User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.74

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Amazon RDS (Amazon Relational Database Service) is a very powerful Service hosted by AWS. It's very easy to Setup and Run complex Database Instances."
  • icon"Great technical support. You almost don't need to mind at any configuration or database servers anymore."
  • icon"Good availability of cloud watch triggers. It makes it quick and easy to keep backup and restore."
  • icon"Can be difficult to set up in certain situations, having multiple availability zones can prove costly."
  • icon"Amazon RDS security is not a quite high level. Also with so many NoSQL databases coming up these days, RDS is a difficult choice to make given that it lags behind those NoSql databases."
  • icon"My biggest complaint about RDS is that I did not find it sooner."

Browse all Amazon RDS Reviews

  • Have you used Amazon RDS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 184 reviews

Justin

Company size: 201 - 500 employees

Time used: Unspecified

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

May 2021

Amazon RDS User Review

User Profile

Monish

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2020

Cost Effective and Fully Cloud Managed Relational Database Service

Had A Really Great Experience with RDS, I have been evaluating Aurora with Native RDS so i will be talking more about Aurora in this Review

Pros

RDS provides support for verity of database systems like mysql, postgreSql, Maria DB, Oracle, Microsoft Sql and a hybrid Aurora (supports both mysql & psql) Resizing, network management processes like subnet and security group are easily manageable. Using Aurora it has become easy to transfer data from DB to S3 using "INTO OUTFILE S3" query Aurora is really faster when it comes to executing heavy flock of query simultaneously when compared with its native RDS, it increases the over all through put Aurora Server less is a extremely cost effective solution when used with proper configurations, it scales up and scales down as per its usage (pay per sec) Supports Auto Backing up and scheduled snapshotting which stores the DB snapshot in S3, which helps in recovery at times of data deleted by mistake or data corruption by some failure in the application etc Aurora provides Export Snapshot to S3 feature, its a additional feature towards data movement from RDS to S3, from this we can easily migrate data from RDS to Redshift or Athena via S3

Cons

Can't change subnet of a multi AZ RDS Database directly, to achieve this i had to first change my DB to single AZ Aurora Server less dose not scale up when used with low CPU utilising application, user should have given the flexibility to change the autoscaling parameter for Aurora server less (CPU utilisation 70%) Aurora the use of "INTO OUTFILE S3" query requires some additional setup steps at the s3 bucket end and IAM role which is well documented, but quite confusing, Aurora dose not support newer mysql or psql versions which are supported by its native RDS's Aurora when compared with its native RDS its slower for executing single queries, officers Aurora is really faster when it comes to executing heavy flock of query simultaneously, but at the least we expect Aurora to perform as the same level as its native RDS when it comes to single queries Aurora's Export Snapshot to S3 feature only supports Parquet file format, and on trigging Export it takes more time to start, it wold be better if the process starts instantaneously

User Profile

Ana

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

High availability even for database beginners

I am using it as a MySQL server. With a managed database server, almost everything can be configured by just operating the configuration screen, so it is recommended that even members with little knowledge of MySQL can create a high availability database infrastructure, such as creating a Master-Slave configuration. It was possible to significantly reduce the man-hours required to install and configure the DB supports in EC2 and the upgrade procedure for maintenance, and dedicate the man-hours to other design and construction work. Including a BD license, it has freed us from license management. In addition, by not needing a physical space, we are freed from the whole flow of purchasing it.

Pros

It is a pay-per-use system where you are only charged for the number of transactions that occur. Still, there is also a subscription system called Reserved Instances (RI), so instances that generate transactions frequently use this system to reduce costs significantly. There are three types to choose from: one-year prepayment, one-year prepayment, monthly payment, and no prepayment, depending on the kind of discount. Pay-per-use is basically cheaper for cases where transactions do not occur frequently, depending on the situation, so you can optimize the charge by using different payment methods depending on the application.

Cons

I would like you to provide a concrete fault test solution. If you do not have a high level of knowledge about RDS, you cannot be relieved that you cannot perform useful failure tests assuming a failure occurs.

Reasons for choosing Amazon RDS

It is necessary to stop updating the specifications, but it is easy and simple to update.

Reasons for switching to Amazon RDS

I migrated to RDS from a database server with MySQL installed on a LINUX server. When creating a master-slave configuration, it was necessary to configure MySQL for two servers, but with the switch to RDS, only a few clicks are needed. In addition, the Availability Zone automatically becomes redundant, which makes it easier to manage.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Dependable Database management solution

Overall it has amazing control features and i have never experienced any kind of downtime with them, they also have very enhanced security features so data birch is out of the question.

Pros

I is easy to integrate and implement also the customer support is quite good when one is having problems with any of their features.Its also important to note that the backup and recovery are free if you turn on the automation feature

Cons

Auto backup is not automatically turned on so if one forgets to turn it on this might cause challenges in the long run, also i don't think its right even after paying for the solution upfront that one has to leave their financial information on the system

Reasons for choosing Amazon RDS

The solution felt less expensive compared to the others with more advanced features

Aleksandr

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2021

Will cost you all yourmoney.

Easy to setup. Very expensive. Play great with other AWS services. The main issue is that metrics collected manually will never meet AWS metrics which are used to bill your stack. And of course AWS point of view will be much costly. Their Enterprise Support can not understand why metrics extracted from DB itself do not meet billing metrics and will endlessly redirect you to yet another expert.

Pros

Requires minimum knowledge or time to set up the database. Everything you need is basically there. Documentation is fantastic. It just works and takes all the burden of infrastructure management from you. A handful of engines, version, and extensions to them are supprted. Integrated seamless to AWS infrastructure.

Cons

Price. It will literally eat 7/8 of your infrastructure budget. Metrics lies. Performance insight simply does not work. Note, this is an opinion of somebody who paid for AWS Enterprise support (sigh, that's me) Backups are not backups per se, this is filesystem rsync. So it is easy to end up with broken DB. Support is very poor.

Reasons for choosing Amazon RDS

We already had few services deployed to AWS. This is the sole reason.

Reasons for switching to Amazon RDS

RDS looked very promising. It still is except that you have no control over the bill.

F─▒rat

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Best quality ever!!!

I don't want to give too much detail, but I have to say that it is the best database software I have used in my life. You get a smooth service from general quality to customer service and it is very cheap compared to similar applications.

Pros

Amazon continues to achieve the best in this field as always. I think it is good that it dominates the database market because it is a good example and competitive environment for other similar applications.

Cons

I have not had a bad experience, I am extremely pleased. Using amazon credits jointly on all services is an impressive feature. I did not have any compatibility problems and I was very satisfied with the overall quality.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

Amazon RDS - the backbone of your AWS stack

Waaaay back in the day, we owned and managed huge machines on which we ran our database software. It was Oracle for a while, then we moved to mySQL. But the machine and the software were our problem to handle. Most of the time (because these are not new technologies), there were no problems. But when there were problems, there were huge problems. Because like many websites/apps, data is at the core of what we do. No database, and everything goes poof. Since switching to RDS, this has become a thing of the past. We tell RDS what kind of beefy setup we want, and they do the rest. The mySQL patching. The upgrades. If we want to move to a bigger instance, that's pretty straightforward, too. Database hosting at pretty large scale, with just a few clicks. And no machines to worry about. You get decent (but not amazing) visibility into the instance at any time. But, basically, what you really get is peace of mind, not having to worry that your system's most critical layer will flake out on you. That's worth a lot. Also: AWS's Aurora is a very nice port of mySQL. We've had no issues there either.

Pros

Aurora is a great port of mySQL - very compatible and super fast Prices are always going one direction: down Scalable way huge with just a few clicks Automated backups, patching, upgrades You can still do a lot of customization using PL/MYSQL The instances just stay up and running - becomes one less thing to worry about You have options: both mySQL and Postgres

Cons

It's not amazingly easy to update the various variables that enable you to configure your mySQL instance. I wish it was a bit easier to get monitoring that would give you more granular insight into what's causing issues. You don't have quite as much flexibility and control over special packages you might install to do special stuff (calculating the Levenschtein distance between words, for example).

Reasons for switching to Amazon RDS

Price, speed, ease of maintenance. We were tired of managing our own servers. RDS made keeping a top-notch database up and running MUCH easier for us.

User Profile

Pawe

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2022

RDS as a database for Web Applications

Pros

It has met all our requirements regarding costs and storage. We observed no downtimes. Once set up, we did not have to manage it at all. Really enjoyed the backup functionality.

Cons

Deployment was quite hard as for most of AWS infrastructure, but once you get over initial struggles it becomes relatively easy

Reasons for choosing Amazon RDS

Previous experience with AWS.

User Profile

Giuseppe

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

As every AWS service, is best in class database as a service

Pros

I use this service daily and it is really powerful, especially if you need to manage hundreds of databases without having to worry about anything. pointing in time backup is the most powerful feature ever.

Cons

For the target audience of the service there are no cons, perhaps a little costs for smaller projects.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Easy to use Rdbms Service

As a part of e-learning training, we are using rds to make students learn how to fetch data from RDBMS to pandas which are also very simple In that

Pros

Auto Scaling and high availability features are impressive, and it is effortless andtakes around 10 minutes to set it up. It also has a free tire service so that students can try it for learning purposes. But we need a database manager to connect it to the client's computer.

Cons

Sometimes security groups create issue due to with it will get some problems with connectivity.

Reasons for choosing Amazon RDS

simply price was very low and performance was good

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

AWS RDS for everything.

My Overall experience with AWS RDS is amazing I will continue to use it ever after if it stays and upgrade with new features.

Pros

Most loved feature is data security and durability as we can take snapshot of data at another region its very easy to backup and restore data .Its all in one service for database

Cons

I have use this service alot and there is hardly anything I least lied but one thing is while we need support from AWS we need credits for that.

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

High quality, bulletproof managed database service

We use Amazon RDS to manage our key production/transactional databases for our customer-facing applications as well as our development environment, internal ERP, etc. We definitely gain value and efficiency from not having to deal with the management of yet another server - and its operating system, patches, uptime, etc. - it is a real boon to simply have a database-as-a-service that we spin up, connect to, and work with, letting AWS deal with all the management.

Pros

AWS RDS allows us to deploy databases easily and efficiently with great resilience, scalability, and security - but without having to deal with managing a server. RDS makes it easy to spin up a new database, have multi-availability zone replicas, back it up, and do many other things. It's also dead easy to upgrade software versions - simply let AWS look after it.

Cons

Being a managed database service there are restrictions; for instance, with SQL Server you don't have the sysadmin role and you can't set any trace flag you want. You can adjust a number of parameters in the RDS console but only those which AWS have explicitly added support for. There are other caveats and restrictions for other DBMS products too. Another thing I don't like is when you change your instance size it takes a long time - but at least there's no downtime. Also, tooling is restricted. A lot of great tools to dig into performance and query tracing won't work with the AWS caveats so you have to use the AWS RDS console and logs and it can be more tedious to really drill into application performance bottlenecks.

Reasons for choosing Amazon RDS

Ultimately, despite being a Microsoft environment historically, our developers felt AWS provided superior tooling and functionality.

Reasons for switching to Amazon RDS

We wanted to move from on-premises to the cloud.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Simplifies a lot of database management work

Overall, Amazon RDS has been very useful to us. It has saved us tremendous amounts of time just in the provisioning, scaling, and maintenance activities alone.

Pros

I like how easy it is to scale RDS up and down alongside its monitoring features which can be conveniently accessed via AWS console.

Cons

The burst balance limit for the underlying EBS disk gave us lots of problems. I wish this feature was more user-friendly.

Reasons for choosing Amazon RDS

Our main tech infra runs on AWS already.

Reasons for switching to Amazon RDS

In my previous companies, we used to self-host databases (postgres, MySQL/MariaDB) in VMs. This was more expensive in the long run in terms of time spent. We also used Google Cloud SQL for some projects but eventually switched to RDS since our main tech infra runs on AWS.

MANAS

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2020

Database Management as a Service is well implemented, which is reliable, secure and efficient

RDS is a really good service, I haven't seen any Downtime, the communication between EC2 and RDS is really fast since they are in the same AWS network

Pros

This really reduces the operational time taken to set up a database on a cloud machine, the cost of setting up and managing is really cheep when compared to the native approach of installing mysql or psql on a EC2 and managing it, it exposes us to a verity of options and versions which we wouldn't have been aware of , and setting them up in just clicks without even spending much time in researching on it and figuring out the way to setting it up , The security management is really good, we can set all types of security managements like, subnet, security group, VPC, IAM role etc, which will take a lot of effort if gone manually , Backup restore is really well managed , we can schedule the backup process which dumps the data into the S3, we can restore it when needed , it supports all type of CURD operations including cloning a DB setup, it supports many type of databases, it has a new one called Aurora which is AWS specific which is in 2 flavours (mysql and psql) - can use it for high cost effectiveness, additional features and speed up your bulk query executions, Upgrading DB version or any other edition are easy to make without any data losses, it gives a DNS URL for the DB, we need not manually add its IP into a Rout53, Now we can integrate RDS with AWS secret, using which the application can access the DB with a dynamic password, and this creds gets rotated every day, which really increases the security. Query Execution history and resource utilisation monitoring .

Cons

I know AWS is in a process of developing new hybrid databases like Aurora, i have noticed some trivial issues in it, its slower then RDS for executing stand alone queries , but its faster than RDS while executing Bulk Queries, there may be a way to SSH into the RDS machine or accessing its DB terminal , it would be better it i can do it on the UI, instead of remembering all the commands to connect

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2019

Amazing relational database which is easy to setup and use provided you have the technical know how

AWS RDS can be linked with Victorops/splunk/slack and what not to constantly monitor the state of the database and set up alerts for catching problems. It can automatically save regular copies of the database.

Pros

ease of setup ease of taking snapshots no configurational drainers very easy to set up alerts for monitoring problems in the database debugging is a breeze.

Cons

It is easy to get lost without an UI. also replicating databases can get stuck sometimes if you don't know what you are doing. replication can be pain depending upon whether you want (master-master) or (master-slaves)

Reasons for choosing Amazon RDS

GCP was sort of handing off sensitive data over to Google and flying blind. AWS RDS debugging is much more useful when a problem arises. aws was a no contest choice despite it's expenditure.

Muhammad Arsalan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2019

AWS RDS Review

My company need a simple and fast scalable solution for managing MySQL databases therefore we chose RDS. Prior to RDS we were managing DB clusters installed on VMs on Hyper Visors, and it was a cumbersome job. Though switching to RDS does make our life easy but RDS is not a cheap solution though.

Pros

Easily Scalable as per need. AWS manage you infrastructure completely. Fast Disaster recovery if planned the architecture correctly. Multi AZ deployment and Read replica supported. Supported various DB services like MySQL, Oracle, SQL Server and Postgres. Backup procedure is very easy.

Cons

Cost on higher side. Lack of control on your DB instance, though it's good but at times you need some tweaking todo.

Reasons for switching to Amazon RDS

It was convenient for us to host DB on RDS than to managing a cluster.

User Profile

Esra

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Best managed relational database service in the market!

Choosing RDS was the best strategic decision we made. We saved a lot of time to focus on our company's growth instead of dealing with operations.

Pros

We have been using AWS RDS with MySQL since 2015. It is the best option we encountered in the market to set up, operate and scale a relational database in the cloud. Management Console is really easy to use. You can create, restore and scale any size of database in a matter of minutes. You should however be familiar with the technical term AWS uses. Be careful when you choose between General Purpose and Provisioned IOPS types. Multi-AZ feature is a life saver if you have a database that cannot tolerate any downtime. Point in time recovery saved us a lot. Also RDS takes automatic backups regularly. You should also try Amazon Aurora which is an engine compatible with MySQL and PostgreSQL. AWS built Aurora for itself and the underlying technology is mind blowing.

Cons

You should be careful with the price of Amazon RDS and keep an eye on CloudWatch and Trusted Advisor. It gets expensive depending on usage but still it is worth not to struggle with operational problems.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

Setting up a "serversless" database environment inminutes

Since we start using RDS it saves us a lot of time. You can start with a small instance and very easily grow to a larger instance and a multi AZ (High available) setup. No need to worry about disk space anymore for backups or snapshots. Amazon doesn't run out of space. You can setup automated backup with a retention of 35 days max but if you need to keep backups longer you can create manual snapshots and keep them forever.

Pros

- Very easy to setup - Creating database environments including HA in minutes - Creating a HA environment without having to know anything about database replication - Upgrading the DB engine with a click of a mouse - Very ease to create backups (and setup automated snapshots) - Easy to restore - Can be managed via the weg GUI but also via the very powerful AWS CLI - No need to manage an Operating system - Changing instanced types if you need more or less CPU/memory. - Dynamically change the storage - Performance is very good

Cons

- On Aurora the disk spaces grows automatically when the database grows. But when deleting lots of data its not possible to shrink the file system. - No root access to server (which we never missed since using RDS)

User Profile

Trang

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY