User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(21)

21

4 stars

(19)

19

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse IBM Db2 Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -6 of 44 results

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Luis Alexis from Inversiones Roalgi, C.A. (Aliado de Negocio de Domesa)

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

In My professional life I have used DB2 on the AS / 400 and e_Series platform for more than 15 years

Implementing in record time allowing operating different system projects in the companies where I worked, you can be quiet because the data of the companies are based on a robust database eliminated the level of distress, allows access to your level of user user security to the system users allowing them to elaborate the data of the database in an excel sheet for example.

Pros

Easy database Implementation easy administration can be managed from any station the level of specialization is much lower than any other database, robust and recovery by indexes, interconnects with other databases such as Sql Server and allows data sharing in Immediately, its level of robustness and integrity is unique.

Cons

Proprietary database, requires a lot of Hardware for its good performance and its costs are high.

June 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

29/5000 Extremely stable and safe

Over 10 years using DB2 I can affirm that it is a very secure bank, with updates that bring new features, high compaction power and geographic contingency features gave us the security to work with SAP.

Pros

DB2 HAS A SERIES OF TOOLS THAT ARE DIFFERENTIAL, BUT HIGHLIGHTING THE CAPACITY OF SELF-MANAGEMENT (PARAMETERIZATION) AND DATA COMPACTION. ARE STRONG POINTS TO CONSIDER.

Cons

The acquisition cost can be a hindrance in the acquisition negotiations. Support is also a weakness for the cost, forcing the use of DB2 communities for troubleshooting.

Reasons for Choosing IBM Db2

For its ease of management and for being included in the commercial proposal, training and support at an attractive price.

December 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2021

The reliable RDMS for Legacy systems

Pros

Use it if you are using a Mainframe OS. The navigation is not too complex considering a minimalistic UI.

Cons

The query speed and result retrieval is a pain point. May be they can introduce an instant results UI page on the Mainframes.

June 2021

Claudio from ESC Consulting srl

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Database complesso

Il database che ha accompagnato per anni i miei gestionali e applicazioni.

Pros

E' uno strumento conosciuto e quindi in continua evoluzione e di grande diffusione, è facile trovare documentazione in caso di bisogno.

Cons

Rispetto ai concorrenti lo trovo più complicato nella configurazione per permettere di sfruttarne tutte le potenzialità, soprattutto nelle ultime versioni.

October 2021

Warwick from Crossover for Work

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

The best database software in the marketplace

This tool is effectively and efficiently being used in some specific departments of our organization. Overall, it is a great tool that has been really beneficial for our company. I find the customer support of IBM Db2 the best product support team as whenever we have questions they just respond to them in the quickest way.

Pros

I have been using this product in our company for a long time as Database-as-a-Service on our cloud for different requirements such as storing and even manipulating data safely with timely availability. This product has been providing services that help in storing and running all the problems in order to evaluate the data. This tool allows us to modify the processing speed of our company’s data just to enhance the overall user experience. Moreover, I am a frequent user of this tool and having great experience of this tool.

Cons

I felt there is a storage capacity problem which sometimes makes it difficult to check the effectiveness of the entire database.

March 2021

Sean from Zef Enterprises, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Heavy and expensive, but good at what it does

Pros

Db2 scales very well AFTER a certain point. Support is excellent, it's easy to get stood up once you have a feel for what you're doing.

Cons

Scaling: for instance it won't run on small machines too well. This becomes important if you're running a local copy for development or testing. There is a free Community Edition to play with, but can't take advantage of tons of ram or CPU, but good for POC.

Reasons for Choosing IBM Db2

Support almost exclusively

Reasons for Switching to IBM Db2

Went from free to paid, MySQL couldn't handle the volume of data and requests, nor could it scale as easily to meet our need.

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Jeremias from New Era University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

My DB2 Experience

Learning a fully functional database or DBMS may require an educational institution to buy licensed software to be installed in the laboratory. IBM DB2 Express-C is a free closed- source software that a student can use. Even a student could download and have the personal copy of the application as he learns database during the course.

Pros

IBM DB2 gives a start up point for a student to learn databases. All the features a DBMS have are provided by DB2. The product supports almost any front-end application that requires database. All the drivers are provided as you setup a connection to an application. IBM DB2 is not limited in learning SQL scripts. You may initiate also database back up and security, XML, stored procedures, and user-defined functions.

Cons

IBM DB2 is a high-secured database server. You may be lost in the installation process if you missed one of its steps. If you experience failed installation, uninstalling it may not fully do the trick. You need to delete folders or directories it has created during installation.

April 2021

Sergio from Esc consulting

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Un DB potente ma necessità competenze per essere amministrato

Complessivamente un ottimo prodotto, ma per le nostre esigenze troppo impegnativo dal punto di vista dell’amministrazione del Db.

Pros

Utilizzato prevalentemente in modalità Jdbc attraverso transazioni sql il DB2 è un ottimo prodotto è scalabile e risponde a qualsiasi esigenza transazionale.

Cons

Per avere il meglio necessità di competenze di amministrazione che altri prodotti invece non richiedono.

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Richard from SOAINT

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

db2 is the great IBM database manager

I learned how to cluster distributed databases, the use of IBM products, they are very powerful

Pros

It is very easy to install, use, it can be used for small and large projects, there is a lot of documentation about DB2, and the support they offer is very good, as long as you have a good license. I use it mainly for the execution of databases distributed in a banking project, its performance is very good

Cons

the bad thing that I see, is that you have to acquire a business license to use your maximum potential, apart from that there is also use IBM hardware, otherwise many conflicts are created

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Moises R. from Banco Santa Cruz

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Powerful database.

Pros

Our card system is in ibm db2 database and super powerful and never the instance has presented problems.

Cons

Sometimes not all applications are compatible with this database.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Proven for enterprise workloads

Have used DB2 as a Relational Database (RDBMS) for the past 10 years, primarily to support SAP based enterprise workloads. IBM's development of DB2 has been fuelled by one of its largest customers - SAP. As such this review will be biased towards SAP. I started with DB2 7.5 on IBM's flagship AIX Operating System, and it has come a long way. These days AIX is dead (unfortunately), and IBM's Power platform is leveraging Linux. DB2 of course supports the big-endian based Power platforms, and the little-endian based x86 platforms that run both Linux and Windows. DB2 is very versatile as a database, and supports most features that enterprise-based databases like Oracle support. It really is a matter of choice. DB2 administrators are obviously not as easy to find as Oracle's, but so long as the DBA's have good knowledge they can be cross-trained easily.

Pros

- ACID compliant like any good RDBMS (Oracle, MSSQL, SAP HANA) - Runs well and scales well on IBM's Power-based platform, and commodity x86 hardware running Linux/Windows - Various editions to suit customer needs and requirements. For example the Developer Edition is fully featured and is completely free for developers to use, or all the way to Enterprise Edition for state-of-the-art functionality (In-Memory based Columnar Tables thru its BLU functionality, High-Availability, Disaster Recovery etc. to prevent Single-Points-of-Failure). Rivals the existing enterprise RDBMS's

Cons

- Even though there is a GUI for point-and-click administration (IBM Data Studio), to really flex the database's features and functionality command-line tools are required (like Oracle :-)

November 2020

Steven from Bank

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2020

Db2 in financial services

Straightforward to install and manage. Solid deployments but features can be behind. This is acceptable in our organisation, but may not be desirable in cutting edge companies.

Pros

In my employed role we use DB2 for warehousing, marts and as simple data stores. It is an integral part of back and metadata for Cognos and DataStage. It was simple to install and by default comes as self managed. We also deploy this for hosting customer data and integration with net backup, ha solutions and job scheduling is industry standard.

Cons

Vendor can be a little hard to work with on issues, getting the required information can be a drawn out process when trying to fix a live issue. This has improved over the years and support is more flexible in investigating while reports are generated. Functionality is competitive, but bleeding edge features (NoSql) can lag behind others.

March 2019

shashank from Miracle Software Systems

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Best RDBMS Software

My experience using this RDBMS software is very good as retrieving of data from the database is very fast. We can execute complex queries in a smooth way. I actually wanted to store XML data inside the database in case of any B2B transactions that I need to store for further processing. DB2 database has the capability to store XML data and store some large files in regards to that transaction details.

Pros

1) DB2 is very cheap, easy to install. We don't have to worry about license costs as they wouldn't be more than that in Oracle. 2) It can run on any OS like windows, Linux, Mac. 3) We can use DB2 along with XML data also. 4) The retrieving of data from the db2 database is very fast which is actually a very good feature. 5) Can store large files in the database in an easy way. 6) We can store the data in different locations across the data and the data can be accessed from different locations in a faster way. 7) Index feature is available in DB2 to identify a unique table out of thousands of tables in DB2 database.

Cons

I didn't find any flaws using this software.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Robust database engine, but takes quite a bit of getting use to.

This database engine is robust, with many tools and features. Easily upgraded. Minimal maintenance needed after it is up and running. Able to use either the command line interface or GUI to access and manipulate databases.

Pros

This database engine is robust, with many tools and features. Easily upgraded. Minimal maintenance needed after it is up and running. Able to use either the command line interface or GUI to access and manipulate databases.

Cons

Documentation needs to be more extensive, as you have to pay for customer support. Takes quite a bit of getting use to, as syntax varies greatly from other DBMSs.

December 2020

Mehak from To The New

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

A very secure, stable and DB with great performance.

We used it for projects that have a huge database and complex queries, the experience was great as the ability to handle complex queries reduced the load on our application.

Pros

It's fairly easy to set up and offers a lot of functionality, it's very easy to connect to most of the UI tools and framework. The security features make it ideal for banking applications. It is such a powerful tool that optimized requested works super fast.

Cons

The only issue I think is its price, Db2 is quite costly as compared to its competitors, it does offer a great selection of feature so that also can be overlooked.

August 2019

lynda from Banner Health

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

DB2 for you!

On the rare occasions I have had to open a ticket with IBM I have had received great help in a timely fashion.

Pros

I have worked with DB2 as a database manager for over 30 years. It is a great product, robust, lots of flexibility, ever improving and rock solid.

Cons

Sometimes the number of options are overwhelming but the number of options is part of what makes DB2 great. Like so many things in life, it cuts both ways.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Great product, easy to install and use. Been using it for 6 years in different projects.

Pros

Installation is very easy and when installed it's ease of use, very convenient. It's also very easy to connect to other tools like DBVisualizer which gives another way of viewing the tables and info.

Cons

They need to improve the help online to find some commands, and the explanation on the commands as well.

July 2017

Lukasz from Bonprix

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Stable and reliable ! Simply - It work s , even better that You expected

Stability , performance , reliability

Pros

This product is very stable , it can be fully trusted . It's optimisation is perfect - every request can be optimised smoothly and without user interactions

Cons

Price - it could be better - but You know that Your money were well spend . Also support could be more active

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

IBM DB2 user since several months

We load all the sales data into DB2 system and will derive analytics on top of it. I can recommand if you have lot of budget to put on database managemnet.

Pros

1) DB2 has extensive functionality, has a lot of built-in features. robust database software 2) easy to use, and MPP systems which make the system to process data parallel. 3) DB2 SQL is anscii standard so migration to/from other databases would be easy.

Cons

1) expensive compared to other solutions available in market. 2) Few of the DB2 specific syntaxes are non convertable when we move to other databases.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

senthamizhselvan from Cognizant

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

IBM db2

Pros

This can hold n number of records and easy to access it via online application and updated using the informatica

Cons

The application looks and query are bit complicated compared to SQL

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

DB2

DB2 has kept me working for 30+ years.

Pros

DB2 is very versatile, and can be used to drive the processing in your software.

Cons

Too many abends using the product, and too hard to diagnose.

January 2017

Nazeer from IBM

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

One of the most used DBs

DB2 is one of the most used DBs. It is based on Mainframe technology. It easily integrates with IBM BPM, IBM Datapower very well. Task Scheduler component of DB2 allows for statistics gathering and reorganization of indexes and tables without user interaction. DB2 has comprehensive suite of security features such as authentication, authorization, trusted context, auditing, encryption, and fine-grain controls.

Cons

Pricing is little high

December 2020

Srinivas from Saicon

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

IBM DB2 review

Awesome

Pros

Ease of use functionality security high value DB2 functions

Cons

Proprietary sql, complexity, works only on ibm systems

November 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

A powerful relational database

Overall satisfied, used in couple of my projects, even with AS400.

Pros

Easy to integrate with any API with minimal configuration

Cons

Searching large amount of data might take time, indexing strategy could be better

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

DB2 is solid as a rock

I'm happy with db2 , IBM is doing a good job release by release powering the software .

Pros

DB2 is solid as a rock. I'm using it from several years and with last release 11.1 it's been also easiest to be set up from newbie admin. DB2 is the classical server you will setup and you fill find again after years.

Cons

It's not economic and needs some education to be used in production environment.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Very powerful database engine

Pros

I liked the raw power of the utility. I was able to run millions, sometimes billions of rows of data through and it handled it just fine. The included functions were very helpful in translating complex data structures

Cons

None really. It did everything I needed. Maybe the only complaint would be how complex it is, but that is more of a feature not a bug

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Gerson from TECRA TECHNOLOGIES

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Robustness and Reliability

DB2 is relatively simple to maintain and performs very well.

Pros

Super powerful and valuable for its automatic applications, security, data integrity oriented and the backup and recovery features. Reliable for any volume of data and transactions.

Cons

Not many updates or improves for a very long time. Forcing to move your data to the cloud. For some that's not an answer. However I recommend it.

March 2019

User Profile Picture

John from Arrow Electronics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Solid database solution

Pros

Like other IBM products, Db2 is light and easy to install and maintain. It's incredibly robust and can handle very large volume of data with ease. I also like the support for the product from IBM.

Cons

IBM Db2 is very expensive to maintain compared to its competitors. Another issue for me is the lack of timely updates.

October 2020

Kevin Matthe from University at Albany, SUNY

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Decent DBMS but can be improved

I got certified as an Academic Associate in DB2 and I must say it is a very satisfying experience

Pros

DB2 is a decent DBMS, allows straightforward commands to get you done what a starting DB adminstrator usually needs

Cons

Hopefully IBM can introduce feature that allows for easier integration to more programming languages

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Db2 - a robust product

Pros

1. It works well with mainframes which continue to be backbone of heavyweight lifting transaction volume at a decent speed.

Cons

I don't know about other databases much to list any cons. Would this be able to work well with upcoming technologies, not sure.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

RAJESH from Rolta India Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

IBM DB2 is an excellent database platform

Pros

IBM DB2 is an excellent database platform. We are able to use it as a database platform for large corporates. It is designed to store, analyze and retrieve the data efficiently, hence one of the commonly used database platform.

Cons

There is nothing which we do not like about this database platform. everything looks so good about it.

July 2018

Alexander from Consultec-TI

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Robust and ideal for managing large volumes of data

It is recommended for large technological platforms

Pros

It is a powerful database manager, has a capacity to manage very high data volumes, recommended to be applied in large companies and financial entities

Cons

It requires a high level of hardware so that it can operate optimally, maintenance is often expensive and the installation is tedious

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great Database Software

Pros

1. Excellent support 2. Reliable tool 3. Easy to maintain

Cons

1. Further improvement of online documentation is required

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Great Database from IBM

Pros

IBM DB2 is a very good database to use in small companies, is very robust and easy to mantain with good performance.

Cons

The community and support team is not very helpful, the updates take a lot of time so it's not up to date if you compare with other databases

June 2020

Crystian from Venturus

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Simple, But Good!

Sporadically I use DB2 to maintain legacy systems. Until today, I never had any problems with him.

Pros

Low learning curve for the team. It is much faster than its competitors. Excellent for medium applications

Cons

His syntax leaves something to be desired, it should be revised to adapt to the new SQL syntax models.

May 2020

User Profile Picture

Jeremias from New Era University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

IBM Db2 on Cloud: Database Need No Installation

We already solved the problem of download/install procedure to use the DBMS. Student need no installation on cloud setup.

Pros

IBM Db2 on Cloud makes it more easier to use to teach database management in my class. Students need no installation procedure to use it. All you need is a IBM Cloud Account to access the application.

Cons

Security is tight. Students can not create account if they use school common IP workstation when accessing cloud.ibm.com.

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Vahid from Iowa State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Good RDBMS

Pros

It can be used in the cloud or physical server. I used it in cloud during an educational SQL course and it is easy to learn and use.

Cons

- I think the only problem is that It is expensive.

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Dillon from Peelustrate

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Affordable and Flexible

Pros

The cost is very much affordable. it also offers compatibility with Windows, UNIX and Linux at the same time which means you don't have to face any major troubles while setting it up on any of your platforms.

Cons

There are no cons for this software. However, It can be offered for free for training purposes after proper verification.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2019

IBM D2

I would recommend use of DB2 in modern tech advancements. Light weight DB like MySQL, postgres are much better.

Pros

Db2 was used in our mainframe application. it accepts standard sql syntax. can handle large amount of data.

Cons

As data grows in production environment, it becomes slow. Thread hung and application performance degrades. Also it's costly.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Data management system

Pros

1. IBM DB2 can run on many operating systems like Linux, Unix, Windows etc. 2. Distributed database can also be implemented and data can be accessed from multiple distributed systems. 3. IBM Data studio can be used to run commands and provides a good interface to interact with the database.

Cons

Can be expensive to implement and support can be also take time to solve tickets.

March 2018

Somadatta from Bell Integrations

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Very Secure Database

Pros

It can be hosted from the cloud, a physical server or both at the same time and multiple jobs can be run at once using the task scheduler.

Cons

Cost is outside of the budget of many individuals and third party tools or additional software is required to make clusters.

April 2018

Vasu from SRMIST

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

IBM DB2 support for relational as well as non-relational structures makes it stand out.

Pros

* IBM DB2 Cloud services are really good. * Error Handling feature is really impressive. * DB2 provides API support for many languages.

Cons

* Regular DB 2 fix packs cannot be applied. * Number of concurrent user connections is not limited.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Good DBMS

Pros

Has great features, it's easy to use, if you need to manage larg amount of data this should be your option

Cons

Requires a lot of cpu and Ram which is some cases is now possible, the interface might be called obsolete

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Allows the handling of large objects (up to 2 GB), the definition of data and functions by the user

Pros

What I like most about IBM DB2 is it can be managed from any job. Likewise, it saves data against loss, unauthorized access, or invalid entries.

Cons

What I like least about IBM DB2 is that it requires other applications that have been developed and those that are going to be implemented.