What are InterSystems IRIS users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using InterSystems IRIS software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.71

28 Reviews

5
20
4
8
3
0
2
0
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Competent support and the community is extensive and caring."
  • icon"What do I most like about the software. The ability to support several developer technologies are in a single package."
  • icon"IRIS is amazing for complex data consumption; its multi-model capability, which allows multiple different models for a single set of code(s)."
  • icon"Difficulty finding tutorials, but the community meets this need."
  • icon"You struggle to learn at at first but you will eventually get adapted to it."
  • icon"The look and feel, I miss some interaction between classes and the business process fields. You need to copy paste classes to the fields instead of a rolldown in some cases."

Jump to:

Browse all InterSystems IRIS Reviews

  • Have you used InterSystems IRIS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 28 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 28 reviews

Francisco

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

IRIS is the next step for the future

We use IRIS for integration with labs and the implementation with all labs and our central clinic has been quick and easy. Using HL7 very easy and calls APIs and Database without create big transformations. Using IRIS as repository of data of patients, making a RESP API with only 3 clicks and deploy it in production without stop any process.... We saved a lot of time and money.

Pros

This is the best all-in-one for interoperability application that I've used ever. It is easy to use, easy to learn and is supported by a big community that can help me.

Cons

IRIS requires a qualified person for its administration, there is a lot of configurations, levels, permissions, etc.. It's not easy configure security with a out-standard configuration.

Reasons for switching to InterSystems IRIS

We switch to the upper version of the product for security

Alok

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Best in-memory database but bit unpolished

My overall experience was good as the query performance increased, and the time required for managing the database fell greatly in these two odd months, from when we began.

Pros

The speed of performance of IRIS is too good and fast. We were able to get around 2500% increase in query performance after our switch, which is too good. Also the process of migration and scaling due to heavy lifting is also easier.

Cons

We hit several barriers in implementing as it is still quite new and had to use some workarounds as there wasn't much clarity in the documentation

Reasons for switching to InterSystems IRIS

We saw the performance results of this database on a website and decided to test it, and we had huge improvement in performance in running queries. This is of paramount importance in our application system and we decided to try to switch in testing, the tests went great and we deployed it about two months ago. Since then the average time to maintain it has been quite low than SAP hana that we used for about 18 months now.

Mathew

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Having lots of features comes at a cost

Support is very good, as soon as you have an issue you can open a discussion in a small but growing community, or contact support that will help you as a peer developer if needed.

Pros

Having an inmense amount of features integrated with the solution, from web interface, to interfaces with different kind of technologies, to database.

Cons

Having that vast catalog of features comes with a cost (literally and figurative) integration makes harder, although InterSystems is working to simplify it.

Reasons for choosing InterSystems IRIS

It was already in place.

Alice

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Modern Object Oriented Database with the ability of a full fledged programming language

Very positive, Easy to use and a All In One solution for SaaS company's needs.

Pros

Has access to everything a current SaaS company might require to build/implement/support current and future features. Features such as REST/SOAP APIs, Database mirroring for high availability, Docker for environment sharing, in-built BI tools, Object Oriented Database, Terminal access etc etc.

Cons

Rarely but we did encounter that there aren't enough tutorials regarding the application. Also, since this is not open source for a feature that's just come out, developers usually need to wait for a few years before getting the feature implemented.

Robert

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Never say IMPOSSIBLE

I've seen developers that fell in love with it. They required control not to reinvent wheels just because it was so easy possilble. And others that were lost because of the broad range of possibilities not finding their way.

Pros

I like especially its incredible flexibility for all kinds of business challenges. There is no corner of the business that can't be serviced. This doesn't mean you have to do it and it is flexible enough to interact with any other solution. But you are never forced to say it can't be done At the same time, it is extremely efficient in its use of hardware resources with almost linear scaling.

Cons

To make the best use of it, you have to educate your developer team. Experts are hard to find and they should have a real sense of engineering. It is different from the mainstream but the difference pays off by performance.

Christian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Excellent tool for data management

We have been using IRIS since 2017 and from the beginning it has allowed us to define rules that make business process management more effective. Its database is robust and allows for high efficiency and scalability. When assigned to a self-performance analytical engine, it allows for real-time decision making. It also has BI capabilities and creating APIs is simple. The implementation is also simple, I recommend.

Pros

What I like most is its reliability and high efficiency. The Software is also intuitive and has a great overall user experience. The implementation with the existing infrastructure was easy, generating little impact to the processes that we had previously.

Cons

Intersystems' technology is not yet so popular, which makes it more difficult to hire qualified people and slightly increases the learning curve.

Andy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Excellent performance

Very nice, I work with it everyday and enjoy it.

Pros

Its just very fast! very robust database and can take care of big data flow.

Cons

Can be expensive and for some people might be confusing since is an Object oriented database.

Reasons for switching to InterSystems IRIS

Performance

Stephen

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

A great development partner

So far, all is well. My interaction with their sales engineers and support has additionally been great.

Pros

What do I most like about the software? 1. The ability to support several developer technologies are in a single package. Object, SQL, NoSQL, JSON, XML, Java. 2. Built-in Analytics. I don't need an additional technology stack to support my analytics endeavors.

Cons

Like most large software products I wish the documentation could be a bit better.

Henry Hamon

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Very Fast database and Exceptionally Reliable an Excellente choice

The performance and scalability are really impressive, It saved a lot of time. You have an interoperability application, machine learn and database all fully documented and easy to use

Pros

It's easy to use and fully documented, besides has a learning platforming and a great support. Extremely fast and reliable database

Cons

There are few qualified professionals on market.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Intersystems IRIS Review

Overall a good experience. Customer support is quick and very helpful.

Pros

This is the best database management software we've used. In hotels, data comes is generated from various points, Intersystems IRIS helps in collecting and processing data securely.

Cons

Staff requires training before it can be used properly. Takes time to get used to it.

Paul

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Integration Engine.

Working closely with InterSystems Consulting/Support, I have found them to be very technically capable and responsive to issues that have been raised.

Pros

InterSystems IRIS accommodates implementation from simple interfaces to complex integration deployments. It is robust and performs well. The graphical features are very useful. For example, the Production Management screen and the DTL Editor. The documentation is also very good.

Cons

Would like to see more features to support the Developers.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Interoperability

Very good, I like the way you can build and change/map messages with the DTL.

Pros

The way you can build business processes en productions. The Message trace and logging is very clear and you can follow the process flows perfectly.

Cons

The look and feel, I miss some interaction between classes and the business process fields. You need to copy paste classes to the fields instead of a rolldown in some cases.

Dinupa Chamin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Interoperability taken to a new level of trust.

Pros

The ability operate multiple applications at a single time

Cons

Nothing so far as per my personal experience

Response from InterSystems

Thank you Dinupa Chamin for your review! We saw that you are not fully satisfied with ease of use and missing some features. Could you tell us what would you like to add as a feature(s)? And what would be the best improvement in usability for you? We gather all the feedbacks and pass it tp our product team to put them into development. Thank you for your help!

Replied September 2020

Justin

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Excellent Product

Pros

-Easy to use -Extremely customizable -Excellent support

Cons

In all of the years of using the product I have not really found anything that can't be done.

Andrei Luiz

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

One of the best data management in the world

I not used so long the IRIS Data Platform, but in the time that I used can see that this platform can solve a lot of modern problems, create REST interfaces is very ease, and this opens a lot of possibilities, because we can connect a React application to IRIS for example.

Pros

One of the great thing about IRIS, is that Intersystems opened a little more, focusing in interoperability, we can work with a lot of things and languages, for example, using the REST api we can do anything, and there are too many other solutions as the connection with NodeJs. Resuming this is a great tool in all aspects, the management is very easy and understandable to everyone.

Cons

Some things can be hard to work, as like Machine Learning, this is a difficult question in any technology or language, and in IRIS it is not so easy too.

Reasons for choosing InterSystems IRIS

Already know Intersystems products and solutions.

Alexander

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

Made app implementation a lot easier for us

Pros

I am impressed with the speed with which IRIS processes data . It almost instantly linked with our database and creating APIs is extremely simple .

Cons

Unless you configure the admin settings properly at the beginning , you'll get a lot of permission restrictions later on and dealing with those can be frustrating .

Valdeir

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2020

The best data manager

Pros

the software is very fast and easy to use. The documentation is very good and it has a lot of good information

Cons

I don't have nothing to say about it. I realy like the software

Djoni

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

IRIS - Recomendo

É muito fácil gerenciar os dados e desenvolver novas funcionalidades com as ferramentas disponíveis no IRIS.

Pros

O fato de possibilitar o armazenamento de dados multi-modelo, as excelentes ferramentas fornecidas para o gerenciamento do banco. Além disso, o banco de dados é muito performático e confiável. Durante a implantação precisamos de suporte da Intersystems, que resolveu rapidamente os problemas que tivemos. Compatibilidade para utilizar o Docker.

Cons

A IDE possui poucos recursos se comparada com as outras disponíveis no mercado. A documentação é confusa, porém eles possuem uma comunidade muito ativa.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Smooth Data Management with IRIS

I'm still only getting started with the tool but loving it so far.

Pros

It's a very powerful tool easy to access and manages your data very fast in a reliable manner .

Cons

You struggle to learn at at first but you will eventually get adapted to it.

Sajid

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Intersystem IRIS - Pros and Cons

Pros

Help to build high performance data applications

Cons

This is little complex for novice users and time consuming

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Inter Systems IRIS is good for Data analyst

- we use it to analyse the usage of data and querry the type of system in telecom, it work perfectly, generate report faster.

Pros

- easy to manage the data and analyse, its very good for the one who need to analyse the big database data and it support all kind of database.

Cons

- still need some background of database query skill,

Reasons for choosing InterSystems IRIS

I have search in the internet and start using free trail, it work very well.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

IRIS Review

Pros

Docker compatibility; Extremely customizable; Excellent support;

Cons

A little complicated documentation, but the community is very active in resolving doubts.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Great tool for data management.

Pros

With IRIS it is very easy and simple to manage data, including several formats. The support is very good, fast and accurate. The software has incredible confidence.

Cons

The program administrator must be well prepared, as the settings must be very well controlled, there are several levels of settings.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

IRIS

Initially migrating from Intersystems Cache platform then utilising the additional performance and feature set to enhace the product and lower costs.

Pros

Powerfull, feature rich, robust, and simple to install and manage.

Cons

Licensing can be awkward but not something to stop the platform being used.

Reasons for switching to InterSystems IRIS

Upgrades

Marcos Robert

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

My experience with IRIS Data Platform

Great tool, with several options that speed up data movement. I recommend this product

Pros

Competent support and the community is extensive and caring

Cons

Difficulty finding tutorials, but the community meets this need

Showing 1 - 25 of 28 reviews
InterSystems IRIS

InterSystems IRIS

4.71/5 out of 28 reviews
Visit Website