All Device42 Reviews

1-25 of 60 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Geraldo

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Device42 give you great insights and control over your infrastruccture.

From stale spreadsheet, to scripted google sheets to Device42 was a journey that we took and now we're happy that these days are over. Device42 provide a great deal of visibility and help us in many process throughout the org.

PROS

It's easy to set-up and get up-and-running in days with a close-to-perfect coverage

CONS

It can be overwhelming for some folks, but the customer success team is great in covering that.

Reasons for switching to Device42

Automation needs.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

D42 is a comprehensive and well developed small market solution

Very positive. We like the product so much that while the enterprise has selected another vendor for CMDB, we continue to use it internally for Server and Network-based CMDB, data center mapping, and rack elevations.

PROS

Easy installation, configuration, and ongoing management.

CONS

modular licensing for various components

Reason for choosing Device42

Cost overall. API functionality. Elevations and mapping features.

Kriss

Computer Networking, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Useful, rough and improving

We use it for DCIM and network discovery. Does a good job at both and the value for money is there. Support has been very helpful, development seems overworked - don’t except a quick resolution to the issues that are present. Would definitely recommend the product. As a side note, they are offering cash payouts for five star reviews, so I’d encourage taking any reviews with a grain of salt.

PROS

The feature set is decently well thought out and it does what it says on the tin. We rolled it out to cover 1200 devices (60 or so models) inside if two months, which is a very good clip - most stuff worked out of the box and we managed to work around annoying (but minor) issues to get workflow integration going.

CONS

The UI is the weakest point, both in terms of usage and documentation - a good portion of it is undocumented or under documented. The password vault offering may be useful in some scenarios but is insecure by design, would not store anything actually sensitive in it. If you use bonding/port channels, expect that most of the network visualisation breaks down.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

One of the best DCIM platforms out there with an API that allows great possibilities

This has become a tool to nearly everyone in the organization. It has allowed us to keep track of a very dynamic environment and ultimately improved user workflows. These types of benefits improve our quality of work and allow us to save time in many ways for other aspects of our business.

PROS

One of the best things about Device42 is their amazing customer support; they are very quick to address issues and are always implementing feature improvements. Device42 also offers a one-stop-shop for all things DCIM, a robust IPAM, Password management, and additional add-ons such as power monitoring that has ultimately helped improve our workflow and organizational capabilities. Their auto-discovery tools are quite in-depth at pulling information from our devices.

CONS

With all software, there will be bugs and issues to workout, but Device42's willingness to tackle and improve upon their platform constantly is what keeps us coming back. Auto-discovery can be difficult to implement depending on the complexity of the environment but the addition of remote collectors has definitely helped.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Device42 review

The support is great and helps us when we have both large and small questions. The dependency chart is appreciated by our change manager.

PROS

Great tool with many features, you can start with one area and populate it and then move on to next area until all is linked together. We started with the IPAM area to get away from our Excel spreadsheets. I realy like the feature that lets me populate something and then export that data into Excel. In Excel I can quickly add more rows of same type of information and then import it back into Device42. We have also started to leverage the welldocumented and powerfull API. The ability to add custom fields helps you to make sure you can add business specific information.

CONS

The autodiscovery features are really powerfull and sometimes picks up unneaded information. An improvment here would be to bbe able to exclude som information and connections.

Dinco

Computer Games, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Great tool for IT Inventory Management and CMDB

PROS

Automation and Integration is what I consider is the most important. We have created multiple integration with other tools that allow us to have IT information in one single place.

CONS

- One thing I think should be improved is the customization of discovery. It would be very useful if we can modify what is being discovered by autodiscovery and agents, not only device technical information but bussiness related information.- Other thing is the difference between the different ways of reporting, for example, we don't get the same results from Devices table export, Classic and Advanced reports, and DOQL queries. Sometimes is confusing for several users to know what is the best way for reports.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Best value DCIM with open API. Solid customer support.

PROS

For us, Device42 is really one of the best data center infrastructure management platform out there in terms of flexibility. It’s extensive RESTful API offers wonderful possibilities and has allowed us to integrate into our internal systems as well as a number of other areas in our organization including VMware vRealize Automation It’s a highly accessible inventory and asset management application that offers a lot of functionality with minimal hassle and a reasonable cost. And the best part is it just keeps getting better with every iteration.

CONS

At the moment, bringing up connections on a single device or rack can be done easily without a hitch, but we’d like to see more of it in a much larger scale. Their customer support has been really good though in addressing all other issues and they promised to get back to us if this gets included in development.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2017

Easy to access, easy to use - means network documentation stays up to date.

The software helps us keep track of our off-site colocations. We can track rack information, including what devices are where, power loads, and physical connectivity to each device and through patch panels.

PROS

Having information about our remote rack space documented and easily accessible has been a boon, especially when we need to request 3rd party remote hand to make simple changes for us. I think last month we needed a small change, and I was able to pull out Device42 and follow a set of cables through 2 patch panels in order to provide precise instructions on cable changes I wanted completed by the technician providing the remote hands.

CONS

We are currently primarily using Device42 to track remote sites on how things are situated in racks and how everything is interconnected at the site. One thing I feel they could improve for the future is the extraction of physical connectivity information from their software. I would love to be able to see a full holistic view of the physical interconnections throughout one room, or a building. At the moment its easy to bring up interconnections on a single device, or a single rack, but nothing on a grander scale. I've spoken with support and they said they'll mention this to development to see if this is on the road map.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2017

Robust product and amazing supprt

PROS

The flexibility of the product overall. It's ability to integrate with so many other products through it's open API was a key reason for purchase. I love the ability to make mass changes to devices by exporting the data out to a spreadsheet format and re-importing versus having to touch each device individually.

CONS

There are a few limitations to the current version of the product but support has been wonderful to deal with and they truly listen to their customers requests for future functionality. We are still learning the product so I can't speak on all functions as of yet. Building single scan jobs to encompass, SNMP v2/3 as well as SSH would be great versus having to build 3 different scans for the same subnet space. I'd like to see IPAM show all IP addresses for a particular subnet showing both used and unused IP's. Currently it will just show you used so you need to scan through and look for a break in the sequence versus looking for an IP with a green bubble showing it's available. These are small Cons and definitely not a show stopper for us. Just nice to haves.

Ernest

Verified reviewer

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Best Find in a while!

Great experience and would recommend to anyone in need of asset tracking.

PROS

Easy to use, if you need a feature just request it and they usually get right to it, and customer support very responsive!

CONS

Had to build new VM for upgrade! This took some time, and a little help from CS, i had to go to a certain version, then upgrade to the new, a little confusing!

James

Computer Games, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

A great CMDB tool

Overall the partnership with Device42 over the past 3 years have been great. The operations support for the product is a simple process and ongoing support from the sales team is also good.

PROS

The product met all of our requirements for a CMDB. The Device 42 team provided great support during our proof of concept testing and implementation. The implementation was not as complex compared to other enterprise CMDB tools. Ongoing support from our D42 team is great. We also have met with their product team to provide feedback for future features and enhancements.

CONS

We are looking forward to Device42 to continue to enhance the dashboards and advanced reporting tool.

Reason for choosing Device42

Device42 met all of CMDB requirements, ease of use for the user interface, "out of the box" reporting and advanced reporting and licensing model. The additional key fact was the support model which Device42 provides.

Satesh

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Great tool to keep everything organized in one place.

Each team would maintain multiple spreadsheets for physical inventory, passwords, rack diagrams for each datacenters, warranty information and software licenses. Having one tool to manage all this information simplifies everything and makes it easier to update everything . One pane of glass as they say.

PROS

When I first started using Device42 I was impressed with how helpful the sales team was in the deployment process. Once deployed I noticed how many tools were included in the base software. In the first few weeks after deployment in our data centers we needed to quickly run an inventory of all of our SSL certificates. Using Device42 we were able to run in an automated scan that gave us a report that we used to update all of our SSL certificates. The more you use the software the more things that can be useful for you company. I can also say that their support is top notch and always willing to help and work with you until your problem is fixed.

CONS

There is not much to complain about when it comes to this software. If I have to nitpick I would say that it would be the update process. I would prefer for the updates could be directly installed. Other than that its a great product to use.

Christopher

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Device42 provides an amazing single pane of glass look into your environment.

Overall, Device42 has been a fantastic addition to our IT software stack. With the feature set included with the product, we ended up with a very powerful tool that has fulfilled needs way above and beyond our initial project scope, and at a fraction of the price of other competing products. If you are looking for an ITAM system, and you don't at least do a Proof of Concept rollout of Device42, you're making a mistake.

PROS

The feature set for Device42 is fantastic, we were pricing out only ITAM systems when we came across the product line, and for less money than any of the other ITAM systems we looked at, Device42 came with an ITAM, IPAM, a software licensing tool, and a support team that actually answers questions and provides access to live agents rather than some anonymous support team. Their support people are great, even for casually emailed questions to their support address, I get actual responses (not just a canned "We got your email" response) in typically a couple hours. They have helped me a TON with setting up the software, which is amazingly helpful in tempering the only "con" we have found with Device42 so far (more on that below).

CONS

We have been using Device42 for a few months now, an the only "complaint" I would say that I have found is that the setup was very involved, and required substantial support from the Device42 support team. That said...they were available literally every step of the way, and helped me get through anything I got stuck on over remote session.

John

Financial Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

We been using D42 since 2015 and have found this to be one of the best DCIM systems for the money.

We are able to maintain an extremely high accuracy for our environment which is extremely dynamic. Using the APIs we have integrated D42 into several of our production processes allowing us to automate processes that depend on accurate inventories.

PROS

Ease of set up; detail of information gathered through the base product; base features received for the price; agent-less discovery; new remote collector support; support for multiple scan methods - WinRM, SNMP, SSH; multiple hypervisor support - VMWare, KVM, Openstack, AWS, Azure; built-in rack elevations; level of customization available; Web interface; REST API

CONS

Documentation is a bit behind the versions and could use some updates; Depending on the environment auto-discovery can be a bit of a challenge;

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

A Very Good discovery tool with super quick support !

D42 has been helping us for the server migration planning, reports are helping in application assessment and move group finalization and decide right sizing for target server.

PROS

D42 support is very quick and to the point. Anyone who doesn't have discovery experience, can work on this tool easily. This tool helps a lot if you are going through server migration planning phase. This tool helps a lot if you want to figure out the application or server dependencies. It gives a very good picture of server communication, capture all the inbound/outbound communications.

CONS

Few reports can only be downloaded from DOQL script, there should be a direct download option for all the reports. No option available to test the targets server to ensure that scanning will be successful considering all the prerequisite. sub-appliance( WDS) dependency for windows server scanning. No CLI option

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Very good software

We are not utilizing the software to it's fullest, but primarily use it for asset management and data center views. It has been a tremendous tool for us as we have over 7,000 devices, more than 180 Comm rooms and 100 buildings. Hard to imagine tracking all those devices and rooms without this software.

PROS

Very easy to use, great customer service and great support. Any issues I have had, Device42 has been more than willing to help resolve. In fact on more than one occasion we did a WebEx style meeting and they stayed on the WebEx much longer than I expected, all to make sure I was completely satisfied and the issue was fully resolved.

CONS

The auto discovery does not automatically discover every device we use, However, when we come across something that is not being autodiscovered, Device42 programmers are more than willing to take a look and make the software as fully functioning as possible

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY