importantly block IP that constantly probing for vulnerable code and give out malicious request, this actually helps a lot because you definitely don't want someone access their backdoor and sneak into your website and you didn't even know it! Once you find out which IP is doing these, you can simply clicking one button and add those IPs into black list, it's so easy and useful. Really great plugin.

CONS

The setting is a little complicated since there are so many options to deal with. You definitely have to spend some time on it. But luckily, WP Cerber Security make great documents and show you how to configure step by step.

Curtis

Fund-Raising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Does a great job stopping hacking

PROS

I love the ability to move wp-contents, block wp-admin.php, wp-login.php and setup customization for all of that.

CONS

The vulnerability scan seems to pop many false positives but it has identified files that are not supposed to be present.

Reason for choosing WP Cerber Security

Sub-domains are cheaper and ease of use

Lois

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

I have been using Gerber for a couple of months

I installed Gerber on a website a couple of months ago when I started having trouble with attempted log ins and attempted malicious codes. I had used Wordfence a couple of years ago but had to uninstall it because of some problems including being locked out even though I was whitelisted. I am very happy with Gerber Security. It is easy to use and I love the features. I mainly use the activity and blacklisting IPs. Following activity has helped me with adding more security features and blacklisting IPs (500 so far) has kept the bad guys at bay. The malicious attempts that usually had been over 200 per day have slowed to 5-10 per day and I am seriously looking at upgrading my Gerber as i want to block countries now. Thank you Gerber you have given me peace and website security!

PROS

Very intuitive and easy to use. Has all the features I want. I love that it made it easy to create an alternative log in page and block the original. I love that it is easy to follow the activity to see what the bad guys are trying to do and easy to blacklist them. Also it was easy to set up parameters like how many log in attempts, in what time frame, and when locked out.

CONS

I haven't found any. Oh yeah, I didn't use some of the features because I did not understand what they would do so maybe some laymen explanations would help.

Reasons for switching to WP Cerber Security

I had problems with wordfence including being locked out even though I was whitelisted.

Simon

Design, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Keeping my client websites secure!

I've been using this on several sites over the past year or too after trying several other plugins that end up being bloatware. I find that Cerber is extremely fast and easy to use.

PROS

Cerber is a fantastic piece of security software, one of the best features is that it doesn't slow down your site, or is super intrusive like many other packages for Wordpress.

CONS

Maybe it could have improved updates on malware and known intrusive IPs. Also, moving the site admin interferes if an external client asks for their data to be removed, the email sent back to them doesn't take into consideration the admin page login move. Would be fantastic to see a Credit Card fraud integration.

Reason for choosing WP Cerber Security

Fast, secure and easy to use.

Reasons for switching to WP Cerber Security

Jetpack has an annoying feature that keeps calling pixel.wp which sometimes grinds the process to a halt. Wordfence has excellent features but is so bloated, it ends up slowing the site down.

Chris

Music, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

WP Cerber Security gives me peace of mind

We have tried multiple other security solutions, but in terms of causing unintended issues WP Cerber is the best!

PROS

Using WP Cerber helps to protect my website against bad actors accessing my site. The free version is great and protects from DDOS attacks and locks out many threats, all of the critical threats are at bay using WP Cerber. When using the Paid version it gives access to the additional security we need on our website. It stops bots from signing up and taking action which was a real issue before using this software.

CONS

Sometimes I get a little bit lost when using the dashboard and adding IP addresses to the whitelist, but the functionality is there! Its a me problem

Horst

Human Resources, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

Not only do you feel safe, be it

The use (for the gigantic functionality) is absolutely resource-saving. As admin you get the right answers quickly on the homepage. As a user you don't notice anything. The performance does not go down excessive.

PROS

The possibilities to adjust the security settings to your own needs are so extensive that you can restrict and open almost everything as you need it. An example: If you are only active in certain countries, all others can easily be deactivated. This ensures that you only receive leads from the target region and keeps all attacks from other regions away.

CONS

Not all texts have been translated. The headlines are, the explanations are not - it should be the other way around.

Vincent

Medical Practice, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Best Security Plugin for Wordpress

The setting was not difficult but I had to followed the « getting stat » explanation… It takes some time to follow all steps. The good thing is that it gave me the opportunity to better understand what I am enabling. The free version is the best ever security plugins I found (I have used many). I will definitely choose Cerber Security when I will switch to a Paid Security plugin.

PROS

There are tons of security plugins for WP, but WP Cerber Security is the only one that offer so many setting for free. It makes it much better than other options. I like very much the custom login page, antispam protection, restricted access to API, and the Two-Factor Authentication.

CONS

I would have appreciate if explanation were translated in French.

wendy

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE