User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(11)

11

4 stars

(17)

17

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse DBeaver Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -21 of 29 results

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Diego from dunnhumby

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

The swiss army knife of database manager

I just love DBeaver so much that i recommend it to all the people that ask for a database manager. It makes my life easier and working with it is fun and easy!! My life as data scientist is much easier with this tool around!

Pros

It has so many features that I find very useful, for example the query editor with output and object explorer is fabulous. But the most impressive feature is its connectivity to almost any database engine, from a SQLite to a Postgres database or Microsoft sql. Also there is a build in feature to manage the table schemas and data model to change data types and modify or add relationships!! I forgot also to mention the performance monitoring this is great to see how is the database performing. Dbeaver is a full feature database manager.

Cons

Not much, only that if you open two instances of the same app it shows an error of the driver being in use, but there is no need for doing this.

April 2021

Andy from BOMA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Great Multiplatform Database Tool

Pros

Great database tool that lets you connect and manage PostgreSQL databases and many others (MySql, Oracle, SqlServer etc. ). I've tested a lot of PostgreSQL tools and this is the most reliable and most fully featured one I've tried. Supports transactions, parameters for queries, exports, imports and more.

Cons

Some updates have been buggy, but they fix it quickly. I usually wait 10 days now before installing an update.

Reasons for Choosing DBeaver

Had a good installer and just worked out of the box.

Reasons for Switching to DBeaver

Couldn't get the PostgreSQL installer to work on my new laptop.

November 2021

Sabareesh from Nielsen

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

DBeaver - One Data Management Solution for multiple databases

We are using DBeaver for last 2 years and the whole Engineering team easily adapted this tool to connect multiple databases

Pros

We can easily use this software to connect any database solutions. We are currently using to connect Postgres, Yellowbrick and VoltDB where the jdbc drivers can be automatically download from the driver location. Even the Hadoop connect also supported using this tool which is really awesome

Cons

Sometimes we are feeling the software will get stuck when we are querying for larger dataset especially when we are using this for the analytics querries. Performance tuning should be taken care.

Reasons for Choosing DBeaver

Multiple database connection support and the automatic driver installation option which makes us to use this product

March 2021

Hector from Sandals

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Best OpenSource DBMS

As a database developer is really complete, open-source, and relatively easy to use, has its issues, but if you wait for your OS (Especially MacOS) to be officially supported is a great tool for the job, really complete.

Pros

Is really complete, support several database engines, from Oracle to MariaDB, Supports Packages On MariaDB using Oracle Syntax (The only one I used supporting this), It can generate ER Diagrams of the tables on a database, easy to add new connections since it downloads the drivers by itself.

Cons

Kinda buggy especially when a new OS is released, had a lot of problems when BigSur came out, they released fixes every couple of weeks, and now is fully compatible with big sur, I wish it had an option to export the ERD diagrams as UMLs to be used with Visual Paradigm and other diagramming software.

October 2021

Milos from SBB

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Usefull program for exporting data

Pros

I like this software because it is easy to use and it is easy to find coding mistakes, too.

Cons

They should add a feature which shows what row exactly contains an error.

July 2021

Ben from William James Development

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2021

Great Free App For Managing Databases

Overall, I have found DBeaver to be a valuable part of my daily work flow. It is updated regularly and bugs are fixed quickly. I would recommend DBeaver to anyone looking for a simple, easy to use DB editor.

Pros

I love the ease of use of DBeaver. I use it on a daily basis to manage several MariaDB databases. It works great on Kubuntu and has become my goto tool for database management. It remembers tabs for my next session, has an easy SQL editor with autocompletion and is straight forward to run through a proxy.

Cons

On occasion, I have had problems creating both MySql events and procedures using Dbeaver. In both cases I have had to resort to the MySql command prompt and then confirm through DBeaver. A minor annoyance as these are unusual use cases for me.

Reasons for Switching to DBeaver

I wanted to use an open source product in which MariaDB was supported

June 2021

Jorge from Itau

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2021

Easy and intuitive tool

I am very happy with the software, is one of my principal tools for a quick look up of a relationship in a data model or a simple query.

Pros

All in all, softwares I could try, this one is the most easy and intuitive of all of them. The installation is very easy and don't takes too much space.

Cons

It has some issues when you place a query and when the filters on a database active

Reasons for Switching to DBeaver

I find more option and easiness in this software

March 2021

Rakesh from innovation incubator holding

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

an application that's 100 percentage developer friendly

This tool will help to mitigate most of the production database issues in a quick time and found it to be one of the most reliable and staple tool.

Pros

complex operations such as setting relations, key words primary keys.. these things can be easily done with dbeaver and there is a space in this tool which allow you to run separate queries as sections or instances and also save and categories all the queries so that you could use it in future and the connection setup is also good based on other applications which you have to go through complex steps and all and if you wanna edit the schema of a particular table all the functions are available in it with specific instructions so that you won't get stuck in between. and if you are stuck somewhere there are plenty of forum's with which you could find instant helps and all

Cons

user interface isn't that much of an engaging type,would have been better if they improve the UI

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Giovanni from Banco General

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2021

very good tool for manage different databases

A very good tool for managing different environments and database languages, it allows you to organize the connections in an efficient way, quickly identifying which environment you are working on, it has points of improvement but one of the best tools that I have tried for the database.

Pros

It is a fairly easy to understand graphic tool that allows you to connect to almost any database language. It has multiple functionalities such as query plan that allows you to know the execution time of your queries. Allows you to customize the different environments that you set in the connections allowing you to identify which one you are working on. It also has multiple export results, allowing you to import it from a csv to a simple plain text file.

Cons

Some of its many features are only available for certain database languages, thus reducing the experience you may have with some languages such as SYBASE, which for example does not support a query plan for this language.

Reasons for Switching to DBeaver

Dbeaver has a much more graphical and user-friendly interface and allows you to handle much more database languages.

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

DBeaver is a great universal database manager

When you need to quickly look in a database / table,especially when it is not the RDBMS that you are using most of the time, DBeaver is great. It's eclipse based so familiar to java developers. The easy of making a connection (wizard / guided) allows everyone to work with it.

Pros

DBeaver is really a great tool to work with. I am using the community version and the way it allows for making connections to databases is great. Whenever you want to make a connection it for instance, will download driver when needed. The support for RDBMS is great and even H2 (a flat file dbms) is supported which is great. It allows for server connections to H2 as well as regular. A lot of RDBMS are supported. Even LDAP can be connected to. The ERD functionality is helpful in showing relationship between databases.

Cons

Not that much not to like. The only database i did not see (and that i know) is IMS DB (from the 1960) but in theory that should also be possible since there is a JDBC for that database. Working with the data en executing queries and commands take a little effort but that is about it.

Reasons for Choosing DBeaver

When a tool is this good (and free, which suits my use case) DBeaver is a no brainer, even over specialised tools from a specific RDBMS vendor.

December 2021

User Profile Picture

Juan Manuel from Melezca SA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2021

Efficient alternative

Pros

Easy to configure and use, it can be used with different database engines, including Postgres. It is the best alternative

Cons

The interface is not the prettiest thing in the world, it could be more polished. I use it on linux

June 2021

Simona from ESC consulting srl

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Strumento di amministrazione database

Un database manager completo, affidabile e open source.

Pros

Permette di lavorare con diversi database relazionali quali sql server, DB2, Postgres, etc. con driver Jdbc Inoltre offre un editor che permette il completamento del codice e il controllo della sintassi. Permette di esportare le tabelle visualizzate in diversi formati quali csv,xml,html...

Cons

Opinione personale, non mi piace molto l'interfaccia utente, potrebbe essere più intuitiva e più moderna.

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Dbeaver review by D Analyst and Engineering

Pros

The most I liked about this software was Cloud engineering.

Cons

The least I liked about this software was the features.

Reasons for Switching to DBeaver

Complicated to use and Expensive

July 2021

Mickey from Taroko Software

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Perfect tool for daily data pulls

Pros

DBeaver saves all your work in the exact state that you left it before closing. This makes it very convenient to pick up where you left when you start a new day of work. Only when queries themselves are altered does it ask you to specifically save your work.

Cons

Some expertise on database management is requirement if one would like to use this software. That makes it a less popular choice for people that only need to do simple queries on a daily base to get their work done.

August 2021

Michele from ESC Enterprise Software Consulting Srl

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Ottimo prodotto per la gestione dei database

Prodotto molto comodo per raggruppare tutte le connessioni legate ad aziende differenti e la creazione di nuove connessioni è rapida

Pros

Ottimo software per la gestione delle connessioni ai database e delle interrogazioni (con possibilità di memorizzare le SQL e salvare per utilizzi futuri)

Cons

Mancano alcuni connettori per i db no-sql nella versione community ma c'è la possibilità di utilizzarli con la versione enterprise o ultimate

June 2021

Mariana from JIMÉNEZ HIGUITA RODRIGUEZ & Associates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Most powerful querying database software I ever used

I enjoy every moment I use the software sometimes I feel like a professional doing my queries!! The best thing is that the User interface helps a lot with generating SQL: most interactable objects have a “generate SQL” Wizard that does as it says converts any filtering or selection you are doing to a nice SQL query that you can use then on your Editor, what can be more powerful than that!!?? I am learning SQL just by using it!

Pros

I love how easy is to setup the database connection, some other features are hard to come by but most of the features I use as just data analysis are easy to use. I love how tables can be seen as an interactive excel table and to be able to apply filters without having to write SQL at all!! Dbeaver is a very easy to learn for non-technical people.

Cons

There is so many thing that can be done with the software that I wish there was a analyst view or some limited version so I don’t risk on doing something wrong to the databases, something I don’t use that much but I don’t like how the software seems overcrowded of features.

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Rabinson from Diagonal Technologies Pvt. Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Best Database Management

Pros

Quick and easy setup for database connections. The script editor is quite handy for complex queries.

Cons

For importing or export it prompt some weird configuration which I don't understand why and also I could solve that config problem so I could use that feautere.

June 2021

Luis from Personal

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Program Development

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Facilidad de trabajo al alcance de tus dedos

Lo uso a diario para mi trabajo personal y es excelente. El poder manejar todas las distintas bases de datos de mis clientes desde el mismo lugar es imprescindible para un mejor desempeño.

Pros

Está lleno de funciones muy buenas desde la version gratuita. El poder utilizar todas mis bases de datos desde un solo lugar es grandioso, tengo un espacio de trabajo más limpio y mejor desempeño en mi computadora al no consumir tantos recursos. Me permite crear proyectos de distintos tipos de DB en la misma interfase. Lo catalogo como un excelente cambio a Toad.

Cons

Actualizaciones prontas que algunas veces remueven opciones que me eran de ayuda.

Reasons for Switching to DBeaver

DBeaver es más ligero y puedo utilizar todas esas bases de datos desde un solo programa.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Pretty robust but there are better alternatives

I used this for almost a year before switching to MySQL. Overall i prefer that over this software.

Pros

The availability for Ubuntu has been a lifesaver. I usually use another piece of software for writing queries but theyre not available for Ubuntu. The UI and the easy navigation is quite helpful

Cons

If there was a better filtering system implemented, i wouldve recommended this to every DB users. That wouldve made life a lot easier

September 2021

Nemanja from SBB

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

Simple and reliable

Pros

Checking SQL codes was never easier for me since I started using DBeaver.

Cons

Could grow and add some new features, since the existing ones are not really advanced.

May 2021

Mahonri from Stadler Rail US

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Railroad Manufacture

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Free and extensive Database tool

After I personalized and customized the environment and preferences it was very easy to work with this database administration tool. It also helps you when you encounter errors in your coding, it gives you very useful hints.

Pros

I like this SQL software application because is free and very extensive. It's easy to use once you set the environment down and all customize the way you want to work. I also like that it supports a variety of databases especially PostgreSQL

Cons

The only thing I think of it's the actual setting up, it could be a hassle. Also, if you are working with multiple databases, you have to set as default the one you want to work on every time you close and open DBeaver

June 2021

Paul from Carecode

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

A good all-around database client

Pros

DBeaver has lots of features and supports lots of different databases. Very nice package.

Cons

It's a bit heavier than native clients, like pgadmin.

Reasons for Switching to DBeaver

pgadmin went from native to web

March 2021

Swathi from Allianz SE

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Best software ever used!!!!

Reduced data redundancy efficient data integration Best in privacy and data security as well Backup and recovery is also a good key feature of the software.

Pros

I has excellent security practices. It's very user friendly software, great efficiency

Cons

To be frank all the features are upto the mark. Best flexibility, efficiency and also budget friendly.

Reasons for Choosing DBeaver

The best software till the date 100 marks for the software!!!

Reasons for Switching to DBeaver

I found Dbeaver to be the best software

June 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

summary of my use in DBEAVER

It is quite good i like it and it is quite simple

Pros

It is simple and easy to use. Moreover it is powerful and allows me to easy do my queries

Cons

it is a bit expensive, i use it because my enterprise pays for it but i wish i learned it before with a low fee for students or something. i consider that by doing this would engage more people since they are in college to use this and suggest its use in their future enterprises.

Reasons for Switching to DBeaver

because it is simpler than other options

May 2021

Adityo from Bank BTPN

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Your go to open source DBMS

It is a great tool to manage your database for your day to day development although in these era of neat looking UI, this tools feels kinda outdated

Pros

It is filled with all your database management needs, from doing simple query to connecting to multiple database from different type of source. It also supports different UI theme, so if you're into that, it's there. It is easily manageable.

Cons

Personally, i don't like the UI. It feels really cluttered sometimes.

June 2021

Luca from esc enterprise software consulting

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Buono strumento di creazione query

mi trovo molto bene, il programma è gratuito e lo consiglio

Pros

facile da utilizzare, mi piace poter importare con facilità driver di nuovi database con il wizard automatico di dbeaver

Cons

non ho trovato nessun problema da quando ho iniziato ad usare il programma, l'ho consigliato in ufficio

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Great free sql editor tool

The tool is really great and taking in mind that it is also free I am surprised that there are still competitors on the market

Pros

Performance and user interface are just great, very easy to use even for non technical people. The best about the tool is that it is free

Cons

After being inactive for a long time you need to establish connection with the database again which can be a bit annoying sometimes

March 2021

Adithyan from Experion Technlogies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Worth the cost

Helps me complete my daily tasks quite effortlessly. It's a very good software

Pros

Very easy to use. The filter feature makes daily work effortless.

Cons

UI could be improved. The current UI is quite underwhelming.

August 2021

Jared from Comcast

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Great SQL Server alternative

Pros

The Database navigator on the left-hand side makes it easier to see the tables in your database.

Cons

The script view of DBeaver is a little klunky, but other than that, great software to connect to different data sources.