User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(119)

119

4 stars

(34)

34

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "this product is amazing. I really love all the features."

  • "I love how robust RDS is and how reliable it has been!"

  • "We made the switch to solve some specific business needs and it has been a good product for what we wanted."

  • Cons

  • "I wish it had even smaller instances for startups, however the pricing is still really good so that is all that matters at this time."

  • "The price can go sometimes high if some storage, but it's totally worth it if you need it to be secure and functional at all times."

  • "really, I can't think of any. It's not always perfect, for instance if missing a monitoring alert it more a result of the huge number of setting, but once mastered it's really awesome . "

Browse Amazon RDS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 156 results

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Monish from lowes

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Cost Effective and Fully Cloud Managed Relational Database Service

Had A Really Great Experience with RDS, I have been evaluating Aurora with Native RDS so i will be talking more about Aurora in this Review

Pros

RDS provides support for verity of database systems like mysql, postgreSql, Maria DB, Oracle, Microsoft Sql and a hybrid Aurora (supports both mysql & psql) Resizing, network management processes like subnet and security group are easily manageable. Using Aurora it has become easy to transfer data from DB to S3 using "INTO OUTFILE S3" query Aurora is really faster when it comes to executing heavy flock of query simultaneously when compared with its native RDS, it increases the over all through put Aurora Server less is a extremely cost effective solution when used with proper configurations, it scales up and scales down as per its usage (pay per sec) Supports Auto Backing up and scheduled snapshotting which stores the DB snapshot in S3, which helps in recovery at times of data deleted by mistake or data corruption by some failure in the application etc Aurora provides Export Snapshot to S3 feature, its a additional feature towards data movement from RDS to S3, from this we can easily migrate data from RDS to Redshift or Athena via S3

Cons

Can't change subnet of a multi AZ RDS Database directly, to achieve this i had to first change my DB to single AZ Aurora Server less dose not scale up when used with low CPU utilising application, user should have given the flexibility to change the autoscaling parameter for Aurora server less (CPU utilisation 70%) Aurora the use of "INTO OUTFILE S3" query requires some additional setup steps at the s3 bucket end and IAM role which is well documented, but quite confusing, Aurora dose not support newer mysql or psql versions which are supported by its native RDS's Aurora when compared with its native RDS its slower for executing single queries, officers Aurora is really faster when it comes to executing heavy flock of query simultaneously, but at the least we expect Aurora to perform as the same level as its native RDS when it comes to single queries Aurora's Export Snapshot to S3 feature only supports Parquet file format, and on trigging Export it takes more time to start, it wold be better if the process starts instantaneously

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Amazing relational database which is easy to setup and use provided you have the technical know how

AWS RDS can be linked with Victorops/splunk/slack and what not to constantly monitor the state of the database and set up alerts for catching problems. It can automatically save regular copies of the database.

Pros

ease of setup ease of taking snapshots no configurational drainers very easy to set up alerts for monitoring problems in the database debugging is a breeze.

Cons

It is easy to get lost without an UI. also replicating databases can get stuck sometimes if you don't know what you are doing. replication can be pain depending upon whether you want (master-master) or (master-slaves)

Reasons for Choosing Amazon RDS

GCP was sort of handing off sensitive data over to Google and flying blind. AWS RDS debugging is much more useful when a problem arises. aws was a no contest choice despite it's expenditure.

April 2021

Aleksandr from Animatron, Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Will cost you all yourmoney.

Easy to setup. Very expensive. Play great with other AWS services. The main issue is that metrics collected manually will never meet AWS metrics which are used to bill your stack. And of course AWS point of view will be much costly. Their Enterprise Support can not understand why metrics extracted from DB itself do not meet billing metrics and will endlessly redirect you to yet another expert.

Pros

Requires minimum knowledge or time to set up the database. Everything you need is basically there. Documentation is fantastic. It just works and takes all the burden of infrastructure management from you. A handful of engines, version, and extensions to them are supprted. Integrated seamless to AWS infrastructure.

Cons

Price. It will literally eat 7/8 of your infrastructure budget. Metrics lies. Performance insight simply does not work. Note, this is an opinion of somebody who paid for AWS Enterprise support (sigh, that's me) Backups are not backups per se, this is filesystem rsync. So it is easy to end up with broken DB. Support is very poor.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon RDS

We already had few services deployed to AWS. This is the sole reason.

Reasons for Switching to Amazon RDS

RDS looked very promising. It still is except that you have no control over the bill.

February 2021

Pasquale from SUPSI

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

The easiest database server

RDS is without doubts a complex, hard to master system, but the basics are easy enough to kick off a project in very short time. In the long run you get a best in class reliability and performances without comparison.

Pros

Setting up a PostgreSQL server can be a daunting task and keeping it secure and protected is even more challenging. A managed database solution solves all this problems and many more. RDS in particular is quite easy to set up (at least in the basics) and it is very fast and reliable.

Cons

On the other hand there are a lot (I mean, a LOT) of options and settings, so the service is by no mean intended for causal users. A serious preliminary study of platform's usage is strongly advised.

June 2019

Muhammad Arsalan from NISUM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2019

AWS RDS Review

My company need a simple and fast scalable solution for managing MySQL databases therefore we chose RDS. Prior to RDS we were managing DB clusters installed on VMs on Hyper Visors, and it was a cumbersome job. Though switching to RDS does make our life easy but RDS is not a cheap solution though.

Pros

Easily Scalable as per need. AWS manage you infrastructure completely. Fast Disaster recovery if planned the architecture correctly. Multi AZ deployment and Read replica supported. Supported various DB services like MySQL, Oracle, SQL Server and Postgres. Backup procedure is very easy.

Cons

Cost on higher side. Lack of control on your DB instance, though it's good but at times you need some tweaking todo.

Reasons for Switching to Amazon RDS

It was convenient for us to host DB on RDS than to managing a cluster.

October 2020

MANAS from Lowes

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Database Management as a Service is well implemented, which is reliable, secure and efficient

RDS is a really good service, I haven't seen any Downtime, the communication between EC2 and RDS is really fast since they are in the same AWS network

Pros

This really reduces the operational time taken to set up a database on a cloud machine, the cost of setting up and managing is really cheep when compared to the native approach of installing mysql or psql on a EC2 and managing it, it exposes us to a verity of options and versions which we wouldn't have been aware of , and setting them up in just clicks without even spending much time in researching on it and figuring out the way to setting it up , The security management is really good, we can set all types of security managements like, subnet, security group, VPC, IAM role etc, which will take a lot of effort if gone manually , Backup restore is really well managed , we can schedule the backup process which dumps the data into the S3, we can restore it when needed , it supports all type of CURD operations including cloning a DB setup, it supports many type of databases, it has a new one called Aurora which is AWS specific which is in 2 flavours (mysql and psql) - can use it for high cost effectiveness, additional features and speed up your bulk query executions, Upgrading DB version or any other edition are easy to make without any data losses, it gives a DNS URL for the DB, we need not manually add its IP into a Rout53, Now we can integrate RDS with AWS secret, using which the application can access the DB with a dynamic password, and this creds gets rotated every day, which really increases the security. Query Execution history and resource utilisation monitoring .

Cons

I know AWS is in a process of developing new hybrid databases like Aurora, i have noticed some trivial issues in it, its slower then RDS for executing stand alone queries , but its faster than RDS while executing Bulk Queries, there may be a way to SSH into the RDS machine or accessing its DB terminal , it would be better it i can do it on the UI, instead of remembering all the commands to connect

June 2020

Benjamin from etron

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Works well

It's worked well for me.

Pros

Backed by AWS - corporate level product for an affordable price.

Cons

No support included. Need to figure out your issues on your own or pay (extensively) for support.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon RDS

Recognition

Reasons for Switching to Amazon RDS

More features / dependability

September 2020

Christopher from Restless Software LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Enterprise database without the hardware

Overall my experience with RDS has been a good one. It's great for a small business looking to scale in the future.

Pros

What I like about RDS is the variety of database options from both a hardware and software standpoint. In addition, it's easy to have a database stood up within 10 to 15 minutes.

Cons

The fact that the database will start from a stopped state after 7 days is particularly annoying. This could be remedied by using lambda to shut it down, but that's added work. A simple email reminding you that the database is still stopped would suffice. Even if the reasoning is to run updates, would it not make sense to start, update, and then shut it back down if it was down previously?

February 2021

Zev from Renegade Furniture

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2021

Fair Pricing but worrisome policies

Overall the process of setup was fair and reasonable and my fears are likely overblown.

Pros

I liked the pricing and the support was adequate, if not directly then indirectly on forms and the like.

Cons

I worry about policy makers who are willing to police what information can be shown on a hosted site and what they may disagree with in the future.

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Jose F. from Koombea

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2020

Excellent, powerful but can be overwhelming

AWS RDS is very powerful and has served us well to complement the scalable infrastructure for our applications.

Pros

If you're looking for a database service that can scale up to infinity, look no further, this is it. AWS RDS is one of the most widely used and scalable solutions for database hosting. It's simple yet provides an overwhelmingly amount of options for scalability, management and automation.

Cons

It requieres deep knowledge of the AWS ecosystem to be able to automate and scale efficiently. Not to mention that if you're planning to use it for a simple project, it can be very daunting to setup just RDS for it.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Esra from V-Count

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Best managed relational database service in the market!

Choosing RDS was the best strategic decision we made. We saved a lot of time to focus on our company's growth instead of dealing with operations.

Pros

We have been using AWS RDS with MySQL since 2015. It is the best option we encountered in the market to set up, operate and scale a relational database in the cloud. Management Console is really easy to use. You can create, restore and scale any size of database in a matter of minutes. You should however be familiar with the technical term AWS uses. Be careful when you choose between General Purpose and Provisioned IOPS types. Multi-AZ feature is a life saver if you have a database that cannot tolerate any downtime. Point in time recovery saved us a lot. Also RDS takes automatic backups regularly. You should also try Amazon Aurora which is an engine compatible with MySQL and PostgreSQL. AWS built Aurora for itself and the underlying technology is mind blowing.

Cons

You should be careful with the price of Amazon RDS and keep an eye on CloudWatch and Trusted Advisor. It gets expensive depending on usage but still it is worth not to struggle with operational problems.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Setting up a "serversless" database environment inminutes

Since we start using RDS it saves us a lot of time. You can start with a small instance and very easily grow to a larger instance and a multi AZ (High available) setup. No need to worry about disk space anymore for backups or snapshots. Amazon doesn't run out of space. You can setup automated backup with a retention of 35 days max but if you need to keep backups longer you can create manual snapshots and keep them forever.

Pros

- Very easy to setup - Creating database environments including HA in minutes - Creating a HA environment without having to know anything about database replication - Upgrading the DB engine with a click of a mouse - Very ease to create backups (and setup automated snapshots) - Easy to restore - Can be managed via the weg GUI but also via the very powerful AWS CLI - No need to manage an Operating system - Changing instanced types if you need more or less CPU/memory. - Dynamically change the storage - Performance is very good

Cons

- On Aurora the disk spaces grows automatically when the database grows. But when deleting lots of data its not possible to shrink the file system. - No root access to server (which we never missed since using RDS)

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Trang from FPT USA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Manage database services solution for AWS Cloud

We use RDS with PostgreSQL and MySQL as our backend database for our Application hosted in AWS, they are located in a private VPC and only allow access from our backend subnet.

Pros

RDS allows us easy to create and manage a relational database for our Application hosted in AWS. It supports many different instance type, engine and scale option to select. RDS works well with VPC to keep our database private and only allow to access from specify sources. It has a lot of monitor metrics such as CPU utilization, free storage, freeable memory and read/write latency and well notification system to keep track of our database. Excellent backup, snapshot and restore support by AWS

Cons

Manage RDS's parameter is quite complex since it does not have good UI support. It lacks support tool to run SQL command directly from AWS console

Reasons for Choosing Amazon RDS

We consider using our self manage databases install in EC2 but come up with RDS as it provides the high ability and scalable, it also saves us effort on configuring, install and manage database

December 2019

Julian from Mercedes-Benz.io

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Database provisioning without maintenance efforts

Personally I am very satisfied by this solution as it makes Database hosting totally painless. Also, Read-Replica and Multi-AZ features, makes it very hard to have a downtime on your side. If you're searching for an HA solution for your Database, consider Amazon RDS.

Pros

Amazon RDS is a very good product if you need a Database solution in your software architecture. Scaling and ensure performance without bottlenecks is definitely a plus value that Amazon RDS offers. Easier to integrate across other AWS products, but also on standalone software through DNS names and port, you can easily spawn a Database in a couple of clicks. Amazon RDS offers also Read-Replicas and Multi-AZ totally transparent to you, which makes it kind of unique in database hosting.

Cons

Price: everybody is well aware of how much AWS costs in the long run. Amazon RDS solution makes no difference, but if you are well aware of the costs, then this shouldn't stop you from trying and using it.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Gurleen from Tech Mahindra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Amazon RDS - The Relational Database Service

Amazon Relational Database allows us to encrypt your data using the Amazon Web Key Management. We manage our databases on Amazon Virtual Private which isolate the service and keep running without trouble. Monitoring of AWS RDS with Amazon CloudWatch is easy and describes details in metrics with no extra cost. Amazon Aurora is one of the cost efficient RDS.

Pros

Amazon Relational Database Service is one of the best product of AWS. The best thing in it is easy to deploy,patch,backup,security and administrate . The distributed architecture provide render the high scalability feature in it. The hardware upgrade is also easy and less time consuming with AWS as it comes with the embed features of it. After switching to the AWS RDS there is a less administration activities needed on managing the databases. Best feature in it is, if you are new to the RDS it also provides the best practices and recommendations. Managing the database snapshot with the help of Amazon S3 is also very convenient.

Cons

Amazon Relational Databases management is easy but it's little tricky also as if you mess up the security group setting to vast, it's not an easy task to solve the puzzle. Best practices is to keep the security group setting simple and as per recommendation by AWS.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Always up, 0 headache database option

It's been a great experience so far. It also helps us manage a lot of our compliance risk living in a fully compliant datacenter.

Pros

We use Aurora, which gives us a lot of flexibility in scale and size. Not having to manage clusters or database consistency across a number of different machines is amazing.

Cons

RDS, and aurora, generally lags behind the current state of postgres, which comes with the territory.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Amazon RDS - Keeping it simple & easy

Overall very satisfied. It worked for our use case.

Pros

Easy to setup and running. All cloudwatch metrics made available like other AWS services. Ability to take snapshots, scale up horizontally and vertically across environments and depending upon load. We were able to automate our build and deployments using terraform scripts. Automated Backups are stored in S3 so you can retrieve backups when needed. Pay as you go like traditional EC2 metered cost model. You can predict your montly/yearly estimates before hand. It just works! Supports a wide range of DB's - PostgreSQL, MySQL, MSSQL, etc.

Cons

Security setup may take time as its controlled by security groups. So it takes time to troubleshoot if you are not able to connect from local or any other remote instance. Pricing may start to increase when you upgrade your instance types and add replication nodes etc.

March 2018

Ashish from Metacube Software Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Amazon RDS is cheapest database service i have used so far

The benefit we got from using RDS is that we have full control of the RDS instance. Unlike heroku RDS allows me to create any number of databases i want plus it provides 20 GB of PostgresSQL instance in its free tier

Pros

Amazon RDS provides arelational database instance that you can use to create any number to databases. All data are stored in SSD that provides faster read and write compared to conventional magnetic disk. Data can be secured by applying a security group such that the database can get request from within AWS (EC2 servers). RDS provides variety of databases each with their free tier.

Cons

Prices to enable multi availability zones for an instance is just double to their singe availability zone. It is too costly. For beginner the set up of RDS is quite confusing. Sometimes It doesn't display the estimated price of while setting up resources of an instance.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great managed database solution

Managing database servers is an expensive time sink. RDS lets you focus more on the business needs instead of managing servers.

Pros

It makes your life way easier by not having to manage a database server. Amazon RDS abstracts all the server stuff away so you just focus on managing the actual database content itself.

Cons

The UI is a bit clunky and some of the parameterization options are a bit difficult to use. There used to be a couple of bugs as well but they were fixed thankfully. With the lack of control over the server it can be a bit annoying if something is broken and you can't fix it.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon RDS

We have relational data and found value in maintaining our relational database structure.

Reasons for Switching to Amazon RDS

It was becoming very time consuming to manage the database server, RDS lets us focus on other things.

May 2019

Ankit from Netsmartz Infotech

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Best Relational Database Service in the market til now

Overall its the best thing we did to choose AWS RDS, we are happy with the service amazon provides & we can focus on other issue leaving our database in amazon's strong hands.

Pros

He been using AWS RDS for like 4 years now, & its the best Database management tool we ever tried. Here its super easy to operate & scale your database. The console is easy to understand & somehow intuitive if you been working with databases in past. Multi-AZ feature gives you power if you cannot afford any downtime. RDS takes backup automatically so no worries of loosing any data.

Cons

Only dark side of AWS RDS is its pricing, do have a watch on what they billing you. Keep track of your usage on CloudWatch and Trusted Adviser. It may get expensive not not affordable if you use it without sincere approach.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Great Database option for the cloud if you want fine-grained instance management

Overall Amazon RDS has been a very good solution in our switch to the cloud. Other options have come out that may be better for most people, such as Amazon Aurora, but it's great for fine-grained control over instances.

Pros

Amazon RDS has worked really well for us for our cloud DB solution. It's pretty intuitive and easy to use, and you can choose exactly what instances sizes, storage sizes, etc. you want.

Cons

Amazon RDS has a strange method for determining how many IOPS you get (Input/Output Operations per Second): it's based mostly on your db storage size. So if you have a smaller database that is hit a lot, you can get throttled with the IOPS. But if you have a large database that isn't hit as often, you end up having a lot of unused IOPS.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Super simple managed database solution

Quick and repeatable deployments, wide range of DB flavors, fully managed and supported by AWS.

Pros

AWS provides a fully managed database solution covering a number of DB technologies, so most deployments can utilize this product. MySQL, Postgres, MSSQL, Oracle, MariaDB, are all there, as well as AWS's own Aurora high performance DB. Automated backups, with 5 minute point in time recovery is provided out of the box at no additional cost, as is software patching. If you require high availability spanning multiple data centers, it's there too.

Cons

If there is a downside to AWS RDS, it would be that it does not cover every use case. In the MSSQL world, you cannot use SSRS or SSIS on RDS, so would need to look at MSSQL on EC2 instead .

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Filip from Castle Intelligence

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Go-to solution for database hosting on AWS

Pros

We're using Amazon RDS PostgreSQL. Our database use case is pretty trivial, so we're entirely satisfied with RDS experience. Database is fast and efficient, very easy to scale by changing instance types, adding more disk I/O, or spinning up read replicas. Backups do not have significant performance penalty. With some careful planning it is very easy to migrate between different software versions. Reserved instances make it a very compelling offering.

Cons

It gets expensive, but if you consider the fact that you don't need to deal with many daily operational issue, it's well worth the price. You can only add storage capacity (no storage downsizing possible without a complex migration process).

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Best "cloud" rDB implementation so far

I've been using AWS since 2015 and to be fair, it has only improved all this time. Being RDS one of the most commonly used services, I have plenty of experience with it (including the support team behind it) and I only have good things to say about it.

Pros

- Fully managed database - Access to all the configuration options you would usually do when tweaking the configuration file(s) - Top notch support - High-availability is just a few mouse clicks away - Incredible easy to setup master/slave scenarios - Great backup (snapshot) service - Great performance with basic monitoring included - You get the database engine you already know without the hassle to have to set it up by yourself

Cons

- Price? AWS is still expensive - Nothing else I can think of

May 2018

Dan from Athena IT Limited

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Watch out for billing surprises

Pros

Amazon has worked hard to democratises databases, it's easy to set up a variety of different type of databases: SQL, Oracle, MySQL etc and perform things that typically have been a little more complicated with just a few clicks for example snapshots and database mirrors for you analytical platform. Choose the region in which you're seeking to operate with just a few clicks, and it's pretty easy to kick off auto-scaling etc.

Cons

You need to be careful with billing surprises, make sure that you're familiar with Cloudwatch before you start playing with RDS. Keep an eye on how much it's costing you. Amazon may be elastic, but your budget probably lacks the same amount of elasticity.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Forget about management!

As most AWS services, it is super useful when your business is in a phase where you need more services and less time to manage them. If you can pay for the maintenance maybe you prefer to optimize your setup managing it by yourself.

Pros

You can set it up with a few clicks only, and you get a fully managed database instance: forget about backups, OS updates, etc. It even sets up High Availability for you if needed, creating multiple nodes. You can choose the resources of the system (CPU, Hard Disk, memory) and other configurations (DBMS parameters, extra read nodes…)

Cons

You can only scale resources by using a bigger instance type (it means more CPU and more RAM) or replica nodes. Eg. you cannot set up a Raid disk configuration to improve I/O.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Hung from FPT Software

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

A simple setting up relational database in the cloud

We use RDS with MySQL and PostgreSQL as primary database for my Applications which deploys in EC2 and ECS, AWS IAM and VPC are used to limit access to RDS only from the backed Component and do not expose RDS to publish. we reply on AWS on backup, snapshot and database patch.

Pros

Amazon RDS is easy to create and maintain, just a few clicks to set up a new Database instance and AWS will take care of all maintenance and upgrade task. RDS is well integrated with other AWS component for security, role-based access and query access. RDS is cheap compared with other solution and it has flexible on select instance size, engine, purchase mode and scale mode for cost-optimized. AWS RDS provides fast response and very reliable

Cons

We should trickly use AWS version of the database engine. Its database logs are not kept for a long time and we have to use additional solution for keeping the log.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon RDS

our Application uses the version of MySQL and PostgreSQL which AWS RDS provided and it is deployed in AWS cloud too, so RDS is excellent to choose

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Easiest database management there is

Peace of mind if it's about database administration, backup and availability.

Pros

It's fully managed database service with multiple database types available (Amazon Aurora, PostgreSQL, MySQL, MariaDB, Oracle, and Microsoft SQL Server) - you can chose whatever you like or used to run. It's really easy to migrate from existing database of the same type. RDS is highly available and durable service if you chose to run in multi AZ (multiple availability zone/datacenter) scenario (master/slave replication). Amazon will do all the administration task like upgrades or failover for you. Max database storage size is 16 TB (in most cases) and you pay only for what you use.

Cons

It'a a little pricey and not all advance database configuration/administratio options are available if you compare it to on premise deployment.

August 2019

Ricardo from Criar

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

RDS is Great

Pros

Amazon RDS saves me from the hassle of having to worry about backups, scalability and monitoring. It's indispensable if you have a large application which relies on SQL.

Cons

Only two cons about the product: 1. Customer support took several days to solve a critical problem I had with my account in the beginning of 2019. My service was down for two days, but this could have been sold easily if I got a faster response from the team. 2. Default max connections soft limit on MySQL databases is too low, which makes your service go down if you have a reasonable amount of traffic. I could solve that after a few hours researching how to change this configuration and also had a friend who uses RDS and had the same issue. We both almost stopped using it before knowing how to fix that.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

A good fit

All our commercial products run on Aws Rds severs and overall we are happy with it. Server configuration is a breeze, performance is steady, but cost is not the lowest, for sure.

Pros

- the ease of setting up and getting ready with the first instance - the multitude of options when getting to advanced level - the performance of the Aurora engine

Cons

- could not get the fastest performance being connected from remote vs connect from another Aws instance. A minimum 60ms overhead is added to every query, which disappears running the client on an ec2

Reasons for Choosing Amazon RDS

Because Aws manages the server, the updates, security and access is more configurable.

March 2019

Kken from H2

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Great for supplying your EC2 instances with a fully managed database service

RDS is a very solid DBaaS product and we are very satisfied with it so far.

Pros

The top benefit is not needing to hire a DBA to manage our DB instances. RDS offers a number of DBs including PostgreSQL, MySQL, Aurora, and more. It was dead simple to move a number of our services to AWS and link them with RDS MySQL. RDS will handle operations like upgrades, backups, patching, etc. Performance-wise we did not notice any significant differences between RDS and our on-prem solution. We also made use of replication by setting up multiple RDS MySQL replicas. Of course, this is highly dependent on your app so be sure to benchmark both before and after performance.

Cons

If you choose RDS, you will be (somewhat) locked into AWS. Not necessarily a bad thing as the pricing model is reasonable (pay per instance and storage capability) but you are still locked-in. You can move off of RDS but it's not trivial and will require a data migration - words that make all admins shudder.

October 2020

Sushank from Xento Systems pvt ltd

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Amazon RDS : High uptime and faster processing in-cloud database management

Amazon RDS is very reliable and easy to use it support various types of databases including widely used MySQL and others like Postgres, aurora without worrying the infrastructure. IT is very easy to migrate from existing or new database also it has helped us to avoid downtime with Multi-AZ setup.

Pros

1. RDS is very fast and feasible to fetch and manage the data. 2. Version are dynamic and can be chosen/changed through simple steps. 3. Restriction can be easily managed through subnets and security groups. 4. It has high uptime overcoming downtime and can be scaled easily.

Cons

1. Some time for the beginners it is not easy to setup or manage. 2. Pricing is bit high if you are creating a small instance DB. 3. Integrations with 3rd party is quite a bit complex. 4. No fully admin controls are given to manage the DB.

Reasons for Choosing Amazon RDS

Amazon RDS not need to manage infrastructure or configuration everytime, also replication are easy to setup and high avabliablity and no downtime.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Database service that allows you to scale easily and quickly

Very good. Started using it when we were a small startup and it allowed us to easily scale to a full grown portal.

Pros

A lot of server tiers available to choose from, good when you need to start out with a smaller instance. Like to option to quickly create snapshots or restore a backup. Multi-az is a nice freaute to have that can save your business when things go south.

Cons

Halted instances are booted back up after 7 days automatically, so you can't really have an instance that is stopped for a long time. Since it's not a self-hosted service, there are some low level features that are missing.

March 2019

Miguel from Aeria Canada

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Cloud base Data

My old man has a big database of tires, it's huge. And for his stores, he needed to access the data quick enough to give prices or stocks. We first try a local server, which wasn't as fast or as big as we needed. Amazon took the job and did it perfectly.

Pros

If you need some data on the cloud for your software, you can totally trust Amazon to do it. Their servers are totally protected and fast enough to give you the info you need. Even high portions of data can go into it without much problem.

Cons

The price can go sometimes high if some storage, but it's totally worth it if you need it to be secure and functional at all times.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

No need of building own infrastucture, use RDS and save time ,money. Rapid development

Pros

AWS is the reason, amazon is giant today and RDS is one of the most used services on AWS. No need of maintaining own infrastructure, server, backup plans. Use RDS, they have everything ready for you, create RDS instances , as much as you required, scale if you need more resources, use RDS backup plans to backup all your data and retrieve whenever required. with 99.999% availability and highly secured features, your application development will be much better.

Cons

security features need to be taken care seriously

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

RDS for Distributed Services

I use RDS every day across a number of products. It's always been my go-to for a managed database service.

Pros

RDS is highly available, easy to scale and extremely customisable. Whether I want to set up a small MySQL database or a PostgreSQL instance to be run at scale, RDS is my first port of call.

Cons

RDS can start to get pricey as the instance sizes increase. For most consumers with relatively optimised database queries, this would not be an issue - but for those that have not aligned their applications for efficiency, this could be problematic.

August 2019

Ashish from Xeno Private Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Amazon Web Services are the Best!

Pros

It caters to all types of requirements in terms of size, it can handle any amount of data The pricing is good and even a person starting out his website or server can use this to maintain 100% uptime of his database. You can control a lot of things from the Control Panel of AWS which include monitoring CPU usage, number of connections. It provides easy rebooting as well.

Cons

There was nothing that I did not like about this software. I am still using it and it solves my use case perfectly.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

RDS is awsome!

Pros

As a sysadmin, I working with many databases and tools related to this. I could say that RDS is a great service, that allows your team to focus on business, letting Amazon manages your database for you. I also appreciate pay on demand, and the facility to upgrade environments.

Cons

I could say that I like every aspect of this product, but if I should say some negative aspect. I would say that price on America/Sao_Paulo is a bad aspect, but I know that isn't RDS problem but the cost of my country.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Amazon RDS - The Clear Winner

We use Amazon RDS for all of our database needs. We use it for our transactional (OLTP) and datawarehousing database needs.

Pros

Amazon RDS is Amazon's solution to hosted database services in the cloud. The console is easy to use and provides a ton of functionality with the click of a button. They have CLI and other API's that makes it easy to automate processes such as backup and recovery.

Cons

Microsoft products are supported but latest features are late to be added. Amazon likes to push their own products and slower adopt new features of SQL Server.

April 2020

Mehak from To The New

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Amazon RDS all database services and no management worries.

Used Amazon RDS on multiple applications the scalability of the RDS really helped in load intensive tasks and the easy backup provided by the tool helped in many cases when data was corrupted due to human errors.

Pros

It is one of the most simple and lightweight solutions available in the market with amazing scalability as per the usage, its disaster recovery is great. The read replica structure helps to manage a huge load. Supports various DB services such as Oracle, MySQL, Postgres and SQL Server.

Cons

The management of the RDS parameters becomes a difficult task if you are not familiar with the UI. The price might be on the higher side for small projects with large data storage.

July 2019

Rohan from Consensus Corporation

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Much better and efficient to use RDS rather than building your own database infrastructure.

Pros

If you have a choice of building your own infrastructure for the database server, or choosing RDS, I will suggest , go with RDS. Amazon has made it very easy to create your own database servers. All you have to do is ,log in to aws and choose RDS services and the memory, storage capacity, user access as per your requirements. Also, backup your data in s3 for later use.

Cons

Your entire dependency is on Amazon servers, so that could be a con

May 2018

Jamie from Praekelt.org

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Managing a lot of database things you don't want to do yourself

Pros

Gold standard in SaaS/IaaS database services. Handles many tasks and configuration options for you. Amazon Aurora is a great, fast and reliable database service available in RDS. Integrates well with other AWS services.

Cons

Ties one in to the AWS platform, particularly if you start using some of the best features like Aurora. The AWS console is not user-friendly. Can get quite expensive, but probably still cheaper than hiring highly-skilled people to manage your databases for you.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Manny from LLS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Easy way to put DB in the cloud

Amazon is changing the way we do things and how our database reaches others. It's only a matter of time before our entire infrastructure is on the cloud.

Pros

Amazon is getting good at putting DB in the cloud that before you know it, it will be as easy and syncing data to another computer. Amazon is in the right track and not for long other companies will follow and make their disaster recovery simple to do.

Cons

Amazon still has a long way to go to make every database work seamless, but they have the right idea and concepts and it will only be a matter of time. The pricing is something to get use to until it goes down and the demand get larger.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

I use RDS for my Mysql deployment on amazon and it works 100% uptime with no failure rates

Compared to EC2 deployed database I prefer RDS for its absolute stability

Pros

Almost 100% uptime very reliable compared to own installation of mysql on EC2, auto backup, auto update etc are seamless and very stable product, aurora is a very promising technology for scalability too

Cons

Not much the parameter groups UI is kind of stinks and has some default parameters configured is not good, for eg: definer statements need to be removed before uploading data/stureture from backups

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Fantastic Managed Databases

Using RDS has been great. Before we rolled our own MySQL servers and actually was bottlenecked by them in a big release. RDS opened the pipes and helped us support a lot of connections. It’s also 10x easier to manage.

Pros

RDS makes deploying a MySQL or Postgres cluster a breeze. Their Aurora fork of MySQL allows for even more performance boosts. Auto scaling is made easy. Back ups are made easy. RDS makes everything easy.

Cons

Pricing can be a bit steep if you need their r3 server series.

September 2019

Varsha from Telecommunications

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Stability and amazing features

My overall experience with Amazon RDS has nothing but been amazing with the great customer support that they offer and consideration they provide for minor mistakes performed at our end.

Pros

The stability and reliability of this product make it an amazing choice. Also scalability is very easy with RDS and amazon overall because anytime you can select how much memory and storage you want based on the dynamic requirement

Cons

Though Amazon RDS is totally worth the money but for a company not so big it can get really problematic to fund for the same. They do have amazing plans if you compromise on the dynamic scalability which is not always possible.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

it's very easy to work with RDS

Pros

Amazon RDS (Amazon Relational Database Service) is a very powerful Service hosted by AWS. It's very easy to Setup and Run complex Database Instances. You can choose between Amazon Aurora (AWS own database System), PostgrSQÖ, MySQL, MariaDB, Oracle and MSSQL Server. It's very easy to Setup Things like Data Replication or Scale the DB up or down.

Cons

if u are using MSSQL Server you are only able to work with the database engine - SSAS is not available (which makes sense in the context of working wih a database but it might me a stumbling Stone)

September 2019

User Profile Picture

Richard from FACT0RY

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Brilliant database service with scalability

Very positive. We've never had any downtime and our database is reliable and performs well.

Pros

I like that I don't have to worry about my database as much - RDS takes care of all of the details. Security, scaling and uptime are all baked in to the service.

Cons

Like all AWS products, it has a learning curve to figure out. And you don't get unlimited control - if you want that you have to deploy your own database servers.

December 2019

Luis Felipe from Sprinklr

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great performance and fast support

We have been using RDS for about 6 years, we have just a few issues (with always a fast response/solution)

Pros

- Great stability and performance - Great technical support - You almost don't need to mind at any configuration or database servers anymore

Cons

Maybe the costs, but it depends. For small databases the RDS may not be a good idea but for large ones, you'll probably spend less than maintaining you own infrastructure

September 2018

Priyansh from The Alpha Developers

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Database Over Cloud

Pros

With Amazon RDS, you longer need to install, set up and manage your database system. Just Choose suitable Database system, choose suitable instance type, configure a few things, and you database will be ready. You do not need to install or set up anything, amazon will take care of these things. You can straight away starting your database.

Cons

You will be charged a hefty amount for its services by Amazon.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 156 reviews