User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(37)

37

4 stars

(49)

49

3 stars

(8)

8

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "The tool was very easy to use and was intuitive most of the time. The functions and components for RedShift were amazing even though I didn't use them"

  • "I appreciate the ease of use of the tool. It is very simple and intuitive to build data pipelines using Matillion."

  • "I love the GUI that Matillion employs - it makes creating and adjusting tasks very simple and transparent."

  • Cons

  • "It's not very intuitive and not very easy to learn (although the support team is amazingly responsive and helpful)."

  • "It's necessary to perform out own server maintenance to support the tool, which isn't too difficult, but can be a pain at times. If this were a hosted solution that would be easier. "

  • "The browser and platform crashes occasionally, about once a week. The account will log you out, but it works in real time so it usually does not delete any of your work. "

Browse Matillion Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 95 results

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Agile Data Engineering

We use Matillion to produce highly curated datasets for customers. Matillion has allowed us to move this workload entirely into the data warehouse where the final work product lives, and cut processing time from days to hours.

Pros

Matillion allowed us to move a legacy ETL pipeline to BigQuery with speed, precision, and confidence. It is now used exclusively by our team for all of our ELT needs. The user interface is clean, intuitive, and allows members of the team to be immediately productive. Onboarding new users has never been easier.

Cons

Feature parity between the different flavors (Redshift, Snowflake, BigQuery) is lacking, however, Matillion continues to make progress in narrowing the gap.

June 2019

Graham from Indicia

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Easy to use solution, allowing rapid delivery of ELT processes

We came to Matillion while looking for a tool that would allow us to orchestrate our load processes for Amazon Redshift. We'd used other ETL tools previously, were blown away by how easy it was to pick up and understand Matillion. We liked the simplicity, and the fact that we could always dig into the SQL that was generated. New features are added frequently, and we usually find one or two improvements that directly impact us with each release. Their support team are also very responsive, and Matillion are always keen to help you get the most out of their software, so there's a lot of support if you want it. 2+ years later, and we're using Matillion to run all our ELT jobs across various data warehouse projects, and very happy with it.

Pros

- Very intuitive design environment - super quick to learn. - Components map closely to SQL capabilities in Redshift. - Easy to view the SQL generated. - Sample, row count, and data lineage make it easy to unit test as you build. - Powerful management options via REST API (orchestration, Github integration, etc.). - Native AWS integration. - Aggressive release cycle, constantly adding new features. - Easy to document in-workflow. - Lots of third party integrations.

Cons

- User concurrency/licencing model (simple, but can't be customised to fit your need). - Exception handling could be improved. - A single Task View would be helpful for multi-environment/project support.

Reasons for Choosing Matillion

Simplicity, and the fact that Matillion was built specifically for Redshift, meant it was ideal for our needs.

June 2019

Roger from Pepperjam

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Responsive to User Needs

Gets better and better with each release. Keep up the good work!

Pros

I've been using Matillion for about 2 and a half years. I've seen the software improve so much in that time. If I ever found a feature to be lacking, it would be included within the next couple release cycles. The software really seems to adapt as user needs have been evolving. Some of my favorite recent features are the ability to configure some components with just text (really saves me time) and the many Grid orchestration components which allow me to greatly reduce the complexity of the orchestration jobs.

Cons

UX is sometimes lacking or inconsistent. For example, let's say my goal is to replace an existing job with a new job of the same name. I delete the old job, and import the new one with the same name. All Orchestration components that used that job will understand to use the new job, but for some reason the scheduler doesn't. Also, jobs will have validation errors simply because the components haven't been validated (grey borders). It can be confusing because you may be searching for an error in your work when all you actually have to do is revalidate the job.

June 2019

Michael from Hamilton College

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2019

Great for pipelining data to warehouse/lake, not getting it back

It was easy to get set up, and it worked great for pushing data into Snowflake as a data warehouse. However, we quickly realized that we would need yet another tool to get the data back out to the source systems to synchronize/integrate it. We could sort of do it with Matillion, but it required a lot of custom programming and was not very intuitive. We ended up using a different iPaaS tool that could handle traffic/integration in both directions.

Pros

It is extremely fast and easy to pull data from various sources and pipe it into Snowflake. The graphic interface lets this happen without programming.

Cons

There is almost no ability to get data back from your warehouse into the other systems to synchronize the data. It's great to have it all in the warehouse, but it seems pretty critical to have that data flowing back to other systems that are part of your environment. The pricing model is frustrating. You are billed for when the machine instance is ON, not when it is actively doing something. So, if you have a couple hours of job that run in a day, you have to shut down the machine to save money the rest of the day. With it shut down, development can't happen. So, we had to turn it on and off all the time. It would be much better if they billed as it is used, not as it is on.

Reasons for Choosing Matillion

Matillion was written for Snowflake, which is our preferred solution over MS SQL Server.

June 2019

Erick from Frazer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Matillion Review

Matillion is a great out of the box product with minimal requirements. You spin the machine up, allow your database's firewall to communicate with Matillion. Start creating jobs, schedule them, and sit back. It helps you focus on visualizing your data.

Pros

It is a pay for what you use type of software. Most other ETL platforms are a flat monthly fee, sometimes at crazy prices. The pay for what you use model makes it easy to justify cost to leadership. You can schedule jobs to make sure you maximize your time.

Cons

The user experience feels a little dated. Some things could be better displayed/ explained.

Reasons for Choosing Matillion

The simple price model, out of the box features, and direct load to Big Query made the decision for our ETL. Others offered similar feature but at extremely steep prices. Although they might have looked better visually the functionalities were there, but the pricing was not.

June 2019

Alexander from Information Technology

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Efficiency!

Satisfied!

Pros

The collection of components; especially the integration components that hook into a very popular CRM and another quite popular ERP.

Cons

The python component. Depending on the box where your instance is hosted, this component will drag along like a broken train or move at the speed of shooting star.

June 2019

Sandeep from Axtria

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2019

Need on the fly connectivity to different instance of Redshift

Pros

I like the bunch of API integrated in Matillion it helps me to directly grab the data from different sources without manually extra and import in my database.

Cons

I am using Matillion for Redshift from last more than 2 years. When i setup a project in Matillion with connection to a Redshift cluster, sometimes there is a need to extract the data from other instance of Redshift while running job in Matillion. In that case there is straight forward way of getting the data from other instance of Redshift like you have comments to extract the data from databases like SQL Server, Oracle etc. instead of first i need to run another job by connection second Redshift cluster and extract the records after that run different job to load the extracted records from S3 to main Redshift cluster.

July 2019

Bruce from Clario

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Matillion - orchestrating complex ELT for analytics

Our business requires us to ingest large amounts of data from customers on a frequent basis. Once typical ELT has been performed, we create customized data stores which are used in a variety of ways including modeling, machine learning and a SaaS front end. Matillion has been instrumental in our ability to move this processing from file systems to Big Query where our performance has moved from days to hours.

Pros

- Provides great framework for visualizing complex queries with business users that are not SQL savvy - Logical flow of Transformation builder allowed quick transformation from file based to database based ELT - Just works! We have had very few issues with the tool over the 2 years I have been using it.

Cons

- Would like a more robust scheduler - Would like built-in messaging (e.g. for job failures/success) to be able to email out. This is not provided in the version for Big Query that we are running on GCS. - Better source code control (at the transformation/orchestration level, rather than the whole project) - Always could use additional documentation in how to use some of the more complex parts of Matillion.

June 2019

Nels from Ivy Ventures

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Matillion Review

Our experience with Matillion has been great. We've used to greatly improve and automate our data intake and transformation process.

Pros

I appreciate the ease of use of the tool. It is very simple and intuitive to build data pipelines using Matillion.

Cons

It's necessary to perform out own server maintenance to support the tool, which isn't too difficult, but can be a pain at times. If this were a hosted solution that would be easier.

Reasons for Choosing Matillion

Price and ease of configuration and use

July 2019

Marcus Vinícius from Empiricus

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Matillion Usability

I really like Matillion ETL but I was a bit disappointed with some of its limitations and quirks, like when Twitter updated his API all my jobs stopped working and the only thing I could do was develop everything again without using the Matillion component. When I was trying to make upsert procedures on RDS Databases, I was thrilled that the Matillion component has that option, bit it simply didn't work. It seems like these functionalities haven't got the same attention of the others, I contacted the Matillion support which is simply great and these things are still going to be fixed. When I wanted specific libraries of Python, I couldn't get it working on my instance because pip was out of date and it couldn't be updated. I tried to update and I messed up with my instance. Overall, Matillion is great, when you're creating a flow of data migration and you need to parse the data before and do some automations, but there are some cases when you need something a little more specific, that's when it becomes a pain.

Pros

The ease to use, Matillion has a great set of tools that make complex and difficult process more simple and fast to develop.

Cons

There are many tools in Matillion that doesn't have enough attention and because of that these tools are fragile, while some of them do not work.

June 2019

KOTESWAR RAO from IQUANTI

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Matillion_Koti_Feedback

I like working on matillion , but this tool can be made more flexible by providing some of the additional features.

Pros

1) Most of the components are user friendly. 2) Development of ETL orchestrations and transformation consumes less time. 3) Advanced features are available in some of the components makes the complex scenarios achievable.

Cons

1) OAuth document does not provide the details of proper permissions and access levels on account_id or client_id which are required for a connector. 2) Differentiation of naming convention of metrics between the console and matillion data model , mapping document of these naming conventions is not available. 3) Connector for Outbrain is not available. 4) Indirect file loading concept is not available , for example if we have five files with same structure , reg ex can not be used to load all files in a single component(s3 load,s3 put or excel) and need to use the file iterator. 5) Loss of properties when the component configuration is changed from Basic to Advanced features , ideally the component should include all the properties of basic and then additional setting should be provided.

June 2019

Joe from Packt

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2019

Matillion for Data Engineers

An easy to use tool that has allowed me to build a fully automated data warehouse to report to the business, it was easy to learn and implement, and as difficult as SQL to master. I think the real complexity comes from optimising complex workflows, the more T you need in the ETL/ELT process, the more Matillion falls down. This being said it is a very good tool for 90% of your work.

Pros

It is easy to use and quick to get started, there are many inbuilt APIs and transformations that integrate it across a broad suite of systems, and enable you to transform data for the business without having to spend too much time thinking about scripts or bespoke batch files.

Cons

The filter transformer is pretty minimal considering the power of the SQL it is utilising, it cannot use compound logic or reference other columns/objects in the query. There is also optimisation issues in very complex workspaces. Both of these have easy to use workarounds but it is unfortunate it is not supported more at surface level.

June 2019

Francis from Mobility Trader GmbH

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Matillion is an Easy To Leverage (ETL) solution!

Pros

- Easy to orchestrate an ETL pipeline - Integration with Redshift and other AWS services provides convenience - Support team is easy to reach and have relatively quick response times - They also support the other 2 popular cloud data warehouses, Snowflake and BigQuery - Some components are available out to the box for easy integration - Task history is useful for debugging and monitoring current state of ETL pipelines - A GUI is provided for implementing complicated workflows, that can be easily followed

Cons

- Since it's mainly GUI based, it becomes difficult for data engineers to compare changes between old and new versions of an ETL. - There are hard limitations for the number of concurrent users. This is part of the pricing model which is the reason. - Integration with GIT is not yet available but we heard that it would be coming in the near future.

June 2019

Despina from Balfour Beatty

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

MELT

Pros

Easy to learn and use. The knowledge from other products is transferable. The documentation is amazing (one probably cannot understand how good without the experience). Support is always available and of good quality.

Cons

There is no restart-from-point-of-failure option for failed loads. Everything has to start from scratch or remaining jobs need to be run manually.

June 2019

Susan from Ms

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Matillion when used with Google BigQuery

We are now using Matillion as our TL tool to load into our Google Data Lake which will be the source of all our BI reporting data (replacing SQL servers). Matillion is easy to install (Google Marketplace, one click build), easy to use initially, sometimes lacks a few specialist bits (usually around new things in the Google estate), but theses can be overcome by using scripts or sql statements and I am sure some will become components in their own right. Matillion support is very good - I usually get a response within the hour

Pros

From an engineers point of view one of the selling points for Matillion (apart from the absolute simplicity of use - at least to start with) is that it produces its own documentation !!

Cons

Sometimes the error messages can be confusing , but this is often down to the messages coming from BigQuery. Its also not always obvious that it is producing SQL statement 'under the hood' and that can mean breaking sql statement size limits without realising it

July 2019

Ravi from Accenture

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Review of Matillion as ETL cloud Engineer

It was great working as well learning experience , hope Matillion will come up as industry leader.

Pros

Matillion integration with AWS services is flawless and has real time impact in batch jobs pulling data from on-premises to cloud platform.

Cons

Restricting the number of user can access Matillion, Lot's of time huge data set get stuck and fail with many other issues lastly better full log specifically for Developer to debug the issues.

June 2019

Edward from Object Squared, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Geographically disparate data to the cloud in 3 days flat

Piping and transformation billions of rows of data from geographically dispersed machines into Snowflake

Pros

* If you've done any type of ETL work before, this will be a breeze. If you haven't it might take a few hours as opposed to minutes to get up and running * The trial is full featured, get started today without waiting * The software is on a EC2 instance in your own VPC in AWS. If you have company policies for how/where data can be processed -- you have complete control * You can pay by the hour or the year, no hassle no fuss! If you do encounter an issue the support organization is amazing. All questions were answered the same day, many within the hour.

Cons

More examples to work through on the transformation components would be helpful, but again... it's pretty easy

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Matillion Review

We're using Matillion for all the ETL in our environement: 3000 employees, around 500 BI users, around 30 different systems that we connected to. We were able to switch some existing jobs from Talend and create a whole lot more in just 6 minutes.

Pros

+ Fast & easy to use + Completely embedded into AWS environement + Comes light, it's not overloaded with stuff no one uses + Some really innovative features

Cons

- Sometimes feels like not "fully under control", e.g. when a component runs into an OutOfMemory, the whole environement crashes. And there are different ways to trigger that... - Scheduling overview could be more sophisticated, it's kind of hard to have a proper overview there - Variable handling seems sometimes to be a bit difficult, e.g. when setting it in one process, it's not always set in sub-jobs - In some cases, one can see that Matillion is still "under development": Same features are available in some components, but are missing in others

June 2019

David from Porter Airline Inc

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Great ETL product

Pros

Matillion is very intuitive. The GUI is easy to use and fairly easy to learn. The support team is great and they respond to your questions quickly. I like how the Matillion team is frequently looking to add new functionality and features. The new keyword search functionality is very helpful.

Cons

Matillion works great extracting data from a variety of databases and is very efficient unloading onto S3 or Amazon Redshift. However, when we attempted to use it to unload large datasets to Microsoft SQL Server it was very slow and we experienced performance issues.

July 2019

Mark from Big Bytes

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

A Great Cloud-based Tool

I like it overall. It is easy to quickly learn and get up to speed. It is made to work in the environment I'm working in (AWS) and has a nice, clean browser-based interface to build and schedule jobs in EC2. Email-based support is responsive. However, I sometimes feel it is too expensive compared to alternatives for the value it adds and the ELT model, while beneficial in many ways, hamstrings the component feature-set.

Pros

Well integrated with AWS. Great browser-based interface. Develop in the same place where the code will run, as opposed to other solutions I use that develop in Windows and run in Linux. Easy to schedule.

Cons

I have mixed feelings on the overall value. The hourly rate really adds up over time. This is probably my biggest misgiving. Otherwise, I sometimes get frustrated with the ELT model because it means if the feature you need isn't supported within Redshift, it's up to you to create Python scripts or Bash scripts to enable it.

June 2019

Oliver from TUI

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Fast track to results

Very helpful support which takes care of all our problems, especially with "stupid" beginner questions.

Pros

Very easy to use and very easy to get results. Fast implementation cycles compared to other tools. Best is to loop over variables which enables simple but powerful solutions.

Cons

Sometimes more flexibilty on specific tasks, e.g. Excel import or csv.

June 2019

Sandeep from SALESLOFT, INC

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

SalesLoft Matillion for Data Warehouse

Evaluating an ETL tool is quite a challenge. With a wide variety of options in the market, it is difficult to know where to start. We shortlisted three different ETL tools based on the capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification to name a few most important criteria. With a very intuitive development interface, Matillion ETL for Redshift came out as a winner.

Pros

Quick development capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification, customer support to name a few

Cons

Wish to see Matillion having Github control

June 2019

Brayden from PACCAR Inc

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Matillion ETL For Medium to Large Company

Matillion has worked incredibly well answering our business needs. We have integrated it into our core business and use it daily with nearly no issues. We began with Matillion ETL for Redshift but soon switched to Matillion ETL for Snowflake and have had incredible success with it thus far. I recommend this ETL tool to any company of any size as it can be scaled to any business needs and you only pay for what you use.

Pros

Matillion is easy to integrate into our snowflake system. We use it to build and create materialized tables and views, run scheduled builds, and have used it to create CDC processes. It is slick and intuitive and has a great user interface.

Cons

The browser and platform crashes occasionally, about once a week. The account will log you out, but it works in real time so it usually does not delete any of your work.

June 2019

Venkata Aditya from Decooda Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Good ease of use, should improve customer service

With the tools given most of the business problems can be solved(not in an efficient way though if you consider SnowFlake), but there's a lot of room for improvement on the customer service side. Also, having the same functionalities for both RedShift and SnowFlake would make it a lot better, for now there are more functionalities and components for RedShift.

Pros

The tool was very easy to use and was intuitive most of the time. The functions and components for RedShift were amazing even though I didn't use them

Cons

1. Initially the customer service was good, calls were being scheduled either on the same day or on the next day. But once you start using it, support calls would take weeks. Sometimes support will say they'll get back to you but they don't. 2. In one particular instance, a support executive said they would get back to me because they couldn't find an immediate solution, but even after 3 weeks there was absolutely no response on their side. I got a reply after I followed up again though. 3. There are good amount of components for RedShift which are not available for SnowFlake, I hope they would incorporate them as soon as possible.

June 2019

Dana from Stitch Golf

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Matillion is working great!

We are using Matillion to pull API JSON data from various systems and push that data into Snowflake. Matillion is working rock solid.

Pros

I don't have to babysit the software. Using automation and integration with AWS, I can get messages if there are issues with any orchestration jobs.

Cons

Getting the API pulls working was a little clunky, but it came together relatively quickly utilizing Matillion's support. Their support team is fantastic!

Reasons for Choosing Matillion

Their team really went out of their way to make sure it would meet our business objectives. They have a very good team, from sales to support, I feel confident that I am using one of the best tools out there. Matillion + Snowflake = Modern Infrastructure.

June 2019

Paul from Parkwood Holdings ltd

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Have been using Matillion for past 9 months

We have developed Data Warehouse for our business using Matillion. We employ 6k+ people, and Matillion was a perfect match for our needs. Storing data in Google Big query allows seamless access to it from other Cloud Products I.E. Google Data Studio. I love the product, and limitless possibilities it gives us. Pulling the data from anything you may think of, transforming it and then outputting into Big Query is very easy and straight forward.

Pros

My background is development and I love the simplicity of the Matillion, you can very easy transform your thought process into blocks in Matillion, and debug any issues at a very granular level.

Cons

Matillion crashes from time to time, meaning you need to log back on to the system, but its benefits definitely outweigh this small issue.

June 2019

Amit from Copper

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2019

Does the job very well

I have been using Matillion since September 2018 and at the beginning i didn't like it very much as i dont had hands on experience using Matillion. But later my work has increased a lot using Matillion. So far i have had integrated bunch of sources using Matillion to data warehouse. I am liking it at this moment and no complains.

Pros

Matillion ETL is web based ETL tool and very easy to use from anywhere. It has most of the connectors for all data sources which makes my job to complete end to end development.

Cons

One thing I did not like about Matillion is, there is no need of Transformation job. Everything should be done at one place(Should be in Orchestration job). Also, the list of components are different in Orchestration and transformation jobs.

July 2019

Ryan Allen from United Health Group

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Matillion for BigQuery - United HealthGroup Data Engineer Review

Very useful tool. If you're looking for a tool for your analytics data warehouse which is fast, convenient and easy to learn, then this is the tool for you

Pros

Its very easy to learn. The UI is great and easy to navigate. It utilized the ELT approach which makes the data integration fast. Security and access control is well implemented and there are a lot of components to use.

Cons

Its a one way ETL, I'm using the BigQuery product and all the destination are in BigQuery, it would also be nice if we can load data to the sources.

June 2019

Jesse from Ansira Partners, Inc

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Great turnkey solution to ETL and data migrations

Pros

Matillion offers a powerful feature set within a robust UI. There are other options but none have the ease of onboarding that Matillion offers. The API adds a powerful layer to do advanced integrations.

Cons

Some threads have become unresponsive while running. This has been rare and was easy enough to resolve by resetting the service.

July 2019

Brian from Securitas

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Making my life easier!

It's been great. The support team has been very responsive in resolving some Azure-related issues, tuning our instance, and helping to understand the nuances of how it works. It's been a significant reduction in development time since we migrated to Matillion.

Pros

Simple, intuitive interface. I replaced a complicated series of scripts, "ETL" products, and Python code with a simple-to-understand Matillion instance.

Cons

We use it on Snowflake for Azure, so there are several features that have not been migrated from the AWS version, yet. An option for a larger server by default in the Azure Marketplace.

Reasons for Choosing Matillion

Simplicity, greater feature set.

June 2019

Chaitanya from Travis Perkins

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Simple and easy ELT

Very nice. Easy and simple tool. Yet a lot possible with python scripting feature.

Pros

Integration with GCP API calls and cloud storage. Easy of access from anywhere. Self documentation. Customer service. Automatic updates.

Cons

Failure capture process. Any changes made not needing to be saved. Accidental changes are considered saved at click of the button. No front end customisation available to distinguish between different environments. Having to use 3rd party add ons.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Best and very much compatible ETL for Redshift

Pros

1.)All the components and transfomrations availability 2.)Specially oriented for data ingestion process using all aws services like rds, s3, sns, redshift 3.)easy admin, ssl setup 4.)very easy diagromatical representation of jobs

Cons

the latest button change for "switch version"

July 2019

John from IPRO

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Powerful, useful, not the easiest thing I've ever learned

We are trying to automate as many of our recurring tasks as possible -- things like grabbing data from an API endpoint, manipulating it for our purposes, and updating our own databases for clients. Matillion lets us do a lot of that on a regular schedule and once it's set up, our humans are free to focus on things humans are better at. I found it clunky to use at first, non-intuitive. I did not find the online documentation to be very helpful, I never did find a video tutorial that spoke to my needs, and some of the terminology ("orchestration" and "transformation") I still find a bit opaque, and the division of different types of functions into the blue and green widgets doesn't always make sense to me. But I've managed to put together a fairly complex set of components that does most of what I want it to do, no small thanks to the support team, who are fantastically responsive and offer really good, specific advice within unreasonably short time periods. Their personalized attention is very much what enabled me to get going. I went from essentially hating using Matillion to really enjoying it over the course of a month or two. I'm sure I've only scratched the surface of what it can do but it's very clever and clearly quite powerful.

Pros

Its ability to automate repetitive tasks. Also, it has some quite useful built-in database functions that I wish MySQL had -- for example a search/replace function that can use regular expressions.

Cons

It's not very intuitive and not very easy to learn (although the support team is amazingly responsive and helpful).

July 2019

PRANAVKUMAR from GroupM

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Good tool for workflow management

I am happy with this tool and it has good UI.

Pros

- It has very good UI to design the workflow. - It is easy to design the workflow. - It has very good support with persistence storage. Like snowflake, redshift, etc.

Cons

- It should also support Azure data warehouse.

Reasons for Choosing Matillion

It is easy to learn tool.

July 2019

Christoph from Nickis Bächstädt GmbH

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Solution that works fine for almost all applications

If you really use your data and work on a daily basis with your data warehouse you should consider using Matillion. We had no downtimes and the service is brilliant. We connected all of our data sources and it works really well. But it got its price. Compared to other solutions the pricing is good for growing businesses.

Pros

Connectivity Really good customer service Individual solutions if necessary No downtimes Hosted on Amazon

Cons

Pretty expensive A bit hard to set up initially

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

First class ETL for everyone

We've been able to concentrate all data sources in one place and do a proper transformation and normalization of data to feed the Visualization layer.

Pros

Easy to use for non-tech (engineers) users.

Cons

Lacks testing stage before production and more flexibility to sample data.

June 2019

Adel from Campaign Monitor

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Extremely easy to use, but hits hard limits when dealing with lots of data

Overall experience isn't so great for the price we pay. Because of our hard limits we have to pay for two instances in order to handle our job loads. That wouldn't be a problem if we were able to scale the EC2 instance the software sits on. It makes no sense why an application has a specific hardware limits. Surely if we can spin up two separate instances to run concurrent jobs that are unrelated to each other, the same principle can be applied when scaling up with more cores/memory etc.

Pros

The ease of use is definitely the strongest aspect of Matillion. The GUI is exceptionally intuitive and even though the application flow speaks for itself, the documentation is also great for additional support.

Cons

You can hit a hard limit quite fast with the hardware when working with concurrent jobs running (Java Heap issues etc). You cannot increase the size of the instance (m4.xlarge) which means it becomes increasingly difficult to optimize. We are always trying to find work-arounds with the amount of data we need to load.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2019

Is Great

Overall extract and load data strategies is very powerfull

Pros

Is easy and is real pay as you use, that is very important for latinoamerica business

Cons

That you can't write in other destinations

Reasons for Choosing Matillion

easy

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2019

Matillion Review

Pros

Matillion is very easy to use. It's simplicity allows you to drag an drop components to easily create orchestrations. It also simple to create shared jobs and use the components.

Cons

Although there is a decent set of components, they are not very versatile, hence I end up using a SQL script instead. For example, the S3 unload component does not allow one to specify some criteria and some fields are mandatory whereas I would not have to specify such specific criteria when doing this from an SQL script.

June 2019

Tobias from Dentsu Aegis Network Germany

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

very good ETL Tool with some growing pains

it helped us a lot to build our Redshift Data Lake from the Scratch

Pros

very easy to use, fast and good Customer Support, many API Connectors out of the box, well integrated in AWS Infrastructure

Cons

some Problems regarding Out of Memory lags, sometimes it's better to write custom Code instead of using the Out of the Box API Connectors (faster and more stable)

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

A good solution for a one man data shop

In the scope of a sole user, it's a very powerful tool. One can get a production ETL job up and running in hours starting from scratch. After a while, it's pretty hard to figure what is where and if more than one user contributes to the flows it can be painful to understand changes.

Pros

Easy to learn Visual interface Pretty reliable

Cons

Version control Search Explaining dependencies

July 2019

Martin from Online Media

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Intuitive & Flexible

Pros

I love the GUI that Matillion employs - it makes creating and adjusting tasks very simple and transparent.

Cons

The scheduling of tasks is a little tricky, as we have to separately have to schedule the virtual machine to fire up and down. Once this is done though, it works faultlessly.

June 2019

Ellis from Blinkist

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Very useful product

Pros

The features and ease of use are good. The transformations act as a documentation for the self because of the readability.

Cons

The customer service is very poor. When they eventually respond to messages it is with an unhelpful response. Generally they will blame us for issues on their end, or they misunderstand the problem completely. It's not what we need from a tool The paid training we took was also pretty basic

June 2019

Deepaank Satyam from Axtria India

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Great product for handling big data flow automation

Pros

This tool helps in automating etl process.

Cons

Integration with python is limited. Need this feature

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Great ETL Tool for Business Users

Pros

Logic drag & drop of ETL steps makes the design and documentation of each ETL processes much simpler.

Cons

Getting it setup and connected to our data warehouse seemed to be unnecessarily complicated. Luckily tech support is great and helped my DevOps team throughout the process.

June 2019

Spencer from Digital Additive

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Excellent Product

We are able to quickly execute on ongoing ETL projects and ad hoc needs.

Pros

Ease of use and breadth of functionality.

Cons

We had a billing issue at one point when trying to renew but that was mostly due to AWS Marketplace and not Matillion as a product.

June 2019

Jagdish from Tieto Software Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

User friendly and Advance connectors

I was developed around 20 to 50 mapping using Matillion and I don't see any difficulties right know.

Pros

User interface is very easy and any one can mange development things without too much of knowledge. Matillion have very content on official site and It help's a lot to make hands on on this tool. In few click we can connect any database weather it is on premises or cloud. I have extracted data from different source system and loaded in to redshift in very easy and fast manner.

Cons

I don't see straight forward job Audit framework. Please try to build nice job monitoring and audit framework.

Reasons for Choosing Matillion

We have redshift database and we gone through the Matillion ETL features. It is easily available on AWS market place and It won't need too much effort to installed. Any one can manage admin part easily. It has lot of functionality and we can easily build critical business things.

July 2019

Sudheer from Copper CRM Inc

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great ELT tool

We use Matillion ELT to manage Data Warehouse. Support team provides consistent work around for issues.

Pros

Connectivity to Saas sources. Reliability and Customer Support team

Cons

RSD creation for Saas sources that do not have built in connector.

June 2019

Christopher from City Plumbing Supplies Holding Limited

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Great ETL Tool

Class leading, can turn a new file around in hours and days.

Pros

Pretty straightforward compared to other ETL tools, traditional engineers pick up in no time at all.

Cons

The google version is not as rich as the AWS one

July 2019

Vishant from Epsilon

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Easy to use features

Pros

Inbuild features to integrate with AWS s3, send SNS messages.

Cons

Readability should be more, ease to retain changes or navigate to environment variables should improve.

Reasons for Choosing Matillion

Good features , Good price

Displaying 1 - 50 of 95 reviews