All Segment Reviews

1-25 of 70 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Guido

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

All the info you need. In a snap!

PROS

It is incredibly easy to install with modules for any kind of source (app, server, API, jacasript). It sends coherent and consistent data to hundreds of destinations (I think there are ~200 and counting, but new ones can be added with very little coding), and new destinations can be added with no intervention by an engineer. Among the destinations, there's also relational Databases: you can really track ALL actions of any single user of your system and having access to historical data with a click. This is amazing! It offers an easy and intuitive privacy mechanism that lets you deleta data of a single users from multiple systems with a single click. It offers common, consistent data to all different areas of a company: marketing, product development, finance, ... (and you can chose what different offices can see).

CONS

It is pricy: the cost is based on the average number of single users tracked per month and it's not cheap at all. So better to understand exactly how it can help you grow your business (and how you can fully exploit it) before you decide to adopt it.

Reason for choosing Segment

Easier to use and implement

User Profile

Lewis

Verified reviewer

Chemicals, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

This CDP is great if you have a plug & play website, more tricky if you have a custom built website.

The customer service team, while fast and responsive, was not particularly knowledgeable about how to get around these issues we were having with visual tagger, and thus we had to work with a consultant that had the know-how of how to fully integrate Segment with our website through GTM. However, now that we have gotten our custom Segment setup up and running, it is very powerful and we're able to communicate our website event and tracking data with a multitude of analytics and other marketing tools. So overall, it has been a challenging experience, but once you get it working, it is worth the extra effort.

PROS

Segment was easy to setup and integrate with our website, using the Javascript code they provided. Also the Segment interface is well designed and easy to navigate. The settings for your Destinations are all clear and laid out, so you can make changes effortlessly. The neatest feature is the visual tagger, which allows you to create and track triggers/events on your website without having to code anything at all. It's great if you want to track very basic behaviors like button clicks or form submissions.

CONS

The most difficult part of Segment was when we wanted to track more granular data, such as user identities/emails. I believe if you have a typical website, built off of WordPress, or Shopify, you might not have these issues. But if you have a custom built website like ours, you will need some technical know-how in order to capture the finer data. For example, visual tagger did not work for us when we tried to use the identify call analytics.js, because our website stored user ID info on our data layer, not the presentation layer, which is only what Visual tagger can see. In order to access fields in your data layer, you'll need to use something like Google Tag Manager (GTM) to trigger and fire those events in Segment (shout out to McGaw.io for helping us with this!). So, if you have a more complex website, triggering certain events or getting fine granular data in Segment is not intuitive.

Reason for choosing Segment

It was free to start and easy to set up. Costs seemed reasonable compared to competitors. Is widely compatible with many marketing tools in the industry.

Lina

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Great for real time data processing and analytics

PROS

Analytics capabilities and ease of integration into data pipeline. Very helping for tracking customer behavior

CONS

There is a learning curve and the pricing is steep too. They can definitely improve on the user interface.

Or

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

Reviewed April 2016

Data loss and bad customer support

At first it sounds great, one stop shop for all you analytics needs. What they don't tell you is: 1. Segment API is far less reliable than any of the underlying analytics tools. I've never had any data loss with mixpanel, since I switched to segment I had 3 severe data loss incidents, one was a segment server failure, one was a result of Segment's API and the 3rd is still under investigation. 2. It's literally impossible to get proper support for urgent issues. no matter how much I emphasize the urgency, they'll send 1 reply a day, with the most useless information and ask the same basic questions over and over and over again.

PROS

Reduce the amount of code that handles analytics and tracking No real alternative

CONS

Unreliable. Bad customer support.

Andres

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Flexible user analytics

We have had a great experience with Segment. Even just a couple of months of data gathering have already turned into actionable items.

PROS

Set up was trivial, the API is easy to use and the real-time debugger is absolutely excellent.

CONS

Some capabilities around the events API is not immediately apparent until you get deeper into it.

Reasons for switching to Segment

Segment promised to be more featureful and to be integratable with Amplitude

User Profile

Jonny

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Segment - The Data Layer to Have

Segment solves the problem of add script once. Enable quickly. Data flows and needs a pipe to steer it in the right direction. Segment makes this easy. Create a data science team in seconds and connect to a wide and vast number of tools and connections from Adwords to Facebook all the way through to iOS and Android. This covers many bases.

PROS

Segment have built a best in class data layer and data management tool. The tool is easy to set up and creating destinations and understanding sources is simple. Add the code for Web, Mobile or a data warehouse. Then enable product and marketing teams to enable and disable marketing and product tools easily. The new personas feature is also incredibly powerful. Make collecting analytics .track and .page and .identify easy.

CONS

Segment does make data easy and because of the quality of the tool it does come at a cost. The benefit is it does scale with you because the price plan works on MTUs. But it really depends on the size of your business. Beware not to over enable and connect too much if you are not using it. This will add un-necessary load which can impact mobile page speed.

Matt

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

The best Customer Data Platform around

Segment has been pivotal in our startup's journey, helping us to unify customer data and to unlock invaluable customer insights across all our properties. Segment seamlessly integrates with our web app and entire tech stack and simplifies data management, allowing us to focus on our core business functions. Their support and startup program are top-notch. We're customers for life.

PROS

Easy to use, amazing documentation, unparalleled functionality, and stellar support.

CONS

It's hard to find something to fault. We had to learn a lot about data structures, but Segment's documentation and resources made this straightforward. We're all the better for it.

User Profile

Giovanni

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Useful marketing tool

great, it helps a lot in collecting customer's information

PROS

Segment is a great platform that allows a lot of different functions in customer's data collection. The best thing by my point of view is that a lot of marketing tools are ready to use, you have only to connect them to Segment and all the data will flow.

CONS

if your marketing tool is not on the list you have to code: that is not a bad thing, only you need a developer

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Easily use Segment for telemetry from your Python App

PROS

* easy to use Python SDK* great multitude of integrations and plugins* easy to define data flows* great plan to get started as a startup

CONS

* customer support wasn’t as helpful as we would have hoped when we started running into an issue

User Profile

Christopher

Verified reviewer

Food Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Great software to remove the burden of countless API integrations

Saved a ton of dev time

PROS

It takes the burden off of our own teams to manage a slew of API integrations. This saves us a ton in developer costs in time, and makes it very easy to vet new tools for our analytics and marketing stacks.

CONS

Like any abstraction layer, not everything is plug-and-play. As you start to use more integrations, this becomes more complicated in it's own right, and you sometimes need to regress back to a standard API integration.

Charlotte

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Very useful piece of software

Positive experience, able to connect up different platforms seamlessly.

PROS

Enables us to unlock parts of our platform that we couldn't without it, feeding the data into other useful areas. Very easy to implement.

CONS

Not initially intuitive for a non-technical user, some more guidance on useful features would be appreciated.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

We could not have conducted marketing without Segment, and their staff is incredibly helpful

It requires the ability to manage various sources and multiple destinations while maintaining an organized, consistent track plan. A system such as Segment is incredibly valuable for firms with several data sources and destinations that are continually growing.

PROS

Our major objective is to monitor activity on our company's website(s), particularly user activity. Pre-built interfaces with marketing, data, and analytics systems make it easy for marketers to configure connectors without the need for engineering resources for each integration request. Segment has saved us time throughout the years that would have been spent connecting and syncing data amongst many technologies. Segment is a wonderful tool for us due to its intuitive interface, extensive documentation, and ability to debug events.

CONS

Some of the destinations and sources held by Segment and its partners can necessitate interaction with support teams (for example, SDKs, missing features, or bugs in functionality).

Tamás

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

A reliable tool for event tracking and syncronization

In our organization Segment is mostly used to track events from the website backend. There are other feature rich alternatives for frontend tracking but server-side tracking is not a priority for them. Segment really saves a lot of software, devops and data engineer hours alike by reliable continuous data delivery.

PROS

- Intuitive UI. - Event tester on the UI. - Several client libraries. - You can sync even your backdata, e.g. when setting up a new warehouse. - Pricing is based on users not events.

CONS

- Custom schedule for synchronisation or event validation is only available in higher packages. - Some integrations just don't support a moderately sophisticated setup. E.g. if you don't want 1 million API calls a day you should construct specific Segment calls to update Salesforce leads.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Addresses a major use case | requires a data architect to own the implementation and instrumentation

PROS

The ability to easily connect disparate sources of customer data. The ease of adding sources and destinations with or without native integration with Segment. The ability to insert third-party snippets on our site through Segment. The pricing structure of charging by usage rather than by seat, making it easy to increase adoption across the org.

CONS

Still requires technical support to map out the integrations and instrument the right tracking events in your app or on your website. Not all connections are intuitive and the UI makes it hard to find payload information and logs. I recommend pairing a business owner with a technical owner at the outset of implementation.

Guruprasad

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Good tool for startups

Overall, it helps you to start really fast. We at www.quiznext.in use segment to collect data from our app and send it to warehouse, firebase, fb etc.

PROS

Easy setup, Easier to collect data and send to warehouse. Integration with other tools is easy.

CONS

Not all integrations are seemless. Many integrations require client side app installation, which just reduces the code a bit. Once you start attracting decent users, it turns out to be expensive and need to look for alternative tools.

Ludwig

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2023

Love it!

PROS

Makes my life as a data scientist/product manger so much easier

CONS

Nothing to dislike really. Maybe that you have to pay a lot for some of the nicer features such as more control of the data.

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Great for integrating product with multiple products and extending over time

Integrating with multiple other products, it's meant we can add additional products without changing our core product or needing development time. It's meant we can add and test new products and decide if we want to keep them or drop them without needing development to do it.

PROS

The ability to set and forget it, essentially set it up when you launch the product and then needs very little maintenance or hand holding to do the job, and do it well.

CONS

Did feel complicated to set up, and to look into the workflows. Having said that once set up they've worked perfectly and we haven't had to keep working on them.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Segment for analytics integration

- Great experience, easy integration, saves a lot of time when working with multiple analytics services

PROS

- easy integration - can work with many analytics Saas vendors

CONS

- can be better with some data visualization capabilities

Reason for choosing Segment

Integration to many services

User Profile

Steve

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT