User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(15)

15

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Completely up to date, fast and good support, easy to use"

  • "- Good user interface - Complete set of features "

  • "The program has a lot of possibilities, makes the work of the developer easier."

  • Cons

  • "The application is not developed, it stands still and is not perfect :-)"

  • "Referring to all products, Really nothing. The only negative thing is the customer portal. It could be a little bit user friendly."

  • "Nothing I should say as the least, other than releasing a MAC version."

Browse dbForge Studio for SQL Server Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -24 of 26 results

April 2020

Dinand from Sommite Information Systems

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Can't do without it

I'm using dbForge on a daily basis and to be frank, I can't do my job without it. When I'm on a server without it, I install at least the express edition because the way dbForge supports writing queries is unmatched.

Pros

It's a one stop tool for my database tasks

Cons

Sometimes it crashes when I accidentally press F10

Reasons for Choosing dbForge Studio for SQL Server

dbForge is completer, more robust and more affordable. But above all, dbForge is more intuitive

April 2020

Dexie from Ateneo de Davao University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

A superb SQL Server database management studio

DbForge Studio for SQL Server is an awesome tool! The Data Generation capabilities alone will save you hours of design and development time.

Pros

User Interface: - Similar to Visual Studio 2017+ with multiple themes - Nice uncluttered interface even the start page Database Creation: - Similar to SQL Management Studio by Microsoft but the user interface is organized more neatly. Related functions such as Indexes, Constraints, Statistics, Triggers, Data, and Columns can be accessed directly from tabs in the design view. Best Features: - Excellent Data Generation Tool! Generates tons of samples of data in a matter of seconds. Automatically links foreign keys to their corresponding primary table. - Backup and Restore database capabilities accessible through an easy to use process wizard. - Report Wizard: Create reports with a few mouse clicks through a process wizard. Can also design reports with its built-in report designer. - Schema Compare. Amazing tool! Compares schema of databases and allows you to create, drop, update fields that are different from two databases.

Cons

Limited functionality to access/update database properties compared to SQL Management Studio. This is not a deal breaker since setting/viewing specific database properties is uncommon during database design.

April 2020

Chuck from Visible Technology Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2020

We tried, it failed.

It was ok, but settings and config were not intuitive and had to contact support several times and they were not very helpful.

Pros

it has syncing and backup built in and it looked to be a better product.

Cons

it only ran on windows, alot of our devs use macOS.

Reasons for Choosing dbForge Studio for SQL Server

I ended up going back to navicat.

April 2020

Jhonathan from Vórtx

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

It is a necessary tool for professionals

Pros

Intellisense is fantastic. You considerably reduce the amount of words typed

Cons

For large and complex queries, hardware consumption is something that needs to be improved.

Reasons for Choosing dbForge Studio for SQL Server

I believe it is a product that delivers value even if it costs less.

April 2020

Scott from Infotrakker Software

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Great package for DBAs and developers

My software almost always interacts with a database, so having a tool that makes those easier is at the top of my list. dbForge Studio fits most of my needs (and could fit all of them, at a higher price tag), and it's very easy to use.

Pros

dbForge Studio is like SSMS on steroids! Tons of features, and I especially like the tabbed interface that allows me to see multiple views very easily. The Table Build feature is much more intuitive than the SSMS interface, and the ability to easily add indexes and constraints is nice. The data export is more advanced than SSMS and allows me to tailor exactly the data I want to dump from my database.

Cons

Several features that I consider essential aren't included in the Standard version, with the most glaring being the inability to create scripts for multiple objects, as you can with the Tasks - Generate Scripts feature of SSMS, and the lack of a Profiler. You can get these if you pay for the Professional version, but as those were really the ONLY thing in the Pro version I needed, I chose instead to just use the Standard and use SSMS when I needed to create scripts or use the profiler

April 2020

Frank from Third Wave Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

MYSQL dbForge is a great product

I use MYSQL on a lot of products and I use the product to manage all the MYSQL databases. It helps speed up my day and make my database design faster.

Pros

Advanced features for the price. The ability to easily deploy schema, data and comparisons feature alone is worth the money. You would pay 5x or more to get that same feature from RedGate (I don't believe RedGate even has a MYSQL product). Also full featured environment very easily with back up restore, diagrams and more. Blows away MYSQL Workbench.

Cons

The font is very small and in some places almost unreadable. Doesn't behave on high res monitors. I do get some crashes and have to restart the application about 1x week or so.

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

dbForge Studio

We do not have the capacity to do replicated server but with dbForge, everything seems to be a breeze.

Pros

The DATA and SCHEMA Compare-Synchronization feature is an absolute game-changer. The T-SQL Debugger really saves us a great deal of development time in building our server-side data processing logic.

Cons

Nothing I should say as the least, other than releasing a MAC version.

April 2020

Maarten from Virtualthread Technology FZE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

dbForge for MySql and MariaDB makes your life much easier

The software works easily from the start and mostly needs no explanation. The enterprise features gives you more control, like copying databases. The visual query builder helps with quickly building complex queries.

Pros

This software give you total control over the MySql and MariaDB environment. It is extremely easy to create a database, export and import data.

Cons

It would be nice if the software supported more database platforms. Now you have to buy dbForge for every platform.

Reasons for Choosing dbForge Studio for SQL Server

dbForge has more options specifically for Mysql and is native to Windows.

April 2020

Jesus from IBER Datentechnik

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Fast and intuitive

I’m using several products from Devart and the support is great.

Pros

Completely up to date, fast and good support, easy to use

Cons

Referring to all products, Really nothing. The only negative thing is the customer portal. It could be a little bit user friendly.

Reasons for Choosing dbForge Studio for SQL Server

Professional,look,stable and the fast support

April 2020

Sergii from Bravekit

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Extremely thought-out tool

I've been using dbForge Studio for about a year. And I'm pretty used to the fact that if I suddenly need a feature, the first thing I have to do is to take a closer look as it apparently already exists. Extremely thought-out solution. However, in my case, it most often comes in handy for database comparison, schema and data synchronization, and database backups. Among these, I can also highlight visual query builder and tSQL debugger. Runs smoothly without errors and issues. I can fully recommend it.

Pros

speed up almost any database experience, like designing, writing code, comparing databases, synchronizing schemas and data, generating test data.

Cons

the vendor offers separate toolkits for different databases, so you will have to choose the one you need. Initially, I tried the free Express version, and it wasn’t nearly as full-featured as a Professional one.

June 2015

Rudy from Pacific Computer Techologies

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

June 2015

dbForge Studio provides lots of features at a competitive price

Devart (formerly CoreLabs) has been expanding from their roots in the database driver business (I've used their MySQL .NET data provider for years) into providing a complete suite of database management tools. dbForge Studio for MySQL Standard is their mid-tier product for MySQL management (also available for SQL Server and Oracle). The standard edition includes all the basic features you'd expect in a DB management tool like a good SQL editor with syntax highlighting and code completion, SQL formatting, a query profiler, backup/restore as well as data import/export. But it also includes some features you might not expect. For the less experienced, there's a powerful visual query editor (even supports sub queries). I prefer to write my queries by hand--but it's a feature that might be important to some. There's a visual design tool that lets you build ERD diagrams. It's not as capable as TOAD, but it's great to have it included without a separate purchase. The interface is consistent between their tools , so once you learn it, you know it. A split pane view lets you see both the SQL and the GUI view of the object at once. Wizards are used for most of the task based functionality (like backup or schema comparison). I mostly use MariaDB rather than MySQL now and it supports MariaDB, Sphinx and Percona. They list support for MySQL 5.6 and 5.7 but I've used it with 5.5 as well and haven't had problems. It can also manage remote databases. I use SSH tunneling offsite (there is, of course, some performance cost). To me, the real value comes in the Professional edition. Here you get all the standard edition features plus: -- Database refactoring: this makes things like renaming fields MUCH easier as it correctly propagates changes to related fields, indexes, etc.. -- Schema and Data Comparison and Sync is a big one for me. I have a product that customers frequently want customized and merging their customization back into our core product is a frequent need. --Command line support for lots of things like backup/restore, import/export, schema sync, etc... --Pivot tables and reporting --and more! I like EMS, Redgate, TOAD too, but when you compare everything in dbForge, you are getting comparable tools at a very competitive price. They have 30-day trials and a basic freeware version too. Devart DbForge Studio is a great value for SQL developers or administrators.

September 2019

Arian from Telecommunications

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

DBForge Studio for MYSQL Enterprise

For the past few weeks I been trying to find the best integrated development environment (IDE) for MySQL. I evaluated most of the popular IDEs out there for database administration and in my opinion none of them compare to DBForge Studio for MySQL from Devart. It has the most complete set of features available and a well-designed user interface which makes database management an easy task. User Interface DBForge Studio has one of the most well-designed user interfaces I came across upon evaluating different IDEs. They really put much thought into different aspects of database management in order to provide a comprehensive and full featured database management tool that is easy to use. Visual Database Designer & Query Builder DBForge Studio comes with a Visual Database Designer that makes it easy to get a graphical view of relationships between different tables in a database. This is particularly useful when designing databases with complex relationships and you need a quick way to overlook foreign keys, data types, etc. It can also generate a visual view from an already existing database. The Query Builder also allows you to generate simple and complex SQL queries without writing any code. Auto Completion & Code Formatting The IDE comes with an intelligent MySQL prompt feature which reduces the time spent writing complex SQL queries. This is one of the most useful features in any IDE which facilitates and speeds up the process of effortlessly writing complex and eff

Pros

- Good user interface - Complete set of features

Cons

- Really not any cons using this software

March 2019

Jeffrey from MMI Holdings

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

dbForge assisting in data auditing

Pros

This product is easy to use to connect to Oracle dbs which we have running. The trial versions are complete enough to be able to complete coding tasks and monitoring. The intelliisense built in makes working with oracle a bit more easy with less resource intensive operations. You can also use the built in 'unit testing' modules to create and run tests efficiently. All settings and previous worked on files are automatically saved.

Cons

Not many cons a bout using the software. Integration with current software suite is fast. Hoping to get the full suite of dbForge through company.

April 2020

Robert from CS Creative Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2020

basic

Pros

The program has a lot of possibilities, makes the work of the developer easier.

Cons

The application is not developed, it stands still and is not perfect :-)

April 2020

Peter from FAF Software Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

High Quality Product

I am using it since several years and I don't want to miss it.

Pros

Data Comparison SQL Editor Stored Procedure Editor

Cons

That it often forgets my registration and license key and I have to set the license key again in order to work with as it stops working because it "thinks" I am using a trial version which expired. This is really annoying

May 2020

David from TrueDataWorks, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Quality with Functionality

Again, nothing but quality software.

Pros

The sheer power it provides in a quality package. There appears to be some skilled coders behind the product and I suspect they enjoy their challenges.

Cons

Nothing comes to mind. If I don't use it often I find myself having to relearn some of the cooler functions.

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Great for schema comparisons

I used the trial and then paid for it, I think that says it all really.

Pros

This software has a whole bunch of features, but what I first started using it for and find most useful is it's schema comparison functionality.

Cons

The software is semi-modular, in that there is the overall studio package and you can also buy discrete parts of it as standalone products (e.g. Schema Comparison). My only real gripe is that interface for Schema Comparison feels more intuitive and accessible r in the standalone version than when integrated into main studio.

October 2018

Patrick from Accumed.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Great alternative for SQL Management Studio

I'm using it as a daily driver for querying and extracting report from the database

Pros

The overall functionality and ease of use

Cons

just some missing features that are available from other software

April 2020

Eugene from PSC Industries

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Plastics

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Good for the money

Pros

I am using dbForge Studio for stored procedure debugging and data transfer. It does what i need.

Cons

Add ability to debug stored procedures inside of the loop.

February 2020

Francis from Clover

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

The universal GUI for developing and managing MySQL database

dbForge Studio for MySQL makes everything I need to develop MySQL databases. For developers, there are such features as code completion, automatic syntax checking, and code snippets as well. Visual query builder, database designer, database refactoring or even debugger tool that allows SQL developers to step over lines of codes, use breakpoints and check variable values.

Pros

you don't need to use multiple tools. dbForge will help you with database development, management, and administration.

Cons

haven't found yet. works perfectly, as for me.

November 2019

Eric from CCAQ

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Very useful features for a product of that price

Nothing specific at this time because I'm only used it to create queries, copying DB between servers. I didn't have any problems with it yet.

Pros

I like to use this tool when I try to join some tables together. The auto generation features always save me time when i'm creating queries. The wildcard expansion is also useful when i'm trying to add columns to my query. I don't have to add manually each columns.

Cons

Don't have any cons because I don't need all the advanced features.

May 2020

Konstantin from LTD "NIIGAZEKONOMIKA"

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

dbForge Studio - one of the best alteranative to SSMS

One of the best management software for SQL Server

Pros

Data generation one of the most killer feature

Cons

Some bugs happened during using some features.

October 2019

David from Iaah

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Compare tables the Easy way

We are glad that this kind of tool exists. Comparing same table from 2 databases is so great. It's a must have for a BI team.

Pros

Results are Quick. We can compare tables with huge amount of data.

Cons

Need the pro version for what should be basic. Not a very large community when searching for solution to a problem

October 2016

Joe from Franklin American Mortgage

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

dbforge review

Overall it is great tool. Some quirks with Windows 10 with the UI but overall a great tool forr SQL development

Pros

Simple and easy to use interface. Great tools for the DBA

Cons

Ui has some issues with Windows 10, text gets out of alignment

October 2016

David from FAMC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Great SQL GUI

This has a ton of features and very friendly. We never have any problems and support is very responsive.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Love Some of Features

Pros

We really love the helpers like SQL Complete

Cons

We really wanted to keep using SSMS and didn't want a completely separate tool.