User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

3.5 / 5

Customer Support

3.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(29)

29

4 stars

(14)

14

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(4)

4

1 stars

(3)

3

  • Pros

  • "Easy to use and powerful. Best of both worlds."

  • "Fast, easy to program and most importantly not too expensive"

  • "It makes my life a lot easier and means I spend less time in front of a screen"

  • Cons

  • "Paying for tokens to run compiled EXE files has rendered the software unaffordable. Like many software providers, the quality of support and documentation seems to be in decline."

  • "The documentation is pitiful, which makes it VERY hard to figure out how to do some things. However, with some research time available, you can figure it out."

  • "It's not uses Artifical intelligence and cognitive services for automation which is the most required from Growth prospective"

Browse Winautomation Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 53 results

April 2019

Skyla from Skylark

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Best Robotic Desktop Automation for small scale windows automation!

Softomotive WinAutomation is well suited for beginners and entry level RPA developers who want to learn Computer Automation.

Pros

- Light weight Robotic Automation - Easy to learn and fast processing - Data Scraping is much faster than other tools in RPA - Pre-built robots make it very simple to use

Cons

- WinAutomation does not provide cloud support for remote accessing the robots - Winautomation enterprise edition also have very less features - DataScraping manually requires an understanding of Regular Expressions - Academy tutorials are not updated with new software release

August 2019

Joel from Scanfree

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Good product destroyed by poor management and support

Was good until v7 was released, now refuse to do business with them

Pros

Easy to use, very functional, was easy to distribute but read Cons below

Cons

Like others I am so disappointed by the direction WinAutomation has taken. Was a reliable product that would easily allow you to build and compile programs to perform your automation functions - we used it in various different areas. The when v7 was released they completely forgot about their customers and came up with the horrible idea of tokens (additional purchases) for each executable you wanted to compile, and worse they tried their damnedest to hide this from their users - so many of us upgraded to version 7 only to find out that we had been hoodwinked by this new licensing policy. And then they destroyed their user community further by killing their once-active forums where users would share ideas and methodologies - first they shifted it to LinkedIn, which never worked well, and then they realised their error and brought it back to their own domain, but they removed all the historic forum posts when they realised no one was upgrading but were still communicating solutions on the older version of the product - there just was not enough new functionality in v7 and onwards for people to justify their silly licensing decision. AVOID using this product! The company is untrustworthy and has made very poor business decisions to the detriment of a large user community. And just when they were starting to get good, too - such a shame. Other products on the market are just as powerful and less expensive.

Response from Softomotive

Replied August 2019

Dear Joel, We are sorry to hear about your experience. One of our representatives will contact you shortly to find out more about your specific situation and see what we can do to make things right. You are correct that the original support portal was withdrawn because it was based on old technology. It was never our intention to cut our users off and a great deal of care was taken to check all the (old) forum topics one by one so that all useful information could be transferred to the new one. Only information related to very old WinAutomation versions were not transferred because they were less relevant. The replacement support portal (support.softomotive.com) gives users a much better experience by offering a much broader range of features. There are hundreds of useful knowledge base articles, a forums section intended for users to share with the community their feature requests, ask for tips on how to automate their processes, share, download or run automations.

April 2018

Hugh from MRMC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Was a great product but they got greedy and make you pay for everything that you automate

Prior to the whole "you MUST buy tokens to be able to use the software that you already spent a lot of money on", they had a really good product that did things not found in other types of automation programs. You can compile your scripts/processes to run on other machines ... except now you have to pay for every little thing that you automate OR spend a lot of money to "register" a computer that you want to run unlimited exe's on. Of course, this is after you have already paid a premium price for the software. They don't advertise the costs up front because they want you to buy the software ... once you log into your account you finally get to see the costs for various tokens and functionality. We didn't appreciate the sneaky approach they decided would be a good business model. As horrible as the whole upgrade experience is/was, it is our hope that they drop this business model and get back to what made them great to begin with. They have great software but they have lost our business until they stop crippling it. We are in the process of moving on to a different product.

Pros

It does things that other software packages do not do (like search for an image on a screen that isn't identifiable via other means).

Cons

Steep learning curve. Recent versions now make you pay for everything that you create - making the software absolutely useless in an enterprise environment where you have to pay for the executable that you generate ... except if you discover an error and need to recompile and recreate your executable to fix something (which happens most of the time), you have to PAY AGAIN. I spent years learning and using Winautomation and it was awesome to be able to create solutions on the fly where there weren't any viable alternatives, but their greed has destroyed the flexible nature of what this software did best. The support people know their stuff, but moving the support forum to Linked-In groups has been a miserable switch....searching is problematic ... anything negative at all (even if it is constructive feedback) is deleted by the moderators.... it is like they are doing everything humanly possible to make the software and the company fail. I find this sad because I really like the software and the latest functionality that the newer versions bring. We were tricked into upgrading to Version 7 during a sales WebEx (no mention of the additional costs at all except a brief 1 sec mention of tokens that was not explained). Even though we have paid for the professional version upgrade, we went back to our old version (version 6) as soon as we realized how crippled the latest versions are unless you are willing to hand over large amounts of cash for a small fraction of the functionality the older versions had..

December 2016

RJ from Sessoms and Rogers PA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Automating is a breeze

We used to have 4 people performing redundant excel and database functionalities for 4 hours daily, but because of Winautomation we were able to reduce this task to 1 person 1 hour daily. Also, the software is great with automating batched DOS based functions like renaming thousands of files in a couple of minutes, up/down file via ftp sights, etc.

Pros

Easy to learn and use. So much features and a massive array of programming capabilities

Cons

Before their customer service is great with chat option on their site, they changed that. I sent out a request a week ago and received a response with vague answer. I replied back, no response. I made a new ticket and the response was, we sent you an answer, click here to see our conversation. I responded back 2x, 2 days now no reponse.

Response from Softomotive

Replied December 2016

Dear RJ, All your requests from what we see in our database, do have a response sent within the same business day or the next (at the latest), providing you with solutions and instructions. Upon receiving your email about not getting a response from our Support Team, our Support Manager contacted you directly via email, to clarify the situation and give you more details on the tickets that you have opened. There was no response to that email from your end. We are proud of our Support Team and our timely replies, given the large number of our users. There is no chance that a Support ticket will not get a reply in a short period of time, unless there is a misspelling address issue in the way. Should we had your permission we could share the history of your Support tickets as well as the email you have received from one the Head Support Manager. Thank you for the time you took to write this review.

July 2017

Jeffrey from Waters Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Good tool, but recent licensing changes are BAD for customers.

Task automation, bad licensing changes.

Pros

Very flexible and easy to use drag-and-drop scripting environment that can be used to automate most any Windows task. Scripts can be compiled into executables and provided to users to help their day-to-day activities.

Cons

Starting with version 7, they now force you to PAY to run the executables you've made if you distribute them to other PCs. This is a HUGE change from version 6, and makes this product FAR more expensive than before. The company isn't even honest enough to admit that this is bad for the customer, and claims they "intended" to charge for exe's before (but never did). I paid when I bought WinAutomation, I paid for annual support/maintenance, and I paid my staff to develop scripts... and now WinAutomation wants me to pay AGAIN to use the software we wrote??? That's total rubbish, and a clear money grab by this company. Also, the web-based user forum has no recent entries, has moved to Linkedin (but will not let people join). Is this (and the licensing change) a sign that the company is on its way out? No idea, but it's very disappointing, since the software was quite good.

February 2017

Fred from Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Save your associates from repetitious tasks.

I've found Winautomation to be very useful. It is easy to simply record tasks. But also powerful enough to program complex decision making.

Pros

Easy to use and powerful. Best of both worlds.

Cons

Rarely, but on more than one occasion, all tasks disappear so can't run. Not a big problem, a simple reboot brings them back.

January 2017

Gerald from Teleplan

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Great program for every day users!

This program is absolutely amazing. Recording repetative actions, browser based activities or just plain keypresses works fast, effectively and most importantly really efficient. Easy to setup program with tons of features that enables you to do just about anything! From custom dialogs to writing values to excel or even pulling data from your database. It's all possible!

Pros

Fast, easy to program and most importantly not too expensive

Cons

The program could do with a newer interface. There are a few bugs which still occur every now and then.

January 2017

Alex from Pursuit Channel

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Didn't know how to code but needed to automate

When we purchased this, we were needing to automate many processes on the backend of our system. From file syncing and transfer to convert Log files from one format to another, we're using winautomation to automate 100+ processes a day. We've basically not had to higher another person just because of winautomation.

Pros

All of the features it has available.

Cons

The documentation is pitiful, which makes it VERY hard to figure out how to do some things. However, with some research time available, you can figure it out.

December 2016

Jim from Ear 2 Track

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

You can build virtually anything with WinAutomation!

WinAutomation does SQL, SFTP, IMAP and CSS selectors. You can record mouse and keystrokes to accomplish basic automation, but the real magic happens when you mix these basics with programming. The possibilities are endless. Note: The current WinAutomation upgrade process requires that you convert your working system's jobs to the new format irreversibly. If you're a new user this is not an issue, but if you rely on WinAutomation every day, the demo requires you to commit to the upgrade before verifying it works with your current jobs. I would love to try upgrading again but I need to set aside time to test, verify and fix.

Pros

Works great with code.

Cons

Some variables are not listed onscreen so I have to use comments above text Split for example, to easily see the variable name.

December 2016

Anthony from Premium Retail

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Great time saver!

We have a lot of manual tasks of handling data in my role and the Winautomation software has helped tremendously in cutting down the time it takes to do all the manual tasks. Not only does it do the tasks, since it's a computer, it does them faster and I can be doing something else! We've been able to send reports quicker and spend more time on value add tasks rather than tedious manual work. There are very few pieces that I wish it was a little more flexible with handling variation but overall saves us multiple hours of work per week. Great product!

Pros

Ease of use, straight forward programming, cost effective.

Cons

Flexibility with handling errors and mapping different paths for jobs.

December 2016

Jeff from Pathfinder Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Great software, very easy to use.

We purchased this software to run a few automated processes for our company. We are an Association Management Company and having the ability to easily automate some of the items that we deal with frees up time to concentrate on other areas.

Pros

Ease of use, and the macro builder that allows me to simply record the process that I want automated and it will repeat the same process on a regular schedule.

August 2017

SIDI from Financial Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2017

The customer experience has declined significantly both from a product design to customer support...

Automated a couple tasks but I'm struggling with several tasks on my list I cant seem to make progress on.

Pros

Wide and diverse platform with growing multi-functional capabilities and dynamic product development.

Cons

Unfortunately, needs to re-think and re-calibrate its business-governance, product development, marketing strategy, Customer Support, and business objectives due to recent decisions to begin charging fees on customers that want to produce their hard work in the .EXE format to run independently on a separate computer for their company or a customer. I don't believe this was the right revenue growth decision, and I believe they are feeling/will feel the pain from business customers migrating to more reliable platforms - I'm already shopping and others I know are as well. What were they thinking by charging a fee on something that the customer already paid for? ***What's next, fee for every job occurrence LOL?***. The Executive that made such bad management decision should go back to the Banking Industry. As a customer, to get more value from the product, I wouldn't mind paying a higher license upgrade fee or a upgraded Support fee, or they could make sizeable revenue from custom projects etc... there are tons of other revenue sources to tap, but charging a fee for .EXE will cause them major customer attrition - users won't upgrade to future versions because they have a new software in place. At the end of the day, users will simply pay for Python certification course and forget the growing WA bill.

December 2016

David from Full House Bookings LTD

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Brilliant product, saves me so much time

I have used Winautoamtion for a few years now, and the new version has made some huge steps forward. Things that used to annoy me in older version have disappeared and the new functions are superb

Pros

It makes my life a lot easier and means I spend less time in front of a screen

Cons

There can be issues with some sites selecting controls

November 2018

Warsi from Jpmc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

About the tool

We can utilise this tool but still for basic things we need to relay on any other components examples JavaScript dot net etc

Pros

Tools which has been catogrized and the auto defined variable etc

Cons

No much functionality compared to other tools

December 2016

Joe from Sun Microstamping Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Sun Microstamping Win Automation review

For the most part, the product is easy to use and works very well, but when getting into more complex applications such as clicking buttons by windows physical location rather than a web button or icon its hit or miss.

Pros

This will do the thing in automation of my application that nothing else, ( that I have come across), can do.

Cons

There is not a convenient contact method to get a quick question or explanation from support. You need a call for support number. Or chat tool.

December 2016

k from Hologic

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Winautomation is a Winner

We've been using Winautomation for a few years now for loading large data sets into our ERP platform. We continue to find new uses as time goes by. A solid product.

Pros

ease of use

Cons

doesn't always work with html pages

January 2017

Franco from AMG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Quick...Easy...Does what it says it will do.

Scripting automation routines is super simple with this tool. The price is right and it's well worth the investment. It does not make sense to skip on purchasing this software. Need a routine automated. This is the software for you. Not a developer? No worries. It doesn't get any easier. Install and enjoy all its power from a few minutes of trial and error.

Pros

Does what it says and at the right price.

Cons

None

December 2016

Rob from Sychar Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Winautomation for health care management

health care requires lots of reports and paperwork, winautomate will help reduce the time spent on reports and reduce overall paperwork in the office - it's a must for health care

Pros

comes with lots of programming script examples, and support by email very good

Cons

very short learning curve

June 2014

Joseph from Jo's Home Office

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

June 2014

winautomation rocked my pc!

After experimenting away with AHK and AutoIT, and since i'm not in the habit of picking up new scripting languages every other day, i searched for a more user-friendly alternative. I found Winautomation and downloaded the trial version, which is a very fully functional 30-day limit demo and installs quite seamlessly. At first glimpse, i was a bit swamped with the range of utilities that automate all tasks you can think of and then some, displayed in the initial window. The learning curve, however, is not too steep and the suite of applications also contains a very smart macro recorder and its web automation counterpart for web scraping which are both very straight-forward in their use. I started automating right away some very dull tasks like typing my website in forms again and again or the maintenance backup and archiving i do every night on my external HDD and the more i get the hang of things , i'm pretty certain the more complex tasks i will think of outsourcing to my PC :) Finally, a special mention and shout out needs to go to the customer support team, who answered within minutes both my forum question at http://www.winautomation.com/community and my chat request, and all of that without me even having bought a license, so kudos to the guys (and gals of course)

December 2016

Kim from Dominion Resources

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

WinAutomation Is the Real Deal

This review is based on WinAutomation v5. We had an extremely tight deadline and had to find a way to duplicate hundreds of keystrokes without hiring additional resources. After looking at several solutions, it was decided to use WinAutomation based on ease of use, ease of readability, ability to create an executable, price, and technical support. Using an internal rating system, WinAutomation scored 9 out of 10 and far surpassed other competitors. Happy to report that the automated solution allowed us to duplicate hundreds of keystroke and mouse clicks automatically and reduced what would have been a six to eight month project with three resources down to a three week develop effort and one day run of the executable - repeatable as needed. This product ended saving us well over $500K worth of time - well worth the money.

Pros

Ease of use, reasonable cost, excellent customer support.

Cons

Version 5 could not print out the steps of the job. We ended up using screen prints.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Automate your desktop and web-based tasks

I personally use this tool to automate my daily tasks. This tool has reduced a lot of my work and its amazing.

Pros

Forward your scripts to your colleagues Easy and speed of Automation design Image recognition on the screen, this helps a lot.

Cons

Does not have an expression builder and the colors are fixed.

March 2018

Nick from Kraken

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

License changes mean I will avoid

Used for around 6 years. Was big fan. Changes to licensing model in version 7 mean I cannot continue to use. Increases our cost for continuing to use the software by over 1000%. Sad. face. :(

Pros

Simple and easy to build automations, (some) powerful functionality built in. Flexible for many tasks once you've learnt your way around.

Cons

Paying for tokens to run compiled EXE files has rendered the software unaffordable. Like many software providers, the quality of support and documentation seems to be in decline.

October 2017

Anthony from Premium Retail

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

October 2017

Works find at first, but expect to pay yearly

A short ability to automate tasks.

Pros

Ability to write a job to do manual tasks. These tasks seem to only be able to be done when manually launched and has extreme limitations on what you can automate especially when it comes to the web.

Cons

All features don't work as advertised. Their model of "one time cost" becomes invalid as if you don't upgrade and pay more they won't help you even when their software stops working. Our scheduled jobs don't run automatically anymore and they don't even know why. They made us "update" to the latest version of the software which I wouldn't be surprised is what helps them make it obsolete and not work. I previously reviewed this product when it was working which is sad that it doesn't work anymore and their support won't help.

December 2016

Alton from Presto Agent

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Best Automation Software for the Money

I have been using this WinAutomation for the past 2 years and I am always amazed by the quality and capabilities. As a non-IT personnel, I primarily use it to gather data from different sources to create reports for my organization so I use the web automation feature very often. This feature saved me so much time since with my old macro software, I would have to position my clicks manually in relation to the screen. If the screen size changes, I have to redo the positioning. Now, web automation automatically controls IE directly and clicks on the links I want regardless where it is located on the screen. There are many well thoughtout features as well like folder manipulation, loops, if/then, Excel file support, etc. From simple time-saving bots to complex, multi-staged bots, WinAutomation can do it all. I'm 100% satisfied with my purchased and looking forward to new releases of WinAutomation.

January 2018

David from Key and Car Tracking, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

January 2018

I have used WinAutomation to build simple automation to very complex automation functions

I was able to monitor my email system and automatically grab information when particular subjects appeared. I would use this information to fill out a web application automatically. This saved me many hours of manually keying this myself.

Pros

Easy to use.. the software enables you to automate web applications and fill in forms automatically. I used to grab information from incoming email by looking for a particular subject. I would then take this information and use it to fill out forms on a web app. Awesome.

Cons

I wanted to upgrade to version 7 professional. However in this new version they charge you money (tokens) for every compiled version of a script that you install on another machine. Each computer that uses your script will cost you per script. Or if you are running multiple scripts on a single machine they have another scenario where you can pay and run unlimited number of compliled scripts on that one computer. Sorry... this is total B.S.!! I refuse to upgrade and I refuse to ever deal with this company again. I am moving my development to another platform.

December 2016

Periyasamy from Sri Pushpavaneswara Enterprises

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Textiles

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Real Automation

I used a few years back and started using again this year. The changes required update. I sent a mail regarding this but got no reply

Pros

works smoothly

Cons

difficult to create new task

December 2016

adam from yourteamplayer

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Great software, UI and usability. Unfortunately screws with too many windows settings.

Great concept, UI, and approach! But unfortunately, you can't reliably install without windows functionality dying randomly. Tried repeatedly on real and virtual machines with various versions (including the current version) over the years. I would love to use Winautomation for beta testing our software internally and many other automation tasks. But unfortunately, kills most windows versions on all windows pcs. The only software I have come across that requires an entire re-install of windows to fix the damage it causes.

Pros

Awesome concept, UI is great.

Cons

Kills ALL windows PC's you install it on.

February 2017

Gianluca from ECARE spa

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Easy to development

The tool is very user friendly to customize and configure an automation for simplify process to operation people, for example back office or reporting export. It's easy for developer department and It's zero fault system. The power of the tool is high and the effect in the business is saving and reducing the less quality job.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

June 2018

Overpriced with little to no support

None.

Pros

This software had potential. It used to be easy to use and had resources when you needed help. However, it is now a money sink and if you need it for anything important, good luck as you will not get any help in a reasonable time.

Cons

Extremely expensive and the support is horrendous. With version 5 (where I started to use it) it was great. However, once 7 came a long the software began getting expensive. That doesn't seem like a lot except THERE IS NO SUPPORT. There used to be forums where users could help each other. However, the 'support' is now on a group on linkedin. Your post gets screened by them, so you have to wait 2 to 3 days just to have it screened. Once it does post its another 2 or 3 days before someone responds. Moreover, e-mail is even worse. You email them and may get a response within 3 or 4 days. That is awful. Avoid this money trap software.

May 2019

Ashish from Capgemini

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2019

Winautomation - Desktop Automation

I have automated the Microsoft tool - one note automation using the winautomation and it's successfully running in the production environment

Pros

Ability to do the desktop based application as well as web automation using API technology Free learning resource

Cons

It's not uses Artifical intelligence and cognitive services for automation which is the most required from Growth prospective

December 2016

Justin from N/A

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Intuitive and fully featured

Winautomation, unlike similar products, both paid and freeware, is easy to use. You don't need to be a programmer to automate routine tasks. Sadly, the same cannot be said of other options in the marketplace. The one shortcoming is the price. However, you certainly get a full-featured automation tool unlike anything else for the price.

Pros

Ease of use and functionality

Cons

A single license is costly.

April 2019

Ankit from Computer Software/Education Management

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Investment Banking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Good product and can do better with target audience!

Overall, Winautomation has a very specific audience. There are professionals who use alternatives in Robotic Process Automation and not winautomation because of less support from the company. I found it great for pre-loaded features which are plug and play.

Pros

There are some things which winautomation does very well such as Pre developed features for Windows Native Applications such as Microsoft office suite, task scheduler and Powershell. Number of preloaded add-ons for integration with popular productivity tools. In some areas, where data is always static, data scraping can be done easily.

Cons

This product is not for remote RPA, the Enterprise edition though have Remote accessing of robots but works not well. It is losing popularity which means less number of community. Due to this there is no community-driven forum and has no full-time support.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Incredibly Unhappy - Requires additional purchases to generate EXEs - $1200 down the drain

None - waste of money

Pros

I purchased the pro developer edition with the intent to create white-labeled executables. I learned AFTER I purchased that you have to purchase tokens for each executable you make. I contacted their support who refused to provide a refund because buried deep in their website (NOT on their features page and NOT on their Edition Comparison page) it has a link to their EULAs which contains the fee info. The software works and seems relatively easy to learn but the fact that I have to pay per exe is deal-breaker for me.

Cons

Terrible support, terrible messaging on their site. I never would have purchased had I known they were going to keep charging me for everything that I make.

December 2016

Alec from Allotment Digital

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2016

Good piece of kit, but missing critical features

Winautomation filled a gap for us for several months, but ultimately we abandoned it for other software packages with better features. The ease of use is great, and compiling executables made it simple to scale our service, but the lack of any way to concurrently run more than one thread and the web automation module being built on top of Internet Explorer made it impossible for this to be a permanent solution for us.

Pros

Easy to use, very intuitive

Cons

Restricted to a single thread (meaning we literally had to spin up 100 windows instances at one stage), reliance on Internet Explorer, a few other critical missing features

December 2016

Eric from Trustcompare

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

WinAutomation - powerful software

I use WinAutomation to manage a complex process to update data on an online system. We use the software to pull data off of one system, bring it into an Access database, run some calculations, and then push the data back to an online system for reporting. We can do all of this with WinAutomation, and the job runs several times per day completely unattended. The program is very powerful, takes a bit of time to learn how to set it up, but then it just works. Very flexible, powerful program. We found no other alternative to address our needs, so this is a vital piece of software for our company.

April 2016

Ben from euro-cut-edge Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2016

Great script developed for a peculiar task

We needed to produce a script to process high volume of transactions using third party platforms that do not support API. Winautomation offered us solutions that were right to the point. They understood our needs and developed a bespoke script that has a very smart logic. Also, any problem that arose - they were super quick to answer. I am contacting straight on Skype and they're usually online and available during working hours. The interface of their software could be better though, had it had easier-to-use functions for users who are less programming savvy.

December 2016

Robert from PAI Consulting

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

A very useful tool

I'm not a programmer and was looking for a way to automate some tedious downloading I had to do regularly. I searched online and decided to try WinAutomation. Over a long weekend, I was able to automate the entire process. The manual method took about 2 hours every week; WinAutomation did it in about 5 minutes. I demonstrated the program to the rest of my team, and the project chief immediately ordered 4 copies of WinAutomation. Others used it to automate similarly mundane and time-consuming tasks, which has saved our company a lot of money.

April 2016

James from JDM Wealth Management

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2016

Excellent development

Winautomation had taken over a complex investment management program that another automation firm was unable to complete after more than 2 1/2 years. The programming expertise of Nick Psalidakis and his colleagues has allowed us to get the program back on track in roughly 4 months. I would recommend the winautomation program, but especially the high level talent of the development team to complete more complex projects. I am very pleased with the product and service as this time, and am looking to further enhance this platform.

February 2017

Jon from student

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2017

Easy to build things, not a lot of advanced functions.

I was using this to do a project that needed some advanced automation techniques. I was unable to complete the project using WinAutomation and didn't use it for the end product. It is easy to use but for more advanced applications I would suggest trying something else.

Pros

Easy to use, very simple interface.

Cons

It is not nearly as powerful as more advanced products due to its simplicity.

April 2016

Guy from Guaranty Solutions, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2016

Great Web Scraping Solution

I was happy to find WinAutomation, I had used another web scraping solution for several years, however, several issues developed due to the fact that their system processed the data on their servers. I like the control that WinAutomation gives you due to the information being processed locally. Nick has been great to work with and has shown great skill in helping us to extract the data we need from a site that presents many challenges. I highly recommend WinAutomation.

December 2016

Rajkumar from Beckman Coulter Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Best desktop automation software

Easy to install, easy to script and punish. Easy to automate anything that involves excel, power shell, web.

Pros

Easy to use, code less scripting

Cons

.Net dependency

March 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

WinAutomation - Least Expensive with great features!!

This product is very affordable for all those small scale organisations who would like to automate their processes. I loved using WinAutomation, and I hope in the next updates it will fix all the minor bugs which it has.

Pros

WinAutomation is one of the least expensive RPA product which I have seen in the current market. If you have basic coding knowledge and if you understand the usage of different commands available in this product, then you ca automate any process very easily. This is light weight software and loads very fast compared to other. It can be directly controlled from command prompt as well.

Cons

It is not much developer friendly and takes to much of development time, there is no centralized mechanism for managing and deploying the bot . Also there are not sufficient documentation or videos on how to use this product.

December 2016

Ramsey from InLeague.com

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2016

Too much effort, too little results

Didn't do more than waste a lot of time trying to figure it out. Customer service is terrible. After a lot of reading, youtube vids, and research, I hired a dev to do a javascript, have been building on it ever since.

Response from Softomotive

Replied December 2016

We are sorry you feel that way about our customer service. From our side, we believe we offered all help possible in order for you to understand how to use our automation platform and we also prompted you to share with us your automation solution to assist further with no reply from your side after you had a two hours Training session. As you may understand there is a fine line between Support and actual robot development which is a billable service through our Professional Services. Both Services are provided from Softomotive and its software users are free to make use of them on demand. Thank you for the time you took to write this review.

January 2017

Heinz from ONTHEROCK Software

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

All in the name

We have been using WinAutomation to integrate to multiple development partners and client B2B interfaces for more than 4 years and I have only good feedback. The ease of use and well designed editor and actions make for simple, logical job definitions and easy maintenance afterwards. The various schedule options allow for "set and forget" automation. Highly recommended.

December 2016

Kevin from CAPRW

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2016

Pretty darn good for price and features

We have been using Winautomation for 2 yrs now and I'd have to say it does just about everything we needed in the product. It is stable, fairly easy to get from idea to working solution, and not difficult to distribute among users. The only part that gives us a bit of a struggle is using the IE browser to program Web interactions/Automation. IE is on its way out and I wish Chrome was supported along with Goole Drive and sheets. Another piece I'd like to see improved is the form builder tool. Having more controls and flexibility in the type of interface you can create would be spectacular. Otherwise, a solid product with outstanding support and a collaborative community of automation. Thank you for continuing to improve the product!

December 2016

John from Orange Solution

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Incredibly useful

We use WinAutomation on an everyday basis. I wish I can use my license at least on 3 more computers, like before (old version). The new interface is stronger and it is really a no-brainer to buy. Before using WinAutomation, I personally compared with 5 other competitors. Be honest, I love WinAutomation!

February 2017

Clifford from Retired

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Recent API is Significant Improvement

Recently used the most recent version. It is a significant improvement. Previously, I had generated macros by going through the process. I have now switched to writing code, in part because specifying actions seems a lot easier

December 2016

Julin from Swiss Mergers and Acquisitions

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Winauto revew

Generally a vey good tool which very much saves us time. It is easy to use once coded but coding is not easy for a non programmer.

December 2016

Alan from Microsoft Corp

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Lab Engineer

Very nice application graphical interface and useful and easy to use. The interface doesn't take too long to get used to.

January 2017

Robert from SVS Corp

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Winautomate - Must Have for office staff

I'm using Winautomate for all redundant and repetitive office tasks. Every office has repetitive workflows.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 53 reviews