User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(30)

30

4 stars

(4)

4

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

5.0 / 5

Browse Veeam Backup & Replication Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -17 of 33 results

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Chris from McMillan LLP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Great Backup & DR Software for the Datacenter

A great backup system that allows us to recover data when needed and required. It allows us to retain backups on-site and offsite for recovery including replicated jobs.

Pros

The current software - Version 9.5 Update 3 covers the needs for any user of the software. You can use the Windows/Linux Agents for physical boxes and manage them directly from the Console now, which includes updating, installing and rebooting of the endpoint. The software is easy to navigate and set up. While true it is mainly for virtual environments they are making strides to cover physical as well. Storage Integration is a great plus with vendors like HPE Nimble, IBM, and Infinidat but requires the Enterprise Plus license. When deployed with Proxy Servers you can cut down backup times drastically. What would take more than 10+ hours can be reduced to 4-5 depending on your environment. The ability to restore to Active Directory, SQL, Exchange is very easy with the software as well as Replication and Recovery Testing with SureBackup. Be sure to review the licensing models to pick what is best for your organization as they even have a Free Edition with limitations. Support is top notch with this product and very responsive. Never had a ticket opened that could not be solved or take a long time to resolution.

Cons

The user interface could use some updating to something more modern like some Windows 10 applications.

June 2021

James from MVP

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Veeam exceeded my expectations

Veeam was easy to setup, it's easy to use, and restoring entire Virtual Machines or even restoring things at the file level is very fast and easy to do.

Pros

Veeam is so easy to use that even things that seem abstract or complex are actually fairly simple to setup. I'm using a plugin to interface my Veeam appliance to my physical storage to orchestrate backups, site-to-site replication and also have a virtual tape library setup. I implemented all of this within one day and my backups kicked off and ran flawlessly on the first night.

Cons

It was a bit complicated to emulate an "air gapped" backup process. Using a virtual tape library and unmounting the tapes when done was the best approximation I could implement.

Reasons for Switching to Veeam Backup & Replication

Veeam has more features and is much more reliable.

August 2021

Daniel from Proxios

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Rock solid backup product

Pros

Veeam is an excellent product for managing backups. It's easy to use with a robust feature set. There's a bit of a learning curve, but once you master it, it's critical for supporting your business. Every customer service interaction I have had with them has been professional and productive. We backup thousands of vms daily and have only ever had a handful of issues.

Cons

Error messages can be a bit unintuitive to track down and mediate.

July 2017

Suleyman from Baku City Circuit

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2017

Excellent backup tool

Pros

Ease of use and offers a tremendous amount of flexibility when it comes to backup media.Recoverability, knowledge base, support, etc are all in very high level.

Cons

There isn't much to dislike, it's a solid product.Although, The support used to be an issue but recently seems to be much improved.

July 2021

Joshua from WDSE Public TV

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Great Administration Controls and Improved Linux Operation in Backup & Replication v11

I use this to manage backups of office-facing and production servers in a non-profit business. We have less than 10 servers to care for and the free Community Edition is perfect. I have found the features and reporting to be robust. Practicing restores is no trouble. I have never needed vendor support to operate or configure this Veeam Backup & Replication - it works well and has good documentation!

Pros

Before version 11 the features available to manage Linux backups were a subset of the features available to manage Windows backups. Windows only allowed one backup job per Linux Infrastructure Object and I found myself configuring the backup settings from the Linux command line. Now I can make two backup jobs for the Linux box that are completely managed from the Veeam server interface. Many other features are also available now. I have not used the CDP feature for virtual operating systems, yet it is promising.

Cons

There is a module to export a backup and the wizard doesn't let the operator specify the destination of the export. It is sent to the backup repository on which the backups are made for the job. I would like to specify the location during the wizard.

January 2021

Brenten from Brenten Lamoncha

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Online Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Simply the Best

It has a lot of functionality beyond just backing up like creating virtual labs that you can run experiments on. Every time I needed to get back up and running it did a great job and was seamless. I really like instant restore feature.

Pros

I don’t know where to start, it has amazing tools for gettin files and putting them back whether on exchange or in the directory. The real power is in being able to start up servers/ PCs and run off of them while recovering. Additionally the offsite backup functionality is really impressive. This software can do it all and it never let me down once.

Cons

It’s a little expensive up front for small companies. It’s also a little hard to do offsite backups without enterprise.

May 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Reliable cloud backup system

After suffering from losing information that was in various local backup systems, it was decided to use this excellent solution in the cloud, which generated significant cost savings and allowed us to recover information when we need it without inconvenience or delay.

Pros

The best thing about the Veem Back Up system in the cloud is that it allows access to them from any device and at any time, only with internet access. In addition, it generates significant cost savings, because local servers with their corresponding maintenance are not required.

Cons

The disadvantage that I can mention is that it does not have a system that optimizes the time necessary for the first data migration. If you have a lot of information, it takes a lot of time. But this is very common in this type of service.

April 2021

Matthew from Rinchem

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Veeam Backup & Replication Suite is the best backup tool I have ever used hands-down!

This is an excellent backup solution. We struggled before this product and are thankful that we found something that is so easy to manage and maintain.

Pros

Veeam is so intuitive, I don't know how to express how simple it is to set up backup jobs that run on a regular basis and GFS backups are now super easy to create and impliment.

Cons

Some of the errors that we get are cryptic from Veeam and I wish that they made a little more sense off the bat when you see them to clearly understand what went wrong, but support is fantastic from veeam, so I can't complain too much here.

Reasons for Switching to Veeam Backup & Replication

Avamar was tedious (at best) to configure and manage. The backups worked fine, but it was a pain to maintain and use for image based backup of systems we use, so we looked for a more elegant solution and Veeam was where we landed.

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Best Backup Solution for VMware Environment

Great product that does not require a lot of maintenance. As long as the backup repository is available and there is enough disk space, you won't usually run into any issues.

Pros

It is very user friendly and easy to learn. It is great in taking full backups and incremental backups of the virtual machines whether servers or desktops. It has a lot of features that are very useful including being able to restore from different applications and databases.

Cons

No complaints really with Veeam. It works perfectly.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

The Best Backup Solution for Virtualization

Pros

Best Features, Tape Integration, many ways to restore backups, Replications and Disaster Recovery option, Easy to install and configure.

Cons

The Physical Backup Solution is not integratedwith the Suite yet, and is some difficult to use, dosn't exists P2V conversion too

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Adrian from Infotrans Caribbean N.V.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

I'm an architect using veeam

proper backups on time

Pros

Veeam provides highly configurable total backups that integrate into VMware seamlessly, also provides the ability to replicate whole VMs back to our central data center has both web based and Windows desktop clients. and integration with the major enterprise storage in the market

Cons

So far I don't have any complain with the tool, if you setup well it will work as a charm, even updating is so easy

July 2017

Emil from Collection agency

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Excellent backup solution for any SMB

Very fast recovery time for any DR solution.

Pros

The biggest pros of this backup solution is its diversity of platform which it can backup. Based on the license bought you can backup any VmWare or Hyper-V virtual machine but it also features a client that can be installed on any platform and can do the file level backup. The coolest feature is the restore where you can using the client do the restore within the machine itself and go back to all available restore points and have many version of the same file that you want to restore. It supports the backup of the SQL databases within the VM itself and it is also prefer for the backup of Microsoft Exchange as it can pull out for example only the desired email from any specific mailbox which is a big plus.

Cons

The solution it self is not cheap but it is justified with the professional support who, except contacting you via the email, also gives you a phone call if they dont get the replay from you any time soon. Other con is that it really requires a lot of HDD space, but then it is an enterprise level backup solution so this is self understandable.

May 2019

Johannes from Rohrauer EDV e.U.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

I can finally sleep well again

Having used several products in the past (NTBackup, Windows Backup, Backup Exec, Acronis, vRanger, Networker) I never really had the feeling that one of these products really is there for me when things get really worse. With Veeam I have a feeling that they got my back. I can finally sleep well again when I think about my clients and my data.

Pros

I like very much that Veeam just works. Even when you install it without applying any further configuration (except what you really need, remote server and credentials) you end up with a proper backup. One of the best features is that the backup files are self contained. Even if you recover them from a broken backup server, or if your configuration is not working/readable/available again, you will be able to recover your stuff. The support is also great. While it could be a bit quicker in responses (for not very important tickets), they are doing a good job. I never had to escalate a ticket, every rep was very capable.

Cons

It is quite bloated. The download has several gigabytes, which is quite big for a backup software in my opinion.

January 2018

User Profile Picture

Luke from KC Computers

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Veeam Availability Suite is a useful software package for Backups and DR that works well.

Security and peace of mind for security and retention of data.

Pros

The ease of installation and use, easy configuration and minimal setup time makes this software our choice for MSP customers. We have found it to be reliable and consistent, with many different customers all using the software in different setups. Recovery from the file/folder level all the way up to the Entire VM restoration is easy to understand and perform.

Cons

Price tag is a little hefty for some customers, but overall is usually on par with other similar software. However there are options out there from Veeam to help mitigate the cost if needed.

October 2017

Mike from Context4 Healthcare

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Fast and easy to use. Quick to set up. Update processes are quick and painless.

Perfect solution for backing up locally, to tape, to DR, and to Amazon GS.

Pros

Tech team is knowledgeable and friendly. Quick to respond. Will follow-up on all cases. Software works well, and easy to manage. Clients can be installed for even further management and monitoring capability. Really easy to get a job configured and running.

Cons

About the only issue I have found thus far is how difficult it can be to stop jobs should they ever become stuck. Have to stop the Veeam service, then start it again. Stopping "Gracefully" or "Immediately" will not do anything.

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Has lots of capabilities

The Suite of products from Veeam are great and work well. As we've migrated from mostly in-premise to the cloud, we have continued to use other products in the suite for business continuity and disaster recovery. Veeam has always worked well with multiple products.

Pros

Can backup Office365, Azure, and AWS instances. Very easy to use and setup. Restores are quick and easy to schedule.

Cons

Can only use limited types of storage on the backend. Can be difficult to do the inisital backups, especially if you have a lot of data in the cloud already.

February 2018

Bjarke from Öhman Bank S.A.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Top shelf enterprise backup and recovery solution

Pros

The ease of use of this product suite is OUTSTANDING. By far the quickest to learn and use of any of the many different solution we have tried out over the years. This one is the keeper. Scheduling and chaining of jobs works like a charm. So little overhead in managing the backups and recovery.

Cons

If I were to point to anything it would be the lack of integration with Dell SAN systems, but I'm sure that will be sorted in a future release.

March 2018

Brandon from City of Sioux Falls

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

A competent VMWare focused backup suite

Veeam is an excellent DR tool with good native understanding of application specific backup items. Works great for backups with no more than 60 or so copies.

Pros

First party tools for native understanding of application items, such as exchange, active directory, SQL, SharePoint, etc. These work very well Backups are reliable and simple to setup.

Cons

No legal/compliance copies. Not a great tool for long term archival, really works better with shorter retention times.

August 2017

Dan from TBI

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Veeam is nothing short of excellent

It is extremely easy to work with once you get terminology and settings down. Some of the major benefits I can think of are Outlook email recovery, File Recovery, backups (both local and cloud), easy to read reports, stellar support team.

Pros

The interface is easy to navigate. You can get stats on all of your backup jobs. You can integrate with cloud providers. You can test your backups with SureBackup. You can do File Level Restores to restore individual files. Their support team is top notch. We recently had a SAN outage and they saved our bacon by being able to get a DC backup functioning again after jumping through multiple hoops.

Cons

Things can be a bit overwhelming as far as the options for backups. Does take a bit of learning to understand terminology, though they provide training :)

September 2017

Christopher from Hard Rock Hotel & Casino

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Veeam has a been a very great addition to our team. Very easy to setup and use.

Easy to perform backups. Easy to restore from backups. Easy to implement software and servers. My old backup system was hard to restore from and would take awhile. Veeam is quick to restore from backup.

Pros

Very easy to one click and spin up a backup if a server dies. I also love how if you need more space you can very simply attach storage.

Cons

some updates are not as easy to preform as stated. Sometimes when running updates its not as straight forward as they said.

November 2017

Tim from Call One

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Worry-free backups that function and do not break at random!

Pros

We are able to backup our VMs (and copy to the cloud) without trouble. Once the backups are configured, it has run flawlessly every single time. Our previous backup software would just break for no discernible reason at random, and its support could never figure it out. Veeam consistently works without issue.

Cons

No backup for physical servers as part of the base product. You can purchase it separately, though...

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Best VM backup software I have used so far.

Pros

It's easy to use, quick. Has native support for many storage solutions. Very good technical support. Since version 8 it's very stable software.

Cons

Some strange behaviors on the gui console with scrolls. Not many possibilities to customize the console.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Single Pane of Glass

Having no issues so far with anything Veeam has to offer.

Pros

The single pane of glass aspect of having One and B&R.

Cons

Pricing is a bit of a jab in your side once they changed to a per core model.

January 2018

Alex from Infotrans

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

The only complete backup & replication solution

Pros

Complete backup & replication solution, with the possibility to backup storage snapshots. SO backup will be done thru the VEEAM console. Replication between sites and it comes with Veeam ONE monitoring.

Cons

It is not the most cheap solution, but for Enterprise business with enterprise storage this is the product to use.

May 2017

Grant from Rockley Photonics Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Backups for virtual machines made simple and effective

Pros

Intelligent and automated installation. Detected NAS/SAN device without intervention. Backup setup easy and straightforward.

Cons

Their agent software (for backup loads that are not VM's) can use the same storage, but are managed on each endpoint. Also, there is no way to backup NAS devices that are shared on multiple standalone servers.

July 2017

Nuno from CHETOCORPORATION S.A.

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Top of the tops backup tool

Pros

Excellent support by Veeam. Simple and intuitive interface. With few clicks the backup job is done. Full reports from the jobs. Recoverability is really quick and effective.

Cons

The price is a little high if you have a big structure implemented but for a solution that has all you need i can complain

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Jannifer from Flatiron Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

World renowned product with tons of benefits

Overall data backup efficiency of this product is favorable for any type of company and also it’s a great tool that balances my workflow by different ways.

Pros

For me this application is a great blessing that totally backups all my integral files and folders within just few clicks. Furthermore, it offers excellent reporting features that are effective to update me about the present condition of my workflow.

Cons

Each and every feature of this product is highly beneficial. I failed to find any drawback in it. So there is not anything to be like least about it.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

The complete backup to keep data

Pros

This is the ultimate software, have many features including orchestator.

Cons

The learning curve is slow because the software have many ways to solve one problem, in our case we did 3 variants to store an virtual machine in amazon s3.

May 2017

Patrick from Denver Water

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Veeam Review

Pros

It just works, literally. Veeam integrates very well with existent system architecture. Clean and simple user interface.

Cons

Veeam does not support BTRF file systems. Light sensing model could get a little expensive or overpriced.

February 2018

Miguel Angel from Larson Technology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Very good to only virtualized enviroments

Pros

fast and reliable scalability at your fingertips for all VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V VMs, individual files and application elements, offering low recovery point objectives (RTOs)

Cons

RTOs and RPOs are only short for 100% consolidated and virtualized environments, and there is no integration with OVM, Linux Redhat or Nutanix

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Great Backup and Replication application

Pros

Extremely excellent application in terms of ease of use.

Cons

I can not say very well for corporate firms as performance.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Monitor your application servers

Pros

with this tool, we ensured the availability and performance of our application servers.

Cons

it requires more feature upgrades and needs to upgrade its UI for a better user experience.

February 2019

David from Support-Swift IT Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Veeam availability suite

Backup and restore made easy

Pros

easy to deploy Creating backup jobs in few clicks Easy to operate -dose not require deep understanding of backup

Cons

i haven't seen any negative about this backup suite