All Athennian Reviews

1-25 of 43 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Lanair

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

A great decision for our organization to switch to a more robust system.

Overall, I have been please and satisfied with my experience with Athennian. We are looking forward to 2024, when we will be able to utilize all the features and services for the first time in a full year.

PROS

We are very pleased with the amount of detail tracked on the entity profiles, the tracking of compliance tasks, and keeping up to date/point-in-time transactional data easily assessable. The features and new rollouts keep this the single source of truth system we were looking for. The product is easy to use and easy to train on, and the customer support and service are first in class.

CONS

When we were on-boarding and implementing and at the time of rollout, a lot of new features and changes were released. All the changes were good for our organization, but it was hard on the timing to backtrack with those recently trained. Also, navigating the new way of selecting groups and making some entities private is hard for me.

Reasons for switching to Athennian

The product was overloaded with the amount of data we had to input and track. The service and capabilities were not robust and mature enough for our needs.

Megan

Environmental Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Easy to use, modern and powerful

Excellent. We were on Diligent Entities before which was very complicated to use. Athennian has an amazing conversion team. They helped us migrate all of our data and the training was very good.

PROS

- very easy to use - modern interface - excellent support (all support reps are corporate paralegals) - integrates with DocuSign and Google Drive

CONS

- I wish there was more customization on the permission levels and the interface

Reason for choosing Athennian

For the same reasons that we left Diligent Entities.

Reasons for switching to Athennian

- Diligent Entities is way too hard to use. It can do lots of things, but it’s so complicated that it was difficult for our users to actually use the features. - it’s very very old. Diligent has made it look more modern, but when you use it you notice how slow it is. It also can’t integrate with anything because it’s not cloud. - Our company has moved to a cloud only policy and Diligent Entities is not cloud

Michelle

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

New user

PROS

Support is amazing and fast. Given the program with no training, very easy to figure out.

CONS

May be the screen I'm using, but transactions are hard to locate in the list

Christine

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Very useful

It has been smooth sailing with my use so far.

PROS

The fact that it can store a lot of documents

CONS

wish there were tabs in between documents

Reasons for switching to Athennian

Athennian is more modern and has more features

Michelle

Oil & Energy, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Finally! A Corporate Entity Management System that is User Friendly!

Because of Athennian, we were able to bring our minute books in house to be maintained by our group - that alone now saves us time/money when looking for information for items like a Know-Your-Client requests. The staff, from sales to support, are SUPER FRIENDLY and the BEST group around. I will keep telling everyone I know in the Corporate Paralegal world to take a look at this product - and switch!

PROS

After working with many other platforms with corporate entity management, it is so refreshing to be working in Athennian! It is so easy to use, easy to figure out, easy to make it tailored to our needs. From brining over our entities via Alf, to creating new entities from scratch, Athennian just made the process so smooth. I had even made a mistake with the creation of a new entity - after chatting with the super-helpful support staff, mistake was easily fixed and was not that big of a deal! It has made me look like a superstar when being asked information that I can print out in a matter of minutes!

CONS

None! Athennian is always changing, taking in feedback from users about what is working, what isn't working, what options they haven't thought of that could be used. If any "cons" show up, they are acknowledged and a solution is found as soon as the Athennian team can do so!

Reason for choosing Athennian

I have worked with the above products and there was always something that bugged not only me, but the lawyers asking for the information.

Dawn

Legal Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Fantastic product - delivers what is promised

I love Athennian's intuitive interface. I love the fact that it was designed by paralegals who understand what our day to day needs are with this type of software. It truly is a giant step above the other systems I've had experience with over the years.

PROS

I appreciate the customer service the most. In a world where customer service is governed by AI and FAQ pages, I appreciate having a 'real person' to respond to my questions and all of the representatives for Athennian know the product inside and out. They have been critical to our team quickly adapting to this product and loving it.

CONS

I think migration of our old system was our most difficult hurdle, through no fault of Athennian; the data points from our old system were all over the place. The Athennian team did a great job sorting those challenges out and worked with us every step of the way. Their guidance was vital to transitioning as smoothly as possible.

Reasons for switching to Athennian

Support for the product ended and the company retired the product.

Kelly

Legal Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

User Friendly and Progressive Program

I have enjoyed working with this program immensely. I've provided very positive feedback internally to my manager and the Emerging Tech/Start-up lawyer team. It is a comprehensive program which is constantly enhancing its tools and the customer service can't be beat. I look forward to continuing to work with the Athennian team!

PROS

There are so many things I like about this program, but the one thing that really stands out is the user friendly interface. The information is easy to enter and easy to review. The program is fast and allows me to enter corporate information very quickly and efficiently. I would also like to note that Athennian provides the most the fantastic customer service. The team is super responsive and works with me one on one to tailor/format documents in our firm standard which expedites the preparation of documents.

CONS

There isn't really anything I don't like about this program. Any issues I've had have been in connection with formatting of our precedents, however, as previously mentioned the Athennian team has worked with me to quickly and efficiently make any changes I need.

Reason for choosing Athennian

Our firm also uses GlobalAct, but our Emerging Tech/Start-up group uses Athennian for new emerging tech group companies.

Cheryll

Legal Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Impressive Entity Management System

Very impressed with their support and love the fact that they are constantly evolving to meet the requirements of their customers.

PROS

Excellent customer service, quick and reliable. The company encourages user feedback and uses that information to update the product on a weekly basis. User friendly and easy to navigate and find the information you require.

CONS

Document automation is questionable but I'm hopeful this will improve. Entity address fields are confusing and cumbersome.

Reasons for switching to Athennian

Decision was made by our head office.

Christy

Commercial Real Estate, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Easy to Use, Excellent Customer Support

Using Athennian has been hugely beneficial to our organization in being able to provide a centralized system for different types of users to access the information they need quickly and efficiently, and the customer service is excellent.

PROS

This cloud-based system has been a game-changer for us, especially with remote working. We have been able to provide access to our records for various teams in our organization, and have been able to use features of the product to make certain information more easily accessible for various users to suit their purposes. Customer service has been excellent, and feedback has resulted in improvements where needed.

CONS

Would like to see some improvements in the org charting functions, but understand there are changes in the works and in my experience, Athennian always delivers when it comes to improving their product to meet customers' needs.

Ashok

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Simple Corporation management and entity documents

Very happy with the simple yet effective functioning and use for managing entities and creating the legal documents for the same

PROS

Very easy to create and modify entities at one place and manage them. Supports legal document generation in built which helps create and store entity related documents from templates created. Versioning available to track organizational changes done to any entity

CONS

Could have enhanced development features for template development with abilities to add business logics. Limitations on existing data fields to add wide range of business scenarios.

Paula

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Athennian is the BEST for entity management software.

Professional team at Athennian, onboarding was smoothe, support services, training classes were great. If you have a lot of entities and need to manage the information which is so important. Athennian is the way to go!

PROS

Everything is streamlined, neat, captured information, no more minute books !

CONS

We use organizational charts quite a bit and I could see some improvement to this area.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2022

Document generation and storage automated

Happy with the business requirements Athennian is helping to achieve in document generation and archiving. Could be helpful if logic can be added to solve arithmetic and logical business requirements

PROS

Helps to create multiple copies of frequently used legal and business documents saving hours of manual time and minimized errors. Quick generation. Easy coding and template development. Access control in place to restrict user authorization

CONS

Doesn't have flexibility to add in complex codes and logic which business might need for some requirements. Could improved interview interface for custom prompts used for undefined field names

Mark

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

The Next Generation of Corporate Entity Software

Athennian is now our primary corporate entity management software, and over time we are implementing new and greater efficiencies to our workflow by taking advantage of its services. It takes some time to learn about its ins and outs, and to implement the necessary code, but there are so many options and elements that new possibilities become available that would not have been possible with our old systems.

PROS

Athennian is a fantastic platform for managing corporate entities in the cloud and on the go. The platform allows you to upload your firm's preferred precedents and forms of documents which can coded to work with the Athennian entity database. The result is that we could continue to use our favourite documents and forms of entity documents, while still taking advantage of Athennian's features and efficiency improvement.

CONS

There is a learning curve to Athennian's UI, and to its coding language. It takes time to learn and implement the coding language into precedents to get them to seamlessly work with Athennian, and longer to fully take advantage of all of its features.

Reasons for switching to Athennian

Using the older FastCompany system, we had no cloud access to our entities, and had to deal with a clunky system that was very difficult to customize, and that often broke when doing simple transactions or corrections.

Jayne

Legal Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

New and Improved Corporate Database

It is fantastic that all of our offices are now on a national database and we can now share information. This provides efficiency and consistency in our work. The support from the Athennian team has been really great. Athennian has always been open to customization, suggestions, critiques, etc. and has handled things with professionalism and openness. Our conversions from Alf went quite smoothly.

PROS

Clean look Ease of use Document generation capability and speed Customization

CONS

Entity searching is not efficient Document generation is inconsistent Word online Some functionalities could work better such as current inability to alter price per share

Reason for choosing Athennian

n/a

Reasons for switching to Athennian

Needed a web-based database Needed a database all of our offices could use Alf database was too busy

Vendor Response

Thanks for the positive review! We'll reach out to understand how we can improve search. If documents are not generating as you expect, please let us know and we can have a document specialist adjust the automation coding so they produce as you want them. Unfortunately the features in Word Online can only be changed by Microsoft, but you can always download the file to Word desktop to edit with more Word features.

Replied June 2020

Carter

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Simplify your Corporate record keeping

Worked with other Corporate Record vendors, their output was poor quality. Athennian produces an end product we are pleased to provide to our clients.

PROS

Clean look, very intuitive for end users, cloud based, responsive customer service, great end product for our clients, reporting feature, end result is a very professional Virtual Minute Book that can be shared with clients for their use.

CONS

Renaming a document - suggestion (I believe it worked this way previously) - click on the name of the document (or pencil under the "modified" column and have the ability to rename there rather than selecting document, scrolling to top and selecting Rename.

Caroline

Executive Office, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Achieving clarity

My overall experience is overwhelmingly positive. It is intuitive, relevant information can be found at a glance and entities are managed seamlessly.

PROS

Before Athennian, our documents were stored in multiple locations as individuals shared them by e-mail. Everyone had their own preferred way of organising the documents. It was a mess. Athennian allowed to upload the documents to a secure area and organise them in a way that maximises efficiency. There is nothing more frustrating than not being able to locate a document with relevant important information.

CONS

I had difficulty using e-filing. I also made several suggestions regarding share capital transactions and was pleased to see many of my suggestions implemented in the recent upgrade. Athennian listens to its users!

Janet

Paper & Forest Products, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Easy Implementation and Use

Overall, Athennian has allowed us to streamline our processes by using resolution templates that are automatically populated. Also the virtual minute book is an excellent function and very appropriate for our current context of people working remotely.

PROS

Athennian provides an excellent "out of the box" solution that is easy to implement and use. The learning curve to get my team up an running was very quick.

CONS

There were some missing register templates but once I mentioned it to Athennian, they fixed the issue right away. The customer services is excellent and very responsive to customer needs.

Reason for choosing Athennian

We choose Athennian because of its ease of use and because it met most if not all our needs.

Reasons for switching to Athennian

We were looking for a platform that allowed for virtual minute books.

Brett

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY