All PRTG Reviews

1-25 of 231 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Nicat

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

It is a pleasure to use

I have been working in this field for more than 5 years, and everyone knows that you have to monitor the established IT infrastructure at all times. There are many solutions like PRTG, but I prefer PRTG, which is chosen with both the convenience of the interface and a lot of features. It was very easy to set up and manage. And one of my favorite parts is that you can use licenses that are suitable for your environment, even if your environment grows in the future, there is no need to rebuild the license accordingly. I think the monitoring application is very important from the point of view of security and stability, and PRTG is the most suitable and convenient for me among these applications.

PROS

It was very easy to use in the first turn, moreover, it has sensors suitable for the desired device.

CONS

There are many network monitoring tools like PRTG, but PRTG had the most convenient and easy-to-use interface among them. It has many good features. I've been using PRTG for several years now and I'm very satisfied. There's nothing I don't like about it.

Reason for choosing PRTG

Considering the prices and advantages, the most optimal choice was PRTG

Vendor Response

Dear Nicat, Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that PRTG's interface stands out as the most convenient and easy-to-use among other network monitoring tools. We're glad to have met your expectations and provided you with a satisfying experience over the years. Furthermore, we greatly appreciate your support and look forward to continuing to exceed your expectations in the future. Your Paessler Team

Replied June 2023

Sachin

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Simple & Powerful Monitoring tool,feature oriented,reliable sensors

Notifications and mail alerts for minute attributes in all devices rescue us from major hardware or network issues and reduce downtime to a large extent.

PROS

User-friendly dashboard, Easy to configure. High quality sensor reporting, Can monitor almost all server platforms, Networking devices, an awesome product.

CONS

Nothing much to say, almost perfect. The only suggestion is to make it budget-friendly for medium-level customers.

Reason for choosing PRTG

PRTG was more user-friendly and Professional compared to others.

Reasons for switching to PRTG

More user-friendly, and notification delivery was much better compared to Observium.

Vendor Response

Dear Sachin, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG and we love hearing about how you are using it. Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied May 2022

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2022

Easy to implement, web based and nearly agent less monitoring

It was easy to install and manage, it's helpling a lot with monitoring and alerting and it's aeasy to use. Also to adapt or tweak thresholds is very easy.

PROS

It's very easy to implement and for a lot of the user cases it does not need an agent or software to be installed

CONS

For well known Enterprise Products e.g. VMWare VCenter there are only limited intergration available.

Reasons for switching to PRTG

Icinga was to complicated to setup and to use.

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied May 2022

Warren

Building Materials, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Fast and easy to set up monitoring

PROS

The initial setup of PRTG is very easy, and the 100 free sensors allows you to monitor a reasonable part of your network for free to determine that it will do the desired job - or if you only have a small network, this may be fine to monitor your entire network.

CONS

Some advanced features like the ability to set up auto-remediation of issues would be nice, as would the ability to use PRTG behind Cloudflare.

Reason for choosing PRTG

PRTG was faster and easier to set up and have a functional monitoring system, while also being relatively low cost.

Vendor Response

Dear Warren, Thank you for your positive feedback on PRTG's easy setup and free sensor offering. We appreciate your suggestions and we'll consider them for future updates to improve our product's capabilities. Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2024

Matthew

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

PRTG Network Monitor is a powerful tool

This tool has saved us a lot of time with configuration of in-depth service monitoring

PROS

The ease to implement and on-board new devices into the portal. The out-the-box templates are also very good and enable us to monitor in-depth services with ease

CONS

Bespoke and customised service monitoring is a bit complicated and it would be nice to have more comprehensive documentation on this

Reasons for switching to PRTG

We found the depth of monitoring of network devices in particular gave us an edge over competitors using other tools

Vendor Response

Dear Matthew, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us! We're happy to hear that you find PRTG Network Monitor to be a powerful tool. It's great to know that the ease of implementation and onboarding of new devices, along with the out-of-the-box templates, have helped you to effectively monitor services. Your Paessler Team

Replied August 2023

Brock

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

My go-to monitoring solution for almost 10 years

I have been extremely happy with PRTG for the close to 10 years that I have used it. It has been extremely reliable, which is paramount for a tool you are using to monitor your entire network.

PROS

I love how easy it is to get rolled out and customized to work for pretty much anything with an IP Address. Real-time and historical data that is provided in PRTG is invaluable.

CONS

While this is not necessarily it's intended purpose, the Syslog/SNMP sensors could use some work to make it easier to use them as a collector/trap for historical logs.

Reason for choosing PRTG

More polished product. Ease of use. Price. Cleaner interface. Recommendations from others.

Vendor Response

Dear Brock, Thank you for leaving us this review. We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG and we love hearing about how you are using it. Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied May 2022

Ken

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Best Monitoring Tool for the money

We have a very good experience with the Network Monitor and have recommended to some colleges.

PROS

The ease of setup and configuration and also how to get alerts in case of an issues.

CONS

More option can be added but overall, we are happy for what we were looking for.

Reasons for switching to PRTG

Price and the functionality we were looking for.

Vendor Response

Dear Ken, Thank you for your positive feedback! We're happy to hear that you found our monitoring tool easy to set up and configure, and that you appreciate the alert system for problem detection. Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2024

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Easy installation and configuration.

A very easy and intuitive tool with a lot of material available for consultation without the need to program in code

PROS

Native sensors and easy customization of dashboards

CONS

Some sensors still need to be configured via script or OID

Reason for choosing PRTG

visual maps, installation and configuration of sensors

Reasons for switching to PRTG

You don't need to install an agent or have a separate database, and you don't need to know how to program

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! Your Paessler Team

Replied December 2022

Carlos

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

PRTG is a great option to monitor your IT assets

The experience has been good in general. Once you get everything done in terms of configurations and custom settings, you basically need to keep watching the dashboard and your email for the notifications.

PROS

I like the interface, which is very versatile and allows you to customize the views that are more important to you. I also like to receive notifications when something happens so we can quickly react and fix.

CONS

Some of the sensors require very complex configurations and that sometimes prevents us to get the most from PRTG. The system is so complete that it also has too much settings for each sensor which sometimes makes the work of configuring them very exausting.

Reason for choosing PRTG

I'm not sure which competitors would be considered, but in my case the product was in the company already.

Vendor Response

Dear Carlos, Thank you for your detailed review! We're glad to hear that you find PRTG's interface flexible and customizable, allowing you to respond quickly to incidents. We're constantly working to simplify sensor configurations while maintaining the system's comprehensive capabilities. Likewise, we appreciate your feedback and are committed to improving your experience. Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2024

Chad

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

PRTG Network Monitor Review: Simplify Your Network Management

In terms of performance and reliability, PRTG generally receives positive feedback. Its distributed monitoring architecture helps ensure high availability and fault tolerance, contributing to a smooth and uninterrupted monitoring experience

PROS

One common positive aspect users highlight is the real-time insights provided by PRTG, which allow them to proactively identify and address network issues before they escalate. The ability to customize dashboards, reports, and alerts according to specific requirements is also highly appreciated.

CONS

While PRTG is known for its user-friendly interface, some find the initial learning curve steep, especially when configuring more advanced monitoring settings or integrating with third-party systems.

Vendor Response

Dear Chad, Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad to hear that you find PRTG's real-time insights valuable for proactive network management. Your Paessler Team

Replied April 2024

User Profile

Carolina

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

the best IT infrastructure analysis with PRTG

As technical support of our organization focused on LATAM customers we have made use of different tools with which we monitor the entire deployment of fiber optic network in different countries, PRTG stands out within that palette of monitoring tools since it allows remotely and through its different communication protocols to connect remotely with the different equipment and resources and obtain from them clear and accurate data, In addition, we can geographically locate the different sensors and program preventive alarms according to their impact on the network, the notifications are instantaneous and arrive simultaneously to the personnel who are active in the shift for their immediate reaction.

PROS

When we talk about PRTG we immediately think of a very consistent, stable and oriented tool for the analysis and monitoring of all our network resources, being part of NOC Colombia through PRTG I can have a global view of the status of the fiber optic network and the transport layer equipment involved in it, provides detailed metrics that help us to diagnose the different failures reported by our users and incidentally to generate the trubleshooting of the different failures reported on the access network. Referring to the tool I can say that it has a very complete interface with its different functions strategically located and able to allow adaptation to our needs.

CONS

Based on the criteria of the number of network components (servers, switches, routers, virtual machines) it is necessary to evaluate the type of license which depends on the number of sensors that are required to have absolute vision of all these teams, therefore, the associated costs will rise, although seeing the cost/benefit ratio is justifiable that investment.

Vendor Response

Dear Carolina, Thank you for your positive review of PRTG. We're thrilled to hear that our tool provides you with a consistent and stable analysis and monitoring solution for your network resources. It's great to know that PRTG offers a global view of the fiber optic network and transport layer equipment, helping you diagnose and troubleshoot reported failures effectively. We appreciate your feedback on the comprehensive interface and its adaptability to your specific needs. We're committed to continuously enhancing PRTG to meet your expectations. Your Paessler Team

Replied June 2023

Mohamed

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

One of the most powerful infrastructure monitoring software

A good experience and I recommend using it, as it is one of the most powerful network monitoring software, but the free version must be tried to ensure that it works in a manner commensurate with the network and the work environment.

PROS

The large number of monitoring operations on the servers and the availability of options to monitor and clarify cloud services in detail It is an integrated control panel and you can control the number of seconds and services of the machine And it divides them for you into categories such as the machines that are hosted on the ESXI and puts them in a separate group and so on. The interface is excellent, clear and fast, unlike some other programs It is characterized by its work on the local server without the need for a separate machine.

CONS

A little slow in the hardware check process Guidance messages cover some important buttons, which prevents them from being noticed. Some errors are not clear, such as when I ask to monitor the Memory and Hardisk, the error is not clear if it is in the Port or the Authentication process or even the Firewall, so I hope to detail the errors to facilitate their solution. There is no monitoring of Ping in the form of a list and the form of a tree, it is difficult to monitor all devices on one page.

Reasons for switching to PRTG

Because it suits our work environment more, but I would not say that it is better.

Vendor Response

Dear Mohamed, Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Have a look at our support section on our homepage. Here you will find many useful tips and tricks to help you get the most out of PRTG. Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied June 2022

Adam

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Highly Customizable and Very Capable Systems Monitor.

Saved our bacon numerous times. Was able to monitor just about everything I could throw at it. Very satisfied with the performance and options of the product.

PROS

The plethora of ways and systems to monitor. Built in support for Windows Active Directory, DNS, SQL Server and more. So many aspects to monitor - SSL Certificates, Running Services, individual SQL tables.With SNMP, you can add anything that supports that protocol. I Added Printer toner levels.Integrates out of the box with Active Directory, for single sign on purposes. Fine grained security options. An API to easily add new systems.The free version is full featured, limiting only the amount of sensors (100) you can run.Built in Integration with other well known systems like Meraki, and Sophos.

CONS

It's a great product that does what it does every well. Nothing really comes to mind. Perhaps too much customization.

Vendor Response

Dear Adam, Thank you for your positive review! We're glad to hear that PRTG is a valuable tool for you, offering a wide range of monitoring capabilities and seamless integration with various systems. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that PRTG is helping you save the day. If you ever have any suggestions or need further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us. Your Paessler Team

Replied November 2023

Irfan

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Network & Bandwidth Monitoring Tool

Good Product to monitor your networks but for huge network its not sufficient, but for normal networks its good to notify and other feature are very good i-e up time, alert system and cluster fail-over solutions , in the last PRTG interface must be need improvments.

PROS

Its a Simple Software to Monitor Network and bandwidth user, application wise. Monitoring & Manage all applications in details statistics in network, Correct Up-time/downtime for devices. *Flexible alerting (different types or Alert are available in this product) Cluster fail-over solution

CONS

Interface is no good and creating huddles in configurations, automatically connection between links is unavailable. Cluster fail-over solution not so good.

Reason for choosing PRTG

Pricing licensing

Vendor Response

Thank you for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied March 2020

Jose

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Monitoring servers and network

100% satisfied with it

PROS

Very easy to setup and to add servers to the main dashboard. The alert setup process was extremely easy and the different rules of when an issue needs escalation or has been resolved is a plus.Can see trends of issues which can help diagnosing problems.

CONS

None, love it so far. We have less than 100 sensors, so we are using the free version. We couldn't ask for something better to use instead.Although deprecated sensors can sometimes be time consuming to replace, it is greatly appreciated they keep things up to date!

Vendor Response

Dear Jose, Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad to hear that the setup process, alert configuration, and issue trend analysis were all easy and helpful for you. We appreciate your review and look forward to continuing to exceed your expectations. Your Paessler Team

Replied June 2023

Isaac

Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

A great product if you just need a simple and free monitor or Enteprise Leve one

I currently use the free product where I work now, but in the past have used the enterprise product for a larger oragnization.

PROS

There are a lot of different things you can monitor, prebuilt templates and even custom things that you can build. Having a free product helps a lot to see if it's what you need in your environment.

CONS

I wish AD logon integration was included in the free version instead of 1 shared account.

Reason for choosing PRTG

We chose this for simplicity, the abaility to run on Windows, and cost.

Vendor Response

Dear Isaac, Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you found our product versatile with its range of monitoring options and customizable features. We're committed to providing valuable tools for both individual and enterprise-level needs. Your Paessler Team

Replied March 2024

Ali

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

prtg monitoring tool

Thanks to the prtg product, I can monitor my network devices with snmp. With the e-mail notifications coming to my phone, I quickly get information from the devices or ports that are down and I can intervene. I realized that with prtg my job became easier.

PROS

With OID numbers, it can monitor the status of the hardware found on the device. It is informed by the determined threshold value. PRTG product can be easily managed due to its compatibility with all brands and devices. We monitor it by integrating it with the switch router access point devices we use.

CONS

I would like to make visual monitoring by creating the topologies of the sensors I created, this subject can be developed. There is nothing difficult about the product. It is also easy to integrate with our business processes.

Vendor Response

Dear Ali, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG and we love hearing about how you are using it. Cheers, Paessler AG

Replied September 2022

Richard Fortigate

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT