All Chronicle Reviews

1-25 of 45 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Virginia

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Amazing software that is constantly being improved!

The software is rich with features and intuitive to use, for administrators and groundskeepers alike. Implementation was flawless. Customer support is amazing.

PROS

Customer support and the development team are amazing. They continually upgrade the software and listen to feedback from customers.

CONS

Absolutely nothing. At purchase, it provided a cost effective method to have mapping and data management but has since grown into a very robust software that has retained its low pricing.

Reason for choosing Chronicle

All of the software we researched was too expensive for our small budget. At the time of purchase, they had many features that we didn't need but Chronicle has since added for the same low rates.

Reasons for switching to Chronicle

No mapping functionality. Limited fields. Terrible search functions.

Kurt

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Feature-Rich affordable Cemetery Management cloud software

We chose Chronicle because Chronicle had the features we needed at an affordable cost. Many other packages we looked at had great features, but ones our small cemetery wouldn't use. Many of the limitations we first encountered with Chronicle have been addressed in recent releases. Migrating to Chronicle has forced us to go thru a complete audit of all sales and burials, ensuring our paperwork is up to date and accurate.Not only is Chronicle feature rich but the sales team and customer service has been exceptional. Since migrating to Chronicle we have asked for additional plots to be added to our cemetery. This work has been completed in less than a week with no errors. Any questions we ask via e-mail are answered, typically within a day.

PROS

Chronicle allowed us to quickly get up and running. With Chronicle we are able to do basic plot management, but also attach any documents or photos to each plot or burial. The ability for the public (we are still auditing our records so haven't turned on public access permanently yet) to easily search for records and navigate to a specific plot is very valuable. Chronicle also allows us to attach grave marker images and stories to each burial. We've used the story feature to add obituary details to each burial. Chronicle is actively enhancing their feature list multiple times a year. Since we've purchased a subscription they've added a brand new Work Order feature that keeps improving with each release. Because this is cloud software, there are no hardware or software dependencies, making both Windows and Mac systems able to use all features.

CONS

When we first started using Chronicle a little over a year ago a couple small things bothered me. First, we couldn't change the data format ourselves, but an e-mail resolved the issue in less than 12 hours. Second, because Chronicle is an Australian company, the terminology was a bit different from what we used. This took some getting used too. In less than a year, both of these issues have been solved (I didn't log any enhancement requests for these features) by allowing customers to modify date format themselves as well as modify terms like "ROI Holder", "Right of Interment", as well as how we identify Section, Row, Plot.

Reason for choosing Chronicle

Cloud Product, Feature Rich, most affordable

Reasons for switching to Chronicle

We wanted an affordable cloud solution that worked with both Windows and Mac

Vendor Response

Hi Kurt, Wow! First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write a comprehensive review, you are the best! Everything you wrote here aligned with who we are and what we aim for. We want to be the solution for all sizes of cemeteries, we know that smaller cemeteries have very limited choices of software within the budget. We are glad this resonates with you and that you found Chronicle useful. Thank you for using our story feature to add obituary details to each burial, and to notice our feature enhancements! This year our team work very hard to keep adding and improving our software, and we are thrilled that it resulted in a review such as yours. Cheers for a better and better journey in 2023. - Chronicle team

Replied December 2022

Julie

Civic & Social Organization, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Helped us modernize our cemetery records

Overall, this has been a positive experience.

PROS

Having an actual aerial view plotted out. Being able to include photos etc.

CONS

The process of transferring over all of the information but honestly not show how it could be improved either.

Vendor Response

Hi Julie, Thank you for your feedback. It's been a pleasure working together with you and your team. We're glad that it's been a positive experience. We're sorry that you're not satisfied with the process of transferring information. We want to make sure that we heard you and our team is working hard to improve. If you have a specific request on how we can help you, please feel free to reach out to us. We would love to get 5 stars, so will be in touch with you on how we can improve our product and services. Regards, Chronicle team

Replied July 2022

James

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

The Best For Us

Brilliant. There have been some small issues and we are still getting used to it but the Chronicle team are always helpful, responsive and pro-active.

PROS

Mapping & records management. Cost effective for our business.

CONS

Runs slow at times but likely due to server distance and local bandwidth consumption.

Reason for choosing Chronicle

Price was much more competitive with very little (if any) discernible difference in features.

Reasons for switching to Chronicle

Previous software was extremely outdated, no longer being updated and could have failed without warning if a solution hadn't been found. N.B. not sure if the selected software in the field above was our product.

Daryl

Individual & Family Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

GAR Cemetery Review

Overall, i've had a good experience with chronicle and it allowed me to correct numerous mistakes in grave locations made with MS Excel and MS Access Database. It also has self correcting logic scripts to prevent common mistakes.

PROS

Customer support was excellent and very helpful. The software allows me to find human mistakes that have been made using excel or access database.

CONS

In the country, my internet is kind of slow so I have to wait for the data to load. Also, when taking headstone pictures and uploading, make sure the file is around 500 KB instead of megabytes due to upload times. The larger the file, the slower it takes to load.

Reason for choosing Chronicle

I chose chronicle for it's ability for loved ones to leave a "Chronicle" or biography since a lot of interments do not have all of the information the Cemetery needs to contact people for marketing/ headstone cleaning etc. Plus, the cemetery gets money back from chronicles purchased. Also Rocky talked to me like a human being and treated me as such and I didn't feel he was pushy. Other places I felt like I was buying a used car and they only saw dollar signs.

Vendor Response

A massive thank you for sharing your Chronicle experience—it's like music to our ears! We're over the moon to hear how Chronicle has been a game-changer for you, fixing those Excel and Access blunders and keeping things smooth with its self-correcting magic. Happy to see that you rated our customer support a 5 star which is a testament to what we believe in as part of achieving customer satisfaction. We get the struggle with slow internet—ain't nobody has time for that! And thanks for the heads-up on file sizes during uploads; we're all about that user-friendly experience and we have been working on improving the upload and file capacity to make it smoother in the future. Your reasons for choosing Chronicle totally warm our hearts—biographies, benefits for the cemetery, and Rocky treating you like a buddy, not a dollar sign. We're all about making you feel at home here. Thanks for being an awesome part of the Chronicle family.

Replied December 2023

Brandi

Government Administration, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Something to be Proud of!

I will always, always recommend Chronicle. [sensitive content hidden] and his team are amazing! I'll screen shot something I need help with, or a plot that was missing (during setup) and it's completed within days if not hours! When I took my position and I was shown the cemetery, I was overwhelmed and saddened by the records! I had in my mind what I wanted done & how it should be & Chronicle matched it and elevated what I envisioned! This is something that I am extremely proud to have implemented in our city and can't wait to hear feedback from residents and the council!

PROS

EVERYTHING! Literally everything. The team is amazing! The records that I inherited were horrible! Some things were labeled on a piece of cardboard with white paper taped to it. Coffee stains, penciled in (which was rubbed off over the years). Just names written down on a piece of paper and how many plots were sold. No records at all from the 70's back!

CONS

I'd like to be able to zoom to a grave from different angles or even add grave plots on my own; however, the team said they are working toward that!

Reason for choosing Chronicle

I preferred the demo and the team. The option to have the team come out and map the entire cemetery & enter in the information based on the headstones was awesome!

Peter

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Chronicle for small rural cemetries

I have been very happy with the product and the support that I have received from the Chronicle team.

PROS

Chronicle is reasonably easy to navigate through. The maps and images are very useful to allow contractors and interested new lease applicants to look at the Cemetery online. We have four cemeteries with each one having their own Curator. Chronicle will allow curators to step in at another cemetery when the need arises. It will also allow for succession planning for the Curators.

CONS

Some of the map image has been compromised because of trees hiding the images. Our biggest issue was that our existing records were mostly paper based and it took a considerable amount of time to get all of our information into a database - this was no fault of Chronicle, but a reflection on the existing management of our Cemetery records.

Reason for choosing Chronicle

Price and face-to-face meeting with a representative from Chronicle at a local curators meeting.

Lynn

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Look No Further

We were able to implement in under a year with 2.5 part time volunteers doing the data entry and validating our Lot Cards with personal visits to the cemetery. I have an IT software project mgmt background and that is a tremendous achievement. Chronicle trained us and has supported us through the process and is very open to suggestions for improvements and adding features to make use of the software and reporting easier.

PROS

We are a small Church affiliated Cemetery and when comparing Cemetery software we found that Chronicle's features stacked up impressively against the biggest names and higher priced companies. You can grow into the features you use, implement on your own schedules and it is very easy to learn and use.

CONS

Payments are via credit cards which is difficult for Churches.

Reason for choosing Chronicle

Affordable, Features we needed and wanted, Cloud Based, Ease of Use and great Sales & Tech support

Vanessa

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Bringing our cemetery into the modern era

PROS

Ease of use. No special training required to figure out software.

CONS

Not sure if its Chronicle or our internet speed but when searching for a name is can sometimes take a while for Chronicle to generate the list.

Janelle

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Transitioning into Digitial Cemetery Records

From the first phone call to enquire about receiving a quote to upgrade our 13 cemeteries records from paper based into this digital format. it has been a very clear and concise process, with good communication between everyone involved. The team at Chronicle have been extremely helpful and we have been able to achieve transferring all of our existing data into the program and add new burial/interments as needed each week.

PROS

The best features of the Chronicle software are the straightforwardness of the program. All of our staff are able to update records and images easily as it is very user friendly.

CONS

Nothing negative from us. So far it has been a very positive experience.

Reason for choosing Chronicle

Both of these other products were also very good but had too much in the program to manage. We liked the simpler Chronicle software that was easy to use and easy to update. We also felt confident in the response we received from the Chronicle team that the work that was needed to be achieved could be done with them.

Vendor Response

Hi Janelle, The team at Chronicle is thrilled to receive such a perfect rating. We will try to keep it up! We absolutely love your reason for choosing us and we are thankful for that. We want to be feature-rich but simple enough for everyone to use and we are glad that even the council members found it simple yet useful. If in the future you have any suggestions or ideas to improve our software and service, please let us know! Have a happy year-end holiday! - Chronicle team

Replied December 2022

Michael

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Chronicle is easy to use!

PROS

I really enjoy the usability of the website. It is very intuitive and user friendly.

CONS

I would like to see more accounting features in Chronicle.

Reasons for switching to Chronicle

The volunteer webmaster was no longer about the maintain the website and the website fell into disrepair very quickly.

Sheryl

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Comprehensive Cemetery Management

To have a program that is becoming a 'one-stop-shop' for our cemetery management practices has been a phenominal experience. It has given us a lot of control and greatly improved professionalism of services provided. Any issues we have are promptly and patiently addressed by the Chronicle team.

PROS

An outstanding feature of Chronicle is its ability manage most funtctions of cemetery business. We are able to use the program to record all data relating to each plot. It has eliminated our need to use multiple registers, software programs, improved safety and integrity of data and greatly enhanced our deceased search abilities.

CONS

It has not been a simple process to transfer data from existing systems to Chronicle due to our poor mapping and data management practices in the past.

Reason for choosing Chronicle

Feedback from other users. Raport with the company. Price.

Reasons for switching to Chronicle

To be fair to Wordsworth, we did not implement the system as it was intended to be used. We made the decision to change however because we were aware that Chronicle was used favourably by other cemeteries. Chronicle also has many other functions that our previous system(s) did not have.

Vendor Response

Hi Sheryl, It's been our pleasure working with you. We admire your hard work in getting things done and right. Transferring from the old system, correcting and validating the data is a common challenge that we are always willing to help with. As usual, feel free to reach out to us if there's anything else you need. Stay warm! Regards, Chronicle team

Replied September 2022

Sandy

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Digitsation in less than 6 months

Customers and suppliers can now access all cemetery records in real time- which has never been possible before. This also now means families can access their loved ones cemetery records from the comfort of their loungerooms and Council staff can confidently make cemetery bookings without having to conduct a site visit.

PROS

Chronicle were extremely helpful and worked with us during the implementation phase to understand how Council would use the software and have since implemented many improvements to ensure common business processes can now be managed in the platform. This has been a great experience and has helped finetune existing processes.

CONS

Took a little while to ensure staff used the correct fields to enter data that would then be used on the templates. This should now be resolved with the additional fields available for event types. Also it would be beneficial to have a new field called Grave Type where we could record if it was a new grave or a re-opening and if a re-opening was it re-open number 1, 2, 3, 4- this would assist with annual legislative reporting requirements where we need to identify new graves verses re-opened plots.

Reason for choosing Chronicle

Functionality met most of our requirements and the pricing made it achievable.

Vendor Response

Dear Sandy, We are really thankful to have MRC as one of ours. Furthermore, thank you for all your support in getting good words about us out there, being our guest in our webinar, and recommending us to other councils. It's been our pleasure working with you and your team. We are glad that Chronicle makes the whole process and experience of accessing cemeteries easier and better for you, the council members and staff, and the community. We are also happy that the feature enhancement we did helped you with the difficulties. We have taken notes on your suggestions and we will keep you updated. Have a great holiday season, - Chronicle team

Replied December 2022

Judi

Individual & Family Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Very useful tool for Cemeteries

Neither Chronicle nor the Cemetery Trust had any idea the amount of work it would entail to get this done for our Cemetery. We had records dating back to 1875 and didn't realise the amount of mistakes had been made when recording the deaths and locations of the plots. The maps were a mess really and a lot of double ups, but also a lot of records not on the maps. The overall experience was good, but a lot of time was spent with [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and his team sorting out the different problems that we had. It took us 18 months of work to eventually go live and see the results, but it was certainly worth it.

PROS

It has given the Cemetery Trust the opportunity to get the records in order. I can direct people to the site to find relatives or friends in the Cemetery. I can now type in a name and straight away have the dates for birth and death and ROI information at the touch of a button. Family and friends can now see the headstone, information and location from anywhere that has internet available. A wonderful help to most.

CONS

The software doesn't allow to have certain information added. We have a Lutheran section in our Cemetery but Lutheran still isn't an option when typing in the Religion section. Unfortunately, it can't be added. It would be good if we could have the options available to us as required.I would like to merge some plots as some are larger than others, but this option is unavailable and if required I had to send information to Chronicle to update. Sometimes it was just too difficult. I would like the option of doing it manually.

Vendor Response

Hi Judi, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback and sharing your experience with us. We are glad that Chronicle is useful for you, the Trust, and your community. We are glad to be on the 18 months of digitising your cemetery and thrilled that is worth it! We will try to do our best, for months and years to come! We take all reviews seriously and will use this as an opportunity to improve our product and services in the future, so we will be in touch. Have a happy holiday season, - Chronicle team

Replied December 2022

Benjamin

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Logan City Council Cemetery Solution

Chronicle allows us to move away from an old Access database and printed paper maps for managing our cemeteries and reduces the likeliness of errors happening. The deceased search functionality allows the public to locate graves themselves with an easy search functionality where we displayed these in a PDF list previously

PROS

Chronicle provides a user-friendly experience for the customer front end for and the administration back end. Walk to grave feature promoted on our cemetery signage will allow users to find grave sites with ease and reduces phone calls to help direct public to plots.

CONS

Not having the ability to complete payments online through Chronicle - great to hear this is in the pipeline for future development.

Reason for choosing Chronicle

Reasonable cost, user-friendly, the passion for cemetery mapping and their ability to capture images and audit our cemeteries to ensure data displayed in Chronicle is accurate.

Reasons for switching to Chronicle

The access database was an old version and did not meet the requirements of mapping our plots, displaying a public facing interface and work order management.

Vendor Response

Dear Benjamin, It's been our pleasure to work with you and Logan City Council. Your review made our day! Thank you. We are glad that you enjoyed using Chronicle, moreover, your community is getting access and benefit as well. Yes, the cemetery plot sales feature is in our product development plan and we will keep you updated! Please reach out to us if you have any suggestions, feedback, or ideas. Have a great holiday season, - Chronicle team

Replied December 2022

Dianne

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Ouyen Cemetery

I had been on the look out for some software to digitise the Ouyen Cemetery records, when I stumbled upon Chronicle it looked like everything I had been wanting so I wondered how a little country Cemetery could ever afford to get something like this. I contacted Chronicle and we arranged a Zoom meeting to see the software, and discuss what we really needed. Chronicle then sent me a project proposal and quote and I was so excited that not only does the Chronicle team do most of the work the price was very very affordable. We thought we might need to apply for a grant to make this happen but we were able to start straight away.Chronicle have been very responsive throughout the process, from change requests to any assistance I may have needed and just general enquiries. I am extremely happy we have chosen this company, we have not been disappointed.

PROS

This software does everything we need and more. It is called Simple Cemetery Software for a reason and it really is simple to use, no training required. This software can stay simple with a small amount of information but it can become a single information mangement system, holding all our documentation both public and private making and managing our Cemetery records accessible, quick and portable and that is our goal over the next six months.

CONS

There are no Cons at this early stage, we have only just gone online with basic inormation for the public and we are working on adding information and images for the public and also our ROI information and other paperwork into the back end to eventually becoming our single information management system.

Vendor Response

Hello Dianne, Thank you for your feedback. It's very lovely to see those 5 stars. We will try to keep it up! Yes, we do most of the work of digitising project, we can also adjust the services that we offer according to your needs with very affordable pricing as our main goal is to help cemeteries serving the community and the preserving the history. That's why we cater all kind and all size of cemeteries. Let us know when you need our assistance. Cheers,

Replied June 2022

John

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY